DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 24 recites “The paper sheet according to claim 1, wherein the weight ratio of hydrophobic fibers to cellulose fibers is 2:3 to 3:2.” The ratio does not further limit the claim 1 limitation of the hydrophobic fibers being 40-60% and the cellulose fibers being 40-60% of the dry weight.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 11-12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuanyuan et al. CN111996832 published 27 Nov. 2020 as translated by EPO (hereafter Yuanyuan) and further in view of Roggenstein et al. US 2015/0329707 (hereafter Roggenstein).
Regarding claim 1, Yuanyuan teaches a paper sheet comprising cellulose fibers (wood fiber pulp and hemp fiber pump, ¶12) and fibers (viscose fiber, ¶12), wherein the cellulose fibers represent 20% to 70% by weight of the dry matter of the paper sheet (wood and hemp fibers, ¶12), the fibers represent 30% to 80% by weight of the dry matter of the paper sheet (viscose fiber, ¶12), and the cellulose fibers and the hydrophobic fibers represent at least 85% by weight of the dry matter of the paper sheet wherein the hydrophobic fibers comprise hydrophobic viscose fibers (¶12).
Yuanyuan does not teach where the fibers are hydrophobic fibers, wherein the cellulose fibers represent 40% to 60% by weight of the dry matter of the paper sheet, the fibers represent 40% to 60% by weight of the dry matter of the paper sheet.
MPEP §2144.05 I states that where the claimed and prior art ranges overlap, a prima facie case of obviousness exists to choose the overlapping portion of the ranges.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cellulose fibers representing 20% to 70% by weight of the dry matter of the paper sheet (¶12) of Yuanyuan to represent 40% to 60% by weight of the dry matter of the paper sheet as a matter of prima facie case of obvious overlapping ranges.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hydrophobic fibers representing 20% to 70% by weight of the dry matter of the paper sheet (¶12) of Yuanyuan to represent 40% to 60% by weight of the dry matter of the paper sheet as a matter of prima facie case of obvious overlapping ranges.
Roggenstein teaches a paper sheet (¶27) where viscose/rayon fibers can be treated to be hydrophobic (¶17-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the viscose/rayon fibers (¶12) of Yuanyuan to by hydrophobic viscose/rayon fibers (¶17-22) as taught by Roggenstein in order to repel water (¶17-22). The modification would have resulted in where the hydrophobic fibers comprise hydrophobic viscose fibers.
Regarding claim 5, Yuanyuan in view of Roggenstein teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Yuanyuan does not teach wherein the hydrophobic viscose fiber is a resulting mixture of a viscose fiber and a hydrophobic substance selected from the group consisting of alkyl ketene dimers, alkenyl ketene dimers, alkyl succinic anhydrides, alkenyl succinic anhydrides, alkyl glutaric acid anhydrides, alkenyl glutaric acid anhydrides, alkyl isocyanates, alkenyl isocyanates, fatty acid an hydrides, and mixtures thereof, and the content of the hydrophobic substance in the hydrophobic viscose fiber is 0.1 % by weight to 13% by weight based on viscose fiber.
Roggenstein teaches wherein the hydrophobic viscose fiber is a resulting mixture of a viscose fiber and a hydrophobic substance selected from the group consisting of alkyl ketene dimers, alkenyl ketene dimers, alkyl succinic anhydrides, alkenyl succinic anhydrides, alkyl glutaric acid anhydrides, alkenyl glutaric acid anhydrides, alkyl isocyanates, alkenyl isocyanates, fatty acid an hydrides, and mixtures thereof (¶18), and the content of the hydrophobic substance in the hydrophobic viscose fiber is 0.1 % by weight to 13% by weight based on viscose fiber (¶22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the viscose/rayon fibers (¶12) of Yuanyuan to be hydrophobic viscose/rayon fibers (¶17-22) as taught by Roggenstein in order to repel water (¶17-22).
The modification would have resulted in wherein the hydrophobic viscose fiber is a resulting mixture of a viscose fiber and a hydrophobic substance selected from the group consisting of alkyl ketene dimers, alkenyl ketene dimers, alkyl succinic anhydrides, alkenyl succinic anhydrides, alkyl glutaric acid anhydrides, alkenyl glutaric acid anhydrides, alkyl isocyanates, alkenyl isocyanates, fatty acid an hydrides, and mixtures thereof, and the content of the hydrophobic substance in the hydrophobic viscose fiber is 0.1 % by weight to 13% by weight based on viscose fiber.
Regarding claim 11, Yuanyuan in view of Roggenstein teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Yuanyuan further teaches a basis weight of 15 g.m-2 to 60 g.m-2 (¶25).
Regarding claim 12, Yuanyuan in view of Roggenstein teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Yuanyuan further teaches an additive (¶31).
Regarding claim 21, Yuanyuan in view of Roggenstein teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Yuanyuan further teaches the fibers represent 30% to 80% by weight of the dry matter of the paper sheet (viscose fiber, ¶12).
Yuanyuan does not teach where the fibers represent 45% to 60% by weight of the dry matter of the paper sheet.
MPEP §2144.05 I states that where the claimed and prior art ranges overlap, a prima facie case of obviousness exists to choose the overlapping portion of the ranges.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hydrophobic fibers representing 20% to 70% by weight of the dry matter of the paper sheet (¶12) of Yuanyuan to represent 45% to 60% by weight of the dry matter of the paper sheet as a matter of prima facie case of obvious overlapping ranges.
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuanyuan et al. CN111996832 published 27 Nov. 2020 as translated by EPO (hereafter Yuanyuan) in view of Roggenstein et al. US 2015/0329707 (hereafter Roggenstein) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Douglas et al. US 5732718 (hereafter Douglas).
Regarding claim 7, Yuanyuan in view of Roggenstein teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Yuanyuan does not teach a binding agent.
Douglas teaches a paper sheet (col 5 lines 52-56) comprising cellulose fibers (pulp, col 7 lines 18-39) and fibers (rayon, col 7 lines 18-39, where rayon and viscose are the same compound). Douglas teaches a binding agent in order to improve the strength (col 7 lines 1-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paper sheet (¶12) of Yuanyuan to include the binding agent (col 7 lines 1-17) of Douglas in order to improve the strength (col 7 lines 1-17).
Regarding claim 20, Yuanyuan in view of Roggenstein teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Yuanyuan does not teach wherein the length of the hydrophobic fibers is less than 20 mm
Douglas teaches a paper sheet (col 5 lines 52-56) comprising cellulose fibers (pulp, col 7 lines 18-39) and fibers (rayon, col 7 lines 18-39, where rayon and viscose are the same compound). Douglas further teaches wherein the hydrophobic fibers have a length of 5mm to 36mm (col 7 line 34).
MPEP §2144.05 I states that where the claimed and prior art ranges overlap, a prima facie case of obviousness exists to choose the overlapping portion of the ranges.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fibers (viscose, ¶12) of Yuanyuan to be from 5mm to 20mm in length as a matter of prima facie case of obvious overlapping ranges and in order to filter provide the proper paper sheet characteristics, where the fiber length affects the paper.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuanyuan in view of Roggenstein and Douglas as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Browne US 4,821,750 (hereafter Browne) and Kizer et al. US 2014/0261502 (hereafter Kizer).
Regarding claim 8, Yuanyuan in view of Roggenstein and Douglas teaches all the limitations of claim 7.
Yuanyuan does not teach wherein the binding agent has a shape of fiber and is chosen from polyvinyl alcohol fibers, polyvinyl acetate fibers, polyethylene fibers, polypropylene fibers, polyester fibers, cellulose acetate fibers, nylon, cellulose ester fiber and mixture thereof.
Browne teaches wherein the binding agent has a shape of fiber (col 19 lines 35-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paper sheet (¶12) of Yuanyuan comprising the binding agent (col 7 lines 1-17) of Douglas by incorporating the fiber binding agent (col 19 lines 35-55) of Browne in order to bond the fibers (col 19 lines 35-55).
Kizer teaches a paper sheet wherein binding agent is nylon (¶14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paper sheet (¶12) of Yuanyuan comprising the binding agent (col 7 lines 1-17) of Douglas to be the nylon binding agent (¶14) of Kizer in order to bind the paper, where binders of various compositions are well known in the art.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuanyuan in view of Roggenstein as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Papakyrillou US 2017/0360087 published 21 Dec. 2017 and filed 15 Dec. 2015 (hereafter Papakyrillou).
Regarding claim 9, Yuanyuan in view of Roggenstein and Douglas teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Yuanyuan does not teach having a water contact angle higher than 70°.
Papakyrillou teaches a paper sheet (abstract) having a water contact angle higher than 70° in order to be hydrophobic (¶7, ¶19, ¶24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the water contact angle of Yuanyuan to be at higher than 70° of Papakyrillou in order to be hydrophobic (¶7, ¶19, ¶24).
Regarding claim 10, Yuanyuan in view of Roggenstein and Douglas teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Yuanyuan does not teach having a capillary rise according to ISO 8787:1986 below 10 mm/10 min.
Papakyrillou teaches a paper sheet (abstract) having a water contact angle at least about 90 degrees, at least about 95 degrees, at least about 100 degrees, at least about 110 degrees, at least about 120 degrees, at least about 130 degrees at least about 140 degrees, at least about 150 degrees, at least about 160 degrees, or at least about 170 degrees in order to be hydrophobic (¶7, ¶19, ¶24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the water contact angle of Yuanyuan to have the water contact angle(s) of Papakyrillou in order to be hydrophobic (¶7, ¶19, ¶24). The modification would be expected to result in a hydrophobic paper sheet which would exhibit the property of having a capillary rise according to ISO 8787:1986 below 10 mm/10 min.
Claims 23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuanyuan in view of Roggenstein as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tarora et al. US 2010/0242977 (hereafter Tarora), Lecoultre et al. US 7243659 (hereafter Lecoultre), and Nestor et al. WO2005032285 published 14 Apr. 2005 (hereafter Nestor).
Regarding claim 23, Yuanyuan in view of Roggenstein teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Yuanyuan does not teach wherein the paper sheet has a porosity of from 1000 CORESTA units to 50000 CORESTA units.
Tarora teaches a paper used in cigarettes where the air permeability is 1000 coresta or greater in order to have a high air permeability (¶14).
Lecoultre teaches a paper used in cigarettes where the air permeability is 1000 coresta or greater in order to have a high air permeability (col 4 line 40 – col 5 line 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the porosity/permeability of the Yuanyuan paper to be the at least 1000 coresta (¶14) of Tarora in order to have a high air permeability (¶14).
MPEP §2144.05 I states that where the claimed and prior art ranges overlap, a prima facie case of obviousness exists to choose the overlapping portion of the ranges.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the porosity/permeability of the Yuanyuan /Tarora combination to be wherein at least 1000 to 50000 coresta as a matter of prima facie case of obvious overlapping ranges.
Lecoultre teaches a paper used in cigarettes where the air permeability is 1000 coresta or greater in order to have a high air permeability (col 4 line 40 – col 5 line 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the porosity/permeability of the Yuanyuan paper to be the 1000 coresta (col 4 line 40 – col 5 line 24) of Lecoultre in order to have a high air permeability (col 4 line 40 – col 5 line 24).
MPEP §2144.05 I states that where the claimed and prior art ranges overlap, a prima facie case of obviousness exists to choose the overlapping portion of the ranges.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the porosity/permeability of the Yuanyuan /Lecoultre combination to be wherein at least 1000 to 50000 coresta as a matter of prima facie case of obvious overlapping ranges.
Nestor teaches a paper used in cigarettes where the air permeability is 10,000 coresta in order to have a high air permeability (page 41 lines 5-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the porosity/permeability of the Yuanyuan paper to be the 10,000 coresta (page 41 lines 5-19) of Nestor in order to have a high air permeability (page 41 lines 5-19).
Regarding claim 26, Yuanyuan in view of Roggenstein teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Yuanyuan further teaches wherein the cellulose fibers and the hydrophobic fibers represent at least 90% by weight of the dry matter of the paper sheet (¶12).
Yuanyuan does not teach wherein the paper sheet has a porosity of from 5000 CORESTA units to 40000 CORESTA units.
Tarora teaches a paper used in cigarettes where the air permeability is 1000 coresta or greater in order to have a high air permeability (¶14).
Lecoultre teaches a paper used in cigarettes where the air permeability is 1000 coresta or greater in order to have a high air permeability (col 4 line 40 – col 5 line 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the porosity/permeability of the Yuanyuan paper to be the at least 1000 coresta (¶14) of Tarora in order to have a high air permeability (¶14).
MPEP §2144.05 I states that where the claimed and prior art ranges overlap, a prima facie case of obviousness exists to choose the overlapping portion of the ranges.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the porosity/permeability of the Yuanyuan /Tarora combination to be wherein at least 5000 to 40000 coresta as a matter of prima facie case of obvious overlapping ranges.
Lecoultre teaches a paper used in cigarettes where the air permeability is 1000 coresta or greater in order to have a high air permeability (col 4 line 40 – col 5 line 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the porosity/permeability of the Yuanyuan paper to be the 1000 coresta (col 4 line 40 – col 5 line 24) of Lecoultre in order to have a high air permeability (col 4 line 40 – col 5 line 24).
MPEP §2144.05 I states that where the claimed and prior art ranges overlap, a prima facie case of obviousness exists to choose the overlapping portion of the ranges.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the porosity/permeability of the Yuanyuan /Lecoultre combination to be wherein at least 5000 to 40000 coresta as a matter of prima facie case of obvious overlapping ranges.
Nestor teaches a paper used in cigarettes where the air permeability is 10,000 coresta in order to have a high air permeability (page 41 lines 5-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the porosity/permeability of the Yuanyuan paper to be the 10,000 coresta (page 41 lines 5-19) of Nestor in order to have a high air permeability (page 41 lines 5-19).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuanyuan in view of Roggenstein as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsumura et al. US 5,678,577 (hereafter Matsumura).
Regarding claim 25, Yuanyuan in view of Roggenstein teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Yuanyuan does not teach wherein the cellulose fibers are refined and have a Shopper-Riegler degree (SR degree) of 9°SR to 90°SR.
Matsumura teaches a paper filter sheet (abstract) wherein the
the cellulose fibers are refined and have a Shopper-Riegler degree (SR degree) of 10°SR to 90°SR in order to ensure freeness (col 7 line 63 – col 8 line 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refined cellulose fibers fibers (¶12) of Yuanyuan by having a Shopper-Riegler degree (SR degree) of 10°SR to 90°SR in order to ensure freeness (col 7 line 63 – col 8 line 11).
Response to Arguments
The following is a response to Applicant’s arguments filed 10 Dec. 2025:
Applicant argues that Douglas does not teach the claimed range.
The argument is moot because Douglas is not used to teach the claimed cellulose and hydrophobic fibers.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776