DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment/Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 11/12/2025.
Claims 65, 67-72, 74-77 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 65, 68, 70, 72 have been amended.
No new claim has been added and previously claims 1-64, 66, 73, have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 11/12/2025, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. The Examiner found features modified to claims, i.e claim 65 as
“65. (Currently Amended) A method performed in a network node, for enabling transmit power control of a wireless device that is configured to contemporaneously supportat least a first link with a first wireless access point and a second link with a second wireless access point, the method comprising:
determining a priority of each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point to be contemporaneously supported; and determining, based on the priority of each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point, a separate configured transmit power value for the wireless device for each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point,
wherein a sum of all the separate configured transmit power values for at least the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point does not exceed a maximum allowed transmit power for the wireless device; and
transmitting at least one of the determined configured transmit power values to another network node. “
that have changed the scope of the invention, Therefore, Applicant’s remarks regarding rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 for the claims are moot. Applicant's remarks are considered as forward looking statement for the newly reconstructed claims.
In view of the applicant’s amendment to the claims, the examiner has clarified and remapped the rejection to the argued claim limitations in details, using the prior art of record in the current prosecution of the claims as well a new prior art. See Blankenship et al. (US 20150036566 A1; hereinafter as “Blankenship”).
Double Patenting
Claims 65, 67-72, 74-77 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. US 11/019,581 B2
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 65, 67-72, 74-77 of the instant application merely broaden the scope of the claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. US 11/019,581 B2. Thus, the Claims 65, 67-72, 74-77 of the instant application are anticipated by the claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. US 11/019,581 B2. Following is side by side of comparison of the at least independent claims of the instant application against the claims U.S. Patent No. US 11/019,581 B2
Current application’s claims: 17/317,281
U.S. Patent No.US 11/019,581 B2
65. (Currently Amended) A method performed in a network node, for enabling transmit power control of a wireless device that is configured to contemporaneously support at least a first link with a first wireless access point and a second link with a second wireless access point, the method comprising:
determining a priority of each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point to be contemporaneously supported; and determining, based on the priority of each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point, a separate configured transmit power value for the wireless device for each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point,
wherein a sum of all the separate configured transmit power values for at least the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point does not exceed a maximum allowed transmit power for the wireless device; and
transmitting at least one of the determined configured transmit power values to another network node.
74. (Previously Presented) The method according to claim 67, wherein the threshold value is related to a tolerance value for the maximum allowed transmit power for the wireless device.
1. A method performed in a network node, for enabling transmit power control of a wireless device that is configured to support two or more contemporaneous links with two or more corresponding wireless access points, the method comprising:
obtaining a separate configured transmit power value (P.sub.1, P.sub.2, . . . P.sub.i) for the wireless device per contemporaneous link with the two or more corresponding wireless access points; and
transmitting at least one of the obtained configured transmit power values to another network node, and
wherein a sum of all of the separate configured transmit power values for the two or more contemporaneous links with the two or more corresponding wireless access points does not exceed a maximum allowed transmit power (P.sub.TOTALMAX) for the wireless device minus a threshold value (P.sub.thresh) as determined by:
P.sub.1+P.sub.2+. . . +P.sub.i<(P.sub.TOTALMAX)−(P.sub.thresh)
wherein P.sub.thresh is related to a tolerance value for the maximum allowed transmit power for the wireless device.
68. (Currently Amended) A method performed in a wireless device configured to contemporaneously support at least a first link with a first wireless access point and a second link with a second wireless access point, the method comprising:
- receiving a separate configured transmit power value for the wireless device for each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point,
wherein the separate configured transmit power values are determined based on a priority of each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point,
wherein a sum of all the separate configured transmit power values for the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point does not exceed a maximum allowed transmit power for the wireless device; and
- applying power control to transmissions on the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second access point based on the configured transmit power value corresponding to each of the first link and the second link.
69. (Previously Presented) The method according to claim 68, further comprising: - determining that contemporaneous transmission will be performed based on having received more than one uplink grant with respect to a subframe k, and - applying power control to transmissions on each contemporaneous link in subframe k based on the configured transmit power value corresponding to the respective contemporaneous link.
11. A method performed in a wireless device configured to support two or more contemporaneous links with two or more corresponding wireless access points, the method comprising:
receiving a separate configured transmit power value for the wireless device for each contemporaneous link with the two or more corresponding wireless access points;
receiving a plurality of uplink grants with respect to a subframe k;
determining that contemporaneous transmission on the two or more contemporaneous links with the two or more corresponding wireless access points will be performed based on having received the plurality of uplink grants with respect to the subframe k; and
applying power control to transmissions on each contemporaneous link in subframe k based on the configured transmit power value corresponding to the respective link, and wherein a sum of all of the separate configured transmit power values for the two or more contemporaneous links with the two or more corresponding wireless access points does not exceed a maximum allowed transmit power (P.sub.TOTALMAX) for the wireless device minus a threshold value (P.sub.thresh) as determined by:
P.sub.1+P.sub.2+. . . +P.sub.i<(P.sub.TOTALMAX)−(P.sub.thresh)
wherein P.sub.thresh is related to a tolerance value for the maximum allowed transmit power for the wireless device.
70. (Currently Amended) A wireless device configured to contemporaneously support at least a first link with a first wireless access point and a second link with a second wireless access point, the wireless device comprising:
a memory comprising instructions; and
a processor operable to execute the instructions to cause the processor to:
- receive a separate configured transmit power value for the wireless device for each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point to be contemporaneously supported,
wherein the separate configured transmit power values are determined based on a priority of each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point,
wherein a sum of all the separate configured transmit power values for the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point does not exceed a maximum allowed transmit power for the wireless device; and - apply power control to transmissions on the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second access point based on the configured transmit power value corresponding to each of the first link and the second link.
71. (Previously Presented) The wireless device according to claim 70, wherein the execution of the instructions further causes the wireless device to: determine that contemporaneous transmission will be performed based on having received more than one uplink grant with respect to a subframe k, and applying power control to transmissions on each contemporaneous link in subframe k based on the configured transmit power value corresponding to the respective contemporaneous link.
13. A wireless device configured to support two or more contemporaneous links with two or more corresponding wireless access points, the wireless device comprising:
a memory comprising instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to cause the processor to:
receive a separate configured transmit power value for each contemporaneous link with the two or more corresponding wireless access points;
receive a plurality of uplink grants with respect to a subframe k; determining that contemporaneous transmission on the two or more contemporaneous links with the two or more corresponding wireless access points will be performed based on having received the plurality of uplink grants with respect to the subframe k; and
apply power control to transmissions on each contemporaneous link in subframe k based on the configured transmit power value corresponding to the respective link, and
wherein a sum of all of the separate configured transmit power values for the two or more contemporaneous links with the two or more corresponding wireless access points does not exceed a maximum allowed transmit power (P.sub.TOTALMAX) for the wireless device minus a threshold value (P.sub.thresh) as determined by:
P.sub.1+P.sub.2+. . . +P.sub.i<(P.sub.TOTALMAX)−(P.sub.thresh)
wherein P.sub.thresh is related to a tolerance value for the maximum allowed transmit power for the wireless device.
72. (Currently Amended) A network node configured for enabling transmit power control of a wireless device that is configured to contemporaneously support at least a first link with a first wireless access point and a second link with a second wireless access point, the network node comprising: a memory comprising instructions; and a processor operable to execute the instructions to cause the processor to:
determine a priority of each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point to be contemporaneously supported; and
determine, based on the priority of each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point, a separate configured transmit power value for the wireless device,
wherein a sum of all the separate configured transmit power values for the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point does not exceed a maximum allowed transmit power for the wireless device; and
transmit at least one of the obtained configured transmit power values to another network node.
74. (Previously Presented) The method according to claim 67, wherein the threshold value is related to a tolerance value for the maximum allowed transmit power for the wireless device.
15. A network node configured for enabling transmit power control of a wireless device that is configured to support two or more contemporaneous links with two or more corresponding wireless access points, the network node comprising: a memory comprising instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to cause the processor to:
obtain a separate configured transmit power value (P.sub.1, P.sub.2, . . . P.sub.i) for the wireless device per contemporaneous link with the two or more corresponding wireless access points; and
transmit at least one of the obtained configured transmit power values to another network node, and wherein a sum of all of the separate configured transmit power values for the two or more contemporaneous links with the two or more corresponding wireless access points does not exceed a maximum allowed transmit power (P.sub.TOTALMAX) for the wireless device minus a threshold value (P.sub.thresh) as determined by:
P.sub.1+P.sub.2+. . . +P.sub.i<(P.sub.TOTALMAX)−(P.sub.thresh) wherein P.sub.thresh is related to a tolerance value for the maximum allowed transmit power for the wireless device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 65, 68-69,70-71, 72, 75-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STERN-BERKOWITZ et al. (US 20130176953 A1; hereinafter as “STERN-BERKOWITZ”, provided in IDS) in view of Blankenship et al. (US 20150036566 A1; hereinafter as “Blankenship”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to STERN-BERKOWITZ unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 65, STERN-BERKOWITZ teaches, a method performed in a network node (see fig. 8-9: eNB1 with first scheduler : [abstract]; eNB1 with first scheduler in fig. 8-9; or MME which server as control Node for eNBs and WTRU), for enabling transmit power control of a wireless device (fig. 8-9, element 802/element 902, WTRU) that is configured to contemporaneously support at least a first link with a first wireless access point and a second link with a second wireless access point (see fig. 8-9, aforesaid WTRU is in commucnation with multiple wireless access points including eNB1 (==a first wireless access point) and eNB2 (==a second wireless access point) : “FIG. 8-9 illustrates a WTRU connects with multiple eNBs, ie. eNB1 and eNB2 ; FIG. 9 illustrates a WTRU transmitting data and UCI to multiple eNBs;”: [0022]-[0023]; configured maximum transmit power value: [0085]); transmit power management of WTRU : [0117]-[0119], the method comprising:
NOTE: crossed/missed limitation as shown above will be addressed by another reference below); and
determining, , a separate configured transmit power value for the wireless device (aforesaid WTRU in Fig. 8-9 element 802 or 902) for each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point (determining, by a first scheduler (aforesaid eNB1 in Fig. 8-9), a first maximum power (==configured transmit power for first link with the first wireless access point in claim) value for a first set of cells configured for a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU); and determining, by the first scheduler, a second maximum power (==configured transmit power for the second link with the second wireless access point ) value for a second set of cells configured for the WTRU: [claim 6 and claim 8]; see Fig. 8-9 connections between aforesaid WTRU 802/902 to eNB1 and well as eNB2; The MeNB (aforesaid eNB1 in Fig. 8-9) may determine one or more of the maximum allowed transmit power per-CC, per-band, per eNB, per scheduler, or per set of configured cells. Any of these determinations may be applicable per WTRU…... For example, the MeNB (aforesaid eNB1 in Fig. 8-9) may do one or more of the following: [0262] The MeNB (aforesaid eNB1 in Fig. 8-9) may determine the maximum power a WTRU is permitted to transmit in each UL CC or cell or set of configured UL CCs or cells that may belong to different eNBs: [0261]; “In some embodiments, systems and methods may be used to control power for a channel that may be or that may be intended to be received by multiple eNBs (==the first wireless access point and the second wireless access point) or cells.”: [0111]; configured maximum transmit power value: [0085]; “A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) may establish communication with a first set of cells and a second set of cells. The first set of cells may be associated with a first scheduler and the second set of cells may be associated with a second scheduler. The maximum allowed transmit power for the WTRU may be determined for and/or distributed across the first set of cells and the second set of cells.”: [0005]; “Wireless communication systems are widely deployed to provide various types of communication content such as voice, data, and so on. These systems may be multiple-access systems capable of supporting communication with multiple users by sharing the available system resources (e.g., bandwidth and transmit power). Examples of such multiple-access systems include code division-multiple access (CDMA) systems, time division multiple access (TDMA) systems, frequency division multiple access (FDMA) systems, 3GPP Long Term Evolution (LTE) systems, and orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) systems. ”: [0002]; NOTE: crossed/missed limitation as shown above will be addressed by another reference below); and
transmitting at least one of the determined configured transmit power values to another network node (fig. 8-9; eNB2) (aforesaid eNB1 is transmitting maximum power value to eNB2 in Fig. 8-9; one eNB (aforesaid eNB1 in Fig. 8-9) may be responsible for managing the power distribution for the WTRU among those eNBs (aforesaid eNB1 and eNB2 in Fig. 8-9). This managing eNB (e.g., MeNB), may, for example, be the eNB of, or that provides, the WTRU's PCell. Alternatively, the MeNB may be a designated eNB that manages the power distribution and/or scheduling among a set of eNBs: [0260]; also [0110]-[0116]; “In some embodiments, an eNB or scheduler may manage the maximum allowed transmit power and power distribution for one or more cells. ”: [0115]; configured maximum transmit power value: [0085])).
While STERN-BERKOWITZ teaches “determining, a separate configured transmit power value for the wireless device ”,
STERN-BERKOWITZ does not expressively teach:
determining a priority of each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point to be contemporaneously supported;
determining, based on the priority of each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point, a separate configured transmit power value for the wireless device for each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point;
wherein a sum of all the separate configured transmit power values for at least the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point does not exceed a maximum allowed transmit power for the wireless device.
Blankenship, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
determining a priority of each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point to be contemporaneously supported (UE is capable of capable of concurrently connecting to both macro Cell 102 and small cell 112 as shown in Fig. 1 : [0015]; Scheduler of wireless access network node schedules signals transmitted by the UE to the multiples access network nodes, ie. first wireless access point and second wireless access point : [0027]; “UE has concurrent wireless connections with multiple wireless access network nodes (==ie. the first wireless access point and the second wireless access point), prioritization rules can be specified for uplink transmit power sharing control so that each eNB is able to determine what to expect from the UE on an uplink. Various prioritization rules are described further below. A prioritization rule can be pre-configured in the UE. Alternatively, a prioritization rule can be signaled by an eNB to the UE”: [0029]; “ the information relating to the uplink transmit power sharing control can be at least one prioritization rule used by the UE for adjusting one or more uplink transmissions when a power threshold is exceeded”: [0030]; “ The prioritization rule specifying priorities of the uplink transmissions can specify priorities of uplink transmissions over wireless connections provided over different component carriers as well as with multiple wireless access network nodes.”: [0037]);
determining, based on the priority of each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point, a separate configured transmit power value for the wireless device for each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point ( “ UE detects (at 202) that an aggregate of calculated uplink transmit power (or total calculated uplink transmit power) of concurrent uplink transmissions of the UE over wireless connections (that involve multiple wireless access network nodes) exceeds a threshold. A UE is able to calculate uplink transmit power for each of the concurrent uplink transmissions. Concurrent uplink transmissions refer to uplink transmissions of the UE where at least some portion of the uplink transmissions overlap one another in time (in other words, the uplink transmissions can overlap partially or fully). Each of at least two of the wireless access network nodes includes a corresponding separate scheduler (e.g. MAC scheduler) for individually scheduling uplink transmissions of the UE.”: [0029]-[0031]; NOTE: determin uplink transmit power for first wireless access point and determin uplink transmit power for the second wireless access point separately ; [0037]);
wherein a sum of all the separate configured transmit power values for at least the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point does not exceed a maximum allowed transmit power for the wireless device ( “ techniques or mechanisms are provided to allow for control of the power of uplink transmissions from a UE such that the total power of the uplink transmissions of the UE no longer exceeds the total uplink transmit power threshold.”: [0025]; “ uplink transmit power of a UE is shared between all concurrent uplink transmissions. Some dual-connection examples (where the UE is concurrently connected to eNB1 and eNB2) are provided”: [0046]; “In accordance with some implementations, techniques or mechanisms are provided to allow for control of the power of uplink transmissions from a UE such that the total power of the uplink transmissions of the UE no longer exceeds the total uplink transmit power threshold. Such control can be referred to as uplink transmit power sharing control.”{0025]; NOTE: total transmit power of UE does not exceed the maximum allocated transmit power of the UE; [0059]; [0079]-[0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of STERN-BERKOWITZ to include the above recited limitations as taught by BLANKENSHIP. The suggestion/motivation would be to ensure that higher priority uplink transmissions can be successfully received by the network. (BLANKENSHIP: [0077]).
Regarding claim 68, STERN-BERKOWITZ teaches, a method performed in a wireless device (==WTRU 102 in Fig. 1B, Fig. 2A) configured to contemporaneously support at least a first link with a first wireless access point and a second link with a second wireless access point (see Fig. 2B; WTRU 102 is connected two different wireless access points/eNB/Base stations: [0075]; aforesaid WTRU is connected to two different eNBs: [0016]-[0017]; (see fig. 8-9, aforesaid WTRU is in commucnation with multiple wireless access points including eNB1 (==a first wireless access point) and eNB2 (==a second wireless access point) : “FIG. 8-9 illustrates a WTRU connects with multiple eNBs, ie. eNB1 and eNB2 ; FIG. 9 illustrates a WTRU transmitting data and UCI to multiple eNBs;”: [0022]-[0023]; configured maximum transmit power value: [0085]); transmit power management of WTRU : [0117]-[0119]) , the method comprising:
- receiving a separate configured transmit power value for the wireless device for each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point (aforesaid WTRU configured maximum output power, Pcmax, c, which may be the value for the CC or for the specific channel of the CC, and cap, e.g., limit, the power to the maximum: [0299]-0303])); and
wherein the separate configured transmit power values are determined (determining, by a first scheduler (aforesaid eNB1 in Fig. 8-9), a first maximum power (==configured transmit power for first link with the first wireless access point in claim) value for a first set of cells configured for a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU); and determining, by the first scheduler, a second maximum power (==configured transmit power for the second link with the second wireless access point ) value for a second set of cells configured for the WTRU: [claim 6 and claim 8]; see Fig. 8-9 connections between aforesaid WTRU 802/902 to eNB1 and well as eNB2; The MeNB (aforesaid eNB1 in Fig. 8-9) may determine one or more of the maximum allowed transmit power per-CC, per-band, per eNB, per scheduler, or per set of configured cells. Any of these determinations may be applicable per WTRU…... For example, the MeNB (aforesaid eNB1 in Fig. 8-9) may do one or more of the following: [0262] The MeNB (aforesaid eNB1 in Fig. 8-9) may determine the maximum power a WTRU is permitted to transmit in each UL CC or cell or set of configured UL CCs or cells that may belong to different eNBs: [0261]; “In some embodiments, systems and methods may be used to control power for a channel that may be or that may be intended to be received by multiple eNBs (==the first wireless access point and the second wireless access point) or cells.”: [0111]; configured maximum transmit power value: [0085]; “A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) may establish communication with a first set of cells and a second set of cells. The first set of cells may be associated with a first scheduler and the second set of cells may be associated with a second scheduler. The maximum allowed transmit power for the WTRU may be determined for and/or distributed across the first set of cells and the second set of cells.”: [0005]; “Wireless communication systems are widely deployed to provide various types of communication content such as voice, data, and so on. These systems may be multiple-access systems capable of supporting communication with multiple users by sharing the available system resources (e.g., bandwidth and transmit power). Examples of such multiple-access systems include code division-multiple access (CDMA) systems, time division multiple access (TDMA) systems, frequency division multiple access (FDMA) systems, 3GPP Long Term Evolution (LTE) systems, and orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) systems. ”: [0002]; NOTE: crossed/missed limitation as shown above will be addressed by another reference below);
- applying power control to transmissions on the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second access point based on the configured transmit power value corresponding to each of the first link and the second link (“Uplink transmitter power control in a mobile communication system balances the need for sufficient energy transmitted per bit to achieve a desired quality-of-service (e.g., data rate and error rate), against the need to minimize interference to other users of the system and to maximize the battery life of the mobile terminal. To accomplish this goal, uplink power control has to adapt to the characteristics of the radio propagation channel, including path loss, shadowing, fast fading and interference from other users in the same cell and adjacent cells ”: [0004]; “In some embodiments, the WTRU may determine a PUCCH power control adjustment state g(i), also known as a transmit power control (TPC) factor. [0167] When the WTRU may transmit PUCCH on one set of resources that may be intended for or received by multiple eNBs ”: [0166]-[0167]; aforesaid WTRU adjusts power as instructed by corresponding eNB: [0170]-[0171]).
STERN-BERKOWITZ does not expressively teach:
wherein the separate configured transmit power values are determined based on a priority of each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point
wherein a sum of all the separate configured transmit power values for the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point does not exceed a maximum allowed transmit power for the wireless device.
BLANKENSHIP, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the separate configured transmit power values are determined based on a priority of each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point (UE is capable of capable of concurrently connecting to both macro Cell 102 and small cell 112 as shown in Fig. 1 : [0015]; Scheduler of wireless access network node schedules signals transmitted by the UE to the multiples access network nodes, ie. first wireless access point and second wireless access point : [0027]; “UE has concurrent wireless connections with multiple wireless access network nodes (==ie. the first wireless access point and the second wireless access point), prioritization rules can be specified for uplink transmit power sharing control so that each eNB is able to determine what to expect from the UE on an uplink. Various prioritization rules are described further below. A prioritization rule can be pre-configured in the UE. Alternatively, a prioritization rule can be signaled by an eNB to the UE”: [0029]; “ the information relating to the uplink transmit power sharing control can be at least one prioritization rule used by the UE for adjusting one or more uplink transmissions when a power threshold is exceeded”: [0030]; “ The prioritization rule specifying priorities of the uplink transmissions can specify priorities of uplink transmissions over wireless connections provided over different component carriers as well as with multiple wireless access network nodes.”: [0037]); “ UE detects (at 202) that an aggregate of calculated uplink transmit power (or total calculated uplink transmit power) of concurrent uplink transmissions of the UE over wireless connections (that involve multiple wireless access network nodes) exceeds a threshold. A UE is able to calculate uplink transmit power for each of the concurrent uplink transmissions. Concurrent uplink transmissions refer to uplink transmissions of the UE where at least some portion of the uplink transmissions overlap one another in time (in other words, the uplink transmissions can overlap partially or fully). Each of at least two of the wireless access network nodes includes a corresponding separate scheduler (e.g. MAC scheduler) for individually scheduling uplink transmissions of the UE.”: [0029]-[0031]; NOTE: determin uplink transmit power for first wireless access point and determin uplink transmit power for the second wireless access point separately ; [0037]);
wherein a sum of all the separate configured transmit power values for the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point does not exceed a maximum allowed transmit power for the wireless device ( “ techniques or mechanisms are provided to allow for control of the power of uplink transmissions from a UE such that the total power of the uplink transmissions of the UE no longer exceeds the total uplink transmit power threshold.”: [0025]; “ uplink transmit power of a UE is shared between all concurrent uplink transmissions. Some dual-connection examples (where the UE is concurrently connected to eNB1 and eNB2) are provided”: [0046]; “In accordance with some implementations, techniques or mechanisms are provided to allow for control of the power of uplink transmissions from a UE such that the total power of the uplink transmissions of the UE no longer exceeds the total uplink transmit power threshold. Such control can be referred to as uplink transmit power sharing control.”{0025]; NOTE: total transmit power of UE does not exceed the maximum allocated transmit power of the UE; [0059]; [0079]-[0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of STERN-BERKOWITZ to include the above recited limitations as taught by BLANKENSHIP. The suggestion/motivation would be to ensure that higher priority uplink transmissions can be successfully received by the network. (BLANKENSHIP: [0077]).
Regarding claim 69, the combination of STERN-BERKOWITZ and BLANKENSHIP , specifically, STERN-BERKOWITZ teaches, the method according to claim 68, further comprising:
- determining that contemporaneous transmission will be performed based on having received more than one uplink grant with respect to a subframe k (“The eNB may also provide UL grants to WTRUs for resources of one or more UL cells with the intent of maximizing one or more of coverage, capacity, and throughput while not causing a WTRU to exceed its output power limits which may be its configured maximum output power for each cell and for the WTRU as a whole. These configured maximum output powers may take into account WTRU Powerclass, Pemax,c, and allowed power reductions to enable the WTRU to meet various requirements”: [0117]; aforesaid “WTRU may receive a TPC command from an eNB x, e.g., subframe k, ”: [0200]-[0201]’ aforesaid WTRU determines transmission power based on received subframe k: [0209]-[0210]), and
- applying power control to transmissions on each contemporaneous link in subframe k based on the configured transmit power value corresponding to the respective contemporaneous link (“The processor 118 may perform signal coding, data processing, power control, input/output processing, and/or any other functionality that enables the WTRU 102 to operate in a wireless environment. ”: [0041]; “In some embodiments, systems and methods may be used to control power for a channel that may be received or that may be intended to be received by multiple eNBs or cells. For example, power can be controlled for PUCCH or PUSCH that may be received or that may be intended to be received by multiple eNBs or cells. ”: [0129]; “n some embodiments, the WTRU may set the Pcmax,c for the PUCCH to the lowest value among Pcmax,c for the CC on which it is transmitting and the maximum allowed transmit powers of the other eNBs or cells for which the WTRU transmission may be intended or which may receive the PUCCH transmission”: [0137]).
Regarding claim 70, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 68.
Regarding claim 71, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 69.
Regarding claim 72, STERN-BERKOWITZ teaches A network node configured for enabling transmit power control of a wireless device that is configured to contemporaneously support at least a first link with a first wireless access point and a second link with a second wireless access point, the network node comprising: a memory comprising instructions; and a processor operable to execute the instructions to cause the processor to:
determine a priority of each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point to be contemporaneously supported; and
determine, based on the priority of each of the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point, a separate configured transmit power value for the wireless device,
wherein a sum of all the separate configured transmit power values for the first link with the first wireless access point and the second link with the second wireless access point does not exceed a maximum allowed transmit power for the wireless device; and
transmit at least one of the obtained configured transmit power values to another network node ( Rest of the claim 72, is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 65)
Regarding claim 75, STERN-BERKOWITZ in view of BLANKENSHIP, specifically, BLANKENSHIP teaches The method according to claim 68, comprising:
transmitting a power headroom report to a network node (UE sends report to network node/eNB: [0016]; ) and
wherein the separate configured transmit power values are determined based on one or more of: the power headroom report, a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of the wireless device, a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of the wireless device, a buffer status of the wireless device, and a priority of a corresponding contemporaneous link (“ e power scaling (at 604) can be according to a prioritization rule specifying that a first RE associated with acknowledgement information contained in an uplink traffic channel transmission has a higher priority than a second RE associated with traffic data contained in the same uplink traffic channel transmission.”: [00088]; “ n accordance with some implementations, in an arrangement in which the UE has concurrent wireless connections with multiple eNBs, the RRC signaling can also be used to notify a UE which carrier (of a specific eNB) is to be used for reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement and pathloss calculation. The UE uses the RSRP measurement and pathloss calculation to calculate the UE's uplink transmit power. In cases where a UE sends uplink transmissions to multiple eNBs, the following options may be used for RRC signaling to the UE the carrier to be used for RSRP measurement and pathloss calculation.
[0132] An RSRP measurement measures the average received power over resource elements that carry cell-specific reference signals. Pathloss calculation refers to calculating a signal loss due to propagation of the signal over the downlink from the eNB to the UE.
[0133] In a first option (Option 1), there is no coordination among two or more eNBs to which the UE is concurrently connected. In some implementations, the eNBs (e.g. macro eNB and small cell eNB) can each perform its own RRC signaling formulation independently, and transmit corresponding power control RRC messages (identifying the carrier(s) to be used for RSRP measurement and pathloss calculation) to the UE independently. In such implementations, the UE receives power control messages from multiple eNBs, and the UE can perform power control for each of the eNBs based on the respective received uplink power sharing control messages.”: [0131]-[0133]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of STERN-BERKOWITZ to include the above recited limitations as taught by BLANKENSHIP. The suggestion/motivation would be to ensure that higher priority uplink transmissions can be successfully received by the network. (BLANKENSHIP: [0077]).
Regarding claim 76, STERN-BERKOWITZ in view of BLANKENSHIP, specifically, BLANKENSHIP teaches The method according to claim 68, wherein the separate configured transmit power values are determined such that the sum of all the separate configured transmit power values does not exceed the maximum allowed transmit power for the wireless device minus a threshold value ( “ techniques or mechanisms are provided to allow for control of the power of uplink transmissions from a UE such that the total power of the uplink transmissions of the UE no longer exceeds the total uplink transmit power threshold.”: [0025]; “ uplink transmit power of a UE is shared between all concurrent uplink transmissions. Some dual-connection examples (where the UE is concurrently connected to eNB1 and eNB2) are provided”: [0046]; “In accordance with some implementations, techniques or mechanisms are provided to allow for control of the power of uplink transmissions from a UE such that the total power of the uplink transmissions of the UE no longer exceeds the total uplink transmit power threshold. Such control can be referred to as uplink transmit power sharing control.”{0025]; NOTE: total transmit power of UE does not exceed the maximum allocated transmit power of the UE; [0059]; [0079]-[0080]); “ 0024] A total uplink transmit power threshold can be specified for uplink transmissions of a UE to the network. In implementations where a UE has concurrent wireless connections with multiple wireless access network nodes (e.g. multiple concurrent connections with the macro wireless access network node 104 and one or more small cell wireless access network nodes 108), it may be possible for the uplink transmissions over the multiple wireless connections to cause power to exceed the total uplink transmit power threshold.
[0025] In accordance with some implementations, techniques or mechanisms are provided to allow for control of the power of uplink transmissions from a UE such that the total power of the uplink transmissions of the UE no longer exceeds the total uplink transmit power threshold. Such control can be referred to as uplink transmit power sharing control. ”: [0024]-[0025]; [0033]-[0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of STERN-BERKOWITZ to include the above recited limitations as taught by BLANKENSHIP. The suggestion/motivation would be to ensure that higher priority uplink transmissions can be successfully received by the network. (BLANKENSHIP: [0077]).
Claims 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STERN-BERKOWITZ in view of BLANKENSHIP in view of LEE et al. (US 20160128004 A1; hereinafter as “LEE”).
Regarding claim 67, STERN-BERKOWITZ in view of BLANKENSHIP teaches claim 65 as above. STERN-BERKOWITZ in view of BLANKENSHIP teaches do not explicitly disclose: the method according to claim 65, wherein the separate maximum transmit power values are determined such that the sum of all the separate maximum transmit power values does not exceed the maximum allowed transmit power for the wireless device minus a threshold value.
LEE, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
the method according to claim 65, wherein the separate maximum transmit power values are determined such that the sum of all the separate maximum transmit power values does not exceed the maximum allowed transmit power for the wireless device minus a threshold value ( an interworking entity (hereinafter, referred to as an IWE) can aid UE in selecting a optimal RAT/AP: : [0104]-[0109]; aforesaid IWE determines “ a threshold of power for simultaneous transmission to the first RAT and the second RAT, for example, maximum transmit power Pmax, using the acquired power capability information of the UE, in the multi-RAT capability negotiation process”: [0138]; Pmax is determined sum or the power minus threshold value: [0138]-[0139] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the technique of LEE to the system of STERN-BERKOWITZ in view of BLANKENSHIP teaches in order to effectively reduces the operation and maintenance costs of the operator (LEE, [0003]).
Claims 74, 77 are rejecte