DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
No claims are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group and Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 06/13/2023.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Sub-species II, and Sub-species 1 in the reply filed on 06/13/2023 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “There would be no undue search burden examining the five groups. Elected Group I is directed to an animal trap sensor. The remaining groups either incorporate an animal trap sensor as a system component (as part of an animal trap system, Group II, or bait station, Group II), or use one in a method of using an animal trap system (in a method of trapping an animal, Group IV, or method of monitoring an animal trap system, Group V). At a minimum, Applicant respectfully requests that Groups I, II, and III be searched together, given that the presence of the animal trap sensor will yield substantial overlap in searching, providing for more efficient prosecution.”. This is not found persuasive because the distinctions between each of Groups I-V were pointed out by the Examiner in the Restriction Requirement mailed on 12/01/2022 and thus provides the necessary evidence that proves that the search for each of Groups I-V is unique and not required in the search of the other Groups. If applicant is traversing on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 23, 29, 31, 34-36, 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lam 5,469,132 in view of and Liu et al. 2013/0223053.
In regard to claim 1, Lam discloses an animal trap sensor comprising: a base (55) comprising a distal end (lower end of 55 including 57) and a proximal end (upper end of 55), a switch comprising a first metallic element (22) and a second metallic element (21), a printed circuit board (27), the first metallic element and the second metallic element electrically connected to the circuit board (see Fig. 1), and a signal unit (12,18), wherein the first metallic element and the second metallic element are electrically separated at the distal end of the base (see solid line positions of 21-22 in Fig. 1) and electrically connected with the signal unit at the proximal end of the base via the circuit board (27; see Fig. 1), thereby forming an open circuit, and wherein, when the first metallic element contacting the second metallic element, thereby forming a closed circuit, such that the signal unit (12,18) transmits a signal (light) to an off-site receiver (general surrounding area), but does not disclose the signal unit including an electrical receptacle or a plug extending from the circuit board and removably engaging with the electrical receptacle for electrically connecting the first metallic element and the second metallic element to the signal unit. Liu et al. disclose a printed circuit board (drive circuit board 23), a signal unit (LED lamp strap 22) including a receptacle (female header 222; an end of female header 222 is soldered onto the LED lamp strap 22 while the other end includes a plurality of pin holes 2221 corresponding to the pins 2311 on pin header 231), and a plug (pin header 231) extending from the circuit board (23) and removably engaging with the electrical receptacle (2221) for electrically connecting the first metallic element and the second metallic element (positive and negative power supply connections of 23) to the signal unit (22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal unit and circuit board of Lam such that the signal unit includes an electrical receptacle and a plug extends from the circuit board and removably engaging with the electrical receptacle for electrically connecting the first metallic element and the second metallic element to the signal unit in view of Liu et al. in order to allow the signal unit to be detachably connected to the circuit board so as to allow the signal unit to be detached from the circuit board to facilitate replacement or repair of the signal unit so as to refrain from having to dispose of the entire circuit board when the signal unit malfunctions to thereby conserve resources and reduce waste.
In regard to claim 23, Lam discloses wherein the first metallic element (22) surrounds the second metallic element (21).
In regard to claim 29, Lam discloses wherein the base (55) discloses a housing (see Fig. 1) in which the printed circuit board (27) is arranged.
In regard to claims 31 and 36, Lam discloses a plug (electrical trace of printed circuit board 27 joining 21-22 with 12; 21-22 are connected in series via printed circuit carried by mounting member 27 with the electrically responsive transducer circuit 12---see col. 3, lines 22-30; structure of the plug not being particularly claimed) extending from the circuit board (27) and electrically connecting the first metallic element (22) and the second metallic element (21) to the signal unit (12,18).
In regard to claims 34 and 39, Lam and Liu et al. disclose wherein the plug (electrical trace of printed circuit board 27 joining 21-22 with 12 of Lam; 21-22 are connected in series via printed circuit carried by mounting member 27 with the electrically responsive transducer circuit 12---see col. 3, lines 22-30 of Lam; 231 of Liu et al. is directly removably connected with 22 via 222) is directly removably connected to the signal unit (12,18 of Lam; 22 of Liu et al.).
In regard to claim 35, Lam discloses an animal trap sensor comprising: a switch including a first metallic element (22) and a second metallic element (21) arranged within the first metallic element, a printed circuit board (27), the first metallic element and the second metallic element electrically connected to the circuit board (27; see Fig. 1), and a signal unit (12,18), the first metallic element and the second metallic element are electrically separated at a distal end of the sensor (see solid line positions of 21-22 in Fig. 1) and are electrically connected with the signal unit (12,18) at a proximal end of the sensor via the printed circuit board (27) thereby forming an open circuit, when the first metallic element contacts the second metallic element a closed circuit is formed such that the signal unit (12,18) transmits a signal (light) to an off-site receiver (general surrounding area), but does not disclose the signal unit removably electrically connected to the printed circuit board and the first metallic element and the second metallic element. Liu et al. disclose a printed circuit board (drive circuit board 23), a signal unit (LED lamp strap 22) including a receptacle (female header 222; an end of female header 222 is soldered onto the LED lamp strap 22 while the other end includes a plurality of pin holes 2221 corresponding to the pins 2311 on pin header 231), and a plug (pin header 231) extending from the circuit board (23) and removably engaging with the electrical receptacle (2221) for electrically connecting the first metallic element and the second metallic element (positive and negative power supply connections of 23) to the signal unit (22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal unit and circuit board of Lam such that the signal unit is removably electrically connected to the printed circuit board and the first metallic element and the second metallic element in view of Liu et al. in order to allow the signal unit to be detachably connected to the circuit board so as to allow the signal unit to be detached from the circuit board to facilitate replacement or repair of the signal unit so as to refrain from having to dispose of the entire circuit board when the signal unit malfunctions to thereby conserve resources and reduce waste.
Claim(s) 1, 22-29, 31-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loftus 3,731,022 in view of Yazdi et al. 2017/0103683 and Liu et al. 2013/0223053.
In regard to claim 1, Loftus discloses an animal trap sensor comprising: a base (32) comprising a distal end (left end of 32 in Fig. 3) and a proximal end (right end of 32 in Fig. 3), a switch comprising a first metallic element (36,49) and a second metallic element (34), a circuit (circuit formed by 46,48,54,55) mounted on a base means (30), the first metallic element and the second metallic element electrically connected to the circuit (see Fig. 3), and a signal unit (20), wherein the first metallic element and the second metallic element are electrically separated at the distal end of the base (see separation in Fig. 3 toward the left end of 32) and electrically connected with the signal unit (20) at the proximal end of the base via the circuit (via 46,48,54,55; see Figs. 2-3) and base means, thereby forming an open circuit, and wherein, when the first metallic element contacting the second metallic element, thereby forming a closed circuit, such that the signal unit (20) transmits a signal (sounding of alarm) to an off-site receiver (general surrounding area to alert interested persons), but does not disclose a printed circuit board, the first metallic element and the second metallic element electrically connected to the circuit board, wherein the first metallic element and the second metallic element are electrically connected with the signal unit at the proximal end of the base via the circuit board. Yazdi et al. disclose a base (1101,1121), a switch comprising a first metallic element (1115) and a second metallic element (1116), a printed circuit board (1111), the first metallic element and the second metallic element electrically connected to the circuit board (portion of 1115 used to form circuit board contact 1118, 1116 attaches to point 1112 on PCB 1111 using screws 1113 and holes 1117), and a signal unit (626,628), wherein the first metallic element and the second metallic element are electrically connected with the signal unit (626,628) at the proximal end of the base (1101) via the circuit board (1111), thereby forming an open circuit, and wherein, when the first metallic element and the second metallic element detect a change in state, thereby forming a closed circuit, such that the signal unit (626,628) transmits a signal (wireless signal) to an off-site receiver (506 or 508). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of Loftus such that it comprises a printed circuit board, the first metallic element and the second metallic element electrically connected to the circuit board, wherein the first metallic element and the second metallic element are electrically connected with the signal unit at the proximal end of the base via the circuit board in view of Yazdi et al. in order to improve reliability of the sensor by fixing components relative to each other so that they do not move with respect to each other to thereby limit, simplifying maintenance by reducing or eliminating wiring, and provide circuitry that can be easily mass produced. Loftus and Yazdi et al. do not disclose the signal unit including an electrical receptacle or a plug extending from the circuit board and removably engaging with the electrical receptacle for electrically connecting the first metallic element and the second metallic element to the signal unit. Liu et al. disclose a printed circuit board (drive circuit board 23), a signal unit (LED lamp strap 22) including a receptacle (female header 222; an end of female header 222 is soldered onto the LED lamp strap 22 while the other end includes a plurality of pin holes 2221 corresponding to the pins 2311 on pin header 231), and a plug (pin header 231) extending from the circuit board (23) and removably engaging with the electrical receptacle (2221) for electrically connecting the first metallic element and the second metallic element (positive and negative power supply connections of 23) to the signal unit (22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal unit and circuit board of Lam such that the signal unit includes an electrical receptacle and a plug extends from the circuit board and removably engaging with the electrical receptacle for electrically connecting the first metallic element and the second metallic element to the signal unit in view of Liu et al. in order to allow the signal unit to be detachably connected to the circuit board so as to allow the signal unit to be detached from the circuit board to facilitate replacement or repair of the signal unit so as to refrain from having to dispose of the entire circuit board when the signal unit malfunctions to thereby conserve resources and reduce waste.
In regard to claim 22, Loftus and Yazdi et al. disclose wherein the second metallic element (54,55 of Loftus) is connected to a distal end of the printed circuit board (lower end of 1111 of Yazdi et al.).
In regard to claim 23, Loftus and Yazdi et al. disclose wherein the first metallic element (36,49 of Loftus) surrounds the second metallic element (34 of Loftus).
In regard to claim 24, Loftus and Yazdi et al. disclose wherein the first metallic element (36 of Loftus) surrounds the distal end of the printed circuit board (30 of Loftus; 1111 of Yazdi et al.).
In regard to claim 25, Loftus and Yazdi et al. disclose wherein the first metallic (36 of Loftus) element is a coil spring (see Fig. 3 of Loftus).
In regard to claim 26, Loftus and Yazdi et al. disclose wherein the printed circuit board (30 of Loftus; 1111 of Yazdi et al.) is adapted to center the second metallic element (34 of Loftus) within the first metallic element (36 of Loftus; see Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 27, Loftus and Yazdi et al. disclose wherein the distal end of the printed circuit (left end of 30 of Loftus in Fig. 3; lower end of 1111 of Yazdi et al. in Fig. 1) defines at least one protrusion (38 of Loftus) opposing a first end of the first metallic element (36 of Loftus) for locating the first metallic element relative to the second metallic element (34 of Loftus).
In regard to claim 28, Loftus and Yazdi et al. disclose wherein the at least one protrusion (38) limits an insertion depth (via 50,52) of the second metallic element (34 of Loftus) into the first metallic element (36 of Loftus).
In regard to claim 29, Loftus and Yazdi et al. disclose wherein the base (55) discloses a housing (see Fig. 1) in which the printed circuit board (27) is arranged.
In regard to claims 31 and 36, Loftus and Yazdi et al. disclose a plug (46,48,54,55 of Loftus) extending from the circuit board (30 of Loftus; 1111 of Yazdi et al.) and electrically connecting the first metallic element (36 of Loftus) and the second metallic element (34 of Loftus) to the signal unit (20 of Loftus; 626,628 of Yazdi et al.).
In regard to claims 32 and 37, Loftus and Yazdi et al. disclose wherein the plug (46,48,54,55 of Loftus) is arranged at a proximal end of the circuit board (right end of 30 of Loftus; 1111 of Yazdi et al.) opposite the first (36 of Loftus) and second (34 of Loftus) metallic elements.
In regard to claims 33 and 38, Loftus and Yazdi et al. disclose wherein the first metallic element (36 of Loftus; 1115 of Yazdi et al.) extends from the base (32 of Loftus; 1101 of Yazdi et al.) in a first axial direction (see Fig. 3 of Loftus; see Fig. 12 of Yazdi et al.), and the plug (46,48,54,55 of Loftus) extends from the circuit board (30 of Loftus; 1111 of Yazdi et al.) in a direction transverse to the first axial direction (46 of Loftus extends transverse to axis of 36 in Fig. 3 of Loftus).
In regard to claims 34 and 39, Loftus, Yazdi et al., and Liu et al. disclose wherein the plug (46,48,54,55 of Loftus) is directly removably connected to the signal unit (20 of Loftus; 231 of Liu et al. is directly removably connected with 22 via 222).
In regard to claim 35, Loftus discloses an animal trap sensor comprising: a switch including a first metallic element (36) and a second metallic element (34) arranged within the first metallic element, a circuit (46,48,54,55) mounted on a base means (30), the first metallic element (36) and the second metallic element (34) electrically connected to the circuit (see Fig. 3), and a signal unit (20), the first metallic element (36) and the second metallic element (34) are electrically separated at a distal end of the sensor (toward the left in Fig. 3) and are electrically connected with the signal unit at a proximal end of the sensor (toward the right in Fig. 3) via the circuit thereby forming an open circuit, when the first metallic element (36,60) contacts the second metallic element (34) a closed circuit is formed such that the signal unit (20) transmits a signal (sounding of alarm) to an off-site receiver (general surrounding area to alert interested persons), but does not disclose a printed circuit board, the first metallic element and the second metallic element are electrically connected to the circuit board and electrically connected with the signal unit at a proximal end of the sensor via the circuit board. Yazdi et al. disclose a base (1101,1121), a switch comprising a first metallic element (1115) and a second metallic element (1116), a printed circuit board (1111), the first metallic element and the second metallic element electrically connected to the circuit board (portion of 1115 used to form circuit board contact 1118, 1116 attaches to point 1112 on PCB 1111 using screws 1113 and holes 1117), and a signal unit (626,628), wherein the first metallic element and the second metallic element are electrically connected with the signal unit (626,628) at the proximal end of the base (1101) via the circuit board (1111), thereby forming an open circuit, and wherein, when the first metallic element and the second metallic element detect a change in state, thereby forming a closed circuit, such that the signal unit (626,628) transmits a signal (wireless signal) to an off-site receiver (506 or 508). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of Loftus such that it comprises a printed circuit board, the first metallic element and the second metallic element are electrically connected to the circuit board and electrically connected with the signal unit at a proximal end of the sensor via the circuit board in view of Yazdi et al. in order to improve reliability of the sensor by fixing components relative to each other so that they do not move with respect to each other to thereby limit, simplifying maintenance by reducing or eliminating wiring, and provide circuitry that can be easily mass produced. Loftus and Yazdi et al. do not disclose the signal unit removably electrically connected to the printed circuit board and the first metallic element and the second metallic element. Liu et al. disclose a printed circuit board (drive circuit board 23), a signal unit (LED lamp strap 22) including a receptacle (female header 222; an end of female header 222 is soldered onto the LED lamp strap 22 while the other end includes a plurality of pin holes 2221 corresponding to the pins 2311 on pin header 231), and a plug (pin header 231) extending from the circuit board (23) and removably engaging with the electrical receptacle (2221) for electrically connecting the first metallic element and the second metallic element (positive and negative power supply connections of 23) to the signal unit (22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal unit and circuit board of Lam such that the signal unit is removably electrically connected to the printed circuit board and the first metallic element and the second metallic element in view of Liu et al. in order to allow the signal unit to be detachably connected to the circuit board so as to allow the signal unit to be detached from the circuit board to facilitate replacement or repair of the signal unit so as to refrain from having to dispose of the entire circuit board when the signal unit malfunctions to thereby conserve resources and reduce waste
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loftus 3,731,022 in view of Yazdi et al. 2017/0103683 and Liu et al. 2013/0223053 as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Sorensen et al. 7,932,473.
In regard to claim 30, Loftus, Yazdi et al., and Liu et al. do not disclose wherein the housing comprises a first halve and a second halve selectively connected to the first halve. Sorensen et al. disclose an actuator (101) with sensors (33a-b) on a printed circuit board (32) and a housing (cabinet in two parts 1a-b) comprising a first halve (1a) and a second halve (1b) selectively connected to the first halve (see exploded view in Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing of Loftus, Yazdi et al., and Liu et al. such that it comprises a first halve and a second halve selectively connected to the first halve in view of Sorensen et al. in order to provide a housing configuration that facilitates disassembly of the sensor so that tasks involving maintenance or repair may be more easily conducted.
Claim(s) 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loftus 3,731,022 in view of Yazdi et al. 2017/0103683.
In regard to claim 40, Loftus discloses an animal trap sensor comprising: a base (32) comprising a distal end (left end of 32 in Fig. 3) and a proximal end (right end of 32 in Fig. 3), a switch comprising a first metallic element (36,49) and a second metallic element (34), a circuit (circuit formed by 46,48,54,55) mounted on a base means (30), the first metallic element and the second metallic element electrically connected to the circuit (see Fig. 3), the second metallic element (34) connected to a distal end of the circuit (left end of circuit formed by 46,48,54,55 in Fig. 3), and a signal unit (20), wherein the first metallic element and the second metallic element are electrically separated at the distal end of the base (see separation in Fig. 3 toward the left end of 32) and electrically connected with the signal unit (20) at the proximal end of the base via the circuit (via 46,48,54,55; see Figs. 2-3) and base means, thereby forming an open circuit, and wherein, when the first metallic element contacting the second metallic element, thereby forming a closed circuit, such that the signal unit (20) transmits a signal (sounding of alarm) to an off-site receiver (general surrounding area to alert interested persons), but does not disclose a printed circuit board, the first metallic element and the second metallic element electrically connected to the circuit board, wherein the first metallic element and the second metallic element are electrically connected with the signal unit at the proximal end of the base via the circuit board. Yazdi et al. disclose a base (1101,1121), a switch comprising a first metallic element (1115) and a second metallic element (1116), a printed circuit board (1111), the first metallic element and the second metallic element electrically connected to the circuit board (portion of 1115 used to form circuit board contact 1118, 1116 attaches to point 1112 on PCB 1111 using screws 1113 and holes 1117), the second metallic element (1116) connected to a distal end of the printed circuit board (lower end of 1111 in Fig. 12; armature 1116 attaches to an attachment point 1112 on circuit board 1111 using two screws 1113 and the holes 1117 formed in the head of armature 1116---see para. 0110), and a signal unit (626,628), wherein the first metallic element and the second metallic element are electrically connected with the signal unit (626,628) at the proximal end of the base (1101) via the circuit board (1111), thereby forming an open circuit, and wherein, when the first metallic element and the second metallic element detect a change in state, thereby forming a closed circuit, such that the signal unit (626,628) transmits a signal (wireless signal) to an off-site receiver (506 or 508). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of Loftus such that it comprises a printed circuit board, the first metallic element and the second metallic element electrically connected to the circuit board, wherein the first metallic element and the second metallic element are electrically connected with the signal unit at the proximal end of the base via the circuit board in view of Yazdi et al. in order to improve reliability of the sensor by fixing components relative to each other so that they do not move with respect to each other to thereby limit, simplifying maintenance by reducing or eliminating wiring, and provide circuitry that can be easily mass produced.
In regard to claim 41, Loftus and Yazdi et al. disclose wherein the printed circuit board (1111 of Yazdi et al.) is adapted to center the second metallic element (1116 of Yazdi et al.) within the first metallic element (1115 of Yazdi et al.; 1111 is adapted to center 1116 within 1115 via holes 1117 through 1116 which receive screws 1113 to fix 1116 to 1111 and thereby maintain the position of 1116 within 1115 by not allowing 1116 to move relative to 1115; the structure of the desired invention which applicant is attempting to claim is not being specifically claimed in a manner which overcomes the Examiner’s broad yet reasonable interpretation of Yazdi et al.).
In regard to claim 42, Loftus and Yazdi et al. disclose wherein the distal end of the printed circuit board (lower end of 1111 in Fig. 12) defines at least one protrusion (1113 of Yazdi et al. which is received through holes in 1111 as shown in Fig. 13 of Yazdi et al.) opposing a first end of the first metallic element (upper end of 1115 of Yazdi et al.) for locating the first metallic element (1115 of Yazdi et al.) relative to the second metallic element (1116 of Yazdi et al.; the screws 1113 maintain the positions of 1115 & 1116 relative to 1111 and therefore maintain the spatial relationship between 1115 & 1116 since they are collectively mounted together to 1111).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. McZilkey 2019/0208757 discloses a base (200); a switch (accelerometer 520); a printed circuit board (500); a signal unit (530); and the signal unit (530) including pins (leads extending from 530) and pin header sleeves (see rectangular shaped pin sleeves at the upper end of 500 which connect to the pins of 530 in Fig. 3) on the printed circuit board for receiving the pins. Laldin et al. 2022/0291257 discloses pin headers (102,104,124,126) on a tool (100) connected to a pin header sleeves (202,204,224,226 in Fig. 6) on a microcontroller board (200). Kioski et al. 2014/0254115 disclose a removable sensor module (102) comprising a signal pin header (128A) fixed to the second end (110B) of the printed circuit board assembly (108), the signal pin header (128A) may provide for removably coupling with cooperating signal pins (128B) of the internal electrical circuit component (122).
/DARREN W ARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647
DWA