Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto et al. (US 2012/0205148).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto discloses a package substrate, comprising:
a core (10), wherein the core is a single material layer with a thickness between a first surface (11) and a second surface (12) opposite from the first surface [Figs. 2A-2B and paragraph 0183];
a first pad (17) directly on the first surface [Fig. 2B];
a second pad (18) directly on the second surface, wherein the second pad (18) is entirely outside a footprint of the first pad (17) [Fig. 2B]; and
a via (16) through the thickness of the core (10), wherein the via (16) comprises a single continuous structure that extends from the first pad (17) to the second pad (18) and that connects the first pad (17) directly to the second pad (18) [Fig. 2B].
Regarding claim 2, Yamamoto discloses wherein the via (16) is an angled via (41) with a non- orthogonal angle relative to the first surface (11) of the core (10) [Fig. 2B].
Regarding claim 3, Yamamoto discloses wherein the via (16) comprises a first portion (41) and a second portion (41a), wherein the first portion (41) is angled with a non-orthogonal angle relative to the first surface (11) of the core (10) [Fig. 2B].
Regarding claim 4, Yamamoto discloses wherein the first portion (41) contacts the first pad (17), and wherein the second portion (41a) contacts the second pad (18) [Fig. 2B].
Regarding claim 9, Yamamoto discloses wherein the core is a glass core [paragraph 0183].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamins et al. (US 7804175) in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 2012/0205148).
Regarding claim 1, Kamins discloses a package substrate, comprising:
a core (700), wherein the core is a single material layer with a thickness between a first surface (702) and a second surface (704) opposite from the first surface [Fig. 7 and col. 3, lines 40-44];
a via (720) through the thickness of the core (700), wherein the via (720) comprises a single continuous structure that extends from connect point (A) to connect point (B) [Fig. 7].
However, Kamins does not disclose the first pad and a second pad.
Yamamoto teaches:
a first pad (17) directly on the first surface [Fig. 2B];
a second pad (18) directly on the second surface, wherein the second pad (18) is entirely outside a footprint of the first pad (17) [Fig. 2B]; and
a via (16) that extends from the first pad (17) to the second pad (18) and that connects the first pad (17) directly to the second pad (18) [Fig. 2B].
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify Kamins by including first and second pads, so that the via connects the first pad directly to the second pad as taught by Yamamoto because the pads help to mount devices on both sides of a substrate [paragraph 0412]. In addition, the motivation for doing so is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson ’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
Regarding claim 3, Kamins discloses wherein the via (720/1020) comprises a first portion (724 or ,in the alternative, 722/1022) and a second portion (722 or ,in the alternative, 724/1024, respectively) [Figs. 6-7 and 10], wherein the first portion (724 or ,in the alternative, 722/1022) is angled with a non-orthogonal angle relative to the first surface (702/1022) of the core (700/1000) [col. 8, lines 62-65; and col. 7, lines 58-62. Also, see col. 9, lines 62-63: “substantially perpendicular”].
Regarding claim 5, Kamis discloses wherein the second portion (722) contacts the first connect point (A), and wherein the first portion (724) contacts the second connect point (B) [Fig. 7]. And, Yamamoto, as stated above, teaches the first and second pads (17/18).
Regarding claim 6, Kamis discloses wherein the second portion (724) is angled with a non-orthogonal angle relative to the first surface of the core [Fig. 7].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (US 2012/0205148) in view of Chase et al. (US 2013/0341772).
Regarding claim 7, Yamamoto does not teach wherein the via is a via plane.
Chase teaches via plane (320/420/526/712) [Figs. 3-5 and 7 and paragraph 0024].
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify Yamamoto by including an elongated via structure as taught by Chase because it helps to reduce noise in adjacent components [Abstract]. In addition, the motivation for doing so is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson ’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (US 2012/0205148) in view of Kang et al. (US 2020/0051907).
Regarding claim 8, Yamamoto does not teach recessed pads.
Kang teaches wherein the first pad, and the second pad are recessed (embedded pads 323) into the core (302) [Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0040-0041].
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify Yamamoto by including first and second recessed pads as taught by Kang because it helps to provide higher density interconnects for the substrate [paragraph 0045]. In addition, the motivation for doing so is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson ’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/Jose R Diaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815