DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-8, 13, 30, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Qin, US Patent No. 11,394,382.
In reference to claim 1, Qin teaches an apparatus (Figures 3, 4, 5) comprising:
a driver circuit (Figure 5, 3022) having a power terminal (Figure 5, section of 3022 connected to VOUT), a driver input (Figure 5, VS_NT), a reference terminal (Figure 5, U1), and a driver output (Figure 5, 11);
a transistor (Figure 5, MP4) having a control terminal (Figure 5, input from 11) and a current terminal (Figure 5, input from VS through MP1), the control terminal coupled to the driver output; and
a circuit coupled between the current terminal and the power terminal (Figure 3, 303, Figure 4, 303, Figure 5, MN3), the circuit configurable to transfer charge from the current terminal (Figures 3-5 VS) to the power terminal (Figures 3-5, VOUT).
In reference to claim 3, Qin teaches wherein the transistor is a first transistor, the control terminal is a first control terminal, and the circuit includes a second transistor (Figure 5, MP3) coupled between the current terminal and the power terminal (Figure 5, MP3 is between VS and VOUT indirectly), the second transistor having a second control terminal coupled to the reference terminal (Figure 5, control for MP3).
In reference to claim 7, Qin teaches a diode between the current terminal and power terminal (Figure 5, ZD3 is between VS and VOUT indirectly).
In reference to claim 8, Qin teaches wherein the drain-derived supply circuitry includes a diode (Figure 5, Diode ZD3) with an anode and a cathode, the anode is coupled to the second current terminal, the cathode is coupled to the first switch terminal (Figure 5 shows the anode of ZD3 indirectly coupled to drain of MP2 and the cathode indirectly coupled to the output terminal of the load switch circuit).
In reference to claim 13, Qin teaches wherein the transistor includes a field-effect transistor or a bipolar transistor (Column 4, lines 53-61).
In reference to claim 30, Qin teaches wherein the circuit is configurable to transfer the charge responsive to at least one of: a voltage drop across the transistor, a voltage increase of the reference terminal, or a voltage transient at the control terminal (Column 8, lines 49-59).
In reference to claim 31, Qin teaches wherein the circuit is configurable to maintain a voltage across the power terminal and the reference terminal within a range when the transistor is to be turned on (column 8, lines 30-40).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-23 and 25-29 are allowed.
Claims 4-6, 9-12, and 32-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In reference to claims 4-6, in an apparatus (Figures 3, 4, 5) comprising:
a driver circuit (Figure 5, 3022) having a power terminal (Figure 5, section of 3022 connected to VOUT), a driver input (Figure 5, VS_NT), a reference terminal (Figure 5, U1), and a driver output (Figure 5, 11);
a transistor (Figure 5, MP4) having a control terminal (Figure 5, input from 11) and a current terminal (Figure 5, input from VS through MP1), the control terminal coupled to the driver output; and
a circuit coupled between the current terminal and the power terminal (Figure 3, 303, Figure 4, 303, Figure 5, MN3), the circuit configurable to transfer charge from the current terminal (Figures 3-5 VS) to the power terminal (Figures 3-5, VOUT);
prior art or record does not teach or clearly suggest wherein the current terminal is a first current terminal, the second transistor has a second current terminal coupled to the first current terminal, the second transistor has a third current terminal, and the circuit includes: a resistor having first and second resistor terminals, wherein the first resistor terminal is coupled to the third current terminal; and a third transistor having a fourth current terminal and a third control terminal, wherein the fourth current terminal is coupled to the first resistor terminal and the third current terminal, and the third control terminal is coupled to the second resistor terminal.
In reference to claims 9-12, in an apparatus (Figures 3, 4, 5) comprising:
a driver circuit (Figure 5, 3022) having a power terminal (Figure 5, section of 3022 connected to VOUT), a driver input (Figure 5, VS_NT), a reference terminal (Figure 5, U1), and a driver output (Figure 5, 11);
a transistor (Figure 5, MP4) having a control terminal (Figure 5, input from 11) and a current terminal (Figure 5, input from VS through MP1), the control terminal coupled to the driver output; and
a circuit coupled between the current terminal and the power terminal (Figure 3, 303, Figure 4, 303, Figure 5, MN3), the circuit configurable to transfer charge from the current terminal (Figures 3-5 VS) to the power terminal (Figures 3-5, VOUT);
prior art or record does not teach or clearly suggest wherein the switch has a switch control terminal, the driver circuit is a first driver circuit, the driver input 1s a first driver input, the driver output is a first driver output, and the apparatus further comprises: a second driver circuit having a second driver input and a second driver output, the second driver output coupled to the switch control terminal, and the first driver input coupled to the second driver input.
In reference to claims 32-33, in an apparatus (Figures 3, 4, 5) comprising:
a driver circuit (Figure 5, 3022) having a power terminal (Figure 5, section of 3022 connected to VOUT), a driver input (Figure 5, VS_NT), a reference terminal (Figure 5, U1), and a driver output (Figure 5, 11);
a transistor (Figure 5, MP4) having a control terminal (Figure 5, input from 11) and a current terminal (Figure 5, input from VS through MP1), the control terminal coupled to the driver output; and
a circuit coupled between the current terminal and the power terminal (Figure 3, 303, Figure 4, 303, Figure 5, MN3), the circuit configurable to transfer charge from the current terminal (Figures 3-5 VS) to the power terminal (Figures 3-5, VOUT);
prior art or record does not teach or clearly suggest a diode bridge coupled between the power terminal and the reference terminal, the diode bridge coupled to a first capacitor terminal and a second capacitor terminal.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In reference to claims 21-23 and 25-29, prior art of record does not teach or clearly suggest a system comprising: relay circuitry coupled to a battery charging terminal;
relay driver circuitry coupled to the relay circuitry; and switch circuitry coupled to the relay driver circuitry, the switch circuitry including: a driver circuit having a power terminal, a reference terminal, a driver input, and a driver output; a capacitor coupled between the power terminal and the reference terminal: a transistor having a control terminal and a current terminal, the control terminal coupled to the driver output; and a circuit coupled between the current terminal and the power terminal, the circuit configurable to transfer charge from the current terminal to the capacitor.
Conclusion
/B.B/ Examiner, Art Unit 2851
/JACK CHIANG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2851