DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 4, 10, 16-20, 33, 39, 42, 48, 52-55, and 57 are pending in the instant application.
Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection of claims 13-15 are moot in view of claim cancelation.
The rejection to claims 1, 4, 10, 13, 33, 39, 42, 48, 52-53, 55, and 57 under 35 U.S.C. 102 are withdrawn in view of claim amendment.
The rejection to claims 1, 4, 10, 16-20, 33, 39, 42, 48, 52-55, and 57 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in view of claim amendment.
The rejection to claims 1, 4, 10, 33 and 39 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in view of claim amendment.
Claim Rejections Necessitated by Claim Amendment
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 10, 33, 39, 42, 48, 52-53, 55, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herrera AF et al. (Blood 2016 128(22) 4194 reference of record) and evidenced by US 20160082120 (Polson A et al. reference of record), ADC Review Polatuzumab vedotin. (https://www.adcreview.com/polatuzumab-vedotin-drug-description/, Last Editorial Review and Update: June 12, 2019 reference of record), and Hoffmann La Roche Clinical trial NCT02257567 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT02257567? tab= history&a=43#version-content-panel Date 2017-11-22 reference of record), and Matasar M et al. (Haematologica 2017; 102(s2) 173 reference of record).
Regarding instant claims 1, 4, 10, 33, 39, and 48, Herrera taught a method for treating Relapsed or Refractory DLBCL in a human in clinical trial NCT02257567, which by definition would be relapsed or refractory to a prior treatment (instant claim 48), comprising an effective amount of:
the immunoconjugate polatuzumab vedotin at a dose of 1.8 mg/kg;
the alkylating agent bendamustine at a dose of 90 mg/m2; and
Hoffmann La Roche evidenced bendamustine used in clinical trial NCT02257567 was Treanda, which is bendamustine-HCl (Hoffmann La Roche page 21, Drug: Bendamustine) which meets the claim limitations of instant claim 10;
the anti-CD20 antibody rituximab at a dose of 375 mg/m2 (page 2, Introduction and Methods),
wherein administering such treatment to a plurality of human patients having DLBCL would naturally result in at least a two-fold increase in the complete response (CR) rate in a plurality of human patients as compared to administering a control treatment to a plurality of human patients, wherein the control treatment comprises the bendamustine or a salt or solvate thereof and the rituximab in the absence of polatuzumab vedotin (instant claim 1), wherein the combination therapy was administered intravenously every 21 days for DLBCL patients for a total of 6 cycles (page 2, methods), wherein the treatment extends progression free survival as taught by DLBCL patients achieving a complete response (instant claim 4) (page 4, Table 2, PoV + BR), wherein DLBCL patients who achieved a complete response or partial response remained in remission with a median follow-up of 8.4 months with one patient remaining in response for 14 months which meets the claim limitations of instant claims 33 and 39. Herrera taught this combination therapy showed promising durable responses in heavily pretreated R/R DLBCL patients, wherein PoV combined with BR has an acceptable safety profile (Herrera page 3, conclusions).
Regarding instant claim 13, Hoffmann La Roche evidenced that the method taught by Herrera in clinical trial NCT02257567 administered:
the immunoconjugate polatuzumab vedotin intravenously on Day 2 of cycle 1, then on Day 1 of each subsequent cycle for up to 6 cycles at a dose of 1.8 mg/kg
the alkylating agent bendamustine-HCl (Treanda) intravenously on Day 2 and 3 of cycle 1, then on Days 1 and 2 of each subsequent cycle for up to 6 cycles at a dose of 90 mg/m2; and
the anti-CD20 antibody rituximab intravenously on Day 1 of each cycle for up to 6 cycles at a dose of 375 mg/m2 (Hoffmann La Roche, page 21, Polatuzumab+BR in DLBCL),
which meets the claim limitations of instant claim 13.
Regarding instant claim 42, Hoffmann La Roche evidenced that the method taught by Herrera in clinical trial NCT02257567 excluded patients with CNS lymphoma (Hoffmann La Roche, exclusion criteria, page 30, bullet 9).
Regarding instant claims 52 and 53, Hoffmann La Roche evidenced that the method taught by Herrera in clinical trial NCT02257567 was not eligible for an autologous stem cell transplantation (ASCT) (Hoffmann La Roche, exclusion criteria, page 30, bullet 6).
Regarding instant claim 55, Hoffmann La Roche evidenced that the method taught by Herrera in clinical trial NCT02257567 was eligible for the DLBCL combination treatment above if the patient had received prior bendamustine treatment (Hoffmann La Roche, inclusion criteria page 29, bullet 2).
Regarding instant claim 57, Matasar evidenced that the method taught by Herrera in clinical trial NCT02257567 had DLBCL patients refractory to last most recent treatment and prior transplant (page 173, right column, results).
Herrera does not teach: the immunoconjugate is administered intravenously at a dose of 1.8 mg/kg on Day 1, the alkylating agent is administered intravenously at a dose of 90 mg/m2 on Days 1 and 2, and the anti-CD20 antibody is administered intravenously at a dose of 375 mg/m2 on Day 1 for each 21-day cycle of Cycles 1-6, but this is obvious in view of the method of Herrera evidenced by Polson, ADC Review, Hoffmann La Roche, and Matasar.
Regarding instant claims 1, 4, 10, 33, 39, 42, 48, 52-53, 55, and 57, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method used by Herrera which was evidenced by Polson, ADC Review, Hoffmann La Roche, and Matasar as a method for treating Relapsed or Refractory DLBCL in a human in clinical trial NCT02257567, which by definition would be relapsed or refractory to a prior treatment, comprising administering an effective amount of:
the immunoconjugate polatuzumab vedotin at a dose of 1.8 mg/kg intravenously on Day 2 of cycle 1, then on Day 1 of each subsequent cycle for up to 6 cycles;
the alkylating agent bendamustine-HCl at a dose of 90 mg/m2 intravenously on Day 2 and 3 of cycle 1, then on Days 1 and 2 of each subsequent cycle for up to 6 cycles; and
the anti-CD20 antibody rituximab at a dose of 375 mg/m2 intravenously on Day 1 of each cycle for up to 6 cycles,
wherein administering such treatment to a plurality of human patients having DLBCL would naturally result in at least a two-fold increase in the complete response (CR) rate in a plurality of human patients as compared to administering a control treatment to a plurality of human patients, wherein the control treatment comprises the bendamustine or a salt or solvate thereof and the rituximab in the absence of polatuzumab vedotin, wherein the combination therapy was administered intravenously every 21 days for DLBCL patients for a total of 6 cycles, wherein the treatment extends progression free survival as taught by DLBCL patients achieving a complete response, wherein DLBCL patients who achieved a complete response or partial response remained in remission with a median follow-up of 8.4 months with one patient remaining in response for 14 months, wherein the method taught by Herrera in clinical trial NCT02257567 excluded patients: i) with CNS lymphoma; and ii) that were eligible for an autologous stem cell transplantation (ASCT), wherein the method taught by Herrera in clinical trial NCT02257567 was eligible for the DLBCL combination treatment above if the patient had received prior bendamustine treatment, wherein the method taught by Herrera in clinical trial NCT02257567 had DLBCL patients refractory to last most recent treatment and prior transplant – to:
1) administer the combination of:
a) the immunoconjugate polatuzumab vedotin at a dose of 1.8 mg/kg intravenously on Day 1 of cycles 1-6;
b) the alkylating agent bendamustine-HCl at a dose of 90 mg/m2 intravenously on Day 1 and 2 of cycles 1-6; and
c) the anti-CD20 antibody rituximab at a dose of 375 mg/m2 intravenously on Day 1 of each cycle for up to 6 cycles.
This is obvious because:
1a) Herrera taught this combination therapy was effective and showed promising durable responses in heavily pretreated R/R DLBCL patients, wherein PoV combined with BR has an acceptable safety profile. Thus, administration of the combination of all three agents on Day 1 and bendamustine-HCl on Day 2 after the first cycle was effective and safe and the dosage regimen did not require polatuzumab vedotin, bendamustine, and rituximab to be administered on separate days; and
1b) cycles 2-6 were safe and effective, so the patients could be changed to 2 days of treatment for the first cycle rather than 3 days of treatment.
There is a reasonable expectation of success because:
1a) Herrera taught this combination therapy was effective and showed promising durable responses in heavily pretreated R/R DLBCL patients, wherein PoV combined with BR has an acceptable safety profile. Thus, administration of the combination of all three agents on Day 1 and bendamustine-HCl on Day 2 after the first cycle was effective and safe and the dosage regimen did not require polatuzumab vedotin, bendamustine, and rituximab to be administered on separate days.
This would produce a method for treating Relapsed or Refractory DLBCL in a human, which by definition would be relapsed or refractory to a prior treatment (instant claim 48), comprising administering an effective amount of:
a) the immunoconjugate polatuzumab vedotin at a dose of 1.8 mg/kg intravenously on Day 1 of cycles 1-6;
b) the alkylating agent bendamustine-HCl (instant claim 10) at a dose of 90 mg/m2 intravenously on Day 1 and 2 of cycles 1-6; and
c) the anti-CD20 antibody rituximab at a dose of 375 mg/m2 intravenously on Day 1 of each cycle for up to 6 cycles.
wherein administering such treatment to a plurality of human patients having DLBCL would naturally result in at least a two-fold increase in the complete response (CR) rate in a plurality of human patients as compared to administering a control treatment to a plurality of human patients, wherein the control treatment comprises the bendamustine or a salt or solvate thereof and the rituximab in the absence of polatuzumab vedotin (instant claim 1), wherein the combination therapy was administered intravenously every 21 days for DLBCL patients for a total of 6 cycles, wherein the treatment extends progression free survival as taught by DLBCL patients achieving a complete response (instant claim 4), wherein DLBCL patients who achieved a complete response or partial response remained in remission with a median follow-up of 8.4 months with one patient remaining in response for 14 months (instant claims 33 and 39), wherein the method excludes patients: i) with CNS lymphoma (instant claim 42); and ii) that were eligible for an autologous stem cell transplantation (ASCT) (instant claims 52 and 53), wherein the method is eligible for the DLBCL combination treatment above if the patient had received prior bendamustine treatment (instant claim 55), wherein the DLBCL patients are refractory to last most recent treatment and prior transplant (instant claim 57)
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues without acquiescing to the Examiner's arguments and solely in the interest of furthering prosecution, Applicants have amended claim 1 as described above. Applicants submit that none of the cited references, alone or in combination, teach or suggest all elements of the amended claim 1, and that claim 1 and all claims dependent therefrom are therefore novel and non-obvious. Applicants respectfully request withdrawal of the rejection.
In response, Applicant's arguments filed 8/4/2026 have been fully considered
but they are not persuasive. The updated rejections are above.
Claims 1, 4, 10, 16-20, 33, 39, 42, 48, 52-53, 55, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herrera AF et al. (Blood 2016 128(22) 4194 reference of record) and evidenced by US 20160082120 (Polson A et al. reference of record), ADC Review Polatuzumab vedotin. (https://www.adcreview.com/polatuzumab-vedotin-drug-description/, Last Editorial Review and Update: June 12, 2019 reference of record), and Hoffmann La Roche Clinical trial NCT02257567 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT02257567? tab= history&a=43#version-content-panel Date 2017-11-22 reference of record), and Matasar M et al. (Haematologica 2017; 102(s2) 173 reference of record) as applied to claims 1, 4, 10, 33, 39, 42, 48, 52-53, 55, and 57 above, and further in view of and Darwish M et al. (Cancer Chemother Pharmacol. 2014; 73(6): 1119–1127 reference of record), Pichler WJ et al. (Allergy 2006 61 912–920 reference of record), Kim EG et al. (Biomol Ther (Seoul). 2015 Nov; 23(6): 493–509 reference of record), and Levin AS et al. (J Allergy Clin Immunol Pract 5 1 107-113 reference of record)
The teachings of Herrera, as evidenced by Polson, ADC Review, Hoffmann La Roche, and Matasar, are set forth above.
Herrera is silent to: 1) extending the combination therapy of polatuzumab vedotin, bendamustine, and rituximab for more than 6 cycles; and 2) the order of administration of rituximab, polatuzumab vedotin, and bendamustine, but this is obvious in view of Herrera teaching that PoV combined with BR has an acceptable safety profile and Darwish, Pichler, Kim, and Levine.
Regarding instant claim 20, Darwish taught in the bendamustine–rituximab combination study, rituximab (375 mg/m2) was administered as an intravenous infusion on day 1 of each 28-day cycle for 6–8 treatment cycles; bendamustine (90 mg/m2) was administered as a 30-min intravenous infusion following completion of the rituximab infusion on day 1 of each cycle and was repeated on day 2 of each cycle (page 1120, right column, Methods section, first paragraph). Darwish taught the lack of pharmacokinetic interaction between the two drugs (page 1119, Abstract, Results). Darwish taught neither bendamustine nor rituximab appears to affect systemic exposure of the other drug when co-administered (page 1119, Abstract, Conclusions).
Regarding instant claim 20, Pichler taught allergic reactions to biological agents are directed against the protein itself and the frequency of such reactions depends on the degree of humanization of the applied protein, which is often an antibody (page 915, right column, Degree of Humanization paragraph). Pichler taught while, e.g. mouse antibodies (almost not used any more) as well as chimeric antibodies have at least some xenogenic determinants on its constant part, which can elicit quite rapidly an immune response, humanized or fully human antibodies have a low immunogenicity as immunological tolerance exists to the constant part of the immunoglobulin antibody (page 915, right column, Degree of Humanization paragraph).
Regarding instant claim 20, Kim taught polatuzumab vedotin is a humanized antibody (page 497, Table 2). Kim taught rituximab is a chimeric anti-CD20 antibody (page 495, left column, first paragraph).
Regarding instant claim 20, Levin taught reactions to rituximab occur frequently and the safety of rechallenging patients after a reaction is not clear (page 107, Abstract, background). Levin taught that a grade 3 or 4 reaction should prompt referral to an allergy specialist for risk assessment before additional rituximab administration (page 107, Abstract, conclusions). Levin taught treatment with an anti-histamine H1 blocker after an initial reaction to rituximab as well as steroids, H2 blockers, and intravenous fluids in response to rituximab adverse reactions (page 109, right column, last paragraph).
Regarding instant claims 16-20, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to take the method of Herrera as evidenced by Polson, ADC Review, Hoffmann La Roche, and Matasar above – and: 1) extend the combination therapy of polatuzumab vedotin, bendamustine, and rituximab for more than 6 cycles using the dosing of cycles 2-6 which were safe and effective; and 2) administering them sequentially in the order of i) rituximab, ii) polatuzumab vedotin, then iii) bendamustine when administered on the same day or bendamustine last when paired with only one antibody agent.
This is obvious because: 1a) Herrera taught the combination therapy of polatuzumab vedotin, bendamustine, and rituximab showed promising durable responses in heavily pretreated R/R DLBCL patients, wherein PoV combined with BR has an acceptable safety profile;1b) Cycles 2-6 of Hererra were effective and safe and could be replicated for more cycles. Thus, extending the treatment regimen using the same administration regimen that was effective and safe in cycles 2-6 would be expected to be effective successful in subsequent cycles; 2a) Darwish taught rituximab administration prior to bendamustine did not affect the pharmacokinetic systemic exposure of the either drug when co-administered in this sequence; 2b) Pichler taught allergic reactions occur in chimeric antibodies more than humanized antibodies; 2c) Kim taught rituximab is a chimeric antibody and polatuzumab vedotin is humanized. Thus, rituximab would be expected to cause more allergic reactions; and 2d) Levin taught reactions to rituximab occur frequently and a grade 3 or 4 reaction should prompt referral to an allergy specialist for risk assessment before additional rituximab administration. Thus, the method should be administered in the order of most likely to cause an adverse response to least likely to cause a response for the antibodies to ensure safe administration to the patient, wherein the chimeric antibody rituximab would be administered first, followed by the humanized polatuzumab vedotin, and then bendamustine or bendamustine last when paired with only one antibody agent.
There is a reasonable expectation of success because: 1a) Herrera taught the combination therapy of polatuzumab vedotin, bendamustine, and rituximab showed promising durable responses in heavily pretreated R/R DLBCL patients, wherein PoV combined with BR has an acceptable safety profile;1b) Cycles 2-6 of Hererra were effective and safe and could be replicated for more cycles. Thus, extending the treatment regimen using the same administration regimen that was effective and safe in cycles 2-6 would be expected to be effective successful in subsequent cycles; 2a) Darwish taught rituximab administration prior to bendamustine did not affect the pharmacokinetic systemic exposure of the either drug when co-administered in this sequence; 2b) Pichler taught allergic reactions occur in chimeric antibodies more than humanized antibodies; 2c) Kim taught rituximab is a chimeric antibody and polatuzumab vedotin is humanized. Thus, rituximab would be expected to cause more allergic reactions; and 2d) Levin taught reactions to rituximab occur frequently and a grade 3 or 4 reaction should prompt referral to an allergy specialist for risk assessment before additional rituximab administration. Thus, the method should be administered in the order of most likely to cause an adverse response to least likely to cause a response for the antibodies to ensure safe administration to the patient, wherein the chimeric antibody rituximab would be administered first, followed by the humanized polatuzumab vedotin, and then bendamustine or bendamustine last when paired with only one antibody agent.
This would produce a method of treating human patients with R/R DLBCL with the NOS subtype comprising administering:
the immunoconjugate polatuzumab vedotin intravenously on Day 1 of each subsequent cycle after 6 cycles at a dose of 1.8 mg/kg
the alkylating agent bendamustine-HCl (Treanda) intravenously on Days 1 and 2 of each subsequent cycle after 6 cycles at a dose of 90 mg/m2; and
the anti-CD20 antibody rituximab intravenously on Day 1 of each cycle after 6 cycles at a dose of 375 mg/m2 (instant claims 18-19),
wherein the anti-CD20 antibody rituximab is administered prior to the immunoconjugate, and wherein the immunoconjugate is administered prior to the alkylating agent on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle for every cycle after Cycle 6 which meets the claim limitations of instant claims 16-17 and 20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues without acquiescing to the Examiner's arguments and solely in the interest of furthering prosecution, Applicants have amended claim 1 as described above. Applicants submit that none of the cited references, alone or in combination, teach or suggest all elements of the amended claim 1, and that claim 1 and all claims dependent therefrom are therefore novel and non-obvious. Applicants respectfully request withdrawal of the rejection.
In response, Applicant's arguments filed 8/4/2026 have been fully considered
but they are not persuasive. The updated rejections are above.
Claims 1, 4, 10, 16-20, 33, 39, 42, 48, 52-55, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herrera AF et al. (Blood 2016 128(22) 4194 reference of record), Darwish M et al. (Cancer Chemother Pharmacol. 2014; 73(6): 1119–1127 reference of record), Pichler WJ et al. (Allergy 2006 61 912–920 reference of record), Kim EG et al. (Biomol Ther (Seoul). 2015 Nov; 23(6): 493–509 reference of record), and Levin AS et al. (J Allergy Clin Immunol Pract 5 1 107-113 reference of record) and evidenced by US 20160082120 (Polson A et al. reference of record), ADC Review Polatuzumab vedotin. (https://www.adcreview.com/polatuzumab-vedotin-drug-description/, Last Editorial Review and Update: June 12, 2019 reference of record), and Hoffmann La Roche Clinical trial NCT02257567 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT02257567? tab= history&a=43#version-content-panel Date 2017-11-22 reference of record), and Matasar M et al. (Haematologica 2017; 102(s2) 173 reference of record) as applied to claims 1, 4, 10, 33, 39, 42, 48, 52-53, 55, and 57 above, and further in view of Eldjerou L et al. (Transplantation and Cellular Therapy 24(3) supplement, S125 DOI:https://doi.org/10.1016/j.bbmt.2017.12.066 reference of record).
The teachings of Darwish, Pichler, Kim, and Levine and Herrera, as evidenced by Polson, ADC Review, Hoffmann La Roche, and Matasar, are set forth above.
Herrera is silent to whether the transplant was an autologous stem cell transplant, but this is obvious in view of Eldjerou.
Regarding instant claim 54, Matasar evidenced that the method taught by Herrera in clinical trial NCT02257567 had DLBCL patients refractory to last most recent treatment and prior transplant (page 173, right column, results).
Eldjerou taught DLBCL, relapsed/refractory (r/r) disease remains a major cause of morbidity and mortality wherein at relapse, high-dose chemotherapy with autologous stem cell transplant (ASCT) is the preferred therapy for eligible patients (Abstract, background). Eldjerou taught although ASCT is standard treatment for eligible DLBCL patients: i) its benefits are limited, with high rates of relapse, poor prognosis after relapse following ASCT, and risk of secondary malignancies; and ii) there is an urgent need for novel therapies (Abstract, conclusions).
Regarding instant claim 54, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to take the method of Herrera, Darwish, Pichler, Kim, and Levine above with extended combination therapy of polatuzumab vedotin, bendamustine, and rituximab for more than 6 cycles – and 1) perform the method in DLBCL patients that have failed prior autologous stem cell transplantation.
This is obvious because: a) autologous stem cell transplantation is standard of care and the DLBCL patient population that failed transplantation was likely an autologous stem cell transplantation patient; and b) although ASCT is standard treatment for eligible DLBCL patients: i) its benefits are limited, with high rates of relapse, poor prognosis after relapse following ASCT, and risk of secondary malignancies. Thus, treatment of DLBCL patients that failed prior ASCT would require other therapies and the DLBCL would be effectively targeted by the combination treatment.
There is a reasonable expectation of success because: 1a) the method may have already been performed successfully on this patient population, and 1b) the DLBCL combination treatment of polatuzumab vedotin, bendamustine, and rituximab would target the cancer cells with an antibody drug conjugate, alkylating agent, and antibody in combination that was shown to have promising durable responses in heavily pretreated R/R DLBCL patients, wherein PoV combined with BR has an acceptable safety profile.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues without acquiescing to the Examiner's arguments and solely in the interest of furthering prosecution, Applicants have amended claim 1 as described above. Applicants submit that none of the cited references, alone or in combination, teach or suggest all elements of the amended claim 1, and that claim 1 and all claims dependent therefrom are therefore novel and non-obvious. Applicants respectfully request withdrawal of the rejection.
In response, Applicant's arguments filed 8/4/2026 have been fully considered
but they are not persuasive. The updated rejections are above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 10, 33, 39, 42, 48, 52-53, 55, and 57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-49 of U.S. Patent No. 11,000,510 in view of Herrera AF et al. (Blood 2016 128(22) 4194 reference of record) and evidenced by US 20160082120 (Polson A et al. reference of record), ADC Review Polatuzumab vedotin. (https://www.adcreview.com/polatuzumab-vedotin-drug-description/, Last Editorial Review and Update: June 12, 2019 reference of record), and Hoffmann La Roche Clinical trial NCT02257567 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT02257567? tab= history&a=43#version-content-panel Date 2017-11-22 reference of record), and Matasar M et al. (Haematologica 2017; 102(s2) 173 reference of record).
Regarding instant claims 1, 4, 10, 33, and 39, ‘510 patented claims 43 and 45 taught a method for treating relapsed or refractory diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (RR DLBCL) in a human comprising administering to the human (a) polatuzumab vedotin, (b) rituximab, and (c) bendamustine or bendamustine hydrochloride, wherein the polatuzumab vedotin is administered at a dose of about 1.8 mg/kg, wherein the polatuzumab vedotin is administered at a dose of about 1.8 mg/kg once every three weeks; wherein the rituximab is administered at a dose of about 375 mg/m2 once every three weeks; and wherein the bendamustine or bendamustine hydrochloride is administered at a dose of about 90 mg/m2 on day 1 and day 2 every three weeks, wherein: 1) administering such treatment to a plurality of human patients having DLBCL would naturally result in at least a two-fold increase in the complete response (CR) rate in a plurality of human patients as compared to administering a control treatment to a plurality of human patients, wherein the control treatment comprises the bendamustine or a salt or solvate thereof and the rituximab in the absence of polatuzumab vedotin (instant claim 1); 2) wherein the human naturally achieves a complete response (CR) following the treatment with the immunoconjugate polatuzumab vedotin, the alkylating agent bendamustine hydrochloride (instant claim 4), and the anti-CD20 antibody rituximab (instant claim 10); 3) wherein the treatment naturally extends the progression free survival (PFS) of the human to at least about 6 months (instant claim 33); and 4) wherein the treatment extends the overall survival (OS) of the human to at least about 11 months (instant claim 39). ‘510 patented claim 48 taught the polatuzumab vedotin, the rituximab, and the bendamustine or bendamustine hydrochloride are administered by intravenous infusion.
‘510 patented claims 1-42, 44, and 46-49 and taught methods for treating relapsed or refractory follicular lymphoma (RR FL) or relapsed or refractory diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (RR DLBCL) in a human comprising administering to the human an effective amount of (a) an immunoconjugate comprising an anti-CD79b antibody linked to MMAE, (b) rituximab, and (c) an alkylating agent, wherein the alkylating agent is 4-[5-[Bis(2-chloroethyl)amino]-1-methylbenzimidazol-2-yl]butanoic acid or a salt thereof.
‘510 is silent to which day polatuzumab vedotin and rituximab are administered once every three weeks, but this is obvious in view of the method of Herrera evidenced by Polson, ADC Review, Hoffmann La Roche, and Matasar.
Regarding instant claims 1, 4, 10, 33, 39, and 48, Herrera taught a method for treating Relapsed or Refractory DLBCL in a human in clinical trial NCT02257567, which by definition would be relapsed or refractory to a prior treatment, comprising an effective amount of:
the immunoconjugate polatuzumab vedotin at a dose of 1.8 mg/kg;
the alkylating agent bendamustine at a dose of 90 mg/m2; and
Hoffmann La Roche evidenced bendamustine used in clinical trial NCT02257567 was Treanda, which is bendamustine-HCl (Hoffmann La Roche page 21, Drug: Bendamustine);
the anti-CD20 antibody rituximab at a dose of 375 mg/m2 (page 2, Introduction and Methods),
wherein administering such treatment to a plurality of human patients having DLBCL would naturally result in at least a two-fold increase in the complete response (CR) rate in a plurality of human patients as compared to administering a control treatment to a plurality of human patients, wherein the control treatment comprises the bendamustine or a salt or solvate thereof and the rituximab in the absence of polatuzumab vedotin, wherein the combination therapy was administered intravenously every 21 days for DLBCL patients for a total of 6 cycles (page 2, methods), wherein the treatment extends progression free survival as taught by DLBCL patients achieving a complete response (instant claim 4) (page 4, Table 2, PoV + BR), wherein DLBCL patients who achieved a complete response or partial response remained in remission with a median follow-up of 8.4 months with one patient remaining in response for 14 months. Herrera taught this combination therapy showed promising durable responses in heavily pretreated R/R DLBCL patients, wherein PoV combined with BR has an acceptable safety profile (Herrera page 3, conclusions).
Regarding instant claim 13, Hoffmann La Roche evidenced that the method taught by Herrera in clinical trial NCT02257567 administered:
the immunoconjugate polatuzumab vedotin intravenously on Day 2 of cycle 1, then on Day 1 of each subsequent cycle for up to 6 cycles at a dose of 1.8 mg/kg
the alkylating agent bendamustine-HCl (Treanda) intravenously on Day 2 and 3 of cycle 1, then on Days 1 and 2 of each subsequent cycle for up to 6 cycles at a dose of 90 mg/m2; and
the anti-CD20 antibody rituximab intravenously on Day 1 of each cycle for up to 6 cycles at a dose of 375 mg/m2 (Hoffmann La Roche, page 21, Polatuzumab+BR in DLBCL),
which meets the claim limitations of instant claim 13.
Regarding instant claim 42, Hoffmann La Roche evidenced that the method taught by Herrera in clinical trial NCT02257567 excluded patients with CNS lymphoma (Hoffmann La Roche, exclusion criteria, page 30, bullet 9).
Regarding instant claims 52 and 53, Hoffmann La Roche evidenced that the method taught by Herrera in clinical trial NCT02257567 was not eligible for an autologous stem cell transplantation (ASCT) (Hoffmann La Roche, exclusion criteria, page 30, bullet 6).
Regarding instant claim 55, Hoffmann La Roche evidenced that the method taught by Herrera in clinical trial NCT02257567 was eligible for the DLBCL combination treatment above if the patient had received prior bendamustine treatment (Hoffmann La Roche, inclusion criteria page 29, bullet 2).
Regarding instant claim 57, Matasar evidenced that the method taught by Herrera in clinical trial NCT02257567 had DLBCL patients refractory to last most recent treatment and prior transplant (page 173, right column, results).
Regarding instant claims 1, 4, 10, 33, 39, 42, 48, 52-53, 55, and 57, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of ‘510 patented claims 43, 45, and 48 for treating relapsed or refractory diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (RR DLBCL) in a human comprising intravenously administering to the human:
(a) 1.8 mg/kg polatuzumab vedotin once every three weeks
(b) 375 mg/m2 rituximab once every three weeks and
(c) 90 mg/m2 bendamustine or bendamustine hydrochloride on day 1 and day 2 every three weeks,
wherein: A) administering such treatment to a plurality of human patients having DLBCL would naturally result in at least a two-fold increase in the complete response (CR) rate in a plurality of human patients as compared to administering a control treatment to a plurality of human patients, wherein the control treatment comprises the bendamustine or a salt or solvate thereof and the rituximab in the absence of polatuzumab vedotin (instant claim 1); B) wherein the human naturally achieves a complete response (CR) following the treatment with the immunoconjugate polatuzumab vedotin, the alkylating agent bendamustine hydrochloride (instant claim 4), and the anti-CD20 antibody rituximab (instant claim 10); C) wherein the treatment naturally extends the progression free survival (PFS) of the human to at least about 6 months (instant claim 33); and D) wherein the treatment extends the overall survival (OS) of the human to at least about 11 months (instant claim 39) – to:
1) in view of Herrera evidenced by Polson, ADC Review, Hoffmann La Roche, and Matasar, administer the combination of:
a) the immunoconjugate polatuzumab vedotin at a dose of 1.8 mg/kg intravenously on Day 1 of cycles 1-6;
b) the alkylating agent bendamustine-HCl at a dose of 90 mg/m2 intravenously on Day 1 and 2 of cycles 1-6; and
c) the anti-CD20 antibody rituximab at a dose of 375 mg/m2 intravenously on Day 1 of each cycle for up to 6 cycles,
wherein the method taught by Herrera in clinical trial NCT02257567 excluded patients: i) with CNS lymphoma (instant claim 42); and ii) that were eligible for an autologous stem cell transplantation (ASCT) (instant claims 52 and 53), wherein the method taught by Herrera in clinical trial NCT02257567 was eligible for the DLBCL combination treatment above if the patient had received prior bendamustine treatment (instant claim 55), wherein the method taught by Herrera in clinical trial NCT02257567 had DLBCL patients refractory to last most recent treatment and prior transplant (instant claim 57)
This is obvious because ‘510 taught administration of bendamustine-HCl on Days 1 and 2 and:
1a) Herrera taught this combination therapy was effective and showed promising durable responses in heavily pretreated R/R DLBCL patients, wherein PoV combined with BR has an acceptable safety profile. Thus, administration of the combination of all three agents on Day 1 and bendamustine-HCl on Day 2 after the first cycle was effective and safe and the dosage regimen did not require polatuzumab vedotin, bendamustine, and rituximab to be administered on separate days; and
1b) cycles 2-6 were safe and effective, so the patients could be changed to 2 days of treatment for the first cycle rather than 3 days of treatment.
There is a reasonable expectation of success because:
1a) Herrera taught this combination therapy was effective and showed promising durable responses in heavily pretreated R/R DLBCL patients, wherein PoV combined with BR has an acceptable safety profile. Thus, administration of the combination of all three agents on Day 1 and bendamustine-HCl on Day 2 after the first cycle was effective and safe and the dosage regimen did not require polatuzumab vedotin, bendamustine, and rituximab to be administered on separate days.
This would produce a method for treating Relapsed or Refractory DLBCL in a human, which by definition would be relapsed or refractory to a prior treatment (instant claim 48), comprising administering an effective amount of:
a) the immunoconjugate polatuzumab vedotin at a dose of 1.8 mg/kg intravenously on Day 1 of cycles 1-6;
b) the alkylating agent bendamustine-HCl (instant claim 10) at a dose of 90 mg/m2 intravenously on Day 1 and 2 of cycles 1-6; and
c) the anti-CD20 antibody rituximab at a dose of 375 mg/m2 intravenously on Day 1 of each cycle for up to 6 cycles.
wherein: A) administering such treatment to a plurality of human patients having DLBCL would naturally result in at least a two-fold increase in the complete response (CR) rate in a plurality of human patients as compared to administering a control treatment to a plurality of human patients, wherein the control treatment comprises the bendamustine or a salt or solvate thereof and the rituximab in the absence of polatuzumab vedotin (instant claim 1); B) wherein the human naturally achieves a complete response (CR) following the treatment with the immunoconjugate polatuzumab vedotin, the alkylating agent bendamustine hydrochloride (instant claim 4), and the anti-CD20 antibody rituximab (instant claim 10); C) wherein the treatment naturally extends the progression free survival (PFS) of the human to at least about 6 months (instant claim 33); and D) wherein the treatment extends the overall survival (OS) of the human to at least about 11 months (instant claim 39), wherein the method excludes patients: i) with CNS lymphoma (instant claim 42); and ii) that were eligible for an autologous stem cell transplantation (ASCT) (instant claims 52 and 53), wherein the patients are eligible for the DLBCL combination treatment above if the patient had received prior bendamustine treatment (instant claim 55), wherein the DLBCL patients are refractory to last most recent treatment and prior transplant (instant claim 57).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues without acquiescing to the Examiner's arguments and solely in the interest of furthering prosecution, Applicants have amended claim 1 as described above. Applicants submit that claims 1-49 of U.S. Patent No. 11,000,510 do not teach or suggest all elements of the instant amended claim 1, and that instant claim 1 and all claims dependent therefrom are therefore patentably distinct from claims 1-49 of U.S. Patent No. 11,000,510. Applicants respectfully request withdrawal of the rejection.
In response, Applicant's arguments filed 8/4/2026 have been fully considered
but they are not persuasive. The updated rejections are above.
Claims 1, 4, 10, 16-20, 33, 39, 42, 48, 52-53, 55, and 57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-49 of U.S. Patent No. 11,000,510 in view of Herrera AF et al. (Blood 2016 128(22) 4194 reference of record), Darwish M et al. (Cancer Chemother Pharmacol. 2014; 73(6): 1119–1127 reference of record), Pichler WJ et al. (Allergy 2006 61 912–920 reference of record), Kim EG et al. (Biomol Ther (Seoul). 2015 Nov; 23(6): 493–509 reference of record), and Levin AS et al. (J Allergy Clin Immunol Pract 5 1 107-113 reference of record) and evidenced by US 20160082120 (Polson A et al. reference of record), ADC Review Polatuzumab vedotin. (https://www.adcreview.com/polatuzumab-vedotin-drug-description/, Last Editorial Review and Update: June 12, 2019 reference of record), and Hoffmann La Roche Clinical trial NCT02257567 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT02257567? tab= history&a=43#version-content-panel Date 2017-11-22 reference of record), and Matasar M et al. (Haematologica 2017; 102(s2) 173 reference of record).
‘510 and Herrera, as evidenced by Polson, ADC Review, Hoffmann La Roche, and Matasar, taught the limitations of claims 1, 4, 10, 33, 39, 42, 48, 52-53, 55, and 57 for the reasons set forth above.
The teachings of ‘510 and Herrera, as evidenced by Polson, ADC Review, Hoffmann La Roche, and Matasar, are set forth above.
‘510 is silent to: 1) extending the combination therapy of polatuzumab vedotin, bendamustine, and rituximab for more than 6 cycles; and 2) the order of administration of rituximab, polatuzumab vedotin, and bendamustine, but this is obvious in view of Herrera teaching that PoV combined with BR has an acceptable safety profile and Darwish, Pichler, Kim, and Levine.
Regarding instant claim 20, Darwish taught in the bendamustine–rituximab combination study, rituximab (375 mg/m2) was administered as an intravenous infusion on day 1 of each 28-day cycle for 6–8 treatment cycles; bendamustine (90 mg/m2) was administered as a 30-min intravenous infusion following completion of the rituximab infusion on day 1 of each cycle and was repeated on day 2 of each cycle (page 1120, right column, Methods section, first paragraph). Darwish taught the lack of pharmacokinetic interaction between the two drugs (page 1119, Abstract, Results). Darwish taught neither bendamustine nor rituximab appears to affect systemic exposure of the other drug when co-administered (page 1119, Abstract, Conclusions).
Regarding instant claim 20, Pichler taught allergic reactions to biological agents are directed against the protein itself and the frequency of such reactions depends on the degree of humanization of the applied protein, which is often an antibody (page 915, right column, Degree of Humanization paragraph). Pichler taught while, e.g. mouse antibodies (almost not used any more) as well as chimeric antibodies have at least some xenogenic determinants on its constant part, which can elicit quite rapidly an immune response, humanized or fully human antibodies have a low immunogenicity as immunological tolerance exists to the constant part of the immunoglobulin antibody (page 915, right column, Degree of Humanization paragraph).
Regarding instant claim 20, Kim taught polatuzumab vedotin is a humanized antibody (page 497, Table 2). Kim taught rituximab is a chimeric anti-CD20 antibody (page 495, left column, first paragraph).
Regarding instant claim 20, Levin taught reactions to rituximab occur frequently and the safety of rechallenging patients after a reaction is not clear (page 107, Abstract, background). Levin taught that a grade 3 or 4 reaction should prompt referral to an allergy specialist for risk assessment before additional rituximab administration (page 107, Abstract, conclusions). Levin taught treatment with an anti-histamine H1 blocker after an initial reaction to rituximab as well as steroids, H2 blockers, and intravenous fluids in response to rituximab adverse reactions (page 109, right column, last paragraph).
Regarding instant claims 16-20, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to take the method of ‘510 and Herrera as evidenced by Polson, ADC Review, Hoffmann La Roche, and Matasar above – and: 1) extend the combination therapy of polatuzumab vedotin, bendamustine, and rituximab for more than 6 cycles using the dosing of cycles 2-6 which were safe and effective; and 2) administering them sequentially in the order of i) rituximab, ii) polatuzumab vedotin, then iii) bendamustine when administered on the same day or bendamustine last when paired with only one antibody agent.
This is obvious because: 1a) Herrera taught the combination therapy of polatuzumab vedotin, bendamustine, and rituximab showed promising durable responses in heavily pretreated R/R DLBCL patients, wherein PoV combined with BR has an acceptable safety profile;1b) Cycles 2-6 of Hererra were effective and safe and could be replicated for more cycles. Thus, extending the treatment regimen using the same administration regimen that was effective and safe in cycles 2-6 would be expected to be effective successful in subsequent cycles; 2a) Darwish taught rituximab administration prior to bendamustine did not affect the pharmacokinetic systemic exposure of the either drug when co-administered in this sequence; 2b) Pichler taught allergic reactions occur in chimeric antibodies more than humanized antibodies; 2c) Kim taught rituximab is a chimeric antibody and polatuzumab vedotin is humanized. Thus, rituximab would be expected to cause more allergic reactions; and 2d) Levin taught reactions to rituximab occur frequently and a grade 3 or 4 reaction should prompt referral to an allergy specialist for risk assessment before additional rituximab administration. Thus, the method should be administered in the order of most likely to cause an adverse response to least likely to cause a response for the antibodies to ensure safe administration to the patient, wherein the chimeric antibody rituximab would be administered first, followed by the humanized polatuzumab vedotin, and then bendamustine or bendamustine last when paired with only one antibody agent.
There is a reasonable expectation of success because: 1a) Herrera taught the combination therapy of polatuzumab vedotin, bendamustine, and rituximab showed promising durable responses in heavily pretreated R/R DLBCL patients, wherein PoV combined with BR has an acceptable safety profile;1b) Cycles 2-6 of Hererra were effective and safe and have the same dosage schedule and could be replicated for more cycles. Thus, extending the treatment regimen using the same administration regimen that was effective and safe in cycles 2-6 would be expected to be effective successful in subsequent cycles; 2a) Darwish taught rituximab administration prior to bendamustine did not affect the pharmacokinetic systemic exposure of the either drug when co-administered in this sequence; 2b) Pichler taught allergic reactions occur in chimeric antibodies more than humanized antibodies; 2c) Kim taught rituximab is a chimeric antibody and polatuzumab vedotin is humanized. Thus, rituximab would be expected to cause more allergic reactions; and 2d) Levin taught reactions to rituximab occur frequently and a grade 3 or 4 reaction should prompt referral to an allergy specialist for risk assessment before additional rituximab administration. Thus, the method should be administered in the order of most likely to cause an adverse response to least likely to cause a response for the antibodies to ensure safe administration to the patient, wherein the chimeric antibody rituximab would be administered first, followed by the humanized polatuzumab vedotin, and then bendamustine or bendamustine last when paired with only one antibody agent.
This would produce a method of treating human patients with R/R DLBCL with the NOS subtype comprising administering:
the immunoconjugate polatuzumab vedotin intravenously on Day 1 of each subsequent cycle after 6 cycles at a dose of 1.8 mg/kg;
the alkylating agent bendamustine-HCl intravenously on Days 1 and 2 of each subsequent cycle after 6 cycles at a dose of 90 mg/m2; and
the anti-CD20 antibody rituximab intravenously on Day 1 of each cycle after 6 cycles at a dose of 375 mg/m2 (instant claims 18-19),
wherein the anti-CD20 antibody rituximab is administered prior to the immunoconjugate, and wherein the immunoconjugate is administered prior to the alkylating agent on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle for every cycle after Cycle 6 which meets the claim limitations of instant claims 16-17 and 20.
Claims 1, 4, 10, 16-20, 33, 39, 42, 48, 52-55, and 57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-49 of U.S. Patent No. 11,000,510 in view of Herrera AF et al. (Blood 2016 128(22) 4194 reference of record), Darwish M et al. (Cancer Chemother Pharmacol. 2014; 73(6): 1119–1127 reference of record), Pichler WJ et al. (Allergy 2006 61 912–920 reference of record), Kim EG et al. (Biomol Ther (Seoul). 2015 Nov; 23(6): 493–509 reference of record), Levin AS et al. (J Allergy Clin Immunol Pract 5 1 107-113 reference of record), and Eldjerou L et al. (Transplantation and Cellular Therapy 24(3) supplement, S125 DOI:https://doi.org/10.1016/j.bbmt.2017.12.066 reference of record) and evidenced by US 20160082120 (Polson A et al. reference of record), ADC Review Polatuzumab vedotin. (https://www.adcreview.com/polatuzumab-vedotin-drug-description/, Last Editorial Review and Update: June 12, 2019 reference of record), and Hoffmann La Roche Clinical trial NCT02257567 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT02257567? tab= history&a=43#version-content-panel Date 2017-11-22 reference of record), and Matasar M et al. (Haematologica 2017; 102(s2) 173 reference of record).
‘510, Darwish, Pichler, Kim, Levine, and Herrera, as evidenced by Polson, ADC Review, Hoffmann La Roche, and Matasar, taught the limitations of claims 1, 4, 10, 16-20, 33, 39, 42, 48, 52-53, 55, and 57 for the reasons set forth above.
The teachings of ‘510, Darwish, Pichler, Kim, Levine, and Herrera, as evidenced by Polson, ADC Review, Hoffmann La Roche, and Matasar, are set forth above.
‘510 is silent to whether the transplant was an autologous stem cell transplant, but this is obvious in view of Eldjerou.
Regarding instant claim 54, Matasar evidenced that the method taught by Herrera in clinical trial NCT02257567 had DLBCL patients refractory to last most recent treatment and prior transplant (page 173, right column, results).
Eldjerou taught DLBCL, relapsed/refractory (r/r) disease remains a major cause of morbidity and mortality wherein at relapse, high-dose chemotherapy with autologous stem cell transplant (ASCT) is the preferred therapy for eligible patients (Abstract, background). Eldjerou taught although ASCT is standard treatment for eligible DLBCL patients: i) its benefits are limited, with high rates of relapse, poor prognosis after relapse following ASCT, and risk of secondary malignancies; and ii) there is an urgent need for novel therapies (Abstract, conclusions).
Regarding instant claim 54, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to take the method of ‘510, Herrera, Darwish, Pichler, Kim, and Levine above with extended combination therapy of polatuzumab vedotin, bendamustine, and rituximab for more than 6 cycles – and 1) perform the method in DLBCL patients that have failed prior autologous stem cell transplantation.
This is obvious because: a) autologous stem cell transplantation is standard of care and the DLBCL patient population that failed transplantation was likely an autologous stem cell transplantation patient; and b) although ASCT is standard treatment for eligible DLBCL patients: i) its benefits are limited, with high rates of relapse, poor prognosis after relapse following ASCT, and risk of secondary malignancies. Thus, treatment of DLBCL patients that failed prior ASCT would require other therapies and the DLBCL would be effectively targeted by the combination treatment.
There is a reasonable expectation of success because: 1a) the method may have already been performed successfully on this patient population, and 1b) the DLBCL combination treatment of polatuzumab vedotin, bendamustine, and rituximab would target the cancer cells with an antibody drug conjugate, alkylating agent, and antibody in combination that was shown to have promising durable responses in heavily pretreated R/R DLBCL patients, wherein PoV combined with BR has an acceptable safety profile.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/JULIE WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643