DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14, 17, 21-24, 26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2020/0227644) (Lee).
In reference to claim 13-14, 21-23, 26 and 28, Lee teaches a compound of chemical formula A as shown below, wherein Har1 is a group of formula 1 wherein two of R5 to R8 are connected to Q below, for example the compound H12 below with groups L1, L2, L3, Ar1 and Ar2 selected as in H1 below and wherein L1 is bonded at R9 instead of at R1.
Lee discloses the compound of chemical formula A that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including compound H12 with groups L1, L2, L3, Ar1 and Ar2 selected as in H1 above and wherein L1 is bonded at R9 instead of at R1. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Lee are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of chemical formula A.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of chemical formula A to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Lee and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Furthermore, it is noted that compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious). In light of the case law cited above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the compound disclosed in the present claims is but an obvious variant of the compound presently claimed, and thereby one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
For Claim 13: Reads on a compound of formula 1 wherein Z is a group of formula 2-1A, R21 to R29 are each hydrogen, n is 0, Ar1 is a biphenyl and Ar2 is a biphenyl.
For Claim 14: Reads on formula 1-1.
For Claim 21: Reads on a compound of formula A wherein Z is a group of formula 2-1A, R11 to R19 are each hydrogen, n is 0, and AM is a substituted amine group.
For Claim 23: Reads on formula A1.
For Claim 26: Reads on compound A6.
For Claim 28: Reads on compound A6.
In reference to claim 17 and 24, the claims further limit the L, which is an optional embodiment of claim 13 or 21 (i.e. n is 0 to 3) and therefore not required. As such, claims 17 and 24 are rejected based on similar reasons to claim 13 and 21.
In reference to claim 22, the claim further limits the heterocyclic group, which is an optional embodiment of claim 21 (i.e. AM is a substituted or unsubstituted amine group, or a substituted or unsubstituted heterocyclic group including N as a ring-forming atom) and therefore not required. As such, claim 22 is rejected based on similar reasons to claim 21.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In reference to the rejections under 35 USC 103 over Lee et al, Applicant argues that Lee only teaches wherein Z is a group of formula 2-2A. However, Lee teaches, as pointed to above herein, that other positional isomers are possible such as that corresponding to wherein Z is 2-1A.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. Independent claim 1 is drawn to an organic light emitting device with specific materials of formula 1 that are included in a hole transport region of the device.
A search of the prior art did not identify these materials.
The closest art corresponds to Lee et al (US 2020/0227644) (Lee). Lee teaches an organic light emitting device comprising the materials instantly claimed (Lee claim 1, throughout) but does not suggest that these materials are used in a hole transport region of the device. Neither Lee nor the prior art as a whole provide sufficiently specific motivation to modify the device of Lee to arrive at the instantly claimed devices.
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 11, 25 and 27 are allowable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786