DETAILED ACTIONS
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) both are submitted on 10/02/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendments/arguments submitted by the
Applicant(s) on 12/12/2025.
Response to Arguments
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-8,11-13, 15-24, 27-29, and 31-36 are pending.
Claims 1,17, and 33 are amended.
Claims 9-10, 14,25-26, and 30 are cancelled.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103
Applicant's arguments, see remarks pages 11-15, filed 12/12/2025.
with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been considered, and are moot because the amendment has necessitated a new ground of rejections. The new rejections are set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed
invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed
invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the
invention was made.
Claims 1-9, 11-26, and 28-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al. (US 2018/0275189 A1, hereinafter Price, IDS reference) and in view of Teplinsky et al. (US 2018/0348291 A1, hereinafter Teplinsky) and in further view of Rathert et al. (US 2019/0295908 A1, hereinafter, Rathert, IDS reference)
Regarding claim 1, Price teaches
A system comprising:
a controller communicatively coupled to one or more semiconductor fabrication
subsystems and one or more test tool subsystems, the controller including one or more
processors configured to execute program instructions causing the one or more
processors to (Price, [0006] "The system may include one or more
inspection tools configured to perform inline inspection and metrology on a
plurality of wafers at a plurality of critical steps during wafer fabrication. The
system may also include one or more processors in communication with the one
or more inspection tools"):
determine, via a characterization subsystem, a plurality of apparent killer defects
on one or more semiconductor devices based on characterization measurements of the
one or more semiconductor devices acquired by the one or more semiconductor
fabrication subsystems, , wherein the one or more semiconductor devices include a plurality of semiconductor dies (Price, [0006], "aggregate inspection results obtained from the one or more inspection tools to obtain a plurality of
aggregated inspection results for the plurality of wafers; identify one or more
statistical outliers among the plurality of wafers at least partially based on the
plurality of aggregated inspection results obtained for the plurality of wafers");
determine, via a testing subsystem (Price, Figure 5, inspection system 500), at least one semiconductor die of the plurality of semiconductor dies which passes at least one test of a plurality of tests based on test measurements acquired by the one or more test tool subsystems (Price, [0016] "Embodiments of the present disclosure are directed to methods and systems for inline part average testing and latent reliability defect recognition and/or detection. Latent reliability defects refer to defects present in a device from manufacturing that pass initial quality tests");
correlate, via a correlation subsystem, the characterization measurements with
the test measurements to determine at least one apparent killer defect of the plurality of
apparent killer defects on the at least one semiconductor die of the plurality of
semiconductor dies which passes the at least one test of the plurality of tests (Price,
[0033], Figure 5, "The processors 504 may process the data received from the
burn-in reliability testing tools 510 and/or field returns 512 along with the data
received from the inline defect inspection tools 502 to correlate the inline
inspection data with the data received from the burn-in reliability testing tools 510
and/or field returns 512. the purpose of performing this data correlation is to help
identify which inspection steps, defect types, defect sizes, and/or metrology
parameters are most likely to provide actionable data from which statistical
outliers could be most effectively screened"); and
Although Price teaches detection of outliers and location silent on identifying
specific location of the killer defect.
However, Teplinsky teaches, determine, via a localization subsystem, one or
more gap areas on the one or more semiconductor devices for defect-based test
coverage based on the at least one apparent killer defect on the at least one
semiconductor die of the plurality of semiconductor dies which passes the at least one
test of the plurality of tests (Teplinsky, Figure 10A-10F. [0149], Embodiments of the present disclosure relate to Geographic Part Average Test (GPAT) and Nearest Neighbor Residual (NNR). As an example, one outlier on a given area
of one wafer can be determined, for example, one bad die on wafer edge compared to the rest of wafer edge. This can also be referred to as a bad die in a good neighborhood (BDGN). by examining the system test results, particularly a subset of the test results, not only the system, but the die can be determined as an outlier [0156], "various aspects of the present disclosure as described more fully herein may utilize system test data for systems incorporating specific components to identify components as outliers [0199] FIG. 10 F is a diagram illustrating component outlier detection 1060 according to various aspects of the present disclosure. The location 1065 associated with components d1 and d4 has been determined as an outlier location for the set of substrates based on the aggregated system test data illustrated in FIG. I0E).
report one or more reports based on the one or more gap areas in defect- based test coverage on the one or more semiconductor devices to provide a baseline of test coverage gaps across a plurality of semiconductor devices, (Teplinsky, [0243], figure 14, Identifying the common characteristic may include determining whether the data subset includes a sufficient amount of data to perform a desired analysis. The common characteristic may indicate performance higher than a baseline. Alternatively, the common characteristic may indicate performance lower than a standard. The baseline may be based on a third data subset corresponding to one or more components from the set of electronic components); wherein the one or more reports include at least one metric to adjust at least one of the one or more semiconductor fabrication subsystems or the one or more test tool subsystems to mitigate the one or more gap areas on the one or more semiconductor devices for defect-based test coverage (Teplinsky, Figure 15, [0248], At block 1550, an outlier in the data subset may be identified. Alternatively, or additionally, the outlier may be a local outlier or a global outlier. At block 1560, the information about the outlier may be communicated. For example, the information about the outlier may be communicated to a system manufacturer of a component manufacturer. The information about the outlier may identify a board and/or a component
to which the outlier corresponds) to mitigate the one or more gap areas on the one or more semiconductor devices for defect-based test coverage, wherein the mitigate the one or more gap areas includes targeting one or more care areas (Teplinsky, [0129]. “it is possible to implement semiconductor quality solutions on incoming material, which are tuned by system performance, which can be measured at system (e.g., board) test. Additionally, it is possible to set up outlier detection to evaluate only the tests that impact the system performance. Re-binning or holding of wafers/lots before assembly can be implemented”,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Price's system to incorporate
Teplinsky's outlier location detection method through utilization and integration of
component test data and system test data with the benefits of improvements in yield/quality, and increasing in testing efficiency. (Teplinsky, [0037]).
Both Price and Teplinsky teaches identifying outlier defects.
Price and Teplinsky are silent of wherein the characterization subsystem apply one or more processes to separate defects which are apparent killer defects from defects that are not killer defects
However, Rathert teaches wherein the characterization subsystem applies one or more processes to separate defects which are apparent killer defects from defects that are not killer defects (Rathert, Figure 2, step 210-212, [0117], “the method 200 includes a step 210 of identifying one or more at-risk (reads on killer defect) dies based on comparisons of manufacturing fingerprints of the one or more at-risk dies with the at least a portion of the manufacturing fingerprint of the failed die. In another embodiment, the method 200 includes a step 212 of recalling devices
including the one or more additional dies. [0118] In another embodiment, the step 210 includes identifying a subset of the semiconductor dies 106 having
manufacturing fingerprints 104 similar to that of a failed die 108 (e.g., at-risk dies 110) based on one or more selected similarity metrics. In this regard, the at-risk dies 110 are predicted to be susceptible to failure under similar operating
conditions as the failed die 108. Accordingly, a targeted recall may be initiated to include only the at-risk dies 110. [0119] The step 210 may include comparing manufacturing fingerprints 104 using any analysis technique known in the art such as, but not limited to, classification, sorting, clustering, outlier detection, signal response metrology, regression analysis, instance-based analysis”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Price's method of identifying outlier defects to incorporate Rathert method and characterization analysis steps to identify the at-risk dies among the failed dies with the benefits of improvements in yield/quality, and increasing in testing efficiency. (Rathert, [0117]-[0122]).
Regarding claim 2, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 1,
Price further teaches the one or more processors further configured to execute
the program instructions causing the one or more processors to: receive, via the
characterization subsystem, the characterization measurements acquired by the one or
more semiconductor fabrication subsystems during fabrication of the one or more
semiconductor devices (Price, Figure 5, [0032],[0033] "The inspection system 500
may include one or more inline defect inspection tools 502 communicatively
coupled to one or more computer processors 504.The processors 504 may also
be configured to receive the inspection results obtained by the inline defect
inspection tools 502 and aggregate the inspection results to obtain a plurality of
aggregated results for the plurality of wafers").
Regarding claim 3, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 1,
Price further teaches wherein the one or more characterization subsystems
include one or more characterization tools configured to perform at least one of one or
more inline defect inspection processes or one or more metrology processes (Price,
Figure 5,[0032], "The inspection system 500 may include one or more inline
defect inspection tools 502 communicatively coupled to one or more computer
processors 504. The inline defect inspection tool(s) 502 may be configured to
inspect a plurality of layers of a plurality of wafers 506 utilizing various inline
inspection techniques").
Regarding claim 4, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 1,
Price is silent on wherein the characterization subsystem is configured to employ at least one of an advanced deep learning technique or a machine learning technique to
determine the plurality of apparent killer defects on the one or more semiconductor
devices based on the characterization measurements.
However, Teplinsky teaches wherein the characterization subsystem is
configured to employ at least one of an advanced deep learning technique or a machine
learning technique to determine the plurality of apparent killer defects on the one or
more semiconductor devices based on the characterization measurements (Teplinsky,
[0219], "The system may use an aggregated historical data or may employ a more
sophisticated machine learning techniques to optimize its outlier finding performance").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Price's system to incorporate
Teplinsky's outlier location detection machine learning technique with the benefits of a
more sophisticated machine learning techniques to optimize its outlier finding
performance. (Teplinsky, [0219]).
Regarding claim 5, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 1,
Price further teaches the one or more processors further configured to execute the program instructions causing the one or more processors to: receive, via the testing
subsystem, the test measurements for the one or more semiconductor devices acquired
by the one or more test tool subsystems (Price, Figure 5, [0032], [0033] "The
inspection system 500 may include one or more inline defect inspection tools 502
communicatively coupled to one or more computer processors 504.The
processors 504 may also be configured to receive the inspection results obtained
by the inline defect inspection tools 502 and aggregate the inspection results to
obtain a plurality of aggregated results for the plurality of wafers").
Regarding claim 6, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 1,
Price further teaches wherein the one or more test tool subsystems include one
or more test tools configured to perform at least one of one or more electrical wafer sort
processes, unit probe processes, class probe processes, or final test processes (Price,
[0027], "As shown in FIG. 3, a stacked defect map of a wafer collected from
multiple critical process steps may be analyzed against a latent defect probability
histogram 300. As previously described, a latent defect probability may be
calculated for each die on the wafer based on the number of stacked defects,
modified by size, rough bin classification, die location, care area, layer step
weighting, and/or other types of defect measurement").
Regarding claim 7, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 1,
Price further teaches wherein the at least one semiconductor die of the plurality
of semiconductor dies passes all tests of the plurality of tests (Price, [0016]
"Embodiments of the present disclosure are directed to methods and systems for
inline part average testing and latent reliability defect recognition and/or
detection. Latent reliability defects refer to defects present in a device from
manufacturing that pass initial quality tests but cause premature failures when
activated in their working environment").
Regarding claim 8, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 1,
Price is silent on identifying specific location of the killer defect.
However, Teplinsky teaches wherein the localization subsystem analyzes at
least one of a location or a frequency of the at least one apparent killer defect of the
plurality of apparent killer defects on the at least one semiconductor die of the plurality
of semiconductor dies which passes the at least one test of the plurality of tests
(Teplinsky, Figure 10A-10F. [0149], (0149] Embodiments of the present disclosure relate to Geographic Part Average Test (GPAT) and Nearest Neighbor Residual (NNR). As an example, one outlier on a given area of one wafer can be determined, for example, one bad die on wafer edge compared to the rest of wafer edge. This can also be referred to as a bad die in a good neighborhood (BDGN). by examining the system test results, particularly a subset of the test results, not only the system, but the die can be determined as an outlier [0156], "various aspects of the present disclosure as described more fully herein may utilize system test data for systems incorporating specific components to identify components as outliers [0199] FIG. 10 F is a diagram illustrating component outlier detection 1060 according to various aspects of the present disclosure. The location 1065 associated with components d1 and d4 has been determined as an outlier location for the set of substrates based on the aggregated system test data illustrated in FIG. I0E").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Price's system to incorporate
Teplinsky's outlier location detection method through utilization and integration of
component test data and system test data with the benefits of reduced product returns,
improvements in yield/quality, increases in testing efficiency. (Teplinsky, [0037]).
Regarding claim 11, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of
Claim 1,
Price is silent on wherein the one or more reports include at least one chart configured to evaluate the one or more gap areas on the one or more semiconductor devices for defect-based test coverage.
However, Teplinsky teaches wherein the one or more reports include at least one
chart configured to evaluate the one or more gap areas on the one or more
semiconductor devices for defect-based test coverage (Teplinsky, [0199], Figure 10A-
1 OF and Figure 11, "FIG. IOF is a diagram illustrating component outlier detection 1060 according to various aspects of the present disclosure. The location 1065 associated with components d1 and d4 has been determined as an outlier location for the set of substrates based on the aggregated system test data illustrated in FIG. I0E. [0200] Although a single set of system test data is
illustrated in FIGS. L0C and I0D, other system test data can be utilized. Table 24
shows an example of test system data corresponding to the board IDs").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Price's system to incorporate
Teplinsky's outlier location detection method through utilization and integration of
component test data and system test data with the benefits of reduced product returns,
improvements in yield/quality, increases in testing efficiency. (Teplinsky, [0037]).
Regarding claim 12, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of
Claim 11,
Price further teaches wherein the at least one chart is configured to compare a test cover gap trend over a range of time for a particular semiconductor device design
(Price, [0028] "FIG. 4 is a flow diagram depicting an embodiment of an inline
part average testing (I-PAT) method 400 configured in accordance with the
present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 4, a wafer fabricator may choose to
identify starting material which will ultimately undergo bum-in reliability
testing (step 402). The wafer fabricator may also choose to perform inspection
and metrology on all wafers at each critical step (e.g., 100% inspection and
metrology) during the fabrication process (step 404). It is contemplated that
inspection recipes may be utilized to help find all potential defects. In some
embodiments, raw defect data may be included and recorded for subsequent
analysis using one or more database or data storage devices by the analytics
system 210, a determination can be made that one or more test protocols
associated with the system testing can be eliminated, reduced, increased,
added, or the like". It is understood that I-PAT average method is done over
time.).
Regarding claim 13, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 11,
Price further teaches wherein the at least one chart is configured to compare a
test cover gap for multiple semiconductor device designs (Price, [0006], "aggregate
inspection results obtained from the one or more inspection tools to obtain a
plurality of aggregated inspection results for the plurality of wafers; identify one
or more statistical outliers among the plurality of wafers at least partially based
on the plurality of aggregated inspection results obtained for the plurality of
wafers");
Regarding claim 15, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 14,
Price further teaches the one or more processors further configured to execute
the program instructions causing the one or more processors to: generate one or more
control signals based on the one or more adjustments to at least one of the fabrications,
characterizing, or testing of the semiconductor devices. (Price, [0033], Figures 4-5,
"The processors 504 may also be configured to receive the inspection results
obtained by the inline defect inspection tools 502 and aggregate the inspection
results to obtain a plurality of aggregated results for the plurality of wafers. The
processors 504 may process the data received from the bum-in reliability testing
tools 510 and/or field returns 512 along with the data received from the inline
defect inspection tools 502 to correlate the inline inspection data with the data
received from the burn-in reliability testing tools 510 and/or field returns 512. The
purpose of performing this data correlation is to help identify which inspection
steps, defect types, defect sizes, and/or metrology parameters are most likely to
provide actionable data from which statistical outliers could be most effectively
screened, help disqualify/eliminate low correlation inspection steps and may help
improve the overall correlation, which may in turn reduce overkill and underkill. In
some embodiments, wafers/dies that have been identified to have latent reliability
issues may be reported on one or more display devices. Alternatively, wafers/dies
that have been identified to have latent reliability issues may be identified or
physically marked as defective or otherwise segregated for further evaluation,
repurposing or rejected from entering the supply chain to help reduce the number
of wafers/dies that may fail prematurely in the field.").
Regarding claim 16, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 15,
Price further teaches wherein the one or more control signals are configured to
target select inline defect part average testing (I-PAT) care areas on the semiconductor
devices (Price, Figure 4,5, 0017] "Methods and systems configured in accordance
with the present disclosure may utilize inline part average (I-PAT) testing to
provide latent reliability defect recognition. Part average testing (PAT) is a
statistically based method for removing parts with abnormal characteristics
(outliers) from the semiconductors supplied per guidelines established").
Regarding claim 17, Price teaches
A method (Price, 0016] Embodiments of the present disclosure are directed
to methods) comprising:
determining, via a characterization subsystem of a controller, a plurality of
apparent killer defects on one or more semiconductor devices based on
characterization measurements of the one or more semiconductor devices
acquired by one or more semiconductor fabrication subsystems,
wherein the one or more semiconductor devices include a plurality of semiconductor dies;(Price, [0006], "aggregate inspection results obtained from the one or more inspection tools to obtain a plurality of aggregated inspection results for the plurality of wafers; identify one or more statistical outliers among the plurality of wafers at least partially based on the plurality of aggregated inspection results obtained for the plurality of wafers");
determining, via a testing subsystem of the controller, at least one
semiconductor die of the plurality of semiconductor dies which passes at least one
test of a plurality of tests based on test measurements acquired by one or more
test tool subsystems;(Price, [0016] "Embodiments of the present disclosure are directed to methods and systems for inline part average testing and latent reliability defect recognition
and/or detection. Latent reliability defects refer to defects present in a device
from manufacturing that pass initial quality tests");
correlating, via a correlation subsystem of the controller, the
characterization measurements with the test measurements to determine at least
one apparent killer defect of the plurality of apparent killer defects on the at least
one semiconductor die of the plurality of semiconductor dies which passes the at
least one test of the plurality of tests (Price, [0033], Figure 5, "The processors 504 may process the data received from the bum-in reliability testing tools 510 and/or field returns 512 along with the data received from the inline defect inspection tools 502 to correlate the inline inspection data with the data received from the burn-in reliability testing tools 510 and/or field returns 512. the purpose of performing this data correlation is to help identify which inspection steps, defect types, defect sizes, and/or metrology parameters are most likely to provide actionable data from which statistical outliers could be most effectively screened"); and
Price is silent on identifying specific location of the killer defect.
However, Teplinsky teaches, determine, via a localization subsystem, one or
more gap areas on the one or more semiconductor devices for defect-based test
coverage based on the at least one apparent killer defect on the at least one
semiconductor die of the plurality of semiconductor dies which passes the at least one
test of the plurality of tests (Teplinsky, Figure 10A-10F. [0149], (0149] Embodiments of the present disclosure relate to Geographic Part Average Test (GPAT) and Nearest Neighbor Residual (NNR). As an example, one outlier on a given area
of one wafer can be determined, for example, one bad die on wafer edge compared to the rest of wafer edge. This can also be referred to as a bad die in a good neighborhood (BDGN). by examining the system test results, particularly a subset of the test results, not only the system, but the die can be determined as an outlier [0156], "various aspects of the present disclosure as described more fully herein may utilize system test data for systems incorporating specific components to identify components as outliers [0199] FIG. 10 Fis a diagram illustrating component outlier detection 1060 according to various aspects of the present disclosure. The location 1065 associated with components d1 and d4 has been determined as an outlier location for the set of substrates based on the aggregated system test data illustrated in FIG. I0E).
wherein report one or more reports based on the one or more gap areas in defect-based test coverage on the one or more semiconductor devices [0156], "various aspects of the present disclosure as described more fully herein may utilize system test data for systems incorporating specific components to identify components as outliers”. Figure 7B, [0158], As illustrated in FIG. 7B, system test data 725 is shown correlated with the location on the substrate of the component incorporated into each system that is tested”. [0256], fig 17, At block 1735, an updated electronic test protocol may be formed. The updated electronic test protocol may be based on the characteristics of the electronic components. At block 1740, the updated electronic test protocol may be communicated).
wherein the one or more reports include at least one metric to adjust at least one of the one or more semiconductor fabrication subsystems or the one or more test tool subsystems (Teplinsky, Figure 15, [0248], At block 1550, an outlier in the data subset may be identified. At block 1560, the information about the outlier may be communicated. For example, the information about the outlier may be communicated to a system manufacturer of a component manufacturer. The information about the outlier may identify a board and/or a component
to which the outlier corresponds) to mitigate the one or more gap areas on the one or more semiconductor devices for defect-based test coverage, wherein the mitigate the one or more gap areas includes targeting one or more care areas (Teplinsky, [0129]. “it is possible to implement semiconductor quality solutions on incoming material, which are tuned by system performance, which can be measured at system ( e.g.,board) test. Additionally, it is possible to set up outlier detection to evaluate only the tests that impact the system performance. Re-binning or holding of wafers/lots before assembly can be implemented”,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Price's system to incorporate
Teplinsky's outlier location detection method through utilization and integration of
component test data and system test data with the benefits of improvements in yield/quality, and increasing in testing efficiency. (Teplinsky, [0037]).
Both Price and Teplinsky teaches identifying outlier defects.
Price and Teplinsky are silent of wherein the characterization subsystem apply one or more processes to separate defects which are apparent killer defects from defects that are not killer defects
However, Rathert teaches wherein the characterization subsystem applies one or more processes to separate defects which are apparent killer defects from defects that are not killer defects (Rathert, Figure 2, step 210-212, [0117], “the method 200 includes a step 210 of identifying one or more at-risk (reads on killer defect) dies based on comparisons of manufacturing fingerprints of the one or more at-risk dies with the at least a portion of the manufacturing fingerprint of the failed die. In another embodiment, the method 200 includes a step 212 of recalling devices
including the one or more additional dies. [0118] In another embodiment, the step 210 includes identifying a subset of the semiconductor dies 106 having
manufacturing fingerprints 104 similar to that of a failed die 108 (e.g., at-risk dies 110) based on one or more selected similarity metrics. In this regard, the at-risk dies 110 are predicted to be susceptible to failure under similar operating
conditions as the failed die 108. Accordingly, a targeted recall may be initiated to include only the at-risk dies 110. [0119] The step 210 may include comparing manufacturing fingerprints 104 using any analysis technique known in the art such as, but not limited to, classification, sorting, clustering, outlier detection, signal response metrology, regression analysis, instance-based analysis”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Price's method of identifying outlier defects to incorporate Rathert method and characterization analysis steps to identify the at-risk dies among the failed dies with the benefits of improvements in yield/quality, and increasing in testing efficiency. (Rathert, [0117]-[0122]).
Regarding claim 18, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 17,
Price further teaches further comprising: receiving, via the characterization
subsystem of the controller, the characterization measurements acquired by the one or
more semiconductor fabrication subsystems during fabrication of the one or more
semiconductor devices. (Price, Figure 5, [0032], [0033] "The inspection system 500
may include one or more inline defect inspection tools 502 communicatively
coupled to one or more computer processors 504.The processors 504 may also
be configured to receive the inspection results obtained by the inline defect
inspection tools 502 and aggregate the inspection results to obtain a plurality of
aggregated results for the plurality of wafers").
Regarding claim 19, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 17,
Price further teaches wherein the one or more characterization subsystems
include one or more characterization tools configured to perform at least one of one or
more inline defect inspection processes or one or more metrology processes (Price,
Figure 5, [0032], "The inspection system 500 may include one or more inline
defect inspection tools 502 communicatively coupled to one or more computer
processors 504. The inline defect inspection tool(s) 502 may be configured to
inspect a plurality of layers of a plurality of wafers 506 utilizing various inline
inspection techniques").
Regarding claim 20, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 17,
Price is silent on wherein the characterization subsystem is configured to employ at least one of an advanced deep learning technique or a machine learning technique to
determine the plurality of apparent killer defects on the one or more semiconductor
devices based on the characterization measurements.
However, Teplinsky teaches wherein the characterization subsystem is
configured to employ at least one of an advanced deep learning technique or a machine
learning technique to determine the plurality of apparent killer defects on the one or
more semiconductor devices based on the characterization measurements Teplinsky,
[0219], "The system may use an aggregated historical data or may employ a more
sophisticated machine learning techniques to optimize its outlier finding
performance").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Price's system to incorporate
Teplinsky's outlier location detection machine learning technique with the benefits of a
more sophisticated machine learning techniques to optimize its outlier finding
performance. (Teplinsky, [0219]).
Regarding claim 21, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 17,
Price teaches further comprising: receiving, via the testing subsystem of
the controller, the test measurements for the one or more semiconductor devices
acquired by the one or more test tool subsystems (Price, Figure 5,[0032],[0033]
"The inspection system 500 may include one or more inline defect inspection
tools 502 communicatively coupled to one or more computer processors
504.The processors 504 may also be configured to receive the inspection
results obtained by the inline defect inspection tools 502 and aggregate the
inspection results to obtain a plurality of aggregated results for the plurality of
wafers").
Regarding claim 22, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 17,
Price further teaches wherein the one or more test tool subsystems include
one or more test tools configured to perform at least one of one or more electrical wafer
sort processes, unit probe processes, class probe processes, or final test processes
(Price, [0027], "As shown in FIG. 3, a stacked defect map of a wafer collected from
multiple critical process steps may be analyzed against a latent defect probability
histogram 300. As previously described, a latent defect probability may be
calculated for each die on the wafer based on the number of stacked defects,
modified by size, rough bin classification, die location, care area, layer step
weighting, and/or other types of defect measurement").
Regarding claim 23, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 17,
Price further teaches wherein the at least one semiconductor die of the plurality
of semiconductor dies passes all tests of the plurality of tests (Price, [0016]
"Embodiments of the present disclosure are directed to methods and systems for
inline part average testing and latent reliability defect recognition and/or
manufacturing that pass initial quality tests but cause premature failures when
activated in their working environment").
Regarding claim 24, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 17,
Price is silent on identifying specific location of the killer defect.
However, Teplinsky teaches wherein the localization subsystem analyzes at
least one of a location or a frequency of the at least one apparent killer defect of the
plurality of apparent killer defects on the at least one semiconductor die of the plurality
of semiconductor dies which passes the at least one test of the plurality of tests
(Teplinsky, Figure 10A-10F. [0149], (0149] Embodiments of the present disclosure relate to Geographic Part Average Test (GPAT) and Nearest Neighbor Residual (NNR). As an example, one outlier on a given area of one wafer can be determined, for example, one bad die on wafer edge compared to the rest of wafer edge. This can also be referred to as a bad die in a good neighborhood (BDGN). by examining the system test results, particularly a subset of the test results, not only the system, but the die can be determined as an outlier [0156], "various aspects of the present disclosure as described more fully herein may utilize system test data for systems incorporating specific components to identify components as outliers [0199] FIG. 10 F is a diagram illustrating component outlier detection 1060 according to various aspects of the present disclosure. The location 1065 associated with components d1 and d4 has been determined as an outlier location for the set of substrates based on the aggregated system test data illustrated in FIG. I0E").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Price's system to incorporate
Teplinsky's outlier location detection method through utilization and integration of
component test data and system test data with the benefits of reduced product returns,
improvements in yield/quality, increases in testing efficiency. (Teplinsky, [0037]).
Regarding claim 27, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the method of Claim 17,
Price is silent on wherein the one or more reports include at least one chart configured to evaluate the one or more gap areas on the one or more semiconductor devices for defect-based test coverage.
However, Teplinsky teaches wherein the one or more reports include at least one chart configured to evaluate the one or more gap areas on the one or more semiconductor devices for defect-based test coverage. (Teplinsky, [0199] "FIG. I0F is a diagram illustrating component outlier detection 1060 according to various aspects of the present disclosure. The location 1065 associated with components d1 and d4 has been determined as an outlier location for the set of substrates based on the
aggregated system test data illustrated in FIG. I0E. [0200] Although a single set of
system test data is illustrated in FIGS. L0C and I0D, other system test data can be
utilized. Table 24 shows an example of test system data corresponding to the
board IDs").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Price's system to incorporate
Teplinsky's outlier location detection method through utilization and integration of
component test data and system test data with the benefits of reduced product returns,
improvements in yield/quality, increases in testing efficiency. (Teplinsky, [0037]).
Regarding claim 28, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 27,
Price further teaches wherein the at least one chart is configured to compare a test cover gap trend over a range of time for a particular semiconductor device
Design (Price, [0028] "FIG. 4 is a flow diagram depicting an embodiment of an
inline part average testing (I-PAT) method 400 configured in accordance with
the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 4, a wafer fabricator may choose to
identify starting material which will ultimately undergo bum-in reliability
testing (step 402). The wafer fabricator may also choose to perform inspection
and metrology on all wafers at each critical step (e.g., 100% inspection and
metrology) during the fabrication process (step 404). It is contemplated that
inspection recipes may be utilized to help find all potential defects. In some
embodiments, raw defect data may be included and recorded for subsequent
analysis using one or more database or data storage devices by the analytics
system 210, a determination can be made that one or more test protocols
associated with the system testing can be eliminated, reduced, increased,
added, or the like". It is understood that I-PAT average method is done over
time.).
Regarding claim 29, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 27,
Price further teaches wherein the at least one chart is configured to compare a
test cover gap for multiple semiconductor device designs (Price, [0006], "aggregate
inspection results obtained from the one or more inspection tools to obtain a
plurality of aggregated inspection results for the plurality of wafers; identify one
or more statistical outliers among the plurality of wafers at least partially based
on the plurality of aggregated inspection results obtained for the plurality of
wafers");
Regarding claim 31, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 30,
Price further teaches further comprising: generating, via the controller, one or
more control signals based on the one or more adjustments to at least one of the
fabrication, characterizing, or testing of the semiconductor devices (Price, [0033],
Figures 4-5, "The processors 504 may also be configured to receive the
inspection results obtained by the inline defect inspection tools 502 and
aggregate the inspection results to obtain a plurality of aggregated results for the
plurality of wafers. The processors 504 may process the data received from the
bum-in reliability testing tools 510 and/or field returns 512 along with the data
received from the inline defect inspection tools 502 to correlate the inline
inspection data with the data received from the burn-in reliability testing tools 510
and/or field returns 512. The purpose of performing this data correlation is to help
identify which inspection steps, defect types, defect sizes, and/or metrology
parameters are most likely to provide actionable data from which statistical
outliers could be most effectively screened, help disqualify/eliminate low
correlation inspection steps and may help improve the overall correlation, which
may in turn reduce overkill and underkill. In some embodiments, wafers/dies that
have been identified to have latent reliability issues may be reported on one or
more display devices. Alternatively, wafers/dies that have been identified to have
latent reliability issues may be identified or physically marked as defective or
otherwise segregated for further evaluation, repurposing or rejected from
entering the supply chain to help reduce the number of wafers/dies that may fail
prematurely in the field.").
Regarding claim 32, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of Claim 31,
Price further teaches wherein the one or more control signals are configured to target select inline defect part average testing (I-PAT) care areas on the semiconductor
devices (Price, Figure 4,5, 0017] "Methods and systems configured in accordance
with the present disclosure may utilize inline part average (I-PAT) testing to
provide latent reliability defect recognition. Part average testing (PAT) is a
statistically based method for removing parts with abnormal characteristics
(outliers) from the semiconductors supplied per guidelines established").
Regarding claim 33, Price teaches
A system comprising:
one or more semiconductor fabrication subsystems; one or more test tool
subsystems; and a controller communicatively coupled to the one or more
semiconductor fabrication subsystems and the one or more test tool subsystems, the
controller including one or more processors configured to execute program instructions
causing the one or more processors to: (Price, [0006] "The system may include one
or more inspection tools configured to perform inline inspection and metrology
on a plurality of wafers at a plurality of critical steps during wafer fabrication. The
system may also include one or more processors in communication with the one
or more inspection tools"):
determine, via a characterization subsystem, a plurality of apparent killer defects
on one or more semiconductor devices based on characterization measurements of the
one or more semiconductor devices acquired by the one or more semiconductor
fabrication subsystems, wherein the one or more semiconductor devices include a
plurality of semiconductor dies (Price, [0006], "aggregate inspection results obtained from the one or more inspection tools to obtain a plurality of aggregated
inspection results for the plurality of wafers; identify one or more statistical
outliers among the plurality of wafers at least partially based on the plurality of
aggregated inspection results obtained for the plurality of wafers");
determine, via a testing subsystem, at least one semiconductor die of the plurality of semiconductor dies which passes at least one test of a plurality of tests based on test measurements acquired by the one or more test tool subsystems (Price, [0016] "Embodiments of the present disclosure are directed to methods and systems for inline part average testing and latent reliability defect recognition and/or detection. Latent reliability defects refer to defects present in a device from manufacturing that pass initial quality tests");
and
Price is silent on identifying specific location of the killer defect.
However, Teplinsky teaches determine, via a localization subsystem, one or
more gap areas on the one or more semiconductor devices for defect-based test
coverage based on the at least one apparent killer defect on the at least one
semiconductor die of the plurality of semiconductor dies which passes the at least one
test of the plurality of tests. (Teplinsky, Figure 10A-10F. [0149], (0149] Embodiments of the present disclosure relate to Geographic Part Average Test (GPAT) and Nearest Neighbor Residual (NNR). As an example, one outlier on a given area
of one wafer can be determined, for example, one bad die on wafer edge compared to the rest of wafer edge. This can also be referred to as a bad die in a good neighborhood (BDGN). by examining the system test results, particularly a subset of the test results, not only the system, but the die can be determined as an outlier [0156], "various aspects of the present disclosure as described more fully herein may utilize system test data for systems incorporating specific components to identify components as outliers [0199] FIG. 10 F is a diagram illustrating component outlier detection 1060 according to various aspects of the present disclosure. The location 1065 associated with components d1 and d4 has been determined as an outlier location for the set of substrates based on the aggregated system test data illustrated in FIG. I0E).
wherein the one or more reports include at least one metric to adjust at least one of the one or more semiconductor fabrication subsystems or the one or more test tool subsystems (Teplinsky, Figure 15, [0248], At block 1550, an outlier in the data subset may be identified. At block 1560, the information about the outlier may be communicated. For example, the information about the outlier may be communicated to a system manufacturer of a component manufacturer. The information about the outlier may identify a board and/or a component
to which the outlier corresponds) to mitigate the one or more gap areas on the one or more semiconductor devices for defect-based test coverage, wherein the mitigate the one or more gap areas includes targeting one or more care areas (Teplinsky, [0129]. “it is possible to implement semiconductor quality solutions on incoming material, which are tuned by system performance, which can be measured at system ( e.g.,board) test. Additionally, it is possible to set up outlier detection to evaluate only the tests that impact the system performance. Re-binning or holding of wafers/lots before assembly can be implemented”, report one or more reports based on the one or more gap areas in defect-based test coverage on the one or more semiconductor devices [0156], "various aspects of the present disclosure as described more fully herein may utilize system test data for systems incorporating specific components to identify components as outliers”. Figure 7B, [0158], As illustrated in FIG. 7B, system test data 725 is shown correlated with the location on the substrate of the component incorporated into each system that is tested”. [0256], fig 17, At block 1735, an updated electronic test protocol may be formed. The updated electronic test protocol may be based on the characteristics of the electronic components. At block 1740, the updated electronic test protocol may be communicated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Price's system to incorporate
Teplinsky's outlier location detection method through utilization and integration of
component test data and system test data with the benefits of improvements in yield/quality, and increasing in testing efficiency. (Teplinsky, [0037]).
Both Price and Teplinsky teaches identifying outlier defects. but silent on correlate, via a correlation subsystem, the characterization measurements with
the test measurements to determine at least one apparent killer defect of the plurality of
apparent killer defects on the at least one semiconductor die of the plurality of
semiconductor dies which passes the at least one test of the plurality of tests
However rather teaches correlate, via a correlation subsystem, the characterization measurements with the test measurements to determine at least one apparent killer defect of the plurality of apparent killer defects on the at least one semiconductor die of the plurality of semiconductor dies which passes the at least one test of the plurality of tests (Rathert, Figure 2, step 210-212, [0117], “the method 200 includes a step 210 of identifying one or more at-risk (reads on killer defect) dies based on comparisons of manufacturing fingerprints of the one or more at-risk dies with the at least a portion of the manufacturing fingerprint of the failed die. In another embodiment, the method 200 includes a step 212 of recalling devices
including the one or more additional dies. [0118] In another embodiment, the step 210 includes identifying a subset of the semiconductor dies 106 having
manufacturing fingerprints 104 similar to that of a failed die 108 (e.g., at-risk dies 110) based on one or more selected similarity metrics. In this regard, the at-risk dies 110 are predicted to be susceptible to failure under similar operating
conditions as the failed die 108. Accordingly, a targeted recall may be initiated to include only the at-risk dies 110. [0119] The step 210 may include comparing manufacturing fingerprints 104 using any analysis technique known in the art such as, but not limited to, classification, sorting, clustering, outlier detection, signal response metrology, regression analysis, instance-based analysis”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Price's method of identifying outlier defects to incorporate Rathert method and characterization analysis steps to identify the at-risk dies among the failed dies with the benefits of improvements in yield/quality, and increasing in testing efficiency. (Rathert, [0117]-[0122]).
Regarding claim 34, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the system of of claim 1,
Price further teaches wherein reporting of the one or more reports is in response to a previous user selected time interval. (Price, [0078] In one non-limiting example, inline characterization may be performed at a select (e.g., critical) layer. At user-selectable time intervals (e.g., quarterly, monthly, weekly, or the like).
Regarding claim 35, Combination of Price, Teplinsky, and Rathert teaches the method of of claim 17,
Price further teaches wherein reporting of the one or more reports is in response to a previous user selected time interval. (Price, [0078] In one non-limiting example, inline characterization may be performed at a select (e.g., critical) layer. At user-selectable time intervals (e.g., quarterly, monthly, weekly, or the like),
Regarding claim 35, Combination of Price and Teplinsky teaches the system of
of claim 33,
Price further teaches wherein reporting of the one or more reports is in response to a previous user selected time interval. (Price, [0078] In one non-limiting example, inline characterization may be performed at a select (e.g., critical) layer. At user-selectable time intervals (e.g., quarterly, monthly, weekly, or the like).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure
Subramaniam et al (US 7494829 B2) recites “Systems and methods for identification of outlier semiconductor devices using data-driven statistical characterization are described herein. At least some preferred embodiments include a method that includes identifying a plurality of sample semiconductor chips that fail a production test as a result of subjecting the plurality of sample semiconductor chips to a stress inducing process, identifying at least one correlation between variations in a first sample parameter and variations in a second sample parameter (the sample parameters associated with the plurality of sample semiconductor chips) identifying as a statistical outlier chip any of a plurality of production semiconductor chips that pass the production test and that further do not conform to a parameter constraint generated based upon the at least one correlation identified and upon data associated with at least some of the plurality of production semiconductor chips, and segregating the statistical outlier chip from the plurality of production semiconductor chip.” (abstract).
supervisor, EMAN ALKAFAWI can be reached on (571) 272-4448. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DILARA SULTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 3/18/2026