DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the appeal brief filed on 12/01/25.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 17, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (US PGPub 2019/0254173, hereinafter referred to as “Chang”).
Chang discloses the semiconductor device as claimed. See figures 1-7 and corresponding text, where Chang teaches, in claim 1, a semiconductor device comprising:
a frontside (F) and a backside (BS);
four sidewalls (F, BS, TS, and B); and
a first solder (50) or glue connection on the frontside (left of component) and a second solder (50) or glue connection on the backside (right of component), wherein the semiconductor device (30) is connected to a printed circuit board (20) via one of the four sidewalls (F, BS, TS, and B), so that the first solder (50) or glue connection and the second solder (50) or glue connection are visible for a visual solder or glue inspection (figure 3; [0023]). (See modified illustration below.)
enc
Chang teaches, in claim 17, wherein the semiconductor device further comprises a solder pad on the one sidewall connecting the semiconductor device (30) to the printed circuit (20) (figures 1 and 3; [0023-0024]).
Chang teaches, in claim 18, further comprising an open contact on the frontside and an open contact on the backside (figures 1 and 3; [0023-0024]).
Chang teaches, in claim 20, wherein the frontside and the backside are wettable flanks, and wherein the semiconductor device is mounted to by the one sidewall to the printed circuit at an angle of 90o (figure 3; [0023])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US PGPub 2019/0254173, hereinafter referred to as “Chang”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hable et al. (US PGPub 2018/022720, hereinafter referred to as “Hable”).
Chang discloses the semiconductor device substantially as claimed. See the rejection above.
However, Chang fails explicitly to show, in claim 2, wherein the semiconductor device further comprises an isolating layer on the four sidewalls.
Hable teaches, in claim 2, a semiconductor device that is encapsulated by a ceramic material ([0039-0041]). In addition, Hable provides the advantages of improving electrical reliability and integrity of the package ([0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the invention was filed, to incorporate wherein the semiconductor device further comprises an isolating layer on the four sidewalls, in the device of Chang, according to the teachings of Hable, with the motivation of improving electrical reliability and integrity of the package.
Chang fails to show, in claim 3, wherein the isolating layer is a ceramic, parylene or equivalent coating.
Hable teaches, in claim 3, a semiconductor device that is encapsulated by a ceramic material ([0039-0041]). In addition, Hable provides the advantages of improving electrical reliability and integrity of the package ([0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the invention was filed, to incorporate wherein the isolating layer is a ceramic, parylene or equivalent coating, in the device of Chang, according to the teachings of Hable, with the motivation of improving electrical reliability and integrity of the package.
Chang fails to show, in claim 4, wherein the isolating layer is a mould.
Hable teaches, in claim 4, a semiconductor device that is encapsulated by a ceramic material ([0039-0041]). In addition, Hable provides the advantages of improving electrical reliability and integrity of the package ([0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the invention was filed, to incorporate wherein the isolating layer is a mould, in the device of Chang, according to the teachings of Hable, with the motivation of improving electrical reliability and integrity of the package.
Chang fails to show, in claims 5-8, an automotive part comprising a semiconductor device.
Hable teaches, in claims 5-8, an automotive part comprising a semiconductor device (figure 8; [0041], [0095]). In addition, Hable provides the advantages of improving parasitic inductances and electrical reliability ([0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the invention was filed, to incorporate wherein the isolating layer is a mould, in the device of Chang, according to the teachings of Hable, with the motivation of improving parasitic inductances and electrical reliability.
Chang fails to show, in claim 19, further comprising an isolating layer on the four sidewalls that protect non-contact areas of the semiconductor device mounted to the printed circuit by the one sidewall are protected by the isolating layer.
Hable teaches, in claim 10, a semiconductor device that is encapsulated by a ceramic material ([0039-0041]). In addition, Hable provides the advantages of improving electrical reliability and integrity of the package ([0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the invention was filed, to incorporate further comprising an isolating layer on the four sidewalls that protect non-contact areas of the semiconductor device mounted to the printed circuit by the one sidewall are protected by the isolating layer, in the device of Chang, according to the teachings of Hable, with the motivation of improving electrical reliability and integrity of the package.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/STANETTA D ISAAC/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 March 12, 2026