DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 01/23/2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 17-21 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Claim 17-21 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 01/23/2026 regarding the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding amended Claims 1, 17, and 26 reciting “the pressure transmission member comprises a second hole overlapping the first hole and aligned with the first hole”, the applicant has argued “as is shown in FIGS. 15-16 of Hong, while the space between the alleged pressure transmission member BP, which the Office action appears to equate with the first hole of claim 1, and the space between the adjacent elements FS, which the Office action appears to equate with the second hole of claim 1, appear to overlap, the alleged first and second holes of Hong do not appear to be aligned with one another”. However, the applicant is artificially limiting the broadest reasonable interpretation of the word “aligned”. It is not specified in the claim language upon which axis the first hold and second hole are aligned. There exists at least one axis in space connecting any two points in space, and therefore at least part of the first hole and second hole of Hong are aligned on at least one axis. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art could have rearranged parts the device such that the pressure transmission member comprises a second hole overlapping the first hole and aligned with the first hole as a matter of obvious design choice, as explained in the updated rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 13-16, 22-24, 26-28, and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukkamala et al (US 20190008399 A1, hereinafter Mukkamala) in view of Hong et al (US 20190012029 A1, hereinafter Hong) and Goeltner et al (US 20200272276 A1, hereinafter Goeltner).
Regarding Claim 1, Mukkamala discloses a display device (Element 100, Figs. 1-2A; “The mobile device 100 includes a display 104…”, [0042]) comprising:
a display panel (Element 104, Fig. 1) having a light emitting element (“The display 104 may present graphics…”, [0042]; to present graphics, the display must comprise an element capable of emitting light) to display an image (Elements 112, 120, and 124, Fig. 1), the display panel including a first area (See the area where element 586 appears on element 104 in Fig. 16), the first area including at least some of the plurality of light emitting elements and having a first hole;
a blood pressure sensor (Elements 320 and 324, Fig. 5; “The sensing unit 108 includes a PPG sensor 320, a pressure sensor 324, and possibly a temperature sensor 326”, [0046]; “The sensing unit is configured to measure blood pressure at a fingertip of a user”, [0014]) disposed adjacent to the display panel (“The sensing unit 108, employing the infrared PPG sensor 582, could be placed under the display 104”, [0107]) to sense pressure applied to at least a portion of the first area (“In this case, a picture of the user's finger 586 could be displayed indicating exactly where the user should position their finger for subsequent pressing”, [0107]) and to sense light incident thereon (“FIG. 16 depicts the cuff-less BP measurement system with an infrared PPG sensor 582 located below the display 104 of the mobile device 100”, [0107]); and
a pressure transmission member (Element 328, Fig. 1; “interface unit 328 allows for the force applied to the PPG sensor 320 to be distributed uniformly to the pressure sensor 324”, [0066]) overlapping the first area of the display panel (See Figs. 5 and 16; element 328 is part of element 108 (Fig. 5), which overlaps area 586, Fig. 16) and the blood pressure sensor (See Fig. 5; element 328 overlaps elements 320 and 324),
wherein the blood pressure sensor comprises:
a first sensor (Element 324, Fig. 5) under the pressure transmission member (See Fig. 5) to sense pressure (“a pressure sensor 324”, [0063]); and
a second sensor (Element 320, Fig. 5) overlapping the first sensor in a plan view (See Fig. 5) to sense light transmitted through the display panel (See Fig. 16; the PPG sensor 320, as part of element 108 under display panel 104 would be capable of sensing light transmitted through the display panel and therefore reading on this functional language).
Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing the display panel having a plurality of light emitting elements, the first area including at least some of the plurality of light emitting elements, and the first area having a first hole;
the pressure transmission member comprises a second hole overlapping the first hole and aligned with the first hole; and
wherein the first and second sensor are at a same side of the pressure transmission member.
However, Hong, which also discloses a display device (Element DD, Fig. 1), teaches a display panel (Element DP, Fig. 4) having a plurality of light emitting elements (Elements 120, Fig. 4; “each of the pixels 120 may include at least one light emitting device (e.g., an organic light emitting diode)”, [0107]), the first area (See Elements DA1 and DA2 in Fig. 1; “the display regions DA1 and DA2 of the display panel DP may correspond to the touch regions TA1 and TA2 of the touch sensor TS”, [0082]; See Elements TA1 and TA2, Figs. 5 and 15-16) including at least some of the plurality of light emitting elements (“The display panel DP according to the embodiment of the present disclosure may display an image through display regions DA1 and DA2 in which a plurality of pixels is provided”, [0081]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Mukkamala with the plurality of light emitting elements of Hong, because a plurality of light emitting pixels can be used to display moving pictures and animations, such as the blood pressure readings and graphs of Mukkamala ([0042]).
Goeltner, which is also directed towards a display device (Abstract), teaches the first area (Element 202, Fig. 2) having a first hole (Elements 302, Fig. 3; “light guides may be incorporated into the display screen to increase the intensity of reflected light reaching the [vital sign monitoring] sensor 108. This is illustrated in FIG. 3, which shows a number of light guides 302 in the display screen above the VSM sensor 108. The light guides 302 may be, for example, small holes that go from the top surface of the display screen to the bottom surface”, [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a first hole to the first area of Mukkamala as taught by Goeltner, to allow light to reach the optical blood pressure sensors of Mukkamala.
Hong also teaches wherein the pressure transmission member includes a second hole (See Fig. 15; each element FS, which is under a pressure transmission member BP, has a space between it and the adjacent elements FS; Fig. 16 shows this space is also a hole between elements FS). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala with the second hole in the pressure transmission member of Hong, because the pressure transmission member of Hong can be substituted for the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a functional pressure transmission member). Furthermore, it has been held that a rearrangement of parts of a device is obvious as a matter of design choice provided it does not modify the operation of the device. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) and MPEP 2144. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala such that the second hole is overlapping the first hole and aligned with the first hole.
It has been held that a rearrangement of parts of a device is obvious as a matter of design choice provided it does not modify the operation of the device. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) and MPEP 2144. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala such that the first and second sensor are at a same side of the pressure transmission member, because Mukkamala states that the purpose of the pressure transmission member is to allow for the force applied to the PPG sensor 320 to be distributed uniformly to the pressure sensor 324, and this purpose could still be accomplished if the first and second sensor are at a same side of the pressure transmission member.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 1. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the pressure transmission member comprises a metallic material. However, Hong teaches wherein the pressure transmission member (Elements BP11, BP12, BP21, and BP22, Figs. 15-16) comprises a metallic material (“the lower bumps BP11 and BP21 or the upper bumps BP12 and BP22 that are interposed between the touch sensor TS4 and the display panel DP may be made of a conductive pressure sensitive adhesive including a conductive material such as copper (Cu)”, [0261]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala with the metallic material of Hong, because such a metallic material can serve as an electromagnetic interference (EMI) shielding layer, as taught by Hong ([0261]).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 1. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the pressure transmission member is disposed between the display panel and the blood pressure sensor. However, Hong teaches wherein the pressure transmission member (Elements BP12 and BP22, Fig. 16) is disposed between the display panel (“The touch sensor TS may sense a position of a touch input to touch regions TA1 and TA2 and a pressure caused by the touch input”, [0077]; “FIGS. 1 and 2 illustrate that the display panel DP is disposed on the bottom side of the touch sensor TS. However, the present disclosure is not limited thereto, and the positions of the display panel DP and the touch sensor TS may be interchanged”, [0084], emphasis added; therefore, element TS can be below element DP; element TS comprises elements FS, Fig. 5) and the blood pressure sensor (See Fig. 16; elements BP12 and BP12 are above elements FS, but as part of element TS would be below display panel DP). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the display device of Mukkamala with the pressure transmission member placement of Hong, for the advantage of concentrating a pressure caused by a touch input on an effective point of each of the pressure sensors (Hong, [0257]).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 3. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the pressure transmission member comprises a bump having a planar size smaller than or equal to that of the blood pressure sensor. However, Hong teaches wherein the pressure transmission member (Elements BP12 and BP22, Fig. 16) comprises a bump (See Fig. 16; elements BP12 and BP22 are bumps) having a planar size smaller than or equal to that of the pressure sensor (See Fig. 16; elements BP12 and BP22 have planar sizes smaller than pressure sensors FS). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the pressure transmission member of Mukkamala to comprise a bump having a planar size smaller than or equal to that of the blood pressure sensor of modified Mukkamala, as taught by Hong, for the advantage of concentrating a pressure caused by a touch input on an effective point of each of the pressure sensors (Hong, [0257]).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 3, wherein the blood pressure sensor is disposed under the display panel (“The sensing unit 108, employing the infrared PPG sensor 582, could be placed under the display 104”, [0107]).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 5, wherein the second sensor comprises a photo sensor (“a PPG sensor 320”, [0046]) including a light source to emit infrared light or green light (“the PPG sensor 320, which is implemented in pulse oximeters, is used. The reflectance-mode PPG sensor, in particular, may be congruent with most form factors. The green wavelength, which typically yields a high AC signal relative to the DC signal, or a near infrared wavelength, which penetrates beneath the skin, or multiple wavelengths (e.g., red and infrared to also permit measurement of arterial oxygen saturation (SpO2)) may be employed”, [0089]).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 5, wherein the second sensor comprises a photo sensor (“a photodetector (referenced and discussed in FIG. 13) of the PPG sensor 320…”, [0064]) to sense light emitted from the display panel and then reflected from a target object (“The PPG sensor 320 may be configured in a way such that the blood volume oscillations of a transverse palmer arch artery, above the top knuckle of the index finger, can be accurately and efficiently recorded”, [0064]; also see Fig. 16; as PPG sensor 320 is under display panel 104, and the target finger is above display panel 104, PPG sensor 320 would be capable of performing the functional language claimed).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 5, further comprising a driver (Elements 308 and 312, Fig. 3) to calculate blood pressure (“The BP estimator 312 is configured to determine the BP based on the oscillogram 128 generated by the oscillogram generator 308”, [0050]) based on a pressure sensing signal provided from the first sensor and a light sensing signal provided from the second sensor (“The oscillogram generator 308 is configured to generate an oscillogram based on input from the PPG sensor 320 and input from the pressure sensor 324”, [0047]).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 5. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the first sensor comprises a pressure sensor including first electrodes extending in a first direction and second electrodes extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction and partially overlapping the first electrodes,
wherein the pressure transmission member comprises patterns that are spaced apart from each other in a plan view, and
wherein the patterns are respectively disposed in second areas in which the first and second electrodes overlap each other in a plan view.
However, Hong teaches wherein the first sensor comprises a pressure sensor including first electrodes (Element 220, Fig. 5; “each of the first pressure sensors FS1 and the second pressure FS2 may include a first electrode 220”, [0141]) extending in a first direction (See Fig. 5; elements 220 extend horizontally) and second electrodes (Element 230, Fig. 5; “each of the first pressure sensors FS1 and the second pressure FS2 may include a…second electrode 230”, [0141]) extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction (See Fig. 5; elements 220 extend vertically, which intersects the horizontal direction) and partially overlapping the first electrodes (“a pressure sensitive layer 240 that is interposed between the first electrode 220 and the second electrode 230”, [0141]),
wherein the pressure transmission member comprises patterns that are spaced apart from each other in a plan view (“The first pressure sensors FS1 may be separated from each other and arranged in a matrix form along the first direction (e.g., the X-axis direction) and the second direction (e.g., the Y-axis direction)”, [0133]; see Fig. 16; each element FS has elements BP11, BP12, BP21, and BP22 attached to it; therefore, elements BP are also in a matrix pattern), and
wherein the patterns are respectively disposed in second areas (the areas occupied in a plan view by each element FS, See Fig. 5) in which the first and second electrodes overlap each other in a plan view (See Fig. 5; electrodes 220 and 230 overlap each other in a plan view, Figs. 6A-6B).
As both the pressure sensor of modified Mukkamala and the pressure sensor of Hong achieve the same function of pressure sensing, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element (the pressure sensor of Hong) for another (the pressure sensor of modified Mukkamala), and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a sensor that senses pressure).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 9. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein each of the patterns comprises a bump pattern having a planar size smaller than or equal to that of each of the second areas. However, Hong teaches wherein each of the patterns comprises a bump pattern having a planar size smaller than or equal to that of each of the second areas (the areas occupied in a plan view by each element FS, See Fig. 5; each element FS has elements BP11, BP12, BP21, and BP22 attached to it, wherein the elements BP have a planar size smaller than the element FS; each element BP is a bump; therefore, the elements BP also make a bump pattern having a planar size smaller than or equal to that of each of the second areas). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the patterns of modified Mukkamala to comprise a bump having a planar size smaller than or equal to that of each of the second areas, as taught by Hong, for the advantage of concentrating a pressure caused by a touch input on an effective point of each of the pressure sensors (Hong, [0257]).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 1. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the pressure transmission member includes patterns that are spaced apart from each other in a plan view, and wherein the patterns are arranged along an edge of the second hole. However, Hong teaches wherein the pressure transmission member includes patterns that are spaced apart from each other in a plan view (“The first pressure sensors FS1 may be separated from each other and arranged in a matrix form along the first direction (e.g., the X-axis direction) and the second direction (e.g., the Y-axis direction)”, [0133]; see Fig. 16; each element FS has elements BP11, BP12, BP21, and BP22 attached to it; therefore, elements BP are also in a matrix pattern), and wherein the patterns are arranged along an edge of the second hole (In the modification of Claim 12, the pressure transmission members BP on top of elements FS in Fig 15 are arranged along the edge of the second holes; therefore, there also exists a pattern arranged along an edge of the second holes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala with the second hole in the pressure transmission member of Hong, because the pressure transmission member of Hong can be substituted for the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a functional pressure transmission member).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 13. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the first sensor comprises a pressure sensor including first electrodes extending in a first direction in a plan view and second electrodes extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction and partially overlapping the first electrodes, and wherein the patterns are respectively disposed in second areas in which the first and second electrodes overlap in a plan view. However, Hong teaches wherein the first sensor comprises a pressure sensor including first electrodes (Element 220, Fig. 5; “each of the first pressure sensors FS1 and the second pressure FS2 may include a first electrode 220”, [0141]) extending in a first direction (See Fig. 5; elements 220 extend horizontally) in a plan view (Fig. 5 is a plan view) and second electrodes (Element 230, Fig. 5; “each of the first pressure sensors FS1 and the second pressure FS2 may include a…second electrode 230”, [0141]) extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction (See Fig. 5; elements 220 extend vertically, which intersects the horizontal direction) and partially overlapping the first electrodes (“a pressure sensitive layer 240 that is interposed between the first electrode 220 and the second electrode 230”, [0141]), and wherein the patterns are respectively disposed in second areas (the areas occupied in a plan view by each element FS, See Fig. 5) in which the first and second electrodes overlap each other in a plan view (See Fig. 5; electrodes 220 and 230 overlap each other in a plan view, Figs. 6A-6B).
As both the pressure sensor of modified Mukkamala and the pressure sensor of Hong achieve the same function of pressure sensing, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element (the pressure sensor of Hong) for another (the pressure sensor of modified Mukkamala), and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a sensor that senses pressure).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 14. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the patterns include third holes. However, Hong teaches wherein the patterns include third holes (See Fig. 15; each element FS, which is under a pressure transmission member BP, has a space between it and the adjacent elements FS; Fig. 16 shows this space is also a hole between elements FS; as there are more than three spaces, as shown in Fig. 15, any one of these spaces can qualify as one of a second or third hole). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala with the second hole in the pressure transmission member of Hong, because the pressure transmission member of Hong can be substituted for the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a functional pressure transmission member).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 11. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the pressure transmission member comprises patterns that are spaced apart from each other in a plan view, and wherein the patterns are disposed over the first area excluding the second hole. However, Hong teaches wherein the pressure transmission member comprises patterns that are spaced apart from each other in a plan view (“The first pressure sensors FS1 may be separated from each other and arranged in a matrix form along the first direction (e.g., the X-axis direction) and the second direction (e.g., the Y-axis direction)”, [0133]; see Fig. 16; each element FS has elements BP11, BP12, BP21, and BP22 attached to it; therefore, elements BP are also in a matrix pattern), and wherein the patterns are disposed over the first area (See Elements TA1 and TA2, Figs. 5 and 15-16, which correspond to the display regions DA1 and DA2 of the display panel DP, [0082]) excluding the second hole (See Fig. 15; as the second hole is being defined as the areas between elements FS, the pattern created by elements BP and FS are not directly over the second holes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala with the second hole in the pressure transmission member of Hong, because the pressure transmission member of Hong can be substituted for the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a functional pressure transmission member).
Regarding Claim 22, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of Claim 1. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing the display device further comprising a bracket disposed under the blood pressure sensor, wherein the pressure transmission member is disposed between the blood pressure sensor and the bracket. However, Hong teaches a bracket (Element H, Fig. 2; this corresponds to bracket BRK in Figs. 3a-3b of the applicant’s specification) disposed under the blood pressure sensor (Element H is user Element TS, Fig. 2), wherein the pressure transmission member (Elements B11 and B21, Fig. 16) is disposed between the blood pressure sensor (Element FS) and the bracket (See Fig. 16; the pressure transmission members under elements FS, yet part of element TS as shown in Fig. 5, would be above element H in Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the bracket of Hong to the display device of Mukkamala, for the advantage of encapsulating sensitive components such as sensors and display panels, as taught by Hong ([0091]).
Regarding Claim 23, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the pressure transmission member (Element 328, Fig. 5) is disposed between the first sensor and the second sensor (See Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 24, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 1. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing the display device further comprising: a window disposed on the display panel, wherein the pressure transmission member is disposed between the display panel and the window. However, Hong teaches a window (Element W, Fig. 2) disposed on the display panel (Element DP, see Fig. 2), wherein the pressure transmission member (Element TS, which comprises the pressure transmission member, Fig. 2) is disposed between the display panel and the window (See Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the window of Hong to the device of modified Mukkamala, because the window can serve as a front surface of the entire device, as taught by Hong ([0087]).
Regarding Claim 26, Mukkamala discloses a display device (Element 100, Figs. 1-2A; “The mobile device 100 includes a display 104…”, [0042]) comprising:
a display panel (Element 104, Fig. 1) having a plurality of light emitting elements (“The display 104 may present graphics…”, [0042]; to present graphics, the display must comprise an element capable of emitting light) to display an image (Elements 112, 120, and 124, Fig. 1), the display panel including a first area (See the area where element 586 appears on element 104 in Fig. 16), the first area including at least some of the plurality of light emitting elements (“a picture of the user's finger 586 could be displayed indicating exactly where the user should position their finger for subsequent pressing”, [0107]; to display a picture, the first area must comprise at least a light emitting element) and having a first hole;
a pressure sensor (Element 108, Fig. 1) disposed on the display panel (“The sensing unit 108…could be placed under the display 104”, [0107]) to sense a pressure applied to at least a portion of the first area (“In this case, a picture of the user's finger 586 could be displayed indicating exactly where the user should position their finger for subsequent pressing”, [0107]);
a photo sensor (Element 320, Fig. 5) disposed under the display panel (“The sensing unit 108…could be placed under the display 104”, [0107]) to sense light incident thereon (“FIG. 16 depicts the cuff-less BP measurement system with an infrared PPG sensor 582 located below the display 104 of the mobile device 100”, [0107]);
a pressure transmission member (Element 328, Fig. 1; “interface unit 328 allows for the force applied to the PPG sensor 320 to be distributed uniformly to the pressure sensor 324”, [0066]) disposed on the display panel (See Figs. 5 and 16; element 328 is part of element 108 (Fig. 5), which is disposed on the display panel, [0107]) and overlapping the pressure sensor (See Fig. 5; element 328 overlaps elements 320 and 324); and
a driver (Elements 308 and 312, Fig. 3) to generate a blood pressure signal (“The BP estimator 312 is configured to determine the BP based on the oscillogram 128 generated by the oscillogram generator 308”, [0050]) based on a pressure sensing signal provided from the pressure sensor and a light sensing signal provided from the photo sensor (“The oscillogram generator 308 is configured to generate an oscillogram based on input from the PPG sensor 320 and input from the pressure sensor 324”, [0047]),
wherein the pressure sensor comprises:
a first sensor (Element 324, Fig. 5) under the pressure transmission member (See Fig. 5) to sense pressure (“a pressure sensor 324”, [0063]); and
a second sensor (Element 320, Fig. 5) overlapping the first sensor in a plan view (See Fig. 5) to sense light transmitted through the display panel (See Fig. 16; the PPG sensor 320, as part of element 108 under display panel 104 would be capable of sensing light transmitted through the display panel and therefore reading on this functional language).
Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing the display panel having a plurality of light emitting elements, the first area including at least some of the plurality of light emitting elements, the first area having a first hole;
the pressure transmission member comprises a second hole overlapping the first hole and aligned with the first hole; and
wherein the first and second sensor are at a same side of the pressure transmission member.
However, Hong, which also discloses a display device (Element DD, Fig. 1), teaches a display panel (Element DP, Fig. 4) having a plurality of light emitting elements (Elements 120, Fig. 4; “each of the pixels 120 may include at least one light emitting device (e.g., an organic light emitting diode)”, [0107]), the first area (See Elements DA1 and DA2 in Fig. 1; “the display regions DA1 and DA2 of the display panel DP may correspond to the touch regions TA1 and TA2 of the touch sensor TS”, [0082]; See Elements TA1 and TA2, Figs. 5 and 15-16) including at least some of the plurality of light emitting elements (“The display panel DP according to the embodiment of the present disclosure may display an image through display regions DA1 and DA2 in which a plurality of pixels is provided.”, [0081]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Mukkamala with the plurality of light emitting elements of Hong, because a plurality of light emitting pixels can be used to display moving pictures and animations.
Goeltner, which is also directed towards a display device (Abstract), teaches the first area (Element 202, Fig. 2) having a first hole (Elements 302, Fig. 3; “light guides may be incorporated into the display screen to increase the intensity of reflected light reaching the [vital sign monitoring] sensor 108. This is illustrated in FIG. 3, which shows a number of light guides 302 in the display screen above the VSM sensor 108. The light guides 302 may be, for example, small holes that go from the top surface of the display screen to the bottom surface”, [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a first hole to the first area of Mukkamala as taught by Goeltner, to allow light to reach the optical blood pressure sensors of Mukkamala.
Hong also teaches wherein the pressure transmission member comprises a second hole (See Fig. 15; each element FS, which is under a pressure transmission member BP, has a space between it and the adjacent elements FS; Fig. 16 shows this space is also a hole between elements FS). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala with the second hole in the pressure transmission member of Hong, because the pressure transmission member of Hong can be substituted for the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a functional pressure transmission member). Furthermore, it has been held that a rearrangement of parts of a device is obvious as a matter of design choice provided it does not modify the operation of the device. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) and MPEP 2144. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala such that the second hole is overlapping the first hole and aligned with the first hole.
It has been held that a rearrangement of parts of a device is obvious as a matter of design choice provided it does not modify the operation of the device. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) and MPEP 2144. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala such that the first and second sensor are at a same side of the pressure transmission member, because Mukkamala states that the purpose of the pressure transmission member is to allow for the force applied to the PPG sensor 320 to be distributed uniformly to the pressure sensor 324, and this purpose could still be accomplished if the first and second sensor are at a same side of the pressure transmission member.
Regarding Claim 27, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 26. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing the display device further comprising: a window disposed on the pressure sensor, wherein the pressure transmission member is disposed between the window and the pressure sensor. However, Hong teaches a window (Element W, Fig. 2) disposed on the pressure sensor (See Fig. 2), wherein the pressure transmission member is disposed between the window and the pressure sensor (Elements BP12 and BP22 are part of element TS below window W in Fig. 2, but above pressure sensors FS in Fig. 16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the window of Hong to the device of modified Mukkamala, because the window can serve as a front surface of the entire device, as taught by Hong ([0087]).
Regarding Claim 28, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 26. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the pressure transmission member is disposed between the pressure sensor and the display panel. However, Hong teaches wherein the pressure transmission member (Elements BP12 and BP22, Fig. 16) is disposed between the display panel (“The touch sensor TS may sense a position of a touch input to touch regions TA1 and TA2 and a pressure caused by the touch input”, [0077]; “FIGS. 1 and 2 illustrate that the display panel DP is disposed on the bottom side of the touch sensor TS. However, the present disclosure is not limited thereto, and the positions of the display panel DP and the touch sensor TS may be interchanged”, [0084], emphasis added; therefore, element TS can be below element DP; element TS comprises elements FS, Fig. 5) and the pressure sensor (See Fig. 16; elements BP12 and BP12 are above elements FS, but as part of element TS would be below display panel DP). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the display device of Mukkamala with the pressure transmission member placement of Hong, for the advantage of concentrating a pressure caused by a touch input on an effective point of each of the pressure sensors (Hong, [0257]).
Regarding Claim 31, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 30. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the pressure transmission member comprises patterns that are spaced apart from each other in a plan view, and wherein the patterns are arranged along an edge of the second hole. However, Hong teaches wherein the pressure transmission member comprises patterns that are spaced apart from each other in a plan view (“The first pressure sensors FS1 may be separated from each other and arranged in a matrix form along the first direction (e.g., the X-axis direction) and the second direction (e.g., the Y-axis direction)”, [0133]; see Fig. 16; each element FS has elements BP11, BP12, BP21, and BP22 attached to it; therefore, elements BP are also in a matrix pattern), and wherein the patterns are arranged along an edge of the second hole (In the modification of Claim 30, the pressure transmission members BP on top of elements FS in Fig 15 are arranged along the edge of the second holes; therefore, there also exists a pattern arranged along an edge of the second holes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala with the second hole in the pressure transmission member of Hong, because the pressure transmission member of Hong can be substituted for the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a functional pressure transmission member).
Regarding Claim 32, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 31. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the pressure sensor comprises first electrodes extending in a first direction in a plan view and second electrodes extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction and partially overlapping the first electrodes, and
wherein the patterns are respectively disposed in second areas in which the first and second electrodes overlap each other in a plan view. However, Hong teaches wherein the pressure sensor comprises first electrodes (Element 220, Fig. 5; “each of the first pressure sensors FS1 and the second pressure FS2 may include a first electrode 220”, [0141]) extending in a first direction (See Fig. 5; elements 220 extend horizontally) in a plan view (Fig. 5 is a plan view) and second electrodes (Element 230, Fig. 5; “each of the first pressure sensors FS1 and the second pressure FS2 may include a…second electrode 230”, [0141]) extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction (See Fig. 5; elements 220 extend vertically, which intersects the horizontal direction) and partially overlapping the first electrodes (“a pressure sensitive layer 240 that is interposed between the first electrode 220 and the second electrode 230”, [0141]), and
wherein the patterns are respectively disposed in second areas (the areas occupied in a plan view by each element FS, See Fig. 5) in which the first and second electrodes overlap each other in a plan view (See Fig. 5; electrodes 220 and 230 overlap each other in a plan view, Figs. 6A-6B).
As both the pressure sensor of modified Mukkamala and the pressure sensor of Hong achieve the same function of pressure sensing, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element (the pressure sensor of Hong) for another (the pressure sensor of modified Mukkamala), and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a sensor that senses pressure).
Regarding Claim 33, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 32. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the patterns comprise third holes. However, Hong teaches wherein the patterns comprise third holes (See Fig. 15; each element FS, which is under a pressure transmission member BP, has a space between it and the adjacent elements FS; Fig. 16 shows this space is also a hole between elements FS; as there are more than three spaces, as shown in Fig. 15, any one of these spaces can qualify as one of a second or third hole). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala with the second hole in the pressure transmission member of Hong, because the pressure transmission member of Hong can be substituted for the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a functional pressure transmission member).
Claims 17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Mukkamala in view of Hong and Goeltner, and further in view of Park et al (US 8711069 B2, hereinafter Park).
Regarding Claim 17, Mukkamala discloses a display device (Element 100, Figs. 1-2A; “The mobile device 100 includes a display 104…”, [0042]) comprising:
a display panel (Element 104, Fig. 1) having a light emitting element (“The display 104 may present graphics…”, [0042]; to present graphics, the display must comprise an element capable of emitting light) to display an image (Elements 112, 120, and 124, Fig. 1), the display panel including a first area (See the area where element 586 appears on element 104 in Fig. 16),
a blood pressure sensor (Elements 320 and 324, Fig. 5; “The sensing unit 108 includes a PPG sensor 320, a pressure sensor 324, and possibly a temperature sensor 326”, [0046]; “The sensing unit is configured to measure blood pressure at a fingertip of a user”, [0014]) disposed adjacent to the display panel (“The sensing unit 108, employing the infrared PPG sensor 582, could be placed under the display 104”, [0107]) to sense pressure applied to at least a portion of the first area (“In this case, a picture of the user's finger 586 could be displayed indicating exactly where the user should position their finger for subsequent pressing”, [0107]) and to sense light incident thereon (“FIG. 16 depicts the cuff-less BP measurement system with an infrared PPG sensor 582 located below the display 104 of the mobile device 100”, [0107]); and
a pressure transmission member (Element 328, Fig. 1; “interface unit 328 allows for the force applied to the PPG sensor 320 to be distributed uniformly to the pressure sensor 324”, [0066]) overlapping the first area of the display panel (See Figs. 5 and 16; element 328 is part of element 108 (Fig. 5), which overlaps area 586, Fig. 16) and the blood pressure sensor (See Fig. 5; element 328 overlaps elements 320 and 324),
wherein the pressure sensor comprises:
a first sensor (Element 324, Fig. 5) under the pressure transmission member (See Fig. 5) to sense pressure (“a pressure sensor 324”, [0063]); and
a second sensor (Element 320, Fig. 5) overlapping the first sensor in a plan view (See Fig. 5) to sense light transmitted through the display panel (See Fig. 16; the PPG sensor 320, as part of element 108 under display panel 104 would be capable of sensing light transmitted through the display panel and therefore reading on this functional language).
Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing the display panel having a plurality of light emitting elements;
the pressure transmission member comprises a second hole overlapping the first hole and aligned with the first hole;
wherein the first and second sensor are at a same side of the pressure transmission member, and
wherein the display panel includes openings disposed in the first area of the display panel without overlapping the light emitting elements and conductive patterns connected to the light emitting elements.
However, Hong, which also discloses a display device (Element DD, Fig. 1), teaches a display panel (Element DP, Fig. 4) having a plurality of light emitting elements (Elements 120, Fig. 4; “each of the pixels 120 may include at least one light emitting device (e.g., an organic light emitting diode)”, [0107]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Mukkamala with the plurality of light emitting elements of Hong, because a plurality of light emitting pixels can be used to display moving pictures and animations.
Goeltner, which is also directed towards a display device (Abstract), teaches the first area (Element 202, Fig. 2) having a first hole (Elements 302, Fig. 3; “light guides may be incorporated into the display screen to increase the intensity of reflected light reaching the [vital sign monitoring] sensor 108. This is illustrated in FIG. 3, which shows a number of light guides 302 in the display screen above the VSM sensor 108. The light guides 302 may be, for example, small holes that go from the top surface of the display screen to the bottom surface”, [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a first hole to the first area of Mukkamala as taught by Goeltner, to allow light to reach the optical blood pressure sensors of Mukkamala.
Hong also teaches wherein the pressure transmission member includes a second hole (See Fig. 15; each element FS, which is under a pressure transmission member BP, has a space between it and the adjacent elements FS; Fig. 16 shows this space is also a hole between elements FS). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala with the second hole in the pressure transmission member of Hong, because the pressure transmission member of Hong can be substituted for the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a functional pressure transmission member). Furthermore, it has been held that a rearrangement of parts of a device is obvious as a matter of design choice provided it does not modify the operation of the device. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) and MPEP 2144. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala such that the second hole is overlapping the first hole and aligned with the first hole.
Park teaches wherein the display panel (Element 100, Fig. 1) includes openings (“In an exemplary embodiment of forming a circuit board 175, a plurality of first holes is formed extended completely through the first conductive layer 17, in substantially a mesh pattern or arrangement in a plan view of the circuit board 175”, 8:27-30; element 175 is part of display panel 170, Fig. 1) disposed in the first area (the layers of element 100 above element 105, Fig. 1) of the display panel (“In an exemplary embodiment of forming a circuit board 175, a plurality of first holes is formed extended completely through the first conductive layer 17, in substantially a mesh pattern or arrangement in a plan view of the circuit board 175”, 8:27-30; element 175 is part of the first area above element 105, Fig. 1) without overlapping the light emitting elements (Elements 131, Fig. 1; element 175 which houses the openings does not directly overlap elements 131) and conductive patterns (Elements 134, Fig. 1) connected to the light emitting elements (“The lamp socket 134 may receive driving power from an inverter (not shown) disposed on the rear surface of the bottom plate 112”, 5:51-53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the openings of Park to the device of modified Mukkamala for the utility of decreasing the spread of vibration generated by capacitive elements any circuit boards (Examiner’s Note: all mobile devices such as shown in Mukkamala Figs. 1-2A and 16 comprise computer circuits).
It has been held that a rearrangement of parts of a device is obvious as a matter of design choice provided it does not modify the operation of the device. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) and MPEP 2144. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala such that the first and second sensor are at a same side of the pressure transmission member, because Mukkamala states that the purpose of the pressure transmission member is to allow for the force applied to the PPG sensor 320 to be distributed uniformly to the pressure sensor 324, and this purpose could still be accomplished if the first and second sensor are at a same side of the pressure transmission member.
Regarding Claim 19, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 17. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the pressure transmission member comprises patterns that are spaced apart from each other in a plan view, and wherein each of the patterns is disposed between adjacent ones of the openings in a plan view. However, Hong teaches wherein the pressure transmission member comprises patterns that are spaced apart from each other in a plan view (“The first pressure sensors FS1 may be separated from each other and arranged in a matrix form along the first direction (e.g., the X-axis direction) and the second direction (e.g., the Y-axis direction)”, [0133]; see Fig. 16; each element FS has elements BP11, BP12, BP21, and BP22 attached to it; therefore, elements BP are also in a matrix pattern). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala with the pressure transmission member of Hong, because the pressure transmission member of Hong can be substituted for the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a functional pressure transmission member). Furthermore, it has been held that a rearrangement of parts of a device is obvious as a matter of design choice provided it does not modify the operation of the device. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) and MPEP 2144. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Mukkamala such each of the patterns is disposed between adjacent ones of the openings in a plan view.
Regarding Claim 20, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 17. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the pressure transmission member comprises patterns that are spaced apart from each other in a plan view, and wherein each of the patterns is disposed to overlap some of the openings in a plan view. However, Hong teaches wherein the pressure transmission member comprises patterns that are spaced apart from each other in a plan view (“The first pressure sensors FS1 may be separated from each other and arranged in a matrix form along the first direction (e.g., the X-axis direction) and the second direction (e.g., the Y-axis direction)”, [0133]; see Fig. 16; each element FS has elements BP11, BP12, BP21, and BP22 attached to it; therefore, elements BP are also in a matrix pattern). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala with the pressure transmission member of Hong, because the pressure transmission member of Hong can be substituted for the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a functional pressure transmission member). Furthermore, it has been held that a rearrangement of parts of a device is obvious as a matter of design choice provided it does not modify the operation of the device. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) and MPEP 2144. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Hong such each of the patterns is disposed to overlap some of the openings in a plan view.
Regarding Claim 21, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 20. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the patterns comprise holes overlapping the some of the openings. However, Hong teaches wherein the patterns comprise holes (See Fig. 15; each element FS, which is under a pressure transmission member BP, has a space between it and the adjacent elements FS; Fig. 16 shows this space is also a hole between elements FS). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala with the pressure transmission member of Hong, because the pressure transmission member of Hong can be substituted for the pressure transmission member of modified Mukkamala, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a functional pressure transmission member). Furthermore, it has been held that a rearrangement of parts of a device is obvious as a matter of design choice provided it does not modify the operation of the device. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) and MPEP 2144. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Hong such that the holes are overlapping the some of the openings.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Mukkamala in view of Hong, Goeltner, and Park, and further in view of Cho (US 20140346478 A1, hereinafter Cho).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Hong discloses the display device of claim 17, wherein the display panel (Element DP, Fig. 4) includes a light- transmissive material inside each of the openings (In the modification of Claim 17, openings were added to the display panel of modified Mukkamala; as these openings are hollow, they contain air, which is a light-transmissive material). Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the light-transmissive material includes at least one of germanium, silicon, zinc selenide (ZnSe), silicon dioxide (SiO2), polyethylene, and polystyrene. However, Cho teaches a light- transmissive material (“The base film 10 may be made of a transparent material,”, [0100]) inside each of the openings (“a donor film 500 is disposed on opening 95 of the substrate 100 on which the first electrode 710 is formed. The donor film 500 has a structure in which a base film 10 and a transfer layer 20 are stacked.”, [0100]) wherein the light-transmissive material includes at least one of germanium, silicon, zinc selenide (ZnSe), silicon dioxide (SiO2), polyethylene, and polystyrene (“The base film 10 may be made of a transparent material, for example, at least one polymer material selected from a group consisting of polyester, polyacryl, polyepoxy, polyethylene, polystyrene, and polyethylene terephthalate, or glass,”, [0100]). As both air, polyethylene, and polystyrene are light-transmissive materials, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element (polyethylene or polystyrene) for another (air), and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (the transmission of light through the opening).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Mukkamala in view of Hong and Goeltner, and further in view of Jang et al (US 20140313463 A1, hereinafter Jang).
Regarding Claim 25, modified Mukkamala discloses the display device of claim 1. Modified Mukkamala discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the display panel comprises: a first substrate; a light emitting element layer disposed on the first substrate and including the light emitting elements; a first passivation layer disposed on the light emitting element layer; and a second passivation layer disposed under the first substrate, and wherein the pressure transmission member is disposed between the first substrate and the second passivation layer. However, Hong teaches wherein the display panel comprises: a first substrate (Element 110, Fig. 4; [0104]); a light emitting element layer (See Fig. 4; the line of elements 120) disposed on the first substrate (See Fig. 4) and including the light emitting elements (Elements 120, Fig. 4); a first passivation layer (Element 130, Fig. 4) disposed on the light emitting element layer (See Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the display panel of Mukkamala, with the first substrate and first passivation layer of Hong, for the advantage of providing the display panel with an insulative material (Hong, [0105]) and preventing moisture or oxygen from penetrating into the light-emitting elements (Hong, [0108]).
Jang teaches a second passivation layer (Element 180a, Fig. 4), wherein the second passivation layer is disposed under the first substrate (Element 210, Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a second passivation layer to the device of modified Mukkamala for the advantage of adding a light-blocking member configured to prevent (or reduce) light leakage between pixels/sub-pixels to the device configured to prevent (or reduce) light leakage between pixels/sub-pixels (Jang, [0184]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Mukkamala such that the pressure transmission member is disposed between the first substrate and the second passivation layer, for the advantage of transmitting applied pressure to the substrate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See Rabinovich et al (US 20180184920 A1).
/JONATHAN E. COOPER/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JACQUELINE CHENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791