DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112 is overcome by amendment.
Prior Art Rejections
Applicant’s first argument is that Mor achieves pattern replication and interlacing by a fundamentally different mechanism from that of the claimed invention, however, this argument is not persuasive. Both Mor and the claimed invention shine light from a light source array through a collimating lens to a diffracting optical element, producing interlaced patterns of dots. Mor describes the interlaced patterns as being composed by first making one pattern from the zeroth-order dots of all the emitters (e.g., as shown by Mor in FIG. 5, single replica 158), another pattern of all first-order dots of all the emitters, etc. then interlacing those patterns (e.g., according to replication scheme 160 of Mor), while claim 1 as currently amended describes the interlaced patterns as being composed by making a first pattern from all the diffractive orders of a single light source and a second pattern from all diffractive orders of the second light source (the claim permits, but does not strictly require, more than two) and then interlacing the separate patterns from the separate light sources, but what is claimed is a dot pattern projector, not a way of describing or thinking about a dot pattern projector. Merely describing the same prior art device in different words does not create a patentable distinction, when that same prior art device may be just as easily described using those words.
Applicant’s second argument is that the emitter array and DOE of Mor are designed independently with no relationship, however, this argument is not persuasive. In FIGs. 3-5 of Mor, note how the dots in the overlapping areas have a constant pitch, and dots from the one light source are placed halfway between dots from other light sources with different diffraction orders. If the choices were independent, the replicas of a single light source would be offset haphazardly from other light sources, rather than producing the regular composite patterns shown in those figures. Making that regular composite pattern 164 indicates that the angles corresponding to the claimed α are tied to the fan-out angle of the diffraction θ1.
Applicant’s third argument is that the offset between neighboring emitters’ patterns is a full baseline pitch, not 1/N thereof, however, this argument is not persuasive. Consider FIG. 4 of Mor, taking the (longer) horizontal pitch of the replication scheme 160 as a baseline pitch. The pitch between neighboring emitters’ dots, d, is 1/N of that baseline pitch, where N=7. Also see the prior art rejection below.
Applicant’s fourth argument is that the parameters recited in the claim are linked in a way not taught or suggested by Mor, however, this argument is not persuasive. The setup employed by Mor is similar enough to that of the claimed invention that the same list of parameters affect the functioning of Mor in the same way that they affect the functioning of the claimed invention, by virtue of obeying the same long-known laws of physics (such as the relationship between wavelength, angle of incidence, DOE pitch, and fan-out angles, which fully applies to Mor, whether Mor felt the need to explain the relevant principles of optics or not (see Dhillon for such an explanation)). Further, choosing a design of DOE that is suitable for use with a particular light source array is a form of coupling the structures, rendering them no longer independent.
Applicant’s further arguments relate to a patent cited by Mor or relate to Meng. These arguments have been fully considered, but are moot. The present action does not rely on Meng or the other patent for any matter.
As the independent claim is not allowable, the dependent claims are not automatically allowable.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the image capturing device in claim 11, interpreted as corresponding to the structure recited in paragraph 18 of the specification, comprising a focusing lens, a filter and an image sensor (note that a camera would meet this description or be equivalent thereto, absent evidence to the contrary).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mor (US Patent Publication 20160178915).
Regarding claim 1, Mor teaches a dot pattern projector, comprising: a light source array (FIG. 1 and paragraph 21, array of optical emitters constructed on die 120), including a plurality of light sources that emit light beams having a wavelength λ (paragraph 21, VCSELs constructed on die 120), the plurality of light sources being separated by a light source pitch D_L (paragraph 16, the physical distances between emitters in the array);
a lens, having an optical axis and an optical center, being configured to collimate the light beams emitted by the plurality of light sources (FIG. 1, projection lens 146), wherein a distance between the light source array and the optical center of the lens is equal to an effective focal length D_EFL of the lens (paragraph 22, penultimate sentence); and
a diffracting unit configured to diffract the collimated light beams thereby to project an illumination pattern, wherein the diffracting unit comprises a microlens array or a diffractive optical element and has a microstructure pitch D_M, the microstructure pitch D_M being a lens pitch between neighboring microlenses or a cell pitch between neighboring cells (FIG. 1, fan-out diffractive optical element (FO-DOE) 144);
wherein: the diffracting unit diffracts the collimated light beam emitted from each of the plurality of light sources into a respective single-source dot pattern (FIG. 4, replication scheme 160 shows the pattern that each light source projects), each respective single-source dot pattern including a plurality of dots arranged at a dot pitch (FIG. 4, the (longer) horizontal pitch is a dot pitch for a pattern originating from a single light source), and the plurality of light sources thereby generate a plurality of respective single-source dot patterns that are simultaneously projected (FIG. 4, each dot in single replica 158 represents a different light source, which each has replicas according to replication scheme 160, resulting in composite pattern 164);
at least one light source of the light source array is an off-axis light source not positioned on the optical axis of the lens (as there are multiple light sources that are not arranged in a single line, at least one must be off-axis), such that the collimated light beam corresponding to the off-axis light source deviates from the optical axis by a deviation angle α given by
α
=
tan
-
1
D
_
L
/
D
_
E
F
L
(paragraph 22, penultimate sentence characterizes projection lens 146 as a lens with die 120, holding the VCSEL array, on the focal plane of the lens. Mor does not explicitly recite the claimed equation, which one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as the result of placing a light source on the focal plane of a lens, but not on the optical axis of the lens.), and each respective single-source dot pattern has a fan-out angle θ-1 between a zero-order diffraction dot and a first-order diffraction dot given by
sin
θ
1
=
λ
/
D
_
M
(see Dhillon n (non-patent literature “the grating equation”), second page, first equation, comparing the difference between n=0 and n=1 where d corresponds to D_M and other letters match their claimed counterparts);
the light source pitch D_L, the effective focal length D_EFL, the microstructure pitch D_M, the wavelength λ, and an interlacing factor N, where N is an integer greater than l, jointly satisfy
N
×
sin
(
tan
-
1
(
D
_
L
/
D
_
E
F
L
)
)
=
λ
/
D
_
M
(note that the left hand side of the equation is equal to the angle of the zeroth-order diffraction beam of the off-axis light source times an integer greater than 1, while the right-hand side is equal the sine of the angle between zeroth- and first-order beams from the on-axis light source. In other words, the equation indicates that the lateral distance between dots from a single light source is an integer multiple of the distance from one of those dots to a dot from a different light source. See Dhillon for more information about how to calculate angles of diffracted light from a DOE), such that the respective single-source dot pattern generated from the off-axis light source is shifted, relative to the respective single-source dot pattern generated from an on-axis light source, by 1/N of the dot pitch (FIG. 4, the distance d between dots of the same order (in single replica 158) from different light sources is 1/N of the dot pitch from a single light source, shown as the horizontal distance between x marks in replication pattern 160 and composite pattern 164, wherein N=7, which is an integer greater than 1. This implies that the claimed equation is also met with N=7.); and
the plurality of respective single-source dot patterns are interlaced with one another to form the illumination pattern as a single array of dots having a combined pitch equal to 1/N of the dot pitch (FIG. 4, composite pattern 164, the pitch between dots in the horizontal direction is equal to 1/7 times the pitch of the dots indicated by the horizontal spacing between x marks).
Regarding claim 2, Mor teaches the dot pattern projector of claim 1 (as described above), wherein each of the light sources is a vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser (VCSEL) (paragraph 16).
Regarding claim 3, Mor teaches the dot pattern projector of claim 1 (as described above), wherein a light source pitch between two neighbor light sources is regular (paragraph 21).
Regarding claim 4, Mor teaches the dot pattern projector of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the light sources are regularly distributed (paragraph 21) or hexagonally distributed within the light source array (FIG. 4. Note that the hexagonal grid shown in FIG. 4 is also regularly distributed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mor (US Patent Publication 20160178915) in view of Price (US Patent Publication 20190068853).
Regarding claim 11, Mor teaches an optical distance measurement system (paragraph 20, host system), comprising:
the dot pattern projector of claim 1 (as described above), configured to project a second illumination pattern (the pattern of spots from the typical application recited in paragraph 20 of Mor); and
While Mor does suggest using projector 30 with an imaging and processing system to estimate a 3-D map of an object or scene (paragraph 20), Mor does not explicitly include the image capturing device, configured to capture images of illumination pattern reflected from an object as part of the projector, nor does Mor explicitly teach a flood illuminator, including at least one light source and a diffuser, configured to project a first illumination pattern .
In the same field of endeavor of structured light generation, Price does teach a flood illuminator (FIG. 6, flood fill light illuminator 44), including at least one light source (FIG. 6, light emitter 46) and a diffuser (FIG. 6, diffuser optical element 48), configured to project a first illumination pattern (FIG. 6, flood fill illumination 28) and an image capturing device, configured to capture images of illumination pattern reflected from an object (FIG. 7, camera 24). By including a flood illuminator, Price is able to detect edges of objects in the scene (paragraph 46), and by including a camera, Price is able to capture images of the scene (paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dot pattern projector of Mor by including it in a system like that of Price, including a camera to fulfill Mor’s suggestion to use the projector (paragraph 20 of Mor) with a camera and in order to detect edges in the captured images (paragraph 46 of Price).
Regarding claim 13, Mor, as modified by Price, teaches or renders obvious the optical distance measurement system of claim 11 (as described above).
Mor further teaches that the diffracting unit comprises a diffractive optical element (FIG. 1, fan-out diffractive optical element (FO-DOE) 144 comprises a diffractive optical element).
Mor does not teach the diffuser, so does not teach that it also comprises a diffractive optical element.
In the same field of endeavor of structured light generation, Price does teach that the diffuser comprises a diffractive optical element (diffuser optical element 48 described in paragraph 51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed the system of Mor, as modified by Price, by using a type of diffuser taught by Price as the particular means of diffusing the flood fill illumination, with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mor (US Patent Publication 20160178915) in view of Price (US Patent Publication 20190068853) further in view of Freedman (Foreign Patent Publication WO 2008120217 A2).
Regarding claim 12, Mor, as modified by Price, teaches or renders obvious the optical distance measurement system of claim 11 (as described above).
Mor does not explicitly teach that both of the diffuser and the diffracting unit comprise microlens arrays.
In the same field of endeavor of structured light generation, Price does teach that the diffuser comprises a microlens array (paragraph 51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed the system of Mor, as modified by Price, by using a type of diffuser taught by Price as the particular means of diffusing the flood fill illumination, with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
While Price does contemplate integrating the diffuser with the diffraction unit for the structured light (paragraphs 56-57), Price does not explicitly teach also making the diffraction unit for the structured light emitter comprise a microlens array.
In the same field of endeavor of generating structured light, Freedman teaches using a microlens array to generate the structured light (FIG. 7, micro-lenses 92), which allow sending dots of light in a pattern, in the same manner as the diffractive optical element of Mor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Mor, as modified by Price, to substitute a microlens array like that of Freedman for the diffractive optical element used to produce structured light, predictably achieving the same outcome with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/PAUL SCHNASE/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877