DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's submission filed on December 8, 2025 was received has been entered. Claims 11-13, 15, 18, and 34 were amended. Claims 1-10, 14, 17, 20-31, and 36 have been cancelled. New claims 37-45 have been added. Claims 11-13, 15-16, 18-19, 32-35, and 37-45 are in the application and pending examination.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 38-45 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
a/ Species directed to a deposition system comprising:
a target enclosing the substrate pedestal and overlapping the substrate pedestal, the substrate pedestal, the target being between the pedestal and the at least one sensor; at least one sensor in the upper end of the process chamber, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to, in operation, measure a thickness of a target; figs. 1, 7-8, claims 38-45; or
b/ Species directed to a deposition system comprising : a process shield in the substrate process chamber, and the process shield is between the target and the lower end of the substrate process chamber; claims 39-40.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 38-45 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Drawings
The previous objection to the drawings under 37 CFR 1.83(a) based on the following limitation:
“a rotational movement of at least one member of the at least one adjustable hollow structure adjust the length of the at one adjustable hollow structure, and the rotational movement includes: a first rotational direction in which the at least one member of the at least one adjustable hollow structure is configured to, in operation, be rotated to increase the length of the at least one adjustable hollow member; and a second rotational opposite to the first rotational direction in which the at least one member of the at least one adjustable hollow structure is configured to, in operation, be rotated to decrease the length of the at least one adjustable hollow member” in claim 36 is withdrawn based on Applicant’s arguments.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following limitation:
“and a centerline along which the first hollow member and the second member are aligned” in claims 11, 18, and 38 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The previous objection to the specification as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter:
“a rotational movement of at least one member of the at least one adjustable hollow structure adjust the length of the at one adjustable hollow structure, and the rotational movement includes: a first rotational direction in which the at least one member of the at least one adjustable hollow structure is configured to, in operation, be rotated to increase the length of the at least one adjustable hollow member; and a second rotational opposite to the first rotational direction in which the at least one member of the at least one adjustable hollow structure is configured to, in operation, be rotated to decrease the length of the at least one adjustable hollow member” in claim 36 is withdrawn based on Applicant’s arguments.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
“and a centerline along which the first hollow member and the second member are aligned” in claims 11, 18, and 38.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The previous rejection to claims 11-13 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190287771 A1 to Park et al (hereinafter Park) and US Pat. Num. 6,592,728 to Paranjpe et al (hereinafter Paranjpe) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20140270075 A1 to Bender (hereinafter Bender) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20130294583 A1 to Tanabe et al (hereinafter Tanabe) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 11.
Claims 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190287771 A1 to Park et al (hereinafter Park) and US Pat. Num. 6,592,728 to Paranjpe et al (hereinafter Paranjpe) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20140270075 A1 to Bender (hereinafter Bender) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030175023 A1 to Suh et al (hereinafter Suh).
Regarding claim 11, Park teaches a deposition system, comprising: a substrate process chamber; a substrate pedestal in the substrate process chamber, the substrate pedestal configured to support a substrate; a target (60) enclosing the substrate process chamber; and a collimator (80) having a plurality of hollow structures disposed between the target (60) and the substrate (w). (See Park, Abstract, Figs. 1-5, paragraphs 2, 4-6, 21, 27, 30-40, 49-52, 64-65, 67-68, and 73.)
Park does not explicitly teach the plurality of hollow structures including one or more adjustable hollow structures.
Paranjpe is directed to the use of collimator to control the vapor deposition of thin films.
Paranjpe teaches the length of the passages of the collimator are varied to provide improved process uniformity and increased equipment productivity. (See Paranjpe, Abstract, col. 3, lines 43-55; col. 6, lines 17-27, 35-45; col. 8, lines 20-28, col. 12, lines 30-38; col. 13, lines 13-43; col. 14, lines 19-60, col. 15, lines 60-66, col. 17, lines 35-50, and Figs. 3, 7-8, 11, and 18-21. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include one or more adjustable hollow structures, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper length, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide improved process uniformity and increased equipment productivity. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)) (See Paranjpe, Abstract, col. 3, lines 43-55; col. 6, lines 35-45, 66 - col. 8, lines 20-28; col. 12, lines 20-25, 31-39, 40-60; col. 14, lines 19-60; col. 15, lines 50-59, 60-66; col. 17, lines 35-42; and Figs. 3, 7-8, 11, and 18-21.)
Park does not explicitly teach the at least one or more adjustable hollow structures includes a first hollow member and a second hollow member.
Bender teaches a collimator with an adjustable length.
Bender teaches the collimator includes one or more adjustable hollow structures includes a first hollow member and a second hollow member. (See Bender, Abstract, paragraphs 13-14, 35-36, 39, 41-42, 49.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include one or more adjustable hollow structures includes a first hollow member and a second hollow member, because Bender teaches this structure would enable the combination of guides and beam collimator produces the desired distribution at a target location when a radiation beam is collided. (See Bender, Abstract, paragraphs 13-14, 35-36, 39, 41-42, 49.)
Park does not explicitly teach the first hollow member includes an internal helical groove and the second hollow member includes a helical protrusion that fits into the internal helical groove.
Suh teaches an optical device with structures for adjusting the position of the lens.
Suh teaches an optical device including a first hollow member (15) includes an internal helical groove (helicoid groove 15a) and the second member (25) includes a helical protrusion (25a) that fits into the internal helical groove (15a). (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 14-15, paragraphs 60, 66, 68, 71-75.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the first hollow member includes an internal helical groove and the second hollow member includes a helical protrusion that fits into the internal helical groove, because Suh teaches this structure would enable the linear movement of the components of the second member. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.)
Park does not explicitly teach a centerline along which the first hollow member and the second hollow member are aligned.
Suh teaches an optical device including a first hollow member (15) and a second member (25) which are concentric cylinders. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.) Examiner is considering concentric cylinders to be equivalent to having a centerline along which the first hollow member and the second hollow member are aligned.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the first hollow member includes an internal helical groove and the second hollow member includes a helical protrusion that fits into the internal helical groove, because Suh teaches this structure would enable the linear movement of the components of the second member. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.)
Park does not explicitly teach the second hollow member is configured to, in operation, rotate in a first direction relative to the first hollow member to increase a length of the at least one of the plurality of hollow structures directed along the centerline of the at least one of the plurality of hollow structures.
Suh teaches the second hollow member (25) is configured to, in operation, rotate in a first direction relative to the first hollow member to increase a length (move linearly) of the at least one of the plurality of hollow structures directed along the centerline of the at least one of the plurality of hollow structures. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the second hollow member configured to, in operation, rotate in a first direction relative to the first hollow member to increase a length of the at least one of the plurality of hollow structures directed along the centerline of the at least one of the plurality of hollow structures, because Suh teaches this structure would enable the linear movement of the components of the second member. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.)
Park does not explicitly teach the second hollow member is configured to, in operation, rotate in a second direction opposite to the first direction relative to the first hollow member to decrease the length of the at least one of the plurality of hollow structures directed along the centerline of the at least one of the plurality of hollow structures.
Suh teaches the second hollow member is configured to, in operation, rotate in a second direction opposite to the first direction relative to the first hollow member to decrease the length of the at least one of the plurality of hollow structures directed along the centerline of the at least one of the plurality of hollow structures. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the second hollow member configured to, in operation, rotate in a second direction opposite to the first direction relative to the first hollow member to decrease the length of the at least one of the plurality of hollow structures directed along the centerline of the at least one of the plurality of hollow structures, because Suh teaches this structure would enable the linear movement of the components of the second member. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.)
Claim 11 recites an intended use clause (i. e. pedestal configured to support a substrate). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Park in view of Paranjpe and Bender and Suh is capable of the intended use and as a result meets the claim limitation.
Regarding claim 12, Park does not explicitly teach the first hollow member and the second hollow member overlapped with each other.
Bender teaches the first hollow member and the second hollow member overlapped with each other. (See Bender, Abstract, paragraphs 13-14, 35-36, 39, 41-42, 49.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the first hollow member and the second hollow member overlapped with each other, because Bender teaches this structure would enable the combination of guides and beam collimator produces the desired distribution at a target location when a radiation beam is collided. (See Bender, Abstract, paragraphs 13-14, 35-36, 39, 41-42, 49.)
Regarding claim 13, Park does not explicitly teach the first hollow member and the second hollow member at least partially overlapped with each other.
Bender teaches the first hollow member and the second hollow member overlapped at least partially with each other. (See Bender, Abstract, paragraphs 13-14, 35-36, 39, 41-42, 49.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the first hollow member and the second hollow member at least partially overlapped with each other, because Bender teaches this structure would enable the combination of guides and beam collimator produces the desired distribution at a target location when a radiation beam is collided. (See Bender, Abstract, paragraphs 13-14, 35-36, 39, 41-42, 49.)
Regarding claim 15, Park does not explicitly teach a rotational movement of the second hollow member moves the second hollow member in a linear direction.
Suh teaches an optical device including a first hollow member (15) includes an internal helical groove (helicoid groove 15a) and the second member (25) includes a helical protrusion (25a) that fits into the internal helical groove (15a). (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 14-15, paragraphs 60, 66, 68, 71-75.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a rotational movement of the second hollow member moves the second hollow member in a linear direction, because Suh teaches this structure would enable the linear movement of the components of the second member. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.)
The previous rejection of claim 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190287771 A1 to Park et al (hereinafter Park) and US Pat. Num. 6,592,728 to Paranjpe et al (hereinafter Paranjpe) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20140270075 A1 to Bender (hereinafter Bender) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20130294583 A1 to Tanabe et al (hereinafter Tanabe) as applied to claim 15 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220186357 A1 to Park, Assignee: Ark Power Tech. Corp (hereinafter Ark) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 11.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190287771 A1 to Park et al (hereinafter Park) and US Pat. Num. 6,592,728 to Paranjpe et al (hereinafter Paranjpe) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20140270075 A1 to Bender (hereinafter Bender) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030175023 A1 to Suh et al (hereinafter Suh) as applied to claim 15 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220186357 A1 to Park, Assignee: Ark Power Tech. Corp (hereinafter Ark).
Regarding claim 16, Park does not explicitly teach further comprising a controller that controls the rotational movement of the second hollow member based on at least one of a target profile, measurement data, a size of a gap in a pattern on the substrate, or a thin film thickness measurement.
Ark teaches data from one or more sputtering systems may be collected, stored, and used for machine learning to optimally control the operation of each sputtering system. (See Ark, Abstract, paragraphs 69-70 and Figs. 9 and 14. )
Ark teaches a controller (303, 305, 307) that controls the operational parameters based on at least one of a target profile, measurement data, or a thin film thickness measurement.
Paranjpe teaches the length of the passages of the collimator are varied to provide improved process uniformity and increased equipment productivity. (See Paranjpe, Abstract, col. 3, lines 43-55; col. 6, lines 17-27, 35-45; col. 8, lines 20-28, col. 12, lines 30-38; col. 13, lines 13-43; col. 14, lines 19-60, col. 15, lines 60-66, col. 17, lines 35-50, and Figs. 3, 7-8, 11, and 18-21.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include a controller that controls the rotational movement of the second hollow member based on at least one of a target profile, measurement data, a size of a gap in a pattern on the substrate, or a thin film thickness measurement, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper length, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide improved process uniformity and increased equipment productivity. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)) (See Paranjpe, Abstract, col. 3, lines 43-55; col. 6, lines 35-45, 66 - col. 8, lines 20-28; col. 12, lines 20-25, 31-39, 40-60; col. 14, lines 19-60; col. 15, lines 50-59, 60-66; col. 17, lines 35-42; and Figs. 3, 7-8, 11, and 18-21.)
The previous rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190287771 A1 to Park et al (hereinafter Park) and US Pat. Num. 6,592,728 to Paranjpe et al (hereinafter Paranjpe) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220081758 A1 to Wang, Assignee: Applied Materials (hereinafter Wang) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20200185194 A1 to Albarede, Assignee: Lam Research Corporation (hereinafter Lam) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20140270075 A1 to Bender (hereinafter Bender) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20130294583 A1 to Tanabe et al (hereinafter Tanabe) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 18.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190287771 A1 to Park et al (hereinafter Park) and US Pat. Num. 6,592,728 to Paranjpe et al (hereinafter Paranjpe) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220081758 A1 to Wang, Assignee: Applied Materials (hereinafter Wang) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20200185194 A1 to Albarede, Assignee: Lam Research Corporation (hereinafter Lam) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20140270075 A1 to Bender (hereinafter Bender) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030175023 A1 to Suh et al (hereinafter Suh).
Regarding claim 18, Park teaches a deposition system, comprising: a substrate process chamber; a substrate pedestal in the substrate process chamber, the substrate pedestal configured to support a substrate; a target (60) enclosing the substrate process chamber; and a collimator (80) having a plurality of hollow structures disposed between the target (60) and the substrate (w). (See Park, Abstract, Figs. 1-5, paragraphs 2, 4-6, 21, 27, 30-40, 49-52, 64-65, 67-68, and 73.)
Park does not explicitly teach the plurality of hollow structures including one or more adjustable hollow structures.
Paranjpe is directed to the use of collimator to control the vapor deposition of thin films.
Paranjpe teaches the length of the passages of the collimator are varied to provide improved process uniformity and increased equipment productivity. (See Paranjpe, Abstract, col. 3, lines 43-55; col. 6, lines 17-27, 35-45; col. 8, lines 20-28, col. 12, lines 30-38; col. 13, lines 13-43; col. 14, lines 19-60, col. 15, lines 60-66, col. 17, lines 35-50, and Figs. 3, 7-8, 11, and 18-21. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include one or more adjustable hollow structures, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper length, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide improved process uniformity and increased equipment productivity. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)) (See Paranjpe, Abstract, col. 3, lines 43-55; col. 6, lines 35-45, 66 - col. 8, lines 20-28; col. 12, lines 20-25, 31-39, 40-60; col. 14, lines 19-60; col. 15, lines 50-59, 60-66; col. 17, lines 35-42; and Figs. 3, 7-8, 11, and 18-21.)
Park does not explicitly teach a shutter disk including an aspect ratio measurement device that includes at least one image analysis device, the aspect ratio measurement device is configured to, in operation, measure an aspect ratio of one or more gap structures along the substrate.
Wang teaches a teaches a shutter disk (504) with a sensor (508) configured to determine at least one film property in the internal processing volume. (See Wang, Abstract, paragraph 23.)
Wang teaches a shutter disk including a plurality of shutter disk sensors and shutter disk enclosure sensors to determine a film profile or may operate to provide information in regards to different aspects of the deposition film property such as film morphology (paragraph 43) . (See Wang, Abstract, Figs. 1-9, paragraphs 23-24, 31, and 33-43.) Examiner is considering film morphology of the deposition film to be equivalent to an aspect ratio of one or more gap structures along a substrate. (See Lam teaches aspect ratio is a known property to monitor with a sensor in a process chamber, See Lam, paragraph 45.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include teach a shutter disk (504) including an aspect ratio measurement device that includes at least one image analysis device, the aspect ratio measurement device is configured to, in operation, measure an aspect ratio (film property data) of one or more gap structures along the substrate, because Wang teaches this would enable more film property data than by using sensors on their own. (See Wang, Abstract, Figs. 1-9, paragraphs 23-24 and 33-43.)
Claim 18 recites an intended use clause (i. e. aspect ratio measurement device is configured to, in operation, measure an aspect ratio of one or more gap structure along the substrate). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Park in view of Paranjpe and Wang and Lam and Bender and Suh is capable of the intended use and as a result meets the claim limitation.
Park does not explicitly teach one or more adjustable hollow structures includes a first hollow member and a second hollow member, the first hollow member includes an internal helical groove and the second hollow member includes a helical protrusion that fits into the internal helical groove.
Bender teaches a collimator with an adjustable length.
Bender teaches the collimator includes one or more adjustable hollow structures includes a first hollow member and a second hollow member. (See Bender, Abstract, paragraphs 13-14, 35-36, 39, 41-42, 49.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include one or more adjustable hollow structures includes a first hollow member and a second hollow member, because Bender teaches this structure would enable the combination of guides and beam collimator produces the desired distribution at a target location when a radiation beam is collided. (See Bender, Abstract, paragraphs 13-14, 35-36, 39, 41-42, 49.)
Park does not explicitly teach the first hollow member includes an internal helical groove and the second hollow member includes a helical protrusion that fits into the internal helical groove.
Suh teaches an optical device with structures for adjusting the position of the lens.
Suh teaches an optical device including a first hollow member (15) includes an internal helical groove (helicoid groove 15a) and the second member (25) includes a helical protrusion (25a) that fits into the internal helical groove (15a). (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 14-15, paragraphs 60, 66, 68, 71-75.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the first hollow member includes an internal helical groove and the second hollow member includes a helical protrusion that fits into the internal helical groove, because Suh teaches this structure would enable the linear movement of the components of the second member. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.)
Park does not explicitly teach a centerline along which the first hollow member and the second hollow member are aligned.
Suh teaches an optical device including a first hollow member (15) and a second member (25) which are concentric cylinders. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.) Examiner is considering concentric cylinders to be equivalent to having a centerline along which the first hollow member and the second hollow member are aligned.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the first hollow member includes an internal helical groove and the second hollow member includes a helical protrusion that fits into the internal helical groove, because Suh teaches this structure would enable the linear movement of the components of the second member. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.)
Park does not explicitly teach the second hollow member is configured to, in operation, rotate in a first direction relative to the first hollow member to increase respective lengths of the one or more adjustable hollow structures directed along the centerlines of the one or more adjustable hollow structures.
Suh teaches the second hollow member (25) is configured to, in operation, rotate in a first direction relative to the first hollow member to increase a length (move linearly) of the at least one of the plurality of hollow structures directed along the centerline of the at least one of the plurality of hollow structures. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the second hollow member is configured to, in operation, rotate in a first direction relative to the first hollow member to increase respective lengths of the one or more adjustable hollow structures directed along the centerlines of the one or more adjustable hollow structures, because Suh teaches this structure would enable the linear movement of the components of the second member. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.)
Park does not explicitly teach the second hollow member is configured to, in operation, rotate in a second direction opposite to the first direction relative to the first hollow member to decrease respective lengths of the one or more adjustable hollow structures directed along the centerlines of the one or more adjustable hollow structures.
Suh teaches the second hollow member is configured to, in operation, rotate in a second direction opposite to the first direction relative to the first hollow member to decrease the length of the at least one of the plurality of hollow structures directed along the centerline of the at least one of the plurality of hollow structures. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the second hollow member is configured to, in operation, rotate in a second direction opposite to the first direction relative to the first hollow member to decrease respective lengths of the one or more adjustable hollow structures directed along the centerlines of the one or more adjustable hollow structures, because Suh teaches this structure would enable the linear movement of the components of the second member. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.)
The previous rejection of claims 19 and 32-33 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190287771 A1 to Park et al (hereinafter Park) and US Pat. Num. 6,592,728 to Paranjpe et al (hereinafter Paranjpe) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220081758 A1 to Wang, Assignee: Applied Materials (hereinafter Wang) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20200185194 A1 to Albarede, Assignee: Lam Research Corporation (hereinafter Lam) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20140270075 A1 to Bender (hereinafter Bender) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20130294583 A1 to Tanabe et al (hereinafter Tanabe)as applied to claim 18 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220186357 A1 to Park, Assignee: Ark Power Tech. Corp (hereinafter Ark) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 18.
Claims 19 and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190287771 A1 to Park et al (hereinafter Park) and US Pat. Num. 6,592,728 to Paranjpe et al (hereinafter Paranjpe) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220081758 A1 to Wang, Assignee: Applied Materials (hereinafter Wang) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20200185194 A1 to Albarede, Assignee: Lam Research Corporation (hereinafter Lam) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20140270075 A1 to Bender (hereinafter Bender) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030175023 A1 to Suh et al (hereinafter Suh) as applied to claim 18 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220186357 A1 to Park, Assignee: Ark Power Tech. Corp (hereinafter Ark).
Regarding claim 19, Park does not explicitly teach an artificial intelligence is configured to, in operation, control one or more lengths of the one or more adjustable hollow structures of the plurality of hollow structures to adjust an amount of material deposited at respective locations along the substrate within the substrate process chamber when forming a thin film on the substrate.
Ark is directed to the use of sputtering on a flexible substrate.
Paranjpe teaches the length of the passages of the collimator is a known variable to optimize. (See Paranjpe, Abstract, col. 8, lines 20-28, col. 12, lines 30-38; col. 13, lines 13-43; col. 14, lines 19-60, col. 15, lines 60-66, col. 17, lines 35-50, and Figs. 3, 7-8, 11, and 18-21. )
Ark teaches an automatic deposition control system (305) which is configured to control the operating parameters of the sputtering system (301) and a real time monitoring system (303) and user interface (307). (See Ark, Abstract, paragraphs 69-70 and Figs. 9 and 14. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include an artificial intelligence is configured to, in operation, control one or more lengths of the one or more adjustable hollow structures of the plurality of hollow structures to adjust an amount of material deposited at respective locations along the substrate within the substrate process chamber when forming a thin film on the substrate, because Ark teaches one or more machine learning software components would provide optimal control of the sputtering system. (See Ark, Abstract, paragraphs 69-70 and Figs. 9 and 14. )
While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. >In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). As the references have subsystems with data storage of data and machine learning for operation of the subsystems and the claimed artificial intelligence controller includes a memory that stores training data and a collimator configuration database; wherein the training data includes an initial set of data points for training the artificial intelligence controller for controlling the length of at least one of the plurality of hollow structures are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionality.
Regarding claim 32, Park does not explicitly teach the artificial intelligence controller includes a memory that stores training data and a collimator configuration database, and the training data includes an initial set of data points for training the artificial intelligence controller for controlling the length of at least one of the plurality of hollow structures.
Ark is directed to the use of sputtering on a flexible substrate.
Paranjpe teaches the length of the passages of the collimator is a known variable to optimize. (See Paranjpe, Abstract, col. 8, lines 20-28, col. 12, lines 30-38; col. 13, lines 13-43; col. 14, lines 19-60, col. 15, lines 60-66, col. 17, lines 35-50, and Figs. 3, 7-8, 11, and 18-21. )
Ark teaches data from one or more sputtering systems may be collected, stored, and used for machine learning to optimally control the operation of each sputtering system. (Examiner is considering automatic deposition control system to be equivalent to an artificial intelligence controller, in operation, determines the length based on at least one artificial intelligence method .) (See Ark, Abstract, paragraphs 69-70 and Figs. 9 and 14. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include the artificial intelligence controller includes a memory that stores training data and a collimator configuration database, and the training data includes an initial set of data points for training the artificial intelligence controller for controlling the length of at least one of the plurality of hollow structures, because Ark teaches one or more machine learning software components would provide optimal control of the sputtering system. (See Ark, Abstract, paragraphs 69-70 and Figs. 9 and 14. )
Regarding claim 33, Park does not explicitly teach a shutter disk storage compartment, the shutter disk storage compartment configured to, in operation, store the shutter disk when the shutter disk is not in use; a cool down chamber; a cool down chamber cover including a surface, the cool down chamber cover is configured to, in operation, cover the cool down chamber; and at least one optical imaging device on the surface of the cool down chamber cover.
Wang teaches a shutter disk storage compartment, the shutter disk storage compartment (266) configured to, in operation, store the shutter disk (264) when the shutter disk is not in use; a cool down chamber; a cool down chamber cover (top of 266 along with 280 in Fig. 2 and between 306 and 302 in Figs. 3-4 and 6 ) including a surface, the cool down chamber cover is configured to, in operation, cover the cool down chamber; and at least one optical imaging device (270, 304,) on the surface of the cool down chamber cover. (See Wang, Abstract, paragraphs 33-36 and Figs. 2-9. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include a shutter disk storage compartment, the shutter disk storage compartment configured to, in operation, store the shutter disk when the shutter disk is not in use; a cool down chamber; a cool down chamber cover including a surface, the cool down chamber cover is configured to, in operation, cover the cool down chamber; and at least one optical imaging device on the surface of the cool down chamber cover. (See Wang, Abstract, paragraphs 33-36 and Figs. 2-9. )
Regarding claim 34, Park does not explicitly teach a rotational movement of the second hollow member moves the second hollow member in a linear direction.
Suh teaches a rotational movement of the second member moves the second hollow member in a linear direction. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the first hollow member includes an internal helical groove and the second hollow member includes a helical protrusion that fits into the internal helical groove, because Suh teaches this structure would enable the linear movement of the components of the second member. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.)
Regarding claim 35, Park does not explicitly teach further comprising a controller that controls the rotational movement of the second hollow member based on at least one of a target profile, measurement data, a size of a gap in a pattern on the substrate, or a thin film thickness measurement.
Ark teaches data from one or more sputtering systems may be collected, stored, and used for machine learning to optimally control the operation of each sputtering system. (See Ark, Abstract, paragraphs 69-70 and Figs. 9 and 14. )
Ark teaches a controller (303, 305, 307) that controls the operational parameters based on at least one of a target profile, measurement data, or a thin film thickness measurement.
Paranjpe teaches the length of the passages of the collimator are varied to provide improved process uniformity and increased equipment productivity. (See Paranjpe, Abstract, col. 3, lines 43-55; col. 6, lines 17-27, 35-45; col. 8, lines 20-28, col. 12, lines 30-38; col. 13, lines 13-43; col. 14, lines 19-60, col. 15, lines 60-66, col. 17, lines 35-50, and Figs. 3, 7-8, 11, and 18-21. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include a controller that controls the rotational movement of the second hollow member based on at least one of a target profile, measurement data, a size of a gap in a pattern on the substrate, or a thin film thickness measurement, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper length, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide improved process uniformity and increased equipment productivity. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)) (See Paranjpe, Abstract, col. 3, lines 43-55; col. 6, lines 35-45, 66 - col. 8, lines 20-28; col. 12, lines 20-25, 31-39, 40-60; col. 14, lines 19-60; col. 15, lines 50-59, 60-66; col. 17, lines 35-42; and Figs. 3, 7-8, 11, and 18-21.)
Regarding claim 36, Park does not explicitly teach a rotational movement of at least one member of the at least one adjustable hollow structure adjust the length of the at one adjustable hollow structure, and the rotational movement includes: a first rotational direction in which the at least one member of the at least one adjustable hollow structure is configured to, in operation, be rotated to increase the length of the at least one adjustable hollow member; and a second rotational opposite to the first rotational direction in which the at least one member of the at least one adjustable hollow structure is configured to, in operation, be rotated to decrease the length of the at least one adjustable hollow member.
Paranjpe teaches the length of the passages of the collimator are varied to provide improved process uniformity and increased equipment productivity. (See Paranjpe, Abstract, col. 3, lines 43-55; col. 6, lines 17-27, 35-45; col. 8, lines 20-28, col. 12, lines 30-38; col. 13, lines 13-43; col. 14, lines 19-60, col. 15, lines 60-66, col. 17, lines 35-50, and Figs. 3, 7-8, 11, and 18-21. )
Suh teaches a rotational movement of the second member moves the second hollow member in a linear direction. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 14-15, paragraphs 60, 66, 68, 71-75.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include a rotational movement of at least one member of the at least one adjustable hollow structure adjust the length of the at one adjustable hollow structure, and the rotational movement includes: a first rotational direction in which the at least one member of the at least one adjustable hollow structure is configured to, in operation, be rotated to increase the length of the at least one adjustable hollow member; and a second rotational opposite to the first rotational direction in which the at least one member of the at least one adjustable hollow structure is configured to, in operation, be rotated to decrease the length of the at least one adjustable hollow member, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper length, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide improved process uniformity and increased equipment productivity. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)) (See Paranjpe, Abstract, col. 3, lines 43-55; col. 6, lines 35-45, 66 - col. 8, lines 20-28; col. 12, lines 20-25, 31-39, 40-60; col. 14, lines 19-60; col. 15, lines 50-59, 60-66; col. 17, lines 35-42; and Figs. 3, 7-8, 11, and 18-21.)
The previous rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190287771 A1 to Park et al (hereinafter Park) and US Pat. Num. 3,627,569 to David Beecham (hereinafter Beecham) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220081758 A1 to Wang, Assignee: Applied Materials (hereinafter Wang) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20200185194 A1 to Albarede, Assignee: Lam Research Corporation (hereinafter Lam) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20140270075 A1 to Bender (hereinafter Bender) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20130294583 A1 to Tanabe et al (hereinafter Tanabe) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 18.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190287771 A1 to Park et al (hereinafter Park) and US Pat. Num. 3,627,569 to David Beecham (hereinafter Beecham) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220081758 A1 to Wang, Assignee: Applied Materials (hereinafter Wang) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20200185194 A1 to Albarede, Assignee: Lam Research Corporation (hereinafter Lam) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20140270075 A1 to Bender (hereinafter Bender) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030175023 A1 to Suh et al (hereinafter Suh).
Regarding claim 18, Park teaches a deposition system, comprising: a substrate process chamber; a substrate pedestal in the substrate process chamber, the substrate pedestal configured to support a substrate; a target (60) enclosing the substrate process chamber; and a collimator (80) having a plurality of hollow structures disposed between the target (60) and the substrate (w). (See Park, Abstract, Figs. 1-5, paragraphs 2, 4-6, 21, 27, 30-40, 49-52, 64-65, 67-68, and 73.)
Park does not explicitly teach the plurality of hollow structures including one or more adjustable hollow structures.
Beecham is directed to the use of collimator to control the vapor deposition of thin films.
Beecham teaches the length of the passages are varied to produce the desired pattern of deposition. (See Beecham, Abstract, col. 3, lines 54-65, col. 4, lines 16-30, and Figs. 1-3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute different lengths, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper length, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide improved process uniformity and increased equipment productivity. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)) (See Beecham, Abstract, col. 3, lines 54-65, col. 4, lines 16-30, and Figs. 1-3.)
Park does not explicitly teach a shutter disk including an aspect ratio measurement device that includes at least one image analysis device, the aspect ratio measurement device is configured to, in operation, measure an aspect ratio of one or more gap structures along the substrate.
Wang teaches a teaches a shutter disk (504) with a sensor (508) configured to determine at least one film property in the internal processing volume. (See Wang, Abstract, paragraph 23.)
Wang teaches a shutter disk including a plurality of shutter disk sensors and shutter disk enclosure sensors to determine a film profile or may operate to provide information in regards to different aspects of the deposition film property such as film morphology (paragraph 43) . (See Wang, Abstract, Figs. 1-9, paragraphs 23-24, 31, and 33-43.) Examiner is considering film morphology of the deposition film to be equivalent to an aspect ratio of one or more gap structures along a substrate. (See Albarede teaches aspect ratio is a known property to monitor with a sensor in a process chamber, See Albarede, paragraph 45.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include teach a shutter disk (504) including an aspect ratio measurement device that includes at least one image analysis device, the aspect ratio measurement device is configured to, in operation, measure an aspect ratio (film property data) of one or more gap structures along the substrate, because Wang teaches this would enable more film property data than by using sensors on their own. (See Wang, Abstract, Figs. 1-9, paragraphs 23-24 and 33-43.)
Park does not explicitly teach one or more adjustable hollow structures includes a first hollow member and a second hollow member, the first hollow member includes an internal helical groove and the second hollow member includes a helical protrusion that fits into the internal helical groove.
Bender teaches a collimator with an adjustable length.
Bender teaches the collimator includes one or more adjustable hollow structures includes a first hollow member and a second hollow member. (See Bender, Abstract, paragraphs 13-14, 35-36, 39, 41-42, 49.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include one or more adjustable hollow structures includes a first hollow member and a second hollow member, because Bender teaches this structure would enable the combination of guides and beam collimator produces the desired distribution at a target location when a radiation beam is collided. (See Bender, Abstract, paragraphs 13-14, 35-36, 39, 41-42, 49.)
Park does not explicitly teach the first hollow member includes an internal helical groove and the second hollow member includes a helical protrusion that fits into the internal helical groove.
Suh teaches an optical device including a first hollow member (15) includes an internal helical groove (helicoid groove 15a) and the second member (25) includes a helical protrusion (25a) that fits into the internal helical groove (15a). (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 14-15, paragraphs 60, 66, 68, 71-75.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the first hollow member includes an internal helical groove and the second hollow member includes a helical protrusion that fits into the internal helical groove, because Suh teaches this structure would enable the linear movement of the components of the second member. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.)
Claim 18 recites an intended use clause (i. e. aspect ratio measurement device is configured to, in operation, measure an aspect ratio of one or more gap structure along the substrate). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Park in view of Paranjpe and Beecham and Wang and Lam and Bender and Suh is capable of the intended use and as a result meets the claim limitation.
The previous rejection of claims 19 and 32-33 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190287771 A1 to Park et al (hereinafter Park) and US Pat. Num. 3,627,569 to David Beecham (hereinafter Beecham) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220081758 A1 to Wang, Assignee: Applied Materials (hereinafter Wang) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20200185194 A1 to Albarede, Assignee: Lam Research Corporation (hereinafter Lam) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20140270075 A1 to Bender (hereinafter Bender) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20130294583 A1 to Tanabe et al (hereinafter Tanabe) as applied to claim 18 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220186357 A1 to Park, Assignee: Ark Power Tech. Corp (hereinafter Ark) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 18.
Claims 19 and 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190287771 A1 to Park et al (hereinafter Park) and US Pat. Num. 3,627,569 to David Beecham (hereinafter Beecham) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220081758 A1 to Wang, Assignee: Applied Materials (hereinafter Wang) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20200185194 A1 to Albarede, Assignee: Lam Research Corporation (hereinafter Lam) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20140270075 A1 to Bender (hereinafter Bender) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030175023 A1 to Suh et al (hereinafter Suh) as applied to claim 18 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220186357 A1 to Park, Assignee: Ark Power Tech. Corp (hereinafter Ark).
Regarding claim 19, Park does not explicitly teach an artificial intelligence is configured to, in operation, control one or more lengths of the one or more adjustable hollow structures of the plurality of hollow structures to adjust an amount of material deposited at respective locations along the substrate within the substrate process chamber when forming a thin film on the substrate.
Ark is directed to the use of sputtering on a flexible substrate.
Beecham teaches the length of the passages are varied to produce the desired pattern of deposition. (See Beecham, Abstract, col. 3, lines 54-65, col. 4, lines 16-30, and Figs. 1-3.)
Ark teaches an automatic deposition control system (305) which is configured to control the operating parameters of the sputtering system (301) and a real time monitoring system (303) and user interface (307). (See Ark, Abstract, paragraphs 69-70 and Figs. 9 and 14. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include an artificial intelligence is configured to, in operation, control one or more lengths of the one or more adjustable hollow structures of the plurality of hollow structures to adjust an amount of material deposited at respective locations along the substrate within the substrate process chamber when forming a thin film on the substrate, because Ark teaches one or more machine learning software components would provide optimal control of the sputtering system. (See Ark, Abstract, paragraphs 69-70 and Figs. 9 and 14. )
While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. >In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). As the references have subsystems with data storage of data and machine learning for operation of the subsystems and the claimed artificial intelligence controller includes a memory that stores training data and a collimator configuration database; wherein the training data includes an initial set of data points for training the artificial intelligence controller for controlling the length of at least one of the plurality of hollow structures are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionality.
Regarding claim 32, Park does not explicitly teach the artificial intelligence controller includes a memory that stores training data and a collimator configuration database, and the training data includes an initial set of data points for training the artificial intelligence controller for controlling the length of at least one of the plurality of hollow structures.
Ark is directed to the use of sputtering on a flexible substrate.
Beecham teaches the length of the passages are varied to produce the desired pattern of deposition. (See Beecham, Abstract, col. 3, lines 54-65, col. 4, lines 16-30, and Figs. 1-3.)
Ark teaches data from one or more sputtering systems may be collected, stored, and used for machine learning to optimally control the operation of each sputtering system. (Examiner is considering automatic deposition control system to be equivalent to an artificial intelligence controller, in operation, determines the length based on at least one artificial intelligence method .) (See Ark, Abstract, paragraphs 69-70 and Figs. 9 and 14. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include the artificial intelligence controller includes a memory that stores training data and a collimator configuration database, and the training data includes an initial set of data points for training the artificial intelligence controller for controlling the length of at least one of the plurality of hollow structures, because Ark teaches one or more machine learning software components would provide optimal control of the sputtering system. (See Ark, Abstract, paragraphs 69-70 and Figs. 9 and 14. )
Regarding claim 33, Park does not explicitly teach a shutter disk storage compartment, the shutter disk storage compartment configured to, in operation, store the shutter disk when the shutter disk is not in use; a cool down chamber; a cool down chamber cover including a surface, the cool down chamber cover is configured to, in operation, cover the cool down chamber; and at least one optical imaging device on the surface of the cool down chamber cover.
Wang teaches a shutter disk storage compartment, the shutter disk storage compartment (266) configured to, in operation, store the shutter disk (264) when the shutter disk is not in use; a cool down chamber; a cool down chamber cover (top of 266 along with 280 in Fig. 2 and between 306 and 302 in Figs. 3-4 and 6 ) including a surface, the cool down chamber cover is configured to, in operation, cover the cool down chamber; and at least one optical imaging device (270, 304,) on the surface of the cool down chamber cover. (See Wang, Abstract, paragraphs 33-36 and Figs. 2-9. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include a shutter disk storage compartment, the shutter disk storage compartment configured to, in operation, store the shutter disk when the shutter disk is not in use; a cool down chamber; a cool down chamber cover including a surface, the cool down chamber cover is configured to, in operation, cover the cool down chamber; and at least one optical imaging device on the surface of the cool down chamber cover. (See Wang, Abstract, paragraphs 33-36 and Figs. 2-9. )
Additionally, regarding claim 33, Park does not explicitly teach the at least one optical imaging device is configured to, in operation, measure a thickness of a thin film on a substrate within the cool down chamber to determine whether the one or more adjustable hollow structures of the plurality of hollow structures are to be adjusted in length to adjust an amount of material deposited at respective locations along the substrate when within the substrate process chamber when forming the thin film on the substrate.
Beecham teaches the length of the passages are varied to produce the desired pattern of deposition. (See Beecham, Abstract, col. 3, lines 54-65, col. 4, lines 16-30, and Figs. 1-3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include the at least one optical imaging device is configured to, in operation, measure a thickness of a thin film on a substrate within the cool down chamber to determine whether the one or more adjustable hollow structures of the plurality of hollow structures are to be adjusted in length to adjust an amount of material deposited at respective locations along the substrate when within the substrate process chamber when forming the thin film on the substrate, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper length, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide improved process uniformity and increased equipment productivity. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)) (See Beecham, Abstract, col. 3, lines 54-65, col. 4, lines 16-30, and Figs. 1-3.)
Regarding claim 34, Park does not explicitly teach a rotational movement of the second hollow member moves the second hollow member in a linear direction.
Suh teaches a rotational movement of the second member moves the second hollow member in a linear direction (up or down). (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the first hollow member includes an internal helical groove and the second hollow member includes a helical protrusion that fits into the internal helical groove, because Suh teaches this structure would enable the linear movement of the components of the second member. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.)
Regarding claim 35, Park does not explicitly teach further comprising a controller that controls the rotational movement of the second hollow member based on at least one of a target profile, measurement data, a size of a gap in a pattern on the substrate, or a thin film thickness measurement.
Ark teaches data from one or more sputtering systems may be collected, stored, and used for machine learning to optimally control the operation of each sputtering system. (See Ark, Abstract, paragraphs 69-70 and Figs. 9 and 14. )
Ark teaches a controller (303, 305, 307) that controls the operational parameters based on at least one of a target profile, measurement data, or a thin film thickness measurement.
Paranjpe teaches the length of the passages of the collimator are varied to provide improved process uniformity and increased equipment productivity. (See Paranjpe, Abstract, col. 3, lines 43-55; col. 6, lines 17-27, 35-45; col. 8, lines 20-28, col. 12, lines 30-38; col. 13, lines 13-43; col. 14, lines 19-60, col. 15, lines 60-66, col. 17, lines 35-50, and Figs. 3, 7-8, 11, and 18-21. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include a controller that controls the rotational movement of the second hollow member based on at least one of a target profile, measurement data, a size of a gap in a pattern on the substrate, or a thin film thickness measurement, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper length, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide improved process uniformity and increased equipment productivity. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)) (See Paranjpe, Abstract, col. 3, lines 43-55; col. 6, lines 35-45, 66 - col. 8, lines 20-28; col. 12, lines 20-25, 31-39, 40-60; col. 14, lines 19-60; col. 15, lines 50-59, 60-66; col. 17, lines 35-42; and Figs. 3, 7-8, 11, and 18-21.)
Regarding claim 36, Park does not explicitly teach a rotational movement of at least one member of the at least one adjustable hollow structure adjust the length of the at one adjustable hollow structure, and the rotational movement includes: a first rotational direction in which the at least one member of the at least one adjustable hollow structure is configured to, in operation, be rotated to increase the length of the at least one adjustable hollow member; and a second rotational opposite to the first rotational direction in which the at least one member of the at least one adjustable hollow structure is configured to, in operation, be rotated to decrease the length of the at least one adjustable hollow member.
Paranjpe teaches the length of the passages of the collimator are varied to provide improved process uniformity and increased equipment productivity. (See Paranjpe, Abstract, col. 3, lines 43-55; col. 6, lines 17-27, 35-45; col. 8, lines 20-28, col. 12, lines 30-38; col. 13, lines 13-43; col. 14, lines 19-60, col. 15, lines 60-66, col. 17, lines 35-50, and Figs. 3, 7-8, 11, and 18-21. )
Suh teaches a rotational movement of the second member (25) moves the second hollow member in a linear direction (up or down). (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 13, and paragraphs 56-59, 82-83.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include a rotational movement of at least one member of the at least one adjustable hollow structure adjust the length of the at one adjustable hollow structure, and the rotational movement includes: a first rotational direction in which the at least one member of the at least one adjustable hollow structure is configured to, in operation, be rotated to increase the length of the at least one adjustable hollow member; and a second rotational opposite to the first rotational direction in which the at least one member of the at least one adjustable hollow structure is configured to, in operation, be rotated to decrease the length of the at least one adjustable hollow member, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper length, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide improved process uniformity and increased equipment productivity. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)) (See Paranjpe, Abstract, col. 3, lines 43-55; col. 6, lines 35-45, 66 - col. 8, lines 20-28; col. 12, lines 20-25, 31-39, 40-60; col. 14, lines 19-60; col. 15, lines 50-59, 60-66; col. 17, lines 35-42; and Figs. 3, 7-8, 11, and 18-21.)
Claim 37 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190287771 A1 to Park et al (hereinafter Park) and US Pat. Num. 6,592,728 to Paranjpe et al (hereinafter Paranjpe) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20140270075 A1 to Bender (hereinafter Bender) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030175023 A1 to Suh et al (hereinafter Suh) as applied to claim 11 and further in view of US Pat. Num. 6,161,054 to Rosenthal et al (hereinafter Rosenthal).
Regarding claim 37, Park does not explicitly teach the deposition system comprising: a cool down chamber; a cool down chamber cover including a surface, the cool down chamber cover is configured to, in operation, cover the cool down chamber; and at least one optical imaging device on the surface of the cool down chamber cover.
Rosenthal is directed to the use of semiconductor wafer fabrication.
Rosenthal teaches the deposition system comprising: a cool down chamber (cooldown chamber) ; a cool down chamber cover including a surface, the cool down chamber cover is configured to, in operation, cover the cool down chamber; and at least one optical imaging device (FTIR reflectometer) on the surface of the cool down chamber cover. (See Rosenthal, Abstract, col. 2, lines 4-28; col. 4, lines 54-67; col. 5, lines 1-30; col. 9, lines 20-44; Figs. 1-4. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include the deposition system comprising: a cool down chamber; a cool down chamber cover including a surface, the cool down chamber cover is configured to, in operation, cover the cool down chamber; and at least one optical imaging device on the surface of the cool down chamber cover, because Rosenthal teaches the measurements are advantageously performed during the normal cooldown with no affect on the tool throughput. (See Rosenthal, Abstract, col. 2, lines 4-28; col. 4, lines 54-67; col. 5, lines 1-15; col. 9, lines 20-44; Figs. 1-4.)
Double Patenting
The previous rejection of claim 11 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending US Pat. Num. 11,823,964 to Cheng et al (hereinafter Cheng) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20190287771 A1 to Park et al (hereinafter Park) and US Pat. Num. 3,627,569 to David Beecham (hereinafter Beecham) and US Pat. Num. 3,627,569 to David Beecham (hereinafter Beecham) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20140270075 A1 to Bender (hereinafter Bender) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20130294583 A1 to Tanabe et al (hereinafter Tanabe) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 11.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending US Pat. Num. 11,823,964 to Cheng et al (hereinafter Cheng) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20190287771 A1 to Park et al (hereinafter Park) and US Pat. Num. 3,627,569 to David Beecham (hereinafter Beecham) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20140270075 A1 to Bender (hereinafter Bender) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030175023 A1 to Suh et al (hereinafter Suh).
Regarding claim 11, Cheng (claim 18) teaches a deposition system, comprising: a substrate process chamber; a substrate pedestal in the substrate process chamber, the substrate pedestal configured to support a substrate; and a target enclosing the substrate process chamber. (See Cheng, claims 18 and 20.)
Cheng does not explicitly teach a collimator having a plurality of hollow structures disposed between the target and a substrate.
Park teaches a collimator (80) having a plurality of hollow structures disposed between the target (60) and the substrate (w). (See Park, Abstract, Figs. 1-5, paragraphs 2, 4-6, 21, 27, 30-40, 49-52, 64-65, 67-68, and 73.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include a collimator having a plurality of hollow structures disposed between the target and a substrate, because Park teaches the collimator (80) may increase straightness of trajectories of the source particles towards the top source of the substrate W in a direction substantially perpendicular to the top surface of the substrate W so that the thin layer 14 may be formed to a uniform thickness on the entire top surface of the substrate W. (See Park, Abstract, Figs. 1-5, paragraphs 2, 4-6, 21, 27, 30-40, 49-52, 64-65, 67-68, and 73.)
Cheng does not explicitly teach a collimator having a plurality of hollow structures disposed between the target and a substrate, wherein a length of at least one of the plurality of hollow structures is adjustable.
Beecham teaches the length of the passages are varied to produce the desired pattern of deposition. (See Beecham, Abstract, col. 3, lines 54-65, col. 4, lines 16-30, and Figs. 1-3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include a collimator having a plurality of hollow structures disposed between the target and a substrate, wherein a length of at least one of the plurality of hollow structures is adjustable through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper length, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide improved process uniformity and increased equipment productivity. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)) (See Beecham, Abstract, col. 3, lines 54-65, col. 4, lines 16-30, and Figs. 1-3.)
Cheng does not explicitly teach one or more adjustable hollow structures includes a first hollow member and a second hollow member, the first hollow member includes an internal helical groove and the second hollow member includes a helical protrusion that fits into the internal helical groove.
Bender teaches the collimator includes one or more adjustable hollow structures includes a first hollow member and a second hollow member. (See Bender, Abstract, paragraphs 13-14, 35-36, 39, 41-42, 49.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include one or more adjustable hollow structures includes a first hollow member and a second hollow member, because Bender teaches this structure would enable the combination of guides and beam collimator produces the desired distribution at a target location when a radiation beam is collided. (See Bender, Abstract, paragraphs 13-14, 35-36, 39, 41-42, 49.)
Cheng does not explicitly teach the first hollow member includes an internal helical groove and the second hollow member includes a helical protrusion that fits into the internal helical groove.
Suh teaches an optical device including a first hollow member (15) includes an internal helical groove (helicoid groove 15a) and the second member (25) includes a helical protrusion (25a) that fits into the internal helical groove (15a). (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 14-15, paragraphs 60, 66, 68, 71-75.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the first hollow member includes an internal helical groove and the second hollow member includes a helical protrusion that fits into the internal helical groove, because Suh teaches this structure would enable the movement of the components in the desired direction. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 14-15, paragraphs 60, 66, 68, 71-75.)
Claim 11 recites an intended use clause (i. e. pedestal configured to support, hollow structures is adjustable). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Cheng in view of Park and Beecham is capable of the intended use and as a result meets the claim limitation.
The previous rejection of claim 18 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending US Pat. Num. 11,823,964 to Cheng et al (hereinafter Cheng) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20190287771 A1 to Park et al (hereinafter Park) and US Pat. Num. 3,627,569 to David Beecham (hereinafter Beecham) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220081758 A1 to Wang, Assignee: Applied Materials (hereinafter Wang) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20200185194 A1 to Albarede, Assignee: Lam Research Corporation (hereinafter Lam) as applied to claim 18 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20140270075 A1 to Bender (hereinafter Bender) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20130294583 A1 to Tanabe et al (hereinafter Tanabe) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 18.
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending US Pat. Num. 11,823,964 to Cheng et al (hereinafter Cheng) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20190287771 A1 to Park et al (hereinafter Park) and US Pat. Num. 3,627,569 to David Beecham (hereinafter Beecham) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220081758 A1 to Wang, Assignee: Applied Materials (hereinafter Wang) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20200185194 A1 to Albarede, Assignee: Lam Research Corporation (hereinafter Lam) as applied to claim 18 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20140270075 A1 to Bender (hereinafter Bender) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030175023 A1 to Suh et al (hereinafter Suh).
Regarding claim 18, Cheng (claim 18) teaches a deposition system, comprising: a substrate process chamber; a substrate pedestal in the substrate process chamber, the substrate pedestal configured to support a substrate; a target enclosing the substrate process chamber; and a shutter disk including an in-situ measuring device. (See Cheng, claims 18 and 20.)
Cheng does not explicitly teach a collimator having a plurality of hollow structures disposed between the target and a substrate.
Park teaches a collimator (80) having a plurality of hollow structures disposed between the target (60) and the substrate (w). (See Park, Abstract, Figs. 1-5, paragraphs 2, 4-6, 21, 27, 30-40, 49-52, 64-65, 67-68, and 73.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include a collimator having a plurality of hollow structures disposed between the target and a substrate, because Park teaches the collimator (80) may increase straightness of trajectories of the source particles towards the top source of the substrate W in a direction substantially perpendicular to the top surface of the substrate W so that the thin layer 14 may be formed to a uniform thickness on the entire top surface of the substrate W. (See Park, Abstract, Figs. 1-5, paragraphs 2, 4-6, 21, 27, 30-40, 49-52, 64-65, 67-68, and 73.)
Cheng does not explicitly teach a collimator having a plurality of hollow structures disposed between the target and a substrate.
Beecham teaches the length of the passages are varied to produce the desired pattern of deposition. (See Beecham, Abstract, col. 3, lines 54-65, col. 4, lines 16-30, and Figs. 1-3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include a collimator having a plurality of hollow structures disposed between the target and a substrate, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper length, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide improved process uniformity and increased equipment productivity. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)) (See Beecham, Abstract, col. 3, lines 54-65, col. 4, lines 16-30, and Figs. 1-3.)
Cheng does not explicitly teach a shutter disk including an aspect ratio measurement device that includes at least one image analysis device, the aspect ratio measurement device is configured to, in operation, measure an aspect ratio of one or more gap structures along the substrate.
Wang teaches a teaches a shutter disk (504) with a sensor (508) configured to determine at least one film property in the internal processing volume. (See Wang, Abstract, paragraph 23.)
Wang teaches a shutter disk including a plurality of shutter disk sensors and shutter disk enclosure sensors to determine a film profile or may operate to provide information in regards to different aspects of the deposition film property such as film morphology (paragraph 43) . (See Wang, Abstract, Figs. 1-9, paragraphs 23-24, 31, and 33-43.) Examiner is considering film morphology of the deposition film to be equivalent to an aspect ratio of one or more gap structures along a substrate. (See Albarede teaches aspect ratio is a known property to monitor with a sensor in a process chamber, See Albarede, paragraph 45.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include teach a shutter disk (504) including an aspect ratio measurement device that includes at least one image analysis device, the aspect ratio measurement device is configured to, in operation, measure an aspect ratio (film property data) of one or more gap structures along the substrate, because Wang teaches this would enable more film property data than by using sensors on their own. (See Wang, Abstract, Figs. 1-9, paragraphs 23-24 and 33-43.)
Cheng does not explicitly teach one or more adjustable hollow structures includes a first hollow member and a second hollow member, the first hollow member includes an internal helical groove and the second hollow member includes a helical protrusion that fits into the internal helical groove.
Bender teaches the collimator includes one or more adjustable hollow structures includes a first hollow member and a second hollow member. (See Bender, Abstract, paragraphs 13-14, 35-36, 39, 41-42, 49.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include one or more adjustable hollow structures includes a first hollow member and a second hollow member, because Bender teaches this structure would enable the combination of guides and beam collimator produces the desired distribution at a target location when a radiation beam is collided. (See Bender, Abstract, paragraphs 13-14, 35-36, 39, 41-42, 49.)
Cheng does not explicitly teach the first hollow member includes an internal helical groove and the second hollow member includes a helical protrusion that fits into the internal helical groove.
Suh teaches an optical device including a first hollow member (15) includes an internal helical groove (helicoid groove 15a) and the second member (25) includes a helical protrusion (25a) that fits into the internal helical groove (15a). (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 14-15, paragraphs 60, 66, 68, 71-75.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the first hollow member includes an internal helical groove and the second hollow member includes a helical protrusion that fits into the internal helical groove, because Suh teaches this structure would enable the movement of the optical components in desired direction. (See Suh, Abstract, Figs. 14-15, paragraphs 60, 66, 68, 71-75.)
Claim 18 recites an intended use clause (i. e. aspect ratio measurement device is configured to, in operation, measure an aspect ratio of one or more gap structure along the substrate). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Cheng in view of Park and Beecham in view of Wang and Lam is capable of the intended use and as a result meets the claim limitation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 11-13, 15-16, 18-19, 32-35, and 37 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
US Pat. Pub. No. 20030175023 A1 to Suh et al (hereinafter Suh) is being used to address the new limitations added to the independent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0105511 A1 to Wang and Ho et al (hereinafter Ho) teaches a sensor at the upper end of the process chamber.
US Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0081423 to Clark et al (hereinafter Clark) is directed to a semiconductor manufacturing sequence with all data integrated used by active interdiction control system where artificial intelligence, autonomous learning, or machine learning component is implemented on process parameter data 1138 on process sequence. (See Clark, Abstract, Figs. 1-5, 7, 11, and 34-37 paragraphs 76-77, 110, 143, 208, 212, 219, 321, 409, and 412.)
US Pat. Pub. No. 20220101526 to Lerch et al (hereinafter Lerch). Lerch teaches the use of a controller with AI in the area of collimators. (See Lerch, Abstract, Figs. 1-3, paragraphs 3, 10-17, 38, 81, 132, 179.)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARL KURPLE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717