DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ submission, filed on 04/30/2026, addressing claims 1-20 rejection from the non-final office action (12/31/2025) by amending claims 1-2, 12-13, and 15-16 is entered and will be addressed below.
The examiner notices Applicants’ amendment is mainly addressing 112 issues.
Claim Interpretations
The “a molecular code solution that includes coded information defining a chemical trait, the information corresponding to an entity associated with treating a surface of a material” of claims 1 and 12 and the “molecular code solution that includes coded information defining a chemical trait” of claim 15, all chemicals/solutions intrinsically have a chemical formula/code, and for a coating process, this formula/code is intrinsically corresponding to the surface of the substrate to be coated.
The “graft” of claims 1, 12, and 15, the graft is considered either as “deposition” (graft to the substrate) or reaction specific to a polymer. However, as product of the reaction is not part of the apparatus, in either interpretation, the “graft” is considered an intended use of the apparatus.
Applicants argue that graft has to be a modification of a polymer in remarks at middle of page 6 in the previous remarks. However, Applicants did not explain what is graft on metal means (as the material includes polymer or metals, see claims 1 and 4).
The substrate and the evaporants used in the vaporizer, as well the resulting product formed on the substrate after surface treatment, are not part of the apparatus. An apparatus that is capable of using the substrate and evaporant materials forming said product is considered read into the claim.
Therefore, at least the following limitations are intended use of the apparatus
“vaporizer inputs comprising a process gas and a molecular code solution that includes coded information defining a chemical trait …application of the plasma grafts the molecular code to the material” of claims 1, 12, and 15, the solution used in a vaporizer is not part of the apparatus, a vaporizer that is capable of vaporizing a solution containing any molecular code, include organic or inorganic material, polymer or DNA, is considered read into the apparatus.
“wherein the material is a planar structure“ of claim 10,
“of a planar object” of claim 12,
“wherein one or more properties of the material are altered as a result of the plasma application” of claim 3,
“wherein one or more properties of the material are altered as a result of the plasma application” of claim 14,
“wherein the material is one of a polymer, synthetic wovens and/or nonwovens, natural fiber wovens, filaments, yarns, elastomers, or metals” of claim 4,
“wherein the process gas in the vapor is ionized by the electrode to form a hydroxyl group, a carboxyl group, a carbonyl group, or an amine” of claim 5,
“for treatment of an object with a non-uniform geometry” of claim 15,
It has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (Walter, 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409; MPEP 2106). Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); MPEP2111.02). When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2112.01).
Also, “wherein the process gas in the vapor is ionized by the electrode to form a hydroxyl group, a carboxyl group, a carbonyl group, or an amine” of claim 5, Applicants’ apparatus is forming these functional group by process gas AND the solution. “the process gas or mixture gas may form, when ionized, certain functional groups, such as a hydroxyl group, a carboxyl group, a carbonyl group, or an amine, as a non-limiting list of examples” refers to the process gas after passing the flash evaporator. It is clear oxygen or mixture of oxygen and nitrogen is not able to form these functional groups by itself (at least no carbon supply). Again, this is an intended use of the apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Takano (US 20110244140, from IDS, hereafter ‘140), in view of WATANABE et al. (JP 2011144438, hereafter ‘438). Alternatively, Claims 1-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over ‘438 in view of ‘140.
‘140 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: An atmospheric-pressure plasma-enhanced MOCVD (metal organic chemical vapor deposition) uses a power circuit for supplying power for plasma generation, including a pulse control circuit provided inside in order to form a transparent conductive film on the surface of the substrate, the transparent conductive film having a low resistivity, excellent optical characteristics and a good texture formed on the surface using dielectric barrier discharge (abstract, is the claimed “A material surface treatment system comprising”):
Diethyl zinc (Zn(C2H5)2) was supplied (4 g/hour) as a liquid to a vaporizer and was vaporized while heating to 100o C., and this was used as the gaseous raw material ([0105]), a toluene solution of Al(DIBM)3 in a concentration of 0.05 mol/L was prepared. This solution was introduced into the vaporizer at a flow rate of 0.1 g/hour, and by heating it to 200o C., the Al(DIBM)3 was vaporized, and gaseous raw material was obtained … it was mixed with the previous diethyl zinc to form the film forming gas G2 ([0106], includes the claimed “a vaporizer”);
As the oxygen atom supply gas G1, 99.999% oxygen was used ([0104], plus the mixed solution from [0106], includes the claimed “vaporizer inputs comprising a process gas and a molecular code solution that includes coded information defining a chemical trait, the information corresponding to an entity associated with treating a surface of a material, wherein the vaporizer inputs are vaporized by the vaporizer into a vapor having the process gas and the molecular code”, see also “using a gaseous raw material obtained by vaporizing an organic compound selected from a zinc organic compound, a tin organic compound and an indium organic compound, and a gas containing oxygen atom”, claim 1 of ‘140);
The ground side electrode 18 and the high voltage electrode 20 form an electrode pair 22 for generating dielectric barrier discharge (DBD). The ground side electrode 18 and the high voltage electrode 20 are known components used in atmospheric pressure plasma-enhanced CVD by dielectric barrier discharge (Fig. 1, [0031]-[0032], includes the claimed “and an electrode to generate an electric discharge to create a plasma comprised of the ionized process gases and the vapor and apply the plasma to the surface of the material near the electrode”), the drum 12 is grounded ([0029], includes the claimed “the electrode extending over a portion of a grounding roller to distribute the electric discharge and plasma to the grounding roller, wherein one or more properties of the material are altered as a result of the application of the ionized process gas of the plasma application, and wherein application of the plasma grafts the molecular code to the material at a molecular level”, as DBD coating alter the property of the substrate, note “graft” reaction is an intended use of the apparatus and plasma is capable of grafting organic property, see claim interpretation above).
Claim 12: An atmospheric-pressure plasma-enhanced MOCVD (metal organic chemical vapor deposition) uses a power circuit for supplying power for plasma generation, including a pulse control circuit provided inside in order to form a transparent conductive film on the surface of the substrate, the transparent conductive film having a low resistivity, excellent optical characteristics and a good texture formed on the surface using dielectric barrier discharge (abstract), is the claimed “A material surface treatment system”):
the substrate Z used in the present invention may be a sheet consisting of a base material such as this type of polymer film ([0025], includes the claimed “configured for treatment of a planar object”);
Diethyl zinc (Zn(C2H5)2) was supplied (4 g/hour) as a liquid to a vaporizer and was vaporized while heating to 100o C., and this was used as the gaseous raw material ([0105]), a toluene solution of Al(DIBM)3 in a concentration of 0.05 mol/L was prepared. This solution was introduced into the vaporizer at a flow rate of 0.1 g/hour, and by heating it to 200o C., the Al(DIBM)3 was vaporized, and gaseous raw material was obtained … it was mixed with the previous diethyl zinc to form the film forming gas G2 ([0106], includes the claimed “the system comprising: a vaporizer”);
As the oxygen atom supply gas G1, 99.999% oxygen was used ([0104], plus the mixed solution from [0106], includes the claimed “a vaporizer input comprising a process gas and a molecular code solution that includes coded information defining a chemical trait, the information corresponding to an entity associated with treating a surface of a material, wherein the vaporizer input is vaporized by the vaporizer into a vapor having the process gas and the molecular code”, see also “using a gaseous raw material obtained by vaporizing an organic compound selected from a zinc organic compound, a tin organic compound and an indium organic compound, and a gas containing oxygen atom”, claim 1 of ‘140);
The ground side electrode 18 and the high voltage electrode 20 form an electrode pair 22 for generating dielectric barrier discharge (DBD). The ground side electrode 18 and the high voltage electrode 20 are known components used in atmospheric pressure plasma-enhanced CVD by dielectric barrier discharge (Fig. 1, [0031]-[0032], includes the claimed “an electrode to generate an electric discharge to create a plasma comprised of the vapor”), the drum 12 is grounded ([0029], includes the clamed “the electrode extending over a portion of a grounding roller to distribute the electric discharge and plasma to the grounding roller”);
the substrate Z is, for example, loaded as a substrate roll that was wound into a roll (not shown), and pulled out from the substrate roll and supplied to the film formation apparatus 10 ([0026], includes the claimed “and one or more rollers to convey the planar object toward the electrode to apply the plasma to the material of the planar object near the electrode, wherein application of the plasma grafts the molecular code to the material at a molecular level”, note the reaction process is an intended use of the apparatus, ‘140 is capable of plasma graft at molecular level).
Claim 15: An atmospheric-pressure plasma-enhanced MOCVD (metal organic chemical vapor deposition) uses a power circuit for supplying power for plasma generation, including a pulse control circuit provided inside in order to form a transparent conductive film on the surface of the substrate, the transparent conductive film having a low resistivity, excellent optical characteristics and a good texture formed on the surface using dielectric barrier discharge (abstract), is the claimed “A material surface treatment system configured for treatment of an object” and is capable for processing any object of various shape, for example, roughened polymer sheet, includes the claimed “with a non-uniform geometry”):
Diethyl zinc (Zn(C2H5)2) was supplied (4 g/hour) as a liquid to a vaporizer and was vaporized while heating to 100o C., and this was used as the gaseous raw material ([0105]), a toluene solution of Al(DIBM)3 in a concentration of 0.05 mol/L was prepared. This solution was introduced into the vaporizer at a flow rate of 0.1 g/hour, and by heating it to 200o C., the Al(DIBM)3 was vaporized, and gaseous raw material was obtained … it was mixed with the previous diethyl zinc to form the film forming gas G2 ([0106], includes the claimed “a vaporizer”);
As the oxygen atom supply gas G1, 99.999% oxygen was used ([0104], plus the mixed solution from [0106], includes the claimed “a vaporizer input comprising a process gas and a molecular code solution that includes coded information defining a chemical trait, the information corresponding to an entity associated with treating a surface of a material, wherein the vaporizer input is vaporized by the vaporizer into a vapor having the process gas and the molecular code”, see also “using a gaseous raw material obtained by vaporizing an organic compound selected from a zinc organic compound, a tin organic compound and an indium organic compound, and a gas containing oxygen atom”, claim 1 of ‘140);
The ground side electrode 18 and the high voltage electrode 20 form an electrode pair 22 for generating dielectric barrier discharge (DBD). The ground side electrode 18 and the high voltage electrode 20 are known components used in atmospheric pressure plasma-enhanced CVD by dielectric barrier discharge (Fig. 1, [0031]-[0032], includes the claimed “an electrode to generate an electric discharge to create a plasma comprised the vapor”), the drum 12 is grounded ([0029], includes the claimed “the electrode extending over a portion of a grounding roller to distribute the electric discharge and plasma to the grounding roller”);
The opening at the bottom of the electrode pair 22 is the claimed “and a nozzle to apply the plasma to a material of the object near the electrode, wherein application of the plasma grafts the molecular code to the material at a molecular level independent of physical properties of the material”).
‘140 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claims 1, 12, and 15: the vapor being introduced in a space between the electrode and the grounding roller.
‘438 is analogous art in the field of METHOD FOR PRODUCING GAS BARRIER FILM (title), a plasma chemical vapor deposition method (abstract). ‘438 teaches that introducing one or more kinds of gases at least including a gas for oxidation and a vaporized organic silicon compound into a space between both the electrodes 1, 2 (Fig. 2, abstract), It is desirable that a plurality of gas introduction pipes 4 be arranged between the electrodes in order to spread the processing gas evenly between the electrodes (lower portion of page 4).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have re-arranged the gas distribution of ‘140 to the gas introduction pipe between the grounded drum and an upper electrode, as taught by ‘438, for the purpose of spreading the processing gas evenly between the electrodes, as taught by (lower portion of page 4).
‘438 also teaches all limitations of claims 1, 12, and 15 except the electrode 2 is grounded instead of the roll electrode 1. It would have been obvious to switch the polarity at least by the teaching of ‘140.
‘140 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 2: The space between the insulating plates 28a and 28b serves as the supply path of gas G2 (for convenience, also referred to as "film forming gas G2" hereinafter) which contains gaseous raw material obtained by vaporizing the organic compound. This space between the insulating plates 28 is the space where dielectric barrier discharge is performed, as well as the space where plasma is generated ([0038]), the drum 12 is grounded ([0029], includes the claimed “wherein the grounding roller is configured to engage with the material, the material to be subjected to the plasma discharged from the electrode as the plasma is drawn to the grounding roll, wherein the grounding roll is electrically connected to a reference voltage”, as deposition requires the plasma species drawn to the substrate on the drum).
Claim 3: the transparent conductive film having a low resistivity, excellent optical characteristics and a good texture formed on the surface using dielectric barrier discharge (abstract, includes the claimed “wherein one or more properties of the material are altered as a result of the plasma application”, note this is an intended use of the apparatus, see claim interpretation above).
Claim 4: Specific examples of the substrate Z that may be advantageously used include polymer films (plastic films/resin films) made of organic materials such as polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyethylene naphthalate, polyethylene, polypropylene, polystyrene, polyamide, polyvinyl chloride, polycarbonate, polyacrylonitrile, polyimide, polyacrylate and polymethacrylate ([0024], includes the claimed “wherein the material is one of a polymer, synthetic wovens and/or nonwovens, natural fiber wovens, filaments, yarns, elastomers, or metals”, note this is also an intended use of the apparatus).
Claim 5: Specific advantageous examples include mixed gas of carbon dioxide and oxygen, mixed gas of water vapor and oxygen (as decomposed water vapor includes hydroxyl, includes the claimed “wherein the process gas in the vapor is ionized by the electrode to form a hydroxyl group, a carboxyl group, a carbonyl group, or an amine”, note this is also an intended use of the apparatus, and the apparatus of ‘140 is capable of forming these function group as a reaction between plasmized organic vapor and the oxygen gas).
Claim 6: a toluene solution of Al(DIBM)3 in a concentration of 0.05 mol/L was prepared. This solution was introduced into the vaporizer at a flow rate of 0.1 g/hour, and by heating it to 200o C., the Al(DIBM)3 was vaporized, and gaseous raw material was obtained ([0106], includes the claimed “wherein non-ionized process gases are introduced to the vaporizer, the vaporizer comprising a heater to heat the non-ionized process gases and the molecular solution to combine or vaporize the non-ionized process gases and the molecular solution”).
Claim 7: In the film formation apparatus 10, power for plasma generation (plasma excitation power) is applied between the ground side electrode 18 and the high voltage electrode 20, and dielectric barrier discharge thereby occurs, and the oxygen atom supply gas G1 is supplied to the plasma that spews out from between the ground side electrode 18 and the high voltage electrode 20 and reaches the substrate Z due to gas flow of the film forming gas G2, and oxygen radicals, etc., are thereby generated above the substrate Z ([0045], includes the claimed “wherein the electrode comprises one of a plasma electrode or a corona electrode”).
Claim 8: the power source 14 applies a voltage (supplies power for plasma generation (plasma excitation power)) to the electrode pair 22 (between the ground side electrode 18 and the high voltage electrode 20) ([0051], includes the claimed “wherein the electrode is connected to an electrical power source configured to provide current to activate the electrode”).
Claims 9-11: the substrate Z is, for example, loaded as a substrate roll that was wound into a roll (not shown), and pulled out from the substrate roll and supplied to the film formation apparatus 10 ([0026], a sheet/roll is planar and having at least two sides, includes the claimed “wherein the material is a rolled web” of claim 9, “wherein the material is a planar structure” of claim 10 and “wherein the material is a multi-sided object” of claim 11).
Claim 13: The space between the insulating plates 28a and 28b serves as the supply path of gas G2 (for convenience, also referred to as "film forming gas G2" hereinafter) which contains gaseous raw material obtained by vaporizing the organic compound. This space between the insulating plates 28 is the space where dielectric barrier discharge is performed, as well as the space where plasma is generated ([0038]), the drum 12 is grounded ([0029], as the drum is considered a circular block, includes the claimed “wherein the grounding block is opposite the electrode relative to the material, the material to be subjected to the plasma discharged from the electrode as the plasma is drawn to the grounding block, wherein the grounding block is electrically connected to a reference voltage”).
Claim 14: the transparent conductive film having a low resistivity, excellent optical characteristics and a good texture formed on the surface using dielectric barrier discharge (abstract, includes the claimed “wherein one or more properties of the material are altered as a result of the plasma application”, note this is an intended use of the apparatus, see claim interpretation above).
Claim 16: a power source 14, a matching circuit 16, a ground side electrode 18, a high voltage electrode 20, flow path members 24 and 26, which form the gas flow paths, and insulating plates 28a and 28b ([0021], the members 24 and 26 reads into the claimed “wherein the electrode extends into the body”).
Claim 20: In the film formation apparatus 10, power for plasma generation (plasma excitation power) is applied between the ground side electrode 18 and the high voltage electrode 20, and dielectric barrier discharge thereby occurs, and the oxygen atom supply gas G1 is supplied to the plasma that spews out from between the ground side electrode 18 and the high voltage electrode 20 and reaches the substrate Z due to gas flow of the film forming gas G2, and oxygen radicals, etc., are thereby generated above the substrate Z ([0045], includes the claimed “wherein the electrode comprises one of a plasma electrode or a corona electrode”).
Alternatively, claims 1-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over ‘140 and ‘438, further in view of Gandhiraman et al. (US 11802337, hereafter ‘337).
Applicants previously (07/03/2024) argue that the claim recites a system with structure that performs a specific function at 2nd last paragraph of page 6. The examiner considers the function does not include any additional structure. As an alternative rejection, coating DNA is taught by ‘337 which has the same function as the instant application.
‘337 is analogous art in the field of Atmospheric Pressure Plasma Based Fabrication Process Of Printable Electronics And Functional Coatings (title), for fabricating printable electronics and biosensor chips (col. 1, lines 41-42). ’337 teaches that depositing various bio-reactive organic functionalities (carboxyl, amine, aldehyde, carbonyl etc.) for immobilization of biomolecules (oligos, antibodies, aptamer, enzymes, and DNA) in bioassays (col. 9, lines 33-36), FIG. 1 shows a schematic diagram of a system 100 for generating atmospheric pressure plasma according to embodiments of the present invention. As depicted, the system 100 includes: a plasma generator 102 for generating plasma (or plasma jet/plume) 104 … one or more pumps 120a-120c for containing precursor material (such as nanocolloids) and supplying the precursor material to the plasma generator 102 (col. 5, lines 4-14). Note plasma reaction of organic intrinsically is at molecular level. Note also the precursor and the gas are fed into the plasma generator 102 together.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the apparatus of ‘140 for depositing DNA under plasma by feeding process gas and the DNA precursor together, for the purpose of fabricating printable electronics and biosensor chips, as taught by ‘337 (col. 1, lines 41-42).
Claims 17-18, and alternatively claims 12-14, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over ‘140 and ‘438 (optionally with ‘337), as being applied to claim 16 rejection above, further in view of Babayan et al. (US 20020129902, hereafter ‘902).
‘140 and ‘438 (optionally with ‘337) does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 17: further comprising a filter arranged within the body to serve as a partial barrier between a first volume configured to receive the vapor and a second volume that includes one or more dielectric elements.
Claim 18: wherein the second volume is configured to subject the vapor to an electric discharge between the electrode and the dielectric elements, thereby creating the plasma.
‘902 is analogous art in the field of Low-temperature Compatible Wide-pressure-range Plasma Flow Device (title), To prevent arcing and lower the gas temperature in atmospheric-pressure plasmas, several schemes have been devised, such as the use of pointed electrodes in corona discharges and insulating inserts in dielectric barrier discharges ([0015]). ’902 teaches that The invention is also embodied in a plasma flow device with an array of parallel electrodes as shown in FIG. 8. The advantage of this configuration is a longer residence time of the gas within the plasma generation zone, which increases the concentration of reactive species for cleaning, sterilization, surface activation, etching, and deposition processes. The stacking sequence alternates between grounded and powered electrodes. The design presented in the figure is one example of an electrode array. Other designs are possible. In addition, the plasma flow device may be operated with more or less electrodes than those shown. The gas enters a housing 124 through a tube 126, passes through two perforated sheets 122 and 120, and on through electrodes 110, 114, 108, 112 and 106. The electrodes are held in place and electrically isolated from one another by four dielectric spacers 116a-116d. The entire assembly, including the electrodes 110, 114, 108, 112 and 106, and the dielectric spacers 116a-116d, are mounted onto the housing 124 with a clamp ring 118. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 8, RF power is applied to electrodes 114 and 112, whereas electrodes 110, 108 and 106 are grounded, which results in the generation of a plasma in the four gaps between them ([0069]), Two perforated sheets 26 and 28 mounted inside the housing 30 make the gas flow uniformly down through the cavity ([0042]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added perforated sheets of ‘902 upstream of the insulating plates 28a 28b of ‘140, for the purpose of gas flow uniformly down through the cavity during plasma generation, as taught by ‘902 ([0042]). Note the perforated sheets function as filter as the larger entrained particles from the vaporizer will not pass through.
In case Applicants argue that that “a planar object” is not an intended use and the substrate Z of ‘140 is not a planar object, ‘902 substrate 24 (Fig. 1 or 5a) is a planar substrate (of claim 12) and the pedestal 22 is a grounding block (of claim 13).
Claim 19, and alternatively claims 12 and 14, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over ‘140 and ‘438 (optionally with ‘337), as being applied to claim 15 rejection above, further in view of Soininen et al. (US 20170362706, hereafter ‘706).
‘140 and ‘438 (optionally with ‘337) does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 19: further comprising a non-linear conveyor configured to apply the molecular code by movement of the nozzle about the material.
‘706 is analogous art in the field of NOZZLE HEAD AND APPARATUS FOR COATING SUBSTRATE SURFACE (title), Plasma may also be used to generate a reactive precursor locally from a relatively non-reactive vapor, for example plasma can generate highly reactive ozone (O3) and related radicals from oxygen (O2). Plasma may also be provided utilizing carrier gas or purge gas, for example such that the plasma is activated only occasionally, or alternatively continuously to turn a relatively non-reactive gas into a reactive one ([0019]) operated at normal air pressure ([0036], 5th sentence). ’706 teaches that the nozzle head 5 may be moved in relation to the substrate 1 along a curved or a loop coating path over the surface 3 of the substrate 1 by controlling the moving system such that in the curved coating path the precursor nozzles 2, 4, 8, 10, 12, 14 of the precursor zones A+B, C+D, E+F are overlapped (Figs. 7-8, [0061]), for the purpose of coating ALD coating layers are formed only on limited sub-areas of a surface of the substrate ([0002], 5th sentence).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted curved or looping path, as taught by ‘706, to the DBD atmospheric plasma generator of ‘140, for the purpose of coating ALD coating layers are formed only on limited sub-areas of a surface of the substrate, as taught by ‘140 ([0002], 5th sentence).
In case Applicants argue that that “a planar object” is not an intended use and the substrate Z of ‘140 is not a planar object, ‘706’s substrate 1 on transport rolls (Fig. 1) is the same as Applicants’ planar substrate 36 in Fig. 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regarding to 112(a) and 112(b) rejections, see the middle of page 6, Applicants’ amendment overcomes the rejection.
In regarding to 103 rejection, Applicants argue that changing the system of Takano ‘140 with Wantanable ‘438, by removing the plasma formation and film formation and change the fundamental principle of operation, see the bottom of page 7.
This argument is found not persuasive.
Nowhere in OC states to remove plasma operation.
On the contrary, ‘438 is also a plasma chemical vapor deposition (abstract).
By the way, it is well-known to operate a plasma processing chamber without igniting the plasma.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20110195203 is cited for nozzle between electrode 38 and drum 36 ([0056], nozzle not shown in Fig. 1).
US 20060115594 is cited for vaporizer of DNA ([0011]), plasma coating (abstract).
US 20130171546 is cited of plasma grafting of CVD deposited polymers ([0062]).
US 20150302713 is cited for vaporizing DNA ([0044]).
Each of US 20060040067 (from IDS, Fig. 1), US 20150151135 (From IDS, Fig. 2 or 4) and US 5902641 (Fig. 2, electrode 204) is applicable to independent claims.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716