DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-7, 9-16, 18 and 21-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,067,643 (hereinafter ‘643) in view of Ikeginger (CN 104576917, hereinafter Ikeginger).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following.
With respect to claim 1, US patent ‘643 discloses:
A multi-element sensor for measuring a magnetic field, comprising (Claim 1):
an integrated circuit element comprising an electronic circuit formed in a semiconductor circuit substrate (Claim 1); a cured adhesive layer disposed over the circuit substrate (Claim 1);
a magnetic sensing element comprising a sensor substrate having at least one fractured tether, a top side, and a bottom side opposite the top side, and a magnetic sensor formed on, in, or over the top side of the sensor substrate, wherein the bottom side of the sensor substrate is adhered to the adhesive layer (Claim 1); one or more electrical connections formed at least partly in a conductive distribution layer on the circuit substrate over the electronic circuit, the electrical connections electrically connecting the magnetic sensor to the electronic circuit (Claim 1); and wherein the circuit substrate is a separate substrate from the sensor substrate and the material of the circuit substrate comprises a different material than the material of the sensor substrate (Claim 1).
‘643 does not explicitly disclose wherein contact pads are provided on the magnetic sensor; the electrical connections electrically connecting the contact pads of the magnetic sensor to the electrical connections; wherein the contact pads are disposed entirely on the sensor substrate next to an edge or at a corner of the sensor substrate and wherein the magnetic sensing element is a Hall sensor or a quantum well sensor..
In an analogous art, Ikeginger discloses wherein contact pads are provided on the magnetic sensor (Page 13; Para 0033; contact pads 112); the electrical connections electrically connecting the contact pads of the magnetic sensor to the electrical connections (Page 13; Para 0034); wherein the contact pads are disposed entirely (Fig. 1E – 112 are disposed entirely on 102) on the sensor substrate next to an edge or at a corner of the sensor substrate (Fig. 1H & 1J – 112 are disposed next to edges, 104 is on substrate 102 – Para 0026) and wherein the magnetic sensing element is a Hall sensor or a quantum well sensor (Para 0004; Hall sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asahi’s device by adding Ikeginger’s disclosure in order to improve the accuracy of magnetic field monitoring.
With respect to claim 15, US patent ‘643 discloses:
A multi-element sensor wafer, comprising (Claim 13):
a plurality of spaced apart integrated circuit elements each comprising an electronic circuit disposed over a sacrificial portion of the sensor wafer, and formed in a semiconductor circuit substrate (Claim 13);
an adhesive layer disposed over the electronic circuits (Claim 13);
a plurality of magnetic sensing elements each comprising a sensor substrate having at least one fractured tether, a top side, and a bottom side opposite the top side, and a magnetic sensor formed on, in, or over the top side of the sensor substrate, wherein the bottom side of the sensor substrate is adhered to the adhesive layer and is disposed over a corresponding electronic circuit (Claim 13);
one or more electrical connections formed at least partly in a conductive distribution layer on the circuit substrate over each electronic circuit, the electrical connections electrically connecting the magnetic sensor to the corresponding electronic circuit (Claim 13); and
wherein the circuit substrate is a separate substrate from the sensor substrate and the material of the circuit substrate comprises a different material than the material of the sensor substrate (Claim 13).
‘643 does not explicitly disclose wherein contact pads are provided on the magnetic sensor; the electrical connections electrically connecting the contact pads of the magnetic sensor to the electrical connections; wherein the contact pads are disposed entirely on the sensor substrate next to an edge or at a corner of the sensor substrate and wherein the magnetic sensing element is a Hall sensor or a quantum well sensor.
In an analogous art, Ikeginger discloses wherein contact pads are provided on the magnetic sensor (Page 13; Para 0033; contact pads 112); the electrical connections electrically connecting the contact pads of the magnetic sensor to the electrical connections (Page 13; Para 0034); wherein the contact pads are disposed entirely (Fig. 1E – 112 are disposed entirely on 102) on the sensor substrate next to an edge or at a corner of the sensor substrate (Fig. 1H & 1J – 112 are disposed next to edges, 104 is on substrate 102 – Para 0026) and wherein the magnetic sensing element is a Hall sensor or a quantum well sensor (Para 0004; Hall sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asahi’s device by adding Ikeginger’s disclosure in order to improve the accuracy of magnetic field monitoring.
Claims 2-7, 9-14, 16, 18 and 21-22 are also rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,067,643 (hereinafter ‘643) in view of Ikeginger.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahi Kasei (JP 2003/243646, hereinafter Asahi) in view of Ikeginger (CN 104576917, hereinafter Ikeginger).
With respect to claim 1, Ashai discloses:
an integrated circuit element comprising an electronic circuit (1 of fig. 1; Para 0013) formed in a semiconductor circuit substrate (1a; Para 0013); a cured adhesive layer (3) disposed over the circuit substrate (Para 0014);
a magnetic sensing element comprising a sensor substrate (Para 0014 and 0019; thin film substrate), a top side (top surface of the thin film substrate), and a bottom side opposite the top side (bottom surface of the thin film substrate), and a magnetic sensor (2) formed on, in, or over the top side of the sensor substrate (Para 0030), wherein the bottom side of the sensor substrate is adhered to the adhesive layer (Para 0030; the back side of the thin film substrate is attached with the adhesive layer 3);
one or more electrical connections formed at least partly in a conductive distribution layer (4) on the circuit substrate over the electronic circuit, the electrical connections electrically connecting the magnetic sensor to the electronic circuit (Para 0027); and wherein the circuit substrate is a separate substrate from the sensor substrate (substrate 1a is different than thin film substrate) and the material of the circuit substrate comprises a different material than the material of the sensor substrate (Para 0019 and 0024; substrate 1a comprises of Si and sensor substrate can comprise of GaAs).
Ashai does not explicitly disclose wherein contact pads are provided on the magnetic sensor; the electrical connections electrically connecting the contact pads of the magnetic sensor to the electrical connections; wherein the contact pads are disposed entirely on the sensor substrate next to an edge or at a corner of the sensor substrate and wherein the magnetic sensing element is a Hall sensor or a quantum well sensor.
In an analogous art, Ikeginger discloses wherein contact pads are provided on the magnetic sensor (Page 13; Para 0033; contact pads 112); the electrical connections electrically connecting the contact pads of the magnetic sensor to the electrical connections (Page 13; Para 0034); wherein the contact pads are disposed entirely (Fig. 1E – 112 are disposed entirely on 102) on the sensor substrate next to an edge or at a corner of the sensor substrate (Fig. 1H & 1J – 112 are disposed next to edges, 104 is on substrate 102 – Para 0026) and wherein the magnetic sensing element is a Hall sensor or a quantum well sensor (Para 0004; Hall sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asahi’s device by adding Ikeginger’s disclosure in order to improve the accuracy of magnetic field monitoring.
With respect to claim 4, Asahi/Ikeginger discloses wherein a distance between the contact pad and the nearest edge of the magnetic sensor is smaller than 5 um (Fig. 1 – merely having a specific distance between sensor and contact pad is obvious to achieve the optimal results according to the other components of the device).
With respect to claim 21, Ashai discloses:
an integrated circuit element comprising an electronic circuit (1 of fig. 1; Para 0013) formed in a semiconductor circuit substrate (1a; Para 0013); a cured adhesive layer (3) disposed over the circuit substrate (Para 0014);
a magnetic sensing element comprising a sensor substrate (Para 0014 and 0019; thin film substrate) having, a top side (top surface of the thin film substrate), and a bottom side opposite the top side (bottom surface of the thin film substrate), and a magnetic sensor (2) formed on, in, or over the top side of the sensor substrate (Para 0030), wherein the bottom side of the sensor substrate is adhered to the adhesive layer (Para 0030; the back side of the thin film substrate is attached with the adhesive layer 3);
one or more electrical connections formed at least partly in a conductive distribution layer (4) on the circuit substrate over the electronic circuit, the electrical connections electrically connecting the magnetic sensor to the electronic circuit (Para 0027); and wherein the circuit substrate is a separate substrate from the sensor substrate (substrate 1a is different than thin film substrate) and the material of the circuit substrate comprises a different material than the material of the sensor substrate (Para 0019 and 0024; substrate 1a comprises of Si and sensor substrate can comprise of GaAs).
Asahi does not explicitly disclose wherein contact pads are provided on the magnetic sensor; the electrical connections electrically connecting the contact pads of the magnetic sensor to the electrical connections; wherein the contact pads are disposed entirely on the sensor substrate next to an edge or at a corner of the sensor substrate and wherein the magnetic sensing element is a Hall sensor or a quantum well sensor..
In an analogous art, Ikeginger discloses wherein contact pads are provided on the magnetic sensor (Page 13; Para 0033; contact pads 112); the electrical connections electrically connecting the contact pads of the magnetic sensor to the electrical connections (Page 13; Para 0034); wherein the contact pads are disposed entirely (Fig. 1E – 112 are disposed entirely on 102) on the sensor substrate next to an edge or at a corner of the sensor substrate (Fig. 1H & 1J – 112 are disposed next to edges, 104 is on substrate 102 – Para 0026) and wherein the magnetic sensing element is a Hall sensor or a quantum well sensor (Para 0004; Hall sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asahi’s device by adding Ikeginger’s disclosure in order to improve the accuracy of magnetic field monitoring.
With respect to claim 22, Ashai does not explicitly disclose wherein the magnetic sensing element is a Hall sensor or a quantum well Hall sensor.
In an analogous art, Ikeginger discloses wherein the magnetic sensing element is a Hall sensor or a quantum well Hall sensor (Para 0004; Hall sensor). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asahi’s device by adding Ikeginger’s disclosure in order to improve the accuracy of magnetic field monitoring.
Claims 2, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahi/ Ikeginger in view of Kim et al. (US 2014/0167749, hereinafter Kim).
With respect to claim 2, Asahi/ Ikeginger does not explicitly disclose wherein a size of the magnetic sensing element is smaller than 500 um.
In an analogous art, Kim discloses wherein a size of the magnetic sensing element is smaller than 500 um (Para 0021 and 0048-0049).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asahi/ Ikeginger’s device by adding Kim’s disclosure in order to reduce the size of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 7, Asahi further discloses wherein the material of the sensor substrate has a mobility that is higher than the mobility of the semiconductor of the circuit substrate at room temperature (GaAs has higher mobility than Si at room temperature).
With respect to claim 9, Asahi further discloses wherein the material of the sensor substrate is a compound semiconductor, a III-V semiconductor, or GaAs (Para 0019; GaAs), or wherein the semiconductor of the circuit substrate is silicon (Para 0024; Si).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahi/ Ikeginger in view of Zhao et al. (US 2014/0130595, hereinafter Zhao).
With respect to claim 3, Asahi/ Ikeginger does not explicitly disclose wherein a ratio of the size of the sensing element and the size of the contact pad may is between 3 and 10.
In an analogous art, Zhao discloses wherein a ratio of the size of the sensing element and the size of the contact pad may is between 3 and 10 (Fig. 1- ratio between size of 16 and 12 is 3-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asahi/ Ikeginger’s device by adding Zhao’s disclosure in order to connect different components of a semiconductor device.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahi/ Ikeginger in view of Stetter et al. (US 2013/0311108, hereinafter Stetter).
With respect to claim 5 Asahi/ Ikeginger discloses the multi-element sensor according to claim 1.
Asahi/ Ikeginger does not explicitly disclose wherein at least two sensing elements are provided adjacent to each other.
In an analogous art, Stetter discloses that wherein at least two sensing elements are provided adjacent to each other (fig. 2B; Para 0003 and 0010). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asahi/ Ikeginger 's device by adding Stetter’s disclosure in order to provide redundancy and improving reliability.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahi/ Ikeginger in view of Starkston et al. (US 2014/0091474, hereinafter Starkston).
With respect to claim 6, Asahi/ Ikeginger does not explicitly disclose wherein the contact pads have a triangular shape.
Asahi/ Ikeginger does not explicitly disclose wherein the contact pads have a triangular shape.
In an analogous art, Starkston discloses wherein the contact pads have a triangular shape (Para 0016 -triangular). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asahi/ Ikeginger’s device by adding Starkson’s disclosure in order to connect different components of a semiconductor device.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahi/ Ikeginger in view of Sato et al. (US 2004/0212360, hereinafter Sato).
With respect to claim 10, Asahi/Ikeginger discloses the multi-element sensor according to claim 1.
Asahi/Ikeginger does not explicitly disclose a ferromagnetic layer on top of the conductive distribution layer.
In an analogous art, Sato discloses a ferromagnetic layer on top of the conductive distribution layer (Para 0076; ferromagnetic film).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Asahi/ Ikeginger's device by adding Sato’s disclosure in order to improve the device functionality.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahi/ Ikeginger in view of Deak et al. (US 2013/0277781, hereinafter Deak).
With respect to claim 11, Asahi/ Ikeginger discloses the multi-element sensor according to claim 1.
Asahi/ Ikeginger does not explicitly disclose wherein the magnetic sensing element comprises supporting structures made of electrically insulating material, situated at least partially on the lateral sides of the sensor substrate.
In an analogous art, Deak discloses wherein the magnetic sensing element comprises supporting structures made of electrically insulating material, situated at least partially on the lateral sides of the sensor substrate (Para 0015; insulating layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Asahi/ Ikeginger’s device by adding Deak’s disclosure in order to protect the device from arcing currents.
With respect to claim 12, Asahi further discloses wherein the adhesion layer between the magnetic sensing element and the electronic circuit is chemically bonded to the supporting structures (Para 0012).
With respect to claim 13, Asahi further discloses wherein the magnetic sensing element is mechanically joint with the electronic circuit through an adhesion layer present on the electronic circuit (Para 0007).
With respect to claim 14, Asahi further discloses wherein the magnetic sensing element is smaller than the electronic circuit (fig. 1), and covers only a portion of the electronic circuit on which the magnetic sensing element is disposed (fig. 1; Para 0013), and extends from a surface of the electronic circuit by a distance of 2 µ m or more (mere changing the size of the sensing element is not critical and obvious to achieve the optimal results).
Claims 15 -16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahi in view of Stetter and further in view of Ikeginger.
With respect to claim 15, Asahi discloses:
an integrated circuit element comprising an electronic circuit (1 of fig. 1; Para 0013) formed in a semiconductor circuit substrate (1a; Para 0013); an adhesive layer (3) disposed over the electronic circuits (Para 0014);
a magnetic sensing element comprising a sensor substrate (Para 0014 and 0019; thin film substrate), a top side (top surface of the thin film substrate), and a bottom side opposite the top side (bottom surface of the thin film substrate), and a magnetic sensor (2) formed on, in, or over the top side of the sensor substrate (Para 0030), wherein the bottom side of the sensor substrate is adhered to the adhesive layer (Para 0030; the back side of the thin film substrate is attached with the adhesive layer 3) and is disposed over a corresponding electronic circuit (fig. 1);
one or more electrical connections formed at least partly in a conductive distribution layer (4) on the circuit substrate over the electronic circuit, the electrical connections electrically connecting the magnetic sensor to the corresponding electronic circuit (Para 0027); and wherein the circuit substrate is a separate substrate from the sensor substrate (substrate 1a is different than thin film substrate) and the material of the circuit substrate comprises a different material than the material of the sensor substrate (Para 0019 and 0024; substrate 1a comprises of Si and sensor substrate can comprise of GaAs).
Asahi does not explicitly disclose that the sensor wafer is multi-element and
there are plurality of spaced apart integrated circuit elements each comprising an electronic circuit disposed over a sacrificial portion of the sensor wafer.
In an analogous art, Stetter discloses that the sensor wafer is a multi-element sensor wafer (fig. 2B; Para 0003 and 0010) and there are plurality of spaced apart integrated circuit elements each comprising an electronic circuit disposed over a sacrificial portion of the sensor wafer (Para 0084; substrate 110 includes both a substrate wafer 110a with a surface sacrificial layer 110b, the sacrificial layer 110 is partially etched and IC elements are disposed over the sacrificial layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Asahi's device by adding Stetter’s disclosure in order to provide redundancy and improving reliability.
Ashai/Stetter does not explicitly disclose wherein contact pads are provided on the magnetic sensor; the electrical connections electrically connecting the contact pads of the magnetic sensor to the electrical connections; wherein the contact pads are disposed entirely on the sensor substrate next to an edge or at a corner of the sensor substrate and wherein the magnetic sensing element is a Hall sensor or a quantum well sensor.
In an analogous art, Ikeginger discloses wherein contact pads are provided on the magnetic sensor (Page 13; Para 0033; contact pads 112); the electrical connections electrically connecting the contact pads of the magnetic sensor to the electrical connections (Page 13; Para 0034); wherein the contact pads are disposed entirely (Fig. 1E – 112 are disposed entirely on 102) on the sensor substrate next to an edge or at a corner of the sensor substrate (Fig. 1H & 1J – 112 are disposed next to edges, 104 is on substrate 102 – Para 0026) and wherein the magnetic sensing element is a Hall sensor or a quantum well sensor (Para 0004; Hall sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asahi’s device by adding Ikeginger/Stetter’s disclosure in order to improve the accuracy of magnetic field monitoring.
With respect to claim 16, Asahi further discloses the multi-element sensor source wafer according to claim 15.
Asahi does not explicitly disclose that wherein the sacrificial portion forms a gap between the circuit substrate and the sensor wafer defining at least one tether connecting the circuit substrate to an anchoring portion of the sensor wafer.
In an analogous art, Stetter discloses wherein the sacrificial portion forms a gap between the circuit substrate and the sensor wafer defining at least one tether connecting the circuit substrate to an anchoring portion of the sensor wafer (Para 0084).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Asahi's device by adding Stetter’s disclosure in order to provide redundancy and improving reliability.
With respect to claim 18, Asahi further discloses wherein the material of the sensor substrate is GaAs (Para 0019; GaAs), or wherein the semiconductor of the circuit substrate is silicon (Para 0024; Si).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 15/12/2025 regarding amended claims have been considered, however they are not persuasive.
Regarding ODP applicant argues as below:
Examiner respectfully disagrees because Ikeginger discloses wherein contact pads are provided on the magnetic sensor (Page 13; Para 0033; contact pads 112); the electrical connections electrically connecting the contact pads of the magnetic sensor to the electrical connections (Page 13; Para 0034); wherein the contact pads are disposed entirely (Fig. 1E – 112 are disposed entirely on 102) on the sensor substrate next to an edge or at a corner of the sensor substrate (Fig. 1H & 1J – 112 are disposed next to edges, 104 is on substrate 102 – Para 0026) and wherein the magnetic sensing element is a Hall sensor or a quantum well sensor (Para 0004; Hall sensor).
Applicant further argues that prior art does not explicitly disclose “wherein the contact pads are disposed entirely on the sensor substrate”. Examiner respectfully disagrees because Ikeginger discloses wherein contact pads are provided on the magnetic sensor (Page 13; Para 0033; contact pads 112); the electrical connections electrically connecting the contact pads of the magnetic sensor to the electrical connections (Page 13; Para 0034); wherein the contact pads are disposed entirely (Fig. 1E – 112 are disposed entirely on 102) on the sensor substrate next to an edge or at a corner of the sensor substrate (Fig. 1H & 1J – 112 are disposed next to edges, 104 is on substrate 102 – Para 0026) and wherein the magnetic sensing element is a Hall sensor or a quantum well sensor (Para 0004; Hall sensor).
Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's arguments regarding amended claims have been considered, however they are not persuasive. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD M CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899