DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 6,8 and 21-25 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-5 are pending and examined as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi (US 20130092668A1) in view of Kurashige (US2016/0182871) in view of Tillkorn et al (US11169387B2).
With regards to claim 1, Hiroshi discloses a laser crystallization apparatus (laser crystallization apparatus, Title) comprising a plurality of light sources that emit a first laser beam and a second laser beam (first light source unit LS1 and second light source unit LS2, Fig. 1); a first beam homogenizer through which the first laser beam passes (first lens array OP1 through which laser from first light source unit LS1, Fig. 1); a second beam homogenizer through which the second laser beam passes (second lens array OP2 through which laser from second light source unit LS2, Fig. 1); and an optical array on which the first laser beam passed through the first beam homogenizer and the second laser beam passed through the second beam homogenizer are incident (optical system OR on which laser from LS1 and LS2 , Fig. 1), wherein a first path of the first laser beam passed through the first beam homogenizer and a second path of the second laser beam passed through the second beam homogenizer are different from each other (path of first light source unit LS1 and path of second light source unit LS2 are different from each other, Fig. 1), the first beam homogenizer comprises first lenses disposed to have a first pitch along a first direction, the second beam homogenizer comprises second lenses disposed to have a second pitch along the first direction, and the first pitch of the first lenses and the second pitch of the second lenses are same each other (a light refraction unit in the first lens set may have a first pitch, a light refraction unit in the second lens set may have a second pitch, and the first pitch may be equal to the second pitch, paragraph 0014, lines 1-3) and a central axis of the first lenses is shifted from a central axis of an adjacent one of the second lenses (the relative position of the first passing point CP1 relative to the corresponding light refraction unit P1 is different from the relative position of the second passing point CP2 relative to the corresponding light refraction unit P2, paragraph 0048, lines 7-9), the first beam homogenizer and the second beam homogenizer are arranged along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction as seen below:
Hiroshi does not disclose one lens of the first lenses has a first central axis, and the first central axis is substantially aligned with a boundary between adjacent lenses of the second lenses along the second direction.
Kurashige teaches one lens of the first lenses has a first central axis, and the first central axis is substantially aligned with a boundary between adjacent lenses of the second lenses along the second direction (first lens array 41 and second lens array 48 are adjacent to each other and have a central lens element 43 that are directly across from each other, Fig 7). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hiroshi and Kurashige before him or her, to modify each of the first and second lenses arrays of Hiroshi to include the central axis of Kurashige because combination allows for a laser apparatus having uniform illumination without a complicated optical system structure.
Hiroshi and Kurashige does not teach the first central axis is shifted by a difference less than the first pitch from a second central axis, extending in the second direction, of an adjacent lens of the second lenses.
Tillkorn et al teaches the first central axis is shifted by a difference less than the first pitch from a second central axis, extending in the second direction, of an adjacent lens of the second lenses as seen below:
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hiroshi, Kurashige and Tillkorn et al before him or her, to modify each of the first and second lenses arrays of Hiroshi and Kurashige to include the difference in central axis as taught by Tillkorn et al because combination allows for a laser apparatus having varied foci wherein uniform intensity distribution being obtained.
With regards to claim 2, Hiroshi discloses wherein a number of the first lenses and a number of the second lenses are different from each other (the number of light refraction units P2 of the second lens array OP2 may be more than the number of light refraction units P1 of the first lens array OP1, paragraph 0052, lines 9-10).
With regards to claim 3, Hiroshi discloses wherein one of the numbers of the first lenses and the number of the second lenses is an odd number, and the other of the number of the first lenses and the number of the second lenses is an even number (first lens array OP1 has an odd number of light refraction units P1 and the second lens array OP2 has an even number of light refractions units P2, Fig. 3).
With regards to claim 4, Hiroshi and Kurashige teach OP2 has a different number of refraction units P2 than the light refraction units P1 of first lens array OP1 therefore the central axis of each array OP1 and OP2 will be different (Fig. 3). Hiroshi and Kurashige does not teach a difference between a number of the first lenses and the number of a second lenses is one. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use the first and second arrays of Hiroshi and Kurashige since the applicant has not disclosed that a difference between a number of the first lenses and the number of a second lenses is one solves any problem or is for a particular reason. It appears that the claimed invention would perform equally well with the arrays of Hiroshi.
With regards to claim 5, Hiroshi discloses wherein a central axis of each of the first lenses and a central axis of each of the second lenses are different from each other (OP2 has a different number of refraction units P2 than the light refraction units P1 of first lens array OP1 therefore the central axis of each array OP1 and OP2 will be different, therefore the central axis would be different, Fig. 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argument: Applicant argues the prior art does not disclose or teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Examiners response: Claim 1 has been amended to include the limitation “the first central axis is shifted by a difference less than the first pitch from a second central axis, extending in the second direction, of an adjacent lens of the second lenses”. Tillkorn et al teaches the first central axis is shifted by a difference less than the first pitch from a second central axis, extending in the second direction, of an adjacent lens of the second lenses as seen below:
Applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose or teach “the first central axis of one lens of the first lenses is substantially aligned with a boundary between adjacent lenses of the second lenses along the second direction”. Kurashige teaches one lens of the first lenses has a first central axis, and the first central axis is substantially aligned with a boundary between adjacent lenses of the second lenses along the second direction (first lens array 41 and second lens array 48 are adjacent to each other and have a central lens element 43 that are directly across from each other, Fig 7). Kurashige teaches that the first lens array 41 and the second lens array 48 are adjacent to each other and therefore aligned along a boundary as claimed. Applicant argues the combination of Hiroshi and Kurashige would change the intended purpose of the invention but this is not true. Each of the arrays of Hiroshi can be modified to include a first and second lens array as taught by Kurashige. The modification would not destroy the combination or intended operation, because the addition of the arrays would allow for more uniformity and brightness.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J WARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761