DETAILED ACTION
Amendment Entered
This Office action is responsive to the Amendment filed on April 16th, 2026. The examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 31, 43, 59, and 60, as well as the cancellation of claims 40 and 49. Claims 31-32, 34-39, 41-48, 50, and 52-60 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument, specifically relating to “in response to a minimum actuation force, allow-movement of the carrier in an arc-like motion from the loaded position to the unloaded position and release of the microneedle array sensor” necessitating the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “gating feature configured to: retain the carrier in the loaded position ... allow-movement ...” in claims 31, 43, and 59.
The gating features is defined, in para. [0022, 0148] of the published specification (see US 20210393201 A1), as a detent feature that requires a modest force to overcome and a ball nose/spring plunger.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31, 32, 34-35, 37-39, 41, 59, and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frederickson (US 20140330209 A1) in view of Gonzalez (US 20120123387 A1).
Regarding claim 31, Frederickson discloses an applicator device (applicator device 120, figs. 6a-6f) configured for insertion of a microneedle array sensor (patch 172 & microneedle array 174, figs. 6a-6f) into an epidermis or a dermis of a subject (skin surface 181, figs. 6a-6f, “transdermal”, para. [0033]) (Abstract, figs. 6a-6f), the device comprising: a body (housing 122, figs. 6a-6f) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) be grasped by a hand of a user (“thumb or finger pressure”, para. [0049, 0053]); a carrier (impactor 170 & drive member 166, figs. 6a-6f, “integrally formed”, para. [0050]) positioned within a portion of the body (as seen in figs. 6a-6f, “patch accelerating assembly is fully contained ... the housing”, para. [0050, 0053]) and configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) guide the microneedle array sensor toward a skin surface of the subject (“drive member 166 to bias the patch 172 towards the skin-contacting face 124”, para. [0050], figs. 6a-6f) while moving from a loaded position (fig. 6c, “hold the movable end 169 of the drive member 166 away from the skin-contacting face 124 of the housing 122”, para. [0050]), in which the microneedle array sensor is retained against the carrier (as seen in fig. 6C, “patch 172 mounted on an impactor 170”, para. [0047, 0050]), to an unloaded position (as seen in figs. 6e-f, “drive member 166 fully deployed”, para. [0050]), in which the microneedle array sensor is automatically (Examiner’s note: automatic is defined as having devices or mechanisms that permit operation without help from a person – Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Automatic. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved August 19, 2026, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/automatic, therefore the magnetic and adhesive attraction forces for retaining the patch to the impactor and allowing the patch to remain on the skin of Frederickson is being interpreted as automatically releasing the patch) released from the carrier (as seen in figs. 6e-6f, “adhesion between the patch and the skin ... patch acceleration assembly, and thus the applicator, to be removed from the patch while allowing the patch to remain in place on the skin”; “leaving a patch 172 with a microneedle array 174 in place on the skin surface 181”, para. [0047, 0050]), wherein, in the unloaded position, the microneedle array sensor is inserted into the epidermis or the dermis of the subject via the skin surface (as seen in figs. 6e-6f, “transdermal”; “patch is pressed against the skin surface ... in place on the skin surface 181”, para. [0033, 0050]); and a feature (hook 125 & slot 171, figs. 6a-6f) disposed on the body (as seen in figs. 6a-6f, para. [0050]), the feature (hook 125 & slot 171, figs. 6a-6f) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of): retain the carrier in the loaded position (as seen in fig. 6c, “hold ... 166 away from the skin-contacting face 124 of the housing 122”, para. [0050]), and in response to a minimum actuation force (“thumb or finger pressure ... depression of the trigger”; “force”, para. [0040-0041, 0049-0050, 0053]), allow-movement of the carrier in an arc-like motion from the loaded position to the unloaded position and release of the microneedle array sensor (as seen in figs. 6c-6f, “releasing ... 166 ... drive member 166 fully deployed”; “substantially arcuate path”, para. [0050, 0053-0054]).
Frederickson does not expressly disclose a gating feature.
However, Gonzalez directed to apparatus, assemblies, combinations, and methods for infusing fluids by hollow microneedles discloses apparatus 200 having a body (housing 202, figs. 14-17), a carrier (manifold carrier 262 having upstanding latch 256, figs. 14-17), and a gating feature (opening 269 in upper housing portion 210 & latch 256, figs. 14-17) disposed on the body (as seen in figs. 14-17, para. [0105]), the gating feature (opening 269 in upper housing portion 210, figs. 14-17) configured to: retain the carrier in the loaded position (as seen in fig. 14), and in response to a minimum actuation force (“finger engageable portion ... is depressed downwardly ... force”; “latch 256 is released”, para. [0066, 0105]), allow-movement of the carrier in an arc-like motion from the loaded position to the unloaded position (as seen in figs. 14-17, para. [0105-0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frederickson such that the applicator device comprises a gating feature, in view of the teachings of Gonzalez, as such a modification would have been merely a substitution of the hook attached to the housing of Frederickson for the opening of the housing of Gonzalez and merely a substitution of the slot attached to the drive member of Frederickson for the protruding latch of Gonzalez to maintain a latched position/primed and loaded condition for storing energy that may be automatically moved when it is released (Gonzalez, para. [0105-0106]).
Regarding claim 32, upon the modification of Frederickson to substitute the hook attached to the housing of Frederickson for the opening of the housing of Gonzalez and the slot attached to the drive member of Frederickson for the protruding latch of Gonzalez to maintain a latched position/primed and loaded condition for storing energy that may be automatically moved when it is released, as described with respect to claim 31 above, Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 31, wherein the carrier comprises a tongue (Frederickson, “elongate, bendable member ... leaf spring”, para. [0047, 0050]) and a locking tab extending from the tongue (Frederickson, slot 171 substituted by latch 256 of Gonzales, figs. 14-17), the locking tab releasably engaging with the gating feature (as seen in Frederickson, figs. 6a-6f & Gonzales, figs. 14-17), and wherein a user-directed application of the minimum actuation force on a portion of the tongue releases the locking tab from the gating feature and allows the carrier to move from the loaded position to the unloaded position (Frederickson, ““trigger to be deflected downward by thumb or finger pressure ... causes the hook 125 to pivot ... releasing the movable end 169 of the drive member 166 ... bias the patch 172 towards the skin-contacting face 124”, para. [0049-0050], figs. 6a-6f).
Regarding claim 34, Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 31, wherein the gating feature comprises a cavity configured to retain the carrier in the loaded position (Gonzalez, para. [0105-0106], opening 269 in upper housing portion 210, figs. 14-17), and wherein the carrier (impactor 170 & drive member 166, figs. 6a-6f, “integrally formed”, para. [0050]) is configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) automatically release the microneedle array sensor when the carrier is released from the cavity upon application of the minimum actuation force (Frederickson, figs. 6a-6f, para. [0047, 0050] (Examiner’s note: automatic is defined as having devices or mechanisms that permit operation without help from a person – Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Automatic. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved August 19, 2026, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/automatic, therefore the magnetic and adhesive attraction forces for retaining the patch to the impactor and allowing the patch to remain on the skin of Frederickson is being interpreted as automatically releasing the patch)).
Regarding claim 35, Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez and Pushpala hereinabove discloses device of claim 32, wherein the tongue comprises a leaf spring (“leaf spring”, para. [0047, 0050]) that accelerates the carrier and the microneedle array sensor during movement of the carrier from the loaded position to the unloaded position (“drive member 166 to bias the patch 172 towards the skin-contacting face 124”, para. [0047, 0050]).
Regarding claim 37, Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 35, wherein the microneedle array sensor is inserted with an impact velocity of between 0.15 m/s and 15 m/s (“minimum velocity achieved by the microneedle array upon impact with the skin is often 2 m/s or more”, para. [0056-0057]).
Regarding claim 38, Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 32, wherein insertion of the microneedle array sensor is achieved via the user-directed application (“trigger to be deflected downward by thumb or finger pressure”, para. [0049-0050], figs. 6a-6f).
Regarding claim 39, Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 38, wherein the microneedle array sensor is inserted with an impact velocity of 5 m/s (“minimum velocity achieved by the microneedle array upon impact with the skin ... potentially 4 m/s or more, and possibly 6 m/s or more”, para. [0056-0057]).
Regarding claim 41, Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 32, wherein the tongue (Frederickson, “elongate, bendable member ... leaf spring”, para. [0047, 0050]) comprises a raised portion (impactor 170, figs. 6a-6f) defining an actuation area (as seen in figs. 6a-6f, para. [0049-0050]), and wherein the user applies the minimum actuation force to the actuation area (“trigger to be deflected downward by thumb or finger pressure ... releasing the movable end 169 of the drive member 166”, para. [0049-0050]).
Regarding claim 43, Frederickson discloses a system for continuous glucose monitoring (figs. 6a-6f, para. [0033]) comprising: a microneedle array sensor (microneedle array 174, figs. 6a-6f, para. [0033]), comprising: a microneedle array (microneedle array 174, figs. 6a-6f, para. [0033]) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) measure at least one of an endogenous or exogenous biochemical agent, metabolite, drug, pharmacologic, biological, or medicament indicative of a particular physiological or metabolic state in a physiological fluid of a subject (“sampling of fluids through the skin”, para. [0033]), the microneedle array comprising a plurality of microneedles having a vertical extent between 200 microns to 2000 microns (“microneedles ... typically less than 500 microns in height ... more than 50 microns in height”, para. [0062]); and a skin-facing adhesive (patch 172, figs. 6a-6f, “patch ... adhesive surrounding the microneedle array”, para. [0042, 0047]) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) adhere the microneedle array sensor to a skin surface of the subject (“adhesion between the patch and the skin”, para. [0047, 0050], figs. 6a-6f); and an applicator (applicator device 120, figs. 6a-6f) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) apply the microneedle array sensor to the skin surface of the subject and insert the plurality of microneedles into an epidermis or a dermis of the subject (as seen in figs. 6a-5f, para. [0050]), the applicator (applicator device 120, figs. 6a-6f) comprising: a body (housing 122, figs. 6a-6f) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) be grasped by a hand of a user (“thumb or finger pressure”, para. [0049, 0053]); a carrier (impactor 170 & drive member 166, figs. 6a-6f, “integrally formed”, para. [0050]) positioned within a portion of the body (as seen in figs. 6a-6f, “patch accelerating assembly is fully contained ... the housing”, para. [0050, 0053]) and configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) guide the microneedle array sensor toward the skin surface of the subject while moving from a loaded position (“drive member 166 to bias the patch 172 towards the skin-contacting face 124”, para. [0050], figs. 6a-6f) while moving from a loaded position (fig. 6c, “hold the movable end 169 of the drive member 166 away from the skin-contacting face 124 of the housing 122”, para. [0050]), in which the microneedle array sensor is retained against the carrier (as seen in fig. 6C, “patch 172 mounted on an impactor 170”, para. [0047, 0050]), to an unloaded position (as seen in figs. 6e-f, “drive member 166 fully deployed”, para. [0050]), in which the microneedle array sensor is automatically (Examiner’s note: automatic is defined as having devices or mechanisms that permit operation without help from a person – Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Automatic. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved August 19, 2026, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/automatic, therefore the magnetic and adhesive attraction forces for retaining the patch to the impactor and allowing the patch to remain on the skin of Frederickson is being interpreted as automatically releasing the patch) released from the carrier (as seen in figs. 6e-6f, “adhesion between the patch and the skin ... patch acceleration assembly, and thus the applicator, to be removed from the patch while allowing the patch to remain in place on the skin”; “leaving a patch 172 with a microneedle array 174 in place on the skin surface 181”, para. [0047, 0050]) and the plurality of microneedles are inserted into the epidermis or the dermis of the subject via the skin surface (as seen in figs. 6e-6f, “transdermal”; “patch is pressed against the skin surface ... in place on the skin surface 181”, para. [0033, 0050]); and a feature (hook 125 & slot 171, figs. 6a-6f) disposed on the body (as seen in figs. 6a-6f, para. [0050]), the feature (hook 125 & slot 171, figs. 6a-6f) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) retain the carrier in the loaded position (as seen in fig. 6c, “hold ... 166 away from the skin-contacting face 124 of the housing 122”, para. [0050]), and in response to a minimum actuation force (“thumb or finger pressure ... depression of the trigger”; “force”, para. [0040-0041, 0049-0050, 0053]), allow-movement of the carrier in an arc-like motion from the loaded position to the unloaded position and release of the microneedle array sensor (as seen in figs. 6c-6f, “releasing ... 166 ... drive member 166 fully deployed”; “substantially arcuate path”, para. [0050, 0053-0054]).
Frederickson does not expressly disclose a gating feature.
However, Gonzalez directed to apparatus, assemblies, combinations, and methods for infusing fluids by hollow microneedles discloses apparatus 200 having a body (housing 202, figs. 14-17), a carrier (manifold carrier 262 having upstanding latch 256, figs. 14-17), and a gating feature (opening 269 in upper housing portion 210 & latch 256, figs. 14-17) disposed on the body (as seen in figs. 14-17, para. [0105]), the gating feature (opening 269 in upper housing portion 210, figs. 14-17) configured to: retain the carrier in the loaded position (as seen in fig. 14), and in response to a minimum actuation force (“finger engageable portion ... is depressed downwardly ... force”; “latch 256 is released”, para. [0066, 0105]), allow-movement of the carrier in an arc-like motion from the loaded position to the unloaded position (as seen in figs. 14-17, para. [0105-0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frederickson such that the applicator device comprises a gating feature, in view of the teachings of Gonzalez, as such a modification would have been merely a substitution of the hook attached to the housing of Frederickson for the opening of the housing of Gonzalez and merely a substitution of the slot attached to the drive member of Frederickson for the protruding latch of Gonzalez to maintain a latched position/primed and loaded condition for storing energy that may be automatically moved when it is released (Gonzalez, para. [0105-0106]).
Regarding claim 47, Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez, hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 43, wherein insertion of the plurality of microneedles into the epidermis or the dermis of the subject is achieved via a user-directed application of the minimum actuation force (“trigger to be deflected downward by thumb or finger pressure”, para. [0049-0050], figs. 6a-6f).
Regarding claim 48, Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez, hereinabove, discloses the system of claim 43, wherein the applicator further comprises an energy storage device (“leaf spring”, para. [0047, 0050]) configured to accelerate the carrier and the microneedle array sensor during movement of the carrier from the loaded position to the unloaded position (“drive member 166 to bias the patch 172 towards the skin-contacting face 124”, para. [0047, 0050]).
Regarding claim 50, upon the modification of Frederickson to substitute the hook attached to the housing of Frederickson for the opening of the housing of Gonzalez and the slot attached to the drive member of Frederickson for the protruding latch of Gonzalez to maintain a latched position/primed and loaded condition for storing energy that may be automatically moved when it is released, as described with respect to claim 43 above, Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, discloses the system of claim 43, wherein the carrier comprises a tongue (Frederickson, “elongate, bendable member ... leaf spring”, para. [0047, 0050]) and a locking tab extending from the tongue (Frederickson, slot 171 substituted by latch 256 of Gonzales, figs. 14-17) to releasably engage with the gating feature (as seen in Frederickson, figs. 6a-6f & Gonzales, figs. 14-17), and wherein a user-directed application of the minimum actuation force on a portion of the tongue releases the locking tab from the gating feature and allows the carrier to move from the loaded position to the unloaded position (Frederickson, ““trigger to be deflected downward by thumb or finger pressure ... causes the hook 125 to pivot ... releasing the movable end 169 of the drive member 166 ... bias the patch 172 towards the skin-contacting face 124”, para. [0049-0050], figs. 6a-6f).
Regarding claim 52, Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, discloses the system of claim 43, wherein the gating feature comprises a cavity configured to retain the carrier in the loaded position (Gonzalez, para. [0105-0106], opening 269 in upper housing portion 210, figs. 14-17), and wherein the carrier (impactor 170 & drive member 166, figs. 6a-6f, “integrally formed”, para. [0050]) is configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) release the microneedle array sensor when the carrier is released from the cavity upon application of the minimum actuation force (Frederickson, figs. 6a-6f, para. [0047, 0050]).
Regarding claim 53, Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, discloses the system of claim 50, wherein the tongue comprises a leaf spring (“leaf spring”, para. [0047, 0050]), wherein the leaf spring that accelerates the carrier and the microneedle array sensor during deployment (“drive member 166 to bias the patch 172 towards the skin-contacting face 124”, para. [0047, 0050]).
Regarding claim 55, Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, discloses the system of claim 53, wherein the microneedle array sensor is inserted with an impact velocity of between 0.15 m/s and 15 m/s (“minimum velocity achieved by the microneedle array upon impact with the skin is often 2 m/s or more”, para. [0056-0057]).
Regarding claim 56, Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, discloses the system of claim 50, wherein insertion of the plurality of microneedles is achieved with the user-directed application (“trigger to be deflected downward by thumb or finger pressure”, para. [0049-0050], figs. 6a-6f).
Regarding claim 57, Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, discloses the system of claim 56, wherein the microneedle array sensor is inserted with an impact velocity of 5m/s (“minimum velocity achieved by the microneedle array upon impact with the skin ... potentially 4 m/s or more, and possibly 6 m/s or more”, para. [0056-0057]).
Regarding claim 59, Frederickson discloses an applicator device (applicator device 120, figs. 6a-6f) configured for insertion of a microneedle array sensor (patch 172 & microneedle array 174, figs. 6a-6f) into an epidermis or a dermis of a subject (skin surface 181, figs. 6a-6f, “transdermal”, para. [0033]) (Abstract, figs. 6a-6f), the device (applicator device 120, figs. 6a-6f) comprising: a body (housing 122, figs. 6a-6f) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) be grasped by a hand of a user (“thumb or finger pressure”, para. [0049, 0053]); a carrier (impactor 170 & drive member 166, figs. 6a-6f, “integrally formed”, para. [0050]) positioned within a portion of the body (as seen in figs. 6a-6f, “patch accelerating assembly is fully contained ... the housing”, para. [0050, 0053]), the carrier further configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) guide the microneedle array sensor toward a skin surface of the subject (“drive member 166 to bias the patch 172 towards the skin-contacting face 124”, para. [0050], figs. 6a-6f) while moving from a loaded position (fig. 6c, “hold the movable end 169 of the drive member 166 away from the skin-contacting face 124 of the housing 122”, para. [0050]), in which the microneedle array sensor is retained against the carrier (as seen in fig. 6C, “patch 172 mounted on an impactor 170”, para. [0047, 0050]), to an unloaded position (as seen in figs. 6e-f, “drive member 166 fully deployed”, para. [0050]), in which the microneedle array sensor is automatically (Examiner’s note: automatic is defined as having devices or mechanisms that permit operation without help from a person – Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Automatic. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved August 19, 2026, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/automatic, therefore the magnetic and adhesive attraction forces for retaining the patch to the impactor and allowing the patch to remain on the skin of Frederickson is being interpreted as automatically releasing the patch) released from the carrier (as seen in figs. 6e-6f, “adhesion between the patch and the skin ... patch acceleration assembly, and thus the applicator, to be removed from the patch while allowing the patch to remain in place on the skin”; “leaving a patch 172 with a microneedle array 174 in place on the skin surface 181”, para. [0047, 0050]) and the microneedle array sensor is inserted in the epidermis or the dermis of the subject via the skin surface (as seen in figs. 6e-6f, “transdermal”; “patch is pressed against the skin surface ... in place on the skin surface 181”, para. [0033, 0050]); a feature (hook 125 & slot 171, figs. 6a-6f) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) releasably engage with the carrier to retain the carrier in the loaded position (as seen in fig. 6c, “hold ... 166 away from the skin-contacting face 124 of the housing 122”, para. [0050]). Frederickson further discloses a slot 171 on the moveable end 169 of the drive member 166 and a hook 125 attached to the housing 122 (para. [0050, figs. 6a-6f).
Frederickson does not expressly disclose that the carrier comprises a locking tab extending from the carrier and a gating feature comprising a cavity configured to releasably engage with the locking tab of the carrier to retain the carrier in the loaded position.
However, Gonzalez directed to apparatus, assemblies, combinations, and methods for infusing fluids by hollow microneedles discloses apparatus 200 having a body (housing 202, figs. 14-17), a carrier (manifold carrier 262 having upstanding latch 256, figs. 14-17), the carrier (262, figs. 14-17) comprising a locking tab extending from the carrier (“upstanding latch 256 protruding”, para. [0105], figs. 14-17) and a gating feature (opening 269 in upper housing portion 210, figs. 14-17) comprising a cavity (“opening”, para. [0105-0106]) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) releasably engage with the locking tab of the carrier to retain the carrier in the loaded position (“latching position ... loaded condition”, para. [0105-0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frederickson such that the carrier comprises a locking tab extending from the carrier and a gating feature comprising a cavity configured to releasably engage with the locking tab of the carrier to retain the carrier in the loaded position, in view of the teachings of Gonzalez, as such a modification would have been merely a substitution of the hook attached to the housing of Frederickson for the opening of the housing of Gonzalez and merely a substitution of the slot attached to the drive member of Frederickson for the protruding latch of Gonzalez to maintain a latched position/primed and loaded condition for storing energy that may be automatically moved when it is released (Gonzalez, para. [0105-0106]).
Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, discloses wherein the gating feature (Frederickson, slot 171, figs. 6a-6f substitutes by Gonzalez, opening 269 in upper housing portion 210 & latch 256, figs. 14-17 &) is further configured to, in response to a minimum actuation force (Frederickson, “thumb or finger pressure ... depression of the trigger”; “force”, para. [0040-0041, 0049-0050, 0053]), disengage with the locking tab of the carrier (hook 125 & slot 171 as seen in Frederickson, figs. 6a-6f substituted by opening 169 & latch 256 of Gonzalez, figs. 14-17) to automatically (Examiner’s note: automatic is defined as having devices or mechanisms that permit operation without help from a person – Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Automatic. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved August 19, 2026, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/automatic, therefore the magnetic and adhesive attraction forces for retaining the patch to the impactor and allowing the patch to remain on the skin of Frederickson is being interpreted as automatically releasing the patch) release the microneedle array sensor from the carrier (Frederickson, as seen in figs. 6e-6f, “adhesion between the patch and the skin ... patch acceleration assembly, and thus the applicator, to be removed from the patch while allowing the patch to remain in place on the skin”; “leaving a patch 172 with a microneedle array 174 in place on the skin surface 181”, para. [0047, 0050]) and allow movement of the carrier in an arc-like motion from the loaded position to the unloaded position (Frederickson, as seen in figs. 6c-6f, “releasing ... 166 ... drive member 166 fully deployed”; “substantially arcuate path”, para. [0050, 0053-0054]).
Regarding claim 60, Frederickson discloses a method of inserting a microneedle array sensor into an epidermis or a dermis of a subject (Abstract, para. [0002]), comprising: providing an applicator (applicator device 120, figs. 6a-6f) comprising the microneedle array sensor (patch 172 & microneedle array 174, figs. 6a-6f), the microneedle array sensor (patch 172 & microneedle array 174, figs. 6a-6f) comprising a microneedle array (microneedle array 174, figs. 6a-6f, para. [0033]) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) measure at least one of an endogenous or exogenous biochemical agent, metabolite, drug, pharmacologic, biological, or medicament indicative of a particular physiological or metabolic state in a physiological fluid of a subject (“sampling of fluids through the skin”, para. [0033]), and a skin-facing adhesive (patch 172, figs. 6a-6f, “patch ... adhesive surrounding the microneedle array”, para. [0042, 0047]) configured to adhere the microneedle array sensor to a skin surface of the subject (“adhesion between the patch and the skin”, para. [0047, 0050], figs. 6a-6f), the applicator (applicator device 120, figs. 6a-6f) comprising: a body (housing 122, figs. 6a-6f) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) be grasped by a hand of a user (“thumb or finger pressure”, para. [0049, 0053]); a carrier (impactor 170 & drive member 166, figs. 6a-6f, “integrally formed”, para. [0050]) positioned within a portion of the body (as seen in figs. 6a-6f, “patch accelerating assembly is fully contained ... the housing”, para. [0050, 0053]), the carrier further configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) guide the microneedle array sensor toward the skin surface of the subject (“drive member 166 to bias the patch 172 towards the skin-contacting face 124”, para. [0050], figs. 6a-6f) while moving from a loaded position, in which the microneedle array sensor is retained against the carrier (as seen in fig. 6C, “patch 172 mounted on an impactor 170”, para. [0047, 0050]), to an unloaded position (as seen in figs. 6e-f, “drive member 166 fully deployed”, para. [0050]), in which the microneedle array sensor is automatically (Examiner’s note: automatic is defined as having devices or mechanisms that permit operation without help from a person – Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Automatic. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved August 19, 2026, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/automatic, therefore the magnetic and adhesive attraction forces for retaining the patch to the impactor and allowing the patch to remain on the skin of Frederickson is being interpreted as automatically releasing the patch) released from the carrier (as seen in figs. 6e-6f, “adhesion between the patch and the skin ... patch acceleration assembly, and thus the applicator, to be removed from the patch while allowing the patch to remain in place on the skin”; “leaving a patch 172 with a microneedle array 174 in place on the skin surface 181”, para. [0047, 0050]) and the microneedle array sensor is inserted in the epidermis or the dermis of the subject via the skin surface (as seen in figs. 6e-6f, “transdermal”; “patch is pressed against the skin surface ... in place on the skin surface 181”, para. [0033, 0050]). Frederickson further discloses a slot 171 on the moveable end 169 of the drive member 166 and a hook 125 attached to the housing 122 (para. [0050, figs. 6a-6f).
Frederickson does not expressly disclose that the carrier comprises a locking tab extending from the carrier and a gating feature comprising a cavity configured to releasably engage with the locking tab of the carrier to retain the carrier in the loaded position.
However, Gonzalez directed to apparatus, assemblies, combinations, and methods for infusing fluids by hollow microneedles discloses apparatus 200 having a body (housing 202, figs. 14-17), a carrier (manifold carrier 262 having upstanding latch 256, figs. 14-17), the carrier (262, figs. 14-17) comprising a locking tab extending from the carrier (“upstanding latch 256 protruding”, para. [0105], figs. 14-17) and a gating feature (opening 269 in upper housing portion 210, figs. 14-17) comprising a cavity (“opening”, para. [0105-0106]) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) releasably engage with the locking tab of the carrier to retain the carrier in the loaded position (“latching position ... loaded condition”, para. [0105-0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frederickson such that the carrier comprises a locking tab extending from the carrier and a gating feature comprising a cavity configured to releasably engage with the locking tab of the carrier to retain the carrier in the loaded position, in view of the teachings of Gonzalez, as such a modification would have been merely a substitution of the hook attached to the housing of Frederickson for the opening of the housing of Gonzalez and merely a substitution of the slot attached to the drive member of Frederickson for the protruding latch of Gonzalez to maintain a latched position/primed and loaded condition for storing energy that may be automatically moved when it is released (Gonzalez, para. [0105-0106]).
Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, discloses wherein the gating feature (Frederickson, slot 171, figs. 6a-6f substitutes by Gonzalez, opening 269 in upper housing portion 210 & latch 256, figs. 14-17 &) is further configured to, in response to a minimum actuation force (Frederickson, “thumb or finger pressure ... depression of the trigger”; “force”, para. [0040-0041, 0049-0050, 0053]), disengage with the locking tab (hook 125 & slot 171 as seen in Frederickson, figs. 6a-6f substituted by opening 169 & latch 256 of Gonzalez, figs. 14-17) to automatically (Examiner’s note: automatic is defined as having devices or mechanisms that permit operation without help from a person – Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Automatic. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved August 19, 2026, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/automatic, therefore the magnetic and adhesive attraction forces for retaining the patch to the impactor and allowing the patch to remain on the skin of Frederickson is being interpreted as automatically releasing the patch) release the microneedle array sensor (Frederickson, as seen in figs. 6e-6f, “adhesion between the patch and the skin ... patch acceleration assembly, and thus the applicator, to be removed from the patch while allowing the patch to remain in place on the skin”; “leaving a patch 172 with a microneedle array 174 in place on the skin surface 181”, para. [0047, 0050]) and allow movement of the carrier in an arc-like motion from the loaded position to the unloaded position (Frederickson, as seen in figs. 6c-6f, “releasing ... 166 ... drive member 166 fully deployed”; “substantially arcuate path”, para. [0050, 0053-0054]), positioning the applicator on the skin surface of the subject at a target location of the microneedle array sensor (Frederickson, as seen in fig. 6c, para. [0050]); applying a minimum actuation force to a portion of the carrier (Frederickson, “trigger to be deflected downward by thumb or finger pressure ... hook 125 to pivot”, para. [0049-0050]), thereby releasing the locking tab from the gating feature (Frederickson, figs. 6a-6f & Gonzalez, figs. 14-17); and removing the applicator from the skin surface of the subject (as seen in fig. 6f, para. [0050]), wherein the microneedle array sensor and the locking tab of the carrier are releasably engaged with the gating feature when the applicator is provided (Frederickson, as seen in figs. 6a-6f & Gonzalez, as seen in figs. 14-17).
Claims 36 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frederickson in view of Gonzalez, as applied to claim 43 above, and further in view of Black (US 20120245445 A1).
Regarding claims 36 and 54 Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 35/ system of claim 53. Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the microneedle array sensor is inserted with an impact force of between 0.3 N and 30 N.
However, Black directed to a body fluid sampling system discloses a microneedle sensor array (microneedle array 14, fig. 5), wherein the microneedle array sensor is inserted with an impact force of between 0.3 N and 30 N (“0.01 to 10 Newtons of force to penetrate”, para. [0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, such that the microneedle array sensor is inserted with an impact force of between 0.3 N and 30 N, in view of the teachings of Black, as this would aid in penetrating the skin to apply the patch.
Claims 42 and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frederickson in view of Gonzalez, as applied to claim 43 above, and further in view of Gilbert (US 10076649 B2).
Regarding claims 42 and 58, Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 32/system of claim 50. Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the gating feature comprises a cavity disposed in an inner wall of the body, and wherein a portion of the locking tab is releasably retained within the cavity when the carrier is in the loaded position.
However, Gilbert directed to systems and methods for delivering microneedles to a patient's discloses a gating feature (releasable retaining mechanism 217, figs. 8-9B) comprises a cavity (unlabeled, but the space above tab portion 217b, as seen in figs. 8-9B) disposed in an inner wall (unlabeled, but as seen in figs. 8-9B) of the body (upper housing portion 202, figs. 8-9B), and wherein a portion of a locking tab (“portion of the carrier head 120 ... contact surface 121”, col. 12 lines 30-44, figs. 8-9B) is releasably retained within the cavity when the carrier is in the loaded position (“121 ... rest on the ledge portion 217b ... releases the infusion device”, col. 12 lines 30-44, figs. 8-9B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, such that the gating feature comprises a cavity disposed in an inner wall of the body, and wherein a portion of the locking tab is releasably retained within the cavity when the carrier is in the loaded position, in view of the teachings of Gilbert, as this would aid in releasably retaining a portion of the carrier within the housing.
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frederickson in view of Gonzalez, as applied to claim 43 above, and further in view of Mahmood (US 20140287942 A1).
Regarding claim 44, Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, discloses the system of claim 43. Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the plurality of microneedles comprises seven microneedles.
However, Mahmood directed to devices and methods for detecting and capturing molecular biomarkers from a subject discloses an array of microneedles (Abstract, para. [0056, 0066, 0075]) wherein the plurality of microneedles comprises seven microneedles (“at most 7 microneedles”, para. [0056, 0075, 0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, such that the plurality of microneedles comprises seven microneedles, in view of the teachings of Mahmood, as this would aid in detecting and capturing a set of biomarkers of tissue.
Claims 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frederickson in view of Gonzalez, as applied to claim 43 above, and further in view of Wang (US 9737247 B2).
Regarding claim 45, Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, discloses the system of claim 43. Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein each microneedle of the plurality of microneedles comprises an electrode located in a distal region of the microneedle.
However, Wang directed to methods, structures, and systems are disclosed for biosensing and drug delivery techniques discloses a microneedle array 100/500 (figs. 1A & 5A-5D), wherein each microneedle of the plurality of microneedles comprises an electrode located in a distal region of the microneedle (platinum working electrode 502, as seen in figs. 5C-5D, “coated ... form a working electrode”, col. 15 lines 19-51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, such that each microneedle of the plurality of microneedles comprises an electrode located in a distal region of the microneedle, in view of the teachings of Wang, as this would aid in performing multiplexed sensing and actuating applications in an autonomous, minimally-invasive, and controlled manner by providing a microneedle array in conjunction with electrodes.
Regarding claim 46, Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, discloses the system of claim 43. Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the microneedle array sensor is configured for electrochemical quantification of glucose in the epidermis or the dermis of the subject.
However, Wang directed to methods, structures, and systems are disclosed for biosensing and drug delivery techniques discloses a microneedle array 100/500 (figs. 1A & 5A-5D), wherein the microneedle array sensor (100/500, figs. 1A & 5A-5D) is configured for electrochemical quantification of glucose in the epidermis or the dermis of the subject (“microneedles can be functionalized with glucose oxidase enzyme”; “array of bicomponent microneedle electrodes 500 ... quantification of glucose”, col. 9 line 36 – col. 9 line 11 & col. 15 lines 19-51, figs. 11A-11B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frederickson, as modified by Gonzalez hereinabove, such that the microneedle array sensor is configured for electrochemical quantification of glucose in the epidermis or the dermis of the subject, in view of the teachings of Wang, as this would aid in monitoring glucose for the management of diabetes mellitus (Wang, col. 16 lines 15-20).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Pushpala (US 20170251958 A1) discloses an applicator system in an embodiment of a system for monitoring body chemistry (para. [0025]) and discloses a coupling interface including a suction interface operable to temporarily retain a surface of the microsensor patch 100 using negative pressure and by forming a temporary seal with the surface of the microsensor patch 100 and further including a venting channel to facilitate release of the microsensor patch 110 from the applicator system 180 during and/or after acceleration of the microsensor patch toward the body of the user (para. [0111, 0113]); Pushpala (US 20210236057 A1) – see figs. 16A-16B & para. [0118-0120]; Burton (US 20150352295 A1) – see para. [0048, 0060]; Schnell (US 4983178 A) directed to an integrated lancing device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/AURELIE H TU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791