Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 13-14 of the Remarks, the Applicants argue that You does not disclose, teach or suggest "based on subscription information associated with the wireless device, generating a second message comprising an authentication response message, the second message including an Authentication and Key Management for Applications, AKMA, key indicator, wherein the AKMA key indicator comprises a AKMA key material generation flag to trigger the wireless device to generate AKMA key material," as recited in amended Claim 1.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that You discloses a system and/or a method for key generation for encrypted communication between a terminal device and a service application in a communication network. You discloses that a Universal Data Management (UDM) forms a permanent storage or database for user contract and subscription data and includes an authentication credential repository and processing function (ARPF) for storage of long-term security credentials for user authentication, and for using such long-term security credentials as input to perform computation of encryption keys (page 7, paragraph “Continuing with FIG. 3, the UDM…”). You further discloses that a (AUSF) receives a user authentication request, and communicates to the UDM to authenticate and obtain a return message comprising (1) user contract/subscription information which indicates whether the terminal device subscribes to the AKMA service or not and/or (2) authentication vector which indicates the user is authenticated or not. The user contract/subscription information and the successful authentication vector indicates to the terminal device and the AUSF that the terminal device is subscribed to the AKMA service and allows or triggers the terminal device and the AUSF to a key KAUSF which is a based bey to trigger generating an anchor key KAKMA and an identifier for the anchor key KAKMA (page 12, line 8-page 13, lines 4, page 17, line 25-page 18, line 14, page 19, lines 3-17), thus, You at least discloses the claimed “based on subscription information associated with the wireless device, generating a second message comprising an authentication response message, the second message including an Authentication and Key Management for Applications, AKMA, key indicator” wherein the user contract/subscription information and/or the successful authentication vector corresponds to the claimed “an Authentication and Key Management for Applications, AKMA, key indicator”. You further discloses that the authentication vector from the UDM includes an authentication token (AUTN), a random number (RAND), and/or various authentication keys, and the AKMA service subscription information include identifiers for one or more AAnFs and/or validity time period of the AKMA anchor key, wherein the terminal device and the AUSF generate the anchor key KAKMA and or the identifier of the anchor key not only using the KAUSF but also the RAND and identifier of the AAnF included in user contract/subscription information and authentication vector returned from the UDM (page 19, line 18-page 20, line 21). Thus at least the RAND, identifier of the AAnF and/or the validity time period of the AKMA are interpreted as the AKMA key material generation flag to trigger the terminal and the AUSF to generate the anchor key KAKMA for a particular AAnF and/or for a particular time. As such, You clearly discloses the claimed “based on subscription information associated with the wireless device, generating a second message comprising an authentication response message, the second message including an Authentication and Key Management for Applications, AKMA, key indicator, wherein the AKMA key indicator comprises a AKMA key material generation flag.” Therefore, the Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 9-11, 22, and 30-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,051,161. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in the claims 1, 9-11, 22, and 30-32 are anticipated by the limitations recited in the claims 1-9 of the U.S. Patent No. 11,051,161.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12-14, 17-19, 21-24, 26, 28-31, 33-35, 38-40 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by You et al. (WO 2021/093164 A1 hereinafter You).
Regarding claim 1, You discloses a method performed by a network node operating as a Unified Data Management, UDM, node, the method comprising:
receiving a first message associated with an authentication request message of a wireless device (FIG. 3-5, p. 9, lines 1-5 “…the UE 310 may first communicate with AMF/SEAF 330 for network registration and may then be authenticated by the AUSF 360 according to user contract and subscription data in the UDM/ARPF 370”, p. 12, lines 12-28 “…The user authentication procedure 402…Upon successful authentication, an authentication vector may be generated by the UDM/ARPF 370 and such authentication vector may be transmitted to the AUSF 360”, p. 18, last lines “…the AUSF 360 initiates a user authentication request message…to the UDM/ARFP 370”; i.e. the UDM/ARPF receives a UE authentication request from the AUSF);
based on subscription information associated with the wireless device, generating a second message comprising an authentication response message, the second message including an Authentication and Key Management for Applications, AKMA, key indicator, wherein the AKMA key indicator comprises a AKMA key material generation flag to trigger the wireless device to generate AKMA key material (FIG. 3-5 & 8, p. 9, lines 1-5 “…the UE 310 may first communicate with AMF/SEAF 330 for network registration and may then be authenticated by the AUSF 360 according to user contract and subscription data in the UDM/ARPF 370”, p. 12, lines 12-28 “…The user authentication procedure 402…Upon successful authentication, an authentication vector may be generated by the UDM/ARPF 370 and such authentication vector may be transmitted to the AUSF 360. Following successful user authentication procedure 402, a base key may be generated at both the UE 310 side and the AUSF 360…an anchor key may be derived based on the base key KAUSF…Such an anchor key, may be referred to as KAKMA”, p. 19, line 3-p. 20, line 9 “The authentication vector generated by the UDM/ARPF 370 and included in the return message may include, for example, an authentication token (AUTN), a random number (RAND)…The AKM service subscription information for the UE may include, for example, identifiers for one or more AAnFs…Specifically, in Step 806, after the UE main authentication logic flow 850 is successful, the UE 310 and the AUSF 360 may generate the AKMA anchor key KAKMA = KDF (KAUSF, AKMA Type, RAND, SUPI, AAnF identifier)…”; i.e. the UDM/ARPF authenticates the UE based on the subscription data and generates a return message to send to the AUSF, wherein the return message includes the subscription information and the successful authentication vector that indicates to the UE and the AUSF to generate the keys KAUSF, KAKMA, identifier of the KAKMA, at least using the AKMA key material information or flag such as the AAnF identifier in the subscription information and the RAND in the authentication vector); and
transmitting the second message comprising the authentication response message to trigger the wireless device to generate the AKMA key material (FIG. 3-5 & 8, p. 12, lines 12-28, p. 18, lines 11-14 “…Upon successful UE registration and authentication…the UE 310 may also derive the AKMA anchor key based on the AKMA service subscription information…”; i.e. the UDM/ARPF sends the authentication success to the AUSF to enable the UE and the AUSF generating the base key and/or the anchor key).
Regarding claim 2, You discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the first message initiates an authentication procedure of a wireless device with a network (FIG. 3-5, p. 9, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 3, You discloses the method of Claim 2, wherein the authentication procedure comprises a primary authentication procedure of the wireless device (FIG. 3-5, p. 9, lines 1-5, p. 19, lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 5, You discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the AKMA key material comprises an Authentication and Key Management for Applications anchor key, KAKMA (FIG. 4-5, p. 12, lines 12-28, p. 18, lines 11-14).
Regarding claim 7, You discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein: the first message is received from a second network node operating as an Authentication Server Function, AUSF, and the second message is sent to the second network node operating as the AUSF (FIG. 3-5, p. 9, lines 1-5, p. 12, lines 12-28).
Regarding claim 8, You discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: prior to receiving the first message from the wireless device, receiving a third message from a Network Function (NF), the third message comprising the subscription information associated with the wireless device (FIG. 7, p. 9-12; i.e. the UDM receives subscription information from AF, AMF/SEAF, etc.).
Regarding claim 9, You discloses a method performed by a first network node operating as an Authentication Server Function, AUSF, the method comprising:
determining whether a first message received from a second network node includes an Authentication and Key Management for Applications, AKMA, key indicator, wherein the AKMA key indicator comprises a AKMA key material generation flag (FIG. 3-5 & 8, p. 19, line 3-p. 20, line 9 “The authentication vector generated by the UDM/ARPF 370 and included in the return message may include, for example, an authentication token (AUTN), a random number (RAND)…The AKM service subscription information for the UE may include, for example, identifiers for one or more AAnFs…the AUSF 360 verifies the authentication vector sent from the UDM/ARPF…Specifically, in Step 806, after the UE main authentication logic flow 850 is successful, the UE 310 and the AUSF 360 may generate the AKMA anchor key KAKMA = KDF (KAUSF, AKMA Type, RAND, SUPI, AAnF identifier)…”; i.e. the AUSF verifies the return message, wherein the return message includes the subscription information and the successful authentication vector that indicates to the UE and the AUSF to generate the keys KAUSF, KAKMA, identifier of the KAKMA, at least using the AKMA key material information or flag such as the AAnF identifier in the subscription information and the RAND in the authentication vector); and
based on whether the first message includes the AKMA indicator, determining whether to generate AKMA key material (FIG. 3-5 & 8, p. 19, lines 18-28, p. 20, lines 1-16; i.e. based on verifying the authentication vector including the AKMA information, generating the AKMA anchor key).
Regarding claim 10, You discloses the method of Claim 9, wherein: determining whether the first message comprises the AKMA key indicator comprises determining that the first message comprises the AKMA key indicator (FIG. 3-5 & 8, p. 19, lines 18-28; and the method further comprises generating the AKMA key material based on the AKMA key indicator in the first message (FIG. 3-5 & 8, p. 19, lines 18-28, p. 20, lines 1-16).
Regarding claim 12, You discloses the method of Claim 9, wherein the second network node comprises a Unified Data Management, UDM, node (FIG. 3-5 & 8, p. 19, lines 9-28).
Regarding claim 13, You discloses the method of Claim 9, further comprising transmitting a second message comprising the AKMA key indicator to a wireless device to trigger the wireless device to generate the AKMA key material (FIG. 3-5 & 8, p. 19, lines 18-28, p. 20, lines 1-16).
Regarding claim 14, You discloses the method of Claim 9, wherein the AKMA key material comprises an Authentication and Key Management for Applications Anchor Key, KAKMA (FIG. 3-5 & 8, p. 19, lines 18-28, p. 20, lines 1-16).
Regarding claim 17, You discloses a method performed by a wireless device, the method comprising:
in response to determining a need to initiate a communication session with an Application Function, AF, generating an Authentication and Key Management for Applications Anchor Key, KAKMA (FIG. 3-6, p. 13, lines 23-28, p. 14, lines 1-6; i.e. the UE determines to initiate a communication session with the AF and generating a communication request that includes the KID associated with the anchor key KAKMA);
transmitting, to the AF, a request to initiate the communication session (FIG. 3-6, p. 14, lines 1-4; i.e. the UE initiates a communication session with the AF by sending a communication request message); and
receiving an authentication response message comprising an Authentication and Key Management for Applications, AKMA, key indicator, wherein the AKMA key indicator comprises a AKMA key material generation flag to trigger the wireless device to generate AKMA key material (FIG. 3-5 & 8, p. 9, lines 1-5 “…the UE 310 may first communicate with AMF/SEAF 330 for network registration and may then be authenticated by the AUSF 360 according to user contract and subscription data in the UDM/ARPF 370”, p. 12, lines 12-28 “…The user authentication procedure 402…Upon successful authentication, an authentication vector may be generated by the UDM/ARPF 370 and such authentication vector may be transmitted to the AUSF 360. Following successful user authentication procedure 402, a base key may be generated at both the UE 310 side and the AUSF 360…an anchor key may be derived based on the base key KAUSF…Such an anchor key, may be referred to as KAKMA”, p. 19, line 3-p. 20, line 9 “The authentication vector generated by the UDM/ARPF 370 and included in the return message may include, for example, an authentication token (AUTN), a random number (RAND)…The AKM service subscription information for the UE may include, for example, identifiers for one or more AAnFs…Specifically, in Step 806, after the UE main authentication logic flow 850 is successful, the UE 310 and the AUSF 360 may generate the AKMA anchor key KAKMA = KDF (KAUSF, AKMA Type, RAND, SUPI, AAnF identifier)…”; i.e. the UE is authenticated based on the subscription data successfully and receives a return message, wherein the return message includes the subscription information and the successful authentication vector that indicates to the UE and the AUSF to generate the keys KAUSF, KAKMA, identifier of the KAKMA, at least using the AKMA key material information or flag such as the AAnF identifier in the subscription information and the RAND in the authentication vector.
Regarding claim 18, You discloses the method of Claim 17, wherein the need to initiate the communication session with the AF is determined after a performance of a primary authentication procedure with a network (FIG. 6 & 9-12, p. 13, lines 23-28, p. 14, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 19, You discloses the method of Claim 18, further comprising, during the performance of the primary authentication procedure, generating a root key, KAUSF (FIG. 3-6, p. 13, lines 2-8; i.e. generating the base key KAUSF).
Regarding claim 21, You discloses the method of Claim 17, further comprising determining to generate a KAKMA based on subscription information stored in or at the wireless device (FIG. 3-5, 8, p. 18, lines 12-14).
Regarding claim 22, You discloses a network node operating as a Unified Data Management, UDM, node, the network node comprising:
processing circuitry configured to (FIG. 3-4, p. 2, lines 17-25):
receive a first message associated with an authentication request message of a wireless device (FIG. 3-5, p. 9, lines 1-5 “…the UE 310 may first communicate with AMF/SEAF 330 for network registration and may then be authenticated by the AUSF 360 according to user contract and subscription data in the UDM/ARPF 370”, p. 12, lines 12-28 “…The user authentication procedure 402…Upon successful authentication, an authentication vector may be generated by the UDM/ARPF 370 and such authentication vector may be transmitted to the AUSF 360”, p. 18, last lines “…the AUSF 360 initiates a user authentication request message…to the UDM/ARFP 370”; i.e. the UDM/ARPF receives a UE authentication request from the AUSF);
based on subscription information associated with the wireless device, generate a second message comprising an authentication response message, the second message including an Authentication and Key Management for Applications, AKMA, key indicator, wherein the AKMA key indicator comprises a AKMA key material generation flag to trigger the wireless device to generate AKMA key material (FIG. 3-5 & 8, p. 9, lines 1-5 “…the UE 310 may first communicate with AMF/SEAF 330 for network registration and may then be authenticated by the AUSF 360 according to user contract and subscription data in the UDM/ARPF 370”, p. 12, lines 12-28 “…The user authentication procedure 402…Upon successful authentication, an authentication vector may be generated by the UDM/ARPF 370 and such authentication vector may be transmitted to the AUSF 360. Following successful user authentication procedure 402, a base key may be generated at both the UE 310 side and the AUSF 360…an anchor key may be derived based on the base key KAUSF…Such an anchor key, may be referred to as KAKMA”, p. 19, line 3-p. 20, line 9 “The authentication vector generated by the UDM/ARPF 370 and included in the return message may include, for example, an authentication token (AUTN), a random number (RAND)…The AKM service subscription information for the UE may include, for example, identifiers for one or more AAnFs…Specifically, in Step 806, after the UE main authentication logic flow 850 is successful, the UE 310 and the AUSF 360 may generate the AKMA anchor key KAKMA = KDF (KAUSF, AKMA Type, RAND, SUPI, AAnF identifier)…”; i.e. the UDM/ARPF authenticates the UE based on the subscription data and generates a return message to send to the AUSF, wherein the return message includes the subscription information and the successful authentication vector that indicates to the UE and the AUSF to generate the keys KAUSF, KAKMA, identifier of the KAKMA, at least using the AKMA key material information or flag such as the AAnF identifier in the subscription information and the RAND in the authentication vector); and
transmit the second message comprising the authentication response message to trigger the wireless device to generate the AKMA key material (FIG. 3-5 & 8, p. 12, lines 12-28, p. 18, lines 11-14 “…Upon successful UE registration and authentication…the UE 310 may also derive the AKMA anchor key based on the AKMA service subscription information…”; i.e. the UDM/ARPF sends the authentication success to the AUSF to enable the UE and the AUSF generating the base key and/or the anchor key).
Regarding claim 23, You discloses the network node of Claim 22, wherein the first message initiates an authentication procedure of a wireless device with a network (FIG. 3-5, p. 9, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 24, You discloses the network node of Claim 23, wherein the authentication procedure comprises a primary authentication procedure of the wireless device (FIG. 3-5, p. 9, lines 1-5, p. 19, lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 26, You discloses the network node of Claim 22, wherein the AKMA key material comprises an Authentication and Key Management for Applications anchor key, KAKMA (FIG. 4-5, p. 12, lines 12-28, p. 18, lines 11-14).
Regarding claim 28, You discloses the network node of Claim 22, wherein: the first message is received from a second network node operating as an Authentication Server Function, AUSF, and the second message is sent to the second network node operating as the AUSF (FIG. 3-5, p. 9, lines 1-5, p. 12, lines 12-28).
Regarding claim 29, You discloses the network node of Claim 22, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: prior to receiving the first message from the wireless device, receiving a third message from a NF, the third message comprising the subscription information associated with the wireless device (FIG. 7, p. 9-12; i.e. the UDM receives subscription information from AF, AMF/SEAF, etc.).
Regarding claim 30, You discloses a first network node operating as an Authentication Server Function, AUSF, the first network node comprising:
processing circuitry configured to (FIG. 3-4, p. 2, lines 17-25):
determine whether a first message received from a second network node includes an Authentication and Key Management for Applications, AKMA, key indicator, wherein the AKMA key indicator comprises a AKMA key material generation flag (FIG. 3-5 & 8, p. 19, line 3-p. 20, line 9 “The authentication vector generated by the UDM/ARPF 370 and included in the return message may include, for example, an authentication token (AUTN), a random number (RAND)…The AKM service subscription information for the UE may include, for example, identifiers for one or more AAnFs…the AUSF 360 verifies the authentication vector sent from the UDM/ARPF…Specifically, in Step 806, after the UE main authentication logic flow 850 is successful, the UE 310 and the AUSF 360 may generate the AKMA anchor key KAKMA = KDF (KAUSF, AKMA Type, RAND, SUPI, AAnF identifier)…”; i.e. the AUSF verifies the return message, wherein the return message includes the subscription information and the successful authentication vector that indicates to the UE and the AUSF to generate the keys KAUSF, KAKMA, identifier of the KAKMA, at least using the AKMA key material information or flag such as the AAnF identifier in the subscription information and the RAND in the authentication vector); and
based on whether the first message includes the AKMA indicator, determine whether to generate AKMA key material (FIG. 3-5 & 8, p. 19, lines 18-28, p. 20, lines 1-16; i.e. based on verifying the authentication vector including the AKMA information, generating the AKMA anchor key).
Regarding claim 31, You discloses the first network node of Claim 30, wherein when the processing circuitry determines that the first message includes the AKMA key indicator, the processing circuitry is further configured to generate the AKMA key material (FIG. 3-5 & 8, p. 19, lines 18-28, p. 20, lines 1-16).
Regarding claim 33, You discloses the first network node of Claim 30, wherein the second network node comprises a Unified Data Management, UDM, node (FIG. 3-5 & 8, p. 19, lines 9-28).
Regarding claim 34, You discloses the first network node of Claim 30, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to transmit a second message comprising the AKMA key indicator to a wireless device to trigger the wireless device to generate the AKMA key material (FIG. 3-5 & 8, p. 19, lines 18-28, p. 20, lines 1-16).
Regarding claim 35, You discloses the first network node of Claim 30, wherein the AKMA key material comprises an Authentication and Key Management for Applications Anchor Key, KAKMA (FIG. 3-5 & 8, p. 19, lines 18-28, p. 20, lines 1-16).
Regarding claim 38, You discloses a wireless device comprising:
processing circuitry configured to(FIG. 3-4, p. 2, lines 17-25):
in response to determining a need to initiate a communication session with an Application Function, AF, generate an Authentication and Key Management for Applications Anchor Key, KAKMA (FIG. 3-6, p. 13, lines 23-28, p. 14, lines 1-6; i.e. the UE determines to initiate a communication session with the AF and generating a communication request that includes the KID associated with the anchor key KAKMA);
transmit, to the AF, a request to initiate the communication session (FIG. 3-6, p. 14, lines 1-4; i.e. the UE initiates a communication session with the AF by sending a communication request message); and
receiving an authentication response message comprising an Authentication and Key Management for Applications, AKMA, key indicator, wherein the AKMA key indicator comprises a AKMA key material generation flag to trigger the wireless device to generate AKMA key material (FIG. 3-5 & 8, p. 9, lines 1-5 “…the UE 310 may first communicate with AMF/SEAF 330 for network registration and may then be authenticated by the AUSF 360 according to user contract and subscription data in the UDM/ARPF 370”, p. 12, lines 12-28 “…The user authentication procedure 402…Upon successful authentication, an authentication vector may be generated by the UDM/ARPF 370 and such authentication vector may be transmitted to the AUSF 360. Following successful user authentication procedure 402, a base key may be generated at both the UE 310 side and the AUSF 360…an anchor key may be derived based on the base key KAUSF…Such an anchor key, may be referred to as KAKMA”, p. 19, line 3-p. 20, line 9 “The authentication vector generated by the UDM/ARPF 370 and included in the return message may include, for example, an authentication token (AUTN), a random number (RAND)…The AKM service subscription information for the UE may include, for example, identifiers for one or more AAnFs…Specifically, in Step 806, after the UE main authentication logic flow 850 is successful, the UE 310 and the AUSF 360 may generate the AKMA anchor key KAKMA = KDF (KAUSF, AKMA Type, RAND, SUPI, AAnF identifier)…”; i.e. the UE is authenticated based on the subscription data successfully and receives a return message, wherein the return message includes the subscription information and the successful authentication vector that indicates to the UE and the AUSF to generate the keys KAUSF, KAKMA, identifier of the KAKMA, at least using the AKMA key material information or flag such as the AAnF identifier in the subscription information and the RAND in the authentication vector.
Regarding claim 39, You discloses the wireless device of Claim 38, wherein the need to initiate the communication session with the AF is determined after a performance of a primary authentication procedure with a network (FIG. 6 & 9-12, p. 13, lines 23-28, p. 14, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 40, You discloses the wireless device of Claim 39, wherein, during the performance of the primary authentication procedure, the processing circuitry is configured to generate a root key, KAUSF (FIG. 3-6, p. 13, lines 2-8; i.e. generating the base key KAUSF).
Regarding claim 42, You discloses the wireless device of Claim 38, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine to generate a KAKMA based on subscription information stored in or at the wireless device (FIG. 3-5, 8, p. 18, lines 12-14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 11, 15, 20, 27, 32, 36 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al. (WO 2021/093164 A1 hereinafter You) in view of Deng et al. (US 2022/0377540 hereinafter Deng).
Regarding claim 6, You discloses the method of Claim 5, wherein the AKMA key material comprises a KAKMA Identifier, KAKMAID, and wherein the KAKMA [[and the KAKMAID]] are derived based on a KAUSF (FIG. 8, p. 20, lines 6-19, Examiner note: KAKMAID is interpreted as the abbreviation of KAKMA Identifier according to the specification).
You does not explicitly disclose the KAKMAID is derived based on the KAUSF.
However, Deng discloses the KAKMAID is derived based on the KAUSF (¶ [0007], [0126]-[0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Deng‘s teaching into You in order to allow key negotiation between the user equipment and the Application Function (Deng, ¶ [0003]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 11, You discloses the method of Claim 9.
You does not explicitly disclose wherein: determining whether the first message comprises the AKMA key indicator comprises determining that the first message does not include the AKMA key indicator; and the method further comprises determining not to generate the AKMA key material for the authentication procedure with the network based on the first message not including the AKMA key indicator.
However, Deng discloses wherein: determining whether the first message comprises the AKMA key indicator comprises determining that the first message does not include the AKMA key indicator; and the method further comprises determining not to generate the AKMA key material for the authentication procedure with the network based on the first message not including the AKMA key indicator (¶ [0017], [0152]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Deng‘s teaching into You in order to allow key negotiation between the user equipment and the Application Function (Deng, ¶ [0003]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 15, You discloses the method of Claim 14, wherein: the AKMA key material comprises a KAKMA Identifier, KAKMAID, associated with a wireless device, and the KAKMA [[and the KAKMAID]] are derived based on a KAUSF (FIG. 8, p. 20, lines 6-19, Examiner note: KAKMAID is interpreted as the abbreviation of KAKMA Identifier according to the specification).
You does not explicitly disclose the KAKMAID is derived based on the KAUSF.
However, Deng discloses the KAKMAID is derived based on the KAUSF (¶ [0007], [0126]-[0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Deng‘s teaching into You in order to allow key negotiation between the user equipment and the Application Function (Deng, ¶ [0003]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 20, You discloses the method of Claim 19, further comprising generating the KAKMA [[and a KAKMA Identifier, KAKMAID,]] based on the KAUSF (FIG. 8, p. 20, lines 6-19, Examiner note: KAKMAID is interpreted as the abbreviation of KAKMA Identifier according to the specification).
You does not explicitly disclose the KAKMAID is derived based on the KAUSF.
However, Deng discloses the KAKMAID is derived based on the KAUSF (¶ [0007], [0126]-[0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Deng‘s teaching into You in order to allow key negotiation between the user equipment and the Application Function (Deng, ¶ [0003]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 27, You discloses the network node of Claim 26, wherein the AKMA key material comprises a KAKMA Identifier, KAKMAID, and wherein the KAKMA [[and the KAKMAID]] are derived based on a KAUSF (FIG. 8, p. 20, lines 6-19, Examiner note: KAKMAID is interpreted as the abbreviation of KAKMA Identifier according to the specification).
You does not explicitly disclose the KAKMAID is derived based on the KAUSF.
However, Deng discloses the KAKMAID is derived based on the KAUSF (¶ [0007], [0126]-[0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Deng‘s teaching into You in order to allow key negotiation between the user equipment and the Application Function (Deng, ¶ [0003]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 32, You discloses the first network node of Claim 31.
You does not explicitly disclose wherein when the processing circuitry determines that the first message does not include the AKMA key indicator, the processing circuitry is further configured to determine not to generate the AKMA key material for the authentication procedure with the network.
However, Deng discloses determining wherein when the processing circuitry determines that the first message does not include the AKMA key indicator, the processing circuitry is further configured to determine not to generate the AKMA key material for the authentication procedure with the network (¶ [0017], [0152]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Deng‘s teaching into You in order to allow key negotiation between the user equipment and the Application Function (Deng, ¶ [0003]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 36, You discloses the first network node of Claim 35, wherein: the AKMA key material comprises a KAKMA Identifier, KAKMAID, associated with a wireless device, and the KAKMA [[and the KAKMAID]] are derived based on the KAUSF (FIG. 8, p. 20, lines 6-19, Examiner note: KAKMAID is interpreted as the abbreviation of KAKMA Identifier according to the specification).
You does not explicitly disclose the KAKMAID is derived based on the KAUSF.
However, Deng discloses the KAKMAID is derived based on the KAUSF (¶ [0007], [0126]-[0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Deng‘s teaching into You in order to allow key negotiation between the user equipment and the Application Function (Deng, ¶ [0003]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 41, You discloses the wireless device of Claim 40, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the KAKMA [[and a KAKMA Identifier, KAKMAID,]] based on the KAUSF (FIG. 8, p. 20, lines 6-19, Examiner note: KAKMAID is interpreted as the abbreviation of KAKMA Identifier according to the specification).
You does not explicitly disclose the KAKMAID is derived based on the KAUSF.
However, Deng discloses the KAKMAID is derived based on the KAUSF (¶ [0007], [0126]-[0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Deng‘s teaching into You in order to allow key negotiation between the user equipment and the Application Function (Deng, ¶ [0003]-[0005]).
Conclusion
/C.D.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2435
/AMIR MEHRMANESH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2491