DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13, 16, and 20-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the absorptive pattern protective layer” should be read as “an absorptive pattern protective layer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: “an absorptive pattern protective layer” should be read as “the absorptive pattern protective layer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the absorptive pattern protective layer” is recited before “an absorptive pattern protective layer”, the two instances should switch “the” and “an”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the absorptive pattern protective layer” should be read as “an absorptive pattern protective layer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maruta (2018/0299761, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Maruta discloses a light control member (at least Figure 14, 1000, reflection type screen) comprising: a substrate (101, base portion); an anisotropic prism disposed directly on one surface of the substrate (103, prism portion), wherein the anisotropic prism includes a first side surface extending at a first angle which is an acute angle in a range of about 30° to about 80° with respect to the one surface of the substrate (107, lower surface; [0031] teaches an angle between 107, lower surface, and 101, base portion, is about 40°), and a second side surface extending at a second angle greater than the first angle with respect to the one surface of the substrate (105, upper surface; Figure 14); an absorptive pattern disposed on the second side surface of the anisotropic prism (150, light-absorbing layer); and an absorptive pattern protective layer disposed on the second side surface of the anisotropic prism and the absorptive pattern (170, low friction layer), wherein at least a portion of the first side surface is not covered by the absorptive pattern and the absorptive pattern protective layer (Figure 14).
Regarding claim 2, Maruta discloses the light control member of claim 1, wherein the absorptive pattern is disposed between the absorptive pattern protective layer and the second side surface of the anisotropic prism (Figure 14).
Regarding claim 3, Maruta discloses the light control member of claim 2, wherein the absorptive pattern is disposed directly on the second side surface of the anisotropic prism (Figure 14).
Regarding claim 9, Maruta discloses the light control member of claim 1, wherein the anisotropic prism includes a first prism portion in contact with the substrate (bottom half of 103, prism portion), and a second prism portion connected to the first prism portion and having an anisotropic cross-sectional shape (top half of 103, prism portion).
Regarding claim 10, Maruta discloses the light control member of claim 9, wherein the cross-sectional shape of the second prism portion includes a triangular shape (top half of 103, prism portion, includes a triangular shape cross section).
Regarding claim 11, Maruta discloses the light control member of claim 9, wherein each of the second prism portion and the absorptive pattern is provided in plural (at least Figures 2 and 14), and the plurality of absorptive patterns are respectively disposed on the second side surfaces of the plurality of second prism portions (at least Figures 2 and 14).
Regarding claim 12, Maruta discloses the light control member of claim 1, wherein the absorptive pattern covers at least a portion of the second side surface of the anisotropic prism and exposes a part of the first side surface (Figure 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruta (2018/0299761, of record) in view of Kittaka et al. (2009/0316262, of record).
Regarding claim 4, Maruta discloses the light control member of claim 3, but fails to teach wherein the absorptive pattern includes a first metal layer on the second side surface, an insulating layer on the first metal layer, and a second metal layer on the insulating layer. Maruta and Kittaka are related because both teach a light control member.
Kittaka teaches a light control member (Figure 3) wherein the absorptive pattern includes a first metal layer (Figure 3, [0102], 4a, first metal film), an insulating layer on the first metal layer (8, second dielectric substance layer), and a second metal layer on the insulating layer (4b, second metal film).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Maruta to incorporate the teachings of Kittaka and provide wherein the absorptive pattern includes a first metal layer on the second side surface, an insulating layer on the first metal layer, and a second metal layer on the insulating layer. Doing so would allow for improved absorption and control of the light rays.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Maruta teaches the light control member of claim 4, wherein the anisotropic prism includes a resin (at least [0030]).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Maruta teaches the light control member of claim 5, wherein the absorptive pattern protective layer includes an inorganic insulating layer (Kittaka: [0082] teaches inorganic dielectric material; [0341] teaches the advantage of using only inorganic materials).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Maruta discloses a light control member (at least Figure 14, 1000, reflection type screen) comprising: a substrate (101, base portion); an anisotropic prism disposed directly on one surface of the substrate (103, prism portion), wherein the anisotropic prism includes a first side surface extending at a first angle which is an acute angle in a range of about 30° to about 80° with respect to the one surface of the substrate (107, lower surface; [0031] teaches an angle between 107, lower surface, and 101, base portion, is about 40°), and a second side surface extending at a second angle greater than the first angle with respect to the one surface of the substrate (105, upper surface; Figure 14); and an absorptive pattern disposed on the second side surface of the anisotropic prism (150, light-absorbing layer), wherein the absorptive pattern is disposed directly on the second side surface (Figure 14), at least a portion of the first side surface is not covered by an absorptive pattern and the absorptive pattern protective layer (Figure 14).
Maruta fails to teach wherein the absorptive pattern includes a metal layer. Maruta and Kittaka are related because both teach a light control member.
Kittaka teaches a light control member wherein the absorptive pattern includes a metal layer (Figure 3, [0102], 4a, first metal film).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Maruta to incorporate the teachings of Kittaka and provide wherein the absorptive pattern includes a metal layer. Doing so would allow for improved absorption and control of the light rays.
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, the modified Maruta teaches the light control member of claim 13, further comprising: the absorptive pattern protective layer (170, low friction layer) disposed on the second side surface of the anisotropic prism and the absorptive pattern (Figure 14).
Claims 16-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruta (2018/0299761, of record) in view of Chong et al. (2016/0077328, of record).
Regarding claim 16, Maruta discloses a display device (at least Figures 1 and 2, 1, projector system) comprising: and a light control member (at least Figure 14, 1000, reflection type screen), wherein the light control member includes: a substrate (101, base portion); an anisotropic prism disposed directly on one surface of the substrate (103, prism portion), wherein the anisotropic prism includes a first side surface extending at a first angle which is an acute angle in a range of about 30° to about 80° with respect to the one surface of the substrate (107, lower surface; [0031] teaches an angle between 107, lower surface, and 101, base portion, is about 40°), and a second side surface extending at a second angle greater than the first angle with respect to the one surface of the substrate (105, upper surface; Figure 14); an absorptive pattern disposed on the second side surface of the anisotropic prism (150, light-absorbing layer); and an absorptive pattern protective layer disposed on the second side surface of the anisotropic prism and the absorptive pattern (170, low friction layer), wherein at least a portion of the first side surface is not covered by the absorptive pattern and the absorptive pattern protective layer (Figure 14).
Maruta fails to teach a light emitting element disposed on a first substrate; and the light control member disposed on the light emitting element. Maruta and Chong are related because both teach a display device.
Chong teaches a display device comprising: a light emitting element (Figure 12, 100e, light providing device) disposed on a first substrate (110e, first substrate), and a light control member disposed on the light emitting element (200e, variable light control member).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Maruta to incorporate the teachings of Chong and provide a light emitting element disposed on a first substrate; and the light control member disposed on the light emitting element. Doing so would allow for secure housing and connectivity of the components of the light emitting element.
Regarding claim 17, the modified Maruta teaches the display device of claim 16, wherein the light emitting element includes a first electrode (Chong: 120e, first electrode) disposed on the first substrate (Chong: 110e, first substrate), a second electrode opposite to the first electrode (Chong: 150e, second electrode), and a light emitting layer disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (Chong: 140e, organic layer; [0111] teaches 140e, organic layer, may include an organic light-emitting layer).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Maruta teaches the display device of claim 16, further comprising: a second substrate (Chong: 160e, second substrate) facing the first substrate and disposed on the light emitting element (Chong: Figure 12), wherein the second substrate seals the light emitting element (Chong: Figure 12), and the light control member is disposed on the second substrate (Chong: 200e, light control member).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Maruta teaches the display device of claim 16, further comprising: an encapsulation layer (Chong: 160e, second substrate) disposed on the light emitting element to seal the light emitting element (Chong: Figure 12), wherein the light control member is disposed on the encapsulation layer (Chong: 200e, light control member).
Regarding claim 20, as best understood, Maruta discloses a method of manufacturing a display device (at least Figures 1 and 2, 1, projector system), the method comprising: forming a light control member (at least Figure 14, 1000, reflection type screen); wherein the forming the light control member includes: providing, directly on one surface of a substrate (101, base portion), an anisotropic prism (103, prism portion) including a first side surface extending at a first angle which is an acute angle in a range of about 30° to about 80° with respect to the one surface of the substrate (107, lower surface; [0031] teaches an angle between 107, lower surface, and 101, base portion, is about 40°), and a second side surface extending at a second angle greater than the first angle with respect to the one surface of the substrate (105, upper surface; Figure 14); providing an absorptive pattern on the second side surface of the anisotropic prism (150, light-absorbing layer), wherein at least a portion of the first side surface is not covered by the absorptive pattern and an absorptive pattern protective layer (Figure 14); and providing the absorptive pattern protective layer disposed on the second side surface of the anisotropic prism and the absorptive pattern (170, low friction layer).
Maruta fails to teach bonding the light control member and a display panel to each other. Maruta and Chong are related because both teach a display device.
Chong teaches a method of manufacturing a display device (Figure 12), the method comprising bonding the light control member and a display panel to each other (Figure 12, 200e, variable light control member, attached to 100e, light providing device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Maruta to incorporate the teachings of Chong and provide bonding the light control member and a display panel to each other. Doing so would allow for secure housing and connectivity of the components of the light emitting element.
Regarding claim 22, Maruta discloses an electronic device (at least Figures 1 and 2, 1, projector system) comprising a display device (at least Figures 1 and 2, 1, projector system), and a light control member (at least Figure 14, 1000, reflection type screen), wherein the light control member includes: a substrate (101, base portion); an anisotropic prism disposed directly on one surface of the substrate (103, prism portion), wherein the anisotropic prism includes a first side surface extending at a first angle which is an acute angle in a range of about 30° to about 80° with respect to the one surface of the substrate (107, lower surface; [0031] teaches an angle between 107, lower surface, and 101, base portion, is about 40°), and a second side surface extending at a second angle greater than the first angle with respect to the one surface of the substrate (105, upper surface; Figure 14); an absorptive pattern disposed on the second side surface of the anisotropic prism (150, light-absorbing layer); and an absorptive pattern protective layer disposed on the second side surface of the anisotropic prism and the absorptive pattern (Figure 14), wherein at least a portion of the first side surface is not covered by the absorptive pattern and the absorptive pattern protective layer (Figure 14).
Maruta fails to teach wherein the display device comprises: a light emitting element disposed on a first substrate; and the light control member disposed on the light emitting element. Maruta and Chong are related because both teach a display device.
Chong teaches a display device (Figure 12), wherein the display device comprises: a light emitting element (Figure 12, 100e, light providing device) disposed on a first substrate (110e, first substrate); and the light control member disposed on the light emitting element (200e, variable light control member).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Maruta to incorporate the teachings of Chong and provide a light emitting element disposed on a first substrate; and the light control member disposed on the light emitting element. Doing so would allow for secure housing and connectivity of the components of the light emitting element.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruta (2018/0299761, of record) in view of Chong et al. (2016/0077328, of record) in view of Kittaka et al. (2009/0316262).
Regarding claim 21, as best understood, Maruta discloses a method of manufacturing a display device (at least Figures 1 and 2, 1, projector system), the method comprising: forming a light control member (at least Figure 14, 1000, reflection type screen); wherein the forming the light control member includes: providing, directly on one surface of a substrate (101, base portion), an anisotropic prism (103, prism portion) including a first side surface extending at a first angle which is an acute angle in a range of about 30° to about 80° with respect to the one surface of the substrate (107, lower surface; [0031] teaches an angle between 107, lower surface, and 101, base portion, is about 40°), and a second side surface extending at a second angle greater than the first angle with respect to the one surface of the substrate (105, upper surface; Figure 14); and providing an absorptive pattern on the second side surface of the anisotropic prism (150, light-absorbing layer), wherein the absorptive pattern is disposed directly on the second side surface (Figure 14), at least a portion of the first side surface is not covered by the absorptive pattern and an absorptive pattern protective layer (Figure 14).
Maruta fails to teach bonding the light control member and a display panel to each other and the absorptive pattern is formed using only one material. Maruta and Chong are related because both teach a method of manufacturing a display device.
Chong teaches a method of manufacturing a display device (Figure 12), the method comprising bonding the light control member and a display panel to each other (Figure 12, 200e, variable light control member, attached to 100e, light providing device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Maruta to incorporate the teachings of Chong and provide bonding the light control member and a display panel to each other. Doing so would allow for secure housing and connectivity of the components of the light emitting element.
The modified Maruta fails to teach the absorptive pattern is formed using only one material. The modified Maruta and Kittaka are related because both teach a method of manufacturing a display device.
Kittaka teaches a method of manufacturing a display device wherein the absorptive pattern is formed using only one material (Figure 25, [0326] teaches using a single thin film made of a light absorbing substance).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Maruta to incorporate the teachings of Kittaka and provide wherein the absorptive pattern is formed using only one material. Doing so would allow for improved uniformity of the layer by utilizing a single material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to teach the limitations of claims 7 and 15 in a manner that would be appropriate under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103. Claim 8 is dependent on claim 7, and is therefore objected to for at least the same reason.
Conclusion
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872