DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant has amended independent claims 4 and 13; and canceled claims 1-3, 8, 19. The pending claims are claims 4-7, 9-18, 20.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 9-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen et al., CN 207381491U.
Regarding claim 4, Wen et al., teaches a battery pack (plurality of batteries) (0012; 0057) (ref. 300), comprising a box and a battery module (0025), wherein the battery module comprises: a battery cell arrangement structure (Fig. 1-2) comprising a plurality of battery cells stacked on each other (Fig. 1-2); and an end plate (ref. 100, 200), the end plate (ref. 100, 200) being located at an end part of the battery cell arrangement structure in a length direction (Fig. 1-2), and the end plate comprising a first mating part and a second mating part (ref. 500; flexible fixing belt) (ref. 510; first connection portion); (ref. 511; mating portion connecting section) (ref. 512; end plate connection section); and the end plate comprising a first mating part and a second mating part (0059), (first end plate 100; second end plate 200) (Fig. 1 and 2); wherein the second mating part is located below the first mating part in a height direction of the battery module (Fig. 1-2); the battery module being fixed in the box (pressure strip 400) (Fig. 2 and 4); wherein a mounting beam is disposed in a cavity of the box (pressure strip 400), and in the length direction of the battery module, the mounting beam (mounting groove 410) is located at both ends of the battery cell arrangement structure (Fig. 5) and in the length direction (Fig. 5), the second mating part has a fifth bottom wall, and the fifth bottom wall is mated with the mounting beam, and a preset gap is provided between the fifth bottom wall and the mounting beam (0060); wherein the battery pack comprises a first cable tie (positioning strip) and a second cable tie (positioning strip), and the first cable tie (positioning strip 420) and the second cable tie (positioning strip 440) both surround an outer side of the battery cell arrangement structure (Fig. 2, 5);
Wen does not teach a thickness of the second mating part is smaller than a thickness of the first mating part, a thickness direction is parallel to the length direction (Fig. 1, X-direction).
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the thickness of the first and second mating part (matching portion) in order for the matching portions to connect together (0059) (matching portion 520; second connecting portion 530) in the battery module. Additionally, “the connection between the first connecting portion 510 and the matching portion 520 is smoother, thereby preventing stress concentration and other problems from occurring at the connection position between the two, making the deformation ability of the flexible fixing belt 500 better, and ultimately improving the fastening effect of the battery 300.” (0063); the battery pack comprises a first cable tie (first positioning strip 420) (0021; 0071) and a second cable tie (second positioning strip 440) (0021; 0071), and the first cable tie and the second cable tie both surround an outer side of the battery cell arrangement structure (Fig. 5).
Wen does not teach a tensile strength of the first cable tie is greater than a tensile strength of the second cable tie, and an elastic modulus of the first cable tie is greater than an elastic modulus of the second cable tie: and the first cable tie and the second cable tie are arranged in the height direction of the battery module, and the second cable tie is close to one end of the battery module that is fixedly connected to the box.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the tensile strength of the first and second cable tie and an elastic modulus of the first and second cable tie in order for the matching portions to connect together (0059) (matching portion 520; second connecting portion 530) in the battery module. Additionally, “the connection between the first connecting portion 510 and the matching portion 520 is smoother, thereby preventing stress concentration and other problems from occurring at the connection position between the two, making the deformation ability of the flexible fixing belt 500 better, and ultimately improving the fastening effect of the battery 300.” (0063).
Therefore, the materials of the first cable ties and the materials of the second cable ties would determine the tensile strength and the elastic modulus of the cable ties.In the prior art of record, Wen et al., teaches that the cable tie (flexible fixing band 500) can be a strip made of metal material with a thin thickness, such as a “steel strip.” (0060).
The relative tensile strengths of the strips (cable ties) are necessarily present, as the materials in Wen are made of a metal, one of which is designated as “steel.”
Regarding claim 5, Wen et al., teaches a step part is formed between the first mating part and the second mating part, and in the height direction (0023; 0060; 0073), the mounting beam abuts against the step part (ref. 511; mating portion connecting section) (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Wen et al., teaches the battery module comprises a third cable tie (positioning strip: 420, 440) (0021; 0023; 0025), and in the height direction (0021; 0023; 0025), the third cable tie surrounds an upper part of the battery cell arrangement structure that is far away from the mounting beam (mounting groove 410).
Regarding claim 7, Wen et al., teaches the end plate (end plate ref. 100, 200) is provided with a fourth mounting groove (mounting groove) (0013).
Wen et al., does not teach the third cable tie has a sixth thickness T6, and a depth of the fourth mounting groove is T7, where 0<T7-T6<0.5 mm.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the thickness of the first and second mating part (matching portion) in order for the matching portions to connect together (0059) (matching portion 520; second connecting portion 530) in the battery module. Additionally, “the connection between the first connecting portion 510 and the matching portion 520 is smoother, thereby preventing stress concentration and other problems from occurring at the connection position between the two, making the deformation ability of the flexible fixing belt 500 better, and ultimately improving the fastening effect of the battery 300.” (0063).
Wen does not teach a tensile strength of the first cable tie is greater than a tensile strength of the second cable tie, and an elastic modulus of the first cable tie is greater than an elastic modulus of the second cable tie; and the first cable tie and the second cable tie are arranged in the height direction of the battery module, and the second cable tie is close to one end of the battery module that is fixedly connected to the box.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the tensile strength of the first and second cable tie and an elastic modulus of the first and second cable tie in order for the matching portions to connect together (0059) (matching portion 520; second connecting portion 530) in the battery module. Additionally, “the connection between the first connecting portion 510 and the matching portion 520 is smoother, thereby preventing stress concentration and other problems from occurring at the connection position between the two, making the deformation ability of the flexible fixing belt 500 better, and ultimately improving the fastening effect of the battery 300.” (0063).
Regarding claim 9, Wen does not teach the end plate is provided with a second mounting groove and a third mounting groove, and in the height direction of the batter, module, the second mounting groove is located above the third mounting groove; a portion of the first cable tie is located at the second mounting groove, and a portion of the second cable tie is located at the third mounting groove; in the length direction, a depth of the second mounting groove is T4, a depth of the third mounting groove is T5; and a thickness of the first cable tie is T1, and a thickness of the second cable tie is T2, where 0<T4-T1<0.5 mm, and 0<T5-T2<0.5 mm.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the depths of the mounting grooves and mating part (matching portion) in order for the matching portions to connect together (0059) (matching portion 520; second connecting portion 530) in the battery module “which has improved safety during vibration testing and subsequent use” (0008).
Regarding claim 10, Wen does not teach wherein the second mounting groove has a first center line 01, and a first distance H1 is provided between the first center line 01 and a lower end face of the end plate; the third mounting groove has a second center line 02, and a second distance H2 is provided between the second center line 02 and the lower end face; and the end plate has a first height L1;
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the mounting groove and end plate in the battery module “which has improved safety during vibration testing and subsequent use” (0008).
Regarding claim 11, Wen does not teach wherein the thickness of the first mating part is tl, and the thickness of the second mating part is t2, where ti>t2>1/3ti.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the thickness of the first and second mating part (matching portion) in order for the matching portions to connect together (0059) (matching portion 520; second connecting portion 530) in the battery module “which has improved safety during vibration testing and subsequent use” (0008).
Regarding claim 12, Wen does not teach wherein in the height direction, the end plate has a first height Li, and the second mating part has a second height L2, where L2<1/3L1.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the heights of the end plate and mating part (matching portion) in order for the matching portions to connect together (0059) (matching portion 520; second connecting portion 530) in the battery module “which has improved safety during vibration testing and subsequent use” (0008).
Regarding claim 13, Wen et al., teaches an apparatus (0002), battery cells being used as a power supply (0004), and the apparatus comprising: a power source (0004), the power source being configured to provide driving force for the apparatus; and wherein the battery module (0025) comprises: a battery cell arrangement structure comprising a plurality of battery cells stacked on each other (0068);
wherein the battery pack (0004) comprises: a box and the battery module (0004; 0025), and the battery module being fixed in the box (0025); wherein a mounting beam (mounting groove) (0013; 0021) is disposed in a cavity of the box (0025), and in the length direction of the battery module (0018; 0021; 0066), the mounting beam is located at the end part of the battery cell arrangement structure (0013; 0021); and in the length direction (0018; 0021; 0066) and a preset gap t is provided (0019; 0060; 0069).
Wen does not teach a thickness of the second mating part is smaller than a thickness of the first mating part and the second mating part has a fifth bottom wall, and the fifth bottom wall is mated with the mounting beam; ); wherein the battery pack comprises a first cable tie (positioning strip) and a second cable tie (positioning strip), and the first cable tie (positioning strip 420) and the second cable tie (positioning strip 440) both surround an outer side of the battery cell arrangement structure (Fig. 2, 5);
Wen does not teach a thickness of the second mating part is smaller than a thickness of the first mating part, a thickness direction is parallel to the length direction (Fig. 1, X-direction).
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the thickness of the first and second mating part (matching portion) in order for the matching portions to connect together (0059) (matching portion 520; second connecting portion 530) in the battery module. Additionally, “the connection between the first connecting portion 510 and the matching portion 520 is smoother, thereby preventing stress concentration and other problems from occurring at the connection position between the two, making the deformation ability of the flexible fixing belt 500 better, and ultimately improving the fastening effect of the battery 300.” (0063); the battery pack comprises a first cable tie (first positioning strip 420) (0021; 0071) and a second cable tie (second positioning strip 440) (0021; 0071), and the first cable tie and the second cable tie both surround an outer side of the battery cell arrangement structure (Fig. 5).
Wen does not teach a tensile strength of the first cable tie is greater than a tensile strength of the second cable tie, and an elastic modulus of the first cable tie is greater than an elastic modulus of the second cable tie: and the first cable tie and the second cable tie are arranged in the height direction of the battery module, and the second cable tie is close to one end of the battery module that is fixedly connected to the box.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the tensile strength of the first and second cable tie and an elastic modulus of the first and second cable tie in order for the matching portions to connect together (0059) (matching portion 520; second connecting portion 530) in the battery module. Additionally, “the connection between the first connecting portion 510 and the matching portion 520 is smoother, thereby preventing stress concentration and other problems from occurring at the connection position between the two, making the deformation ability of the flexible fixing belt 500 better, and ultimately improving the fastening effect of the battery 300.” (0063).
Regarding claim 14, Wen et al., does not teach the thickness of the first mating part is tl, and the thickness of the second mating part is t2, where tl>t2>l/3t1.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the thickness of the first and second mating part (matching portion) in order for the matching portions to connect together (0059) (matching portion 520; second connecting portion 530) in the battery module “which has improved safety during vibration testing and subsequent use” (0008).
Regarding claim 15, Wen does not teach wherein in the height direction, the end plate has a first height LI, and the second mating part has a second height L2, where L2<1/3L1.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the heights of the end plate and mating part (matching portion) in order for the matching portions to connect together (0059) (matching portion 520; second connecting portion 530) in the battery module “which has improved safety during vibration testing and subsequent use” (0008).
Regarding claim 16, Wen et al., teaches a step part is formed between the first mating part (positioning strip) and the second mating part (positioning strip), and in the height direction (0060), the mounting beam abuts against the step part (0021; 0025; 0068).
Regarding claim 17, Wen et al., teaches the battery module comprises a third cable tie (positioning strip) (0021) and in the height direction (0060), the third cable tie (positioning strip) (0021) surrounds an upper part of the battery cell arrangement structure that is far away from the mounting beam (mounting gap 410; mounting slot) (0068).
Regarding claim 18, Wen et al., teaches, wherein the end plate is provided with a fourth mounting groove (0013; 0021; 0025; 0058.
Wen does not teach a portion of the third cable tie is located at the fourth mounting groove; and the third cable tie has a sixth thickness T6, and a depth of the fourth mounting groove is T7, where 0<T7-T6<0.5 mm.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the cable tie and mounting groove and the thickness of the cable tie, in order for the matching portions to connect together (0059) (matching portion 520; second connecting portion 530) in the battery module. Additionally, “the connection between the first connecting portion 510 and the matching portion 520 is smoother, thereby preventing stress concentration and other problems from occurring at the connection position between the two, making the deformation ability of the flexible fixing belt 500 better, and ultimately improving the fastening effect of the battery 300.” (0063).
Regarding claim 20, Wen et al., teaches the end plate (0010-0011) is provided with a second mounting groove (0013; 0021; 0025; 0058) and a third mounting groove (0013; 0021; 0025; 0058), and in the height direction of the battery module (0060).
Wen et al., does not teach the second mounting groove is located above the third mounting groove; a portion of the first cable tie is located at the second mounting groove, and a portion of the second cable tie is located at the third mounting groove; in the length direction,
Wen et al., does not teach a depth of the mounting grooves (T4, T5): and a thickness of the first cable tie is T1. and a thickness of the second cable tie is T2, where 0<T4-T1 <0.5 mm, and 0<T5-T2<0.5 mm.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the thickness of the first and second mating part (matching portion) in order for the matching portions to connect together (0059) (matching portion 520; second connecting portion 530) in the battery module, as well as the depth of the mounting groove. Additionally, “the connection between the first connecting portion 510 and the matching portion 520 is smoother, thereby preventing stress concentration and other problems from occurring at the connection position between the two, making the deformation ability of the flexible fixing belt 500 better, and ultimately improving the fastening effect of the battery 300.” (0063).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that “Wen fails to disclose the following feature,
(a) the battery pack comprises a first cable tie and a second cable tie, and the first cable tie and the second cable tie both surround entire outer side of the battery cell arrangement structure;
(b) a tensile strength of the first cable tie is greater than a tensile strength of the second cable tie, and an elastic modulus of the first cable tie is greater than an elastic modulus of the second cable tie;
(c) the first cable tie and the second cable tie are arranged in the height direction of the battery module, and the second cable tie is close to one end of the battery module that is fixedly connected to the box.”
However, the tensile strength of the cable ties and the elastic modulus of the cable ties are dependent on the material of the cable ties and the thickness of the cable ties. For example, in the Specification of the Application:
“[0077] The first cable tie 121 may be specifically a metal material, and the second cable tie 122 may be specifically a plastic material. For a first cable tie 121 and a second cable tie 122 with the same volume, a weight of the second cable tie 122 is smaller than a weight of the first cable tie 121.”
“[0094] More specifically, the foregoing first cable tie 121 may be a metal material, and the foregoing second cable tie 122 may be a plastic material. For example, the material of the first cable tie 121 may specifically be metal such as stainless steel, aluminum, or carbon steel, and the material of the second cable tie 122 may specifically be non-metal such as PET (polyester) plastic. It can be understood that a tensile strength
15 of the first cable tie 121 with the metal material is greater than a tensile strength of the second cable tie 122 with the plastic material. Meanwhile, an elastic modulus of the first cable tie 121 with the metal material is greater than an elastic modulus of the second cable tie 122 with the plastic material. In a possible design, as shown in FIG. 20, in the height direction Z of the battery module 1, at least a portion of the first cable
20 tie 121 abuts against the second cable tie 122, that is, in the height direction Z, there is an overlap between the first cable tie 121 and the second cable tie 122, and the two abut against each other at the overlapping position. When there is relative movement between the first cable tie 121 and the second cable tie 122, there is frictional resistance at the position where the two abut against each other, thereby reducing tendency of the 25 relative movement of the two.”
Therefore, the materials of the first cable ties and the materials of the second cable ties would determine the tensile strength and the elastic modulus of the cable ties. In the prior art of record, Wen et al., teaches that the material of the cable tie (flexible fixing band 500) can be a strip made of metal material with a thin thickness, such as a “steel strip.” (0060).
In the prior art of record, Wen et al., teaches that the cable tie (flexible fixing band 500) can be a strip made of metal material with a thin thickness, such as a “steel strip.” (0060).
The relative tensile strengths of the strips (cable ties) are necessarily present, as the materials in Wen are made of a metal, one of which is designated as “steel.”
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727