DETAILED ACTION
Amendment to the claims was submitted on 02/06/2026, new claims 16-21 are added.
Claim Status
Claims 1-10 and 14-21 are under consideration
Claims 11-13 are canceled
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 discloses “and A11- and A12- meet any one of the following requirements 1 to 4”, however there are 5 listed requirements, as requirement 5 has been added in the latest amendment. It is unclear if requirement 5 is a further requirement in addition to one of requirements 1-4 Further, if required, requirement 5 does not appear to be satisfiable if one of requirements 1-4 are satisfied.
For the sake of examination, the examiner will interpret this to mean “and A11- and A12- meet any one of the following requirements 1 to 5”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yamaguchi (US20150331314A1, published 2015).
Regarding claims 1-10 and 15-21,
Yamaguchi teaches an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition comprising of a resin having a group capable of decomposing by an action of an acid (acid decomposable resin) as well as compounds (C1) and (C2) [claim 1].
Yamaguchi further teaches example composition comprising of a resin, a compound B, and a compound C [0822, table 6].
Yamaguchi also teaches the following example of compound (C1) [0432],
Where the right anion represents a moiety capable of forming the following acidic functional group (Ca-6) [0293], where R11 may be a cycloalkyl group [0294], which may preferably be an adamantyl group [0296].
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that using adamantyl as the R11 group of the above example compound (C1) in place of CF3 would result in an expected and comparable compound.
The resulting compound aligns with instant compound (I) and instant formula (Ia), as well as satisfying requirement 4, where A11- and A12- are each independently represented by general formulae (B-1) and (B-8), where each RX1 is an unsubstituted alkyl group. Further, the anionic moieties match those of instant compound B-9, with pKa values of -4.41 and 0.37 per table 2 of the instant specification. As the anionic moieties are the same as those of the instant compound B-6, the pKa values would be expected to be similar or identical, reading on instant claims 2-3 and 16-21.
Given that Yamaguchi discloses the compound that encompasses the presently claimed compound (I) with formula (Ia), including the instantly claimed anionic moieties, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the compound (C1), which is both disclosed by Yamaguchi and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Yamaguchi teaches their compound B is an acid generator which may be an ionic compound composed of an anion and a cation, where the anion may be a camphorsulfonate anion [0475-0478].
Substituting the above cation with H+ results in the following structure with a predicted pKa of 1.2 (as evidenced by scifinder as seen below, CAS number 5872-08-2), aligning with instant general formula (1), reading on instant claims 1, 4-7, and 15.
Alternatively, given that Yamaguchi discloses a compound B that encompasses the presently claimed compound with formula (1), including a camphorsulfonate anion with an acid dissociation constant of 0 to 4, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use compound B including a camphorsulfonate anion, which is both disclosed by Yamaguchi and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention, reading on instant claims 1, 4-7, and 15.
Yamaguchi teaches a pattern forming method comprising forming a resist film on a substrate, exposing the film, and developing a developer [0725-0732], reading on instant claims 8-9.
Yamaguchi also teaches their invention for use in manufacturing electronic devices [0845], reading on instant claim 10.
Regarding claim 14,
Yamaguchi teaches their cation for their compound C may be a cation with formula (ZI), where each of R201, R202 and R203 independently represents an organic group [0322-0323], and may be represented by formula (ZI-4) [0332], where l is 0-2, r may be 0, each R15 independently represents an alkyl group, a cycloalkyl group or a naphthyl group (organic groups), and R13 may be an alkyl group with a substituent [0362-0368], where the substituent may preferably be a halogen atom (particularly a fluorine atom) [0375, 0378], reading on the instant formula (Za1), reading on instant claim 14.
Given that Yamaguchi discloses the cation that encompasses the presently claimed cation, including an aryl group substituted with a halogen substituted alkyl group (alkyl halide), it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the cation ion including an aryl group substituted with a halogen substituted alkyl group (alkyl halide), which is both disclosed by Yamaguchi and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the new claim amendments filed 02/06/2026 with respect to the rejections over Yamaguchi have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The above rejections have been updated accordingly.
Conclusion
/A.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/JONATHAN JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1734