DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 9/10/2025 has been entered.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 2-8 are as previously presented.
Claims 1-8 are still pending in this application, with claim 1 being independent.
Applicant's amendment overcomes the 7/24/2025 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-8.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use generic placeholders that are coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
Claim 1:
the limitation “delivery unit” is being interpreted as an arm, a suction pad disposed on an end of the arm, and a turning mechanism on another end of the arm, and equivalents thereof [p. 10, lines 7-10]
the limitation “image capturing unit having an optical system” is being interpreted as an objective lens, an image sensor, etc., and equivalents thereof [p. 12, line 1 – p. 13, line 4].
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended claim 1, which now requires a cassette (for storing a plurality of frame units each including a semiconductor wafer, a dicing tape and a frame), a rotatable chuck table (for holding a frame unit under suction), a delivery unit (for moving the frame units to the chuck table), and an image capturing unit (for capturing an image of a face side of a wafer in a frame unit held on the chuck table), on pp. 7-8 Applicant argues:
Moreover, it would not have been obvious to combine the features of Yoshii with Zhang since Zhang is directed to a polepiece cutting equipment in the lithium battery industry, and there would have been no reason to incorporate in a polepiece cutting equipment features of a laser processing apparatus for a semiconductor wafer, such as, a cassette for storing a plurality of frame units each including a semiconductor wafer, a dicing tape and a frame; a rotatable chuck table for holding a frame unit under suction; or a delivery unit for moving the frame units to the chuck table.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In the rejection of amended claim 1 below, Examiner has presented Zhang in view of Yoshii (now Yoshii ‘432), Willey, and Yoshii '189. Specifically, Zhang discloses a laser processing apparatus, but is mainly directed towards a dust/debris removal mechanism, or a dust hood, and only discloses that it is known in the prior art to have a laser emitting device with a field lens, installed at a laser incident port of a dust hood [figs. 1 and 2; paras. 0003-4]. Zhang does not disclose additional details of the laser emitting device. In particular, Zhang does not disclose any features or structures regarding workpiece handling and securing, workpiece alignment, or beam condenser details. Yoshii '432 has been presented as not only teaching the processing nozzle and beam condenser, but also teaching a cassette, delivery unit, and chuck table for handling and securing a wafer; Willey has been presented as teaching that a chuck table can be further configured as being rotatable in order to handle a wafer; and Yoshii '189 has been presented as teaching the use of a CCD camera in order to align a wafer.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Zhang is directed towards an improved dust removal mechanism in a laser cutting production process and Yoshii (now Yoshii ‘432) teaches a laser processing apparatus with a debris removal mechanism. Thus it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to combine Zhang’s dust removal mechanism with the laser processing apparatus of Yoshii '432, in order to improve the dust removal of the laser process of Yoshii '432.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 108672954 A) in view of Yoshii ‘432 (US 20170043432 A1), Willey (US 20140026351 A1), and Yoshii '189 (JP 2013184189 A).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses:
A laser processing apparatus [Zhang discloses a dust removal mechanism with high dust removal efficiency for a laser cutting device; para. 0006: “The technical problem to be solved by the present invention is to provide a dust removal mechanism with high dust removal efficiency to avoid the overflow and accumulation of dust and smoke, and to provide a laser cutting device with the dust removal mechanism.”] for irradiating a semiconductor wafer with a laser beam having a wavelength absorbable by the wafer to thereby perform an ablation process on the wafer [see fig. 3, showing an arrow indicating a path of a laser beam towards a workpiece for laser cutting; para. 0002: “The present invention relates to the technical field of pole piece cutting equipment in the lithium battery industry, and in particular to a dust removal mechanism and a laser cutting device.”], comprising:
a beam condenser [i.e., the laser emitting device] having a condensing lens for converging the laser beam [para. 0034: “… the laser beam is gathered by the field lens…”]
a processing nozzle [i.e., the dust removal mechanism; para. 0030: “FIG3 is a schematic diagram of the overall structure of an embodiment of the dust removal mechanism of the present invention”] fixed to a lower portion of the beam condenser [para. 0034: “When installed, the laser emitting device is located on one side of the third air duct 113, and the laser beam is gathered by the field lens and emitted from the laser incident port 60 of the dust removal cover 10 located on one side of the third channel 113.”] and configured to apply the converged laser beam onto, see fig. 3],
wherein the processing nozzle includes
an upper wall having a cavity that is defined therein [see fig. 3, showing a laser incident port #60 arranged in a left most body portion of dust removal cover #10] and through which the laser beam converged by the condensing lens passes toward the waferpara. 0030: “The laser is injected through the laser incident port 60.”],
a lower wall that is connected to a lower portion of a part of the upper wall [see figs. 3 and 4, showing a right most body portion of dust removal cover #10 that is connected to the left most body portion of dust removal cover #10] and that includes
a debris capturing chamber defined therein [figs. 1-3: dust removal chamber #11; para. 0028: “A dust removal chamber 11 is formed inside the dust hood 1.”], the debris capturing chamber having
an upper portion connected to see fig. 3, showing chamber #11 adjacent to port #60, specifically the third air duct #113 of chamber #11 connected to the port #60] and
an opening defined in a lower portion thereof [see fig. 3, showing chamber #11 adjacent to cutting port #50, specifically the first air duct #111 of chamber #11 adjacent to port #50]
for taking in debris scattered from the wafer that is ablated by the laser beam [para. 0030: “It is also easy to control the pressure difference on both sides of the cutting port 50, which solves the problem of local dust accumulation in the dust removal chamber 11 in the prior art.”],
a suction port [fig. 3: air outlet #40] defined between another part of the upper wall and the lower wall, for drawing in the debris introduced through the opening into the debris capturing chamber [para. 0036: “An exhaust device 80 is also provided at the air outlet 40 for extracting the air in the dust removal chamber 11.”],
a first air ejection port [see fig. 3, showing a first air ejection port as the lower opening of a first tube defined by the upper portions of first partition #71 and second partition #72; the first tube further defined as the upper portion of air duct #112] defined in the lower wall below see fig. 3], for ejecting air across the debris capturing chamber toward the suction port in a predetermined direction perpendicular to an optical path of the laser beam passing through the cavity [see fig. 3; para. 0034: “… the second air supply device 22 is provided at the second air inlet 32 to supply air to the second air duct 112 separately”], and
a second air ejection port [see fig. 3, showing a second air ejection port as the lower opening of a second tube defined by the upper portions of second partition #72 and a right-most section of dust cover #10; the second tube further defined as the upper portion of air duct #111] defined in the lower wall on an opposite side of the debris capturing chamber from the suction port [see fig. 3], below the first air ejection port, for ejecting air across the debris capturing chamber toward the suction port in the predetermined direction [para. 0034: “The first partition 71 and the second partition 72 are parallel to each other, and divide the dust removal chamber 11 into three parallel air ducts, which are the first air duct 111 …”],
wherein a flow rate of air ejected from the second air ejection port [i.e., v1] is smaller than a flow rate of air ejected from the first air ejection port [i.e., v2; para. 0034: “The gas flow velocities in the first air duct 111, the second air duct 112 and the third air duct 113 are v1, v2, and v3, respectively. By controlling the first air supply device 21 and the second air supply device 22, v3 > v2 > v1, v1 ensures that most of the gas in the first air duct 111 flows in laminar flow to reduce dust overflow caused by turbulence. v3 should be appropriately increased to quickly take away the dust generated by cutting and prevent dust from contaminating the field mirror of the laser cutting device. v2 is slightly larger than v1 to reduce the turbulence at the first avoidance port 711, so that the turbulence at the first avoidance port 711 will not spread to the vicinity of the cutting port 50, thereby ensuring the dust removal efficiency.”].
Although Zhang discloses the dust removal mechanism is installed on the laser emitting device comprising the field lens, Zhang does not provide any additional features or structures of the laser emitting device, e.g., workpiece handling and securing, workpiece alignment, or beam condenser details.
Specifically, Zhang does not disclose:
a cassette for storing a plurality of frame units each including a semiconductor wafer, a dicing tape and a frame;
a rotatable chuck table for holding a frame unit under suction;
a delivery unit for moving the frame units to the chuck table;
an image capturing unit having an optical system for capturing an image of a face side of a wafer in a frame unit held on the chuck table;
the beam condenser having an annular groove for ejecting air in a downward stream;
the processing nozzle configured to direct the air stream downward toward the surface of the wafer, wherein the processing nozzle includes
the cavity having a frustoconical shape, with an upper opening and a lower opening smaller in diameter than the upper opening, to direct the air stream from the upper opening towards the lower opening,
the debris capturing chamber having the upper portion connected to the lower opening of the cavity,
the first air ejection port defined in the lower wall below the lower opening of the cavity on the opposite side of the debris.
Yoshii '432, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a laser processing apparatus [fig. 1: laser processing apparatus #1] for irradiating a semiconductor wafer [fig. 1: plate-shaped workpiece #W; para. 0014: “As shown in FIG. 1, a laser processing apparatus 1 according to an embodiment of the present invention is an apparatus configured to process a plate-shaped workpiece W held on a chuck table 2 by using laser processing means 3.”], wherein the laser apparatus comprises:
a cassette for storing a plurality of frame units each including a semiconductor wafer, a dicing tape and a frame [fig. 1: cassette #40; paras. 0014, 29: “The plate-shaped workpiece W is supported on the frame F by the tape T… For laser-processing the plate-shaped workpiece W with the laser processing apparatus 1 shown in FIG. 1, a plurality of plate-shaped workpieces W supported on respective frames F are stored in the cassette 40.”];
a i.e., one of the plurality of workpiece #W, each with a respective frame and tape] under suction [fig. 1: chuck table #2; para. 0016: “The laser processing apparatus 1 also includes a chuck table 2 provided with an attracting unit 20 for holding a plate-shaped workpiece W under suction”];
a delivery unit for moving the frame units to the chuck table [fig. 1: second transport means #7; para. 0018: “Second transport means 7 for transporting a plate-shaped workpiece W supported on a frame F from the protective film forming means 6 to the chuck table 2 in the installing/removing area A is disposed above the protective film forming means 6. The second transport means 7 includes an attracting unit 70 for holding a plate-shaped workpiece W under suction, a lifting and lowering unit 71 for lifting and lowering the attracting unit 70, and an arm 72 for moving the attracting unit 70 and the lifting and lowering unit 71 along the Y-axis directions.”];
a beam condenser [fig. 2: #8] comprising a condensing lens #80, a cover glass #81 and
an annular groove for ejecting air in a downward stream [fig. 2: processing air supply passage #83; para. 0034: “… the processing air supply passage 83 defined in the side wall around the space 82 ejects air into the space 82 …”];
a processing nozzle [fig. 2: #9] configured to direct the air stream downward toward the surface of the wafer [see fig. 2, showing space #82 of the nozzle arranged in fluid communication with space #90, wherein air ejected from #83 is directed by #82 and #90 towards the surface of workpiece #W; para. 0034: “However, the processing air supply passage 83 defined in the side wall around the space 82 ejects air into the space 82, preventing the debris from being attached to the cover glass 81”],
wherein the processing nozzle includes an upper wall having a cavity [i.e., space #90], the cavity having a frustoconical shape, with an upper opening and a lower opening smaller in diameter than the upper opening, to direct the air stream from the upper opening towards the lower opening [Yoshii '432 teaches that when incorporating the annular groove to eject air across the lens/glass, the corresponding connected spaces #81 and #82 can be designed such that they are in fluid communication, so as to promote desirable debris collection. Specifically that the space #82 has a larger upper opening and a smaller lower opening; see fig. 2 and para. 0021: “The processing nozzle 9 is provided with a space 90 held in fluid communication with the space 82 of the beam condenser 8”], wherein
a debris capturing chamber [fig. 2: debris trapping chamber #93] has an upper portion connected to the lower opening of the cavity [see fig. 2, showing #82 in fluid communication with #90 which is in fluid communication with #93], and
a first air ejection port [fig. 2: air supply means #97] is below the lower opening of the cavity [see fig. 2].
Willey, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that a chuck table may be configured to be rotatable as part of a beam-steering system for a laser processing apparatus, in order to ablate a workpiece [para. 0015: “As exemplarily illustrated, the cutting head assembly 104 includes a lens 110 mounted within a housing 112. The lens 110 is configured to focus the beam 102 such that the beam 102 illuminates a spot on the surface of the workpiece 106 having an intensity, fluence, power, etc., sufficient to ablate a portion of the workpiece 106… Although not illustrated, the workpiece machining system 100 can also include one or more motion control stages configured to move the chuck 108 in X-, Y- and/or Z-directions and, optionally, to rotate the chuck 108”].
Yoshii '189, in the same field of endeavor, teaches aligning a workpiece [p. 7: “The imaging unit outputs information on the captured image to the control unit 90. Then, the control unit 90 executes image processing such as pattern matching for aligning the street of the wafer W held on the chuck table 10 with the condenser 22 of the laser beam irradiation unit 20 that irradiates the laser beam L. Then, alignment of the laser beam irradiation means 20 is performed, and the process proceeds to step ST3.”] using an image capturing unit having an optical system for capturing an image of a face side of a wafer in a frame unit held on the chuck table [p. 4: “The imaging means images the surface WS of the wafer W held on the chuck table 10. The imaging unit is provided so as to be movable in the Z-axis direction integrally with the laser beam irradiation unit 20 by the Z-axis moving unit 50 with respect to the wafer W held on the chuck table 10. The imaging means includes a CCD camera (not shown). The CCD camera is an apparatus that captures an image of the wafer W held on the chuck table 10 and obtains an image. The imaging unit outputs information on the image obtained by the CCD camera to the control unit 90.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the laser processing apparatus of Zhang, by:
including a cassette for storing a plurality of frame units each including a semiconductor wafer, a dicing tape and a frame; a chuck table for holding a frame unit under suction; and a delivery unit for moving the frame units to the chuck table; since Yoshii '432 teaches that these structures allow for the handling and securing of a workpiece [paras. 0014-18];
including an annular groove in the beam condenser for ejecting air in a downward stream toward the surface of the wafer, since Yoshii teaches this prevents debris from attaching to structures in the beam condenser [para. 0034], and
wherein the processing nozzle is configured to direct the air stream downward toward the surface of the wafer, the cavity is formed in a frustoconical shape, with an upper opening and a lower opening smaller in diameter than the upper opening, to direct the air stream from the upper opening towards the lower opening, the debris capturing chamber having the upper portion connected to the lower opening of the cavity, the first air ejection port defined in the lower wall below the lower opening of the cavity on the opposite side of the debris, as taught by Yoshii, since this promotes debris collection [para. 0004];
including a motion control stage so as to have the chuck table be rotatable, as taught by Willey, since willey teaches that this is a known method of handling a workpiece in a laser process; and
including an image capturing unit having an optical system for capturing an image of a face side of a wafer in a frame unit held on the chuck table, since Yoshii '189 teaches that this allows for aligning a workpiece.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Yoshii ‘432, Willey, and Yoshii '189 discloses the laser processing apparatus as defined in claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the flow rate of air ejected from the second air ejection port is 1/2 or lower than the flow rate of air ejected from the first air ejection port [Zhang discloses the flow rate in the second air duct #112 is greater than the flow rate in the third air duct #113, thus the flow rate of air ejected from the second air ejection port is lower than the flow rate of air ejected from the first air ejection port; para. 0011: “As a further improvement of the above technical solution, the gas flow rate in the air duct close to the laser incident port is greater than the gas flow rate in the air duct far from the laser incident port.”].
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of Yoshii ‘432, Willey, and Yoshii '189 discloses the laser processing apparatus as defined in claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein a center of the second air ejection port is spaced a predetermined distance downwardly from a center of the first air ejection port [see figs. 3 and 4, showing the center of the second air ejection port #31 spaced a predetermined distance downwardly from a center of the first air ejection port #32].
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Yoshii ‘432, Willey, and Yoshii '189 discloses the laser processing apparatus as defined in claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the first air ejection port has an oblong shape [see fig. 4, showing that the shape of the second air duct #112 is rectangular, and thus has an oblong shape] and the second air ejection port has a circular shape [It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to give the second air ejection port a circular shape, since the Applicant has not disclosed that the shape of the second air ejection port solves any problem or is for a particular reason. It appears the claimed invention would perform equally well with the second air ejection port having a circular shape or a rectangular shape.].
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Yoshii ‘432, Willey, and Yoshii '189 discloses the laser processing apparatus as defined in claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein
the first air ejection port is connected to a first tube [fig. 3: upper portion of air duct #112] which is connected to a casing [figs. 3, 4: dust removal cover #10] of the processing nozzle and the first air ejection port is supplied with air from an air supply source [figs. 3, 4: second air supply device #22] through the first tube and a first flow rate regulating unit which is between the first tube and the air supply source [Zhang discloses the air supply source as being capable of regulating the first flow rate; para. 0035: “During specific implementation, the movement speed of the cut material is defined as v4. In order to ensure that the pressure difference on both sides of the cutting port 50 is no more than 0.1 kpa, it is necessary to make |v1-v4|≤8.4 m/s. v1 can be achieved by adjusting the air supply device 20 or the exhaust device 80, or by coordinating the air supply device 20 and the exhaust device 80.”],
the second air ejection port is connected to a second tube [fig. 3: upper portion of air duct #111] which is connected to the casing [see figs. 3, 4] of the processing nozzle and the second air ejection port is supplied with air from the air supply source through the second tube and a second flow rate regulating unit which is between the second tube and the air supply source [Zhang discloses that air ejection port #31 may have its own corresponding air supply source, and thus would be similarly arranged as air ejection port #32; para. 0013: “As a further improvement of the above technical solution, air supply devices are provided at some or all of the air inlet holes.”].
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Yoshii ‘432, Willey, and Yoshii '189 discloses the laser processing apparatus as defined in claim 5. Zhang further discloses: wherein
the lower wall has a side lower wall which is under the part of the upper wall [see fig. 3, showing the horizontal surfaces of second partition #72 as the side lower wall, relative to the upper wall #71],
the side lower wall has a first inner side surface which faces the debris capturing chamber and is located opposite to the suction port in a longitudinal direction of the casing [see fig. 3, showing the horizontal surface of the upper portion of second partition #72 proximal to the second ejection port], and a first outer side surface which is located opposite to the first inner side surface in the longitudinal direction of the casing [see fig. 3, showing the horizontal surface of the lower portion of second partition #72],
the part of the upper wall has a second inner side surface which faces a cavity which is connected to the debris capturing chamber in a heightwise direction of the casing and which is located above the first inner side surface [see fig. 3, showing a horizontal surface of the upper portion of first partition #71 proximal to the first ejection port], and a second outer side surface which is located opposite to the second inner side surface in the longitudinal direction of the casing [see fig. 3, showing the horizontal surface of the lower portion of first partition #71],
each of the first outer side surface and the second outer side surface has no openings [see fig. 3, showing no openings in the first outer side surface and the second outer side surface], and
the first air ejection port and the second air ejection port are provided at the first inner side surface [see fig. 3, showing the first air ejection port and second air ejection port adjacent to the first inner side surface].
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of Yoshii ‘432, Willey, and Yoshii '189 discloses the laser processing apparatus as defined in claim 5. Zhang as modified by Yoshii ‘432, specifically Yoshii ‘432 further discloses: wherein the beam condenser includes,
a through hole being connected to the cavity in the upper wall, the cavity being connected to the debris capturing chamber in a heightwise direction of the casing [i.e., space #82, in fluid communication with space #90], and
a cover glass being provided in the through hole and located between the condensing lens and a lower end of the through hole [i.e., cover glass #81 in space #82, arranged between condensing lens #80 and a distal end of space #82],
wherein the annular groove is provided in an inner circumferential side surface of the casing that defines the through hole and between the cover glass and the lower end of the through hole in a heightwise direction of the casing [see fig. 2; para. 0020: “Below the cover glass 81, there is a space 82 for passing the laser beam therethrough, defined by a side wall having a processing air supply passage 83 for ejecting air in a direction perpendicular to the optical path of the laser beam.”].
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Yoshii ‘432, Willey, and Yoshii '189 discloses the laser processing apparatus as defined in claim 1. Zhang as modified by Yoshii ‘432, specifically Yoshii ‘432 further discloses: wherein the downward air stream directed through the cavity from the beam condenser prevents the debris from being deposited on the beam condenser [para. 0034: “However, the processing air supply passage 83 defined in the side wall around the space 82 ejects air into the space 82, preventing the debris from being attached to the cover glass 81”].
Conclusion
/THEODORE J EVANGELISTA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761