DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 353 is objected to because of the following informalities: the “and” at the end of the first determining step should be deleted and a semi-colon followed by the word “and” should replace the comma following the word “condition” at the end of the second determining step. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 353-355, 359-369, 372, 373, 389, and 390 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 353 recites the second determining step comprising detecting “CD8+ infiltration” into a biological sample compared to a “non-tumor tissue”. Paragraph 0011 teaches that biological sample comprises blood, blood plasma, sera, or tissue biopsy. These options are reflected in claim 365. It is unclear how one measures the infiltration of a blood cell into the blood, plasma, or sera, especially since the two latter do not comprise any cells. Further, the comparator of a specifically non-tumor tissue sample makes unclear if the biological sample from the subject is a tumor biopsy sample. And if the sample is amended to be a tumor biopsy sample, then it is unclear how one determines the immunosuppressive environment of a tumor sample, then uses that determination to treat IBD, ulcerative colitis, or Crohn’s disease as in claim 355.
Claims 354, 355, 359-369, 372, 373, 389, and 390 are rejected for depending from claim 353 and failing to remedy the indefiniteness of claim 353.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 353, 355, 359-361, 363, and 365 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Llado et al. (Cell Reports. 10(5): 740-754; Published: Feb 10, 2015), Nakanishi et al. (Cell Reports. 16(12): 3297-3310; Published: Sept 20, 2016), Zhou (US 2017/0218066 A1; Published: Aug 3, 2017), Hagedorn et al. (WO 2014/062845 A1; Published: Apr 24, 2014), Inaguma et al. (Modern Pathology. 30: 278-285; Published Online: November 4, 2016), Jesudoss (American Journal of Gastroenterology, 113: p S836; Published: October 2018), and Mesina et al. (Revista de Chimie. 69(2):419-428; Published: March 2018).
Llado et al. teaches that PKCζ is a negative regulator of tumorigenesis in intestinal cancers and that PKCζ deficiency results in increased stem cell activity and increased tumorigenic and regenerative activity; see Summary.
Regarding PKCλ/ι, Nakanishi et al. teaches that PKCλ/ι is a negative regulator of intestinal inflammation and cancer. Inactivation of PKCλ/ι in epithelial cells results in the loss of mature Paneth cells, increased apoptosis and inflammation, and enhanced tumorigenesis. Importantly, regarding claim 355, PKCλ/ι expression in human Paneth cells decreases with progression of Crohn’s disease and Kaplan-Meier survival analysis of CRC patients revealed that low PRKCI levels, the gene which encodes for PKCλ/ι, are correlated with significantly worse patient survival; see Summary.
Neither Llado et al. nor Nakanishi et al. teach treating with a PD-L1 inhibitor.
Regarding the method of treating in claims 353 and 363, Zhou et al. teaches treating a subject having cancer, including colon cancer, or an autoimmune or inflammatory disease, including intestinal mucosal inflammation, wasting disease associated with colitis, Crohn's disease, and inflammatory bowel disease, by administering a human antibody targeting PD-L1; see claims 1, 9, 12, and 13.
Neither Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., nor Zhou teach treating serrated polyps or serrated adenocarcinoma.
Hagedorn et al. teaches that large, right-sided sessile serrated adenomas/polyps have a significant risk of developing into adenocarcinoma, and that such polyps probably account for 20-30% of colon cancers; see paragraph 0004. Hagedorn et al. teaches a method wherein the expression levels of genes are measured in a biological sample and compared to a control.
Neither Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Zhou et al. nor Hagedorn et al. teach detecting a decreased or similar level of CD8+ T cells in a biological sample compared to a non-tumor sample of an individual who does not have the disease or condition.
Mesina et al. teaches detecting CD8+ T cells in a tissue biopsy sample of a malignant polyp and comparing to a tissue biopsy sample of a conventional (i.e. non-malignant) polyp. Mesina et al. teaches detected the presence of CD8+ T cells via IHC; see pages 420-421. Mesina et al. demonstrates that malignant polyps (mp) have fewer or similar levels of CD8+ T cells as conventional polyps (cp); see Table 7.
Given that Llado et al. and Nakanishi et al. teach that loss of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι is associated with increased tumorigenesis of intestinal tumors, Mesina et al. teaches that decreased or similar levels of CD8+ T cells compared to conventional polyps is indicative of a malignant or cancerous colon polyp, and Zhou et al. teaches treating colon cancer with a PD-L1 antibody, it would have been obvious to treat any colon cancer patients with a PD-L1 antibody, including those with serrated polyps, such as those taught by Hagedorn et al. Thus, since 20-30% of colon cancer patients have serrated polyps or serrated adenocarcinoma, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to treat patients having serrated polyps or serrated adenocarcinoma with the anti-PD-L1 antibody.
Regarding claims 361 and 365, given that Llado et al. and Nakanishi et al. demonstrate that PKCζ and PKCλ/ι expression can be assessed by immunohistochemistry or RT-PCR of tissue samples and compared to healthy controls and that loss of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι is associated with increased tumorigenesis of intestinal tumors (see Llado et al. Figures 3F and G and Nakanishi et al. Figures 7A, B, and F), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to screen a tissue sample from a patient having, suspected of having, or at risk of developing an intestinal cancer, such as colon cancer, by IHC or RT-PCR for PKCζ and PKCλ/ι wherein a decreased level of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι compared to a healthy control or non-diseased individual is suggestive of tumorigenesis or a more aggressive malignancy.
Further, in cases of inflammatory bowel diseases, Nakanishi et al. teaches that patients having IBD are at risk of developing colon cancer; see page 2, last paragraph. Taken together, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and with a reasonable expectation of success to screen patients who have IBD and are at risk to develop colon cancer for expression of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι a decreased level of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι compared to a healthy control or non-diseased individual is suggestive of tumorigenesis and a more aggressive malignancy.
Given that Zhou teaches that a PD-1/PD-L1 inhibitor, specifically an anti-PD-L1 antibody, can be use to treat either colon cancer or IBD, it would have been obvious and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success in treating a subject identified as having colon cancer or having IBD and, therefore being at risk of developing colon cancer, to treat the subject with a PD-L1 inhibitor.
Moreover, Inaguma et al. teaches that PD-L1 positivity is associated with CRC arising via the serrated neoplasia pathway; see Abstract and page 284 left column. Additionally, Inaguma et al. teaches that PD-L1 immunohistochemistry is a potential biomarker for treatment response to PD-L1 or PD-1 immune checkpoint inhibitors; see page 284 left column. Furthermore, Jesudoss reports treating a patient having a sessile serrated polyp of the colon with pembrolizumab, an anti-PD-1 agent. Given the elevated expression of PD-L1 in serrated CRC and the teaching a subject matter expert treating a patient with serrated disease with an agent antagonizing the interaction between PD-L1 and PD-1, it would have been obvious and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to treat serrated polyps of the intestine or serrated adenocarcinoma with a PD-L1 inhibitor.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 354, 362, and 364 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Llado et al. (Cell Reports. 10(5): 740-754; Published: Feb 10, 2015), Nakanishi et al. (Cell Reports. 16(12): 3297-3310; Published: Sept 20, 2016), Zhou (US 2017/0218066 A1; Published: Aug 3, 2017), Hagedorn et al. (WO 2014/062845 A1; Published: Apr 24, 2014), Inaguma et al. (Modern Pathology. 30: 278-285; Published Online: November 4, 2016) and Jesudoss (American Journal of Gastroenterology, 113: p S836; Published: October 2018), and Mesina et al. (Revista de Chimie. 69(2):419-428; Published: March 2018) as applied to claims 353, 355, 359-361, 363, and 365 above, and further in view of Rosengren et al. (US 2018/0044419 A9; Published: Feb 15, 2018).
The teachings of Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Zhou, Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., Jesudoss, and Mesina et al. as related to claims 353, 355, 359-361, 363, and 365, from which these claims depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
The references do not teach a method further comprising measuring the level of hyaluronan and treating with an inhibitor when the expression is elevated.
Regarding claim 354, Rosengren et al. teaches a method of treating cancer wherein the cancer is a solid tumor, including colon cancer, and is determined to have moderate to high or high hyaluronan content; see claims 1 and 7-9. Rosengren et al. teaches that hyaluronan content can be measured in body fluids, such as blood, urine, saliva and serum, and/or in the tumorous tissue or cell and the level can be compared to a standard or other suitable control, such as a comparable sample from a subject who does not have the HA-associated disease; see paragraph 0266. Regarding claim 362, suitable assays for assessing hyaluronan content include: immunohistochemistry, immunofluorescence, western blot, PCR, RT-PCR, or ELISA; see paragraphs 0724-0728.
Further, regarding claim 364, Rosengren et al. teaches that a hyaluronan-degrading enzyme, including recombinant or exogenous hyaluronidase said be administered in combination with an immune checkpoint inhibitor, such as an anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 antibody; see claims 1, 4, and 21 and paragraph 0012.
Given that Rosengren et al. teaches that this method of treating cancer by measuring hyaluronan and administering hyaluronidase and an anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 antibody when hyaluronan content is elevated is appropriate for the treatment of colon cancer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine it with the teachings of of Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Zhou, Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., and Jesudoss wherein hyaluronan is measured and a hyaluronan inhibitor is administered in addition to the PD-1/ PD-L1 inhibitor when hyaluronan level is elevated. Given the Rosengren et al. teaches the combination of hyaluronidase and an anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 antibody for treating colon cancer, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in adding the hyaluronan content assessment and hyaluronidase as taught be Rosengren et al. to the method of treating taught by Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., and Zhou.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 366-369 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Llado et al. (Cell Reports. 10(5): 740-754; Published: Feb 10, 2015), Nakanishi et al. (Cell Reports. 16(12): 3297-3310; Published: Sept 20, 2016), Zhou (US 2017/0218066 A1; Published: Aug 3, 2017), Hagedorn et al. (WO 2014/062845 A1; Published: Apr 24, 2014), Inaguma et al. (Modern Pathology. 30: 278-285; Published Online: November 4, 2016), Jesudoss (American Journal of Gastroenterology, 113: p S836; Published: October 2018), and Mesina et al. (Revista de Chimie. 69(2):419-428; Published: March 2018) as applied to claims 353, 355, 359-361, 363, and 365 above, and further in view of Holmgaard et al. (Journal for ImmunoTherapy of Cancer. 6:477; Published: Jun 4, 2018).
The teachings of Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Zhou, Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., Jesudoss, and Mesina et al. as related to claims 353, 355, 359-361, 363, and 365, from which these claims depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
The references do not teach administering a TGF-β1 inhibitor in addition to the PD-L1 inhibitor.
Regarding claims 366-369, Holmgaard et al. teaches administering the TGF-β1 small molecule inhibitor, galunisertib, in combination with a PD-1/PD-L1 pathway inhibitor, specifically an anti-PD-L1 antibody, in a mouse model of colon cancer; see Abstract and In Vivo Studies. The combination of anti-PD-L1 and galunisertib therapy resulted in significant antitumor benefit compared to monotherapy with a marked enhancement of response (9/14 CRs) and all animals responding to treatment; see page 9, right column and Fig. 5. Further, Holmgaard et al. teaches that inhibiting immune suppression with galunisertib may accelerate the biological activity of anti-PD-L1; see page 11, left column.
Given that Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., and Zhou provide support for the treatment of colon cancer or IBD, which may develop into colon cancer, with decreased expression of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι with a PD-1/PD-L1 inhibitor and Holmgaard et al. teaches the antitumor benefit of combining the TGF-β1 small molecule inhibitor, galunisertib, with a PD-1/PD-L1 pathway inhibitor to treat colon cancer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to combine the method taught by of Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Zhou, Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., and Jesudoss with the addition of the TGF-β1 small molecule inhibitor, galunisertib, as supported by the favorable anti-tumor effect of the combination regimen taught by Holmgaard et al.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 372 and 373 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Llado et al. (Cell Reports. 10(5): 740-754; Published: Feb 10, 2015), Nakanishi et al. (Cell Reports. 16(12): 3297-3310; Published: Sept 20, 2016), Zhou (US 2017/0218066 A1; Published: Aug 3, 2017), Hagedorn et al. (WO 2014/062845 A1; Published: Apr 24, 2014), Inaguma et al. (Modern Pathology. 30: 278-285; Published Online: November 4, 2016), Jesudoss (American Journal of Gastroenterology, 113: p S836; Published: October 2018), and Mesina et al. (Revista de Chimie. 69(2):419-428; Published: March 2018) as applied to claims 353, 355, 359-361, 363, and 365 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (BMC Cancer. 12: 418; Published: Sept 21, 2012).
The teachings of Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Zhou, Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., Jesudoss, and Mesina et al. as related to claims 353, 355, 359-361, 363, and 365, from which these claims depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
The references do not teach determining an immunosuppressive environment in a biological sample by measuring the presence of IL-17A-producing CD4+ T cells.
Wang et al. teaches assessing the presence of Th17 cells and Treg cells, which are suggested to inhibit anti-tumor immune response, using flow cytometry in the circulation of colorectal adenoma (CRA) and colorectal carcinoma (CRC) patients and healthy controls and quantifying cytokine expression (IL-1β, IL-6, IL-17A, IL-21, IL-23 or TGF-β) by ELISA in sera and supernatants from both normal and tumor tissues cultured ex vivo; see Abstract and page 2, first sentence. Regarding claims 372 and 373, Wang et al. demonstrates that the percentage of CD4+ Th17 T cells (IL-17a expressing cells) was elevated in samples from patients with CRC compared to health controls; see Figure 1B and 1C. Additionally, Wang et al. teaches that IL-17a is elevated in the serum of CRC patients compared to healthy controls; see Figure 3C.
Given that the presence of an immunosuppressive tumor microenvironment is associated with the progression of colon cancer and the worsening response to anti-PD-1 antibody treatment in CRC, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of assessing IL-17a producing CD4+ T cells by Wang et al. with the method taught by of Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Zhou, Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., and Jesudoss. The assays (flow cytometry and IHC) taught by Wang et al. for determining an immunosuppressive environment are common practice in the art and were conducted in the context of colorectal cancer, thus, one of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success in conducting the assays and interpreting their clinical significance for a patient with CRC.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 389 and 390 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Llado et al. (Cell Reports. 10(5): 740-754; Published: Feb 10, 2015), Nakanishi et al. (Cell Reports. 16(12): 3297-3310; Published: Sept 20, 2016), Zhou (US 2017/0218066 A1; Published: Aug 3, 2017), Hagedorn et al. (WO 2014/062845 A1; Published: Apr 24, 2014), Inaguma et al. (Modern Pathology. 30: 278-285; Published Online: November 4, 2016), Jesudoss (American Journal of Gastroenterology, 113: p S836; Published: October 2018), and Mesina et al. (Revista de Chimie. 69(2):419-428; Published: March 2018) as applied to claims 353, 355, 359-361, 363, and 365 above, and further in view of Fabrizio et al. (Journal of Gastrointestinal Oncology. 9(4): 610-618; Published: August 1, 2018).
The teachings of Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Zhou, Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., Jesudoss, and Mesina et al. as related to claims 353, 355, 359-361, 363, and 365, from which these claims depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
Neither Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Zhou, Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., Jesudoss, nor Mesina et al. teach detecting MSS colon cancer.
Fabrizio et al. teaches assessing a tumor sample for MSI-H or, MSI-ambiguous, or MSS subtype by IHC and PCR; see page 611. Fabrizio et al. additionally assesses TMB status; see page 612. Fabrizio et al. highlights two case studies of patients with MSS colorectal cancer treated with off-label PD-1/PD-L1 blockade; see page 614. Fabrizio et al. teaches that the MSS/TMB-high subset of colorectal patients can benefit from PD-1/PD-L1 blockade; see page 616.
Given that Fabrizio et al. teaches further assessing MSS subtype status and the MSS/TMB-high colorectal cancer patients may achieve therapeutic benefit from PD-1/PD-L1 blockade as evidenced by case studies, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the MSS/TMB subtyping taught by Fabrizio et al. with the method taught by Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Zhou, Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., Jesudoss, and Mesina et al. Additionally, given that Fabrizio et al. teaches two successful case studies treating MSS/TMB-high colorectal cancer patients with PD-1/PD-L1 blockade one would have had a reasonable expectation of success treating a single subject having MSS TMB-high colorectal cancer.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
Double Patenting
Claims 353-355, 359-365, and 374-376 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8, 11, 14, 20-23, 25, 27, 28, 32, and 35 of copending Application No. 17/906,818 in view of Rosengren et al. (US 2018/0044419 A9; Published: Feb 15, 2018), Zhou (US 2017/0218066 A1; Published: Aug 3, 2017), Llado et al. (Cell Reports. 10(5): 740-754; Published: Feb 10, 2015), Nakanishi et al. (Cell Reports. 16(12): 3297-3310; Published: Sept 20, 2016), Hagedorn et al. (WO 2014/062845 A1; Published: Apr 24, 2014), Inaguma et al. (Modern Pathology. 30: 278-285; Published Online: November 4, 2016), Jesudoss (American Journal of Gastroenterology, 113: p S836; Published: October 2018) and Mesina et al. (Revista de Chimie. 69(2):419-428; Published: March 2018).
Regarding instant claims 353, 354, 362, and 364, copending claims 1-5, 8, 11, 14, 22, 23, 25, 27, 28, and 32 teach a method of treating a serrated tumor in a subject comprising administering an inhibitor of hyaluronan, optionally the small molecule PVHA, wherein subject has lower expression levels of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι compared to an individual without a serrated tumor. Regarding the subtype of disease, serrated tumors are a subtype of cancer. Regarding instant claim 365, copending claims 20, 21, and 35 teach that the sample can be blood, blood plasma, sera, or a tissue biopsy and that low levels of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι comprises low transcription, translation, or activity.
The copending claims do not teach a method which further comprises measuring hyaluronan content.
Regarding instant claim 354, Rosengren et al. teaches a method of treating cancer wherein the cancer is a solid tumor, including colon cancer, and is determined to have moderate to high or high hyaluronan content; see claims 1 and 7-9. Rosengren et al. teaches that hyaluronan content can be measured in body fluids, such as blood, urine, saliva and serum, and/or in the tumorous tissue or cell and the level can be compared to a standard or other suitable control, such as a comparable sample from a subject who does not have the HA-associated disease; see paragraph 0266. Regarding instant claims 362, suitable assays for assessing hyaluronan content include: immunohistochemistry, immunofluorescence, western blot, PCR, RT-PCR, or ELISA; see paragraphs 0724-0728.
Further, regarding instant claim 364, Rosengren et al. teaches that a hyaluronan-degrading enzyme, including recombinant or exogenous hyaluronidase said be administered in combination with an immune checkpoint inhibitor, such as an anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 antibody; see claims 1, 4, and 21 and paragraph 0012.
The copending claims do not teach administering a PD-L1 inhibitor when the expression level of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι is low.
Regarding the use of a PD-L1 inhibitor in instant claims 353 and 363, Zhou et al. teaches treating a subject having cancer, including colon cancer, or an autoimmune or inflammatory disease, including intestinal mucosal inflammation, wasting disease associated with colitis, Crohn's disease, and inflammatory bowel disease, by administering a human antibody targeting PD-L1; see claims 1, 9, 12, and 13.
Neither of the methods taught by the copending claims nor Zhou teach measuring PKCζ and/or PKCλ/ι in colorectal cancer (CRC), specifically.
Llado et al. teaches that PKCζ is a negative regulator of tumorigenesis in intestinal cancers and that PKCζ deficiency results in increased stem cell activity and increased tumorigenic and regenerative activity; see Summary.
Regarding PKCλ/ι, Nakanishi et al. teaches that PKCλ/ι negative regulator of intestinal inflammation and cancer. Inactivation of PKCλ/ι in epithelial cells results in the loss of mature Paneth cells, increased apoptosis and inflammation, and enhanced tumorigenesis. Importantly, regarding instant claim 355, PKCλ/ι expression in human Paneth cells decreases with progression of Crohn’s disease and Kaplan-Meier survival analysis of CRC patients revealed that low PRKCI levels, the gene which encodes for PKCλ/ι, are correlated with significantly worse patient survival; see Summary.
While the copending claims teach a method of treating serrated tumors, they do not teach a method comprising determining the likelihood of a subtype of CRC characterized by serrated epithelial changes such as sessile serrated adenomas/polyps or serrated adenocarcinoma.
Hagedorn et al. teaches that large, right-sided sessile serrated adenomas/polyps have a significant risk of developing into adenocarcinoma, and that such polyps probably account for 20-30% of colon cancers; see paragraph 0004. Hagedorn et al. teaches a method wherein the expression levels of genes are measured in a biological sample and compared to a control. Hagedorn et al. teaches that the biological sample is obtained from a colorectal polyp and the method further comprises predicting the likelihood that the colorectal polyp will develop into colorectal cancer based on the relative difference between the expression level and the control value associated with each gene; see claims 1 and 3.
However, Hagedorn et al. does not provide support to assessing the risk of serrated colorectal cancer in patients with IBD.
Regarding instant claims 361 and 365, given that Llado et al. and Nakanishi et al. demonstrate that PKCζ and PKCλ/ι expression can be assessed by immunohistochemistry or RT-PCR of tissue samples and compared to healthy controls and that loss of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι is associated with increased tumorigenesis of intestinal tumors (see Llado et al. Figures 3F and G and Nakanishi et al. Figures 7A, B, and F), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to screen a tissue sample from a patient having, suspected of having, or at risk of developing an intestinal cancer, such as colon cancer, by IHC or RT-PCR for PKCζ and PKCλ/ι wherein a decreased level of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι compared to a healthy control or non-diseased individual is suggestive of tumorigenesis or a more aggressive malignancy.
Neither the copending claims, Rosengren et al., Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Zhou et al. nor Hagedorn et al. teach detecting a decreased or similar level of CD8+ T cells in a biological sample compared to a non-tumor sample of an individual who does not have the disease or condition.
Mesina et al. teaches detecting CD8+ T cells in a tissue biopsy sample of a malignant polyp and comparing to a tissue biopsy sample of a conventional (i.e. non-malignant) polyp. Mesina et al. teaches detected the presence of CD8+ T cells via IHC; see pages 420-421. Mesina et al. demonstrates that malignant polyps (mp) have fewer or similar levels of CD8+ T cells as conventional polyps (cp); see Table 7.
Given that the copending claims teach treating a serrated tumor comprising administering a hyaluronan inhibitor when a subject has lower levels of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι compared to an individual without a serrated tumor, that Rosengren et al. teaches a similar method of treating cancer by measuring hyaluronan and administering hyaluronidase and an anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 antibody when hyaluronan content is elevated is appropriate for the treatment of colon cancer, that Mesina et al. teaches that a decreased or similar level of CD8+ T cells compared to conventional polyps is indicative of a malignant or cancerous colon polyp, that Zhou teaches treating colon cancer or IBD with an anti-PD-L1 antibody, and that Llado et al. and Nakanishi et al. teach that loss of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι is associated with increased tumorigenesis of intestinal tumors, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to screen a patient having or suspected of having an intestinal cancer, such as colon cancer, for PKCζ and PKCλ/ι and to treat said patient with a PD-1/ PD-L1 inhibitor when the level of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι is decreased or suggestive of a more aggressive disease.
Moreover, Inaguma et al. teaches that PD-L1 positivity is associated with CRC arising via the serrated neoplasia pathway; see Abstract and page 284 left column. Additionally, Inaguma et al. teaches that PD-L1 immunohistochemistry is a potential biomarker for treatment response to PD-L1 or PD-1 immune checkpoint inhibitors; see page 284 left column. Furthermore, Jesudoss reports treating a patient having a sessile serrated polyp of the colon with pembrolizumab, an anti-PD-1 agent. Given the elevated expression of PD-L1 in serrated CRC and the teaching a subject matter expert treating a patient with serrated disease with an agent antagonizing the interaction between PD-L1 and PD-1, it would have been obvious and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to treat serrated polyps of the intestine or serrated adenocarcinoma with a PD-L1 inhibitor.
Further, it would have been obvious to measure the level of hyaluronan and administer a hyaluronan inhibitor in addition to the PD-1/ PD-L1 inhibitor when hyaluronan level is elevated. Given that Rosengren et al. teaches the combination of hyaluronidase and an anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 antibody for treating colon cancer, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in adding the hyaluronan content assessment and a hyaluronan inhibitor as taught be Rosengren et al. to the method of treating taught by the claims of the copending application, in view of Zhou, Llado et al., and Nakanishi et al.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 366-369, 381, and 386 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8, 11, 14, 20-23, 25, 27, 28, 32, and 35 of copending Application No. 17/906,818 in view of Rosengren et al. (US 2018/0044419 A9; Published: Feb 15, 2018), Zhou (US 2017/0218066 A1; Published: Aug 3, 2017), Llado et al. (Cell Reports. 10(5): 740-754; Published: Feb 10, 2015), Nakanishi et al. (Cell Reports. 16(12): 3297-3310; Published: Sept 20, 2016), Hagedorn et al. (WO 2014/062845 A1; Published: Apr 24, 2014), Inaguma et al. (Modern Pathology. 30: 278-285; Published Online: November 4, 2016), Jesudoss (American Journal of Gastroenterology, 113: p S836; Published: October 2018), and Mesina et al. (Revista de Chimie. 69(2):419-428; Published: March 2018) as applied to claims 353-355, 359-365, and 374-376 above, and further in view of Holmgaard et al. (Journal for ImmunoTherapy of Cancer. 6:477; Published: Jun 4, 2018).
The teachings of the claims of copending Application No. 17/906,818 in view of Rosengren et al., Zhou, Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., Jesudoss, Mesina et al. as related to claims 353-355, 359-365, and 374-376, from which these claims depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
The references do not teach administering a TGF-β1 inhibitor in addition to the PD-L1 inhibitor.
Regarding instant claims 366-369, Holmgaard et al. teaches administering the TGF-β1 small molecule inhibitor, galunisertib, in combination with a PD-1/PD-L1 pathway inhibitor, an anti-PD-L1 antibody, in a mouse model of colon cancer; see Abstract and In Vivo Studies. The combination of anti-PD-L1 and galunisertib therapy resulted in significant antitumor benefit compared to monotherapy with a marked enhancement of response (9/14 CRs) and all animals responding to treatment; see page 9, right column and Fig. 5. Further, Holmgaard et al. teaches that inhibiting immune suppression with galunisertib may accelerate the biological activity of anti-PD-L1; see page 11, left column.
Given that the claims of copending Application No. 17/906,818 in view of Rosengren et al., Zhou, Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., and Jesudoss provide support for the treatment of colon cancer or IBD, which may develop into colon cancer, with decreased expression of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι with a PD-1/PD-L1 inhibitor and Holmgaard et al. teaches the antitumor benefit of combining the TGF-β1 small molecule inhibitor, galunisertib, with a PD-1/PD-L1 pathway inhibitor to treat colon cancer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to combine the method taught by the claims of copending Application No. 17/906,818 in view of Rosengren et al., Zhou, Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., and Jesudoss with the addition of the TGF-β1 small molecule inhibitor, galunisertib, as supported by the favorable anti-tumor effect of galunisertib and PD-1/PD-L1 pathway inhibitor in colon cancer as taught by Holmgaard et al.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 372 and 373 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8, 11, 14, 20-23, 25, 27, 28, 32, and 35 of copending Application No. 17/906,818 in view of Rosengren et al. (US 2018/0044419 A9; Published: Feb 15, 2018), Zhou (US 2017/0218066 A1; Published: Aug 3, 2017), Llado et al. (Cell Reports. 10(5): 740-754; Published: Feb 10, 2015), Nakanishi et al. (Cell Reports. 16(12): 3297-3310; Published: Sept 20, 2016), Hagedorn et al. (WO 2014/062845 A1; Published: Apr 24, 2014), Inaguma et al. (Modern Pathology. 30: 278-285; Published Online: November 4, 2016), Jesudoss (American Journal of Gastroenterology, 113: p S836; Published: October 2018), and Mesina et al. (Revista de Chimie. 69(2):419-428; Published: March 2018) as applied to claims 353-355, 359-365, and 374-376 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (BMC Cancer. 12: 418; Published: Sept 21, 2012).
The teachings of the claims of copending Application No. 17/906,818 in view of Rosengren et al., Zhou, Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., Jesudoss, and Mesina et al. as related to claims 353-355, 359-365, and 374-376, from which these claims depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
The references do not teach determining an immunosuppressive environment in a biological sample by measuring the presence of IL-17A-producing CD4+ T cells.
Regarding instant claim 370, Wang et al. teaches assessing the presence of Th17 cells and Treg cells, which are suggested to inhibit anti-tumor immune response, using flow cytometry in the circulation of colorectal adenoma (CRA) and colorectal carcinoma (CRC) patients and healthy controls and quantifying cytokine expression (IL-1β, IL-6, IL-17A, IL-21, IL-23 or TGF-β) by ELISA in sera and supernatants from both normal and tumor tissues cultured ex vivo; see Abstract and page 2, first sentence. Regarding instant claims 372 and 373, Wang et al. demonstrates that the percentage of CD4+ Th17 T cells (IL-17a expressing cells) was elevated in samples from patients with CRC compared to health controls; see Figure 1B and 1C. Additionally, Wang et al. teaches that IL-17a is elevated in the serum of CRC patients compared to healthy controls; see Figure 3C.
Given that the presence of an immunosuppressive tumor microenvironment is associated with the progression of colon cancer and the worsening response to anti-PD-1 antibody treatment in CRC, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of assessing IL-17a producing CD4+ T cells by Wang et al. with the method taught by the claims of copending Application No. 17/906,818 in view of Rosengren et al., Zhou, Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., and Jesudoss. The assays (flow cytometry and IHC) taught by Wang et al. for determining an immunosuppressive environment are common practice in the art and were conducted in the context of colorectal cancer, thus, one of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success in conducting the assays and interpreting their clinical significance for a patient with CRC.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 389 and 390 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8, 11, 14, 20-23, 25, 27, 28, 32, and 35 of copending Application No. 17/906,818 in view of Rosengren et al. (US 2018/0044419 A9; Published: Feb 15, 2018), Zhou (US 2017/0218066 A1; Published: Aug 3, 2017), Llado et al. (Cell Reports. 10(5): 740-754; Published: Feb 10, 2015), Nakanishi et al. (Cell Reports. 16(12): 3297-3310; Published: Sept 20, 2016), Hagedorn et al. (WO 2014/062845 A1; Published: Apr 24, 2014), Inaguma et al. (Modern Pathology. 30: 278-285; Published Online: November 4, 2016), Jesudoss (American Journal of Gastroenterology, 113: p S836; Published: October 2018), and Mesina et al. (Revista de Chimie. 69(2):419-428; Published: March 2018) as applied to claims 353-355, 359-365, and 374-376 above, and further in view of Fabrizio et al. (Journal of Gastrointestinal Oncology. 9(4): 610-618; Published: August 1, 2018).
The teachings of the claims of copending Application No. 17/906,818 in view of Rosengren et al., Zhou, Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., Jesudoss, and Mesina et al. as related to claims 353-355, 359-365, and 374-376, from which these claims depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
Neither copending claims, Rosengren et al., Zhou, Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., Jesudoss, and Mesina et al. teach detecting MSS colon cancer.
Fabrizio et al. teaches assessing a tumor sample for MSI-H or, MSI-ambiguous, or MSS subtype by IHC and PCR; see page 611. Fabrizio et al. additionally assesses TMB status; see page 612. Fabrizio et al. highlights two case studies of patients with MSS colorectal cancer treated with off-label PD-1/PD-L1 blockade; see page 614. Fabrizio et al. teaches that the MSS/TMB-high subset of colorectal patients can benefit from PD-1/PD-L1 blockade; see page 616.
Given that Fabrizio et al. teaches further assessing MSS subtype status and the MSS/TMB-high colorectal cancer patients may achieve therapeutic benefit from PD-1/PD-L1 blockade as evidenced by case studies, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the MSS/TMB subtyping taught by Fabrizio et al. with the method taught by copending claims, Rosengren et al., Zhou, Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., Jesudoss, and Mesina et al. Additionally, given that Fabrizio et al. teaches two successful case studies treating MSS/TMB-high colorectal cancer patients with PD-1/PD-L1 blockade one would have had a reasonable expectation of success treating a single subject having MSS TMB-high colorectal cancer.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 353-355, 359-365, and 374-376 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-9, 23, 24, 47, and 69 of copending Application No. 18/692,253 in view of Rosengren et al. (US 2018/0044419 A9; Published: Feb 15, 2018), Zhou (US 2017/0218066 A1; Published: Aug 3, 2017), Llado et al. (Cell Reports. 10(5): 740-754; Published: Feb 10, 2015), Nakanishi et al. (Cell Reports. 16(12): 3297-3310; Published: Sept 20, 2016), Hagedorn et al. (WO 2014/062845 A1; Published: Apr 24, 2014), Inaguma et al. (Modern Pathology. 30: 278-285; Published Online: November 4, 2016), Jesudoss (American Journal of Gastroenterology, 113: p S836; Published: October 2018) and Mesina et al. (Revista de Chimie. 69(2):419-428; Published: March 2018).
Regarding instant claims 353, 354, 362, and 364, copending claims 1, 4-9, 23, 24, 47, and 69 teach a method of treating a subject having colorectal cancer or a subject suspected of having or having a subtype of colorectal cancer comprising administering an inhibitor of hyaluronan, optionally the small molecule PVHA, wherein subject has lower expression levels of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι compared to an individual without colorectal cancer or the subtype of colorectal cancer. The copending specification does not provide a definition for subtype, but of diagnosis the specification teaches that it refers to a classification of a particular subtype of cancer, e.g., by histopathological criteria or by molecular features; see page 30. In the absence of a limiting definition for subtype, serrated tumors are interpreted as a subtype of colorectal cancer. Regarding instant claim 365, copending claims 1, 9, 23, 24, and 69 teach assaying expression from a biological sample. The copending specification defines sample to include whole blood, blood plasma, sera, or tissue , including tumor tissue; see page 28.
Copending claim 8 teaches assays for measuring hyaluronan and the aPKCs, but do not teach all the assays of claim 362.
Regarding instant claim 354, Rosengren et al. teaches a method of treating cancer wherein the cancer is a solid tumor, including colon cancer, and is determined to have moderate to high or high hyaluronan content; see claims 1 and 7-9. Rosengren et al. teaches that hyaluronan content can be measured in body fluids, such as blood, urine, saliva and serum, and/or in the tumorous tissue or cell and the level can be compared to a standard or other suitable control, such as a comparable sample from a subject who does not have the HA-associated disease; see paragraph 0266. Regarding instant claims 362, suitable assays for assessing hyaluronan content include: immunohistochemistry, immunofluorescence, western blot, PCR, RT-PCR, or ELISA; see paragraphs 0724-0728.
Further, regarding instant claim 364, Rosengren et al. teaches that a hyaluronan-degrading enzyme, including recombinant or exogenous hyaluronidase said be administered in combination with an immune checkpoint inhibitor, such as an anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 antibody; see claims 1, 4, and 21 and paragraph 0012.
The copending claims do not teach administering a PD-L1 inhibitor.
Regarding the use of a PD-L1 inhibitor in instant claims 353 and 363, Zhou et al. teaches treating a subject having cancer, including colon cancer, or an autoimmune or inflammatory disease, including intestinal mucosal inflammation, wasting disease associated with colitis, Crohn's disease, and inflammatory bowel disease, by administering a human antibody targeting PD-L1; see claims 1, 9, 12, and 13.
Neither of the methods taught by the copending claims nor Zhou teach PKCζ and/or PKCλ/ι having reduced expression in colorectal cancer (CRC), broadly.
Llado et al. teaches that PKCζ is a negative regulator of tumorigenesis in intestinal cancers and that PKCζ deficiency results in increased stem cell activity and increased tumorigenic and regenerative activity; see Summary.
Regarding PKCλ/ι, Nakanishi et al. teaches that PKCλ/ι negative regulator of intestinal inflammation and cancer. Inactivation of PKCλ/ι in epithelial cells results in the loss of mature Paneth cells, increased apoptosis and inflammation, and enhanced tumorigenesis. Importantly, regarding instant claim 355, PKCλ/ι expression in human Paneth cells decreases with progression of Crohn’s disease and Kaplan-Meier survival analysis of CRC patients revealed that low PRKCI levels, the gene which encodes for PKCλ/ι, are correlated with significantly worse patient survival; see Summary.
While the copending claims teach a method of treating a subtype of colorectal cancer, including serrated tumors, they do not teach a method comprising determining the likelihood of a subtype of CRC characterized by serrated epithelial changes such as sessile serrated adenomas/polyps or serrated adenocarcinoma.
Hagedorn et al. teaches that large, right-sided sessile serrated adenomas/polyps have a significant risk of developing into adenocarcinoma, and that such polyps probably account for 20-30% of colon cancers; see paragraph 0004. Hagedorn et al. teaches a method wherein the expression levels of genes are measured in a biological sample and compared to a control. Hagedorn et al. teaches that the biological sample is obtained from a colorectal polyp and the method further comprises predicting the likelihood that the colorectal polyp will develop into colorectal cancer based on the relative difference between the expression level and the control value associated with each gene; see claims 1 and 3.
However, Hagedorn et al. does not provide support to assessing the risk of serrated colorectal cancer in patients with IBD.
Regarding instant claims 361 and 365, given that Llado et al. and Nakanishi et al. demonstrate that PKCζ and PKCλ/ι expression can be assessed by immunohistochemistry or RT-PCR of tissue samples and compared to healthy controls and that loss of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι is associated with increased tumorigenesis of intestinal tumors (see Llado et al. Figures 3F and G and Nakanishi et al. Figures 7A, B, and F), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to screen a tissue sample from a patient having, suspected of having, or at risk of developing an intestinal cancer, such as colon cancer, by IHC or RT-PCR for PKCζ and PKCλ/ι wherein a decreased level of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι compared to a healthy control or non-diseased individual is suggestive of tumorigenesis or a more aggressive malignancy.
Neither the copending claims, Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Zhou et al. nor Hagedorn et al. teach detecting a decreased or similar level of CD8+ T cells in a biological sample compared to a non-tumor sample of an individual who does not have the disease or condition.
Mesina et al. teaches detecting CD8+ T cells in a tissue biopsy sample of a malignant polyp and comparing to a tissue biopsy sample of a conventional (i.e. non-malignant) polyp. Mesina et al. teaches detected the presence of CD8+ T cells via IHC; see pages 420-421. Mesina et al. demonstrates that malignant polyps (mp) have fewer or similar levels of CD8+ T cells as conventional polyps (cp); see Table 7.
Given that the copending claims teach treating a serrated tumor comprising administering a hyaluronan inhibitor when a subject has lower levels of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι compared to an individual without a serrated tumor, that Rosengren et al. teaches a similar method of treating cancer by measuring hyaluronan and administering hyaluronidase and an anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 antibody when hyaluronan content is elevated is appropriate for the treatment of colon cancer, that Mesina et al. teaches that a decreased or similar level of CD8+ T cells compared to conventional polyps is indicative of malignant or cancerous colon polyps, that Zhou teaches treating colon cancer or IBD with an anti-PD-L1 antibody, and that Llado et al. and Nakanishi et al. teach that loss of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι is associated with increased tumorigenesis of intestinal tumors, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to screen a patient having or suspected of having an intestinal cancer, such as colon cancer, for PKCζ and PKCλ/ι and to treat said patient with a PD-1/ PD-L1 inhibitor when the level of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι is decreased or suggestive of a more aggressive disease.
Moreover, Inaguma et al. teaches that PD-L1 positivity is associated with CRC arising via the serrated neoplasia pathway; see Abstract and page 284 left column. Additionally, Inaguma et al. teaches that PD-L1 immunohistochemistry is a potential biomarker for treatment response to PD-L1 or PD-1 immune checkpoint inhibitors; see page 284 left column. Furthermore, Jesudoss reports treating a patient having a sessile serrated polyp of the colon with pembrolizumab, an anti-PD-1 agent. Given the elevated expression of PD-L1 in serrated CRC and the teaching a subject matter expert treating a patient with serrated disease with an agent antagonizing the interaction between PD-L1 and PD-1, it would have been obvious and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to treat serrated polyps of the intestine or serrated adenocarcinoma with a PD-L1 inhibitor.
Further, it would have been obvious to measure the level of hyaluronan and administer a hyaluronan inhibitor in addition to the PD-1/ PD-L1 inhibitor when hyaluronan level is elevated. Given that Rosengren et al. teaches the combination of hyaluronidase and an anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 antibody for treating colon cancer, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in adding the hyaluronan content assessment and a hyaluronan inhibitor as taught be Rosengren et al. to the method of treating taught by the claims of the copending application, in view of Zhou, Llado et al., and Nakanishi et al.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 366-369, 381, and 386 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-9, 23, 24, 47, and 69 of copending Application No. 18/692,253 in view of Rosengren et al. (US 2018/0044419 A9; Published: Feb 15, 2018), Zhou (US 2017/0218066 A1; Published: Aug 3, 2017), Llado et al. (Cell Reports. 10(5): 740-754; Published: Feb 10, 2015), Nakanishi et al. (Cell Reports. 16(12): 3297-3310; Published: Sept 20, 2016), Hagedorn et al. (WO 2014/062845 A1; Published: Apr 24, 2014), Inaguma et al. (Modern Pathology. 30: 278-285; Published Online: November 4, 2016), Jesudoss (American Journal of Gastroenterology, 113: p S836; Published: October 2018), and Mesina et al. (Revista de Chimie. 69(2):419-428; Published: March 2018) as applied to claims 353-355, 359-365, and 374-376 above, and further in view of Holmgaard et al. (Journal for ImmunoTherapy of Cancer. 6:477; Published: Jun 4, 2018).
The teachings of the claims of copending Application No. 18/692,253 in view of Rosengren et al., Zhou, Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., Jesudoss, and Mesina et al. as related to claims 353-355, 359-365, and 374-376, from which these claims depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
The references do not teach administering a TGF-β1 inhibitor in addition to the PD-L1 inhibitor.
Regarding instant claims 366-369, Holmgaard et al. teaches administering the TGF-β1 small molecule inhibitor, galunisertib, in combination with a PD-1/PD-L1 pathway inhibitor, an anti-PD-L1 antibody, in a mouse model of colon cancer; see Abstract and In Vivo Studies. The combination of anti-PD-L1 and galunisertib therapy resulted in significant antitumor benefit compared to monotherapy with a marked enhancement of response (9/14 CRs) and all animals responding to treatment; see page 9, right column and Fig. 5. Further, Holmgaard et al. teaches that inhibiting immune suppression with galunisertib may accelerate the biological activity of anti-PD-L1; see page 11, left column.
Given that the claims of copending Application No. 18/692,253 in view of Rosengren et al., Zhou, Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., and Jesudoss provide support for the treatment of colon cancer or IBD, which may develop into colon cancer, with decreased expression of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι with a PD-1/PD-L1 inhibitor and Holmgaard et al. teaches the antitumor benefit of combining the TGF-β1 small molecule inhibitor, galunisertib, with a PD-1/PD-L1 pathway inhibitor to treat colon cancer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to combine the method taught by the claims of copending Application No. 18/692,253 in view of Rosengren et al., Zhou, Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., and Jesudoss with the addition of the TGF-β1 small molecule inhibitor, galunisertib, as supported by the favorable anti-tumor effect of galunisertib and PD-1/PD-L1 pathway inhibitor in colon cancer as taught by Holmgaard et al.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 372 and 373 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-9, 23, 24, 47, and 69 of copending Application No. 18/692,253 in view of Rosengren et al. (US 2018/0044419 A9; Published: Feb 15, 2018), Zhou (US 2017/0218066 A1; Published: Aug 3, 2017), Llado et al. (Cell Reports. 10(5): 740-754; Published: Feb 10, 2015), Nakanishi et al. (Cell Reports. 16(12): 3297-3310; Published: Sept 20, 2016), Hagedorn et al. (WO 2014/062845 A1; Published: Apr 24, 2014), Inaguma et al. (Modern Pathology. 30: 278-285; Published Online: November 4, 2016), Jesudoss (American Journal of Gastroenterology, 113: p S836; Published: October 2018), and Mesina et al. (Revista de Chimie. 69(2):419-428; Published: March 2018) as applied to claims 353-355, 359-365, and 374-376 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (BMC Cancer. 12: 418; Published: Sept 21, 2012) and Le et al. (NEJM. 372: 2509-2520; Published: Jun 25, 2015).
The teachings of the claims of copending Application No. 18/692,253 in view of Rosengren et al., Zhou, Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., Jesudoss, and Mesina et al. as related to claims 353-355, 359-365, and 374-376, from which these claims depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
The references do not teach determining an immunosuppressive environment in a biological sample by measuring the presence of IL-17A-producing CD4+ T cells.
Wang et al. teaches assessing the presence of Th17 cells and Treg cells, which are suggested to inhibit anti-tumor immune response, using flow cytometry in the circulation of colorectal adenoma (CRA) and colorectal carcinoma (CRC) patients and healthy controls and quantifying cytokine expression (IL-1β, IL-6, IL-17A, IL-21, IL-23 or TGF-β) by ELISA in sera and supernatants from both normal and tumor tissues cultured ex vivo; see Abstract and page 2, first sentence. Regarding instant claims 372 and 373, Wang et al. demonstrates that the percentage of CD4+ Th17 T cells (IL-17a expressing cells) was elevated in samples from patients with CRC compared to health controls; see Figure 1B and 1C. Additionally, Wang et al. teaches that IL-17a is elevated in the serum of CRC patients compared to healthy controls; see Figure 3C.
Given that the presence of an immunosuppressive tumor microenvironment is associated with the progression of colon cancer and the worsening response to anti-PD-1 antibody treatment in CRC, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of assessing IL-17a producing CD4+ T cells by Wang et al. with the method taught by the claims of copending Application No. 18/692,253 in view of Rosengren et al., Zhou, Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Hagedorn et al., and Inaguma et al., and Jesudoss. The assays (flow cytometry and IHC) taught by Wang et al. for determining an immunosuppressive environment are common practice in the art and were conducted in the context of colorectal cancer, thus, one of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success in conducting the assays and interpreting their clinical significance for a patient with CRC.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 389 and 390 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-9, 23, 24, 47, and 69 of copending Application No. 18/692,253 in view of Rosengren et al. (US 2018/0044419 A9; Published: Feb 15, 2018), Zhou (US 2017/0218066 A1; Published: Aug 3, 2017), Llado et al. (Cell Reports. 10(5): 740-754; Published: Feb 10, 2015), Nakanishi et al. (Cell Reports. 16(12): 3297-3310; Published: Sept 20, 2016), Hagedorn et al. (WO 2014/062845 A1; Published: Apr 24, 2014), Inaguma et al. (Modern Pathology. 30: 278-285; Published Online: November 4, 2016), Jesudoss (American Journal of Gastroenterology, 113: p S836; Published: October 2018), and Mesina et al. (Revista de Chimie. 69(2):419-428; Published: March 2018) as applied to claims 353-355, 359-365, and 374-376 above, and further in view of Fabrizio et al. (Journal of Gastrointestinal Oncology. 9(4): 610-618; Published: August 1, 2018).
The teachings of the claims of copending Application No. 18/692,253 in view of Rosengren et al., Zhou, Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., Jesudoss, and Mesina et al. as related to claims 353-355, 359-365, and 374-376, from which these claims depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
Neither copending claims, Rosengren et al., Zhou, Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., Jesudoss, and Mesina et al. teach detecting MSS colon cancer.
Fabrizio et al. teaches assessing a tumor sample for MSI-H or, MSI-ambiguous, or MSS subtype by IHC and PCR; see page 611. Fabrizio et al. additionally assesses TMB status; see page 612. Fabrizio et al. highlights two case studies of patients with MSS colorectal cancer treated with off-label PD-1/PD-L1 blockade; see page 614. Fabrizio et al. teaches that the MSS/TMB-high subset of colorectal patients can benefit from PD-1/PD-L1 blockade; see page 616.
Given that Fabrizio et al. teaches further assessing MSS subtype status and the MSS/TMB-high colorectal cancer patients may achieve therapeutic benefit from PD-1/PD-L1 blockade as evidenced by case studies, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the MSS/TMB subtyping taught by Fabrizio et al. with the method taught by copending claims, Rosengren et al., Zhou, Llado et al., Nakanishi et al., Hagedorn et al., Inaguma et al., Jesudoss, and Mesina et al. Additionally, given that Fabrizio et al. teaches two successful case studies treating MSS/TMB-high colorectal cancer patients with PD-1/PD-L1 blockade one would have had a reasonable expectation of success treating a single subject having MSS TMB-high colorectal cancer.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments filed July 10, 2026 are acknowledged. Any rejection not repeated above is resolved by amendment.
Regarding the rejection under U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues that the art does not provide a there is no motivation to combine the references.
As stated previously, the claimed method does not require measuring PKCζ and PKCλ/ι in order to diagnose serrated polyps or serrated adenocarcinoma. The method does require treating one subject having a disease or condition characterized by serrated polyps or serrated adenocarcinoma, determining that a subject has reduced expression of PKCζ and PKCλ/ι by any type of biological sample, determining the biological sample contains a decreased or similar level of CD8+ T cells, and administering a PD-L1 / PD-1 inhibitor. As above, given that Llado et al. and Nakanishi et al. teach decreased PKCζ and PKCλ/ι is associated with more tumorigenic colon cancer, Mesina et al. teaches that malignant polyps have a decreased or similar level of CD8+ T cells, and Zhou teaches treating colon cancer with a PD-L1 antibody, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to treat colon cancer, including colon cancer having decreased PKCζ and PKCλ/ι, with a PD-L1 antibody. The motivation to combine is clearly to identify and treat CRC, of which serrated CRC is a large proportion.
Applicant argues that the references do not teach simultaneous loss of both aPKC isoforms produces a distinct phenotype that motivates PD-L1 inhibitor use. Llado et al. and Nakanishi et al. teach that loss of the aPKC isoforms are associated with colon tumor development and Zhou et al. teaches treating colon cancer with a PD-L1 inhibitor.
Applicant argues that there is no diagnostic nexus between loss of both aPKC isoforms and decreased CD8+ infiltration and PD-L1 inhibitor selection. First, the claim does not require decreased CD8+ infiltration, this is written in the alternative with the same level of CD8+ T cells. As written in the rejection above, the nexus is CRC, of which serrated CRC is a large proportion.
Applicant argues that Jesudoss teaches lung cancer and not a serrated polyp of colon. It is true that Jesudoss teaches that the serrated polyp of the colon is a metastatic adenocarcinoma originating from the lungs. However, the claims do not require the colon be the primary or only site of malignancy. Jesudoss et al. teaches treating a subject “a disease or condition characterized by serrated polyps in an intestine” with PD-1/PD-L1 blockade.
Applicant argues that Jesudoss does not teach that diagnostic steps. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The diagnostic steps are taught by other references cited in the rejection as described above.
Applicant argues that there is no reasonable expectation of success treating PKCζ and PKCλ/ι- low, MSS, serrated colorectal cancer. Presently, only new claims 389 and 390 teach this particular combination of features. Claim 353, for example, is broad and encompasses other conditions, including IBD and, as demonstrated by Jesudoss, metastatic lung cancer. New claims 389 and 390 are addressed further in view of Fabrizio et al. which teaches successfully treating a subject having MSS CRC.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ma et al. (Cell. 152(3): 599-611; Published: Jan 31, 2013) teaches that the loss of PKCζ in mice results in enhanced intestinal tumorigenesis and low expression of PKCζ is associated with poor prognosis in patients. Zheng et al. (WO 2017/127282 A1; Published: Jul 27, 2017) teaches a method of selecting a treatment based on the expression of biomarkers in a sample, wherein patients with decreased expression are treated with a PD-1/PD-L1 inhibitor. Bendell et al. (Journal of Clinical Oncology. 34(15): Abstract 3502; Published: May 20, 2016) teaches that MSS CRC patients respond to a combination regimen of cobimetinib and atezolizumab.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE ANN HOLTZMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1646
/JULIET C SWITZER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682