audetDETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Withdrawn Rejections
The 102 rejections are withdrawn in response to the amendments. However, new grounds of rejection are set forth below under 103.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of the present application as a proper National Stage (371) entry of PCT Application No. PCT/US2019/061687, filed 11/15/2019, which claims benefit under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) to provisional application No. 62/768,479, filed 11/16/2018.
Status of the Claims
Claims 31-37, 41 and 49-60 are pending; claims 31, 36, 41, 55 and 60 are amended, claims 1-30, 38-40 and 42-48 are canceled. Claims 31-37, 41 and 49-60 are examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 1/22/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 56 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 56 recites “wherein the branching domain comprises:
wherein, d + f > 2 (e.g., between about 2 and 100), d > c, and e >f, wherein c, d, e and f are integers and each M is a small molecule”.
However, “d + f > 2 (e.g., between about 2 and 100), d > c, and e >f, wherein c, d, e and f are integers and each M is a small molecule” is not clear. First, “d + f > 2” contains no upper bound, which suggests that the claim encompasses an infinite number of small molecules (d+f can be infinitely large). Such a wide range in scope renders the claim indefinite because a person having ordinary skill in the art would not be able to recognize the scope of the claim. Second, “(e.g., between about 2 and 100)” is unclear because it may be interpreted as an optional limitation or a required limitation given the parenthesis and the language “e.g.”. Furthermore, it is not clear how “between about 2 and 100” satisfies the number of small molecules being “d + f > 2” because 2 is not greater than 2 and it is not possible to have half a small molecule. A person having ordinary skill in the art would question the metes and bounds of the claim.
For these reasons the claim is indefinite.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31-36, 49-52 and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romestand et al. Biomacromolecules 2010, 11, 5, 1169–1173 https://doi.org/10.1021/bm9012056 Cite No. 3 of IDS filed 7/19/2022 (hereinafter Romestand) in view of Chang et al. Journal of Controlled Release 156 (2011) 195–202 doi:10.1016/j.jconrel.2011.07.021 ("Chang") as evidenced by Laskowski and Burk J. Chem. Phys. 7, 465–469 (1939) (hereinafter Burk) (Cited in PTO 892 filed 2/21/2025).
Regarding claims 31-36, 49 and 51, Romestand teaches a method for detecting presence of an analyte in a sample (“[a]n easily synthesized DendriGraft poly-lysine DGL-G3 (third generation) was shown to act as an efficient carrier for raising antibodies directed against small molecules. The immunological properties of three different forms of DGL-G3 were investigated:… a surface-modified form bearing histamine (DGL-G3-Histamine)” Abstract, “Antibody Production and Characterization. Two tests were used: an indirect ELISA test to analyze antibody production and a competitive ELISA test to check the affinity of antibodies against the histamine hapten…The well-plates were filled at 4°C with 50 µL per well of immunoconjugate (DGL-G3, fluorescein-DGL-G3, DGL-G3-histamine, or BSA-histamine)” page 1171 column 1 paragraphs 1-2), the method comprising:(i) contacting a sample suspected of comprising an analyte with a compound (“Next, wells were rinsed twice with PBS and filled at 2 h at 37 °C with 50 µL of serum” page 1171 column 1 paragraph 2) comprising:(a) a substrate binding domain; (b) a branching domain comprising a small molecule the small molecule linked to a branch of a branch point, wherein the small molecules independently have a molecular weight of less than 1,000 Da; and (c) a linker linking the substrate binding domain and the branching domain (“surface-modified form bearing histamine (DGL-G3-Histamine)” Abstract). See Figure 1 of Romestand showing DGL-G3-Histamine. Note that the molecular weight of histamine is less than 1000 Da according to the instant disclosure (“histamine (111.14 g/mol)” paragraph 3 “g/mol (Da)” paragraph 8). Below is a screenshot of DGL-G3-histamine from Figure 1 of Romestand for reference:
. Therefore, the histamines attached to the branch of the DGL-G3 address a branching domain comprising a small molecule, wherein the small molecules independently have a molecular weight of less than 1,000 Da. The NH functional group attaching the DGL-G3 to the histamine is interpreted as the substrate binding domain. The 5 hydrocarbon atom chain in between the first NH (next to the DGL-G3) and the second NH is interpreted as the linker. The structure between the histamine and the linker is interpreted as a branching domain comprising the histamine linked to a branch of a branch point. Romestand further teaches (ii) detecting binding of an analyte binding molecule to the compound, wherein the analyte binding molecule is an antibody comprising a detectable label, producing a chromogenic, fluorescence or electrochemical signal and comprising contacting the sample from (i) with a molecule capable of binding with the analyte binding molecule and comprises a detectable label (“The colorimetric reaction was stopped after incubation for 15 min in the dark by the addition of 25 µL of a4 N H 2 SO 4 solution per well. The optical density (OD) was measured at 492 nm on an ELISA plate reader… filled with 200 μL of 1/10 000 sheep antirabbit IgG peroxidase diluted in PBS” page 1171 column 1 paragraphs 2-3). Romestand further teaches wherein the compound and the analyte bind competitively with the analyte binding molecule, wherein the analyte is histamine (“competitive ELISA test to check the affinity of antibodies against the histamine hapten… histamine…was covalently linked to wells…Sera … were preincubated…with diluted immunoconjugates…Then, 200 µL of each competitive sample was applied to wells previously coated with histamine derivatives” page 1171 column 1 paragraphs 1 and 3).
Romestand fails to teach the branching domain comprising a plurality of small molecules each small molecule linked to a branch of a branch-point, wherein the small molecule is histidine or a histidine-phenylalanine dimer wherein the branchpoint comprises at least one lysine.
Chang teaches the “Development of lysine–histidine dendron modified chitosan for improving transfection efficiency in HEK293 cells” (Title). Chang further teaches that “lysine–histidine (KH) dendrons were designed for effective modification of histidines” (page 195 col. 2 para. 2, See “Fig. 1. Structure of KH Dendron” page 196 col. 1). Note that the KH dendrons taught by Chang (see Fig. 1) are a compound comprising a substrate binding domain (SH), a branching domain comprising a plurality of small molecules each small molecule linked to a branch of a branch-point, wherein the branchpoint comprises at least one lysine; wherein the small molecule is histidine (the lysines are interpreted as the branching domains and branch-points comprising the histidines, see Figure 1). Figure 1 of Chang is copied here for convenience:
. Note that part of the Cystein and the β-Alanine are interpreted as the linker linking the substrate binding domain and the branching domain. Chang further teaches that the KH dendron has “practicability for experimental procedures and clinical applications… the structure of the KH dendron is composed of endogenous amino acids and the biocompatibility of the KH dendron is predictable” (page 196 col. 1 para. 1). Chang further teaches that “[t]he structure of dendron provided buffering capacity, not only from the imidazole group but also from the primary amino groups of histidines” (page 200 col. 2 para. 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Romestand to rely on the branching domain comprising a plurality of small molecules each small molecule linked to a branch of a branch-point, wherein the branchpoint comprises at least one lysine, wherein the small molecule is histidine taught by Chang because Chang suggests that the compound comprising a plurality of lysines and histidines provides biocompatibility, buffering capacity and is applicable for both experimental and clinical applications. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Romestand and Chang teach a compound comprising a substrate binding domain, a branching domain comprising at least one small molecule, and a linker linking the substrate binding domain and the branching domain.
Regarding claim 50, Romestand in view of Chang teach the method of claim 31 as discussed above.
Romestand in view of Chang further teach wherein the linker has a length between 5 and 200 angstroms (Figure 1 of Romestand). The 5 hydrocarbon atom chain in between the first NH (next to the DGL-G3) and the second NH, is interpreted as the linker in Figure 1 of Romestand. And as evidenced by Burk “[t]he average distance between the center of the first and last carbon atoms of a freely rotating hydrocarbon has been evaluated as 1.50 1 where 1 is the carbon-carbon distance of 1.54A” (Abstract). Therefore, Romestand teaches a linker with a length of approximately 5 x 1.54 = 7.7 angstroms.
Regarding claim 52, Romestand in view of Chang teach the method of claim 51 as discussed above.
Romestand further teaches that “[t]he use of synthetic peptide antigens for the production of vaccines1,2 as well as the use of haptens for the production of antibodies for diagnostic immunoassays3-14 suffers the problem of finding carriers devoid of side effects” (page 1169 col. 1 para. 1). Romestand further teaches that the DGL-G3 is a possible predictable solution to the need of carriers devoid of side effects (“In this present work, our objective was to find a truly
nonimmunogenic carrier with a minimum MW around 20 kDa and a large number of peripheral reactive groups for hapten conjugation.2,14,15 We chose to study the third generation of dendrigraft poly-L-lysine (DGL-G3), a synthetic polymer with an idealized structure constituted by nine equivalent dendrons (Scheme 1B-D) linked to the core” page 1169 col. 2 para. 4, “DGL-G3 has an ideal MW of 22 kDa, is nontoxic, and its production can be scale up” page 1172 col. 2 para. 2). Romestand further teaches that “DGL-G3 appears consequently to be a good carrier able to improve the specificity of antibodies for diagnostic immunoassays” (” page 1172 col. 2 para. 2).
Romestand in view of Chang further suggest wherein the branch-point comprises a first lysine linked to a second lysine, and wherein the carboxyl group of the first lysine is linked to the epsilon-amino group of the second lysine. See Figure 1 of Chang showing wherein the branch-point comprises a first lysine and second lysine. However, Chang fails to teach wherein the carboxyl group of the first lysine is linked to the epsilon-amino group of the second lysine. However, below is Scheme 1B of Romestand showing wherein the carboxyl group of the first lysine is linked to the epsilon-amino group of the second lysine:
.
Although the dendrimer of Romestand is no longer interpreted as the branching domain, it would have been obvious to have relied on the structure of Romestand wherein the carboxyl group of the first lysine is linked to the epsilon-amino group of the second lysine in the branching domain of Chang because Romestand teaches that this configuration is nontoxic and effective as a carrier, i.e. a possible predictable solution to the current need of biocompatible carriers according to Romestand. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Romestand and Chang teach a poly-lysine dendrimer with small molecules attached.
Regarding claim 57, Romestand in view of Chang teach wherein the branching domain has the formula C(x)aMb, wherein: C is a sub unit of the branching domain having a maximum of possible x branches, and the branch-point comprises one or more sub unit C and at least one subunit C is attached to the linker through a branch; M is a small molecule attached to the subunit C through a branch; a is an integer ≥ 1; and b is an integer ≥ 2, provided that b ≤(a)(x-2) +1 (
page 196 of Chang). From the structure taught by Chang, a branching domain is interpreted as being the section (shown below) of the structure taught by Chang:
. This structure shows x = 4 maximum possible branches (two branches on the terminal lysine and a single branch per intermediate lysine) and a=18 subunits C (each lysine contains 6 carbon atoms, each carbon is interpreted as a subunit C). The histidines, b = 2 are attached to the subunit C through a branch. Finally, a sub unit C is attached to the linker through a branch. Therefore, a = 18 ≥ 1, b = 2 ≥ 2 and b ≤(a)(x-2) +1; i.e., 2 ≤ (18)(4-2) + 1 or (2 ≤ 37). Therefore, Romestand in view of Chang address the instant claim.
Claims 53-56 and 58-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romestand in view of Chang as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Schnepf and Rau (WO 2004/077054 A1) (hereinafter Rau) (Cited in PTO 892 filed 2/21/2025).
Regarding claims 53-54, Romestand in view of Chang teach the method of claim 31 as discussed above.
Romestand in view of Chang fail to teach wherein the branching domain is selected from the group consisting of:
Romestand also fails to teach wherein the branching domain is selected from the group consisting of:
wherein M is a small molecule.
Rau teaches “quality control of binding measurements on microarrays” (Title). Rau further teaches a method for detecting presence of an analyte in a sample, the method comprising:(i) contacting a sample suspected of comprising an analyte with a compound (“a multiplicity of different compounds are brought into contact almost simultaneously with a target molecule, for example a protein which is associated with a disease or a therapeutic field of application, and the interaction between immobilized compound and target molecule, for example as a binding assay, is detected” page 1 paragraph 6), comprising: (a) a substrate binding domain (“the binding matrix comprises a self-assembling monolayer (SAM) as an organic layer. The self-organization of a SAM to form a dense film is normally carried out by hydrophobic interaction of long-chain hydrocarbons at one end of which a functional group is present, which enables the attachment to the carrier and at the other end of which a functional group enables the immobilization of the ligand. Compounds which comprise these functional building blocks (head group, foot group, hydrophobic part) are also called anchors or anchor molecules” page 5 paragraph 8); (b) a branching domain comprising a plurality of small molecules each small molecule linked to a branch of a branch-point (“the preferred structural motif is the guanidinium group… The guanidinium phenylalanine residue can be coupled to a framework structure via the carboxyl function of the phenylalanine. This framework carries the further structural motifs and together with them forms the control ligand” page 4 paragraph 2). Rau teaches that “[i]n particular, small organic molecules (small molecules or small molecular weight molecules or small organic molecules) are preferred for the ligands and the control ligands or their structural motifs which occur singly or multiply in control ligands” (page 6 paragraph 9). Rau further teaches “[i]n particular, compounds of the following structure are used as control ligands in the context of the present invention
where X =…NH2” page 4 paragraph 4). Note that although Rau fails to use the language branching domain or branch point, the teachings of a “structural motif” and “framework” addresses the limitations of branching domain and branch-point, respectively, because the compound structure taught by Rau (above) effectively shows a branching domain and branch-points with small molecules linked to a branch of a branch-point. Rau further teaches (c) a linker linking the substrate binding domain and the branching domain (“the anchor can have a spacer portion which preferably contains ethylene glycol units” page 5 paragraph 8); and (ii) detecting binding of an analyte binding molecule to the compound (“[t]he binding measurement can be performed sequentially from sensor field to sensor field or sensor array row to sensor field series, or preferably in parallel, in that all fields are measured simultaneously. The measuring method is advantageously based on a radioactive, optical or electrical method. Thus, for example, radioactive fluorescence or luminescence-based detection (e.g. RIA, ELISA, etc.) is possible” page 6 paragraph 15). Rau further suggests that the method enables the detection of a wide variety of chemical or biological materials (“[m]icroarrays have more and more important importance in the last time. They enable the presentation of an enormous variety of chemical or biological materials for the most diverse fields of application” page 1 paragraph 3). Rau further teaches that “[t]he advantages of such microarrays lie in their ease of handling and their potential for miniaturization and possible automation in the production and use in instruments, such as measuring instruments” (page 5 paragraph 5). Note that the control ligand taught by Rau “where X =…NH2” (page 4 paragraph 4) addresses the branch-point of claim 53 and the branching domain of claim 54, i.e. Rau teaches the first structure of claim 53 and claim 54.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Romestand in view of Chang to rely on the branching domain structure taught by Rau because Rau suggests that th and Romestand is concerned with diagnostic immunoassays. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Rau and Romestand teach a method for detecting presence of an analyte in a sample comprising contacting a sample suspected of comprising an analyte with a compound and detecting binding of an analyte binding molecule to the compound.
Regarding claim 55, Romestand in view of Chang teach the method of claim 31 as discussed above.
Romestand in view of Chang fail to teach wherein the branching domain is selected from the group consisting of:
.
Rau teaches the branching domain of claim 54 as discussed above.
Romestand in view of Chang and Rau teach wherein the branching domain is selected from the group consisting of:
. Note that the first structure of claim 55 is the branching domain of claim 54 wherein the small molecule is histidine. Therefore, Romestand in view of Chang and Rau further address the method of claim 55.
Regarding claim 56, Romestand in view of Chang teach the method of claim 31 as discussed above.
Romestand in view of Rau and Chang teach wherein the branching domain comprises:
wherein, d + f > 2 (e.g., between about 2 and 100), d > c, and e >f, wherein c, d, e and f are integers and each M is a small molecule (Figure 1 of Chang, Scheme 1B of Romestand, page 4 paragraph 4 of Rau, “[s]uch structural motifs are preferably linked by a framework, for example a natural amino acid, such as lysine or a peptide consisting of natural amino acids such as lysine. Thus, for example, it is possible to associate one or both amino functions of the lysine with a Guapphe residue with the aid of a peptide bond” page 4 paragraph 3 of Rau). Note that Rau addresses the limitations of wherein, d + f > 2 (e.g., between about 2 and 100), d > c, and e >f, wherein c, d, e and f are integers and each M is a small molecule, when teaching that “structural motifs are preferably linked by a framework… a peptide consisting of natural amino acids such as lysine …it is possible to associate one or both amino functions of the lysine with a Guapphe residue” because it suggests the incorporation of multiple repetitive lysines wherein each lysisne carries two small molecules. Therefore, Romestand in view of Rau and Chang teach the instant claim .
Regarding claim 58, Romestand in view of Chang teach the method of claim 31 as discussed above.
Romestand in view of Chang fail to teach wherein the compound is linked to a substrate via the substrate binding domain.
Rau further teaches wherein the compound is linked to a substrate via the substrate binding domain (“[a]n anchor molecule of the general formula Z-R-Y is preferred. In this case, Z is an atom or an atom grouping which ensures the attachment to a solid support ” page 5 paragraphs 14-15).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Romestand in view of Chang to rely on wherein the compound is linked to a substrate via the substrate binding domain taught by Rau because Rau suggests that this enables ease of handling and their potential for miniaturization and possible automation in the production and use in instruments, such as measuring instruments. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Rau and Romestand teach a method for detecting presence of an analyte in a sample comprising contacting a sample suspected of comprising an analyte with a compound and detecting binding of an analyte binding molecule to the compound.
Regarding claim 59, Romestand in view of Chang and Rau teach the method of claim 58 as discussed above.
Romestand further teaches wherein a surface of the substrate is coated with a proteinaceous material (“The titer of antibodies directed against BSA, BSA-histamine, and DGL-G3-histamine was evaluated by direct ELISA analysis” page 1171 column 2 last paragraph, “Wells were then rinsed twice with PBS and saturated for 2 h at 37 °C with 50 µL of 5% silk milk in PBS” page 1171 column 1 paragraph 2).
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romestand in view of Chang as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Kayyem and O’Connor (US 7160678 B1)-Cite No. 1 of IDS filed 5/13/2021 (hereinafter Kayyem).
Regarding claim 37, Romestand in view of Chang teach the method of claim 31 as discussed above.
Romestand in view of Chang fail to teach an electrode surface and the analyte binding molecule includes an electroactive component, and wherein the analyte binding molecule is detected by the electrode when the electroactive component is proximate to the electrode.
Kayyem teaches “compositions for the electronic detection of analytes utilizing monolayers” (Title). Kayyem further teaches that the “compositions compris[es] electrodes comprising a monolayer comprising conductive oligomers, and a capture binding ligand” (column 1 lines 63-66). Kayyem further teaches that “when the target analyte is a nucleic acid, the electrons from the ETMs [electron transfer moiety] need not travel through the stacked π orbitals in order to generate a signal. Instead, the presence of ETMs on the surface of a SAM, that comprises conductive oligomers, can be directly detected. Thus, upon binding of a target analyte to a binding species on the surface, a recruitment linker comprising an ETM is brought to the surface, and detection of the ETM can proceed. Thus, the role of the target analyte and binding species is to provide specificity for a recruitment of ETMs to the surface, where they can be detected using the electrode” (column 6 lines 58-67 and column 7 lines 1-2). Kayyem further teaches that “preferred electrodes are known in the art and include, but are not limited to, certain metals and their oxides, including gold” (column 9 lines 45-47). Kayyem further suggests that the fast rates of electron transfer enhances signal-to-noise ratio (“It should be understood that one benefit of the fast rates of electron transfer observed in the compositions of the invention is that time resolution can greatly enhance the signal-to-noise results of monitors based on absorbance, fluorescence and electronic current” (column 66 lines 6-10).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Romestand in view of Chang to rely on the electrode surface and the analyte binding molecule including an electroactive component, and wherein the analyte binding molecule is detected by the electrode when the electroactive component is proximate to the electrode taught by Kayyem because Kayyem suggests that this method enables an enhancement of signal-to-noise ratio in the analyte detection. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Kayyem teaches that preferred electrodes are known in the art and include, but are not limited to, certain metals and their oxides, including gold.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schnepf and Rau (WO 2004/077054 A1) (hereinafter Rau) and Salahudeen and Nishtala Saudi Pharm J. 2016 Jul 9;25(2):165–175. doi: 10.1016/j.jsps.2016.07.002 (hereinafter Nishtala) (Cited in PTO 892 filed 2/21/2025) and Chang.
Regarding claim 41, Rau teaches a method for selecting a ligand capable of binding a small molecule (“a method for finding control ligands” page 6 last paragraph), the method comprising:(i) contacting a test ligand with a compound (“(a) providing potential control ligands on sensor fields; (b) measuring the binding between the potential control ligands and a plurality of mobile binding partners” page 6 last paragraph) comprising:(a) a substrate binding domain;(b) a branching domain comprising a plurality of small molecules each small molecule linked to a branch of a branch-point; and (c) a linker linking the substrate binding domain and the branching domain (compound of page 4 paragraph 4); and (ii) detecting binding of the test ligand with the compound (“(c) selection of control ligands on the basis of their binding values (measured values)” page 7 paragraph 1).
Rau fails to teach, wherein the small molecule is histidine or a histidine-phenylalanine dimer; step (ii) in the presence and in the absence of the small molecule, wherein the compound and the small molecule bind competitively with the test ligand, and selecting the test ligand having reduced binding in the presence of the small molecule.
Nishtala teaches “[a]n overview of pharmacodynamic modelling, ligand-binding approach and its application in clinical practice” (Title). Nishtala further teaches that “[t]he interaction between two and three ligands (drugs) at the same receptor binding site can usually be described by a competitive ligand binding model” (page 172 paragraph 2). Nishtala further teaches that “[t]he competitive binding models use a labelled concentration of ligand in the presence of various unlabelled ligand concentrations (known as the competitor or inhibitor) and measure binding at equilibrium” (page 172 paragraph 2). Further teaches that the “model can predict a zero-dose baseline effect (E0) in the absence of no drug and also follows the ‘law of diminishing returns’ at higher doses” (page 173 paragraph 7). Nishtala further suggests selecting the test ligand having reduced binding in the presence of the small molecule (“Competition binding models are useful for determining whether the unlabelled ligand has affected the ligand’s affinity for the receptor and compare the affinities of several ligands for the same receptor to find total versus free concentration or dose for the labelled ligand and unlabelled competitor or inhibitor” page 172 paragraph 2). Note that Nishtala suggests selecting the test ligand having reduced binding in the presence of the small molecule when teaching that this model is “useful for determining whether the unlabelled ligand has affected the ligand’s affinity for the receptor” because it implies that the usefulness of the model lies in the identification of a competition effect, therefore selecting the ligand that produces such results would be expected. Nishtala further teaches that the “model possess a widespread application in the field of functional receptor pharmacology” (page 173 paragraph 1). Nishtala further teaches that the model is “[a] useful model and a common descriptor for characterizing dose-response relationship” (page 173 paragraph 3). Nishtala further suggests that the competitive binding model can be used in small molecule ligands (“[a] recent study employed an Emax model to examine patient characteristics that predict adverse anticholinergic-type events in older people”) (page 173 paragraph 9).
Chang teaches the “Development of lysine–histidine dendron modified chitosan for improving transfection efficiency in HEK293 cells” (Title). Chang further teaches that “lysine–histidine (KH) dendrons were designed for effective modification of histidines” (page 195 col. 2 para. 2, See “Fig. 1. Structure of KH Dendron” page 196 col. 1). Note that the KH dendrons taught by Chang (see Fig. 1) are a compound comprising a substrate binding domain (SH), a branching domain comprising a plurality of small molecules each small molecule linked to a branch of a branch-point, wherein the branchpoint comprises at least one lysine; wherein the small molecule is histidine (the lysines are interpreted as the branching domains and branch-points comprising the histidines, see Figure 1). Figure 1 of Chang is copied here for convenience:
. Note that part of the Cystein and the β-Alanine are interpreted as the linker linking the substrate binding domain and the branching domain. Chang further teaches that the KH dendron has “practicability for experimental procedures and clinical applications… the structure of the KH dendron is composed of endogenous amino acids and the biocompatibility of the KH dendron is predictable” (page 196 col. 1 para. 1). Chang further teaches that “[t]he structure of dendron provided buffering capacity, not only from the imidazole group but also from the primary amino groups of histidines” (page 200 col. 2 para. 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Rau to rely on the competitive binding model taught by Nishtala, i.e., including the presence and the absence of the small molecule, wherein the compound and the small molecule bind competitively with the test ligand, and selecting the test ligand having reduced binding in the presence of the small molecule because Nishtala teaches that this method/model has a widespread application in the field of functional receptor pharmacology, is useful and a common descriptor for characterizing dose-response relationship and Rau is concerned with binding measurements. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Nishtala and Rau both teach methods associated with the binding of ligands to targets.
It would have been further prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Rau in view of Nishtala to rely on the small molecule being histidine taught by Chang because Chang suggests that the compound comprising a plurality of histidines provides biocompatibility, buffering capacity and is applicable for both experimental and clinical applications. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Rau and Chang teach a compound comprising a substrate binding domain, a branching domain comprising at least one small molecule, and a linker linking the substrate binding domain and the branching domain.
Claim 60 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romestand et al. Biomacromolecules 2010, 11, 5, 1169–1173 https://doi.org/10.1021/bm9012056 Cite No. 3 of IDS filed 7/19/2022 (hereinafter Romestand) in view of Delcayre et al. (US 20060222654 A1) Cite No. 1 of IDS filed 5/13/2021 (hereinafter Delcayre) and Chang.
Regarding claim 60, Romestand teaches a method for raising antibodies specific to a small molecule (“[a]n easily synthesized DendriGraft poly-lysine DGL-G3 (third generation) was shown to act as an efficient carrier for raising antibodies directed against small molecules” Abstract), the method comprising using a compound comprising:(a) a substrate binding domain; (b) a branching domain comprising a plurality of small molecules each small molecule linked to a branch of a branch-point; and (c) a linker linking the substrate binding domain and the branching domain (Abstract). See Figure 1 of Romestand showing DGL-G3-Histamine.
Romestand fails to teach contacting T cells with the compound and wherein the small molecule is histidine or a histidine-phenylalanine dimer.
Delcayre teaches “[t]he present invention further discloses methods of isolating cells producing a single antibody specific of a variant antigen comprising: 1) preparing immunogenic vesicles, preferably exosomes, displaying a variant antigen; 2) raising an antibody response by immunizing a non-human animal with the said immunogenic vesicles; 3) collecting lymphocytes from immunized animal; 4) preparing vesicles, preferably exosomes, displaying said variant antigen of step 1 and a marker; 5) preparing vesicles, preferably exosomes, displaying the native antigen and not displaying said marker; 6) suspending the lymphocytes of step 3 with the vesicles displaying said variant antigen and marker of step 4 and with an excess of the vesicles displaying said native antigen of step 5; and, 7) identifying and isolating cells producing a single antibody specific of an antigen variant reacting with the vesicles of step 4 (paragraph 19). Delcayre further teaches that “[i]n a preferred embodiment of the above-disclosed methods of isolating cells producing a single antibody specific of a variant antigen according to the present invention, said variant antigen is a mutated antigen and said native antigen is a wild-type antigen. Optionally, said variant antigen is the antigen contacting molecules selected in the group consisting of… small molecule” (paragraph 29). Delcayre further teaches that “[t]he invention presents many advantages over traditional approaches of antibody preparation. It is most advantageous when dealing with poorly immunogenic antigens, membrane proteins or multi-component polypeptide complexes… [a] further advantage of this invention is that the polypeptides can be expressed by exosome producing cells and thus subjected to natural pathways of processing and post-translational modifications (glycosylations, etc.)” (paragraph 79). Delcayre further teaches that “[p]referred exosome-producing cells of this invention are mammalian tumor cells, mammalian B and T lymphocytes and mammalian dendritic cells, typically of murine or human origin” (paragraph 115).
Chang teaches the “Development of lysine–histidine dendron modified chitosan for improving transfection efficiency in HEK293 cells” (Title). Chang further teaches that “lysine–histidine (KH) dendrons were designed for effective modification of histidines” (page 195 col. 2 para. 2, See “Fig. 1. Structure of KH Dendron” page 196 col. 1). Note that the KH dendrons taught by Chang (see Fig. 1) are a compound comprising a substrate binding domain (SH), a branching domain comprising a plurality of small molecules each small molecule linked to a branch of a branch-point, wherein the branchpoint comprises at least one lysine; wherein the small molecule is histidine (the lysines are interpreted as the branching domains and branch-points comprising the histidines, see Figure 1). Figure 1 of Chang is copied here for convenience:
. Note that part of the Cystein and the β-Alanine are interpreted as the linker linking the substrate binding domain and the branching domain. Chang further teaches that the KH dendron has “practicability for experimental procedures and clinical applications… the structure of the KH dendron is composed of endogenous amino acids and the biocompatibility of the KH dendron is predictable” (page 196 col. 1 para. 1). Chang further teaches that “[t]he structure of dendron provided buffering capacity, not only from the imidazole group but also from the primary amino groups of histidines” (page 200 col. 2 para. 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Romestand to rely on the contacting step with T cells taught by Delcayre because it would be a simple matter of applying a known technique to a known method. In this case, both Romestand and Delcayre teach a method for raising antibodies specific to a small molecule. Delcayre simply uses the art-recognized technique of using T cells in the contacting step of the method for raising antibodies specific to a small molecule. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to apply the technique of Delcayre to the base method taught by both references. One would be motivated to make such a modification because Delcayre teaches that this method is most advantageous when dealing with poorly immunogenic antigens, membrane proteins or multi-component polypeptide complexes. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Romestand and Delcayre teach methods of raising antibodies specific to a small molecule.
It would have been further prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Romestand in view of Delcayre to rely on the small molecule being histidine taught by Chang because Chang suggests that the compound comprising a plurality of histidines provides biocompatibility, buffering capacity and is applicable for both experimental and clinical applications. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Romestand and Chang teach a compound comprising a substrate binding domain, a branching domain comprising at least one small molecule, and a linker linking the substrate binding domain and the branching domain.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 103 rejections, Applicant argues that “Like Romestand, neither Rau nor Kayyem teaches or suggest the feature of "wherein the small molecule is histidine or a histidinephenylalanine dimer". As such, Romestand, Rau, and Kayyem, taken in any combination, fail to teach or suggest each and every feature of claim 31 or its dependents, e.g., rejected dependent claims 37, 53-54, 56, and 58-59” (page 14 para. 2). However, Chang is relied upon for the teaching of wherein the small molecule is histidine or a histidinephenylalanine dimer (see rejection above). Applicant further argues that “the present application presents results showing that histidine unexpectedly performs better than histamine as a small molecule… The present application also presents results showing that a histidine-phenylalanine dimer performs similarly to histidine” (page 15 paras. 1 and 3). However, this is not considered a persuasive argument against the new grounds of rejection set forth above in view of Chang, who teaches wherein the small molecule is histidine (see rejection above). Applicant further argues that “Romestand and Buckler, taken in any combination, fail to teach or suggest each and every feature of claim 31 or its dependents, e.g., rejected dependent claims 34-35 and 55… neither Rau nor Nishtala teaches or suggest the feature of "wherein the small molecule is histidine or a histidine-phenylalanine dimer… Delcayre, like Romestand fails to teach or suggest the feature of "wherein the small molecule is histidine or a histidine-phenylalanine dimer"” (page 18 paras. 1 and 5 and page 19 para. 3). However, as stated above, Chang is relied upon for the teaching of wherein the small molecule is histidine or a histidinephenylalanine dimer (see rejection above).
Conclusion
/Fernando Ivich/Examiner, Art Unit 1678
/CHRISTOPHER L CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1677