DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed November 25, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1 – 18 and 21 – 24 are pending in the application with claims 6 – 9 being withdrawn and claims 19 and 20 being cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claims 21, 22 and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21, line 17: “wherein a the drive link” should read --wherein
Claim 24, lines 1-2: “a head” should read --the head--.
Claim 24, line 2: “the drive link includes a receiving slot” should read --a drive link includes the receiving slot--.
Claim 22 is objected to for being dependent on claim 21.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 5, 10, 11, 13 and 15 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castagnetta et al. (US 2008/0292481 – herein after Castagnetta) in view of Carideo et al. (US 2017/0198688 – herein after Carideo).
In reference to claim 1, Castagnetta teaches a transfer pump (20, see fig. 1) configured to (see ¶1 and fig. 3) pump a material (mastic) from a material supply (24), the transfer pump comprising:
a fluid module (32; see ¶37 and fig. 1) configured to (see ¶3) extend at least partially into the material supply (24) to contact the material (mastic) within the material supply, the fluid module including a reciprocating pump (as evident from fig. 1) configured to reciprocate along a pump axis (vertical axis in view of fig. 1) to pump the material, and the fluid module including a pump outlet (258, see fig. 13) through which material is output from the reciprocating pump;
a stand (56) directly connected (as evident from figs. 1-4) to the fluid module (32) and spaced radially (spaced in ← direction in view of fig. 1) from the pump axis (↨ in view of fig. 1), the stand configured to interface with a surface (ground surface) disposed outside of the material supply (24) to support the transfer pump on the surface (see fig. 3);
a drive module (actuator or handle 48; see ¶37) removably mounted to the fluid module (32) by a static interface (interface formed by 288; see ¶48 and fig. 4) and a dynamic interface (interface between 232 and 180; see fig. 4), and wherein the drive module (48) is structurally supported on the fluid module (32) at the static interface such that the drive module is connected to the stand through the fluid module [fulcrum 288 is connected to pump head 40 and the stand 56 is connected to the fluid module 32; thus, the asserted drive module is structurally supported on the fluid module at the static interface such that the drive module is connected to the stand through the fluid module], and the drive module (48) transmits reciprocating mechanical motion to the reciprocating pump at the dynamic interface (interface between 232 and 180; see fig. 4) with the dynamic interface formed (formed when drive module is connected to the fluid module), and wherein the static interface (288) is disposed above (as evident from fig. 1) a connection between the stand (56) and the fluid module (32), and wherein (as evident from fig. 2) the drive module (actuator or handle 48) is disposed fully above the pump outlet (258, see fig. 13);
wherein the drive module (48) is mountable to and dismountable from the fluid module (32) while the fluid module is supported by the stand (the asserted drive module is mountable to and dismountable from the asserted fluid module in view of removable fastening components such as shaft 290, cotter pins 292, washers 294, unlabeled pin at the asserted dynamic interface).
Castagnetta does not teach the transfer pump, “wherein the drive module includes an electric motor operatively connected to the reciprocating pump to power reciprocation; the drive module configured to mount to the fluid module by shifting the drive module radially towards the pump axis to form the static interface and the dynamic interface, the static interface formed by at least one post extending into at least one receiver and the dynamic interface formed between a piston of the fluid module and a drive link of the drive module, the drive link reciprocated by the electric motor, and wherein the drive module configured to dismount from the fluid module by shifting of the drive module radially away from the pump axis to break the static interface and the dynamic interface; wherein the static interface and the dynamic interface are both formed by radial movement of the drive module towards the pump axis, and the static interface and the dynamic interface are both broken by radial movement of the drive module away from the pump axis”.
However, Carideo teaches a similar transfer pump (paint sprayer 2, in fig. 1) comprising:
a fluid module (24) including a reciprocating pump [see ¶43: “pump assembly 24 includes piston 90 that reciprocates along a lengthwise direction of piston 90 (i.e., upward and downward directions as depicted in FIG. 10)”] configured to reciprocate along a pump axis (reciprocating axis in vertical direction in view of fig. 10) to pump the material;
a drive module (22 with components such as 18+12+16; see ¶24) removably mounted (see figs. 10 & 11) to the fluid module (24) by a static interface [interface, obtained when pump module is coupled to the drive module, between protrusions 88 (part of the drive module) and holes 86 (part of the fluid module 24); static interface = connection between static components] and a dynamic interface [interface, obtained when pump module is coupled to the drive module, between coupler 94 (part of the drive module) and collar 92 (part of the fluid module 24); dynamic interface = connection between dynamic/moving components], wherein the drive module (22) includes an electric motor (23, see ¶24) operatively connected to the reciprocating pump to power reciprocation, and wherein the drive module (22) is structurally supported on the fluid module (24) at the static interface (in view of coupled state between 88 and 86 shown in fig. 10), and the drive module (22) transmits reciprocating mechanical motion to the reciprocating pump at the dynamic interface (in view of coupled state between the drive and pump modules shown in fig. 12A and disclosure in ¶57) with the dynamic interface formed;
wherein the drive module (22) is mountable to (in view of fig. 10) and dismountable (in view of fig. 11) from the fluid module (24), the drive module configured to mount to the fluid module by shifting the drive module radially towards the pump axis to form the static interface and the dynamic interface (in view of fig. 10 and disclosure in ¶45-¶46), the static interface (interface between 88 and 86; see figs. 10-11) formed by at least one post (88) extending into at least one receiver (86) and the dynamic interface (interface between 94 and 92; see figs. 10-11) formed between a piston (92) of the fluid module and a drive link (94) of the drive module, the drive link reciprocated by the electric motor (see ¶56-¶57), and wherein the drive module configured to dismount from the fluid module by shifting of the drive module radially away from the pump axis to break the static interface and the dynamic interface (in view of fig. 10 and disclosure in ¶45-¶46); wherein the static interface and the dynamic interface are both formed by radial movement of the drive module towards the pump axis (in view of fig. 10 and disclosure in ¶45-¶46: static interface is formed between 88 and 86 while dynamic interface is formed between 90,92 and 94), and the static interface and the dynamic interface are both broken by radial movement of the drive module away from the pump axis (in view of fig. 11 and disclosure in ¶45-¶46: static interface is broken between 88 and 86 while dynamic interface is broken between 90,92 and 94).
Castagnetta’s teaches the transfer pump with an actuator or handle (48) of the handle for manually operating the fluid module to pump the fluid. Carideo’s teaches the transfer pump that is operated by electric motor to pump the fluid. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the manual drive module of Castagnetta with the electric drive module (an electric motor), in light of the teachings of Carideo since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192. The proposed modification is viewed as modifying top end portion of Castagnetta’s components 180 and 40 (which are part of the fluid module) for compatibility between Castagnetta’s fluid module and Carideo’s drive module.
Therefore, Castagnetta, as modified by Carideo, further teaches the transfer pump: wherein the drive module (22; of Carideo) is structurally supported on the fluid module (32; of Castagnetta) at the static interface (in view of coupled state between 88 and 86 shown in Carideo’s fig. 10) such that the drive module is connected to the stand (56; of Castagnetta) through the fluid module (32; of Castagnetta); and wherein the drive module (22; of Carideo) is mountable to and dismountable from the fluid module (32; of Castagnetta) while the fluid module is supported by the stand (56; of Castagnetta), and wherein the static interface (of Carideo) is disposed above a connection between the stand (56; of Castagnetta) and the fluid module (32; of Castagnetta) [it is be noted that the proposed modification involves modifying top end portion of Castagnetta’s components 180 and 40 (which are part of the fluid module) for compatibility between Castagnetta’s fluid module and Carideo’s drive module; thus, Carideo’s static interface is above a connection between Castagnetta’s stand and Castagnetta’s fluid module; Further, it is obvious that a motor used to drive the pump will have to be mounted on top of pump module 32, and from at least figures 1-4 of Castagnetta, it is clear that the static connection between the electric motor and pump’s component 180 will be above stand 56].
In reference to claim 2, Castagnetta, as modified by Carideo in claim 1, teaches the transfer pump, wherein the drive module (22; of Carideo) is mountable to the fluid module (32; of Castagnetta) in a plurality of orientations such that a drive housing (see fig. 1 of Carideo: for instance, drive housing is viewed as formed by 12+16) of the drive module extends in a different radial direction relative to the pump axis in each of the plurality of orientations [Carideo’s drive module 22 can be oriented at 12’o clock position or 9’o clock position].
In reference to claim 3, Castagnetta, as modified by Carideo in claim 2, teaches the transfer pump, wherein the plurality of orientations includes two different orientations that are 180 degrees around a vertical axis relative to each other [see fig. 1 of Castagnetta: in the modified transfer pump; “first orientation” = orientation of the pump 20 seen in fig. 3 (wherein fluid module is of Castagnetta and drive module is of Carideo which is viewed as extending in a manner such that it is away in ← direction from a rim of the bucket 24); “second orientation” = orientation of the pump 20 seen in fig. 2 (wherein fluid module is of Castagnetta and drive module is of Carideo which is viewed as extending in a manner such that it is away in → direction from a rim of the bucket 24 (seen in fig. 3); thus these two orientations are 180 degrees around a vertical axis relative to each other].
In reference to claim 5, Castagnetta, as modified by Carideo in claim 1, teaches the transfer pump, wherein the drive module (22; of Carideo) and fluid module (32; of Castagnetta) are disconnectable such that the fluid module can be completely disconnected from the drive module [see discussion above with respect to “mountable and dismountable” feature in claim 1].
In reference to claim 10, Castagnetta, as modified by Carideo in claim 1, teaches the transfer pump, wherein:
the fluid module (32; of Castagnetta) further comprises:
a mounting frame (40; see figs. 1-3 of Castagnetta);
a cylinder (58; see fig. 1 of Castagnetta) extending from the mounting frame in a first axial direction (downward direction) along the pump axis;
the at least one receiver (portion defining holes 86 seen in fig. 11 of Carideo) extending from the mounting frame (in the modified pump, as discussed above in claim 1, Castagnetta’s component 40 is considered to be modified for providing of Carideo’s feature 86 so that the static interface is formed between Carideo’s drive module and Castagnetta’s fluid module);
the drive module (22 or 18+12+16; of Carideo) further comprises (see figs. 10-11 of Carideo):
a drive mount (18/12) having the at least one post (88) extending from the drive mount;
wherein the at least one post (88) is configured to extend into the at least one receiver (86) to form the static interface.
In reference to claim 11, Castagnetta, as modified by Carideo in claim 1, teaches the transfer pump (see figs. 10-11 of Carideo), wherein the at least one post (88) extends into the at least one receiver (86) from a first end (inner end in view of fig. 11) of the at least one receiver (86) with the drive module disposed in a first mounting orientation [first mounting orientation being an orientation of the drive module when posts happens to enter (inner opening) of their corresponding holes 86] of a plurality of mounting orientations, and wherein the at least one post (88) extends into the at least one receiver (86) from a second end (outer end) of the at least one receiver (86) with the drive module disposed in a second mounting orientation [second mounting orientation being an orientation of the drive module when posts happens to completely pass through their corresponding holes 86 in view of assembled state shown in fig. 10] of the plurality of mounting orientations.
In reference to claim 13, Castagnetta, as modified by Carideo in claim 1, teaches the transfer pump, wherein the fluid module (32; of Castagnetta) further comprises (see figs. 1-2 of Castagnetta):
a mounting frame (40);
a cylinder (58) extending from the mounting frame in a first axial direction (↓) along the pump axis (vertical axis);
a first stand mount (labelled “r1” in fig. A below) extending (in radial direction) from the mounting frame (40);
a second stand mount (labelled “r2” in fig. A below) extending (in radial direction) from the mounting frame (40);
the stand (56) connectable to the mounting frame at each of the first stand mount and the second stand mount (by use of fasteners 278) and configured to interface with the surface (ground) to support the transfer pump on the surface.
Fig. A: Edited fig. 2 of Castagnetta to show claim interpretation.
In reference to claim 15, Castagnetta, as modified by Carideo in claim 1, teaches the transfer pump, further comprising (see Carideo, figs. 10-11): a crank (118; see ¶77, ¶56 and ¶57) configured to receive a rotational output from the electric motor and provide the reciprocating mechanical motion to the reciprocating pump as a reciprocating linear motion; wherein the crank includes the drive link (coupler 94) having a receiving slot (98), the drive link configured to reciprocate on the pump axis; wherein the reciprocating pump has a head (92) configured to be received in the receiving slot to form the dynamic interface between the head and the receiving slot.
In reference to claim 16, Castagnetta, as modified by Carideo in claim 1, teaches the transfer pump, wherein the fluid module (32; of Castagnetta) does not include electronic components [Castagnetta does not disclose presence of any electronic sensors or components in the asserted fluid module 32].
In reference to claim 17, Castagnetta, as modified by Carideo in claim 1, teaches the transfer pump, wherein the drive module (22; of Carideo) is configured to be shifted radially towards the fluid module (32; of Castagnetta) from multiple directions to form the static interface and the dynamic interface [the drive module is capable of being shifted in claimed manner in view of cylindrical nature of head/collar 92 (see fig. 11 of Carideo)].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castagnetta in view of Carideo and evidenced by Sulzer, Christopher (US 2018/0030967 – herein after Sulzer) and Halladay, Grant (US 3,502,029 – herein after Halladay).
Castagnetta, as modified by Carideo in claim 3, teaches the transfer pump wherein the drive module comprises a power module [inherent feature: there exists a power source (electric cable) to power the electric motor in the drive module; this is further evidenced by Sulzer in fig. 8].
Castagnetta, as modified, remains silent on the transfer pump with: “the power module being positioned directly over the material supply in a first of the two different orientations and the power module not being positioned directly over the material supply in a second of the two different orientations”.
However, as evidenced by Halladay, the positioning of “power module” relative to the material supply (fluid tank/bucket) is dependent on an orientation of the drive module relative to the material supply (i.e. bucket). Halladay shows (see fig. 1/2/4) a power module (275a+278+279) located on a drive module (module coupled to the opening of a bucket) such that it is positioned directly over (see components 278, 279) a bucket (material supply) in one of the orientations of the drive module,
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have “the power module being positioned directly over the material supply in a first of the two different orientations and the power module not being positioned directly over the material supply in a second of the two different orientations” in the modified Castagnetta’s pump as a matter of design choice since such a modification would have involved a rearrangement of parts. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castagnetta in view of Carideo further in view of Plantard et al. (US 2020/0232456 – herein after Plantard).
Castagnetta, as modified by Carideo in claim 1, does not teach the transfer pump wherein the drive module includes a handle.
However, Plantard teaches a similar transfer pump, wherein the drive module includes a handle (U-shaped handle seen in fig. 1) formed at a top of a drive housing (housing on which the handle is provided) of the drive module, and wherein a center of gravity of the transfer pump extends through the handle [when an object is suspended from any single point (in this case “handle”), its center of gravity lies directly beneath that point].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a handle as taught by Plantard on the drive module in the modified transfer pump of Castagnetta and Carideo for the well-known purpose of allowing one to easily carry or move the disassembled drive module around.
Claims 18 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castagnetta et al. (US 2008/0292481 – herein after Castagnetta) in view of Akerele-Ale et al. (US 2021/0369946 – herein after Akerele).
In reference to claim 18, Castagnetta teaches a transfer pump (20, see fig. 1) configured to (see ¶1 and fig. 3) pump a material (mastic) from a bucket (24) having an annular lip defining an opening into the bucket, the transfer pump comprising:
a fluid module (32; see ¶37 and fig. 1) configured to (see ¶3) extend at least partially into the bucket (24) to contact the material (mastic) within the bucket, the fluid module including a reciprocating pump (as evident from fig. 1) having a piston (44) configured to reciprocate along a pump axis (vertical axis in view of fig. 1) to pump the material, and the fluid module including a pump outlet (258, see fig. 13) through which material is output from the reciprocating pump;
a drive module (actuator or handle 48; see ¶37) removably mounted to the fluid module (32) by a static interface (interface formed by fulcrum 288; see ¶48 and fig. 4) and a dynamic interface (interface between 232 and 180; see fig. 4), wherein the drive module (48) is structurally supported by the fluid module (32) at the static interface [fulcrum 288 is connected to pump head 40 and the stand 56 is connected to the fluid module 32; thus, the asserted drive module is structurally supported by the fluid module at the static interface] and wherein the drive module (48) transmits reciprocating mechanical motion to the fluid module to cause pumping at the dynamic interface (interface between 232 and 180; see fig. 4), the dynamic interface is formed by a head (180) disposed within a receiving slot (slot within component 232), the drive module configured to displace the piston by the head and the receiving slot, and the dynamic interface is broken with the head removed from the receiving slot (when the unlabeled pin at the asserted dynamic interface is removed);
a stand (56) directly connected (as evident from figs. 1-4) to the fluid module (32) and spaced radially (spaced in ← direction in view of fig. 1) from the pump axis (↨ in view of fig. 1) of the fluid module such that the stand is disposed outside of the bucket (24) with the fluid module extending into the bucket (see fig. 3), the stand configured to interface with a surface (ground surface) outside of the bucket to support the transfer pump on the surface (see fig. 3);
wherein the fluid module (32) does not include electronic components [Castagnetta does not disclose presence of any electronic sensors or components in the asserted fluid module 32];
wherein the static interface and the dynamic interface are configured to be broken by shifting the drive module radially away from the pump axis (the asserted static and dynamic interfaces are capable of being broken in claimed manner when the fastening components, such as pin at the dynamic interface and pin at a connection between 288 and 40, are uncoupled); and
wherein the drive module (48) is disposed above (as evident from fig. 1) a connection between the stand (56) and the fluid module (32), the drive module (48) is disposed (in view of drive module’s position seen in fig. 1 or fig. 2) fully above the pump outlet (258, see fig. 13), and (in view of figs. 1-2 and 13) at least a portion of the pump outlet (258) is disposed vertically between the static interface (288) and the connection between the stand (56) and the fluid module (32).
Castagnetta does not teach the transfer pump, “wherein the drive module includes electronic components of the transfer pump such that the electronic components are separable from the fluid module by breaking the static interface and the dynamic interface”.
However, Akerele teaches a similar drive module (120, see fig. 1 and ¶66) wherein the drive module includes electronic components (display 136).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drive module in the transfer pump of Castagnetta for including electronic components as taught by Akerele for the purpose of providing operator with real-time data pertaining to the flow rate and total volume of the fluid pumped, as recognized by Akerele (see ¶66).
In reference to claim 24, Castagnetta teaches the transfer pump, wherein (see fig. 4) the piston (44) includes a head (in the form of rod 180) and a drive link (handle’s straight portion 232) includes the receiving slot (seen in fig. 4) configured to receive the head to form the dynamic interface (as discussed in claim 18).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is allowed as previously indicated in the last office action.
Also, as previously indicated in the last office action, claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 21 and 22 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior arts of record alone or in combination fails to specifically teach the transfer pump, “wherein the dynamic interface is formed within the drive cavity of the drive housing of the drive module and the static interface is disposed external to the drive housing of the drive module”, as in claim 21. Claim 22 depends on claim 21.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered:
Arguments with respect to claim 1: The amendment to independent claim 1 changed the scope of the claim. As a result, a new ground of rejection is presented for this claim in this Office Action over newly relied upon reference of Castagnetta. However, it is to be noted that Castagnetta and St. James (previously applied reference) are similar in nature. The relevant arguments are addressed below:
Argument with respect to the reference does not include any separate “fluid module” and “drive module” as recited in the claim: Examiner disagrees. This argument is similar to one addressed before and is not found to be persuasive for same reasons as discussed in the last Non-Final Action, dated 08/29/2025. Castagnetta or St. James teach these features. “Fluid module” = pump module and “Drive module” = Actuator (in the manual form in these references) that is operated to reciprocate the pumping element of the fluid module to pump fluid.
Argument with respect to the “static interface” location in view of the combination with Carideo: Examiner disagrees. As discussed above in the rejection, the proposed modification is viewed as modifying top end portion of Castagnetta’s components 180 and 40 (which are part of the fluid module) for compatibility between Castagnetta’s fluid module and Carideo’s drive module. It is to be noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify component 40 of Castagnetta for provision of Carideo’s features 86 for mounting of its drive module via static interface. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). It is not proposed to incorporate the set-up of Carideo into Castagnetta’s set-up. Whether or not the drive portion in Carideo is supported by a stand while the pump mounts and dismounts is inconsequential because it is only proposed to substitute the mechanical handle for an electric motor that would be connected to the fluid module. The electric motor would still be supported by the fluid module just as the mechanical handle.
Argument with respect to “drive module is disposed fully above the pump outlet” as recited in the claim: Examiner disagrees. If Castagnetta or James considered alone, then the “manual” drive module is considered to be disposed fully above the pump outlet (for instance, this is true when handle is in its top most position). In view of the proposed combination discussed above in claim 1 for Castagnetta and Carideo, the “electric” drive module would inherently obtain the claimed position with respect to Castagnetta’s outlet when the electric drive module is coupled to the fluid module by way of static and dynamic interfaces.
Argument with respect to the “product-by process” interpretation in the claim: The argument is moot in view of the amendment made to the independent claim 1.
Arguments with respect to the “the drive module is mountable to and dismountable from the fluid module while the fluid module is supported by the stand”: The argument is not new and was previously addressed. Thus, it is not found to be persuasive for same reasons as discussed in the last Non-Final Action, dated 08/29/2025.
Arguments with respect to claims 18 and 24: These arguments are moot. The amendment to independent claim 18 changed the scope of the claim. As a result, a new ground of rejection is presented for this claim in this Office Action.
Arguments with respect to claims 21 and 22: These arguments are moot since independent claim 21 is allowed as discussed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIRAG JARIWALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746