Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
Newly submitted claims 56-58 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant application, the devices originally claimed can be operated without the procedure “using electrical currents higher than a predefined threshold value so as to cause melting of the narrow sections, thereby causing the narrow sections to no longer conduct electrically, so that defective elements acting as capacitors, the defective elements being are isolated, in a singulated form, from a plurality of elements of the multi-layer semiconductor device that are connected in parallel and act as capacitors”. The device Claims do not require using electrical currents higher than a predefined threshold value so as to cause melting of the narrow sections, thereby causing the narrow sections to no longer conduct electrically, so that defective elements acting as capacitors, the defective elements being are isolated, in a singulated form, from a plurality of elements of the multi-layer semiconductor device that are connected in parallel and act as capacitors. Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, the above claim limitation is treated as “the narrow sections acting as electrically conductive connection paths in an electrically conductive layer on an insulating layer of the multi-layer semiconductor device melt or sublimate at an electrical current higher than a predefined threshold current value, and thereby are no longer electrically conducting, whereby defective pit R-C capacitor-resistors are isolated, in a singulated fashion, isolated from the plurality of paralleled pit R-C capacitor-resistors of the multi-layer semiconductor; wherein a current flow at or above the predefined threshold current value through a respective narrow section causes the paralleled pit R-C capacitor-resistors as passive relief device to become defective. In other words, melting is a consequence when a sufficiently high current is applied, rather than a necessary procedure to operate the power module.
Claim Rejections Withdrawal
Applicant’s amendment of Claims 36 and 55 is acknowledged. Thus, the rejection under 112(b) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 36-58 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burke (U. S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0182750) of record, in view of Schrems (U. S. Patent No. 6,310,375), in view of Zhang (WO 2021134889) of record.
Regarding Claim 36
FIG. 2 of Burke discloses a power module comprising a semiconductor RC snubber (130) which is integrated into the power module and which is electrically connected to a power switching device (100), the semiconductor RC snubber (FIG. 1) comprising:(a) a semiconductor layer (102), a first side of the semiconductor layer comprising a plurality of depressions (122); (b) an insulating layer (126) deposited on the first side of the semiconductor layer and extending into the pits; (c) a first electrically conductive layer (124) for contacting the semiconductor RC snubber, the first electrically conductive layer deposited on the insulating layer; and.
Burke is silent with respect to “a second electrically conductive layer deposited on a second side of the semiconductor layer located opposite to the first side”; “the first electrically conductive layer deposited on the insulating layer and extending into, but not filling, the pits”; and “the insulating layer has thickenings in opening areas of the pits, a respective thickening defining a conductive region having a narrowed cross-section in the first electrically conductive layer” and “the regions having a narrowed cross-section each have a first diameter, wherein each pit has, at least sectionwise, a second diameter in the opening area of the respective pit, wherein a ratio (d1:d2) of the first diameter (d1) to the second diameter (d2) is between 1:2 and 1:20”.
FIG. 5 of Schrems discloses a similar semiconductor RC snubber, comprising: (a) a semiconductor layer (101), a first side of the semiconductor layer comprising a plurality of depressions (108) as pits; (b) an insulating layer (164+168) deposited on the first side of the semiconductor layer and extending into the pits; (c) a first electrically conductive layer (161) for contacting the semiconductor RC snubber, the first electrically conductive layer being deposited on the insulating layer and extending into, but not filling (void 172), the pits defining pit portions of the first electrically conductive laver; wherein the insulating layer has thickenings in opening areas of the pits, a respective thickening defining a narrowed conductive region having a narrowed cross-section in the first electrically conductive layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Burke, as taught by Schrems. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Burke in the above manner for purpose of enhancing trench capacitance (Col. 13, Lines10-24 of Schrems).
Burke as modified by Schrems is silent with respect to “a second electrically conductive layer deposited on a second side of the semiconductor layer located opposite to the first side” and “the regions having a narrowed cross-section each have a first diameter, wherein each pit has, at least sectionwise, a second diameter in the opening area of the respective pit, wherein a ratio (d1:d2) of the first diameter (d1) to the second diameter (d2) is between 1:2 and 1:20”
FIG. 3b of Zhang discloses a similar semiconductor RC snubber, comprising: (a) a semiconductor layer (101-102), a first side of the semiconductor layer comprising a plurality of depressions (120) as pits; (b) an insulating layer (121) deposited on the first side of the semiconductor layer and extending into the pits; (c) a first electrically conductive layer (122) for contacting the semiconductor device, the first electrically conductive layer being deposited on the insulating layer and extending into, but not filling (void 152), the pits defining pit portions of the first electrically conductive laver; and (d) a second electrically conductive layer (144, FIG. 2h) deposited on a second side of the semiconductor layer located opposite to the first side; wherein the insulating layer has thickenings in opening areas of the pits, a respective thickening defining a narrowed conductive region (as shown by a of FIG. 3b) having a narrowed cross-section in the first electrically conductive layer; wherein each pit has, at least sectionwise, a second diameter in the opening area of the respective pit, wherein a ratio (d1:d2 = a:b) of a first diameter to the second diameter of the conductive region having the narrowed cross-section is between 1:2 and 1:20 (the width of the groove is 1 – 5 µm, the width of the insulating layer is 0.1 – 2 µm, the thickness of the first electrically conductive layer is 50 to 2000 nanometer, Claims 5 and 7). Furthermore, said ratio is related to the melting current and the capacitance. Therefore, said ratio is considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to a specific ratio therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Burke, as taught by Zhang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Burke in the above manner for purpose of reducing leakage and withstand voltage (Page 8 of Zhang).
Regarding Claim 37
Zhang discloses the regions having a narrowed cross-section in the first electrically conductive layer each have a first diameter between 100.0 nm and 2.0 µm (the first diameter equals twice of thickness of the first electrically conductive layer, that is 50 to 2000 nanometer).
Regarding Claim 38
FIG. 3b of Zhang discloses the ratio (d1:d2 = a:b) of the first diameter to the second diameter is between 1:5 and 1:15 (the width of the groove is 1 – 5 µm, the width of the insulating layer is 0.1 – 2 µm, the thickness of the first electrically conductive layer is 50 to 2000 nanometer, Claims 5 and 7).
Regarding Claim 39
FIG. 3b of Zhang discloses the insulating layer (121) has, sectionwise, a first a layer thickness, and the thickenings of the insulating layer have a second layer thickness, wherein a ratio of the first layer thickness to the second layer thickness is between 100:105 and 100:150 (the width of the insulating layer is 0.1 – 2 µm, the inner width of the cavity minus the value of the opening width of the cavity of greater than or equal to 30 nanometer (Claims 7 and 13).
Regarding Claim 40
FIG. 2 of Burke discloses the plurality of depressions (122) as pits are formed on a first surface of the semiconductor layer (102), and the second electrically conductive layer (106) is deposited on a second surface of the semiconductor layer.
Regarding Claim 41
The recitation “the conductive region having a narrowed cross-section is adapted to melt when a current above a threshold value flows through the conductive region, and wherein the conductive region is further adapted so that current can no longer be conducted through the conductive region (having a narrowed cross-section) after the narrowed cross-section has melted” is only a statement of the inherent properties of the product. The structure recited in Zhang is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01-02. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims< directed to >an< apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. >In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997)
Regarding Claim 42
FIG. 3b of Zhang discloses a cavity (which is not filled with electrically conductive material and which is formed below the conductive region having a narrowed cross-section). The recitation “the cavity is arranged so that when the conductive region having a narrowed cross-section melts, molten material from the region is deposited in the cavity” is only a statement of the inherent properties of the product. The structure recited in Zhang is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01-02. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims< directed to >an< apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. >In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding Claim 43
Burke discloses the power switching device is configured for switching high electronic currents of between 1A and 1,000A and/or high voltages above 24V or 100V [0002].
Regarding Claim 44
FIG. 2 of Burke discloses the power switching device comprises a power diode, power thyristor or power transistor [0007].
Regarding Claim 45
FIG. 2 of Burke discloses the RC snubber comprises a capacitor and a resistor.
Regarding Claim 46
FIG. 1 of Burke discloses the plurality of depressions (122) form a plurality of pit capacitors which are connected in parallel with each other.
Regarding Claim 47
FIG. 2 of Burke discloses the RC snubber (130) is connected in parallel with the power switching device (100). The recitation “so as to reduce oscillations and voltage peaks during switching of the power switching device” is only a statement of the inherent properties of the product. The structure recited in Burke is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01-02. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims< directed to >an< apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. >In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding Claim 48
FIG. 2 of Burke discloses a power module comprising a semiconductor RC snubber (130) which is integrated into the power module and which is electrically connected with at least one deactivatable power semiconductor device (100), the semiconductor RC snubber (FIG. 1) comprising:(a) a semiconductor layer (102), a first side of the semiconductor layer comprising a plurality of depressions (122); (b) an electrically conductive layer (106) deposited on a second side of the semiconductor layer located opposite to the first side; (c) an insulating layer (126) deposited on the first side of the semiconductor layer; (d) a further electrically conductive layer (124) for contacting the semiconductor device (3), the further electrically conductive layer deposited on the insulating layer.
Burke is silent with respect to “an insulating layer deposited on the first side of the semiconductor layer and extending into the pits”; “the further electrically conductive layer having a plurality of narrow sections” and “the plurality of narrow sections each have a first diameter (d1), wherein each pit has, at least sectionwise, a second diameter (d2) in the opening area of the respective pit, wherein a ratio (d1:d2) of the first diameter (d1) to the second diameter (d2) is between 1:2 and 1:20”.
FIG. 5 of Schrems discloses a similar semiconductor RC snubber, comprising: (a) a semiconductor layer (101), a first side of the semiconductor layer comprising a plurality of depressions (108) as pits; (b) an insulating layer (164+168) deposited on the first side of the semiconductor layer and extending into the pits; (c) a first electrically conductive layer (161) for contacting the semiconductor RC snubber, the first electrically conductive layer being deposited on the insulating layer and extending into, but not filling (void 172), the pits defining pit portions of the first electrically conductive laver; wherein the insulating layer has thickenings in opening areas of the pits, a respective thickening defining a narrowed conductive region having a narrowed cross-section in the first electrically conductive layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Burke, as taught by Schrems. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Burke in the above manner for purpose of enhancing trench capacitance (Col. 13, Lines10-24 of Schrems).
Burke as modified by Schrems is silent with respect to “an insulating layer deposited on the first side of the semiconductor layer and extending into the pits”; and “the plurality of narrow sections each have a first diameter (d1), wherein each pit has, at least sectionwise, a second diameter (d2) in the opening area of the respective pit, wherein a ratio (d1:d2) of the first diameter (d1) to the second diameter (d2) is between 1:2 and 1:20”.
FIG. 3b of Zhang discloses a similar semiconductor RC snubber, comprising: (a) a semiconductor layer (101-102), a first side of the semiconductor layer comprising a plurality of depressions (120) as pits; (b) an insulating layer (121) deposited on the first side of the semiconductor layer and extending into the pits; (c) a further electrically conductive layer (122) for contacting the semiconductor device, the further electrically conductive layer being deposited on the insulating layer and extending into, but not filling (void 152), the pits defining pit portions of the first electrically conductive laver; and (d) an electrically conductive layer (144, FIG. 2h) deposited on a second side of the semiconductor layer located opposite to the first side; wherein the further electrically conductive layer having a plurality of narrow sections (as shown by a of FIG. 3b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Burke, as taught by Zhang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Burke in the above manner for purpose of reducing leakage and withstand voltage (Page 8 of Zhang).
Regarding Claim 49
FIG. 3b of Zhang discloses each of the narrow sections (a) connects a smaller area portion to a larger area portion in an electrically conductive manner, and is capable of disconnecting the smaller area portion in an electrically separating manner.
Regarding Claim 50
FIG. 3b of Zhang discloses at least some of the narrow sections (a) are located in the depressions (120).
Regarding Claim 51
FIG. 3b of Zhang discloses the insulating layer (121) has thickenings in opening areas of the depressions (120).
Regarding Claim 52
FIG. 3b of Zhang discloses the thickenings in opening areas of the depressions (120) correspond to the narrow sections of the further electrically conductive layer (122).
Regarding Claim 53
FIG. 3b of Zhang discloses below each of the narrow sections (a) a cavity (151) is formed in the depression (120).
Regarding Claim 54
FIG. 3b of Zhang discloses a cavity (which is not filled with electrically conductive material and which is formed below the conductive region having a narrowed cross-section). The recitation “melting of one of the narrow sections melts material that enters the cavity located therebelow in the depression” is only a statement of the inherent properties of the product. The structure recited in Zhang is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01-02. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims< directed to >an< apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. >In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding Claim 55
FIG. 3b of Zhang discloses the plurality of depressions (120) as pits are formed on a first surface of the semiconductor layer (102), and (FIG. 2h) the second electrically conductive layer (144) is deposited on a second surface of the semiconductor layer.
Regarding Claim 56
FIG. 2 of Burke discloses a method of operating a power module which includes a multi-layer semiconductor device and an RC snubber (130) which is integrated into the power module and which is electrically connected to a power switching device (100); an electrically conductive layer (124, FIG. 1) on an insulating layer (126) of the multi-layer semiconductor device.
Burke is silent with respect to “the RC snubber comprises narrow sections acting as electrical connection conductive paths”.
FIG. 3b of Zhang discloses a similar semiconductor RC snubber, comprising: (a) a semiconductor layer (101-102), a first side of the semiconductor layer comprising a plurality of depressions (120) as pits; (b) an insulating layer (121) deposited on the first side of the semiconductor layer and extending into the pits; (c) a further electrically conductive layer (122) for contacting the semiconductor device, the further electrically conductive layer being deposited on the insulating layer and extending into, but not filling (void 152), the pits defining pit portions of the first electrically conductive laver; and (d) an electrically conductive layer (144, FIG. 2h) deposited on a second side of the semiconductor layer located opposite to the first side; wherein the further electrically conductive layer having a plurality of narrow sections (as shown by a of FIG. 3b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Burke, as taught by Zhang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Burke in the above manner for purpose of reducing leakage and withstand voltage (Page 8 of Zhang).
With respect to “using electrical currents higher than a predefined threshold value so as to cause melting of the narrow sections, thereby causing the narrow sections to no longer conduct electrically, so that defective elements acting as capacitors, the defective elements being are isolated, in a singulated form, from a plurality of elements of the multi-layer semiconductor device that are connected in parallel and act as capacitors”, Burke discloses the power module is operated in high power [0002], and Zhang discloses the regions having a narrowed cross-section in the first electrically conductive layer each have a first diameter between 50.0 nm and 2.0 µm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the narrow section would be melted when an electrical current higher than a predefined threshold value is applied (fuse function), see Li (CN 113644055) of record for documentary evidence.
Regarding Claim 57
The recitation “the threshold value is between 20.0 mA and 500.0 mA” depends on the geometry and material of the narrowed cross-section. The structure recited in Zhang is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01-02. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims< directed to >an< apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. >In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Furthermore, Neyman (U. S. Patent Pub. 2019/0109454) discloses the threshold current value of a fuse is between 20.0 mA and 500.0 mA [0049].
Regarding Claim 58
FIG. 3b of Zhang discloses a cavity (which is not filled with electrically conductive material and which is formed below the conductive region having a narrowed cross-section). The recitation “melting of one of the narrow sections creates melted material that enters a cavity located below the narrow section” is only a statement of the inherent properties of the product. The structure recited in Zhang is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01-02. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims< directed to >an< apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. >In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding Claim 59
FIG. 3b of Zhang discloses the ratio (d1:d2 = a:b) of the first diameter to the second diameter is between 1:2 and 1:20 (the width of the groove is 1 – 5 µm, the width of the insulating layer is 0.1 – 2 µm, the thickness of the first electrically conductive layer is 50 to 2000 nanometer, Claims 5 and 7).
Regarding Claim 60
FIG. 3b of Zhang discloses the ratio (d1:d2 = a:b) of the first diameter to the second diameter is between 1:5 and 1:15 (the width of the groove is 1 – 5 µm, the width of the insulating layer is 0.1 – 2 µm, the thickness of the first electrically conductive layer is 50 to 2000 nanometer, Claims 5 and 7).
Pertinent Art
FIG. 3a of Oh (KR 100792403) discloses a semiconductor device for integration into a power module, the semiconductor device comprising: (a) a semiconductor layer (31), a first side of the semiconductor layer comprising a plurality of depressions (33) as pits; (b) an insulating layer (34) deposited on the first side of the semiconductor layer and extending into the pits; (c) a first electrically conductive layer (36) for contacting the semiconductor device, the first electrically conductive layer being deposited on the insulating layer and extending into, but not filling (void V’), the pits defining pit portions of the first electrically conductive laver. FIG. 3 of Marui (WO 2020025995) discloses a second electrically conductive layer (42) deposited on a second side of the semiconductor layer (10) located opposite to the first side; wherein the insulating layer (51/52) has thickenings in opening areas of the pits, a respective thickening defining a conductive region (23) having a narrowed cross-section in the first electrically conductive layer (text: the insulating protective film 51 and the insulating protective film 52 may be formed to have a shape in which the end protrudes inward from the side surface of the groove 100 at the opening of the groove 100). JP H01179443 and KR 100908823 each discloses a narrowed cross-section in the first electrically conductive layer. Bottcher (U. S. Patent Pub. 2021/0257502), DE 102014200869, CN 112534569 and EP 3886163 each discloses RC snubbers with recessed structures and a second electrically conductive layer deposited on a second side of the semiconductor layer opposite to the first side. FIG. 1 of Erlbacher discloses a power module comprising a semiconductor RC snubber which is integrated into the power module and which is electrically connected with at least one deactivatable power semiconductor device (S), the semiconductor RC snubber (FIG. 2) comprising:(a) a semiconductor layer (4), a first side of the semiconductor layer comprising a plurality of depressions; (b) an electrically conductive layer (8) deposited on a second side of the semiconductor layer located opposite to the first side; (c) an insulating layer (5) deposited on the first side of the semiconductor layer; (d) a further electrically conductive layer (6) for contacting the semiconductor device (3), the further electrically conductive layer deposited on the insulating layer. FIG. 3a of Oh (KR 100792403) discloses (a) a semiconductor layer (31), a first side of the semiconductor layer comprising a plurality of depressions (33) as pits; (b) an insulating layer (34) deposited on the first side of the semiconductor layer and extending into the pits; (c) a first electrically conductive layer (35) for contacting the semiconductor device, the first electrically conductive layer being deposited on the insulating layer and extending into, but not filling (void V’), the pits defining pit portions of the first electrically conductive laver. FIG. 4 of Sell (U. S. Patent Pub. 2004/0036102) discloses the insulating layer (9) has thickenings in opening areas of the pits, a respective thickening defining a conductive region having a narrowed cross-section in the first electrically conductive layer. Pertinent art also includes US 20170187078, US 20080076230, Marui (WO 2020025995) and JP 2000150830.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 36, 48 and 56 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. Applicant’s arguments with respect to Zhang is not persuasive. As shown in FIG. 4A of the application, d2 is defined as the width of the trench. Furthermore, said ratio is related to the melting current and the capacitance. Therefore, said ratio is considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to a specific ratio therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897