DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “gap region”, the “orthographic projection”, the “partitions”, the “split bodies” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Since there is no corresponding reference numerals in the specification, it is difficult to determine which element in the drawings corresponds to the claimed limitations.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Since there are no references numbers for the “gap region”, the “orthographic projection”, the “partitions”, the “split bodies” it is difficult to determine which element in the drawings corresponds to the claimed limitations.
Appropriate correction is required.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 14 is merely a method of making the display panel of claim 1 with only the word method in the preamble and steps of “forming” the layers of claim 1. Accordingly, any further methods steps such as evaporation (e.g., [0061]) would result in a restriction requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-13, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 3, 16, “one of” the second blocks and “one of” the first blocks is ambiguous. Is every second blocks smaller than every first block? Is only one second block smaller than at least one first block?
In claims 4-6, 18, it is unclear what is meant by “disposed away from” and “one by one”. Also, “…the split body has a greater distance from the first display region, has a smaller area…” Which split body? Greater distance than what? Another split body? Fewer of what? The claim appears to omit a comparison reference for the smaller area.
In claim 7, it is unclear what is meant by “…the side of…away from”.
In claims 9, 17, the relationship among the pixel openings, the light-transmitting blocks, the partition is unclear and difficult to determine. There is a scope ambiguity problem with the lengthy claim.
In claim 10, “adapted to a shape of” is a term of degree that fails to provide objective boundaries because the claim does not specify the extent to which the shapes must correspond.
In claims 12, 13, 19, 20, it is unclear what is meant by “separated from” since the claim does not specify whether the projections are non-overlapping, spaced apart by a distance, or otherwise geometrically distinct.
The other claims are rejected as being dependent on one of the claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 12-16, 19, 20 is/are, to the extent taught and understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112103318 (Xu), cited by Applicant in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0165052 (Liu) or 2022/0100022 (Wang).
Xu discloses
[Claim 1] (Original) A display panelhaving a first display region AA1, a second display region AA2, and a third display region AA3 positioned between the first display region AA1 and the second display region AA2, comprising:
a substrate 101;
a pixel definition layer 100 disposed on a side of the substrate 101, wherein a plurality of spaced-apart pixel openings 120 are defined on the pixel definition layer 100, and a gap region is defined between two adjacent pixel openings 120; and
a suppression layer 230 / 220 disposed on a side of the pixel definition layer 100 away from the substrate 101, wherein the suppression layer 230 / 220 is positioned in the gap region; and
wherein the suppression layer 230 / 220 comprises a first cathode suppression layer 230 positioned in the first display region AA1 and a second cathode suppression layer 220 positioned in the third display region AA3, and
an orthographic projection of the second cathode suppression layer 220, an orthographic projection of the first cathode suppression layer 230 (Figs. 2-5, [0033], [0036], [0041], [0042], [0046], [0047], [0088], [0089] of equivalent U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0083099).
Xu fails to disclose
a ratio of an area of an orthographic projection of the second cathode suppression layer on the substrate to an area of the third display region is less than a ratio of an area of an orthographic projection of the first cathode suppression layer on the substrate to an area of the first display region.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the reduce the relative area of one suppression layer and increase the relative area of another suppression layer in Xu. The motivation would be to make the transmittance of one display region greater than the transmittance of another display region by having the second suppression layer cover a smaller area ratio than the first suppression layer, so the third region is less suppressed than the first based on routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05.
Liu teaches (at least [0193], [0194], [0202])
A display panel, comprising:
a ratio of an area of an orthographic projection of the second cathode suppression layer on the substrate to an area of the third display region is less than a ratio of an area of an orthographic projection of the first cathode suppression layer on the substrate to an area of the first display region.
Wang teaches (at least [0078], [0080], [0136])
A display panel, comprising:
a ratio of an area of an orthographic projection of the second cathode suppression layer on the substrate to an area of the third display region is less than a ratio of an area of an orthographic projection of the first cathode suppression layer on the substrate to an area of the first display region.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the areas in Xu. The motivation would be to control transmittance characteristics among the respective display regions and achieve a desired balance between optical transmission and display performance. Both the Liu and Wang references recognize that varying the area occupied by suppression structures affects the transmittance of the corresponding display region.
Liu and Wang teach selecting coverage ratios and quantitative area relationships to achieve desired optical performance.
[Claim 2] (Original) The display panel according to claim 1, wherein the ratio of the area of the orthographic projection of the second cathode suppression layer on the substrate to the area of the third display region is less than or equal to one half of the ratio of the area of the orthographic projection of the first cathode suppression layer on the substrate to the area of the first display region.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a ratio less than or equal to one-half in Xu. The motivation would be to make the transmittance of one display region greater than the transmittance of another display region by having one suppression layer cover a smaller area ratio than another suppression layer, so one region is less suppressed than another based on routine optimization as discussed in Liu and Wang. See MPEP 2144.05.
Wang teaches ([0078], [0080]) varying optical structures in different regions
[Claim 3] (Original) The display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first cathode suppression layer comprises a plurality of spaced-apart first light-transmitting blocks, and the second cathode suppression layer comprises a plurality of spaced-apart second light-transmitting blocks; and wherein an area of an orthographic projection of one of the second light-transmitting blocks on the substrate is less than an area of an orthographic projection of one of the first light-transmitting blocks on the substrate, or/and a number of the second light-transmitting blocks is less than a number of the first light-transmitting blocks.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select smaller or fewer light-transmittance blocks in Xu. The motivation would be to obtain differing transmittance by lowering overall coverage based on routine optimization as discussed in Wang. See MPEP 2144.05.
Xu discloses
[Claim 12] (Original) The display panel according to claim 1, wherein an orthographic projection of the suppression layer 230 / 220 on the substrate 101 is separated from an orthographic projection of the second display region AA2 on the substrate 101.
Xu discloses
[Claim 13] (Original) The display panel according to claim 1, wherein an orthographic projection of the suppression layer 230 / 220 on the substrate 101 is separated from an orthographic projection of an anode of a sub-pixel 400 on the substrate 101.
Xu discloses
[Claim 14] (Original) A method of manufacturing a display panelhaving a first display region AA1, a second display region AA2, and a third display region AA3 positioned between the first display region AA1 and the second display region AA2, comprising:
forming a pixel definition layer 100 on a side of the substrate 101, wherein a plurality of spaced-apart pixel openings 120 are defined on the pixel definition layer 100, and a gap region is defined between two adjacent pixel openings 120; and
forming a suppression layer 230 / 220 on a side of the pixel definition layer 100 away from the substrate 101, wherein the suppression layer 230 / 220 is positioned in the gap region, and the suppression layer 230 / 220 comprises a first cathode suppression layer 230 positioned in the first display region AA1 and a second cathode suppression layer AA2 positioned in the third display region AA3, and
an orthographic projection of the second cathode suppression layer 220, an orthographic projection of the first cathode suppression layer 230 (Figs. 2-5, [0033], [0036], [0041], [0042], [0046], [0047], [0088], [0089] of equivalent U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0083099).
Xu fails to disclose
wherein a ratio of an area of an orthographic projection of the second cathode suppression layer on the substrate to an area of the third display region is less than a ratio of an area of an orthographic projection of the first cathode suppression layer on the substrate to an area of the first display region.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the reduce the relative area of one suppression layer and increase the relative area of another suppression layer in Xu. The motivation would be to make the transmittance of one display region greater than the transmittance of another display region by having the second suppression layer cover a smaller area ratio than the first suppression layer, so the third region is less suppressed than the first based on routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05.
Liu teaches (at least [0193], [0194], [0202])
A display panel, comprising:
a ratio of an area of an orthographic projection of the second cathode suppression layer on the substrate to an area of the third display region is less than a ratio of an area of an orthographic projection of the first cathode suppression layer on the substrate to an area of the first display region.
Wang teaches (at least [0078], [0080], [0136])
A display panel, comprising:
a ratio of an area of an orthographic projection of the second cathode suppression layer on the substrate to an area of the third display region is less than a ratio of an area of an orthographic projection of the first cathode suppression layer on the substrate to an area of the first display region.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the areas in Xu. The motivation would be to control transmittance characteristics among the respective display regions and achieve a desired balance between optical transmission and display performance. Both the Liu and Wang references recognize that varying the area occupied by suppression structures affects the transmittance of the corresponding display region.
Liu and Wang teach selecting coverage ratios and quantitative area relationships to achieve desired optical performance.
[Claim 15] (Original) The method of manufacturing the display panel according to claim 14, wherein the ratio of the area of the orthographic projection of the second cathode suppression layer on the substrate to the area of the third display region is less than or equal to one half of the ratio of the area of the orthographic projection of the first cathode suppression layer on the substrate to the area of the first display region.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a ratio less than or equal to one-half in Xu. The motivation would be to make the transmittance of one display region greater than the transmittance of another display region by having one suppression layer cover a smaller area ratio than another suppression layer, so one region is less suppressed than another based on routine optimization as discussed in Liu and Wang. See MPEP 2144.05.
Wang teaches ([0078], [0080]) varying optical structures in different regions
[Claim 16] (Original) The method of manufacturing the display panel according to claim 14, wherein the first cathode suppression layer comprises a plurality of spaced-apart first light-transmitting blocks, and the second cathode suppression layer comprises a plurality of spaced-apart second light-transmitting blocks; and wherein an area of an orthographic projection of one of the second light- transmitting blocks on the substrate is less than an area of an orthographic projection of one of the first light-transmitting blocks on the substrate, or/and a number of the second light-transmitting blocks is less than a number of the first light-transmitting blocks.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select smaller or fewer light-transmittance blocks in Xu. The motivation would be to obtain differing transmittance by lowering overall coverage based on routine optimization as discussed in Wang. See MPEP 2144.05.
Xu discloses
[Claim 19] (Original) The manufacturing method of the display panel according to claim 14, wherein an orthographic projection of the suppression layer 230 / 220 on the substrate 101 is separated from an orthographic projection of the second display region AA2 on the substrate 101.
Xu discloses
[Claim 20] (Original) The manufacturing method of the display panel according to claim 14, wherein an orthographic projection of the suppression layer 230 / 220 on the substrate 101 is separated from an orthographic projection of an anode of a sub-pixel 400 on the substrate 101.
Claim(s) 7, 8 is/are, to the extent taught and understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Liu or Wang as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0023382 (Harikrishna Mohan).
Liu teaches
[Claim 7] (Original) The display panel according to claim 3, wherein the display panel further comprises a cathode layer 105 / 109 disposed on the side of the pixel definition layer 134 away from the substrate 101, and the cathode layer 105 / 109 covers the pixel openings (unlabeled) and at least part of the suppression layer 135;
The combination of references fails to teach
and wherein a thickness of the cathode layer positioned on the suppression layer is less than a thickness of the cathode layer positioned on the pixel openings.
Harikrishna Mohan teaches a cathode layer having a varying thickness.
A display panel comprising:
wherein a thickness of the cathode layer 54 positioned on the suppression layer is less than a thickness of the cathode layer 54 positioned on the pixel openings.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary the thickness of the cathode layer opening in the modified device of Xu. The motivation would be to optimize light extraction and color purity, while overlapping an opening to physically separate sub-pixels, prevent short circuits, and manage electrical and optical crosstalk as discussed in Harikrishna Mohan.
Harikrishna Mohan teaches
[Claim 8] (Original) The display panel according to claim 7, wherein the cathode layer 54 comprises electrode portions in one-to-one correspondence with the pixel openings and an overlap portion connecting two adjacent ones of the electrode portions, wherein the overlap portion is positioned in the first display region and the third display region.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Application Publication Nos. 2022/0190073 (Song), 2022/0102670 (Peng), JP Publication No. 2021-114426 (Kondo) teach a display panel having suppression layers.
/TERESA M. ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893