DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 06/12/2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11-28, 30 and 32 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made. See remarks on page 15-17.
The rejection of pending claims 11-28, 30 and 32 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, is withdrawn in view of MPEP 2106.04(d). See remarks on page 9- 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-13, 16-17, 19, 20-22, 25-26, 28-30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammad et al. (US 20090112757 A1), in view of Antonucci et al. (US 20120016730 A1), in view of Boyle et al. (US 20130268438 A1), in view of Piernot et al. (US 20120207041 A1), and further in view of Redford et al. (US 20040054581 A1).
Regarding claim 11 and 20, Hammad discloses a method (a server computer comprising: a processor; and a computer readable medium coupled to the processor, the computer readable medium comprising code, executable by the processor implementing a method, (Para. 0036-0037)),
Hammad does not explicitly disclose a method for centrally managing rewards from a plurality of different merchants.
However, Antonucci teaches a method for centrally managing rewards from a plurality of different merchants, (Para. 0012, the association of UPC and SKU data by the system facilitates implementation of an incentive or loyalty program by providing a universal rewards currency. This universal rewards currency may be “spent” by participants who have earned rewards and accepted by the other participants in the multi-tiered network created by the system. The network may comprise any number of participants, including consumers (such primary and supplementary members of an aggregate consumer account), retailers (and any of their employees), manufacturers, third-party providers, and the like. In accordance with one aspect, the system enables participation by supplementary members who are associated with a primary member and, in this manner, facilitates the tracking of supplementary member purchasing behavior, reward points earning behavior, and reward points redemption behavior.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Antonucci to the known invention of Hammad would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such virtual currency features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include a method for centrally managing rewards from a plurality of different merchants results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures users can have one account to manage their rewards, thus improving the overall user convenience of the invention.
Hammad does not explicitly disclose centrally managing, by a server computer, issuance of virtual currency for payment processing, wherein the server computer tracks virtual currency transactions via a network header portion.
However, Antonucci teaches centrally managing, by a server computer, issuance of virtual currency for payment processing, wherein the server computer tracks virtual currency transactions via a network header portion,(Para. 0008, A POS terminal, a kiosk terminal, or a sales person's hand-held terminal might be coupled to a store computer system, such as a network server or some other store platform host, which is able to recognize and process UPC and/or SKU information which has been manually keyed-in or sensed and interpreted by a device, such as a barcode reader, coupled to the terminal. The computer system typically includes a database which stores information relating to the retailer's product inventory, such as stocked merchandise, a UPC and/or SKU number for each item of merchandise, and various types of merchandise identification information, such as price, inventory, style, color, size, etc., which is associated with each UPC and/or SKU number. When a customer purchases an item of merchandise, store personnel frequently use an automated terminal to read the barcode markings which are attached to the item. A computer interprets the UPC and/or SKU number comprised by the barcode, accesses the database to determine the price for each item, and maintains a running total of the total transaction price.; and Para. 0012-0013, The present invention provides a system for implementing a loyalty program on a network-wide level. The system associates UPC and SKU data on a network level to reward consumers and/or to analyze the data for a variety of business purposes, such as market segmentation analyses and/or analyses relating to consumer spending behaviors or patterns, for example. In accordance with one aspect of the invention, the association of UPC and SKU data by the system facilitates implementation of an incentive or loyalty program by providing a universal rewards currency. This universal rewards currency may be "spent" by participants who have earned rewards and accepted by the other participants in the multi-tiered network created by the system. The network may comprise any number of participants, including consumers (such primary and supplementary members of an aggregate consumer account), retailers (and any of their employees), manufacturers, third-party providers, and the like… In accordance with another aspect of the invention, the association of UPC and SKU data by the system facilitates data analysis on a network level based upon any of several factors, including a consumer ID, consumer profile, purchaser profile, supplementary member ID, supplementary member profile, retailer ID, SKU number, UPC, manufacturer ID, and/or the like. The system may compile any of the above data across multiple entities for the purpose of data analysis, such as analyses which may be employed in strategic planning and marketing for example. In one aspect, the system facilitates data analysis regarding each of the individual members of a group, such as a household, a business, a charitable organization, or any other group designated by a primary member, thereby enhancing the ability of the present system to reach these individual members.). Under broad reasonable interpretation, “centrally managing, by a server computer” is interpreted as the system being operated by a central rewards server in the cited prior art. “Issuance of virtual currency for payment processing wherein the server computer tracks virtual currency transactions via a network header portion” is interpreted as the universal rewards currency used for payment and the server captures and analyze transaction data to track loyalty points sent from the terminals and servers in the cited prior art.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Antonucci to the known invention of Hammad would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate identifier features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include centrally managing, by a server computer, issuance of virtual currency for payment processing, wherein the server computer tracks virtual currency transactions via a network header portion result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that the virtual currency can be tracked to prevent fraud, thus improving the overall security the invention.
Hammad does not explicitly disclose receiving, by a server computer that centrally manages rewards from the plurality of different merchants, a virtual currency issuance request message of the network communication protocol header for issuance of virtual currency for a consumer from an issuer.
However, Antonucci teaches receiving, by a server computer that centrally manages rewards from the plurality of different merchants, a virtual currency issuance request message of the network communication protocol header for issuance of virtual currency for a consumer from an issuer, (Para. 0012, The present invention provides a system for implementing a loyalty program on a network-wide level. The system associates UPC and SKU data on a network level to reward consumers and/or to analyze the data for a variety of business purposes, such as market segmentation analyses and/or analyses relating to consumer spending behaviors or patterns, for example. In accordance with one aspect of the invention, the association of UPC and SKU data by the system facilitates implementation of an incentive or loyalty program by providing a universal rewards currency. This universal rewards currency may be "spent" by participants who have earned rewards and accepted by the other participants in the multi-tiered network created by the system. The network may comprise any number of participants, including consumers (such primary and supplementary members of an aggregate consumer account), retailers (and any of their employees), manufacturers, third-party providers, and the like.; and Para. 0014, The invention includes facilitating the substantially real-time transfer of loyalty points between accounts. In an exemplary embodiment, the method and system include receiving a transfer request to transfer loyalty points from a first loyalty account to a second loyalty account, acquiring data related to a loyalty point balance of a first loyalty account, deducting a portion of the loyalty point balance of the first loyalty account and crediting a loyalty point balance of the second loyalty account. The transfer request may include, for example, receiving a request from a consumer associated with the first loyalty account, receiving a request from a consumer associated with the second loyalty account, receiving a request from a third party, receiving a request based upon a triggering event or receiving a request to return points to the first loyalty account. A triggering event may include, for example, the first loyalty account having a loyalty point balance which is below a certain threshold amount, the first loyalty account remaining inactive for a certain time period, a predetermined time period, a certain date, a random date, a requested time, a certain formula, an event, a non-event, or a predetermined data point.). Under broad reasonable interpretation, “receiving, by a server computer” is interpreted as the host computer, central rewards mechanism, and rewards server in the cited prior art. “Centrally manages rewards from the plurality of different merchants” is interpreted as the system handling rewards across consumers, retailers, manufacturers, and third-party providers in the cited prior art. “A virtual currency issuance request message for issuance of virtual currency for a consumer from an issuer” is interpreted as receiving a transfer request to issue points between accounts. each request initiates an issuance and the universal rewards currency is issued to consumers based on data from retailers and manufacturers in the cited prior art.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Antonucci to the known invention of Hammad would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such virtual currency features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include receiving, by a server computer that centrally manages rewards from the plurality of different merchants, a virtual currency issuance request message of the network communication protocol header for issuance of virtual currency for a consumer from an issuer results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures rewards are processed faster across different merchants, thus improving the overall user convenience of the invention.
Hammad does not explicitly disclose wherein the virtual currency comprises units of value based on rewards provided by a merchant and configured to be used as payment for a transaction.
However, Antonucci teaches wherein the virtual currency comprises units of value based on rewards provided by a merchant and configured to be used as payment for a transaction; (Para. 0012, The system associates UPC and SKU data on a network level to reward consumers and/or to analyze the data for a variety of business purposes, such as market segmentation analyses and/or analyses relating to consumer spending behaviors or patterns, for example. In accordance with one aspect of the invention, the association of UPC and SKU data by the system facilitates implementation of an incentive or loyalty program by providing a universal rewards currency. This universal rewards currency may be “spent” by participants who have earned rewards and accepted by the other participants in the multi-tiered network created by the system.; and Para. 0014, The invention includes facilitating the substantially real-time transfer of loyalty points between accounts. In an exemplary embodiment, the method and system include receiving a transfer request to transfer loyalty points from a first loyalty account to a second loyalty account, acquiring data related to a loyalty point balance of a first loyalty account.)
Under broad reasonable interpretation is interpreted as facilitating implementation of an incentive or loyalty program by providing a universal rewards currency. This universal rewards currency may be “spent” by participants who have earned rewards in the cited prior art.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Antonucci to the known invention of Hammad would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such virtual currency features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include wherein the virtual currency comprises units of value based on rewards provided by a merchant and configured to be used as payment for a transaction results in an improved invention because applying said technique allows users to use rewards like currency, thus improving the overall user convenience of the invention.
Hammad does not explicitly disclose providing, by the server computer, the issuer identifier generated by the server computer and the virtual currency to the consumer.
However, Antonucci teaches providing, by the server computer, the issuer identifier and the virtual currency to the consumer, (Para. 0046, As used herein, a “retailer loyalty identifier” may include any device, code, or other identifier which permits a consumer to interact or communicate with a retailer system, including a retailer terminal, and indicate their participation in a retailer loyalty program which may be offered by a particular retailer or a group of retailers. Exemplary retailer loyalty identifiers may comprise any of the following: a rewards card, charge card, credit card, debit card, prepaid card, telephone card, smart card, magnetic stripe card, bar code card, authorization/access code, personal identification number (PIN), Internet code, other identification code, radio frequency card and/or the like. Additionally, a retailer loyalty identifier may comprise any form of plastic, electronic, magnetic, radio frequency, audio and/or optical device capable of transmitting or downloading data from itself to a second device which is capable of interacting and communicating with such retailer loyalty identifiers.; and Para. 0082, In one aspect of the invention, as illustrated in FIG. 2, the retailer system 104 may facilitate instant enrollment in the system of the invention by a consumer at the point of sale. In an exemplary embodiment, retailer terminal 108 comprises an input device, such as any of the devices noted above for example, that is capable of identifying a retailer loyalty identifier, which is described in detail above. In this embodiment, when a consumer uses their retailer loyalty identifier at a retailer point-of-sale checkout (which may be either at a brick and mortar establishment or an online retailer Web site) (step 202), the consumer is asked whether they wish to enroll in the system of the invention (step 204). In an exemplary embodiment, the retailer terminal 108 and/or the input device which interacts with the retailer loyalty identifier presents an enrollment query (e.g., “Would you like to enroll in a networked loyalty program?”) and prompts the consumer (or a retailer employee who may be handling the checkout transaction) to indicate a response by, for example, selecting either “Yes or No” in response to the enrollment query. In one embodiment, the consumer uses the retailer loyalty identifier to interact with the input device while the consumer's purchases are being checked-out by the retailer so that pull-through rates are minimally impacted. For example, the consumer may swipe or scan the retailer loyalty identifier while the retailer is performing the checkout process, and therefore the consumer may respond to the enrollment query substantially without the aid of the retailer employee who is performing the checkout.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Antonucci to the known invention of Hammad would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate identifier features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include providing, by the server computer, the issuer identifier and the virtual currency to the consumer result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that the virtual currency can be tracked to prevent fraud, thus improving the overall security the invention.
Hammad as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the virtual currency is associated with a standardized value.
However, Antonucci teaches wherein the virtual currency is associated with a standardized value, (Para. 0012, The present invention provides a system for implementing a loyalty program on a network-wide level. The system associates UPC and SKU data on a network level to reward consumers and/or to analyze the data for a variety of business purposes, such as market segmentation analyses and/or analyses relating to consumer spending behaviors or patterns, for example. In accordance with one aspect of the invention, the association of UPC and SKU data by the system facilitates implementation of an incentive or loyalty program by providing a universal rewards currency. This universal rewards currency may be "spent" by participants who have earned rewards and accepted by the other participants in the multi-tiered network created by the system. The network may comprise any number of participants, including consumers (such primary and supplementary members of an aggregate consumer account), retailers (and any of their employees), manufacturers, third-party providers, and the like.; and Para. 0014, The invention includes facilitating the substantially real-time transfer of loyalty points between accounts. In an exemplary embodiment, the method and system include receiving a transfer request to transfer loyalty points from a first loyalty account to a second loyalty account, acquiring data related to a loyalty point balance of a first loyalty account, deducting a portion of the loyalty point balance of the first loyalty account and crediting a loyalty point balance of the second loyalty account. The transfer request may include, for example, receiving a request from a consumer associated with the first loyalty account, receiving a request from a consumer associated with the second loyalty account, receiving a request from a third party, receiving a request based upon a triggering event or receiving a request to return points to the first loyalty account. A triggering event may include, for example, the first loyalty account having a loyalty point balance which is below a certain threshold amount, the first loyalty account remaining inactive for a certain time period, a predetermined time period, a certain date, a random date, a requested time, a certain formula, an event, a non-event, or a predetermined data point.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Antonucci to the known invention of Hammad as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate identifier features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include wherein the virtual currency is associated with a standardized value result in an improved invention because applying said technique will allow a central server to manage reward based virtual currency from a plurality of merchants, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
Hammad as modified does not explicitly disclose generating, by the server computer, an issuer identifier for the issuer, the issuer identifier configured for tracking the issuance and usage of virtual currency; generating, by the server computer, a virtual currency identifier for the virtual currency, the virtual currency identifier being associated with the issuer identifier; generating, by the server computer, an issuer profile comprising the generated issuer identifier and the generated virtual currency identifier.
However, Boyle teaches generating, by the server computer, an issuer identifier for the issuer, the issuer identifier configured for tracking the issuance and usage of virtual currency; generating, by the server computer, a virtual currency identifier for the virtual currency, the virtual currency identifier being associated with the issuer identifier; generating, by the server computer, an issuer profile comprising the generated issuer identifier and the generated virtual currency identifier, (Para. 0029, FIG. 5 describes the steps of a purchase process of an embodiment with payment processor using a unique identifier code provided by an established payment network such as VISA or Discover.; and Para. 0016, Use of a transaction card (eg: magstripe, chip, barcode, etc enabled) that would route through traditional payment card networks (eg: Mastercard, VISA, Discover) and default to debiting one or more loyalty programs.; and Para. 0013, Use of a browser extension to effect the transaction by generating a one-time use and/or encrypted code (eg: payment network unique ID) that would likely work at the given merchant, regardless of whether the merchant had agreed to participate in the system.; and Para. 0028, The Reporting Service 206 pulls data stored and organized in the OLAP Cube/MapReduce 211 and generates User Reports published to the Web site associated with the payment processor 201 and publishes Merchant Reports and Issuer Reports to the B2B Web 202…Merchant Service 207 creates merchant accounts, manages merchant accounts and validates merchants during the transaction and servicing processes. User Service 208 creates user accounts, manages user accounts and validates users during the transaction and servicing processes.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Boyle to the known invention of Hammad as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such virtual currency identifier features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include generating, by the server computer, an issuer identifier for the issuer, the issuer identifier configured for tracking the issuance and usage of virtual currency; generating, by the server computer, a virtual currency identifier for the virtual currency, the virtual currency identifier being associated with the issuer identifier; generating, by the server computer, an issuer profile comprising the generated issuer identifier and the generated virtual currency identifier results in an improved invention because applying said technique links the virtual currency to the issuer identifiers to allow the system to manage virtual currencies associated with different issuers, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
Hammad as modified does not explicitly disclose storing, by the server computer, issuer profile associated with the issuer in a database configured to store issuer identifiers assigned to a plurality of different issuers, wherein the plurality of different issuers include virtual currency issuers and non-virtual currency issuers.
However, Boyle teaches storing, by the server computer, issuer profile associated with the issuer in a database configured to store issuer identifiers assigned to a plurality of different issuers, wherein the plurality of different issuers include virtual currency issuers and non-virtual currency issuers, (Para. 0005, As Mastercard and VISA have done with real-money payment processing, there is an opportunity to connect multiple merchants to a network system that connects to multiple virtual currency programs, without requiring consumer registration or pairing or linking of their accounts to merchants, and not using shadow transactional accounts and not aggregating points or credits from multiple programs in an exchange account.; and Para. 0028, User Service 208 creates user accounts, manages user accounts and validates users during the transaction and servicing processes. B2B Public APIs 203 integrate to the Payment Processor Service Bus 204 via REST API and manages the APIs for points issuers and merchants.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Boyle to the known invention of Hammad as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such issuer profile features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include storing, by the server computer, issuer profile associated with the issuer in a database configured to store issuer identifiers assigned to a plurality of different issuers, wherein the plurality of different issuers include virtual currency issuers and non-virtual currency issuers results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that virtual currency can be used for online transactions and it allows people to store and transfer currency more efficiently, thus improving the overall user convenience of the invention.
Hammad as modified does not explicitly disclose providing, by the server computer, the issuer identifier and the virtual currency to the consumer; wherein the server computer is configured to verify and process the transaction initiated by the consumer using the virtual currency by evaluating transaction data including a virtual currency token associated with the consumer.
However, Boyle teaches providing, by the server computer, the issuer identifier and the virtual currency to the consumer; wherein the server computer is configured to verify and process the transaction initiated by the consumer using the virtual currency by evaluating transaction data including a virtual currency token associated with the consumer, (Para. 0008, In one embodiment, the invention comprises a system that enables a merchant to offer a participant of a points-based loyalty reward program the option of paying for their purchase with their program points. The system is able to gather information from the user to authenticate the user as a participant in the relevant points program and is further able to determine the amount of points available to the user. Further, the system is able to calculate multiple redemption amounts using multiple redemption rates.; and Para. 0028, The consumer clicks on a button on the iFrame to approve the debit to their virtual currency program and the User Service 208 registers that approval in Key/Value Data Store 212 and the Switch Service 205 sends via secure REST API a debit request to the currency issuer 209. The currency issuer 209 processes the debit and sends back via the system's secure integration connection the debit confirmation message, which the system registers in the Transaction Log 210.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Boyle to the known invention of Hammad as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such virtual currency features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include providing, by the server computer, the issuer identifier and the virtual currency to the consumer; wherein the server computer is configured to verify and process the transaction initiated by the consumer using the virtual currency by evaluating transaction data including a virtual currency token associated with the consumer results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that virtual currency can be used for online transactions and it allows people to store and transfer currency more efficiently, thus improving the overall user convenience of the invention.
Hammad as modified does not explicitly disclose the network header portion comprises additional information that is integrated into a network communication protocol header.
However, Piernot teaches the network header portion comprises additional information that is integrated into a network communication protocol header, (Para. 0027, the tagging agent module 232 may be configured to embed the client-related information in one of the headers of the data packets. In an embodiment, the tagging agent module may be configured to embed the client-related information at the Internet Protocol (IP) layer in the IP headers of the data packets. As an example, the tagging agent module may embed the client-related information in the “Options” field in the IP headers of the data packets. The “Options” field of an IP header of a data packet may vary in length or size, i.e., the amount of data that can be embedded in the “Options” field. In another embodiment, the tagging agent module may be configured to embed the client-related information at the Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) layer in the TCP headers of the data packets. As an example, the tagging agent module may embed the client-related information in the “Options” field in the TCP headers of the data packets. The “Options” field of a TCP header of a data packet may vary in length or size, i.e., the amount of data that can be embedded in the “Options” field. In other embodiments, the tagging agent module may be able to embed the client-related information at any level on the network stack, such as at application layer (“layer 7”) for Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP), as long as the header used for that layer is well-defined, for example, by a standard, and the header includes a customizable field of sufficient length or size for the client-related information. In some embodiments, the tagging agent module may be configured to embed the client-related information in different headers of the data packets that correspond to different layers, such as the IP layer and the TCP layer.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Piernot to the known invention of Hammad as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate network communication protocol features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include the network header portion comprises additional information that is integrated into a network communication protocol header result in an improved invention because applying said technique will allow additional transaction information to be carried directly in the network communication header while giving virtual currency a standardized value, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
Hammad as modified does not explicitly disclose generating, by the server computer that centrally manages rewards from the plurality of different merchants, an issuer identifier for the issuer.
However, Redford teaches generating, by the server computer that centrally manages rewards from the plurality of different merchants, an issuer identifier for the issuer, (Para. 0011, a host configured to maintain an issuer identifier for each of the plurality of issuers and to maintain a plurality of loyalty parameters for the loyalty program, the plurality of loyalty parameters associated with at least one issuer identifier; a portable device associated with an issuer in the plurality of issuers, wherein the portable device includes one or more portable device parameters and a portable device identifier associated with the corresponding issuer identifier of the associated issuer of the portable device; and an acceptance point device associated with a merchant in the plurality of merchants, the acceptance point device including each issuer identifier maintained by the host and one or more of the plurality of maintained loyalty parameters maintained by the host; wherein the acceptance point device is configured to communicate with the portable device to determine the portable device identifier and associate the determined portable device identifier with the corresponding issuer identifier for the associated issuer of the portable device; and wherein the acceptance point device is further configured to associate the one or more portable device identifier parameters with the one or more of the plurality of maintained loyalty parameters associated with the associated issuer identifier.; and Para. 0037, issuer 104 may generate or receive from host 102 an issuer identifier and then generate portable device identifiers with the issuer identifier. The portable device identifiers and possibly issuer identifier would then be communicated to host 102. In yet another exemplary embodiment, host 102 can generate the issuer and portable device identifiers and download them to issuer 102.; and Para. 0063, an issuer identifier and an issuer credential for each issuer sponsoring a loyalty program 114 are determined. The issuer identifiers and credentials are then stored in a database accessible by host 102. Each issuer identifier is used to uniquely identify an issuer 104. Each issuer credential is used to generate portable device credentials to allow portable devices issued by the issuer to be authenticated.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Redford to the known invention of Hammad as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate identifier features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include generating, by the server computer that centrally manages rewards from the plurality of different merchants, an issuer identifier for the issuer result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that the virtual currency can be tracked to prevent fraud, thus improving the overall security the invention.
Hammad as modified does not explicitly disclose the issuer identifier configured for tracking the issuance and usage of virtual currency, wherein the issuer identifier is reused for different virtual currency issuance requests associated with the issuer.
However, Redford teaches a centralized loyalty system in which a host maintains an issuer identifier for each of a plurality of issuers, wherein each issuer identifier uniquely identifies a respective issuer and is maintained by the host for administering the issuer’s loyalty program, (Para. 0011, a host configured to maintain an issuer identifier for each of the plurality of issuers and to maintain a plurality of loyalty parameters for the loyalty program, the plurality of loyalty parameters associated with at least one issuer identifier; a portable device associated with an issuer in the plurality of issuers, wherein the portable device includes one or more portable device parameters and a portable device identifier associated with the corresponding issuer identifier of the associated issuer of the portable device; and an acceptance point device associated with a merchant in the plurality of merchants, the acceptance point device including each issuer identifier maintained by the host and one or more of the plurality of maintained loyalty parameters maintained by the host; wherein the acceptance point device is configured to communicate with the portable device to determine the portable device identifier and associate the determined portable device identifier with the corresponding issuer identifier for the associated issuer of the portable device; and wherein the acceptance point device is further configured to associate the one or more portable device identifier parameters with the one or more of the plurality of maintained loyalty parameters associated with the associated issuer identifier.; and Para. 0037, issuer 104 may generate or receive from host 102 an issuer identifier and then generate portable device identifiers with the issuer identifier. The portable device identifiers and possibly issuer identifier would then be communicated to host 102. In yet another exemplary embodiment, host 102 can generate the issuer and portable device identifiers and download them to issuer 102.; and Para. 0063, an issuer identifier and an issuer credential for each issuer sponsoring a loyalty program 114 are determined. The issuer identifiers and credentials are then stored in a database accessible by host 102. Each issuer identifier is used to uniquely identify an issuer 104. Each issuer credential is used to generate portable device credentials to allow portable devices issued by the issuer to be authenticated.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Redford to the known invention of Hammad as modified to utilize the issuer identifier for identifying a respective issuer across different virtual currency requests, results in an improved invention because applying said technique will associate issuance and usage of virtual currency with the appropriate issuer.
Hammad as modified does not explicitly disclose storing, by the server computer, the issuer profile, including the generated issuer identifier and the generated virtual currency identifier.
However, Redford teaches storing, by a host computer, issuer information including an issuer identifier associated with a respective issuer, wherein an issuer identifier and an issuer credential for each issuer sponsoring a loyalty program are determined and stored in a database accessible by the host, and wherein each issuer identifier uniquely identifies a respective issuer, (Para. 0063, In step 401, an issuer identifier and an issuer credential for each issuer sponsoring a loyalty program 114 are determined. The issuer identifiers and credentials are then stored in a database accessible by host 102. Each issuer identifier is used to uniquely identify an issuer 104. Each issuer credential is used to generate portable device credentials to allow portable devices issued by the issuer to be authenticated.; and Para. 0037, each issuer 104 is associated with a unique identifier and is offered a method to generate the identifiers for portable devices 106 that link them back to the issuer. Each portable device 106 for an issuer 104 will have a unique identifier that links it back with the identifier of that issuer 104. In order to enable participation in loyalty programs 114, the issuer identifier and identifiers for portable devices 106 are registered with host 102. In one exemplary embodiment, a third party may generate the issuer identifier and corresponding portable device identifiers. In this case, the identifiers would be downloaded to host 102 and issuers 104. In another exemplary embodiment, issuer 104 may generate or receive from host 102 an issuer identifier and then generate portable device identifiers with the issuer identifier. The portable device identifiers and possibly issuer identifier would then be communicated to host 102. In yet another exemplary embodiment, host 102 can generate the issuer and portable device identifiers and download them to issuer 102.; and Para. 0063, In step 401, an issuer identifier and an issuer credential for each issuer sponsoring a loyalty program 114 are determined. The issuer identifiers and credentials are then stored in a database accessible by host 102. Each issuer identifier is used to uniquely identify an issuer 104. Each issuer credential is used to generate portable device credentials to allow portable devices issued by the issuer to be authenticated.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Redford to the known invention of Hammad as modified to store the issuer identifier in association with the virtual currency identifier in an issuer profile would have predictably resulted in maintain the identifiers associated with a respective issuer, thereby allowing the system to identify and manage the virtual currency associated with the appropriate issuer.
5. Regarding claims 12 and 21, Hammad discloses determining, by the server computer, from the virtual currency issuance request message, a virtual currency amount requested by the issuer for the consumer, (Para. 0018, Embodiments of the disclosure are directed to a method and a system for converting a transaction to a currency and determining taxes based on location. Generally, a consumer initiates a purchase transaction at a merchant. The merchant enters information about the transaction into an access device (e.g., a point-of-sale terminal). The transaction information is sent to a server computer of a payment processing network or an issuer associated with a mobile communication device (e.g., a mobile phone). The server computer determines the location of the mobile communication device operated by the consumer. The server computer uses this location information, a location associated with consumer's account, and the time of the transaction to determine a foreign exchange rate. The server computer uses the foreign exchange rage to convert the amount of the transaction into a currency associated with a consumer's account. The converted amount of the transaction is sent to the consumer on their mobile communication device or to the access device. The server computer also determines the taxes that apply to the transaction by correlating the location of the mobile communication device and the amount of the transaction with applicable tax rules. In addition, the server computer can also deliver secure coupons to the mobile communication device. Once the consumer goes forward with the transaction, the issuer sends a message authorizing the transaction to the merchant to complete the transaction.)
crediting, by the server computer, the virtual currency amount to a consumer account associated with the consumer profile entry, (Para. 0051, Regardless of how the server computer 70(a) determines the current currency associated with the merchant 50, the server computer 70(a) determines the currency associated with the account of consumer 20 from the account data. For example, the server computer 70(a) may determine from the consumer's account number that the consumer's issuer 80(a) is located In the United States. If the determined currency associated with the account of the consumer and the determined currency associated with the transaction are different, server computer 70(a) determines a conversion rate also called a foreign exchange rate between the two currencies. The conversion rate can be determined based on the currency of merchant 50, the currency associated with consumer's account, and the time of the transaction determined from the transaction data. In some cases, server computer 70(a) negotiates the conversion rate with a bank (e.g., with one of the issuers 80(a), 80(b)). Once server computer 70(a) determines the conversion rate, server computer 70(a) uses the conversion rate to convert the initial or total transaction amount to the currency of consumer 20. Server computer 70(a) sends the converted amount of the transaction and/or the conversion rate to mobile communication device 30 and/or access device 52. If this information is sent to the access device 52, it may be sent through the acquirer 60 and to the merchant 50. If this information is sent to the mobile communication device 30, it may be sent through a mobile carrier without passing through the acquirer 60 or the merchant 50.)
Hammad as modified does not explicitly disclose generating, by the server computer, a consumer profile entry in a consumer profile, the consumer profile entry including a consumer identifier, the issuer identifier, a device identifier, and virtual currency data,
However, Boyle teaches generating, by the server computer, a consumer profile entry in a consumer profile, the consumer profile entry including a consumer identifier, the issuer identifier, a device identifier, and virtual currency data, (Para. 0028, In summary of FIG. 2, the merchant Web site 201 includes a HTML5 hyperlink associated with REST API integrated to the payment processor via a REST API Service Bus 204. When the consumer clicks on the hyperlink, the payment processor determines which currency issuer is relevant to the transaction and serves a SSL-secured or TLS-secured iFrame over the merchant checkout page 201, the iFrame being branded to the relevant currency issuer. In the case that the relevant issuer is unknown, the iFrame includes a list of at least one currency issuer relevant to the merchant from which the user selects their preferred payment source. The user enters their currency issuer account login credentials to the secure iFrame which passes that data via REST API connectivity using AES-256 encryption or, alternatively, via secured OAuth protocol... the Switch Service 205 queries the currency account for balance and concurrently converts the transaction amount from the original transaction currency to the virtual currency using a currency conversion rate found via database lookup at the payment processor.; and Para. 0015, Use of a smartphone application to effect the transaction by generating a one-time use and/or encrypted code (eg: payment network unique ID) that would likely work at the given merchant, regardless of whether the merchant had agreed to participate in the system)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Boyle to the known invention of Hammad as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such account features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying method to include generating, by the server computer, a consumer profile entry in a consumer profile, the consumer profile entry including a consumer identifier, the issuer identifier, a device identifier, and virtual currency data, results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that all of the identifiers associated with the user are stored in the user profile, thus improving the overall user convenience of the invention.
6. Regarding claims 13 and 22, Hammad does not explicitly disclose wherein the virtual currency issuance request message further includes an account identifier for an issuer account for funding of the virtual currency amount requested by the issuer,
However, Antonucci teaches wherein the virtual currency issuance request message further includes an account identifier for an issuer account for funding of the virtual currency amount requested by the issuer, (Abstract Section, The invention includes facilitating the substantially real-time transfer of loyalty points between accounts. The method and system include receiving a transfer request (e.g., consumer request, triggering event, etc) for a transfer of a certain number of loyalty points, accessing and analyzing the total number of loyalty points in the transferor account to determine if a sufficient number of points exist, analyzing the type/level of consumer and type/level of points to be involved in the transfer, deducting the requested loyalty points from the transferor account, determining if any rules exist for restricting or limiting the transfer of points, using a conversion engine to convert the point value to an appropriate point value in the transferee account and increasing the point balance in the transferee account; and Para. 0047-0048, As used herein, a "consumer account" shall mean any account which specifies a consumer as a holder of the account and which posts, records, stores, or tracks a consumer's activity that is related to participation in the loyalty program. In one embodiment, the consumer account may post or record any of the following types of information: purchasing activity (e.g., items purchased and/or purchase amounts), reward points earning activity, reward points redemption activity, bonus offerings activity, and the like. In accordance with one aspect of the invention, the consumer ID may be associated with an aggregate consumer account which specifies the consumer as a primary member and permits the association of any number of supplementary members with the primary member. In one embodiment, supplementary members are affiliated with the primary member, such as by being a member of the primary member's household, business, organization, and the like. In another embodiment, supplementary members are selected by the primary member for association with the primary member's aggregate consumer account on any basis deemed suitable by the primary member. For example, a primary member may associate friends, co-workers, family members, or any other group of individuals or entities. In one embodiment, both primary members and supplementary members may earn and redeem reward points which are posted to the aggregate consumer account or to any of several accounts that may be associated with the aggregate consumer account. In another embodiment, a supplementary member may only redeem reward points which that particular supplementary member has earned. In a further embodiment, a supplementary member may only redeem a quantity of reward points which the primary member has authorized for redemption by that particular supplementary member.) Examiner interprets the term virtual currency issuance request message is analogous for the term transfer request in the cited prior art.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Antonucci to the known invention of Hammad would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such user profile features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include wherein the virtual currency issuance request message further includes an account identifier for an issuer account for funding of the virtual currency amount requested by the issuer, results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that only authorized users and accounts can request issuance of virtual currency, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
7. Regarding claims 16 and 25, Hammad discloses a location identifier and the merchant identifier and the location identifier being received in a network header portion of a network protocol header, (Para. 0028-0030, Mobile communication device 30 refers to any suitable wireless device that allows consumer 20 to conduct transactions with merchant 50 and communicate information with other entities such as payment processing network 70. Some examples of suitable devices include cellular or wireless phones, personal digital assistants (PDAs), pagers, portable computers, and the like. Mobile communication device 30 may be in any suitable form. For example, suitable mobile communication devices can be hand-held and compact so that they can fit into a consumer's wallet and/or pocket (e.g., pocket-sized). Mobile communication device 30 includes a GPS element 32 that generates GPS data that can be used to determine the geographical location of mobile device 30. Other methods of determining the location of mobile communication device 30 can also be used. For example, the strength of the mobile phone signal can be used to determine the location of mobile communication device 30. Mobile communication device 30 communicates information to other system entities in any suitable form. Some examples of suitable forms include a short message service (SMS) message such as a text message, a multimedia media message (MMS), a phone call, a voice message, a voicemail message, an instant messaging (IM) message, an email message, etc. In some cases, the system entity receiving the message (e.g., payment processing network 70) may require a PIN before authorizing the transmission for security purposes. Consumer 20 enters the PIN into mobile communicating device 30 or other device communicating with the entity. The PIN is then sent to the entity. Once the entity verifies the PIN, the requesting entity will authorize the transmission of the message. For example, payment processing network 70 may send a request for a PIN, receive the PIN, and verify the PIN before allowing transmission of a message.)
Hammad does not explicitly disclose further comprising: performing, by the server computer, an authentication process for the issuer based on a merchant identifier received in the virtual currency issuance request message.
However, Antonucci teaches further comprising: performing, by the server computer, an authentication process for the issuer based on a merchant identifier received in the virtual currency issuance request message, (Para. 0106, Lastly, a storage device 520, such as a hard disk drive for example, preferably contains files or records which are accessed by the various software modules, such as enrollment module 512 and authentication module 514. In particular, consumer data 522 comprises information received from a consumer upon registration with the rewards mechanism 502, including any information corresponding to supplementary members that may be affiliated with a primary member's aggregate consumer account; and Para. 0058, "Purchase data", as used herein, comprises data relating to the offer of any item to a consumer, supplementary member, or other user of goods and/or services. Purchase data may include data regarding any or all of the following: an item purchased; an item price; a number of items purchased; a total transaction price; a payment vehicle (e.g., cash, credit card, debit card, check, etc.); a time, date, and/or day of the week associated with a purchase; a store identifier; an employee identifier; a retailer item identifier; a loyalty identifier; a retailer loyalty identifier; and Para. 0145-0147, The request identifies the consumer ID associated with the transaction file and asks that consumer enrollment data associated with the consumer ID be transmitted from the central rewards mechanism 902 to data conditioner 914. The central rewards mechanism 902 retrieves the appropriate consumer enrollment data file from storage device 920 and then transmits the consumer enrollment data to data conditioner 914. Data conditioner 914 then merges the consumer enrollment data with the standardized transaction file contained in the newly created record in detail database 918 (step 1128)…Analytics module 916 generates purchaser profiles by accessing and using the data in detail database 918 (step 1130). As will be appreciated, any known methods for performing data analysis, analytics, econometrics, modeling, data mining, marketing analyses, etc., may make use of the combined consumer enrollment data and purchase data stored in detail database 918.) Examiner interprets the term virtual currency issuance request message is analogous for the term request message in the cited prior art.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Antonucci to the known invention of Hammad would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such virtual currency features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include teaches further comprising: performing, by the server computer, an authentication process for the issuer based on a merchant identifier received in the virtual currency issuance request message, results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that only authorized accounts only have access by performing an authentication process to mitigate risk, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
8. Regarding claims 17 and 26, Hammad discloses generating, by the server computer, an issuer profile entry in the issuer profile, the issuer profile entry including the issuer identifier, the virtual currency identifier, a consumer identifier, and virtual currency data including a virtual currency amount,(Para. 0042-0043, Issuer 90 refers to any suitable entity that may open and maintain an account (e.g., a debit or credit account) associated with consumer 20. Some examples of issuers may be a bank, a business entity such as a retail store, or a governmental entity. In many cases, issuer 90 may also issue a payment device (e.g., a payment card) to consumer 20. In some embodiments, issuer 90 may also be the acquirer 60. Issuer 90 includes a server computer 90(a) which includes has a computer readable medium (CRM) 90(b). CRM 90(b) comprises code used to perform the functions of server computer 90(a). Server computer 90(a) may also include a processor for performing the functions of server computer 90(a). Issuer 90 also includes a database 90(c) coupled to the server computer 90(a). Database 90(c) may store any suitable data; and Para. 0024-0025, System 10 also includes an issuer 90 having an account with consumer 20. Issuer 90 has a server computer 90(a) with a CRM 90(b) and a database 90(c) in communication with server computer 90(a). Issuer 90 is in communication with payment processing network 70. Acquirer 60 is in communication with payment processing network 70 and merchant 60 to receive authorization for the transaction from payment processing network 70 and forward it to merchant 50. Mobile communication device 30 is in communication with payment processing network 70 to send transaction information and to receive information such as the converted amount of a transaction, the current foreign exchange rate, the tax amount, secure coupons, and other suitable information. “Transaction information" can refer to any suitable information related to the transaction conducted between consumer 20 and merchant 50. Some examples of suitable information include a list of the items in the transaction, a description of the items, item identifiers, product identifiers (e.g., stock keeping units or SKUs), a merchant ID, an access device ID (e.g., POS terminal ID), prices of the items being purchased, the total number of items, the amount of the transaction or transaction amount, a tax amount, a total amount of the transaction after taxes, an electronic signature from merchant 50, a time of the transaction, a location where the transaction is occurring, secure coupons, the currency of the transaction, and other suitable information related to the transaction.)
9. Regarding claim 19, Hammad does not explicitly disclose wherein the issuer is one of a merchant, the consumer, or a payment network.
However, Antonucci teaches wherein the issuer is one of a merchant, the consumer, or a payment network, (para. 0054-0055, A "third-party provider" may comprise any additional provider of goods and/or services to a consumer. Specifically, a "third-party provider" includes any party other than the particular manufacturer and retailer who is involved in a transaction with a consumer. A third-party provider may include, for example, a financial institution, such as a bank or an issuer of a financial instrument (such as a credit card or a debit card). A third-party provider may also include a provider of goods and services which are offered as awards to consumers in exchange for a requisite number of reward points. Though the invention may generically be described with reference to a series of transactions which transfer a good or service from an originating party to an intermediary party and a subsequent transaction which transfers the good or service from the intermediary party to an end-user of that good or service, for convenience and purposes of brevity and consistency, the present disclosure generally refers to the originating party as a "manufacturer", the intermediary party as a "retailer", the end-user as a "consumer" (including primary members and/or supplementary members), and a good or service as a "product" or "item".)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Antonucci to the known invention of Hammad would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such user profile features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include wherein the issuer is one of a merchant, the consumer, or a payment network results in an improved invention because applying said technique allow multiple entities to issue virtual currency, thus improving the overall user convenience of the invention.
10. Regarding claim 28, Hammad does not explicitly disclose wherein the issuer is one of a merchant, the consumer, or a payment network, and wherein the issuer identifier is a unique identifier assigned to a virtual currency requestor.
However, Antonucci teaches wherein the issuer is one of a merchant, the consumer, or a payment network, and wherein the issuer identifier is a unique identifier assigned to a virtual currency requestor, (Para. 0054-0055 A "third-party provider" may comprise any additional provider of goods and/or services to a consumer. Specifically, a "third-party provider" includes any party other than the particular manufacturer and retailer who is involved in a transaction with a consumer. A third-party provider may include, for example, a financial institution, such as a bank or an issuer of a financial instrument (such as a credit card or a debit card). A third-party provider may also include a provider of goods and services which are offered as awards to consumers in exchange for a requisite number of reward points. Though the invention may generically be described with reference to a series of transactions which transfer a good or service from an originating party to an intermediary party and a subsequent transaction which transfers the good or service from the intermediary party to an end-user of that good or service, for convenience and purposes of brevity and consistency, the present disclosure generally refers to the originating party as a "manufacturer", the intermediary party as a "retailer", the end-user as a "consumer" (including primary members and/or supplementary members), and a good or service as a "product" or "item".; and Para. 0071, In accordance with another aspect of the invention, the system administrator may maintain an aggregate consumer account for a participating consumer (primary member). The aggregate consumer account is established, for example, by the primary member, who enrolls or permits enrollment of any number of supplementary members who are identified by the primary member. In one embodiment, a consumer may establish an aggregate consumer account to encompass members of the primary member's household, business, charitable organization, and the like. In another embodiment, supplementary members are selected by the primary member for association with the primary member's aggregate consumer account on any basis deemed suitable by the primary member. For example, a primary member may associate friends, co-workers, family members, or any other group of individuals or entities. In one embodiment, each supplementary member is associated with a supplementary member ID number, which uniquely identifies the supplementary member (e.g., as Supplementary Member 1, Supplementary Member 2, etc.) and which affiliates the supplementary member with the primary member, the primary member's consumer ID, and/or the primary member's aggregate consumer account..)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Antonucci to the known invention of Hammad would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such identifier features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include wherein the issuer is one of a merchant, the consumer, or a payment network, and wherein the issuer identifier is a unique identifier assigned to a virtual currency requestor and ensures that all of the identifiers associated with the issuer to mitigate risk results in an improved invention because applying said technique allow multiple entities to issue virtual currency, thus improving the overall user convenience and security of the invention.
11. Regarding claim 30, Hammad does not explicitly disclose wherein the virtual currency issuance request message includes fields for merchant data, location data, device data, and consumer device data. and wherein the virtual currency comprises digital information that is associated with a monetary value.
However, Boyle teaches wherein the virtual currency issuance request message includes fields for merchant data, location data, device data, and consumer device data. and wherein the virtual currency comprises digital information that is associated with a monetary value, (Para. 0027, The present invention is a computer-implemented apparatus, system and method for making payment transactions using virtual currencies issued by parties other than that of the party accepting the payment. Specifically, and in summary of FIG. 1, this invention is a virtual currency payment system that uses computer networks 105 and a payment processor 103 and processes payment instructions on behalf of consumers 101 and merchants 102, the payments being made with virtual currencies from virtual currency programs 104, such as those from airline, hotel, credit card, social media and gaming companies; and Claim 1. determining via look-up to a database or databases a plurality of currency conversion rates for the transaction, specifically at least one conversion rate between the consumer and the currency issuer and at least one conversion rate between the currency issuer and the payment processor, and at least one conversion rate between the payment processor and the merchant, determining a points redemption amount and a real-money currency settlement amount.; and Para. 0028, In summary of FIG. 2, the merchant Web site 201 includes a HTML5 hyperlink associated with REST API integrated to the payment processor via a REST API Service Bus 204… The Switch Service 205 of the payment processor applies the conversion rate to determine the virtual currency cost to the consumer and presents that information to the consumer via the iFrame. The consumer clicks on a button on the iFrame to approve the debit to their virtual currency program and the User Service 208 registers that approval in Key/Value Data Store 212 and the Switch Service 205 sends via secure REST API a debit request to the currency issuer 209. The currency issuer 209 processes the debit and sends back via the system's secure integration connection the debit confirmation message, which the system registers in the Transaction Log 210. The Switch Service 205 sends a transaction authorization message via the code of the secure iFrame, hidden from the consumer, and pushed into the relevant data input fields of the merchant site 201. The system generates a currency debit confirmation message sent to the consumer via email. The Reporting Service 206 pulls data stored and organized in the OLAP Cube/MapReduce 211 and generates User Reports published to the Web site associated with the payment processor 201 and publishes Merchant Reports and Issuer Reports to the B2B Web 202. Merchant Service 207 creates merchant accounts, manages merchant accounts and validates merchants during the transaction and servicing processes. User Service 208 creates user accounts, manages user accounts and validates users during the transaction and servicing processes. B2B Public APIs 203 integrate to the Payment Processor Service Bus 204 via REST API and manages the APIs for points issuers and merchants. )
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique Boyle to the known invention of Hammad would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such virtual currency features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include wherein the virtual currency issuance request message includes fields for merchant data, location data, device data, and consumer device data. and wherein the virtual currency comprises digital information that is associated with a monetary value results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that all transactions are verified, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
12. Regarding claim 32, Hammad does not explicitly disclose wherein the server computer authenticates and validates the transaction using virtual currency based at least in part on additional information provided in the network header portion.
However, Antonucci teaches wherein the server computer authenticates and validates the transaction using virtual currency based at least in part on additional information provided in the network header portion, (Para. 0008, A POS terminal, a kiosk terminal, or a sales person's hand-held terminal might be coupled to a store computer system, such as a network server or some other store platform host, which is able to recognize and process UPC and/or SKU information which has been manually keyed-in or sensed and interpreted by a device, such as a barcode reader, coupled to the terminal. The computer system typically includes a database which stores information relating to the retailer's product inventory, such as stocked merchandise, a UPC and/or SKU number for each item of merchandise, and various types of merchandise identification information, such as price, inventory, style, color, size, etc., which is associated with each UPC and/or SKU number. When a customer purchases an item of merchandise, store personnel frequently use an automated terminal to read the barcode markings which are attached to the item. A computer interprets the UPC and/or SKU number comprised by the barcode, accesses the database to determine the price for each item, and maintains a running total of the total transaction price.; and Para. 0012-0013, The present invention provides a system for implementing a loyalty program on a network-wide level. The system associates UPC and SKU data on a network level to reward consumers and/or to analyze the data for a variety of business purposes, such as market segmentation analyses and/or analyses relating to consumer spending behaviors or patterns, for example. In accordance with one aspect of the invention, the association of UPC and SKU data by the system facilitates implementation of an incentive or loyalty program by providing a universal rewards currency. This universal rewards currency may be "spent" by participants who have earned rewards and accepted by the other participants in the multi-tiered network created by the system. The network may comprise any number of participants, including consumers (such primary and supplementary members of an aggregate consumer account), retailers (and any of their employees), manufacturers, third-party providers, and the like. In accordance with one aspect, the system enables participation by supplementary members who are associated with a primary member and, in this manner, facilitates the tracking of supplementary member purchasing behavior, reward points earning behavior, and reward points redemption behavior. In accordance with another aspect, the system permits instant enrollment of consumers at a retailer point-of-sale using information that the retailer has previously gathered from the consumer. In accordance with another aspect, the system facilitates the compilation of a purchaser profile, which may be used for a variety of purposes, including various types of marketing analyses. In accordance with another aspect of the invention, the association of UPC and SKU data by the system facilitates data analysis on a network level based upon any of several factors, including a consumer ID, consumer profile, purchaser profile, supplementary member ID, supplementary member profile, retailer ID, SKU number, UPC, manufacturer ID, and/or the like. The system may compile any of the above data across multiple entities for the purpose of data analysis, such as analyses which may be employed in strategic planning and marketing for example. In one aspect, the system facilitates data analysis regarding each of the individual members of a group, such as a household, a business, a charitable organization, or any other group designated by a primary member, thereby enhancing the ability of the present system to reach these individual members.) Under broad reasonable interpretation, is “the server computer authenticates and validates the transaction using virtual currency based at least in part on additional information provided in the network header portion” interpreted as the pos terminals and the system verifying balances and triggering events before issuing or transferring points.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Antonucci to the known invention of Hammad would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such user virtual currency into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include wherein the server computer authenticates and validates the transaction using virtual currency based at least in part on additional information provided in the network header portion results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that the virtual currency can be securely stored, tracked and transferred across different merchants, thus improving the overall user convenience and security of the invention.
13. Claims 14-15 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammad et al. (US 20090112757 A1), in view of Antonucci et al. (US20120016730 A1), in view of Boyle et al. (US 20130268438 A1), in view of Piernot et al. (US 20120207041 A1), in view of Redford et al. (US 20040054581 A1), and further in view of Morganstern et al. (WO 2012012014 A1).
14. Regarding claims 14 and 23, Hammad as modified does not explicitly disclose further comprising: initiating, by the server computer, the debit of funds from the issuer account for the virtual currency amount requested by the issuer.
However, Morganstern teaches further comprising: initiating, by the server computer, the debit of funds from the issuer account for the virtual currency amount requested by the issuer, (Para. 0021-0023, FIG. 1 shows a high-level block diagram of an embodiment of the virtual currency system. In one embodiment, the central manager 100 interacts with users 110 and vendors 120. The central manager 100 issues credits 130 in exchange for real currency 140. The user 110 can purchase credits 130 from the central manager 100 in exchange for real currency 140. The user 110 can exchange credits 130 for goods or services 150 from a vendor 120. The vendor 120 can accept credits 130 from users 110 in exchange for goods or services 150 and redeem the credits 130 for real currency 140 from the central manager 100. Various other transactions can occur among the participants of the virtual currency system. In some embodiments, the central manager 100 also acts as a vendor 120 and provides goods and services 150 to users 110 in exchange for credits 130. The central manager 100 can sell credits 130 to users 110 and vendors 120. Moreover, the central manager 100 can sell both credits 130 and goods and services 150 to users 110. For example, the central manager 100 can sell a bucket of fifty credits to a user 110 for ten dollars, and then sell an online game application to the user 110 in exchange for the same credits 130. In other embodiments, the vendor 120 can sell credits 130 to the user 110 in exchange for real currency 140. In one embodiment, vendors 120 can redeem credits 130 for real currency 140, but users cannot redeem credits 130 for real currency 140. The vendor 120 can also purchase credits 130 from the central manager 100.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Morganstern to the known invention of Hammad as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such the virtual currency features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include further comprising: initiating, by the server computer, the debit of funds from the issuer account for the virtual currency amount requested by the issuer, results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that there are funds for the requested virtual currency amount, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
15. Regarding claims 15 and 24, Hammad as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the virtual currency is generated having a number of units equivalent to the requested virtual currency amount, wherein each unit has a fixed monetary value.
However, Morganstern teaches wherein the virtual currency is generated having a number of units equivalent to the requested virtual currency amount, wherein each unit has a fixed monetary value, (Para. 0036, Every credit in the virtual currency system is given a fixed face value. The face value can be the same for all credits in the system. The face value is the apparent value of the credit that is presented to participants in the system. For example, the credit may have a face value of 10 virtual currency units, but have an internal value of $0.01 and an external value of $0.05. In some embodiments, the face value may correspond with the internal value or the external value of the credit. In other embodiments, the face value can be independent of the internal value and the external value of the credit. In another embodiment, the face value is given a real currency value. For instance, a credit may be presented as having a face value of $0.10.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Morganstern to the known invention of Hammad as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such the virtual currency features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include wherein the virtual currency is generated having a number of units equivalent to the requested virtual currency amount, wherein each unit has a fixed monetary value, results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that the value of virtual currency remains consistent in transactions, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
16. Claims 18 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammad et al. (US 20090112757 A1), in view of Antonucci et al. (US20120016730 A1), in view of Boyle et al. (US 20130268438 A1), in view of Piernot et al. (US 20120207041 A1), in view of Redford et al. (US 20040054581 A1), and further in view of Jones et al. (US 20060144925 A1).-
17. Regarding claims 18 and 27, Hammad as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the issuer identifier is associated with the issuer, the identifier is reusable in future virtual currency issuance requests.
However, Jones teaches wherein the issuer identifier is associated with the issuer the identifier is reusable in future virtual currency issuance requests, (Para. 0048, Registration may include providing the issuer with or the issuer assigning to the consumer, a consumer identifier (e.g., account code) and consumer authorization code or PIN. The identifiers, codes, PINs, etc., may include a temporary or permanent identifier, proxy identifiers, limited use identifiers (e.g., certain merchants, certain items, certain time periods, etc), identifiers subject to certain conditions or requirements for use (e.g., parental controls, one time use only), etc. Also, practitioners will appreciate that any of the steps described herein may require or include certain practical processing of signals and information in facilitating the transmission of the described requests and responses. For example, consumers, merchants, and issuers may include any form of identification now known or later developed in the art in any of the transmitted requests or responses. Various practical methods of generating, transmitting, and processing certain transaction information such as party identifiers, payment amount, product description, etc. using digital certificates, digital signatures, tokens, virtual wallets, nonces, protocols and the like are well known in the art and receive only general coverage herein.) Examiner interprets the term reusable in future virtual currency issuance requests is analogous for the term The identifiers, codes, PINs, etc., may include a temporary or permanent identifier, proxy identifiers, limited use identifiers (e.g., certain merchants, certain items, certain time periods, etc in the cited prior art.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Jones to the known invention of Hammad as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such reusable identifier features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include to an identifier that is reusable in future virtual currency issuance requests, results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that user can issuer virtual currency issuance requests more efficiently by using a reusable identifier, thus improving the overall efficiency of the invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Apparatus, system, and method for extracting real world value from a virtual account (US 20080167965 A1) teaches an apparatus, system, and method are disclosed for extracting real world value from a virtual account by receiving point-of-sale information from a consumer, converting a real currency purchase amount to an equivalent virtual value, and processing the transaction. The point-of-sale information comprises a real currency purchase amount and account information, the account information determined from a bank card. Converting the real currency purchase amount utilizes a current real-to-virtual exchange rate associated with a virtual medium. The transaction is processed by debiting a current virtual value balance by the equivalent virtual value, the current virtual value balance associated with an account naming at least the consumer, the account determinable from the account information. Beneficially, the invention provides easy, real-world access to virtual value in a virtual medium.
In addition to the foregoing, other aspects are described in the claims, drawings, and text. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Davida L. King whose telephone number is (571) 272-4724. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-5pm.
/D.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3699
/NEHA PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3699