DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vlasov et al. (US20200004346, “Vlasov”).
Re claim 1, Vlasov discloses an adjustable force device, comprising:
a mechanically guided member 150 for allowing a displacement of the member along a predetermined trajectory (figs 1 & 3a-c, [0029] & [0033]); and
a mechanism for magnetically indexing the displacement of the member by a magnetic interaction without current during displacement between a first ferromagnetic structure 302 and a second ferromagnetic structure 314 rigidly connected to a magnet 308 (fig 3a, [0033]), wherein the magnet 308 is surrounded at least partially by an electric coil 310, 312 configured to modify a magnetization of the permanent magnet 308 according to a direction and amplitude of an electric current flowing in the coil 310, 312 to reverse the polarity of the magnet 308 and to adjust the level of magnetization of the magnet 308 (figs 4a-c, [0032-0033] & provisional application 6290591, appendix, pg 5, fig showing different current spikes provide different torques & pg 6, fig shows different current changing torque amplitude & indexation torques from different currents; additionally all claimed structure is disclosed by Vlasov so the device of Vlasov is capable of the claimed functions-see MPEP 2112.01, section I.), the magnetically indexing of the member configured to provide a haptic sensation to a user ([0033]).
Re claim 2, Vlasov discloses claim 1 and further discloses the magnet 308 is a magnet with a coercive field of less than 100 kA/m ([0030], alnico magnet inherently w/ coercive field less than 100kA/m ).
Re claim 3, Vlasov discloses claim 1 and further discloses the second magnetized ferromagnetic structure 314 is also rigidly connected to a second permanent magnet 306 with a coercive field of greater than 100 kA/m ([0030], NdFeB magnet inherently w/ coercive field more than 100kA/m).
Re claim 5, Vlasov discloses claim 1 and further discloses the second ferromagnetic structure 314 defines, with the first ferromagnetic structure 302, a first air gap on a side of a first polarity of the magnet 308 (figs 4a-c) and a second air gap on a side of a second polarity of the magnet 308 (figs 4a-c).
Re claim 16, Vlasov discloses claim 2 and further discloses the second magnetized ferromagnetic structure 314 is also rigidly connected to a second permanent magnet 306 with a coercive field of greater than 100 kA/m ([0030], NdFeB magnet inherently w/ coercive field more than 100kA/m).
Re claim 20, Vlasov discloses an adjustable force device, comprising:
surrounded at least partially by an electronic coil configured to modify a magnetization of the first magnet according to a direction and amplitude of an electric current flowing in the coil and the second magnet is positioned external to the electronic coil.
a mechanically guided member 150 for allowing a displacement of the member along a predetermined trajectory (figs 1 & 3a-c, [0029] & [0033]); and
a mechanism for magnetically indexing the displacement of the member by a magnetic interaction without current during the displacement of the member between a first ferromagnetic structure 302 and a second ferromagnetic structure 314 rigidly connected to a first magnet 308 (fig 3a, [0033]) and a second magnet 306 (fig 3a, [0033]), wherein the first magnet 308 is surrounded at least partially by an electric coil 310, 312 configured to reverse the polarity and adjust the level of magnetization of the first magnet 308 according to a direction and amplitude of an electric current flowing in the coil 310, 312 (figs 4a-c, [0032-0033] & provisional application 6290591, appendix, pg 5, fig showing different current spikes provide different torques & pg 6, fig shows different current changing torque amplitude & indexation torques from different currents; additionally all claimed structure is disclosed by Vlasov so the device of Vlasov is capable of the claimed functions-see MPEP 2112.01, section I.) and the second magnet 306 positioned external to the electronic coil 310, 312 (fig 3a), the magnetically indexing the displacement of the member providing a haptic sensation to a user ([0033]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/22/24 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Vlasov does not provide support in provisional application US62690591 for the claim 1 limitation of coil modifying the magnetization of the magnet according to the direction and amplitude of the electric current flowing in the coil to adjust the level of magnetization of the magnet (pg 7, 2nd to 3rd paragraphs). Examiner disagrees.
In US62690591 paragraph [0024] states “More information regarding EPM (electro permanent magnet) operation and specifications within a system similar to system 500 is included within Appendix A.”
Looking to appendix A shows current applied to the coil being adjusted for different torque outputs (pg 5, figure reproduced below); and different current changing torque amplitude and indexation torques from different currents (figs on pg 6).
In view of this it is seen there is support for the coil of Vlasov to adjust the level of magnetization of the magnet, increase/decrease of torque is a result of increase/decrease of magnetization, where magnetization is directly proportional to current, as is known in the art. The same argument is in response to applicant’s argument to claim 20 (pg 8, 1st paragraph).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834