Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (US 2017/0313854 A1, "Kobayashi '854") in view of Chen et al. (CN 102115600 A), Hoshino et al. (WO 2017/0147033 using US 2018/0327559 as a translation), and Hasebe et al. (US 2016/0125971 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-3, 6, 8-9, Kobayashi ‘854 discloses resin composition comprising maleimide of general Formula (1):
Wherein R each independently represents a group selected from the group consisting of a hydrogen atom, an alkyl group having 1 to 5 carbon atoms, and a phenyl group, and n is an average value and represents 1<n≦5 (para 0041), in an amount of 1 to 90 parts relative to 100 parts resin solids (para 0043).
Kobayashi ‘854 discloses the resin composition may further comprise epoxy resin and phenolic resin (para 0050), inorganic filler including silica and magnesium hydroxide (para 0045), and core-shell-based rubber powders (para 0046). The phenolic resin may be a combination of biphenyl aralkyl phenolic resin and phosphorus-containing phenolic resin to promote flame retardancy (para 0052).
Kobayashi ‘854 does not disclose the phosphorus-containing phenolic resin having a structure as claimed.
Chen discloses a resin composition comprising bismaleimide resin and epoxy resin (pg 1, lines 25-29) and 0-20 parts halogen-free flame retardant such as phosphorus-containing phenolic resin XZ92741 by Dow Chemical (pg 2, lines 31-35; pg 3, line 46). This produced good halogen-free flame retardant property (pg 3, lines 25-30).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Kobayashi ‘854 to incorporate the teachings of Chen and produce the resin composition using 0-20 parts flame retardant XZ92741 by Dow Chemical as the phosphorus-containing phenolic resin. Doing so would produce good halogen-free flame retardant property.
The present specification discloses XZ92741 by Dow Chemical has the structure of Chemical Formula (4) and a bisphenol A structure (para 0044) as claimed.
Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen does not disclose the core-shell-based rubber powders having structure as claimed.
Hoshino discloses resin composition for prepregs and printed wiring boards (para 0020) where the composition comprises epoxy resin (para 0025), maleimide resin, phenolic resin (para 0027) and core-shell particles having an average particle diameter of 0.2-2 microns (para 0044). The core-shell particle includes those with core made from silicone rubber and acrylic rubber (para 0043). The core-shell particles include those known under the tradename SRK200A (para 0088) which has a silicone/acrylic core. SRK200A is identical to the core-shore particles of the present invention (see paragraph 0146 of the present specification) and therefore necessarily has a shell made from styrene-acrylonitrile and mean particle size as claimed. Hoshino discloses the core-shell particles produce a stress relief effect and provide excellent hygroscopic heat resistance (para 0041).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen to incorporate the teachings of Hoshino and use the SRK200A core-shell particles of Hoshino as the core-shell-based rubber powders. Doing so would produce a stress relief effect and provide excellent hygroscopic heat resistance.
While Kobayashi ‘854 discloses the inorganic filler may include silica and magnesium hydroxide (para 0045), Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen and Hoshino does not disclose the mass ratio of silica to magnesium hydroxide as claimed.
Hasebe discloses a resin composition for printed wiring board, comprising epoxy, maleimide, and inorganic filler (Abstract). The inorganic filler may be a mixture of silica and magnesium hydroxide, where the silica improves thermal expansion properties and the magnesium hydroxide improves flame resistance (paras 0070-0072).
While Hasebe does not disclose a specific ratio of silica to magnesium hydroxide, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen and Hoshino to incorporate the teachings of Hasebe and select amounts of silica and magnesium hydroxide, including within the ratio claimed, in order to optimize and balance the thermal expansion properties and flame resistance.
Regarding Claim 5, Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Hasebe discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘854 further discloses the epoxy resin may be biphenyl-based epoxy or naphthalene-based epoxy (para 0051).
Regarding Claim 11, Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Hasebe discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘854 further discloses a prepreg comprising a base material and the resin composition, which is semi-cured (para 0062).
Regarding Claims 12-13, Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Hasebe discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘854 further discloses a semi-cured prepreg comprising the resin composition (para 0062) and a metal foil disposed on the semi-cured prepreg (para 0064).
Regarding Claim 14, Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Hasebe discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘854 further discloses a metal foil-clad laminate comprising a prepreg comprising the resin composition, laminated to a metal foil (para 0064).
Regarding Claim 15, Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Hasebe discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘854 further discloses a printed wiring board comprising an insulating layer comprising the resin composition, laminated with metal foil to form circuits (para 0065).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Hasebe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2018/0072884).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Hasebe discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above, including that the phenolic resin may be a combination of biphenyl aralkyl phenolic resin and phosphorus-containing phenolic resin (Kobayashi ‘854, para 0052), and 0-20 parts phosphorus-containing phenolic resin may be used (Chen, pg 2, lines 31-35).
Kobayashi ‘854 further discloses the use of phenolic resin include dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin (para 0052) but does not disclose an amount of the phenolic resin.
Wang discloses a resin composition for prepregs and printed wiring boards (paras 0007-0010) that comprises epoxy resin (para 0012), maleimide resin (para 0083), and 10-50 parts dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin (para 0014). The dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin produces composition with desired low dielectric constant, heat resistance, and glass transition temperature (para 0051).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Hasebe to incorporate the teachings of Wang and use 10-50 parts dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin. Doing so would produce composition with desired low dielectric constant, heat resistance, and glass transition temperature
Therefore, the total amount of phenolic compound would be 10-70 parts (0+10 to 20+50), and the ratio of phosphorus containing phenolic resin to dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin would be 0/10-20/50, or 0-40/100.
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (US 2017/0231090 A1, "Kobayashi ‘090") in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Hasebe.
Regarding Claims 1, 4, 6, and 8-9, Kobayashi ‘090 discloses resin composition comprising maleimide compound (para 0067) such as BMI-2300 (para 0112), in an amount of 1 to 90 parts relative to 100 parts resin solids (para 0069). According to paragraph 0145 of the present specification, BMI-2300 has a phenyl methane maleimide structure according to claimed Chemical Formula (2).
Kobayashi ‘090 further discloses the resin composition may further comprise epoxy resin and phenolic resin (para 0085), inorganic filler such as silica and magnesium hydroxide (paras 0077-0078), and core-shell-based rubber powders (para 0079). The phenolic resin may be a combination of biphenyl aralkyl phenolic resin and phosphorus-containing phenolic resin to promote flame retardancy (para 0087).
Kobayashi ‘090 does not disclose the phosphorus-containing phenolic resin having a structure as claimed.
Chen discloses a resin composition comprising bismaleimide resin and epoxy resin (pg 1, lines 25-29) and 0-20 parts halogen-free flame retardant such as phosphorus-containing phenolic resin XZ92741 by Dow Chemical (pg 2, lines 31-35; pg 3, line 46). This produced good halogen-free flame retardant property (pg 3, lines 25-30).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Kobayashi ‘090 to incorporate the teachings of Chen and produce the resin composition using 0-20 parts flame retardant XZ92741 by Dow Chemical as the phenolic resin. Doing so would produce good halogen-free flame retardant property.
The present specification discloses XZ92741 by Dow Chemical has the structure of Chemical Formula (4) and a bisphenol A structure (para 0044) as claimed.
Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen does not disclose the core-shell-based rubber powders having structure as claimed.
Hoshino discloses resin composition for prepregs and printed wiring boards (para 0020) where the composition comprises epoxy resin (para 0025), maleimide resin, phenolic resin (para 0027) and core-shell particles having an average particle diameter of 0.2-2 microns (para 0044). The core-shell particle includes those with core made from silicone rubber and acrylic rubber (para 0043). The core-shell particles include those known under the tradename SRK200A (para 0088) which has a silicone/acrylic core. SRK200A is identical to the core-shore particles of the present invention (see paragraph 0146 of the present specification) and therefore necessarily has a shell made from styrene-acrylonitrile and mean particle size as claimed. Hoshino discloses the core-shell particles produce a stress relief effect and provide excellent hygroscopic heat resistance (para 0041).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen to incorporate the teachings of Hoshino and use the SRK200A core-shell particles of Hoshino as the core-shell-based rubber powders. Doing so would produce a stress relief effect and provide excellent hygroscopic heat resistance.
While Kobayashi ‘090 discloses the inorganic filler may include silica and magnesium hydroxide (paras 0077-0078), Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen and Hoshino does not disclose the mass ratio of silica to magnesium hydroxide as claimed.
Hasebe discloses a resin composition for printed wiring board, comprising epoxy, maleimide, and inorganic filler (Abstract). The inorganic filler may be a mixture of silica and magnesium hydroxide, where the silica improves thermal expansion properties and the magnesium hydroxide improves flame resistance (paras 0070-0072).
While Hasebe does not disclose a specific ratio of silica to magnesium hydroxide, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen and Hoshino to incorporate the teachings of Hasebe and select amounts of silica and magnesium hydroxide, including within the ratio claimed, in order to optimize and balance the thermal expansion properties and flame resistance.
Regarding Claim 5, Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Hasebe discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘090 further discloses the epoxy resin may be biphenyl-based epoxy or naphthalene-based epoxy (para 0086).
Regarding Claim 11, Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Hasebe discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘090 further discloses a prepreg comprising a base material and the resin composition, which is semi-cured (para 0096).
Regarding Claims 12-13, Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Hasebe discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘090 further discloses a semi-cured prepreg comprising the resin composition (para 0096) and a metal foil disposed on the semi-cured prepreg (para 0098).
Regarding Claim 14, Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Hasebe discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘090 further discloses a metal foil-clad laminate comprising a prepreg comprising the resin composition, laminated to a metal foil (para 0098).
Regarding Claim 15, Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Hasebe discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘090 further discloses a printed wiring board comprising an insulating layer comprising the resin composition, laminated with metal foil to form circuits (para 0099).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Hasebe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang.
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Hasebe discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above, including that the phenolic resin may be a combination of biphenyl aralkyl phenolic resin and phosphorus-containing phenolic resin (Kobayashi ‘090, para 0087), and 0-20 parts phosphorus-containing phenolic resin may be used (Chen, pg 2, lines 31-35).
Kobayashi ‘090 further discloses the use of phenolic resin include dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin (para 0087) but does not disclose an amount of the phenolic resin.
Wang discloses a resin composition for prepregs and printed wiring boards (paras 0007-0010) that comprises epoxy resin (para 0012), maleimide resin (para 0083), and 10-50 parts dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin (para 0014). The dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin produces composition with desired low dielectric constant, heat resistance, and glass transition temperature (para 0051).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Hasebe to incorporate the teachings of Wang and use 10-50 parts dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin. Doing so would produce composition with desired low dielectric constant, heat resistance, and glass transition temperature
Therefore, the total amount of phenolic compound would be 10-70 parts (0+10 to 20+50), and the ratio of phosphorus containing phenolic resin to dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin would be 0/10-20/50, or 0-40/100.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (US 2017/0313854 A1, "Kobayashi '854") in view of Chen et al. (CN 102115600 A), Hoshino et al. (WO 2017/0147033 using US 2018/0327559 as a translation), and Ando et al. (KR 20020028917 A, using machine translation of equivalent publication KR100687519B1).
Regarding Claims 1-3, 6, 8-9, Kobayashi ‘854 discloses resin composition comprising maleimide of general Formula (1):
Wherein R each independently represents a group selected from the group consisting of a hydrogen atom, an alkyl group having 1 to 5 carbon atoms, and a phenyl group, and n is an average value and represents 1<n≦5 (para 0041), in an amount of 1 to 90 parts relative to 100 parts resin solids (para 0043).
Kobayashi ‘854 discloses the resin composition may further comprise epoxy resin and phenolic resin (para 0050), inorganic filler including silica (paras 0045), and core-shell-based rubber powders (para 0046). The phenolic resin may be a combination of biphenyl aralkyl phenolic resin and phosphorus-containing phenolic resin to promote flame retardancy (para 0052).
Kobayashi ‘854 does not disclose the phosphorus-containing phenolic resin having a structure as claimed.
Chen discloses a resin composition comprising bismaleimide resin and epoxy resin (pg 1, lines 25-29) and 0-20 parts halogen-free flame retardant such as phosphorus-containing phenolic resin XZ92741 by Dow Chemical (pg 2, lines 31-35; pg 3, line 46). This produced good halogen-free flame retardant property (pg 3, lines 25-30).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Kobayashi ‘854 to incorporate the teachings of Chen and produce the resin composition using 0-20 parts flame retardant XZ92741 by Dow Chemical as the phosphorus-containing phenolic resin. Doing so would produce good halogen-free flame retardant property.
The present specification discloses XZ92741 by Dow Chemical has the structure of Chemical Formula (4) and a bisphenol A structure (para 0044) as claimed.
Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen does not disclose the core-shell-based rubber powders having structure as claimed.
Hoshino discloses resin composition for prepregs and printed wiring boards (para 0020) where the composition comprises epoxy resin (para 0025), maleimide resin, phenolic resin (para 0027) and core-shell particles having an average particle diameter of 0.2-2 microns (para 0044). The core-shell particle includes those with core made from silicone rubber and acrylic rubber (para 0043). The core-shell particles include those known under the tradename SRK200A (para 0088) which has a silicone/acrylic core. SRK200A is identical to the core-shore particles of the present invention (see paragraph 0146 of the present specification) and therefore necessarily has a shell made from styrene-acrylonitrile and mean particle size as claimed. Hoshino discloses the core-shell particles produce a stress relief effect and provide excellent hygroscopic heat resistance (para 0041).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen to incorporate the teachings of Hoshino and use the SRK200A core-shell particles of Hoshino as the core-shell-based rubber powders. Doing so would produce a stress relief effect and provide excellent hygroscopic heat resistance.
Kobayashi ‘854 discloses the inorganic filler is present in an amount of 50-1600 parts per 100 parts resin solids and that the filler includes silica (paras 0045, 0047). However, Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen and Hoshino do not disclose the mass ratio of silica to magnesium hydroxide as claimed.
Ando discloses a thermosetting resin composition for prepregs and circuit boards (paras 1, 4) where the composition includes magnesium hydroxide particles, other inorganic filler, and synthetic thermosetting resin (paras 13, 14). The other inorganic filler includes silica (para 49) and the synthetic thermosetting resin includes epoxy resin (para 50). The magnesium hydroxide is present in an amount of 5-500 parts per 100 parts of the thermosetting resin (para 48). The motivation is to produce a resin composition having sufficient water resistance even under high temperature and humidity, corrosion resistance, excellent flame retardancy and thermal conductivity (para 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen and Hoshino to incorporate the teachings of Ando and produce the resin composition using 5-500 parts of the magnesium hydroxide as disclosed by Ando. Doing so would produce a resin composition having sufficient water resistance even under high temperature and humidity, corrosion resistance, excellent flame retardancy and thermal conductivity.
Given that Kobayashi ‘854 discloses 5-1600 parts silica per 100 parts resin solids and Ando discloses 5-500 parts magnesium hydroxide, the ratio of silica to magnesium hydroxide is calculated as 0.01- 320 (5/500 – 1600/5).
Regarding Claim 5, Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Ando discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘854 further discloses the epoxy resin may be biphenyl-based epoxy or naphthalene-based epoxy (para 0051).
Regarding Claim 11, Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Ando discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘854 further discloses a prepreg comprising a base material and the resin composition, which is semi-cured (para 0062).
Regarding Claims 12-13, Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Ando discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘854 further discloses a semi-cured prepreg comprising the resin composition (para 0062) and a metal foil disposed on the semi-cured prepreg (para 0064).
Regarding Claim 14, Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Ando discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘854 further discloses a metal foil-clad laminate comprising a prepreg comprising the resin composition, laminated to a metal foil (para 0064).
Regarding Claim 15, Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Ando discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘854 further discloses a printed wiring board comprising an insulating layer comprising the resin composition, laminated with metal foil to form circuits (para 0065).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Ando as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2018/0072884).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Ando discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above, including that the phenolic resin may be a combination of biphenyl aralkyl phenolic resin and phosphorus-containing phenolic resin (Kobayashi ‘854, para 0052), and 0-20 parts phosphorus-containing phenolic resin may be used (Chen, pg 2, lines 31-35).
Kobayashi ‘854 further discloses the use of phenolic resin include dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin (para 0052) but does not disclose an amount of the phenolic resin.
Wang discloses a resin composition for prepregs and printed wiring boards (paras 0007-0010) that comprises epoxy resin (para 0012), maleimide resin (para 0083), and 10-50 parts dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin (para 0014). The dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin produces composition with desired low dielectric constant, heat resistance, and glass transition temperature (para 0051).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Kobayashi ‘854 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Ando to incorporate the teachings of Wang and use 10-50 parts dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin. Doing so would produce composition with desired low dielectric constant, heat resistance, and glass transition temperature
Therefore, the total amount of phenolic compound would be 10-70 parts (0+10 to 20+50), and the ratio of phosphorus containing phenolic resin to dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin would be 0/10-20/50, or 0-40/100.
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (US 2017/0231090 A1, "Kobayashi ‘090") in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Ando.
Regarding Claims 1, 4, 6, and 8-9, Kobayashi ‘090 discloses resin composition comprising maleimide compound (para 0067) such as BMI-2300 (para 0112), in an amount of 1 to 90 parts relative to 100 parts resin solids (para 0069). According to paragraph 0145 of the present specification, BMI-2300 has a phenyl methane maleimide structure according to claimed Chemical Formula (2).
Kobayashi ‘090 further discloses the resin composition may further comprise epoxy resin and phenolic resin (para 0085), inorganic filler such as silica and magnesium hydroxide (paras 0077-0078), and core-shell-based rubber powders (para 0079). The phenolic resin may be a combination of biphenyl aralkyl phenolic resin and phosphorus-containing phenolic resin to promote flame retardancy (para 0087).
Kobayashi ‘090 does not disclose the phosphorus-containing phenolic resin having a structure as claimed.
Chen discloses a resin composition comprising bismaleimide resin and epoxy resin (pg 1, lines 25-29) and 0-20 parts halogen-free flame retardant such as phosphorus-containing phenolic resin XZ92741 by Dow Chemical (pg 2, lines 31-35; pg 3, line 46). This produced good halogen-free flame retardant property (pg 3, lines 25-30).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Kobayashi ‘090 to incorporate the teachings of Chen and produce the resin composition using 0-20 parts flame retardant XZ92741 by Dow Chemical as the phenolic resin. Doing so would produce good halogen-free flame retardant property.
The present specification discloses XZ92741 by Dow Chemical has the structure of Chemical Formula (4) and a bisphenol A structure (para 0044) as claimed.
Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen does not disclose the core-shell-based rubber powders having structure as claimed.
Hoshino discloses resin composition for prepregs and printed wiring boards (para 0020) where the composition comprises epoxy resin (para 0025), maleimide resin, phenolic resin (para 0027) and core-shell particles having an average particle diameter of 0.2-2 microns (para 0044). The core-shell particle includes those with core made from silicone rubber and acrylic rubber (para 0043). The core-shell particles include those known under the tradename SRK200A (para 0088) which has a silicone/acrylic core. SRK200A is identical to the core-shore particles of the present invention (see paragraph 0146 of the present specification) and therefore necessarily has a shell made from styrene-acrylonitrile and mean particle size as claimed. Hoshino discloses the core-shell particles produce a stress relief effect and provide excellent hygroscopic heat resistance (para 0041).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen to incorporate the teachings of Hoshino and use the SRK200A core-shell particles of Hoshino as the core-shell-based rubber powders. Doing so would produce a stress relief effect and provide excellent hygroscopic heat resistance.
Kobayashi ‘090 discloses the inorganic filler is present in an amount of 50-1600 parts per 100 parts resin solids and that the filler includes silica (paras 0045, 0047). However, Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen and Hoshino do not disclose the mass ratio of silica to magnesium hydroxide as claimed.
Ando discloses a thermosetting resin composition for prepregs and circuit boards (paras 1, 4) where the composition includes magnesium hydroxide particles, other inorganic filler, and synthetic thermosetting resin (paras 13, 14). The other inorganic filler includes silica (para 49) and the synthetic thermosetting resin includes epoxy resin (para 50). The magnesium hydroxide is present in an amount of 5-500 parts per 100 parts of the thermosetting resin (para 48). The motivation is to produce a resin composition having sufficient water resistance even under high temperature and humidity, corrosion resistance, excellent flame retardancy and thermal conductivity (para 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen and Hoshino to incorporate the teachings of Ando and produce the resin composition using 5-500 parts of the magnesium hydroxide as disclosed by Ando. Doing so would produce a resin composition having sufficient water resistance even under high temperature and humidity, corrosion resistance, excellent flame retardancy and thermal conductivity.
Given that Kobayashi ‘090 discloses 5-1600 parts silica per 100 parts resin solids and Ando discloses 5-500 parts magnesium hydroxide, the ratio of silica to magnesium hydroxide is calculated as 0.01- 320 (5/500 – 1600/5).
Regarding Claim 5, Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Ando discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘090 further discloses the epoxy resin may be biphenyl-based epoxy or naphthalene-based epoxy (para 0086).
Regarding Claim 11, Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Ando discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘090 further discloses a prepreg comprising a base material and the resin composition, which is semi-cured (para 0096).
Regarding Claims 12-13, Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Ando discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘090 further discloses a semi-cured prepreg comprising the resin composition (para 0096) and a metal foil disposed on the semi-cured prepreg (para 0098).
Regarding Claim 14, Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Ando discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘090 further discloses a metal foil-clad laminate comprising a prepreg comprising the resin composition, laminated to a metal foil (para 0098).
Regarding Claim 15, Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Ando discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kobayashi ‘090 further discloses a printed wiring board comprising an insulating layer comprising the resin composition, laminated with metal foil to form circuits (para 0099).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Ando as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang.
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Ando discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above, including that the phenolic resin may be a combination of biphenyl aralkyl phenolic resin and phosphorus-containing phenolic resin (Kobayashi ‘090, para 0087), and 0-20 parts phosphorus-containing phenolic resin may be used (Chen, pg 2, lines 31-35).
Kobayashi ‘090 further discloses the use of phenolic resin include dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin (para 0087) but does not disclose an amount of the phenolic resin.
Wang discloses a resin composition for prepregs and printed wiring boards (paras 0007-0010) that comprises epoxy resin (para 0012), maleimide resin (para 0083), and 10-50 parts dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin (para 0014). The dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin produces composition with desired low dielectric constant, heat resistance, and glass transition temperature (para 0051).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Kobayashi ‘090 in view of Chen, Hoshino, and Ando to incorporate the teachings of Wang and use 10-50 parts dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin. Doing so would produce composition with desired low dielectric constant, heat resistance, and glass transition temperature
Therefore, the total amount of phenolic compound would be 10-70 parts (0+10 to 20+50), and the ratio of phosphorus containing phenolic resin to dicyclopentadiene phenolic resin would be 0/10-20/50, or 0-40/100.
Response to Arguments
In light of applicant’s amendments filed 10/27/2025, the 35 USC 112(b) rejections of record are withdrawn.
In light of applicant’s amendments filed 10/27/2025, the 35 USC 13 rejections of record are withdrawn. New grounds of rejection are set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BETHANY M MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787