DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed January 12, 2026 has been fully considered and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 9, 22, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Novack et al. (AU 692813 B2) in view of Yagi et al. (6,269,210), further in view of Fukuzawa et al. (4,973,129).
Regarding claim 1, Novack discloses a coated optical fiber (Fig. 1) comprising: a glass optical fiber comprising a fiber core (12A) and a cladding (12B) surrounding the fiber core; a polymer coating (14) surrounding the glass optical fiber along a first end region defining a first end configured to be coupled to an optical fiber connector and a second region extending away from the first end region (page 7, lines 10-15, describes during the process of connectorization, “buffer 16 is stripped from a predetermined length of a terminal end of optical fiber” which would include a first end region defining a first end surface of the coated optical fiber as well as a second region extending away from the first end region); wherein the polymer coating is a single layer without additional layers adhered to the polymer coating (see claim 20 – the buffer is removed from the protective polymer coating; thus the portion of optical fiber to be interconnected comprises only the optical fiber 12 and protective coating 14 without additional layers adhered) wherein the polymer coating has a thickness between 0.1 µm and 10 µm (page 14, lines 15-17) and a high hardness in order to protect the optical fiber (see abstract).
Still regarding claim 1, Novack teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the shore D hardness value, pencil hardness value and elastic modulus. However, Novack discloses that a high degree of hardness is essential to protect the optical fiber from any mechanical forces during the handling process and subsequent bonding with adhesive to a connector or splicing device on page 7, line 8 to page 8, line 28. As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to maximize the hardness of the protective coating and arrive at the claimed shore D hardness, pencil hardness and elastic modulus in order to enhance protection of the optical fiber while minimizing connection loss, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Still regarding claim 1, Novack teaches the claimed invention except for the coating having a concentricity relative to the fiber core. Yagi discloses an optical fiber having a core (13a), a cladding (13b) and a coating (14) which has a concentricity relative to the core ranging between 0.1 µm and 0.5 µm in Table 4. Since both of the inventions relate to optical fibers, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to form the coating having a concentricity relative to the core as disclosed by Yagi in the device of Novack for the purpose of reducing splice loss.
Still regarding claim 1, the proposed combination of Novack and Yagi teaches the claimed invention except for the second region extending away from the optical fiber connector. Fukuzawa discloses a coated optical fiber (Fig. 1) comprising a fiber core (2A), a cladding (2B), and a polymer coating (3) which is a single layer without additional layers adhered to the polymer coating along a first end region and a second end region abutting the first end region and extending away from the first end region for a length such that a portion of the second region extends away from the optical fiber connector when the connector is connected to the coated optical fiber (column 4, lines 21-41 describe a single layer jacket 3 made of a hard resin without additional layers adhered thereto; column 2, lines 49-56 describe the resin layer jacket need not be peeled and can be directly contact-bonded to a connector, implying there would be a second region abutting the first connectorized region and extending away from said first region). Since all of the inventions relate to optical fibers, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have a second region extending away from the optical fiber connector as disclosed by Fukuzawa in the device of the proposed combination of Novack and Yagi for the purpose increasing the versatility of the connectorization process.
Regarding claim 2, the proposed combination of Novack, Yagi and Fukuzawa teaches the claimed invention except for the material of the polymer coating. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form the polymer coating from the claimed materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 3, the proposed combination of Novack, Yagi and Fukuzawa teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the claimed concentricity. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed concentricity in order to reduce splice loss, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6, Novack further discloses a ferrule having a front end, a rear end, and a ferrule bore extending between the front end and the rear end, wherein the coated optical fiber is positioned within the ferrule (see page 1, line 28 to page 2, line 3; since the fiber is described as being “fixed into” the ferrule, the ferrule must have a front end, a rear end and a ferrule bore extending between the front end and the rear end). The proposed combination of Novack, Yagi and Fukuzawa teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the concentricity of the core to the ferrule. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed concentricity in order to reduce transmission loss, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 8, the proposed combination of Novack, Yagi and Fukuzawa teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the insertion loss. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed insertion loss in order to enhance transmission of the signal, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 9, the proposed combination of Novack, Yagi and Fukuzawa teaches the claimed invention except for the material of the polymer coating. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form the polymer coating from the claimed materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 22, the proposed combination of Novack, Yagi and Fukuzawa teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the deviation of the thickness of the polymer coating. However, Novack discusses loss due to radial movement of the coated fiber inside the connector or splicing device. Since Novack recognizes that signal loss may arise due to misalignment, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to minimize the deviation of the thickness of the polymer coating and arrive at the claimed deviation value in order to minimize signal loss, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 23, Novack discloses an outer diameter of the coated optical fiber along the first end region and the second region is substantially the same, since the buffer is removed along the entire predetermined length, leaving only the thin polymer coating. Fukuzawa also discloses an outer diameter of the coated optical fiber along the first end region and the second region is substantially the same in Fig. 1, since there are no additional layers along the entire length of the fiber.
Regarding claim 25, the proposed combination of Novack, Yagi and Fukuzawa teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the length of the coated optical fiber. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed length in order to transmit a signal to a desired location, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed January 12, 2026, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 February 5, 2026