DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-7, 9, 12, 14 and 20 in the reply filed on 10/23/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 25-28, 30, 33-34, 36-38 and 40 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uefune et al. (US 2008/0068745 A1) in view of Sambasivan et al. (US 2016/0243545 A1)
As to claims 1 and 20, Uefune teaches a workpiece processing method comprising: applying a low surface energy solution on a surface of the workpiece, allowing the low surface energy solution to impregnate into a channel in the workpiece (para 0039); removing the solvent from the low surface energy solution to remain the filler material in the channel to hermetically seal the channel (paras 0013, 0039-0046). Uefune does not explicitly teach that the low surface energy solution includes a carrier solvent and a filler material dissolved in the carrier solvent.
Sambasivan is in the same field of endeavor of sealing channels and dips a workpiece (para 0052) into a solution including the sealing material and a solvent (para 0008-0015) where the removal of the solvent promotes the adhesion of the sealing material into the channels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Uefune to include using a solvent as taught by Sambasivan in order to better adhere the sealing material to the channels and get a better hermetic seal.
As to claim 2, the filler material is a polymer selected from at least one of a fluorinated resin, fluorinated silane, fluorinated acrylate and a fluorinated monomer (Uefune para 0042)
As to claim 9, applying the low surface energy solution on the workpiece includes immersing the workpiece into the low surface energy solution, and wherein the low surface energy solution is under atmospheric pressure (Uefune para 0041).
Claim(s) 4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uefune et al. (US 2008/0068745 A1) in view of Sambasivan et al. (US 2016/0243545 A1) and in further view of Azuma (JP S-6139953 A)
Uefune and Sambasivan do not explicitly teach the cleaning process. Azuma teaches ultrasonic cleaning using a solvent and ultrasonic wave generator then using vapor in order to clean the workpiece thoroughly and not form pinholes (abstract). Therefore , it would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Uefune and Sambasivan to include the cleaning process and taught by Azuma in order to clean the workpiece thoroughly and not form pinholes.
Claim(s) 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uefune et al. (US 2008/0068745 A1) in view of Sambasivan et al. (US 2016/0243545 A1) and in further view of CN 106811114 A.
As to claim 12, Uefune and Sambasivan do not explicitly teach ultrasonic treatment during application of the solution. CN 106811114 teaches this in its Examples to properly disperse the solution materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Uefune and Sambasivan to include ultrasonic dispersion during coating as taught by CN 106811114 A to properly disperse the solution during coating.
As to claim 14, Uefune and Sambasivan do not explicitly teach a tilted substrate during dipping. CN 106811114 teaches a similar coating method and shows a tilted substrate in Figs. 3-4. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Uefune and Sambasivan to include tilting the substrate during dipping as taught by CN 106811114 A as CN 106811114 A teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
Conclusion
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1715
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715