DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/06/2026 has been entered into the prosecution of the application.
Claims 19-20 are canceled.
Currently, claim(s) 1 and 3-18 is/are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN106730602A) in view of Mou (TWM576250U), Worrilow (WO2019195217A1), Mayer (WO2008017187A1), and Donnelly (US3766844), relying on evidences of Human Proportions Calculator (assuming average height of 161.29 cm for US female adult according to MedicalNewsToday) and Horizon Fitness (T202 Treadmill) for claim 1.
In regards to claim 1, Yang pertains to the instant invention because Yang relates to a gas purifying and processing method for exercise environment applied in an exercise environment (a kind of intelligent health maintenance device comprising a treadmill and air filters and purifiers such as photocatalysts; Yang, abstract).
Yang discloses providing a purification exercise environment in an exercise environment to filter (an HEPA filtering layer and an active carbon filtering layer; Yang, abstract), purify (a negative oxygen ion air purifier; Yang, abstract), and discharge (air outlet 609; Yang, abstract and Fig. 2) a purified gas, wherein the purification device for exercise environment is formed by disposing a purification unit (a fiber net filter layer 605; Yang, Figs. 1-2) in a main body (a housing 1; Yang, Figs. 1-2)) for filtering, purifying, and discharging the purified gas.
Yang discloses a running system which gives early warning according to the cardiac condition of the user (Yang, Background technology, second paragraph), which reads into a step of detecting, issuing an alarm and/or notification, and notifying an exerciser to stop exercising.
The recitation “wherein the main body maintains a breathing distance from a breathing region of a nose region of the exerciser, and the breathing distance is ranged from 60 cm to 200 cm” does not make the instant invention nonobvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the air purifier 6 under the U-shaped handrail 7 (Yang, Fig. 1) disclosed by Yang to reach the limitation of “the breathing distance is ranged from 60 cm to 200 cm,” as evidenced by Human Proportions Calculator assuming average height of 161.29 cm for US female adult (according to MedicalNewsToday, page 1) in light of Horizon Fitness (T202 Treadmill, page 2). As suggested by Horizon Fitness (T202 Treadmill), the air purifier may be placed at the level around a crotch. Human Portions Calculator assuming average height of 161.29 cm for US female adult provides “from shoulder line to crotch” as over 60 cm and below 200 cm.
Yang does not disclose a gas guider.
Yang does not disclose a gas detection module.
Yang does not disclose detecting a particle concentration in the purified gas in real time.
Yang does not disclose providing feedbacks to the purification device to adjust an airflow rate.
Yang does not disclose that the gas guider is controlled to discharge a gas at the airflow rate within 3 minutes to reduce the particle concentration to less than 0.75μg/m3, wherein the airflow rate discharged by the gas guider is at least 800 ft3/min (or CFM, in short).
Yang does not disclose an isolation cover.
Mou pertains to the instant invention because Mou relates to a gas monitoring and purification device (Mou, paragraph [0002]) around user’s breathing area (Mou, paragraph [0004]).
Mou discloses a gas guider (gas actuator 221; Mou, paragraph [0006]).
Mou discloses a gas detection module (a gas sensor 222; Mou, paragraph [0006]).
Yang teaches a running system which gives early warning according to the cardiac condition of the user (Yang, Background technology, second paragraph), which reads into a step of detecting, issuing an alarm and/or notification, and notifying an exerciser to stop exercising. Yang dose not explicitly teach issuing an alarm and/or notification according to the particle concentration of the suspended particles detected by the gas detection module.
However, Mou in paragraph [0005] teaches the gas monitor that provides gas monitoring information, thereby providing an air quality notification mechanism for users to implement protective measures. The gas monitor 2 of Mou includes at least one gas monitoring module 22 and at least one particle monitoring module 23, among other components (Mou, paragraph [0140]), wherein the monitoring module 23 includes a particle sensor 232 (Mou, paragraph [0154]). The particle sensor 232 of Mou monitors the particle size and concentration of suspended particles contained in the gas (Mou, paragraph [0006]). Mou does not explicitly teach that the gas monitoring module 22 detects the particle concentration of the suspended particles. Mou teaches that the particle monitoring module 23 detects the particle concentration of the suspended particles. However, the gas monitoring module 22 and the particle monitoring module 23 constitutes a gas monitoring machine 2 (Mou, paragraph [0012]).
Mou teaches a need for using a gas detection module (a gas sensor) and a gas guider (gas actuator) near user’s breathing region in real time for ensuring better health (Mou, paragraphs [0004]) through real-time monitoring and air purification. Then, Mou discloses the gas monitoring machine 2 and the purified gas machine 5 to address real-time monitoring (Mou, paragraph [0170]).
Mou discloses providing feedback to the purification device to adjust an airflow rate (Mou, paragraph [0171]). Mou teaches that the feedback provided by IoT and the data communicator 6b via microprocessor 6a controls the operation of the gas monitoring module 22, wherein the gas monitoring module includes a gas actuator 221 (Mou, paragraph [0142]). The Office notes that one of ordinary skill in the art usually control actuators to affect the air flowrates. There is a strong motivation in Mou to modify Yang because Mou teaches and discloses a device for real-time monitoring of air around user’s breathing area as disclosed above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to combine the gas purifying and processing method for exercise environment of Yang and the gas monitoring and purification device of Mou for air detection and purification devices.
Yang in view of Mou does not disclose that the gas guider is controlled to discharge a gas at the airflow rate within 3 minutes to reduce the particle concentration to less than 0.75μg/m3, wherein the airflow rate discharged by the gas guider is at least 800 ft3/min (or CFM, in short).
Worrilow pertains to the instant invention because Worrilow relates to air purification (Worrilow, abstract). Worrilow discloses purifying the source air with the air purifier, thereby providing purified air, wherein the purified air has a biologicals content of less than about 1 μg/m3 (Worrilow, page 19, line 31). In addition, Worrilow discloses that the air flow rate through the air purifier 2 should be between about 250 ft3/min and below 2000 ft3/min (Worrilow, page 73, lines 3-15). Worrilow discloses the air purification technology and methods for reducing the levels of airborne biological, chemical, and particulate contamination (Worrilow, page 1, lines 7-10) in real-time (Worrilow, page 83, lines 24-32). There is a strong motivation from Worrilow to modify Yang because Worrilow aims to use the purification technology (in-duct or in-room) towards removal of infectious pathogens and in the concomitant reduction of resident illness (Worrilow, page 1, lines 27-29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to combine the gas purifying and processing method for exercise environment of Yang in view of Mou and the reduced particle concentration of Worrilow for air purification.
Yang in view of Mou and Worrilow does not disclose that the gas guider is controlled to discharge a gas at the airflow rate within 3 minutes.
Mayer pertains to the instant invention because Mayer discloses a device for filtering (Mayer, abstract). Mayer discloses discharging a gas at the airflow rate within 3 minutes for air purification (Mayer discloses air purification through 95% particle removal within 3 minutes; Mayer, page 9, lines 16-20). Mayer discloses that the purification technology utilizes small, but high-pressure fan motor to draw air through a large-surface-area using a filter (Mayer, page 5, lines 16-32), which may be deployed in a confined space.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to combine the gas purifying and processing method for exercise environment of Yang in view of Mou and Worrilow and the air purification time of Mayer for purifying air within a desired time.
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, and Mayer discloses at least one gas inlet and at least one gas outlet (air inlet 211 and air outlet 212; Mou, paragraph [0141]). Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, and Mayer discloses a directional guiding element disposed in at least one gas outlet of the main body, so that a directional filtered and purified gas is discharged from the at least one gas outlet (the first purified unit 242 of the purified gas module 24 located between the air inlet 211 and air outlet 212 can be a filter unit; Mou, paragraphs [0156]-[0157] and Figs. 3 and 6A-6E).
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, and Mayer does not explicitly teach an isolation cover.
In an analogous art, Donnelly teaches an isolation cover (Donnelly, abstract, Fig, 1, col. 4, ln. 4, teaches a system and method to provide protective shelter in contaminated atmosphere areas utilizing a protective shelter).
Both Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, and Mayer and Donnelly relate to air purification (Donnelly, col. 4, ln. 2). Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, and Mayer does not explicitly teach an isolation cover. Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, and Mayer does teach a purification device for exercise environment. Donnelly teaches an isolation cover for permitting air purification outside of a contaminated atmosphere (Donnelly, col. 4, ln. 2).
Fig. 1 of Donnelly
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the method of Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, and Mayer with the method of providing isolation cover of Donnelly for permitting air purification procedures outside of a contaminated atmosphere, and thereby effectively controlling purification system.
In regards to claim 3, Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly discloses at least one gas inlet and at least one gas outlet (air inlet 211 and air outlet 212; Mou, paragraph [0141]).
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly discloses a gas-flow channel disposed between the at least one gas inlet and the at least one gas outlet, wherein the purification unit is disposed in the gas-flow channel (the first purification channel 244; Mou, paragraph [0156]).
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly discloses that the gas guider (the first purification actuator 241; Mou, paragraph [0156]) is disposed in the gas-flow channel and located at a side of the purification unit (the purified gas module 24; Mou, paragraph [0156]), so that the gas outside the main body is inhaled through the at least one gas inlet, flowed through the purification unit for filtering to provide the purified gas, and discharged out through the at least one gas outlet (the first purified unit 242 of the purified gas module 24 located between the air inlet 211 and air outlet 212 can be a filter unit; Mou, paragraphs [0156]-[0157] and Figs. 3 and 6A-6E).
In regards to claim 12, Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly discloses a booster fan 10 (Worrilow, page 73, lines 18-24) for maintaining the desired air flow rate.
In regards to claim 13, Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly discloses that the gas guider is an actuating pump (the gas actuator 221 can be a gas pump 3; Mou, paragraph [0144]).
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly discloses a gas inlet plate having at least one gas inlet aperture (the gas pump 3 includes an air intake plate 31 having an air inlet hole 31a; Mou, paragraph [0144]), at least one convergence channel (the confluence hole 31b; Mou, paragraph [0149]), and a convergence chamber (the confluence chamber 31c; Mou, paragraph [0145]), wherein the at least one gas inlet aperture is disposed to inhale the gas outside the main body (air inlet 211 and air outlet 212; Mou, paragraph [0141]), the at least one gas inlet aperture correspondingly penetrates through the gas inlet plate into the at least one convergence channel (the gas pump 3 includes an air intake plate 31 having an air inlet hole 31a; Mou, paragraph [0144]), and the at least one convergence channel is converged into the convergence chamber (the confluence hole 31b is converged into the confluence chamber 31c; Mou, paragraph [0149] and Fig. 7D), so that the gas inhaled through the at least one gas inlet aperture is converged into the convergence chamber.
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly discloses a resonance plate disposed on the at least one gas inlet plate and having a central aperture (the resonance plate 32 has a hollow hole 32a; Mou, paragraph [0145]), a movable part and a fixed part (a movable part 32b and a fixed part 32c; Mou, paragraph [0145]), wherein the central aperture is disposed at a center of the resonance plate (the hole 32a is located at the center of the resonance plate 32; Mou, paragraph [0145]) and is corresponding in position to the convergence chamber of the gas inlet plate (the hollow hole 32a corresponds to the confluence chamber 31c of the air intake plate 31; Mou, paragraph [0145]).
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly discloses that the movable part surrounds the central aperture and is corresponding in position to the convergence chamber (the area arranged around the hollow hole 32a and opposite to the confluence chamber 31c is the movable part 32b; Mou, paragraph [0145]).
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly discloses that the fixed part surrounds the movable part and is fixedly attached on the gas inlet plate (the outer peripheral part of the resonance plate 32 is attached to the air intake plate 31 and is the fixed part 32c; Mou, paragraph [0145]).
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly discloses a piezoelectric actuator connected to the resonance plate and corresponding in position to the resonance plate (the piezoelectric actuator 33 is attached to the fixing portion 32c of the resonance plate 32; Mou, paragraph [0147]), wherein the piezoelectric actuator comprises a suspension plate, an outer frame, at least one bracket, and a piezoelectric element (the piezoelectric actuator 33 comprises a suspension plate 33a, an outer frame 33b, at least one connecting portion 33c, a piezoelectric element 33d, at least one gap 33e, and a protrusion 33f; Mou, paragraph [0146]).
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly discloses wherein the suspension plate is permitted to undergo a bending deformation (the piezoelectric effect causes deformation, thereby driving the suspension plate 33a to bend and vibrate; Mou, paragraph [0147]).
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly discloses that the outer frame surrounds the suspension plate (the outer frame 33b is disposed around the suspension plate; Mou, paragraph [0146]).
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly discloses that the at least one bracket is connected between the suspension plate and the outer frame to provide an elastic support for the suspension plate (the outer frame 33b is connected between the suspension plate 33a and at least one connecting portion 33c is used to provide a supporting force for elastically supporting the suspension plate 33a; Mou, paragraph [0146]).
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly discloses that the piezoelectric element is attached to a surface of the suspension plate, wherein when a voltage is applied to the piezoelectric element, the suspension plate is driven to undergo the bending formation (the piezoelectric element 33d is attached to the second surface 332a of the suspension plate 33a; Mou, paragraph [0147]).
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly discloses that a chamber space is formed between the resonance plate and the piezoelectric actuator (the chamber distance g is formed between the suspension plate 33a and the resonance plate 32; Mou, paragraph [0148]), so that when the piezoelectric actuator is driven, the gas outside the main body introduced from the gas inlet aperture of the gas inlet plate is converged to the convergence chamber through the at least one convergence channel, and flows through the central aperture of the resonance plate so as to generate a resonance effect by the movable part of the resonance plate and the piezoelectric actuator to transport the gas.
In fact, Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly stresses that maintaining a fixed chamber distance g is critical for providing a stable transmission efficiency for the gas pump 3 (Mou, paragraph [0148]).
wherein the purification device for exercise environment comprises an isolation cover covering the exercise equipment and the exerciser (Donnelly, Fig. 1, teaches a protective shelter 8, which is configured to cover the exercise equipment and the exerciser because the method of providing protective shelter 8 of Donnelly can help perform necessary decontamination procedures by providing a space, or opening, of decontamination), the isolation cover comprises an opening (Donnelly, Fig. 1, teaches that a space inside the protective shelter 8 comprises an opening), wherein the main body runs through and is fixed in the opening (Yang, Figs. 1-2, teaches a housing 1, or main body, wherein the main body runs through and is fixed in the opening of Donnelly), the at least one gas inlet of the main body is located outside of the isolation cover, and the at least one gas outlet is located inside the isolation cover so as to define a localized breathing zone within the isolation cover (Pang, Fig. 1, teaches the at least one gas inlet of the main body is located outside of the isolation cover, and the at least one gas outlet is located inside the isolation);
Fig. 1 of Pang
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly does not disclose a controlling circuit board.
Mou (TWM567862U) pertains to the instant invention because Mou (TWM567862U) relates to a gas detecting device (Mou (TWM567862U), abstract). Mou disclose that the carrier board 22 can be a circuit board (Mou (TWM567862U), page 3, Figs. 2, 3A-3C, and 6-8), wherein the connector 222 is provided for a circuit board. The Office notes that one of ordinary skill in the art may easily arrive at the instant invention by integrating the circuit board for air purification because the usage of a circuit board as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art provides advantages in providing communications with each electrical components in connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to combine the air purification method of Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer with the circuit board of Mou (TWM567862U) for controlling operations of the gas detection module and the gas guider.
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, and Mou (TWM567862U) teaches to wherein the gas detection module comprises a controlling circuit board, a gas detection main part, a microprocessor and a communicator (Mou, paragraph [0171], teaches to a drive control module 6 that includes a microprocessor 6a, an Internet of Things communicator 6b, a global positioning system component 6c, and a data communicator 6d; Mou (TWM567862U), page 3, Figs. 2, 3A-3C, and 6-8, teaches to a circuit board), and the gas detection main part, the microprocessor and the communicator are integrally packaged on the controlling circuit board and electrically connected to the controlling circuit board (Mou, paragraph [0171], teaches that the particle monitoring module 23, the gas detection main part recited in the instant claim, is controlled by microprocessor 6a);
wherein the communicator is further configured to receive a feedback control signal from an external device for adjusting the airflow rate of the gas guider (Mou, paragraph [0142], teaches that the feedback provided by IoT and the data communicator 6b via microprocessor 6a controls the operation of the gas monitoring module 22, wherein the gas monitoring module includes a gas actuator 221).
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, and Mou (TWM567862U) does not explicitly teach wherein the microprocessor is configured to compare the detected particle concentration with a predetermined threshold of 0.75 µg/m3 and, when the detected particle concentration exceeds the predetermined threshold, to cause the communicator to transmit an alarm notification to an external device and to control the gas guider to operate in a forced high-flow mode for a continuous period of up to three minutes at an airflow rate of at least 800 ft3/min until the particle concentration is reduced below the predetermined threshold.
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, and Mou (TWM567862U), however, does teach to that the particle monitoring module 23, the gas detection main part recited in the instant claim, is controlled by microprocessor 6a (Mou, paragraph [0171]). Further, Mou, paragraph [0142], teaches that the feedback provided by IoT and the data communicator 6b via microprocessor 6a controls the operation of the gas monitoring module 22, wherein the gas monitoring module includes a gas actuator 221. The gas actuator 221 of Mou reads as a gas guider, and Mou, paragraph [0144], teaches that the gas actuator 221 can be a gas pump 3. Further, Worrilow, page 19, line 31, discloses purifying the source air with the air purifier, thereby providing purified air, wherein the purified air has a biologicals content of less than about 1 μg/m3, and Worrilow, page 73, lines 3-15, teaches that the air flow rate through the air purifier 2 should be between about 250 ft3/min and below 2000 ft3/min.
In light of what would have been known to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the microprocessor 6a of Mou, paragraph [0171] is capable of comparing the detected particle concentration with a known threshold, of notifying to an external device, such as dial plate 903 of Yang, and of controlling the gas pump 3 of Mou with known airflow rate for air purification of Worrilow.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arrived at the claimed invention by making operable of merely what would have been known in the art of air purification.
Claim(s) 4-5, 7-11, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN106730602A) in view of Mou (TWM576250U), Worrilow (WO2019195217A1), Mayer (WO2008017187A1), and Donnelly (US3766844), relying on evidences of Human Proportions Calculator (assuming average height of 161.29 cm for US female adult according to MedicalNewsToday) and Horizon Fitness (T202 Treadmill) for claim 1, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Pang (CN111503780A), relying on HEPA filter media: Colback Nonwoven fabric for Air purifier HEPA filters (NPL) as an evidence for claim 4.
Paragraph numbers or page numbers in the issued translations are referred thereto for foreign patent or foreign patent applications.
In regards to claim 4, Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly discloses that the air cleaning unit 2 can be a high efficiency particulate air filter. Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly does not disclose a filter screen.
Pang pertains to the instant invention because Pang relates to air purification system (Pang, abstract). Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, and Pang discloses a non-woven fabric filter screen that is made of a material containing an antibacterial disinfection substance (Pang, Disclosure of Invention, fourth paragraph, and Fig. 2). The Office relies on HEPA filter media: Colback Nonwoven fabric for Air purifier HEPA filters (NPL) to note that a filter screen may be both a HEPA filter and a non-woven fabric filter screen. Pang uses the filter screen to filter air (“the non-woven fabric filter screen further filters air”; Pang, page 3) so that the indoor air is really clean and safe.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to combine the air purification method of Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly and the filter screen of Pang for disinfection.
In regards to claim 5, Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, and Pang discloses a non-woven fabric filter screen that is made of a material containing an antibacterial disinfection substance, wherein the antibacterial substance is preferably chlorine dioxide or silver ions (dust removal layer 34; Pang, Disclosure of Invention, fourth paragraph, and Fig. 2). The usage of chlorine dioxide as an antibacterial disinfection substance on the filter screen is therefore found obvious.
In regards to claim 7, Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, and Pang discloses a non-woven fabric filter screen that is made of a material containing an antibacterial disinfection substance, wherein the antibacterial substance is preferably chlorine dioxide or silver ions (dust removal layer 34; Pang, Disclosure of Invention, fourth paragraph, and Fig. 2). The usage of silver ion layer as an antibacterial disinfection substance on the filter screen is therefore found obvious.
In regards to claim 8, Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, and Pang discloses a photo-catalyst unit (a light contact or photo-catalytic decomposition layer 32; Pang, Fig. 2), wherein the one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the photo-catalyst unit comprises a photo-catalyst. Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, and Pang discloses an ultraviolet lamp (ultraviolet lamp 5; Pang, Fig. 1) for irradiating the photo-catalyst to purify the gas introduced from an outside of the main body. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would easily arrive at the photo-catalyst unit, wherein the photo-catalyst unit comprises a photo-catalyst and an ultraviolet lamp.
In regards to claim 9, Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, and Pang discloses a photo-plasma unit, wherein the photo-plasma unit comprise a nanometer irradiation tube (the UV lamps are UVC sources, having a wavelength in a range of about 220 nm to about 288 nm, and are about 60 inches long and extend longitudinally, resembling a tube; Worrilow, page 76, lines 1-16 and Figs 3-4), wherein the gas introduced from an outside of the main body is irradiated by the nanometer irradiation tube to decompose and purify the volatile organic gases (volatile organic compound; Worrilow, page 4, line 26) contained in the gas. The Office notes that the term “photo-plasma” refers to a process that utilizes ultraviolet light or ozone elements which may generate free radicals for air purification.
In regards to claim 10, Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, and Pang discloses a negative ion unit, including at least one electrode line 242e, at least one dust collecting plate 242f, and a booster supply 242g (Mou, paragraph [0160]).
In regards to claim 11, Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, discloses that the first purification unit 242 can be a plasma ion unit, including an upper electric field protection net 242h, an adsorption filter 242i, a high-voltage discharge electrode 32j, a lower electric field protection net 242k, and a booster power supply 242g, wherein the upper electric field protection net 242h is a plurality of electric field protection nets (Mou, paragraph [0161]). Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, and Pang discloses that the booster power supply is used to provide the high-voltage discharge electrode 32j with high-voltage discharge in generating high-pressure plasma column with plasma ions for gas purification (Mou, paragraph [0161]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN106730602A) in view of Mou (TWM576250U), Worrilow (WO2019195217A1), Mayer (WO2008017187A1), and Donnelly (US3766844), relying on evidences of Human Proportions Calculator (assuming average height of 161.29 cm for US female adult according to MedicalNewsToday) and Horizon Fitness (T202 Treadmill) for claim 1, as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Pang (CN111503780A), relying on HEPA filter media: Colback Nonwoven fabric for Air purifier HEPA filters (NPL), as applied to claim 4 above, and in further view of Kim (US20110086118A1), relying on Devi (Devi, H.M. et. al Traditional medicinal uses and pharmacological properties of Rhus chinensis Mill: A systematic review, European Journal of Integrative Medicine, Volume 21,2018, Pages 43-49) and on Lanusunep (Lanusunep et al. “Traditional knowledge of herbal medicines practiced by Ao-Naga tribe in Nagaland, India.” Pleione (2018)).
Paragraph numbers or page numbers in the issued translations are referred thereto for foreign patent or foreign patent applications.
In regards to claim 6, Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Pang does not disclose a coating with an herbal protective layer consisting of Rhus chinensis Mill extracts from Japan.
Kim pertains to the instant invention because Kim relates to an air filter (Kim, abstract). Kim discloses a composition for the prophylaxis of influenza viral infection comprising a sumac extract, an air filter coated with the same, and an air cleaner comprising the air filter (Kim, abstract). Kim discloses that Rhus chinensis can be used for obtaining extracts (Kim, paragraph [0042]). The Office notes that “Mill” is a Latin binomial name (the “scientific name”) for the plant. Kim teaches that sumacs are shrubs and small trees in the family Anacardiaceae which grow in Asia (Kim, paragraph [0025]). Evidenced by Devi (Devi, I. Introduction, Rhus chinensis Mill is mainly found in Japan), the Office notes that the claim recitation “from Japan” does not render the instant claim unobvious. Kim additionally discloses using Ginkgo biloba extracts for the coating the air filter (Kim, claim 5). One of ordinary skill in the art would easily modify Kim to reach coating with an herbal protective layer consisting of Rhus chinensis extracts from Japan and Ginkgo biloba extracts to form an herbal protective anti-allergic filter for resisting allergy and destroying virus surface, as the anti-allergic properties were known, as evidenced by Lanusunep (Lanusunep, page 14, Rhus chinensis Mill.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to combine the air purification method of Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Pang and the herbal coating for resisting allergy. One could have combined the disclosed ideas, and results of the combination would have been predictable because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN106730602A) in view of Mou (TWM576250U), Worrilow (WO2019195217A1), Mayer (WO2008017187A1), and Donnelly (US3766844), relying on evidences of Human Proportions Calculator (assuming average height of 161.29 cm for US female adult according to MedicalNewsToday) and Horizon Fitness (T202 Treadmill) for claim 1, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Mou (TWM567862U).
Paragraph numbers or page numbers in the issued translations are referred thereto for foreign patent or foreign patent applications.
In regards to claim 14, Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly discloses a drive control module 6 that includes a microprocessor 6a, an Internet of Things communicator 6b, a global positioning system component 6c, and a data communicator 6d (Mou, paragraph [0171]). The particle monitoring module 23 (the gas detection main part recited in the instant claim) is controlled by microprocessor 6a (Mou, paragraph [0171]). The Office notes that one of ordinary skill in the art may arrive at the instant invention given that the purpose is to utilize IoT technologies for air purification (to perform wireless communication transmission operations; Mou, paragraph [0172]) by performing control and calculations.
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer and Donnelly does not disclose a circuit board.
Mou (TWM567862U) pertains to the instant invention because Mou (TWM567862U) relates to a gas detecting device (Mou (TWM567862U), abstract). Mou disclose that the carrier board 22 can be a circuit board (Mou (TWM567862U), page 3, Figs. 2, 3A-3C, and 6-8), wherein the connector 222 is provided for a circuit board. The Office notes that one of ordinary skill in the art may easily arrive at the instant invention by integrating the circuit board for air purification because the usage of a circuit board as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art provides advantages in providing communications with each electrical components in connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to combine the air purification method of Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer with the circuit board of Mou (TWM567862U) for controlling operations of the gas detection module and the gas guider.
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN106730602A) in view of Mou (TWM576250U), Worrilow (WO2019195217A1), Mayer (WO2008017187A1), and Donnelly (US3766844), relying on evidences of Human Proportions Calculator (assuming average height of 161.29 cm for US female adult according to MedicalNewsToday) and Horizon Fitness (T202 Treadmill) for claim 1, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Mou (TWM567862U) as applied to claim 14 above, and in further view of Wang (Wang et. al, "Design of High Precision PM2.5 Detector Based on Laser Sensor," 2019 IEEE 8th Joint International Information Technology and Artificial Intelligence Conference (ITAIC), Chongqing, China, 2019, pp. 1130-1133).
Paragraph numbers or page numbers in the issued translations are referred thereto for foreign patent or foreign patent applications.
In regards to claim 15, Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, and Mou (TWM567862U) discloses to the gas purifying and processing method of claim 14, wherein the gas detection main part (a gas detecting device comprising at least one particle monitoring module 3; Mou (TWM567862U), Fig. 1A to 1E and Fig. 2) comprises a base (the particle monitoring base 33; Mou (TWM567862U), page 5, fourth paragraph, and Figs. 8-9). The particle monitoring base 33 has a first surface and a second surface that is opposite to the first surface (Mou (TWM567862U), pages 5-6, and Figs. 8-9).
The particle monitoring base 33 comprises a laser loading region hollowed out from the first surface to the second surface (the laser emitters 35 are disposed in the accommodating chamber 334; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10).
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, and Mou (TWM567862U) discloses a gas-inlet groove (inlet 31; Mou (TWM567862U), Fig. 9). Inlet 31 of Mou (TWM567862U) is concavely formed from the second surface (see labeled Fig. 9 of Mou (TWM567862U) above) and disposed adjacent to the laser loading region (accommodating chamber 334; Mou (TWM567862U), Fig. 9). The gas-inlet groove comprises a gas-inlet (receiving slots 331; Mou (TWM567862U), Fig. 9) and two lateral walls (see labeled Fig. 9 of Mou (TWM567862U) above), the receiving slots 331 are in communication with an environment outside the base (Mou (TWM567862U), Fig. 9).
Fig. 9 of Mou (TWM567862U)
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, and Mou (TWM567862U) discloses a gas-guiding-component loading region (areas around particle actuator 36; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10). The areas around particle actuator 36 is in communication with a gas-inlet groove (air inlet 31; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10). The areas around particle actuator 36 comprises a ventilation hole (hollow holes 361c; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10), which penetrates a bottom surface of the particle actuator 36. The particle actuator 36 has four positioning protrusions (air vent 361; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10) disposed at four corners thereof.
Figs. 10 of Mou (TWM567862U)
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, and Mou (TWM567862U) discloses a gas-outlet groove (outlet 32; see labeled Fig. 9 of Mou (TWM567862U) above). The outlet 32 is formed on the first surface (see labeled Fig. 9 of Mou (TWM567862U) above). The first surface spatially corresponds to a bottom surface of a gas-guiding-component loading region (a monitoring channel 332; see labeled Fig. 9 of Mou (TWM567862U) above). The outlet 32 is hollowed out from the first surface to the second surface in a region where the first surface is not aligned with the monitoring channel 332 (based on an x-axis; see labeled Fig. 9 of Mou (TWM567862U) above). The outlet 32 is in communication with a ventilation hole (see hollow holes 361c; Mou (TWM567862U), Fig. 10). A gas-outlet (a connecting port 341; Mou (TWM567862U), Fig. 9) is disposed in the outlet 32. The connecting port 341 is in communication with the environment outside the base (Mou (TWM567862U), Fig. 9).
The base comprises a piezoelectric-actuated element accommodated in the gas-guiding-component loading region (a piezoelectric plate 363c; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10).
Figs. 2 and 8 of Mou (TWM567862U)
The base comprises a driving circuit board (a controlling module 5) covering and attached to the second surface of the base (the controlling module 5 and the carrier spacer 34 can serve as circuit boards and attached to the second surface of the base; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10).
The base comprises a laser component positioned and disposed on the driving circuit board (the laser emitters 35 are disposed in the accommodating chamber 334, wherein the chamber is load-bearing partition 34 (from a controlling module 5) is a circuit board that is attached to the second surface of the base; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10), electrically connected to the driving circuit board, and accommodated in the laser loading region, wherein a light beam path emitted from the laser component passes through a window and extends in a direction perpendicular to the gas-inlet groove (please refer to a beam path and monitoring channel 332; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10). The monitoring channel must be at least partially transparent for the light to pass and be used for monitoring purposes.
The base comprises a particulate sensor positioned and disposed on the driving circuit board (circuit board 34 from controlling module 5), electrically connected to the driving circuit board (circuit board 34 from controlling module 5), and disposed at a position where the gas-inlet groove orthogonally intersects with the light beam path of the laser component, so that the suspended particles in the purified gas passing through the gas-inlet groove and irradiated by a projecting light beam emitted from the laser component are detected (please refer to particle sensor 37; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10).
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, and Mou (TWM567862U) discloses an outer cover (Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10) covering the first surface of the base. The outer over includes a side plate (Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10). The side plate has an inlet opening spatially corresponding to the gas-inlet (Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10). The side plate has an outlet opening spatially corresponding to the gas-outlet (Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10).
The first surface of the base is covered with the outer cover (Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10). The second surface of the base is covered with the driving circuit board (circuit board 34 from controlling module 5; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10), so that a gas-inlet path (receiving slots 331) is defined by the gas-inlet groove (inlet 31; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10), and an gas-outlet path (monitoring channel 332; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10) is defined by the gas-outlet groove (outlet 32; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10), so that the gas is inhaled from the environment outside the base by the piezoelectric-actuated element (particle actuator 36), transported into the gas-inlet path (receiving slots 331; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10) defined by the gas-inlet groove (inlet 31; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10) through the inlet opening (the air vent 361; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10), and passes through the particulate sensor (particulate sensor 37; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10) to detect the concentration of the suspended particles contained in the gas, and the gas transported through the piezoelectric-actuated element (particle actuator 36) is transported out of the gas-outlet path (monitoring channel 332; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10) defined by the gas-outlet groove (outlet 32; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2 and 8-10) through the ventilation hole (hollow holes 361c) and then discharged through the outlet opening (connecting port 341; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2, 8, 11A-C, page 6).
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, and Mou (TWM567862U) does not disclose a transparent window.
Wang pertains to the instant invention because Wang relates to a gas detector based on laser sensor (Wang, title). Wang discloses a lens so that the laser produced by a laser source moves through the lens, wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would readily perceive that the lens constitute a transparent window. Placing a lens in front of a laser source can not only protect the laser source from analyzing particulates contained in the air but also focuses the laser beam in improving the particulate detection (see Fig. 1 of Wang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to combine the method of Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, and Mou (TWM567862U) and the transparent window of Wang for improved detection of particulate matters.
In regards to claim 16, Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, Mou (TWM567862U), and Wang discloses to the method of claim 15, wherein the particulate sensor is a PM2.5 sensor (the particle sensor 37 is a PM2.5 sensor; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2, 8, 11A-C, page 6).
In regards to claim 17, Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, Mou (TWM567862U), and Wang discloses to the method of claim 15, wherein a piezoelectric-actuated element (particle actuator 36) comprises a gas-injection plate (air vent 361, Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2, 8, 11A-C, page 6) comprising a suspension plate (suspension piece 361b; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2, 8, 11A-C, page 6) and a hollow aperture (hollow hole 361c; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2, 8, 11A-C, page 6), wherein the suspension plate is permitted to undergo a bending deformation (the suspension piece 361b can be flexed and vibrated; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2, 8, 11A-C, page 6and the hollow aperture is formed at center of the suspension plate.
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, Mou (TWM567862U), and Wang discloses a chamber frame carried and stacked on the suspension plate (cavity frame 362; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2, 8, 11A-C, page 6).
Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, Mou (TWM567862U), and Wang discloses an actuator element carried and stacked on the chamber frame (an actuating body 363; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2, 8, 11A-C, page 6). The actuating body 363 comprises a piezoelectric carrying plate carried and stacked on the chamber frame (piezoelectric carrier 363a; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2, 8, 11A-C, page 6).
The actuator comprises an adjusting resonance plate carried and stacked on the piezoelectric carrying plate (adjusting resonance plate 363b; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2, 8, 11A-C, page 6).
The actuator comprises a piezoelectric plate carried and stacked on the adjusting resonance plate, wherein the piezoelectric plate is configured to drive the piezoelectric carrying plate and the adjusting resonance plate to generate the bending deformation in a reciprocating manner when a voltage is applied thereto (piezoelectric plate 363c; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2, 8, 11A-C, page 6).
The actuator comprises an insulation frame carried and stacked on the actuating body 363 (insulating frame 364; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2, 8, 11A-C, page 6).
The actuator comprises a conductive frame carried and stacked on the insulation frame, wherein the hollow holes 361c is fixed on the four positioning protrusions of the gas-guiding-component loading region for supporting and positioning (conductive frame 365; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2, 8, 11A-C, page 6).
A vacant space is defined, wherein the vacant space is outside of the hollow holes 361c, and the vacant space is surrounding the hollow holes 361c for the gas flowing therethrough (see monitoring channel 332 in Fig. 11A of Mou (TWM567862U)).
A flowing chamber is formed between the hollow holes 361c and the bottom surface of the areas around the particle actuator 36 (see resonance chamber 366; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2, 8, 11A-C, page 6).
A resonance chamber is formed between the actuating body 363, the chamber frame and the suspension plate, wherein the actuating body 363 is enabled to drive the air vent 361 to move, so that the actuating body 363 generates a resonance effect (resonant cavity 366; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2, 8, 11A-C, page 6). The cavity frame 362 of the air vent 361 is driven to generate the bending deformation in a reciprocating manner, the gas is inhaled through the vacant space, flows into the flowing chamber, and then is discharged out, so as to complete gas transportation (see Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 2, 8, 11A-C, page 6).
In regards to claim 18, Yang in view of Mou, Worrilow, Mayer, Donnelly, Mou (TWM567862U), and Wang discloses to the method of claim 17, further comprising a first volatile-organic-compound sensor positioned and disposed on the driving circuit board, electrically connected to the driving circuit board (the sensor 23 on circuit board 22 is a volatile organic sensor; Mou (TWM567862U), Figs. 6-7, page 5), and accommodated in a gas-outlet groove, so as to detect volatile organic gases contained in a purified gas flowing through a gas-outlet path of a gas-outlet groove.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 15 of 18, the applicant lists the deficiencies of Yang that are instead addressed in the combined prior art. The applicant asserts that that the disclosure of Yang is limited to general air purification functionality and does not involve a multi-state control mechanism or a bidirectional feedback control with an external device.
However, even if conceded to the applicant’s assertion, the assertion does not result in an allowance because the claimed invention does not overcome the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection in light of combined prior art. For instance, Yang may be limited to general air purification functionality and may not involve a multi-state control mechanism. However, Yang does not have to, at least in addressing the claimed limitations. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., multi-state control mechanism) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
On pg. 16 of 18, the applicant asserts that control described in Mou is confined to the interior of the device and does not form a distributed closed-loop control system involving an external device. On pg. 16 of 18, the applicant asserts that the “three minutes” mentioned in Mayer merely relates to purification performance effectiveness, rather than a control state triggered by threshold determination.
On pg. 16 of 18, the applicant lists the deficiencies of Worrilow that are addressed in the combined prior art. . The applicant asserts that Worrilow does not disclose a threshold-triggered force high-flow control mode, for instance. On pg. 16 of 18, the applicant lists the deficiencies of Donnelly that are addressed in the combined prior art. . The applicant asserts that Donnelly does not disclose providing a directional gas outlet, for instance.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
At least for these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/JAMES LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794