DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s response, received 28 April 2026, has been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Priority
This application claims benefit of 63/032,083, filed 29 May 2020.
Therefore, the effective filing date of the claimed invention is 29 May 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) received 27 January 2026 and 28 April 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The Applicant’s amendment received 28 April 2026 has been fully considered, however after further consideration, the claim interpretations in the Office action mailed 28 January 2026 are maintained with modification in view of the amendment. The claim interpretations are modified to incorporate the newly amended claim limitations, as noted below.
Claims 1 and 3 recite the limitations “…receive data of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs: one or more call rates indicating a percentage of sample locations with a quality score above a threshold and, a plurality of readouts of radiant signals from process probes during at least a first, pre-hybridization stage of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs in which sample DNA is in a liquid form, a second stage of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs in which sample DNA is hybridized to an image-generating chip, and a third stage of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs in which probe DNA is extended and the extension is labeled with a fluorescent label, wherein each process probe is configured to produce the radiant signals indicative of one or more processing conditions during the sample evaluation run.” These limitations are interpreted to recite product-by-process limitations with the products being the data of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs, i.e.,
the one or more call rates indicating a percentage of sample locations with a quality score above a threshold, and
the plurality of readouts of radiant signals from process probes,
and further interpreted to not require the active steps of performing the processes of producing the data (i.e., performing sample evaluation runs for genotyping).
Claim 13 recites the limitation “…generating data of (emphasis added) the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs.” This limitation is interpreted to recite an active step of generating new data from existing data, where the existing data is the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation run data.
Claims 13 recites the limitations “…generating data of (emphasis added; see claim interpretation above) the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs one or more call rates indicating a percentage of sample locations with a quality score above a threshold and, a plurality of readouts of radiant signals from process probes during at least a first, pre-hybridization stage of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs in which sample DNA is in a liquid form, a second stage of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs in which sample DNA is hybridized to an image-generating chip, and a third stage of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs in which probe DNA is extended and the extension is labeled with a fluorescent label, wherein each process probe is configured to produce the radiant signals indicative of one or more processing conditions during the sample evaluation run.” These limitations are interpreted to recite product-by-process limitations with the products being the data of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs, i.e.,
the one or more call rates indicating a percentage of sample locations with a quality score above a threshold, and
the plurality of readouts of radiant signals from process probes,
and further interpreted to not require the active steps of performing the processes of producing the data (i.e., performing sample evaluation runs for genotyping, e.g., a laboratory process (e.g., para. [0085] in the specification)).
Claims 2, 4, 14, 16, 18, and 20 further recite the limitations “the readouts from a first, pre-hybridization stage of the sample evaluation run in which sample DNA is in a liquid form, the readouts of one or more probes selected from a group consisting of: a plurality of first readouts from process probes configured to respond to non-human bacterial DNA not present in human DNA and produce signals meeting a predetermined threshold indicative of contamination of the sample by non-human bacterial DNA, and a plurality of second readouts from four complementary process probes configured to respond to extensions of target bases at non-polymorphic sites of common human sample sequences, and produce radiant signals meeting a predetermined threshold indicative of good extensions for each of four complementary extension reagents, and combinations thereof.” These limitations are interpreted to recite product-by-process limitations with the product being the data, i.e.,
the readouts from process probes,
and further interpreted to not require the active steps of performing the processes of producing the data (i.e., performing sample evaluation runs for genotyping, e.g., a laboratory process (e.g., para. [0085] in the specification)).
Claims 2, 4, 14, 16, 18, and 20 further recite the limitations “the readouts from a second stage of the sample evaluation run in which sample DNA is hybridized to an image-generating chip, the readouts of one or more probes selected from a group consisting of: a plurality of third readouts from process probes configured to respond to a common sequence known as wild-type allele in a human sample and produce high radiant signals according to a predetermined threshold indicative of good sample composition and binding conditions, a plurality of fourth readouts from process probes comprising mismatched complementary bases configured to respond to a common sequence in a human sample by binding weakly, resulting in separation of the common sequence from the probes with the mismatched complementary bases, and producing approximately background level radiant signals not exceeding a predetermined threshold, and combinations thereof, and a plurality of fifth readouts from process probes configured to respond to synthetic sequences mixed with reagent in high, medium, and low concentration levels and respectively produce high, medium, and low radiant signals according to respective predetermined thresholds indicative of good reagent delivery.” These limitations are interpreted to recite product-by-process limitations with the product being the data, i.e.,
the readouts from process probes,
and further interpreted to not require the active steps of performing the processes of producing the data (i.e., performing sample evaluation runs for genotyping, e.g., a laboratory process (e.g., para. [0085] in the specification)).
Claims 2, 4, 14, 16, 18, and 20 further recite the limitations “the readouts from a third stage of the sample evaluation run in which probe DNA is extended and the extension is labeled with a fluorescent label, the readouts from one or more probes selected from a group consisting of: a plurality of sixth readouts from process probes comprising a hairpin complementary sequence configured to respond to chemicals mixed in reagent for performing single-base extensions, wherein the process probes are configured to produce radiant signals indicative of good conditions for single base extensions, a plurality of seventh readouts from process probes configured to block extensions on a 3' end of probe sequences, such that synthetic targets mixed in reagent and extensions of the synthetic targets are removed after extension and staining, and to produce low radiant signals indicative of good conditions for target removal, and a plurality of eighth readouts from process probes covered with chemicals configured to bind fluorescent labels mixed in reagent, wherein the process probes are configured to produce high radiant signals indicative of a good quality staining process, and combinations thereof.” These limitations are interpreted to recite product-by-process limitations with the product being the data, i.e.,
the data of the readouts from process probes,
and further interpreted to not require the active steps of performing the processes of producing the data (i.e., performing sample evaluation runs for genotyping, e.g., a laboratory process (e.g., para. [0085] in the specification)).
Claims 15, 17, and 19 recite the limitations “a training set of sample evaluation runs, the training set including one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs that produced inconclusive results for samples, followed by an additional sample evaluation run, receive training data for each of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs comprising one or more call rates indicating a percentage of sample locations with a quality score above a threshold and a plurality of readouts of radiant signals from process probes during at least a first, pre-hybridization stage of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs in which sample DNA is in a liquid form, a second stage of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs in which sample DNA is hybridized to an image-generating chip, and a third stage of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs in which probe DNA is extended and the extension is labeled with a fluorescent label, wherein each process probe is configured to produce the radiant signals indicative of one or more processing conditions during the sample evaluation runs; wherein training data for each of the additional sample evaluation runs comprises one or more ground truth indicators of a conclusive or inconclusive result.” These limitations are interpreted recite product-by-process limitations with the product being:
the training data for each of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs, and the additional sample evaluation run,
and further interpreted to not require the active steps of performing the processes of producing the data (i.e., performing sample evaluation runs for genotyping to generate the training data, e.g., a laboratory process (e.g., para. [0085] in the specification)).
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments received 28 April 2026 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
The Applicant states on pages 21-22 of the Remarks that contrary to the claim interpretations set forth in the Office action, claims 1-20 are not product-by-process claims. The Applicant points to Purdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma (Fed. Cir. 2016) and further states that, properly applied, a product-by-process claim is a product claim that defines the claimed product in terms of the process by which it is made. The Applicant points to the MPEP at 2173.05(p) and further states that a claim to a device, apparatus, manufacture, or composition of matter may contain a reference to the process in which it is intended to be used without being objectionable under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, so long as it is clear that the claim is directed to the product and not the process. The Applicant summarizes aspects of the Office action (p. 3, of the Office action mailed 28 January 2026) and further states that the Office action does not take the position that the claims are directed to the data as the product, and further states that to the contrary, the Office action takes the position that the alleged product-by-process limitations are embedded within the overall CRM, system, and method claims, and neglects to identify the claimed elements of the process by which the identified product is generated (i.e., made). The Applicant further states that the Office action appears to take the position that the claims do not require the active steps of performing the sample evaluation run to generate the one or more call rates and the plurality of radiant signals from process probes. Finally, the Applicant states that the Applicant requests that the Office identify the claimed elements of the process in each of the alleged product-by-process claims.
These arguments not persuasive, because first, as discussed in the response to arguments in the Office action mailed 28 January 2026, the claims are interpreted to recite product-by-process limitations that are embedded within the overall CRM, system, and method claims, as noted and discussed in the “Claim Interpretation” sections in the Office actions of record, as well as the “Claim Interpretation” section in the present Office action. Second, regarding the Applicant’s attempt to analogize the instant claims with Purdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma (Fed. Cir. 2016), it is noted that the fact patterns differ, not least in that the instant claims are interpreted to recite product-by-process limitations within the claims as a whole, i.e., the data received by the processor in independent claim 1, for example, is a data product comprising information of the differences in the genetic make-up (i.e., genotype) of an individual, and further interpreted to not require the active steps of performing the processes of producing the product (i.e., the data), as discussed above. Third, the “Claim Interpretation” section of the Office actions of record as well as the current Office action clearly present a claim-by-claim analysis of the limitations identified as a product and the limitations identified as being part of an earlier process of producing the product(s), thus resulting in the product-by-process interpretations. Fourth, the instant claims do not appear to recite a system or method for performing a genotyping production process to generate genotype data, and therefore the Applicant is invited to provide clarity to the record with regard to the limitations that recite active steps of performing a genotyping assay that produces the data received by the processor for input to the trained classifier, e.g., as in claim 1. Fifth, as noted in the MPEP at 2113 subsection I., even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself (i.e., the data, in the instant claims), and does not depend on its method of production. In the instant claims, the CRM (claims 1 and 15), the system including one or more processor coupled to memory (claims 3 and 17), and the method of scoring (claims 13 and 19), are directed to using a classifier and/or training a classifier to analyze previously generated data, i.e., the call rates and readouts. The product-by-process limitations that are embedded within the CRM (claims 1 and 15), the system including one or more processor coupled to memory (claims 3 and 17), and the method of scoring (claims 13 and 19) claims define the product (i.e., the data used by the classifier and/or to train the classifier) in terms of the process used to create it, which meets the definition of a product that is defined by the process steps by which the product is made (MPEP 2113 I.). Sixth, the MPEP does not exclude “data” as a product. The various examples provided in MPEP 2113 I. are merely examples and are not limiting of the subject matter that can be considered as a product-by-process limitation.
Claim Objections
The objections to claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 16, 18, and 20 in the Office action mailed 28 January 2026 are withdrawn in view of the amendment received 28 April 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, in the Office action mailed 28 January 2026 is withdrawn in view of the amendment received 28 April 2026.
The Applicant’s amendment received 28 April 2026 has been fully considered, however after further consideration, new grounds of rejection are raised under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, in view of the amendment.
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claims 1, 3, 13, 15, and 17 recite “receive” / “receiving” “operator selection whether to conduct the additional sample evaluation run of the sample,” however, the specification does not disclose a step of “receive” / “receiving” “operator selection whether to conduct the additional sample evaluation run of the sample.” The specification provides support for a classifier outputting a score to an operator to evaluate when determining whether to conduct an additional sample evaluation run of the sample (e.g., at para. [0091]), but does not provide support for receiving an operator selection, and therefore, this newly amended limitation appears to be a new scope not contemplated nor supported by the present specification.
Claims 2, 4-12, 14, 16, and 18 are rejected for depending from either claims 1, 3, 13, 15, and 17 and for failing to remedy the failure of the claim from which the depend to comply with the written description requirement.
The Applicant’s amendment received 28 April 2026 has been fully considered, however after further consideration, new grounds of rejection are raised under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, in view of the amendment.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 is indefinite for reciting “generating data of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs” because it is not clear as to whether the active step of “generating data” is a step of deriving new data from existing data, i.e., the data of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs (i.e., that was being received in the previous claim set), or alternatively, if the active step of “generating data” is actually generating the genotyping data from the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs, i.e., the “generating data” step is actually performing the process steps of a genotyping assay. This limitation is interpreted to mean that new data is being derived, synthesized, or extracted from existing data of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs, e.g., normalization of the data of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs, e.g., to account for signal noise.
Claim 14 is indefinite for depending from claim 13 and for failing to remedy the indefiniteness of claim 13.
Claim 13 further recites the limitation "the received one or more call rates and the plurality of readouts" in line fourteen. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because claim 13 previously recites a step of “generating data” but does not recite a step of receiving data.
Claim 14 is indefinite for depending from claim 13 and for failing to remedy the indefiniteness of claim 13.
Claim 13 is further indefinite for reciting “generating, from the received one or more call rates and the plurality of readouts input into the trained classifier, at least a retry success confidence score…” at lines nineteen and twenty, because the claim does not recite a step of receiving data, as noted above.
Claim 14 is indefinite for depending from claim 13 and for failing to remedy the indefiniteness of claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The Applicant’s amendment received 28 April 2026 has been fully considered, however after further consideration, the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 in the Office action mailed 28 January 2026 is maintained with modification in view of the amendment. The rejection of claims 1-20 is modified to incorporate the newly amended claim limitations, as noted below.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites: (a) mental processes, i.e., concepts performed in the human mind (e.g., observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion); and (b) mathematical concepts (e.g., mathematical relationships, formulas or equations, mathematical calculations).
Claim Interpretations
Independent claims 1, 3, and 13 are interpreted as reciting product-by-process limitations with the product being the data from one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs (i.e., the one or more call rates and the plurality of readouts of radiant signals) and further interpreted to not recite active steps of performing the process of producing the data from the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs (e.g., performing genotyping assays).
Independent claims 15, 17, and 19 are interpreted as reciting product-by-process limitations with the product being the data (i.e., the training data) for assembling a training set of sample evaluation runs comprising one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs that produced inconclusive results for samples, followed by an additional sample evaluation run, and receiving training data for each of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluations (i.e., the one or more call rates and the plurality of readouts of radiant signals) and further interpreted to not recite active steps of performing the process of producing the training data from the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs (e.g., performing genotyping assays).
See the foregoing Claim Interpretations section for further in-depth analysis of the product-by-process interpretations.
Claims 1, 3, and 13 are further interpreted to recite a product-by-process limitation with the product being a trained classifier, and further interpreted to not recite active steps of performing the process of producing the product (e.g., performing steps of training a classifier).
Claim 13 recites “generating data of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs.” This limitation is interpreted to mean that new data is being derived, synthesized, or extracted from existing data of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs, e.g., normalization of the data of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs, e.g., to account for signal noise.
Subject matter eligibility evaluation in accordance with MPEP 2106.
Eligibility Step 1: Step 1 of the eligibility analysis asks: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Claims 1 and 2 are directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium and a processor (i.e., a machine or a manufacture); claims 3-12 are directed to a system including one or more processors coupled to memory (i.e., a machine or a manufacture); claims 13 and 14 are directed to a method (i.e., a process); claims 15 and 16 are directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium and a processor (i.e., a machine or a manufacture); claims 17 and 18 are directed to a system including one or more processors coupled to memory (i.e., a machine or a manufacture); and claims 19 and 20 are directed to a method (i.e., a process).
Therefore, these claims are encompassed by the categories of statutory subject matter, and thus, satisfy the subject matter eligibility requirements under step 1.
[Step 1: YES]
Eligibility Step 2A: First it is determined in Prong One whether a claim recites a judicial exception, and if so, then it is determined in Prong Two whether the recited judicial exception is integrated into a practical application of that exception.
Eligibility Step 2A: Prong One: In determining whether a claim is directed to a judicial exception, examination is performed that analyzes whether the claim recites a judicial exception, i.e., whether a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract idea is set forth or described in the claim.
Independent claims 1, 3, and 13 recite the following steps which fall within the mental processes and/or mathematical concepts groupings of abstract ideas:
data indicating a percentage of sample locations with a quality score above a threshold (i.e., mental processes);
data of radiant signals from process probes during at least a first, pre-hybridization stage of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs in which sample DNA is in a liquid form, a second stage of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs in which sample DNA is hybridized to an image-generating chip, and a third stage of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs in which probe DNA is extended and the extension is labeled with a fluorescent label, wherein each process probe is configured to produce the radiant signals indicative of one or more processing conditions during the sample evaluation run (i.e., mental processes);
a classifier trained to predict retry success confidence scores based, at least in part, on corresponding call rate and readout data from one or more different inconclusive sample evaluation runs, wherein the retry success confidence scores indicate whether an additional sample evaluation run will produce a conclusive result for the sample (i.e., mental processes and mathematical concepts) (for example use of known statistical analysis as ‘support vector machines (SVM), deep learning-based approaches, gradient boosted trees, logistic regression, K- nearest neighbor, decision trees, Naive Bayes, perceptron, and convolutional neural networks’ in [0034]); and
generate/generating, from the received one or more call rates and the plurality of readouts input into the trained classifier, at least a retry success confidence score indicative of whether the additional sample evaluation run of the sample will produce the conclusive result (i.e., mental processes and mathematical concepts).
Independent claim 13 further recites the following steps which fall within the mental processes and/or mathematical concepts groupings of abstract ideas:
generating data of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs (i.e., mental processes).
Independent claims 15, 17, and 19 recite the following steps which fall within the mental processes and/or mathematical concepts groupings of abstract ideas:
assemble/assembling a training set of sample evaluation runs, the training set including one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs that produced inconclusive results for samples, followed by an additional sample evaluation run (i.e., mental processes and mathematical concepts);
data indicating a percentage of sample locations with a quality score above a threshold and (i.e., mental processes);
data of radiant signals from process probes during at least a first, pre-hybridization stage of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs in which sample DNA is in a liquid form, a second stage of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs in which sample DNA is hybridized to an image-generating chip, and a third stage of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs in which probe DNA is extended and the extension is labeled with a fluorescent label, wherein each process probe is configured to produce the radiant signals indicative of one or more processing conditions during the sample evaluation runs (i.e., mental processes);
training data for each of the additional sample evaluation runs comprises one or more ground truth indicators of a conclusive or inconclusive result (i.e., mental processes);
train/training a classifier, using the training data, to score whether an additional sample evaluation run for a particular sample is likely to produce the conclusive result (i.e., mental processes and mathematical concepts); and
determining whether to reevaluate production samples after one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs (i.e., mental processes).
Dependent claims 2, 4, 14, 16, 18, and 20 further recite the following steps which fall within the mental processes and/or mathematical concepts groupings of abstract ideas, as noted below. These claims are interpreted as reciting readouts of the genotyping assay signals that are the same product, i.e., data, of product-by-process limitations, as discussed in the foregoing claim interpretation sections. Therefore, dependent claims 2, 4, 14, 16, 18, and 20 are further defining the data that is received and input to a classifier in the independent claims, as noted below.
Dependent claims 2, 4, 14, 16, 18, and 20 further recite:
wherein the readouts are from types of process probes that include (i.e., mental processes of considering data):
the readouts from a first, pre-hybridization stage of the sample evaluation run in which sample DNA is in a liquid form, the readouts of one or more probes selected from a group consisting of (i.e., mental processes of considering data):
a plurality of first readouts from process probes configured to respond to non-human bacterial DNA not present in human DNA and produce signals indicative of contamination of the sample by non-human bacterial DNA (i.e., mental processes of considering data), and
a plurality of second readouts from four complementary process probes configured to respond to extensions of target bases at non-polymorphic sites of common human sample sequences, and produce radiant signals indicative of good extensions for each of four complementary extension reagents, and combinations thereof (i.e., mental processes of considering data);
the readouts from a second stage of the sample evaluation run in which sample DNA is hybridized to an image-generating chip, the readouts of one or more probes selected from a group consisting of (i.e., mental processes of considering data):
a plurality of third readouts from process probes configured to respond to a common sequence known as wild-type allele in a human sample and produce high radiant signals indicative of good sample composition and binding conditions (i.e., mental processes of considering data),
a plurality of fourth readouts from process probes comprising mismatched complementary bases configured to respond to a common sequence in a human sample by binding weakly, resulting in separation of the common sequence from the probes with the mismatched complementary bases, and producing approximately background level radiant signals, and combinations thereof (i.e., mental processes of considering data) and
a plurality of fifth readouts from process probes configured to respond to synthetic sequences mixed with reagent in high, medium, and low concentration levels and respectively produce high, medium, and low radiant signals indicative of good reagent delivery, and combinations thereof (i.e., mental processes of considering data); and
the readouts from a third stage of the sample evaluation run in which probe DNA is extended and the extension is labeled with a fluorescent label, the readouts from one or more probes selected from a group consisting of (i.e., mental processes of considering data):
a plurality of sixth readouts from process probes comprising a hairpin complementary sequence configured to respond to chemicals mixed in reagent for performing single-base extensions, wherein the process probes are configured to produce radiant signals indicative of good conditions for single base extensions (i.e., mental processes of considering data),
a plurality of seventh readouts from process probes configured to block extensions on a 3' end of probe sequences, such that synthetic targets mixed in reagent and extensions of the synthetic targets are removed after extension and staining, and to produce low radiant signals indicative of good conditions for target removal (i.e., mental processes of considering data), and
a plurality of eighth readouts from process probes covered with chemicals configured to bind fluorescent labels mixed in reagent, wherein the process probes are configured to produce high radiant signals indicative of a good quality staining process, and combinations thereof (i.e., mental processes of considering data).
Dependent claims 5-12 further recite the following steps which fall within the mental processes and/or mathematical concepts groupings of abstract ideas, as noted below. These claims are interpreted as reciting readouts of the genotyping assay signals that are the same product, i.e., data, of product-by-process limitations, as discussed in the foregoing claim interpretation sections. Therefore, dependent claims 5-12 are further defining the data that is received and input to a classifier in the independent claims, as noted below.
Dependent claim 5 further recites:
wherein one of the process probes from the first stage is configured respond to non-human contamination not present in human samples and produce radiant signals indicative of contamination of the sample by non-human sequences (i.e., mental processes of considering data).
Dependent claim 6 further recites:
wherein the process probes from the first stage include four complementary process probes configured to respond to extensions of target bases at non-polymorphic sites of common human sample sequences and produce radiant signals indicative of good extensions for each of four complementary extension reagents (i.e., mental processes of considering data).
Dependent claim 7 further recites:
wherein one of the process probes from the second stage is configured to respond to a common sequence known as wild-type allele in a human sample and produce high radiant signals indicative of good sample composition and binding conditions (i.e., mental processes of considering data).
Dependent claim 8 further recites:
wherein one of the process probes from the second stage includes mismatched complementary bases configured to respond to a common sequence in a human sample by binding weakly, resulting in separation of the common sequence from the probes with the mismatched complementary bases, and producing approximately background level radiant signals (i.e., mental processes of considering data).
Dependent claim 9 further recites:
wherein one of the process probes from the second stage is configured to respond to synthetic sequences mixed with reagent in high, medium, and low concentration levels and respectively produce high, medium, and low radiant signals indicative of good reagent delivery (i.e., mental processes of considering data).
Dependent claim 10 further recites:
wherein one of the process probes from the third stage comprises a hairpin complementary sequence configured to respond to chemicals mixed in reagent for performing single-base extensions, wherein the one of the process probes is configured to produce radiant signals indicative of good conditions for single base extensions (i.e., mental processes of considering data).
Dependent claim 11 further recites:
wherein one of the process probes from the third stage is configured to block extensions on a 3' end of probe sequences, such that synthetic targets mixed in reagent and extensions of the synthetic targets are removed after extension and staining, and to produce low radiant signals indicative of good conditions for target removal (i.e., mental processes of considering data).
Dependent claim 12 further recites:
wherein one of the process probes from the third stage is covered with chemicals configured to bind fluorescent labels mixed in reagent, wherein the one of the process probes is configured to produce high radiant signals indicative of a good quality staining process.
The abstract ideas recited in the claims are evaluated under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claim limitations when read in light of and consistent with the specification. As noted in the foregoing section, the claims are determined to contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind with the aid of a pen and paper, and therefore recite judicial exceptions from the mental process grouping of abstract ideas (e.g., evaluate the retry success confidence score). Furthermore, and as noted in the claim interpretations section above, the claims are interpreted to recite product-by-process limitations with the product being the data of the one or more call rates, and the data of the plurality of readouts of radiant signals generated from process probes, and thus the limitations reciting details on the stages of the evaluation run and the types of process probes used are limitations merely further defining the product (i.e., data). Additionally, the recited limitations that are identified as judicial exceptions from the mathematical concepts grouping of abstract ideas (e.g., training a classifier at paras. [00101] – [00117] in the Specification; and using a classifier to generate a confidence score at para. [0090]) are abstract ideas irrespective of whether or not the limitations are practical to perform in the human mind.
Therefore, claims 1-20 recite an abstract idea.
[Step 2A Prong One: YES]
Eligibility Step 2A Prong Two: In determining whether a claim is directed to a judicial exception, further examination is performed that analyzes if the claim recites additional elements that when examined as a whole integrates the judicial exception(s) into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)). A claim that integrates a judicial exception into a practical application will apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The claimed additional elements are analyzed to determine if the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)(I)). If the claim contains no additional elements beyond the abstract idea, the claim fails to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)(III)).
The judicial exceptions identified in Eligibility Step 2A Prong One are not integrated into a practical application because of the reasons noted below.
Dependent claims 4-12, 14, 18, and 20 do not recite any elements in addition to the judicial exception, and thus are part of the judicial exception.
The additional elements in independent claims 1, 3, 13, 15, 17, and 19 include:
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium and a processor (claims 1 and 15);
a system including one or more processors coupled to memory (claims 3 and 17);
receive data of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs (claims 1 and 3):
one or more call rates
a plurality of readouts
input data to classifier (claims 1, 3, and 13);
display/displaying at least the retry success confidence score to an operator (claims 1, 3, 13, 15, and 17);
receive/receiving an operator selection whether to conduct the additional sample evaluation run of the sample (claims 1, 3, 13, 15, and 17);
receive training data for each of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs (claims 15, 17, and 19) comprising
one or more call rates
a plurality of readouts
save/saving parameters of the trained classifier (claims 15, 17, and 19).
The additional elements in dependent claims 2 and 16 include:
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (claims 2 and 16).
The additional elements of a non-transitory computer readable storage medium and a processor (claims 1, 2, 15, and 16); and a system including one or more processors coupled to memory (claims 3 and 17); invoke a computer and/or computer-related components merely as tools for use in the claimed process, such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions using a generic computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)), and therefore are not an improvement to computer functionality itself, or an improvement to any other technology or technical field, and thus, do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)(1)).
The additional elements of receive/receiving data (claims 1, 3, 13, 15, 17, and 19); input/inputting data (claims 1, 3, and 13); display/displaying data (claims 1 and 3); and save/saving data (claims 15, 17, and 19); are merely pre-solution and/or post-solution activities used in the claimed process – nominal or tangential additions to the claims that do not meaningfully limit the claims, and therefore do not add more than insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exceptions (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Thus, the additionally recited elements merely invoke a computer as a tool, and as such, when all limitations in claims 1-20 have been considered as a whole, (i.e., the analysis takes into consideration all the claim limitations and how those limitations interact and impact each other when evaluating whether the exception is integrated into a practical application), the claims are deemed to not recite any additional elements that would integrate a judicial exception into a practical application, and therefore claims 1-20 are directed to an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(d)).
[Step 2A Prong Two: NO]
Eligibility Step 2B: Because the claim recites an abstract idea, and does not integrate that abstract idea into a practical application, the claim is probed for a specific inventive concept. The judicial exception alone cannot provide that inventive concept or practical application (MPEP 2106.05). Identifying whether the additional elements beyond the abstract idea amount to such an inventive concept requires considering the additional elements individually and in combination to determine if they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05A i-vi).
The claims do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception(s) because of the reasons noted below.
Dependent claims 4-12, 14, 18, and 20 do not recite any elements in addition to the judicial exception. The additional elements recited in independent claims 1, 3, 13, 15, 17, and 19 and dependent claims 2 and 16 are identified above, and carried over from Step 2A: Prong Two along with their conclusions for analysis at Step 2B. Any additional element or combination of elements that was considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity at Step 2A: Prong Two was re-evaluated at Step 2B, because if such re-evaluation finds that the element is unconventional or otherwise more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, this finding may indicate that the additional element is no longer considered to be insignificant; and all additional elements and combination of elements were evaluated to determine whether any additional elements or combination of elements are other than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, or simply append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, per MPEP 2106.05(d).
The additional elements of a non-transitory computer readable storage medium and a processor (claims 1, 2, 15, and 16); and a system including one or more processors coupled to memory (claims 3 and 17); are conventional computer components and/or functions (see MPEP at 2106.05(b) and 2106.05(d)(II) regarding conventionality of computer components and computer processes).
The additional elements of receive/receiving data (claims 1, 3, 13, 15, 17, and 19); input/inputting data (claims 1, 3, and 13); display/displaying data (claims 1, 3, 13, 15, and 17); and save/saving data (claims 15, 17, and 19); are merely pre-solution and/or post-solution activities used in the claimed process – nominal or tangential additions to the claims that do not add more than insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exceptions, and therefore do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions (i.e., do not amount to an inventive concept) (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Therefore, when taken alone (i.e., individually), all additional elements in claims 1-20 do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception(s). Even when evaluated as an ordered combination, the additional elements fail to transform the exception(s) into a patent-eligible application of that exception. Thus, claims 1-20 are deemed to not contribute an inventive concept, i.e., amount to significantly more than the judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05(II)).
[Step 2B: NO]
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments/remarks received 28 April 2026 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
The Applicant states on page 23 of the Remarks that in the interest of advancing prosecution, the Applicant has made two amendments to the claims in an attempt to address certain issues raised in the Office action (mailed 28 January 2026). The Applicant states that first, each of independent claims 1, 3, 13, 15, and 17 have been amended to recite “receive”/ “receiving” “an operator selection whether to conduct the additional sample evaluation run of the sample.” The Applicant points to the MPEP with regard to post-solution activity, and further states that, here, as set forth in the disclosure (e.g., paras. [0156] & [0162]), “operator selection” is an integral step in the practical application of a determined retry success score.
These arguments are not persuasive, because the limitation of receiving an operator selection of whether to conduct the additional sample evaluation run is a step of receiving data (i.e., information) and therefore, is merely a post-solution activity of receiving data – a nominal or tangential addition to the claims that does not meaningfully limit the claims, and therefore does not add more than insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exceptions (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The Applicant states on page 24 of the Remarks that with regard to the second amendment to the claims, independent claim 13 has been amended to recite “generating” rather than “receiving” “data of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs ….” The Applicant further states that this amendment is made to address the perceived issue with alleged product-by-process limitations of the claims raised under Step 1, Prong One, and further states that with the amendments to claim 13, it cannot be gainsaid that the generating step is more than “merely further defining the [data] product,” as alleged, nor can it be gainsaid that the step is more than a mere “pre-solution” step, as alleged in connection with Step 2A, Prong Two.
These arguments are not persuasive, at least in view of the claim interpretation provided in the above rejection, which results in the amended limitation being identified as a judicial exception at Step 2A Prong One.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Applicant’s amendment received 28 April 2026 has been fully considered, however after further consideration, the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schofl et al. (“2.7 million samples genotyped for HLA by next generation sequencing: lessons learned.” BMC Genomics, 2017, Vol. 18:61, pp. 1-16, as cited in the Office action mailed 28 January 2026, hereinafter “Schofl 2017”) in view of Schofl et al. (“Prediction of spurious HLA class II typing results using probabilistic classification.” Human Immunology, 2016, Vol. 77, pp. 264-272, as cited in the Office action mailed 28 January 2026, hereinafter “Schofl 2016”) in view of Illumina (Evaluation of Infinium Genotyping Assay Controls Training Guide, 2012, pp. 1-31, as cited in the Office action mailed 26 March 2025, and as cited in the Information Disclosure Statement received 02 November 2021).
Claim Interpretations
Independent claims 1, 3, and 13 recite the limitation “predict retry success confidence scores… wherein the retry success confidence scores indicate whether an additional sample evaluation run will produce a conclusive result for the sample.” This limitation is interpreted as a decision between acquiring a new sample (i.e., the retry success confidence score indicates that an additional sample evaluation run will not produce a conclusive result for the sample) or else performing repeat testing of the same sample (i.e., the retry success confidence score indicates that an additional sample evaluation run will produce a conclusive result for the sample) (for example, see para. [0084] in the Specification).
Independent claims 15, 17, and 19 recite “…to score whether an additional sample evaluation run for a particular sample is likely to produce the conclusive result.” This limitation is interpreted in accordance with the foregoing claim interpretation for claims 1, 3, and 13.
Claim 13 recites “generating data of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs.” This limitation is interpreted to mean that new data is being derived, synthesized, or extracted from existing data of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs, e.g., normalization of the data of the one or more inconclusive sample evaluation runs, e.g., to account for signal noise.
Independent claims 1, 3, and 13 are broadly directed to a computer-readable medium, a system, and a method for using a trained machine learning model to analyze genotyping data of inconclusive laboratory results in order to predict the likely success or failure of a genotyping production process reevaluation rerun.
Independent claims 15, 17, and 19 are broadly directed to training the machine learning model used in independent claims 1, 3, and 13.
Dependent claims 2, 4, 14, 16, 18, and 20, and dependent claims 5-12 further define attributes embodied by the data used in the independent claims.
Schofl 2017 shows genotyping over 2 million samples (page 2, col. 2, paras. 2-4) and that on occasion, the initial genotyping attempt fails to meet quality standards and the affected sample has to be reanalyzed, and that this can affect either individual loci or the entire sample, with a full sample repeat typing including a second DNA extraction being triggered if the initial DNA concentration is less than 2 ng/μl or more than 4 HLA loci fail to produce credible results (page 9, col. 1, bottom, through col. 2, para. 1).
Schofl 2017 further shows that several common factors may trigger repeat typing of an individual locus, such as technical concerns including too low total read numbers, too few reads on target, or heavy imbalances across alleles, and that other causes for concern are the presence of more alleles than expected, which might be a result of one or more of many factors such as PCR chimerism, sample contamination, co-amplification of closely related loci, misamplification or sequencing errors, and further shows that an analysis must also be repeated if the genotyping software fails to construct a genotype, which may occur for benign reasons (e.g., a novel allelic sequence is encountered) or be a result of stochastic allelic dropouts during PCR, and more insidiously, allelic dropouts may remain “silent”, i.e., be technically valid but erroneous homozygous or even heterozygous genotypes may arise (page 9, col. 2, para. 2).
Schofl 2017 further shows that machine learning techniques are employed to help identify “implausible” genotypes that warrant repeated analyses to check their validity (Ibid.); and repeat genotyping runs are automatically suggested by the genotyping software based on conservative thresholds for quality metrics (page 9, col. 2, para. 3).
Schofl 2017 does not show using a trained classifier to predict typing results (claims 1, 3, and 13); training a classifier to predict typing results (claims 15, 17, and 19); a plurality of readouts of radiant signals from process probes during at least a first, pre-hybridization stage of the sample evaluation run in which sample DNA is in a liquid form, a second stage of the sample evaluation run in which sample DNA is hybridized to an image-generating chip, and a third stage of the sample evaluation run in which probe DNA is extended and the extension is labeled with a fluorescent label (claims 1, 3, 13, 15, 17, and 19); or readouts generated from process probes as recited in dependent claims 2, 4, 14, 16, 18, and 20, and dependent claims 5-12.
Schofl 2016 shows prediction of spurious HLA class II typing results using probabilistic classification (Title; and Abstract); training and using probabilistic classifiers (binary logistic regression and random forest models) to detect spurious typing results (Abstract); and further shows that it is expedient to reduce the number of necessary replicate genotyping as far as possible by specifically identifying likely unreliable genotypes in a largely automatic fashion (page 265, col. 1, para. 3).
Schofl 2017 in view of Schofl 2016 does not show a plurality of readouts of radiant signals from process probes during at least a first, pre-hybridization stage of the sample evaluation run in which sample DNA is in a liquid form, a second stage of the sample evaluation run in which sample DNA is hybridized to an image-generating chip, and a third stage of the sample evaluation run in which probe DNA is extended and the extension is labeled with a fluorescent label (claims 1, 3, 13, 15, 17, and 19); or readouts generated from process probes as recited in dependent claims 2, 4, 14, 16, 18, and 20, and dependent claims 5-12.
Illumina shows a training guide for the evaluation of Infinium genotyping assay controls (Title); sorting samples by call rate (Figure 2); and evaluating the assay controls based on relative intensities of readout signals (Figure 5).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 13, 15, 17, and 19, the plurality of readouts of radiant signals from process probes are interpreted to be the same product, i.e., data, of product-by-process limitations that are interpreted to not recite active steps of performing genotyping assays using specific process probes, as noted in the claim interpretation section above.
Illumina further shows an overview of the Infinium genotyping assay protocol and steps where built-in controls come into play (Figure 1, which corresponds to FIG. 8 in the instant drawings and para. [0077] in the Specification), e.g., sample independent controls (shown in blue) and sample dependent controls (shown in red), and further shows that sample-independent controls evaluate BeadChip and reagent performance, efficiency of hybridization, and the staining process, and include staining controls, extension controls, target removal controls, and hybridization controls (page 6, paras. 1-2); whereas the sample dependent controls are used to evaluate sample quality and performance, and include stringency controls, non-specific binding controls, and non-polymorphic controls, wherein the sample-dependent stringency and non-polymorphic control probes specifically target human DNA (page 6, para. 3).
Regarding independent claim 13, Illumina further shows that signal noise is normal and can be accounted for by data normalization (page 7, para. 2) (i.e., deriving new data from existing data).
Regarding dependent claims 2, 4, 14, 16, 18, and 20, and dependent claims 5-12, the readouts of the genotyping assay signals are interpreted to be the same product, i.e., data, of product-by-process limitations that are interpreted to not recite active steps of performing genotyping assays using specific process probes, as noted in the claim interpretation section above.
Illumina further shows using sample independent process control probes to evaluate chip performance that are informative of efficiency of hybridization and staining (Appendix A, pages 19-22) and with regard to the sample independent controls as grouped according to the different process stages (Figure 1, which corresponds to FIG. 8 in the instant drawings and para. [0077] in the Specification), further shows monitoring the expected outcome for each of the controls (page 10, para. 1) including the staining controls (sample-independent) that are used to assess the efficiency of the staining process (Figure 6); extension controls (sample-independent) that test the efficiency of single base extension (Figure 7); target-removal controls (sample-independent) that test the efficiency of stripping off DNA templates after the extension reaction (Figure 8); hybridization controls (sample-independent) that assess the efficiency of DNA hybridization using synthetic targets instead of amplified DNA (Figure 9).
Illumina further shows using sample-dependent controls to evaluate assay performance across samples, and assess sample DNA quality (Appendix A, pages 22-24) and with regard to the sample dependent controls as grouped according to the different process stages (Figure 1, which corresponds to FIG. 8 in the instant drawings and para. [0077] in the Specification), further shows stringency controls (sample-dependent) comprising perfect match (PM) and mis-match (MM) controls that assess the stringency of the hybridization process (Figure 11); non-specific binding controls (sample-dependent) that test sample quality and specificity of the assay (Figure 12); and non-polymorphic controls (sample-dependent) that assess sample quality and overall performance of the assay by querying non-polymorphic regions of the human genome (Figure 13).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method shown by Schofl 2017 by incorporating methods for using probabilistic classification of genotyping results, as shown by Schofl 2016, and discussed above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the methods of Schofl 2017 with the methods of Schofl 2016, because Schofl 2017 shows that machine learning techniques are employed to help identify “implausible” genotypes that warrant repeated analyses to check their validity, and Schofl 2016 shows methods for training and using probabilistic classifiers for classifying typing results. This modification would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that both Schofl 2017 and Schofl 2016 disclose methods for automated prediction of genotyping results with the software automatically suggesting the need for repeat genotyping runs, including the analysis of individual loci or the entire sample, or alternatively a full sample repeat typing including a second DNA extraction, or alternatively identifying the sample contamination (which would require a new sample).
It would have been further prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method shown by Schofl 2017 in view of Schofl 2016 by incorporating methods of training and using classifiers with data of readouts from assay process probes, as shown by Illumina, and discussed above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the methods of Schofl 2017 in view of Schofl 2016 with the methods of Illumina, because using the trained probabilistic classifiers of Schofl 2017 in view of Schofl 2016 would be more accurate using parameters for the data generated by the Illumina process control probes, because Illumina shows that the Infinium microarray provides tools to genotype with unparalleled accuracy and reproducibility, and that all Infinium BeadChips are equipped with a set of internal control probes designed to support quality control of the assay’s stringent performance criteria and to demonstrate its robustness (Illumina, page 5). This modification would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that both Schofl 2017 in view of Schofl 2016 and Illumina disclose methods for ensuring genotyping results at the highest possible quality.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments/remarks received 28 April 2026 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
The Applicant’s arguments on pages 25-28 of the Remarks summarize the references used in the above rejection, noting on page 25 that Schofl 2017 focuses on the particulars of the NGS workflow on not to any scoring or other secondary analyses, and therefore the Applicant concludes that in that regard, a person of ordinary skill would not turn to Schofl 2017 to resolve issues raised in the present disclosure and resolved by the claimed invention. The Applicant further states on page 26 that other than disclosing genotyping in general, Schofl 2017 neither teaches nor suggests any of the elements of each of independent claims 1, 3, 13, 15, and 17, and further states on page 27 that Schofl 2017 makes a passing mention of machine learning to address the particular issue of allelic dropout with HLA loci, citing Schofl 2016, and states further still on page 28, that here, a person of ordinary skill in the art read the HLA-specific study in Schofl 2016 so expansively as to apply its models to the genotyping platform disclosed in Illumina, and further states that Schofl 2016 acknowledges the limited natures of applying these models, and further states that Schofl 2016 thus in no way makes up for the deficiencies of Schofl 2017 as reference on which to base obviousness, and moreover, with respect to Illumina, while it does disclose process controls, it is at best background in the context of the claimed invention.
These arguments are not persuasive, because first, the disclosure of Illumina provides the steps of the genotyping process described by the instant claims as defining the data used by the claimed classifier, and given the nature of the arguments/remarks herein and in the arguments/remarks of record, the statement that the Illumina reference is at best background in the context of the claimed invention, is not a persuasive argument. Second, the claimed invention is directed to a machine learning model that can be used to analyze genotype data to output a predictive score representing a confidence that is indicative of whether a further sample evaluation run of the sample will produce a conclusive result. As noted in the above rejection and in the statements providing a motivation to modify Schofl 2017 with Schofl 2016 and further with Illumina, the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.W.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1687
/Joseph Woitach/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1687