Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1-3, 6-12 and 14-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0054054) of record, in view of Kim (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0256735) of record, in view of Kim115 (20140100115, machine-translation provided), in view of You (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0365743) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 11 of Bauer discloses a light-emitting device, comprising: a light-emitting diode (LED) chip (4) that is disposed on said supporting component (bottom portion of 6), and that includes a substrate (inherent) having a bottom end connected to said supporting component, a top chip surface that is situated above said substrate, a light-emitting semiconductor stack (41-44) formed between said substrate and said top chip surface to emit light toward said top chip surface, a lateral side (250, FIG. 2B) extending downward from said top chip surface to said bottom end of said substrate, a first electrode (23), and a second electrode (26); and a light-blocking layer (7) that is formed on said supporting component to surround said LED chip, and that covers said lateral side and exposes said top chip surface, wherein said light-blocking layer defines a top light exit port that exposes said top chip surface and that has a cross sectional area smaller than or equal to that of said top chip surface; said supporting component includes a bottom wall supporting said LED chip, and a surrounding wall extending upwardly from said bottom wall and surrounding said LED chip and said light blocking layer; said surrounding wall has a top end opposite to said bottom wall; and a height difference between said top chip surface and said top end of said surrounding wall is less than 10 µm; wherein said supporting component has an installation portion, a first wire bonding portion (61), and a second wire bonding portion (62) that is electrically insulated from said first wire bonding portion, and said first wire bonding portion and said second wire bonding portion penetrate said bottom wall of said supporting component; wherein said LED chip is disposed on said installation portion.
Bauer is silent with respect to “a cross sectional area of said top light exit port is less than 20% of a cross-section of said top end of said surrounding wall” and “said first electrode is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion through a first metal wire; wherein said second electrode is electrically connected to said second wire bonding portion through a second metal wire; wherein said installation portion is spaced apart from each of said first and second wire bonding portions to be electrically and thermally insulated from each of said first and second wire bonding portions; wherein vertical projections of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, said first electrode, said second electrode, said first wire bonding portion, and said second wire bonding portion onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other, and a vertical projection of each of said first metal wire and said second metal wire and a vertical projection of said light-emitting semiconductor stack are spaced apart from each other; wherein said first electrode and said second electrode are disposed outside an outer lateral surface of said light-emitting semiconductor stack; wherein said first electrode has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, said first wire bonding portion has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, and said first metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said first metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, respectively; and wherein said second electrode has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, said second wire bonding portion has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, and said second metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridqinq between said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said second metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, respectively”.
FIG. 1 of Kim discloses a similar light emitting device, comprising a supporting component (11); wherein said supporting component has an installation portion, a first wire bonding portion (left 14), and a second wire bonding portion (right 14) that is electrically insulated from said first wire bonding portion, and said first wire bonding portion and said second wire bonding portion penetrate said bottom wall of said supporting component; wherein said LED chip (20) is disposed on said installation portion; wherein said first electrode (41) is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion; wherein said LED chip is disposed on said installation portion; wherein said first electrode is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion through a first metal wire (12b); wherein said second electrode (42) is electrically connected to said second wire bonding portion through a second metal wire (12a); wherein said installation portion is spaced apart from each of said first and second wire bonding portions to be electrically and thermally insulated from each of said first and second wire bonding portions; wherein a vertical projection of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, said first electrode, and said second electrode onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other; and wherein said first electrode and said second electrode are disposed outside an outer lateral surface of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, wherein said first electrode has an upper surface opposite to said substrate (50, FIG. 2), said first wire bonding portion has an upper surface opposite to said substrate; and wherein said second electrode has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, said second wire bonding portion has an upper surface opposite to said substrate [0058].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bauer, as taught by Kim. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bauer in the above manner for purpose of improving optical power and reliability ([0006] of Kim).
Bauer as modified by Kim is silent with respect to “a cross sectional area of said top light exit port is less than 20% of a cross-section of said top end of said surrounding wall”; “said first electrode is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion through a first metal wire; wherein said second electrode is electrically connected to said second wire bonding portion through a second metal wire” “said first wire bonding portion, and said second wire bonding portion onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other, and a vertical projection of each of said first metal wire and said second metal wire and a vertical projection of said light-emitting semiconductor stack are spaced apart from each other” and “said first metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said first metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, respectively, and said second metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said second metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, respectively”.
FIG. 26 of Kim115 discloses a similar light emitting device, comprising a supporting component (300); a first wire bonding portion (340), and a second wire bonding portion (320) that is electrically insulated from said first wire bonding portion, and said first wire bonding portion and said second wire bonding portion penetrate said bottom wall of said supporting component; wherein said LED chip (200) is disposed on said installation portion; wherein said first electrode (70, FIG. 22) is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion through a first metal wire (420); wherein said second electrode (80, FIG. 22) is electrically connected to said second wire bonding portion through a second metal wire (410); wherein vertical projections of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, said first electrode, and said second electrode, said first wire bonding portion, and said second wire bonding portion onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other; and wherein said first metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said first metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, respectively; and wherein said second metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said second metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bauer, as taught by Kim115. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bauer in the above manner for purpose of improving light reliability and stability ([0005] of Kim115).
Bauer as modified by Kim and Kim115 is silent with respect to “a cross sectional area of said top light exit port is less than 20% of a cross-section of said top end of said surrounding wall”.
FIG. 1 of You discloses a similar light emitting device, comprising a supporting component (200/300); a light-emitting diode (LED) chip (100) that is disposed on said supporting component, and that includes a substrate (60, FIG. 2) having a bottom end connected to said supporting component; and a light-blocking layer (350) that is formed on said supporting component to surround said LED chip, and that covers said lateral side and exposes said top chip surface, wherein said light-blocking layer defines a top light exit port that exposes said top chip surface and that has a cross sectional area smaller than or equal to that of said top chip surface; wherein a cross sectional area of said top light exit port is less than 20% of a cross-section of said top end of said surrounding wall; vertical projections of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, said first wire bonding portion (203) and said second wire bonding portion (205) onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other; a vertical projection of said first metal wire (205a) and a vertical projection of said light-emitting semiconductor stack (100) are spaced apart from each other, and said first wire bonding portion and said second wire bonding portion penetrate said bottom wall of said supporting component (201).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bauer, as taught by You. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bauer in the above manner for purpose of emitting light with high output in a closed space (Para. 5 of You).
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 1 of You discloses said LED chip has a beam angle (approximately 90°) of not greater than 135°.
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 11 of Bauer discloses said light-blocking layer (350) has a top surface; and a height difference between said top chip surface and said top surface of said light blocking layer is less than 10 µm.
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 11 of Bauer discloses said top chip surface is flush with said top end of said surrounding wall.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 1 of You discloses said light-emitting device further comprises at least one metal wire (310) connecting one of said first and second electrodes to one of said first and second wire bonding portions; and said light-blocking layer (350) covers said at least one metal wire.
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 27 of Kim115 discloses an axis of light emission of said LED chip coincides with an axis of geometry of said light-emitting device.
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 11 of Bauer discloses said LED chip further includes a wavelength conversion layer (41) disposed in said top light exit port, covering said light-emitting semiconductor stack, and defining said top chip surface, said wavelength conversion layer having a thickness ranging from 50 µm to 150 µm [0043].
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 2 of You discloses said wavelength conversion layer (90) covers a portion of said light-emitting semiconductor stack (100), said light-blocking layer (350) covering a remaining portion of said light-emitting semiconductor stack not covered by said wavelength conversion layer.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 2 of You discloses said LED chip further includes a reflecting layer (33) that is disposed between said light-emitting semiconductor stack (30) and said substrate (60).
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 1 of Kim discloses each of said first electrode (41) and said second electrode (42) is located outside of an outer periphery of said light-emitting semiconductor stack below said top chip surface.
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 11 of Bauer discloses said light-blocking layer (7) is a light reflecting layer or a light absorptive layer [0067].
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 11 of Bauer discloses said top surface of said light-blocking layer (7) is not lower than said top chip surface.
Regarding Claim 16
The claim “said light-emitting device is driven by a current density of greater than 2 A/mm2” containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed. This recitation does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus because the apparatus of Bauer teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987), see MPEP 2114 R-1.
Regarding Claim 17
FIG. 11 of Bauer discloses a light-emitting device, comprising: a supporting component (6) having a bottom wall and a surrounding wall extending upwardly from said bottom wall; a light-emitting diode (LED) chip (4) that has a beam angle of less than 135°, and that includes a substrate (inherent) having a bottom end connected to said bottom wall, a top chip surface situated above said substrate, a light-emitting semiconductor stack (41-44) that is formed between said substrate and said top chip surface to emit light toward said top chip surface, a lateral side (250, FIG. 2B) extending downward from said top chip surface to said bottom end of said substrate, a first electrode (23), and a second electrode (26); and a light-blocking layer (7) that is formed on said bottom wall to surround said LED chip, and that covers said lateral side and exposes said top chip surface, said light-blocking layer having a top surface not lower than said top chip surface, wherein said light-blocking layer defines a top light exit port that exposes said top chip surface and that is surrounded by said surrounding wall; said supporting component includes a bottom wall supporting said LED chip, and a surrounding wall extending upwardly from said bottom wall and surrounding said LED chip and said light blocking layer; said surrounding wall has a top end opposite to said bottom wall; a height difference between said top chip surface and said top end of said surrounding wall is less than 10 µm; wherein said supporting component has an installation portion, a first wire bonding portion (61), and a second wire bonding portion (62) that is electrically insulated from said first wire bonding portion, and said first wire bonding portion and said second wire bonding portion penetrate said bottom wall of said supporting component; wherein said LED chip is disposed on said installation portion.
Bauer is silent with respect to “a cross sectional area of said top light exit port is less than 20% of a cross-section of said top end of said surrounding wall” and “said first electrode is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion through a first metal wire; wherein said second electrode is electrically connected to said second wire bonding portion through a second metal wire; wherein said installation portion is spaced apart from each of said first and second wire bonding portions to be electrically and thermally insulated from each of said first and second wire bonding portions; wherein vertical projections of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, said first electrode, said second electrode, said first wire bonding portion, and said second wire bonding portion onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other, and a vertical projection of each of said first metal wire and said second metal wire and a vertical projection of said light-emitting semiconductor stack are spaced apart from each other; wherein said first electrode and said second electrode are disposed outside an outer lateral surface of said light-emitting semiconductor stack; wherein said first electrode has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, said first wire bonding portion has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, and said first metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said first metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, respectively; and wherein said second electrode has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, said second wire bonding portion has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, and said second metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridqinq between said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said second metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, respectively”.
FIG. 1 of Kim discloses a similar light emitting device, comprising a supporting component (11); wherein said supporting component has an installation portion, a first wire bonding portion (left 14), and a second wire bonding portion (right 14) that is electrically insulated from said first wire bonding portion, and said first wire bonding portion and said second wire bonding portion penetrate said bottom wall of said supporting component; wherein said LED chip (20) is disposed on said installation portion; wherein said first electrode (41) is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion; wherein said LED chip is disposed on said installation portion; wherein said first electrode is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion through a first metal wire (12b); wherein said second electrode (42) is electrically connected to said second wire bonding portion through a second metal wire (12a); wherein said installation portion is spaced apart from each of said first and second wire bonding portions to be electrically and thermally insulated from each of said first and second wire bonding portions; wherein a vertical projection of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, said first electrode, and said second electrode onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other; and wherein said first electrode and said second electrode are disposed outside an outer lateral surface of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, wherein said first electrode has an upper surface opposite to said substrate (50, FIG. 2), said first wire bonding portion has an upper surface opposite to said substrate; and wherein said second electrode has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, said second wire bonding portion has an upper surface opposite to said substrate [0058].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bauer, as taught by Kim. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bauer in the above manner for purpose of improving optical power and reliability ([0006] of Kim).
Bauer as modified by Kim is silent with respect to “a cross sectional area of said top light exit port is less than 20% of a cross-section of said top end of said surrounding wall”; “said first electrode is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion through a first metal wire; wherein said second electrode is electrically connected to said second wire bonding portion through a second metal wire” “said first wire bonding portion, and said second wire bonding portion onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other, and a vertical projection of each of said first metal wire and said second metal wire and a vertical projection of said light-emitting semiconductor stack are spaced apart from each other” and “said first metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said first metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, respectively, and said second metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said second metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, respectively”.
FIG. 26 of Kim115 discloses a similar light emitting device, comprising a supporting component (300); a first wire bonding portion (340), and a second wire bonding portion (320) that is electrically insulated from said first wire bonding portion, and said first wire bonding portion and said second wire bonding portion penetrate said bottom wall of said supporting component; wherein said LED chip (200) is disposed on said installation portion; wherein said first electrode (70, FIG. 22) is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion through a first metal wire (420); wherein said second electrode (80, FIG. 22) is electrically connected to said second wire bonding portion through a second metal wire (410); wherein vertical projections of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, said first electrode, and said second electrode, said first wire bonding portion, and said second wire bonding portion onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other; and wherein said first metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said first metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, respectively; and wherein said second metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said second metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bauer, as taught by Kim115. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bauer in the above manner for purpose of improving light reliability and stability ([0005] of Kim115).
Bauer as modified by Kim and Kim115 is silent with respect to “a cross sectional area of said top light exit port is less than 20% of a cross-section of said top end of said surrounding wall”.
FIG. 1 of You discloses a similar light emitting device, comprising a supporting component (200/300); a light-emitting diode (LED) chip (100) that is disposed on said supporting component, and that includes a substrate (60, FIG. 2) having a bottom end connected to said supporting component; and a light-blocking layer (350) that is formed on said supporting component to surround said LED chip, and that covers said lateral side and exposes said top chip surface, wherein said light-blocking layer defines a top light exit port that exposes said top chip surface and that has a cross sectional area smaller than or equal to that of said top chip surface; wherein a cross sectional area of said top light exit port is less than 20% of a cross-section of said top end of said surrounding wall; vertical projections of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, said first wire bonding portion (203) and said second wire bonding portion (205) onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other; a vertical projection of said first metal wire (205a) and a vertical projection of said light-emitting semiconductor stack (100) are spaced apart from each other, and said first wire bonding portion and said second wire bonding portion penetrate said bottom wall of said supporting component (201).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bauer, as taught by You. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bauer in the above manner for purpose of emitting light with high output in a closed space (Para. 5 of You).
Regarding Claim 18
FIG. 2 of You discloses said LED chip further includes a reflecting layer (33) that is disposed between said light-emitting semiconductor stack (30) and said substrate (60).
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 11 of Bauer discloses an illuminating apparatus comprising a light-emitting device as claimed in claim 1.
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer, Kim, Kim115 and You, in view of Gao (CN 1558283) of record.
Regarding Claim 20
Bauer as modified by Kim, Kim115 and You discloses Claim 19.
Bauer as modified by Kim, Kim115 and You is silent with respect to “is used for backlighting a display” and “has a light mixing distance of below 15 mm”.
FIG. 2 of Gao discloses a similar illuminating apparatus, which is used for backlighting a display. Gao further discloses in general, a light mixing distance is equal to two times of distance between two light emitting diodes, and longer light mixing distance increases the thickness and volume of the backlight module of liquid crystal display. Therefore, said distance is considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to a specific distance therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bauer, as taught by Gao. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bauer in the above manner for purpose of reducing the thickness of the module with uniformly mixed light of different colors (invention content of Gao).
Claims 1 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer, in view of Wang (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2007/0057364), in view of Sakamoto (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0241025) of record, in view of Ishihara (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0001605) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 11 of Bauer discloses a light-emitting device, comprising: a light-emitting diode (LED) chip (4) that is disposed on said supporting component (bottom portion of 6), and that includes a substrate (inherent) having a bottom end connected to said supporting component, a top chip surface that is situated above said substrate, a light-emitting semiconductor stack (41-44) formed between said substrate and said top chip surface to emit light toward said top chip surface, a lateral side (250, FIG. 2B) extending downward from said top chip surface to said bottom end of said substrate, a first electrode (23), and a second electrode (26); and a light-blocking layer (7) that is formed on said supporting component to surround said LED chip, and that covers said lateral side and exposes said top chip surface, wherein said light-blocking layer defines a top light exit port that exposes said top chip surface and that has a cross sectional area smaller than or equal to that of said top chip surface; said supporting component includes a bottom wall supporting said LED chip, and a surrounding wall extending upwardly from said bottom wall and surrounding said LED chip and said light blocking layer; said surrounding wall has a top end opposite to said bottom wall; and a height difference between said top chip surface and said top end of said surrounding wall is less than 10 µm; wherein said supporting component has an installation portion, a first wire bonding portion (61), and a second wire bonding portion (62) that is electrically insulated from said first wire bonding portion, and said first wire bonding portion and said second wire bonding portion penetrate said bottom wall of said supporting component; wherein said LED chip is disposed on said installation portion.
Bauer is silent with respect to “a cross sectional area of said top light exit port is less than 20% of a cross-section of said top end of said surrounding wall” and “said first electrode is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion through a first metal wire; wherein said second electrode is electrically connected to said second wire bonding portion through a second metal wire; wherein said installation portion is spaced apart from each of said first and second wire bonding portions to be electrically and thermally insulated from each of said first and second wire bonding portions; wherein vertical projections of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, said first electrode, said second electrode, said first wire bonding portion, and said second wire bonding portion onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other, and a vertical projection of each of said first metal wire and said second metal wire and a vertical projection of said light-emitting semiconductor stack are spaced apart from each other; wherein said first electrode and said second electrode are disposed outside an outer lateral surface of said light-emitting semiconductor stack; wherein said first electrode has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, said first wire bonding portion has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, and said first metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said first metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, respectively; and wherein said second electrode has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, said second wire bonding portion has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, and said second metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said second metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, respectively”.
FIG. 2 of Wang discloses a similar light emitting device, comprising a supporting component (213); wherein said supporting component has an installation portion, a first wire bonding portion (left 206), and a second wire bonding portion (right 206) that is electrically insulated from said first wire bonding portion, and said first wire bonding portion and said second wire bonding portion penetrate said bottom wall of said supporting component; wherein said LED chip (201) is disposed on said installation portion; wherein said first electrode (left 208) is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion; wherein said LED chip is disposed on said installation portion; wherein said first electrode is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion through a first metal wire (104, FIG. 1); wherein said second electrode (right 208) is electrically connected to said second wire bonding portion through a second metal wire (104, FIG. 1); wherein said installation portion is spaced apart from each of said first and second wire bonding portions to be electrically and thermally insulated from each of said first and second wire bonding portions; wherein a vertical projection of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, said first electrode, and said second electrode onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other; and wherein said first electrode and said second electrode are disposed outside an outer lateral surface of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, wherein said first electrode has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, said first wire bonding portion has an upper surface opposite to said substrate; and wherein said second electrode has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, said second wire bonding portion has an upper surface opposite to said substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bauer, as taught by Wang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bauer in the above manner for purpose of improving optical power and reliability ([0006] of Wang).
Bauer as modified by Wang is silent with respect to “a cross sectional area of said top light exit port is less than 20% of a cross-section of said top end of said surrounding wall”; “said first electrode is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion through a first metal wire; wherein said second electrode is electrically connected to said second wire bonding portion through a second metal wire” “said first wire bonding portion, and said second wire bonding portion onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other, and a vertical projection of each of said first metal wire and said second metal wire and a vertical projection of said light-emitting semiconductor stack are spaced apart from each other” and “said first metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said first metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, respectively, and said second metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said second metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, respectively”.
FIG. 4 of Sakamoto discloses a similar light emitting device, comprising a supporting component (8); wherein said supporting component has an installation portion (9c), a first wire bonding portion (9a-10a), and a second wire bonding portion (9b-10b) that is electrically insulated from said first wire bonding portion, and said first wire bonding portion and said second wire bonding portion penetrate said bottom wall of said supporting component; wherein said LED chip (7) is disposed on said installation portion; wherein said first electrode (anode) is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion through a first metal wire; wherein said second electrode (cathode) is electrically connected to said second wire bonding portion through a second metal wire; and wherein said installation portion is spaced apart from each of said first and second wire bonding portions to be electrically and thermally insulated from each of said first and second wire bonding portions; and wherein vertical projections of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, said first electrode, and said second electrode, said first wire bonding portion, and said second wire bonding portion onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other; and wherein said first electrode and said second electrode are disposed outside an outer lateral surface of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, said first electrode, and said second electrode, said first wire bonding portion, and said second wire bonding portion onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other; and wherein said first metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said first metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, respectively; and wherein said second metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said second metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bauer, as taught by Sakamoto. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bauer in the above manner for purpose of improving reliability ([0063] of Sakamoto).
Bauer as modified by Wang and Sakamoto is silent with respect to “a cross sectional area of said top light exit port is less than 20% of a cross-section of said top end of said surrounding wall”.
FIG. 1 of Ishihara discloses a similar light emitting device, comprising a supporting component (80); a light-emitting diode (LED) chip (100) that is disposed on said supporting component, and that includes a substrate (inherent for LED) having a bottom end connected to said supporting component; and a light-blocking layer (40) that is formed on said supporting component to surround said LED chip, and that covers said lateral side and exposes said top chip surface, wherein said light-blocking layer defines a top light exit port that exposes said top chip surface and that has a cross sectional area smaller than or equal to that of said top chip surface; and wherein a cross sectional area of said top light exit port is less than 20% of a cross-section of said top end of said surrounding wall (FIG. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bauer, as taught by Ishihara. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bauer in the above manner for purpose of improving light output (Para. 12 of Ishihara).
Regarding Claim 17
FIG. 11 of Bauer discloses a light-emitting device, comprising: a supporting component (6) having a bottom wall and a surrounding wall extending upwardly from said bottom wall; a light-emitting diode (LED) chip (4) that has a beam angle of less than 135°, and that includes a substrate (inherent) having a bottom end connected to said bottom wall, a top chip surface situated above said substrate, a light-emitting semiconductor stack (41-44) that is formed between said substrate and said top chip surface to emit light toward said top chip surface, a lateral side (250, FIG. 2B) extending downward from said top chip surface to said bottom end of said substrate, a first electrode (23), and a second electrode (26); and a light-blocking layer (7) that is formed on said bottom wall to surround said LED chip, and that covers said lateral side and exposes said top chip surface, said light-blocking layer having a top surface not lower than said top chip surface, wherein said light-blocking layer defines a top light exit port that exposes said top chip surface and that is surrounded by said surrounding wall; said supporting component includes a bottom wall supporting said LED chip, and a surrounding wall extending upwardly from said bottom wall and surrounding said LED chip and said light blocking layer; said surrounding wall has a top end opposite to said bottom wall; a height difference between said top chip surface and said top end of said surrounding wall is less than 10 µm; wherein said supporting component has an installation portion, a first wire bonding portion (61), and a second wire bonding portion (62) that is electrically insulated from said first wire bonding portion, and said first wire bonding portion and said second wire bonding portion penetrate said bottom wall of said supporting component; wherein said LED chip is disposed on said installation portion.
Bauer is silent with respect to “a cross sectional area of said top light exit port is less than 20% of a cross-section of said top end of said surrounding wall” and “said first electrode is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion through a first metal wire; wherein said second electrode is electrically connected to said second wire bonding portion through a second metal wire; wherein said installation portion is spaced apart from each of said first and second wire bonding portions to be electrically and thermally insulated from each of said first and second wire bonding portions; wherein vertical projections of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, said first electrode, said second electrode, said first wire bonding portion, and said second wire bonding portion onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other, and a vertical projection of each of said first metal wire and said second metal wire and a vertical projection of said light-emitting semiconductor stack are spaced apart from each other; wherein said first electrode and said second electrode are disposed outside an outer lateral surface of said light-emitting semiconductor stack; wherein said first electrode has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, said first wire bonding portion has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, and said first metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said first metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, respectively; and wherein said second electrode has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, said second wire bonding portion has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, and said second metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridqinq between said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said second metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, respectively”.
FIG. 2 of Wang discloses a similar light emitting device, comprising a supporting component (213); wherein said supporting component has an installation portion, a first wire bonding portion (left 206), and a second wire bonding portion (right 206) that is electrically insulated from said first wire bonding portion, and said first wire bonding portion and said second wire bonding portion penetrate said bottom wall of said supporting component; wherein said LED chip (201) is disposed on said installation portion; wherein said first electrode (left 208) is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion; wherein said LED chip is disposed on said installation portion; wherein said first electrode is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion through a first metal wire (104, FIG. 1); wherein said second electrode (right 208) is electrically connected to said second wire bonding portion through a second metal wire (104, FIG. 1); wherein said installation portion is spaced apart from each of said first and second wire bonding portions to be electrically and thermally insulated from each of said first and second wire bonding portions; wherein a vertical projection of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, said first electrode, and said second electrode onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other; and wherein said first electrode and said second electrode are disposed outside an outer lateral surface of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, wherein said first electrode has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, said first wire bonding portion has an upper surface opposite to said substrate; and wherein said second electrode has an upper surface opposite to said substrate, said second wire bonding portion has an upper surface opposite to said substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bauer, as taught by Wang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bauer in the above manner for purpose of improving optical power and reliability ([0006] of Wang).
Bauer as modified by Wang is silent with respect to “a cross sectional area of said top light exit port is less than 20% of a cross-section of said top end of said surrounding wall”; “said first electrode is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion through a first metal wire; wherein said second electrode is electrically connected to said second wire bonding portion through a second metal wire” “said first wire bonding portion, and said second wire bonding portion onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other, and a vertical projection of each of said first metal wire and said second metal wire and a vertical projection of said light-emitting semiconductor stack are spaced apart from each other” and “said first metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said first metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, respectively, and said second metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said second metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, respectively”.
FIG. 4 of Sakamoto discloses a similar light emitting device, comprising a supporting component (8); wherein said supporting component has an installation portion (9c), a first wire bonding portion (9a-10a), and a second wire bonding portion (9b-10b) that is electrically insulated from said first wire bonding portion, and said first wire bonding portion and said second wire bonding portion penetrate said bottom wall of said supporting component; wherein said LED chip (7) is disposed on said installation portion; wherein said first electrode (anode) is electrically connected to said first wire bonding portion through a first metal wire; wherein said second electrode (cathode) is electrically connected to said second wire bonding portion through a second metal wire; and wherein said installation portion is spaced apart from each of said first and second wire bonding portions to be electrically and thermally insulated from each of said first and second wire bonding portions; and wherein vertical projections of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, said first electrode, and said second electrode, said first wire bonding portion, and said second wire bonding portion onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other; and wherein said first electrode and said second electrode are disposed outside an outer lateral surface of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, said first electrode, and said second electrode, said first wire bonding portion, and said second wire bonding portion onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other; and wherein said first metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said first metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said first electrode and said upper surface of said first wire bonding portion, respectively; and wherein said second metal wire is structured as a wire strip bridging between said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, such that two opposite end portions of said second metal wire are directly connected to said upper surface of said second electrode and said upper surface of said second wire bonding portion, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bauer, as taught by Sakamoto. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bauer in the above manner for purpose of improving reliability ([0063] of Sakamoto).
Bauer as modified by Wang and Sakamoto is silent with respect to “a cross sectional area of said top light exit port is less than 20% of a cross-section of said top end of said surrounding wall”.
FIG. 1 of Ishihara discloses a similar light emitting device, comprising a supporting component (80); a light-emitting diode (LED) chip (100) that is disposed on said supporting component, and that includes a substrate (inherent for LED) having a bottom end connected to said supporting component; and a light-blocking layer (40) that is formed on said supporting component to surround said LED chip, and that covers said lateral side and exposes said top chip surface, wherein said light-blocking layer defines a top light exit port that exposes said top chip surface and that has a cross sectional area smaller than or equal to that of said top chip surface; and wherein a cross sectional area of said top light exit port is less than 20% of a cross-section of said top end of said surrounding wall (FIG. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bauer, as taught by Ishihara. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bauer in the above manner for purpose of improving light output (Para. 12 of Ishihara).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Pertinent Art
U. S. 2004/0211970 discloses vertical projections of said light-emitting semiconductor stack, said first electrode, said second electrode, said first wire bonding portion, and said second wire bonding portion onto a plane parallel to said bottom end of said substrate are spaced apart from each other; said first electrode and said second electrode are disposed outside an outer lateral surface of said light-emitting semiconductor stack and said first wire bonding portion and said second wire bonding portion penetrate said bottom wall of said supporting component. U. S. 2008/0121911 discloses said supporting component includes a bottom wall supporting said LED chip, and a surrounding wall extending upwardly from said bottom wall and surrounding said LED chip and said light blocking layer; said surrounding wall has a top end opposite to said bottom wall; and a height difference between said top chip surface and said top end of said surrounding wall is less than 10 µm. Pertinent art also includes Hayashimoto (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2004/0211970), 2009/0101897, 2004/0211970, 2004/0041757, 6737681, 6,686,609, 5,298,768, 5,024,966, TW 201521188, Zhang (WO 2020073294) and Engl (DE 102008011848).
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897