DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
1. This office action is in response to applicant's Arguments/ Remarks filed on 06/27/2025. Claims 1, 4-7 and 13-14 are pending; claims 2-3 and 11-12 are canceled and claims 8-10 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-7 and 13-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the amended clam 1, applicant argues that the cited reference does not teach the amended claim limitations. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection using the cited references will be provided below claim rejection section:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, 4-6 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wittenberg et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2013/0240112 A1) in view of Richardson et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2016/0044217 A1) further in view of Cheng (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2019/0245958 A1) further in view of Cheon (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2018/0147810 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wittenberg et al discloses a camera hole cover plate (figures 1B and 4A-4B, a cover 142/430; paragraphs 0046 and 0068, “ the cover 430 … positioned over opening 405), comprising: a cover plate body (figures 4A-4B, a cover 430; paragraphs 0068-0069), wherein the cover plate body comprises a transparent area (paragraphs 0069-0070,“… cover 430 can be constructed from a material that is substantially transparent or translucent.”); and a cover plate edge (figures 4A-4B, a region 434; paragraph 0070), wherein the cover plate edge and the cover plate body are an integral structure, the cover plate edge is around the cover plate body (see figure 4B, the region 434 and the cover 430; paragraph 0070, the cover plate edge (i.e., the region 434) and the cover plate body (i.e., the cover 430) are an integral and the cover plate edge(i.e., the region 434) is around the cover plate body (i.e., the cover 430) ), the cover plate edge is rounded and chamfered (see figures 4B and 6, a camera cover assembly400/ 600; paragraphs 0068 and 0077-0078). Although Wittenberg et al does not explicitly disclose the inner edge of the rounded and chamfered edge, the outer edge of the rounded and chamfered edge is a frosted area; wherein the frosted area is a circular arc around the cover plate edge, Wittenberg et al discloses “… electronic device 100 can include camera 140 for capturing images. Camera 140 can be placed in any suitable portion of enclosure 110 including…cover 142 over camera 140 to protect the camera lens from damage. Cover 142 can be incorporated in enclosure 110 such that light can be transmitted through cover 142 and enclosure 110 and to camera 140. In some cases, cover 142 can be a component distinct from back cover 122 that is placed within an opening of back cover 122. Alternatively, cover 142 can be constructed from a portion of back cover 122.”(paragraph 0046).
Wittenberg et al discloses “…Glass cover 210 can include translucent or transparent regions 214 and 216, and opaque region 212.”(paragraph 0047).
Wittenberg et al discloses “…electronic device 200 can include a compliant and opaque material placed between body 241 and cover 210 around a periphery of regions 214 and 216 (e.g., around a periphery of the openings of cavities 232 and 234).”(paragraph 0052). Wittenberg et al discloses “…Cover assembly 600 can include cover 630 to be placed over a camera. Cover 630 can have any suitable shape including, for example, a cylindrical shape.”(paragraph 0077). Since Wittenberg et al discloses a cover can include translucent or transparent regions and opaque region, a cover can have any suitable shape, , it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to make the inner edge of the rounded and chamfered edge is a smooth surface, the outer edge of the rounded and chamfered edge is a frosted area (i.e., opaque); wherein the frosted area is a circular arc around the cover plate edge by design preference in order to enhance the performance of the device as taught by Wittenberg et al (paragraph 0054).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art beforethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the area of the cover plate edge located on the outside of the transparent area comprises a frosted (i.e., opaque), wherein the frosted area is a circular arc around the cover plate edge by design preference in order to enhance the performance of the device as taught by Wittenberg et al (paragraph 0054).
Nevertheless, Richardson et al discloses an area of a camera hole cover plate edge is rounded and chamfered (figures 1 and 4, a status display 50 edge; paragraph 0025), the inner edge of the rounded and chamfered edge and the outer edge of the rounded and chamfered edge is a frosted area (figures 1 and 4, the status display 50 edge and a frosted area (i.e., a diffusion ring 51); paragraph 0025), wherein the frosted area is a circular arc around the cover plate edge (see figure 1, the diffusion ring 51 is a circular arc around the cover plate edge; paragraphs 0025 and 0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art beforethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Richardson et al in to the apparatus of Wittenberg et al, such that the inner edge of the rounded and chamfered edge and the outer edge of the rounded and chamfered edge could be a frosted area and the frosted area could be a circular arc around the cover plate edge in order to improve diffusing efficiency as taught by Richardson et al (paragraph 0040).
Wittenberg et al in view of Richardson et al silent to the inner edge of the rounded and chamfered edge is a smooth surface.
Chang discloses an inner edge of a camera cover plate edge is a smooth surface (figures 6-8, a first light-transmissive cover plate 21, a second light-transmissive cover plate 27, and a light-shielding member 28; paragraphs 0049-0050 and 0061, “…the second light-transmissive cover plate 27 has a projection 271 extending in a direction of an inner surface thereof, … The surface of the projection 271 can be flush (i.e., smooth) with the surface of the bottom wall 281 of member 28”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art beforethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Chang in to the apparatus of Wittenberg et al in view of Richardson et al, such that the inner edge of the rounded and chamfered edge could be a smooth surface by design preference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art beforethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the inner edge of the rounded and chamfered edge is a smooth surface, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Wittenberg et al in view of Richardson et al and Chang does not disclose wherein the cover plate body comprises the transparent area for covering a display screen.
Cheon discloses a camera cover plate body comprises a transparent area for covering a display screen (figure 1, a cover window 200; paragraph 0058)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art beforethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a transparent area of the cover plate body for covering a display screen in order to prevent a display screen from damage
Regarding claim 4, Wittenberg et al in view of Richardson et al, Cheng and Cheon discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Wittenberg et al further discloses wherein the camera hole cover plate is provided with a color ink layer (figure 6, ink layer 652; paragraph 0078).
Regarding claim 5, Wittenberg et al in view of Richardson et al, Cheng and Cheon discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Wittenberg et al further discloses wherein the cover plate edge is a circular edge (figure 6, the cover assembly 600; paragraph 0077).
Regarding claim 6, Wittenberg et al in view of Richardson et al, Cheng and Cheon discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Wittenberg et al discloses a mobile terminal (figures 1A-1B, an electric device 100; paragraph 0046), comprising a terminal body and a camera hole cover plate (figures 1A-1B, enclosure 110 and a cover 142; paragraph 0046) , wherein the terminal body has a camera hole (paragraph 0046, an opening of back cover 122), the camera hole cover plate is fixed to the terminal body and covers the camera hole (paragraph 0046, “…cover 142 over camera 140 to protect the camera lens from damage… cover 142 can be a component distinct from back cover 122 that is placed within an opening of back cover 122. Alternatively, cover 142 can be constructed from a portion of back cover 122.”), and the camera hole cover plate is the camera hole cover plate (paragraphs 0046 and 0066, the camera can be enclosed within an electronic device).
Regarding claim 13, Wittenberg et al in view of Richardson et al, Cheng and Cheon discloses the apparatus of claim 4. Wittenberg et al discloses a mobile terminal, comprising a terminal body and a camera hole cover plate (figures 1A-1B, enclosure 110 and a cover 142; paragraph 0046), wherein the terminal body has a camera hole (paragraph 0046, an opening of back cover 122), the camera hole cover plate is fixed to the terminal body and covers the camera hole (paragraph 0046, “…cover 142 over camera 140 to protect the camera lens from damage… cover 142 can be a component distinct from back cover 122 that is placed within an opening of back cover 122. Alternatively, cover 142 can be constructed from a portion of back cover 122.”), and the camera hole cover plate is the camera hole cover plate (paragraphs 0046 and 0078).
Regarding claim 14, Wittenberg et al in view of Richardson et al, Cheng and Cheon discloses the apparatus of claim 5. Wittenberg et al discloses a mobile terminal, comprising a terminal body and a camera hole cover plate (figures 1A-1B, enclosure 110 and a cover 142; paragraph 0046), wherein the terminal body has a camera hole (paragraph 0046, an opening of back cover 122), the camera hole cover plate is fixed to the terminal body and covers the camera hole (paragraph 0046, “…cover 142 over camera 140 to protect the camera lens from damage… cover 142 can be a component distinct from back cover 122 that is placed within an opening of back cover 122. Alternatively, cover 142 can be constructed from a portion of back cover 122.”), and the camera hole cover plate is the camera hole cover plate (paragraphs 0046 and 0077).
4. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wittenberg et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2013/0240112 A1) in view of Richardson et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2016/0044217 A1) further in view of Cheng (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2019/0245958 A1) further in view of Cheon (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2018/0147810 A1) further in view of Kang et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2010/0048252 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Wittenberg et al in view of Richardson et al, Cheng and Cheon discloses the apparatus of claim 6. Although Wittenberg et al does not explicitly disclose the camera hole cover plate is fixed to a panel at which the secondary display screen is located, Wittenberg et al discloses “…camera 140 can be placed in any suitable portion of enclosure 110” (paragraph 0046). Since Wittenberg et al teaches the camera 140 can be placed in any suitable portion, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to place/ fix the camera hole cover plate, if desired, at which a secondary display screen is located.
Wittenberg et al in view of Richardson et al, Cheng and Cheon does not disclose wherein the mobile terminal is a double-sided screen mobile terminal, the mobile terminal comprises a primary display screen and a secondary display screen located on two sides of the double-sided screen mobile terminal respectively.
Kang et al discloses a mobile terminal is a double-sided screen mobile terminal, the mobile terminal comprises a primary display screen and a secondary display screen located on two sides of the double-sided screen mobile terminal respectively (figures 2-3, a first display module 151a and a second display module 151b; paragraphs 0061-0063).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art beforethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a second display module of Kang et al into the apparatus of Wittenberg et al in view of Richardson et al, Cheng and Cheon in order to allow a user to multitask more productively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FATUMA G SHERIF/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649