DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As to the amended independent claims, applicant argues that the cited portions of Park do not use a neural network. Examiner has now cited portions of Park that specify that driving information, which the voice audio information is part of, and a facial image are fed into AI models implemented with neural networks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (WO 2021052224 A1, herein represented by U.S. Publication 2021/0357625) in view of Liao (U.S. Publication 2021/0390748) and Park (U.S. Publication 2021/0357088).
As to claim 1, Song discloses a processor (fig. 8, element 82; p. 10, sections 0174-0178; a processor is configured to execute instructions from a medium, such as a memory, which also stores data for performing a programmed method), comprising:
one or more circuits to use one or more neural networks to generate a first plurality of video frames of a person uttering speech by providing, as input to a first portion of the one or more neural networks speech information comprising audio data (fig. 5; p. 6, sections 0099-0112; p. 7, section 0120; a first neural network is trained using an input audio clip with voice/speech information, to generate face key point information corresponding to input video data of a person’s face and speech for video displaying such).
Song does not disclose, but Liao discloses generating, using a second portion of the one or more neural networks, a second plurality of video frames of a representation of a user uttering the speech based on at least a portion of the generated first plurality of video frames including the person uttering the speech (fig. 8; p. 6-7, section 0070; poses from generated video frames are replaced based on a user being more likely to have spoken particular words). The motivation for this is to produce output video with synchronized, realistic, and expressive body dynamics at low cost (p. 1, sections 0003-0004). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Song to generate, using a second portion of the one or more neural networks, a second plurality of video frames of a representation of a user uttering the speech based on at least a portion of the generated first plurality of video frames including the person uttering the speech in order to produce output video with synchronized, realistic, and expressive body dynamics at low cost as taught by Liao.
Song does not expressly disclose, but Park discloses that the generation is without corresponding video frames and based on a single image corresponding to the user (fig. 3; fig. 6-7; p. 4, sections 0065-0070; p. 5, sections 0076-0077; p. 6, section 0088; p. 7, sections 0102-0108; p. 8, sections 0115-0116; p. 9, sections 0127-0133; generation of a character animation based on driving information including mouth movements and words for a character to speak is performed, with the driving information input to an AI model, which can be implemented in the reference using a neural network; at this stage, the character is synthetic like the characters in the figures and not based on input video; later, a user inputs “a facial image” to be manipulated using AI, which can be implemented in the reference using a neural network, and movements, which would include mouth motions associated with speaking, are mapped such that the input facial image replaces one of the synthetic character images in the animation). The motivation for this is to allow more personal and realistic content so that a user can experience the content more dynamically (p. 1, section 0005). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Song and Liao to generate without corresponding video frames and based on a single image corresponding to the user in order to allow more personal and realistic content so that a user can experience the content more dynamically as taught by Park.
As to claim 2, Song does not disclose, but Liao does disclose wherein the plurality of frames includes a representation of one or more three-dimensional character models uttering a corresponding portion of the speech information (p. 1, section 0006; p. 6, sections 0065-0067; p. 6-7, section 0070; p. 7, section 0072; p. 7, section 0079-p. 8, section 0083; using a neural network, a 3D skeleton model is used to create poses for video frames corresponding to spoken voice/speech information). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 3, Song does not disclose, but Liao does disclose wherein the plurality of frames includes a representation of the one or more users uttering the corresponding portion of the speech information as represented by the one or more three-dimensional character models in the plurality of video frames (p. 1, sections 0006-0007; p. 5, section 0059; p. 6, sections 0065-0067; p. 6-7, section 0070; p. 7, section 0072; p. 7, section 0079-p. 8, section 0083; the 3D body model first video information, input video of a person, and speech-to-text information are used to generate video frames of a speaking person). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 4, Song does not disclose, but Liao does disclose wherein the one or more neural networks is trained to correlate key points between the one or more three-dimensional character models represented in the plurality of video frames and at least one of shape information or pose information for the user (p. 1, section 0006; p. 5, section 0060; p. 6, section 0062; p. 6, section 0064-0067; correspondence between points in the 3D model and 2D point positions of a person speaking in input video that correspond to projected pose information is found using the neural network). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 5, Song does not disclose, but Liao does disclose wherein the one or more circuits are further to use the one or more neural networks to synthesize the speech information as voice information from text (fig. 3, element 325; p. 4-5, section 0053; p. 5, section 0056; p. 5, section 0060; a neural network is shown that trains speech video synthesis and mapping from text input). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 6, Song discloses wherein the plurality of video frames is representative of an amount of emotion or pattern of speech determined from the speech information (fig. 3; p. 3, sections 0046-0052; p. 4, section 0060; p. 9, section 0146-0147; the voice/speech information is analyzed to determine a facial expression representing a particular emotional state; the inpainted image from the second neural network uses the expression information and video is generated from the inpainted image).
As to claim 7, see the rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 8, see the rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 9, see the rejection to claim 3.
As to claim 10, see the rejection to claim 4.
As to claim 11, see the rejection to claim 5.
As to claim 12, see the rejection to claim 6.
As to claim 13, see the rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 14, see the rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 15, see the rejection to claim 3.
As to claim 16, see the rejection to claim 4.
As to claim 17, see the rejection to claim 5.
As to claim 18, see the rejection to claim 6.
As to claim 19, see the rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 20, see the rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 21, see the rejection to claim 3.
As to claim 22, see the rejection to claim 4.
As to claim 23, see the rejection to claim 5.
As to claim 24, see the rejection to claim 6.
As to claim 25, see the rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 26, see the rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 27, see the rejection to claim 3.
As to claim 28, see the rejection to claim 4.
As to claim 29, see the rejection to claim 5.
As to claim 30, see the rejection to claim 6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON M RICHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617