DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Min et al (US 2020/0280003) (Min).
In reference to claims 11-19, Min teaches the compound 105 as shown below that reads on the instant claims (Min p. 60).
For Claim 11: Reads on formula 1-2 wherein CY1 is benzene, CY2 is Benzene, CY3 is benzene, L1 is N, R3 is phenyl and R3 and L1 are fused to form a ring with CY3, CY4 is pyridine, R10 is group 10-1, b1 is 2, R11 is methyl, R2 is t butyl, R4 is t butyl, R51 and R52 are each phenyl, and M1 is Pt.
For Claim 12: Reads on CY1-1, CY2-1, CY3-1, CY4-1.
For Claim 15: Reads on wherein each R is hydrogen, alkyl or phenyl.
For Claim 17: Reads on L-1.
For Claim 18: Reads on L-2.
For Claim 19: Reads on formula 1-1A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al (US 2020/0392173) (Bae).
In reference to claim 20, Bae teaches the compound 78 as shown below.
The difference between the cited compound and the instantly claimed compound 30 is merely that of positional isomers of a tert-butyl group. It is noted that compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious). In light of the case law cited above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the compound disclosed in the present claims is but an obvious variant of the compound presently claimed, and thereby one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention
For Claim 20: Reads on 30.
Claim 1-7, 9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al (US 2020/0280003) (Min).
For Claims 1-6 and 9, Min teaches the material as described above for claim 11 and further teaches that this material is included in an organic light emitting device comprising the compound as a dopant in an emitting layer comprising a host in addition to hole transport and electron transport layers between an anode and a cathode (Min [0200]; [0228]; [0229]) and further teaches that the host can be combinations of materials including e.g. TPBI and CBP that are electron transport and hole transport hosts, respectively (Min [0263]).
While Min does not exemplify a device with this specific configuration, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have used this exemplified material in the taught device configuration of Min with the anticipation of providing a functionally similar device to those exemplified therein.
In reference to claim 7, Min teaches a device of claim 1 as described above. While Min does not specifically teach that the emission is in the claimed range, as the emissive material in the light emitting layer is identical to that instantly claimed, such an emission is expected to be inherent in the device.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I). Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. General Electric v. Jewe Incandescent Lamp Co., 67 USPQ 155. Titanium Metal Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 772. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 597, 195 USPQ 430.
In reference to claim 21, Min teaches the compound 105 as shown above for claim 1 that is a member of the broader genus described therein of formula 1 wherein X11 is N(R1a), R1a is a deuterium substituted terphenyl and R1 is hydrogen (Min [0048] to [0070]).
Min discloses the compound of formula 1 that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein X11 is N(R1a), R1a is a deuterium substituted terphenyl and R1 is hydrogen. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Min are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula 1 to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Min and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 21: Reads on formula 1-2 wherein CY1 is benzene, CY2 is Benzene, CY3 is carbazole, L1 is a bond, CY4 is pyridine, R10 is phenyl substituted with a R10A that is a deuterated phenyl, R2 is t butyl, R4 is t butyl, R51 and R52 are each methyl, and M1 is Pt.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al (US 2020/0280003) (Min) as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of Yamakazi et al. (US 2005/0197031) (Yamakazi).
In reference to claim 10, Min teaches the device as described above. Min does not expressly teach that the device is used in device structures with the specific components instantly claimed.
With respect to the difference, Yamakazi teaches, in analogous art, device structures for display devices including housing members, display portions, color filters etc. (Yamakazi [0078] [0206] [0300] etc).
It would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have used the device structure features that are well known and typical in the art as described by Yamakazi in preparing a consumer product with the EL device of Min.
Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al (US 2020/0280003) (Min) in view Kondo et al (US 2019/0211219) (Kondo).
In reference to claim 8, Min teaches the device as described above for claim 1 but does not specifically point to a capping layer with a specific refractive index. With respect to the difference, Kondo teaches, in analogous art, EL device structures including a capping layer with a high refractive index and exemplifies those with refractive indices between 1.5 and 2.0 therein (Kondo [207] etc. Table 3). Kondo further teaches that the use of this film with high refractive index improves light extraction efficiency (Kondo [0206]). In light of the motivation of using the capping layer film as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the capping layer film as described by Kondo in order to improve light extraction efficiency and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Concerning the double patenting rejections previously set forth, Applicant’s statements on the record that the patents recited are not commonly owned is sufficient to overcome the double patenting rejection. Applicant is thanked for the clarification.
Concerning the rejections under 35 USC 102, the amendment overcomes the previously set forth rejection under 35 USC 102.
Concerning the rejection of claim 20 over Bae under 35 USC 103, applicant argues that the rejection is no longer merely an issue of positional isomers. However, this is simply not true. The compound 78 of Bae differs only by a positional isomer to the instantly claimed compounds.
The remaining arguments are moot as new rejections are presented herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786