DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
In response to Applicant’s claims filed on August 14, 2026, claims 1-20 are now pending for examination in the application.
Response to Arguments
This office action is in response to amendment filed 08/14/2026. In this action Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Jung (US Pub. No. 20200401470) and Kafai et al. (US Pub. No. 20200167312) and Hazard et al. (US Pub. No. 20200394541) and Walters et al. (US Pub. No. 20200012900) in further view of Oberbreckling et al. (US Pub. No. 20180074786). The Kafai et al. reference has been added to address the amendment of for each feature of the set of features, using the one or more events to load a corresponding distribution of data from the data stream, wherein the loading includes updating the corresponding distribution of data from the data stream via a recursive technique using a suppression factor that discounts at least one previous event relative to a current event to consume fewer computational resources compared with an update that does not use a constant memory reference state and a constant memory streaming state.
Applicant’s arguments:
In regards to claim 1 on Page(s) 8, applicant argues “The above-highlighted features recite a technical solution as performed by a computer rather than a human directing a computer because it is the computer that loads a corresponding distribution of data from the data stream and updates the corresponding distribution of data from the data stream via a recursive technique using a suppression factor that discounts at least one previous event relative to a current event. A consequence for the computer of performing the method in this manner is that fewer computational resources are consumed compared with an update that does not use a constant memory reference state and a constant memory streaming state. These features are integrated into a practical application for computer-implemented monitoring and improve the functioning of the computer by consuming fewer memory resources.”
Examiner’s Reply:
The examiner notes that the computer (being used as a generic tool) as recited in the claims is being used for monitoring features and analyzing large volumes of data. The use of mathematical calculations does not improve the functioning of a computer. Loading data is an additional element that is insignificant extra-solution activity. Therefore, the abstract idea recited in the claims is generally linking it to a computer environment, and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
*-Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title.
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The eligibility analysis in support of these findings is provided below, in accordance with the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, hereinafter 2019 PEG.
Step 1. In accordance with Step 1 of the eligibility inquiry (as explained in MPEP 2106), it is noted that the system, method, and portable device of claims 1-20 are directed to one of the eligible categories of subject matter and therefore satisfy Step 1.
Step 2A. In accordance with Step 2A, prong one of the 2019 PEG, it is noted that the independent claims recite an abstract idea falling within the Mathematical Concepts & Mental Processes enumerated groupings of abstract ideas set forth in the 2019 PEG. Examiner is of the position that independent claims 1, 19, and 20 are directed towards the Mathematical Concepts & Mental Process Grouping of Abstract Ideas.
Independent claims 1, 19, and 20 recites the following limitations directed towards a Mathematical Concepts & Mental Processes:
aggregating the determined divergences (The limitation recites a mathematical concept; aggregating);
for each feature of the set of features, using the one or more events to load a corresponding distribution of data from the data stream, wherein the loading includes updating the corresponding distribution of data from the data strram via a recursive technique using a suppression factor that discounts at least one previous event relative to a current event to consume fewer computational resources compared with an update that does not use a constant memory reference state and a constant memory streaming state (mental step of observing and/or evaluation of event data on a computer screen, computer is being used as a generic tool);
for each feature of the set of features, using the corresponding updated distribution and a corresponding reference distribution to determine a corresponding divergence value (The limitation recites a mathematical concept; calculating);
for each feature of the set of features, using the corresponding determined divergence value and a corresponding distribution of divergences to determine a corresponding statistical value, wherein the statistical value indicates a probability of observing the determined divergence value based on historical fluctuations characterized by the distribution of divergence values (The limitation recites a mathematical concept; calculating); and
using the statistical values each corresponding to a different feature of the set of features, performing, a statistical analysis to determine a result associated with a likelihood of data drift detection in real-time (The limitation recites a mathematical concept; calculating),
determining a signal visualization based on the result (mental step of determining a visualization on a computer screen, computer is being used as a generic tool).
Step 2A. In accordance with Step 2A, prong two of the 2019 PEG, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because of the recitation in claim(s) 1, 19, and 20:
One or more processors (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) configured to:
Receiving one or more events in a data stream (recites insignificant extra solution activity that amounts to mere data gathering);
receiving, for each feature of a set of features, a corresponding triplet of distribution representations comprising (i) a reference distribution derived from a reference dataset, (ii) an initial sample distribution, and (iii) a distribution of divergence values, wherein the distribution of divergence values is generated by sampling a plurality of subsets from the reference dataset (recites insignificant extra solution activity that amounts to mere data gathering)
outputting the signal visualization associated with the determined result (recites insignificant extra solution activity that amounts to outputting data)
a memory coupled to at least one of the one or more processors and configured to provide at least one of the one or more processors with instructions (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function).
Step 2B. Similar to the analysis under 2A Prong Two, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Because the additional elements of the independent claims amount to insignificant extra solution activity and/or mere instructions, the additional elements do not add significantly more to the judicial exception such that the independent claims as a whole would be patent eligible.
Therefore, independent claims 1, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
With respect to claim(s) 2:
Step 2A, prong one of the 2019 PEG:
Examiner is of the position the dependent claim is directed toward additional elements.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
wherein at least a portion of the one or more events have is occurred at distinct points in time (recites insignificant extrasolution activity of receiving event data).
Step 2B Analysis:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim(s) 3:
Step 2A, prong one of the 2019 PEG:
Examiner is of the position the dependent claim is directed toward additional elements.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
wherein the one or more events correspond to information associated with transactions being analyzed to detect fraud (recites insignificant extrasolution activity of receiving and event data).
Step 2B Analysis:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim(s) 4:
Step 2A, prong one of the 2019 PEG:
wherein one or more features of the set of features are associated with a numerical measurement of data (The limitation recites a mathematical concept; calculating).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no
additional elements to provide practical application.
Step 2B Analysis:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim(s) 5:
Step 2A, prong one of the 2019 PEG:
wherein one or more features of the set of features are utilized by a machine learning model for predictive tasks (The limitation recites a mathematical concept; calculating).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no
additional elements to provide practical application.
Step 2B Analysis:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim(s) 6:
Step 2A, prong one of the 2019 PEG:
wherein using the one or more events to update the corresponding distribution of data from the data stream includes assigning each of the one or more events to a category among a plurality of categories associated with the corresponding distribution of data and correspondingly incrementing counts of events in categories of the plurality of categories (mental step of observing and/or evaluation of event data on a computer screen, computer is being used as a generic tool).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no
additional elements to provide practical application.
Step 2B Analysis:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim(s) 7:
Step 2A, prong one of the 2019 PEG:
wherein the corresponding distribution of data from the data stream is represented as a histogram (mental step of observing and/or evaluation of event data on a computer screen, computer is being used as a generic tool).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no
additional elements to provide practical application.
Step 2B Analysis:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim(s) 8:
Step 2A, prong one of the 2019 PEG:
wherein the histogram is generated including by applying an exponential moving average suppression of older events (mental step of observing and/or evaluation of event data on a computer screen, computer is being used as a generic tool).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no
additional elements to provide practical application.
Step 2B Analysis:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim(s) 9:
Step 2A, prong one of the 2019 PEG:
wherein the corresponding statistical value is a p-value (The limitation recites a mathematical concept; calculating).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no
additional elements to provide practical application.
Step 2B Analysis:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim(s) 10:
Step 2A, prong one of the 2019 PEG:
Examiner is of the position the dependent claim is directed toward additional elements.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
receiving, for each feature of the set of features, the corresponding reference distribution and the corresponding distribution of divergences (recites insignificant extra solution activity that amounts to mere data gathering).
Step 2B Analysis:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim(s) 11:
Step 2A, prong one of the 2019 PEG:
wherein performing the statistical analysis includes performing a multivariate hypothesis test (The limitation recites a mathematical concept; calculating).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no
additional elements to provide practical application.
Step 2B Analysis:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim(s) 12:
Step 2A, prong one of the 2019 PEG:
wherein performing the multivariate hypothesis test includes scaling the statistical values (The limitation recites a mathematical concept; calculating).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no
additional elements to provide practical application.
Step 2B Analysis:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim(s) 13:
Step 2A, prong one of the 2019 PEG:
wherein the statistical analysis is performed each time a batch of events is received (The limitation recites a mathematical concept; calculating).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no
additional elements to provide practical application.
Step 2B Analysis:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim(s) 14:
Step 2A, prong one of the 2019 PEG:
analyzing the result to determine whether a specified condition has been satisfied (mental step of observing and/or evaluation of event data on a computer screen, computer is being used as a generic tool).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no
additional elements to provide practical application.
Step 2B Analysis:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim(s) 15:
Step 2A, prong one of the 2019 PEG:
in response to a determination that the specified condition has been satisfied, providing an alarm (mental step of observing and/or evaluation of event data on a computer screen, computer is being used as a generic tool).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no
additional elements to provide practical application.
Step 2B Analysis:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim(s) 16:
Step 2A, prong one of the 2019 PEG:
in response to the alarm, generating an alarm report that includes:
a ranking of features of the set of features according to how much each feature of the set of features contributed to the alarm (mental step of observing and/or evaluation of event data on a computer screen, computer is being used as a generic tool); and
an explanation to identify a root cause associated with the data drift detection (mental step of observing and/or evaluation of event data on a computer screen, computer is being used as a generic tool).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no
additional elements to provide practical application.
Step 2B Analysis:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim(s) 17:
Step 2A, prong one of the 2019 PEG:
wherein the alarm causes retraining of a machine learning model (mental step of observing and/or evaluation of event data on a computer screen, computer is being used as a generic tool).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no
additional elements to provide practical application.
Step 2B Analysis:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim(s) 18:
Step 2A, prong one of the 2019 PEG:
wherein the specified condition is associated with one or more comparisons to a threshold value (mental step of observing and/or evaluation of event data on a computer screen, computer is being used as a generic tool).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no
additional elements to provide practical application.
Step 2B Analysis:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Jung (US Pub. No. 20200401470) and Kafai et al. (US Pub. No. 20200167312) and Hazard et al. (US Pub. No. 20200394541) and Walters et al. (US Pub. No. 20200012900) in further view of Oberbreckling et al. (US Pub. No. 20180074786).
With respect to claim 1, Jung discloses a method, comprising:
Receiving one or more events of a data stream (Paragraph 44 discloses summarize samples in each time interval into two distinctive features);
receiving, for each feature of a set of features (Column 11 Lines 25-29 discloses the output of the record handlers 360 and/or the statistics managers 362 may be sent to feature processors 364, where a set of transformation operations may be performed using another set of resources from pool 385), a corresponding triplet of distribution representations comprising (i) a reference distribution derived from a reference dataset, (ii) an initial sample distribution, and (iii) a distribution of divergence values, wherein the distribution of divergence values is generated by sampling a plurality of subsets from the reference dataset, determining a divergence for each of the plurality of subsets relative to the reference distribution, and aggregating the determined divergences (Paragraphs 61-62 discloses a triplet B=(Θ, G, Z) and a unique joint probability distribution over Θ given by: P.sub.B(θ.sub.1, . . . , θ.sub.n)=Π.sub.i=1.sup.nP.sub.B(θ.sub.i|Π.sub.θ.sub.i) (5) A set of all Bayesian networks with n variables can be denoted by custom-character.sub.n. In one embodiment, Bayesian network structure discovery module 224 can learn a Bayesian network by searching for the Bayesian network B∈custom-character.sub.n that maximizes the value ϕ(B,custom-character.sub.θ) where ϕ denotes a scoring function and custom-character.sub.θ denotes samples of hidden states θ found from X). Jung does not disclose for each feature of the set of features, using the one or more events to load a corresponding distribution of data from the data stream…
However, Kafai et al. discloses for each feature of the set of features, using the one or more events to load a corresponding distribution of data from the data stream, wherein the loading includes updating the corresponding distribution of data from the data stream via a recursive technique using a suppression factor that discounts at least one previous event relative to a current event to consume fewer computational resources compared with an update that does not use a constant memory reference state and a constant memory streaming state (Paragraph 23 discloses the hash suppression engine 140 may compute a sum and a sum of squares of all elements of the combined high-dimensional sparse vector, may compute a mean and a standard deviation of all elements of the combined high-dimensional sparse vector, and may using the mean, the standard deviation, and a hash suppression factor to compute the hash suppression threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing data of invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Jung’s event analysis with Kafai et al.’s suppression. This would have facilitated data analytics.
Jung as modified Kafai et al. does not disclose for each feature of the set of features, using the corresponding updated distribution and a corresponding reference distribution to determine a corresponding divergence value.
However, Hazard et al. discloses for each feature of the set of features, using the corresponding updated distribution and a corresponding reference distribution to determine a corresponding divergence value (Paragraph 46 discloses features which are nominal or categorical), then K cases may be selected from those cases meeting the condition. These K cases may be selected from among those that fully meet the conditions can be done randomly, or using any appropriate technique, such as by looking at the surprisal and/or conviction of those cases and choosing the K with the highest (or lowest) surprisal and/or conviction, or all of the K cases may be used. K may be 1, 2, 3, 5, 10, 100, a percentage of the model, specified dynamically or locally within the model, or any appropriate number. For distance measurements discussed herein (e.g., for use with K nearest neighbors), any appropriate measure, metric, or premetric may be used, including Euclidean distance, Minkowski distance, Damerau-Levenshtein distance, Kullback-Leibler divergence, 1—Kronecker delta, cosine similarity, Jaccard index, Tanimoto similarity, and/or any other distance measure, metric, pseudometric, premetric, index, etc).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing data of invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Jung’s event analysis and Kafai et al.’s suppression with Hazard et al.’s synthetic data. This would have determining features.
Jung as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard et al. does not disclose …wherein the statistical value indicates a probability of observing the determined divergence value based on historical fluctuations…; …performing a statistical analysis to determine a result associated with a likelihood of data drift detection in real-time.
However, Walters et al. discloses for each feature of the set of features, using the corresponding determined divergence value and a corresponding distribution of divergences to determine a corresponding statistical value for that class and can select one of the subclasses for generating the synthetic data according to the statistical distribution, wherein the statistical value indicates a probability of observing the determined divergence value based on historical fluctuations characterized by the distribution of divergence values (Paragraph 98 discloses dataset generator 103 can be configured with a statistical distribution of subclasses (e.g., a univariate distribution of subclasses and Paragraph 136 discloses Dataset generator 1307 can then predict the next value using the updated value string that includes the new value. In some embodiments, rather than selecting the most likely new value, dataset generator 1307 can be configured to probabilistically choose a new value);
using the statistical values each corresponding to a different feature of the set of features, performing a statistical analysis to determine a result associated with a likelihood of data drift detection in real-time (Paragraph 176 discloses Process 1800 may be performed to detect drift in data used for models, including predictive models (e.g., forecasting models or classification models). Models of process 1800 may include recurrent neural networks, kernel density estimators, or the like. In some embodiments, process 1800 may be performed to detect data drift used in neural network models used for data classification or data forecasting (e.g., economic models, financial models, water resource models, employee performance models, climate models, traffic models, weather models, or the like)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing data of invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Jung’s event analysis and Kafai et al.’s suppression and Hazard synthetic data with Walter et al.’s data drift detection. This would have facilitated data modeling.
Jung as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard et al. and Walters et al. does not disclose determining a signal visualization based on the result …; outputting the signal visualization associated with the determined result.
However, Oberbreckling et al. discloses determining a signal visualization based on the result (Paragraph 8 discloses analysis, generation, and visualization of data obtained from multiple data sources); and
outputting the signal visualization associated with the determined result (Paragraph 118 discloses graphical dashboard may indicate a plurality of metrics, each of the plurality of metrics indicating a real time metric of the data relative to a time that the data is profiled. A graphical visualization may be displayed in a user interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing data of invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Jung’s event analysis and Kafai et al.’s suppression and Hazard synthetic data and Walter et al.’s data drift detection with Oberbreckling et al.’s similarity discovery. This would have facilitated visualizing data.
The Jung reference as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard and Walter et al. and Oberbreckling et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1. With respect to claim 2, Walters et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the one or more events have is occurred at distinct points in time (Paragraph 183 discloses a schedule (e.g., event data is received hourly or daily)). The motivation to combine statement previously provided in the rejection of dependent claim 1 provided above, combining the Jung reference and the Walters reference is applicable to dependent claim 2.
The Jung reference as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard and Walter et al. and Oberbreckling et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1. With respect to claim 3, Walters et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more events correspond to information associated with transactions being analyzed to detect fraud (Paragraph 68 discloses a production instance with a data model for detecting fraudulent transactions). The motivation to combine statement previously provided in the rejection of dependent claim 1 provided above, combining the Jung reference and the Walters reference is applicable to dependent claim 3.
The Jung reference as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard and Walter et al. and Oberbreckling et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1. With respect to claim 4, Walters et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein one or more features of the set of features are associated with a numerical measurement of data (Paragraph 90 discloses normalize numerical data in the reference dataset as well, mapping the values of the numerical data to a predetermined range). The motivation to combine statement previously provided in the rejection of dependent claim 1 provided above, combining the Jung reference and the Walters reference is applicable to dependent claim 4.
The Jung reference as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard and Walter et al. and Oberbreckling et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1. With respect to claim 5, Walters et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein one or more features of the set of features are utilized by a machine learning model for predictive tasks (Paragraph 131 discloses data models perform similarly for both synthetic and actual data. The prediction metrics can include a prediction accuracy check, a prediction accuracy cross check, a regression check, a regression cross check, and a principal component analysis check). The motivation to combine statement previously provided in the rejection of dependent claim 1 provided above, combining the Jung reference and the Walters reference is applicable to dependent claim 5.
The Jung reference as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard and Walter et al. and Oberbreckling et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1. With respect to claim 6, Walters et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein using the one or more events to update the corresponding distribution of data from the data stream includes assigning each of the one or more events to a category among a plurality of categories associated with the corresponding distribution of data and correspondingly incrementing counts of events in categories of the plurality of categories (Paragraph 166 discloses characteristics having numerical and/or categorical values). The motivation to combine statement previously provided in the rejection of dependent claim 1 provided above, combining the Jung reference and the Walters reference is applicable to dependent claim 6.
The Jung reference as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard and Walter et al. and Oberbreckling et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1. With respect to claim 7, Walters et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the corresponding distribution of data from the data stream is represented as a histogram (Paragraph 100 discloses generate histograms for each column of data for each of the normalized reference dataset and the synthetic dataset). The motivation to combine statement previously provided in the rejection of dependent claim 1 provided above, combining the Jung reference and the Walters reference is applicable to dependent claim 7.
The Jung reference as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard and Walter et al. and Oberbreckling et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 7. With respect to claim 8, Walters et al. teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the histogram is generated including by applying an exponential moving average suppression of older events (Paragraph 100 discloses generate histograms for each column of data for each of the normalized reference dataset and the synthetic dataset. For each bin, system 100 can determine the difference between the count of datapoints in the normalized reference dataset histogram and the synthetic dataset histogram. System 100 can determine the value for this column to be the maximum of the differences for each bin. System 100 can determine the value for the similarity metric to be the average of the values for the columns). The motivation to combine statement previously provided in the rejection of dependent claim 1 provided above, combining the Jung reference and the Walters reference is applicable to dependent claim 8.
The Jung reference as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard and Walter et al. and Oberbreckling et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1. With respect to claim 9, Walters et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the corresponding statistical value is a p-value (Paragraph 48 discloses values, value distributions (e.g., univariate and multivariate statistics of the synthetic data may be similar to that of the actual data)). The motivation to combine statement previously provided in the rejection of dependent claim 1 provided above, combining the Jung reference and the Walters reference is applicable to dependent claim 9.
The Jung reference as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard and Walter et al. and Oberbreckling et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1. With respect to claim 10, Walters et al. teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, for each feature of the set of features, the corresponding reference distribution and the corresponding distribution of divergences (Paragraph 48 discloses values, value distributions (e.g., univariate and multivariate statistics of the synthetic data may be similar to that of the actual data)). The motivation to combine statement previously provided in the rejection of dependent claim 1 provided above, combining the Jung reference and the Walters reference is applicable to dependent claim 10.
The Jung reference as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard and Walter et al. and Oberbreckling et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1. With respect to claim 11, Walters et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein performing the statistical analysis includes performing a multivariate hypothesis test (Paragraph 48 discloses value distributions (e.g., univariate and multivariate statistics of the synthetic data may be similar to that of the actual data), structure and ordering, or the like. In this manner, the data model for the machine learning application can be generated without directly using the actual data). The motivation to combine statement previously provided in the rejection of dependent claim 1 provided above, combining the Jung reference and the Walters reference is applicable to dependent claim 11.
The Jung reference as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard and Walter et al. and Oberbreckling et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1. With respect to claim 12, Walters et al. teaches the method of claim 11, wherein performing the multivariate hypothesis test includes scaling the statistical values (Paragraph 48 discloses value distributions (e.g., univariate and multivariate statistics of the synthetic data may be similar to that of the actual data), structure and ordering, or the like. In this manner, the data model for the machine learning application can be generated without directly using the actual data). The motivation to combine statement previously provided in the rejection of dependent claim 1 provided above, combining the Jung reference and the Walters reference is applicable to dependent claim 12.
The Jung reference as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard and Walter et al. and Oberbreckling et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1. With respect to claim 13, Walters et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the statistical analysis is performed each time a batch of events is received (Paragraph 127 discloses streaming data source 1301 can be configured to retrieve batches of new data). The motivation to combine statement previously provided in the rejection of dependent claim 1 provided above, combining the Jung reference and the Walters reference is applicable to dependent claim 13.
The Jung reference as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard and Walter et al. and Oberbreckling et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1. With respect to claim 14, Walters et al. teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising analyzing the result to determine whether a specified condition has been satisfied (Paragraph 132 discloses a prediction metric satisfies a predetermined threshold).
The Jung reference as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard et al. and Walter et al. and Oberbreckling et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 14. With respect to claim 15, Hazard et al. teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising, in response to a determination that the specified condition has been satisfied, providing an alarm (Paragraph 195 discloses a system can automate experiments where it can predict the most effective approach, homing in on the best possible, predictable outcomes for a specific knowledge base. Further, like in the other embodiments discussed herein, it could indicate (e.g., raise alarms) to human operators when the results are anomalous, or even tell which features being measured are most useful (so that they can be appropriately measured) or when measurements are not sufficient to characterize the outcomes). The motivation to combine statement previously provided in the rejection of dependent claim 14 provided above, combining the Jung reference and the Hazard et al. reference is applicable to dependent claim 15.
The Jung reference as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard et al. and Walter et al. and Oberbreckling et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 15. With respect to claim 16, Jung teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising, in response to the alarm, generating an alarm report that includes: a ranking of features of the set of features according to how much each feature of the set of features contributed to the alarm (Paragraph 4 discloses identifying a root cause of an anomaly in operation of one or more machines is provided); and
an explanation to identify a root cause associated with the data drift detection (Paragraph 64 discloses Analysis module 226 then performs root cause analysis).
The Jung reference as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard et al. and Walter et al. and Oberbreckling et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 15. With respect to claim 17, Walters et al. teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the alarm causes retraining of a machine learning model (Paragraph 169 discloses the computing resources can be configured to reset the model to the original state and retrain the model according to the new hyperparameters). The motivation to combine statement previously provided in the rejection of dependent claim 15 provided above, combining the Jung reference and the Oberbreckling et al. reference is applicable to dependent claim 17.
The Jung reference as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard et al. and Walter et al. and Oberbreckling et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 14. With respect to claim 18, Walters et al. teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the specified condition is associated with one or more comparisons to a threshold value (Paragraph 209 discloses data drift may be detected if a difference meets or exceeds a threshold difference in at least one of: a comparison of a generated data covariance matrix to a current data covariance matrix). The motivation to combine statement previously provided in the rejection of dependent claim 14 provided above, combining the Jung reference and the Oberbreckling et al. reference is applicable to dependent claim 18.
With respect to claim 19, Jung teaches a system, comprising:
one or more processors (See Fig. 9) configured to:
Receiving one or more events of a data stream (Paragraph 44 discloses summarize samples in each time interval into two distinctive features);
receiving, for each feature of a set of features (Column 11 Lines 25-29 discloses the output of the record handlers 360 and/or the statistics managers 362 may be sent to feature processors 364, where a set of transformation operations may be performed using another set of resources from pool 385), a corresponding triplet of distribution representations comprising (i) a reference distribution derived from a reference dataset, (ii) an initial sample distribution, and (iii) a distribution of divergence values, wherein the distribution of divergence values is generated by sampling a plurality of subsets from the reference dataset, determining a divergence for each of the plurality of subsets relative to the reference distribution, and aggregating the determined divergences (Paragraphs 61-62 discloses a triplet B=(Θ, G, Z) and a unique joint probability distribution over Θ given by: P.sub.B(θ.sub.1, . . . , θ.sub.n)=Π.sub.i=1.sup.nP.sub.B(θ.sub.i|Π.sub.θ.sub.i) (5) A set of all Bayesian networks with n variables can be denoted by custom-character.sub.n. In one embodiment, Bayesian network structure discovery module 224 can learn a Bayesian network by searching for the Bayesian network B∈custom-character.sub.n that maximizes the value ϕ(B,custom-character.sub.θ) where ϕ denotes a scoring function and custom-character.sub.θ denotes samples of hidden states θ found from X). Jung does not disclose for each feature of the set of features, using the one or more events to load a corresponding distribution of data from the data stream…
However, Kafai et al. discloses for each feature of the set of features, using the one or more events to load a corresponding distribution of data from the data stream, wherein the loading includes updating the corresponding distribution of data from the data stream via a recursive technique using a suppression factor that discounts at least one previous event relative to a current event to consume fewer computational resources compared with an update that does not use a constant memory reference state and a constant memory streaming state (Paragraph 23 discloses the hash suppression engine 140 may compute a sum and a sum of squares of all elements of the combined high-dimensional sparse vector, may compute a mean and a standard deviation of all elements of the combined high-dimensional sparse vector, and may using the mean, the standard deviation, and a hash suppression factor to compute the hash suppression threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing data of invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Jung’s event analysis with Kafai et al.’s suppression. This would have facilitated data analytics.
Jung as modified Kafai et al. does not disclose for each feature of the set of features, using the corresponding updated distribution and a corresponding reference distribution to determine a corresponding divergence value.
However, Hazard et al. discloses for each feature of the set of features, using the corresponding updated distribution and a corresponding reference distribution to determine a corresponding divergence value (Paragraph 46 discloses features which are nominal or categorical), then K cases may be selected from those cases meeting the condition. These K cases may be selected from among those that fully meet the conditions can be done randomly, or using any appropriate technique, such as by looking at the surprisal and/or conviction of those cases and choosing the K with the highest (or lowest) surprisal and/or conviction, or all of the K cases may be used. K may be 1, 2, 3, 5, 10, 100, a percentage of the model, specified dynamically or locally within the model, or any appropriate number. For distance measurements discussed herein (e.g., for use with K nearest neighbors), any appropriate measure, metric, or premetric may be used, including Euclidean distance, Minkowski distance, Damerau-Levenshtein distance, Kullback-Leibler divergence, 1—Kronecker delta, cosine similarity, Jaccard index, Tanimoto similarity, and/or any other distance measure, metric, pseudometric, premetric, index, etc).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing data of invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Jung’s event analysis and Kafai et al.’s suppression with Hazard et al.’s synthetic data. This would have determining features.
Jung as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard et al. does not disclose …wherein the statistical value indicates a probability of observing the determined divergence value based on historical fluctuations…; …performing a statistical analysis to determine a result associated with a likelihood of data drift detection in real-time.
However, Walters et al. discloses for each feature of the set of features, using the corresponding determined divergence value and a corresponding distribution of divergences to determine a corresponding statistical value for that class and can select one of the subclasses for generating the synthetic data according to the statistical distribution, wherein the statistical value indicates a probability of observing the determined divergence value based on historical fluctuations characterized by the distribution of divergence values (Paragraph 98 discloses dataset generator 103 can be configured with a statistical distribution of subclasses (e.g., a univariate distribution of subclasses and Paragraph 136 discloses Dataset generator 1307 can then predict the next value using the updated value string that includes the new value. In some embodiments, rather than selecting the most likely new value, dataset generator 1307 can be configured to probabilistically choose a new value);
using the statistical values each corresponding to a different feature of the set of features, performing a statistical analysis to determine a result associated with a likelihood of data drift detection in real-time (Paragraph 176 discloses Process 1800 may be performed to detect drift in data used for models, including predictive models (e.g., forecasting models or classification models). Models of process 1800 may include recurrent neural networks, kernel density estimators, or the like. In some embodiments, process 1800 may be performed to detect data drift used in neural network models used for data classification or data forecasting (e.g., economic models, financial models, water resource models, employee performance models, climate models, traffic models, weather models, or the like)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing data of invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Jung’s event analysis and Kafai et al.’s suppression and Hazard synthetic data with Walter et al.’s data drift detection. This would have facilitated data modeling.
Jung as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard et al. and Walters et al. does not disclose determining a signal visualization based on the result …; outputting the signal visualization associated with the determined result.
However, Oberbreckling et al. discloses determining a signal visualization based on the result (Paragraph 8 discloses analysis, generation, and visualization of data obtained from multiple data sources); and
outputting the signal visualization associated with the determined result (Paragraph 118 discloses graphical dashboard may indicate a plurality of metrics, each of the plurality of metrics indicating a real time metric of the data relative to a time that the data is profiled. A graphical visualization may be displayed in a user interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing data of invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Jung’s event analysis and Kafai et al.’s suppression and Hazard synthetic data and Walter et al.’s data drift detection with Oberbreckling et al.’s similarity discovery. This would have facilitated visualizing data.
With respect to claim 20, Jung teaches a computer program product embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium and comprising computer instructions for:
Receiving one or more events of a data stream (Paragraph 44 discloses summarize samples in each time interval into two distinctive features);
receiving, for each feature of a set of features (Column 11 Lines 25-29 discloses the output of the record handlers 360 and/or the statistics managers 362 may be sent to feature processors 364, where a set of transformation operations may be performed using another set of resources from pool 385), a corresponding triplet of distribution representations comprising (i) a reference distribution derived from a reference dataset, (ii) an initial sample distribution, and (iii) a distribution of divergence values, wherein the distribution of divergence values is generated by sampling a plurality of subsets from the reference dataset, determining a divergence for each of the plurality of subsets relative to the reference distribution, and aggregating the determined divergences (Paragraphs 61-62 discloses a triplet B=(Θ, G, Z) and a unique joint probability distribution over Θ given by: P.sub.B(θ.sub.1, . . . , θ.sub.n)=Π.sub.i=1.sup.nP.sub.B(θ.sub.i|Π.sub.θ.sub.i) (5) A set of all Bayesian networks with n variables can be denoted by custom-character.sub.n. In one embodiment, Bayesian network structure discovery module 224 can learn a Bayesian network by searching for the Bayesian network B∈custom-character.sub.n that maximizes the value ϕ(B,custom-character.sub.θ) where ϕ denotes a scoring function and custom-character.sub.θ denotes samples of hidden states θ found from X). Zarandioon et al. does not disclose for each feature of the set of features, using the one or more events to load a corresponding distribution of data from the data stream…
However, Kafai et al. discloses for each feature of the set of features, using the one or more events to load a corresponding distribution of data from the data stream, wherein the loading includes updating the corresponding distribution of data from the data stream via a recursive technique using a suppression factor that discounts at least one previous event relative to a current event to consume fewer computational resources compared with an update that does not use a constant memory reference state and a constant memory streaming state (Paragraph 23 discloses the hash suppression engine 140 may compute a sum and a sum of squares of all elements of the combined high-dimensional sparse vector, may compute a mean and a standard deviation of all elements of the combined high-dimensional sparse vector, and may using the mean, the standard deviation, and a hash suppression factor to compute the hash suppression threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing data of invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Jung’s event analysis with Kafai et al.’s suppression. This would have facilitated data analytics.
Jung as modified Kafai et al. does not disclose for each feature of the set of features, using the corresponding updated distribution and a corresponding reference distribution to determine a corresponding divergence value.
However, Hazard et al. discloses for each feature of the set of features, using the corresponding updated distribution and a corresponding reference distribution to determine a corresponding divergence value (Paragraph 46 discloses features which are nominal or categorical), then K cases may be selected from those cases meeting the condition. These K cases may be selected from among those that fully meet the conditions can be done randomly, or using any appropriate technique, such as by looking at the surprisal and/or conviction of those cases and choosing the K with the highest (or lowest) surprisal and/or conviction, or all of the K cases may be used. K may be 1, 2, 3, 5, 10, 100, a percentage of the model, specified dynamically or locally within the model, or any appropriate number. For distance measurements discussed herein (e.g., for use with K nearest neighbors), any appropriate measure, metric, or premetric may be used, including Euclidean distance, Minkowski distance, Damerau-Levenshtein distance, Kullback-Leibler divergence, 1—Kronecker delta, cosine similarity, Jaccard index, Tanimoto similarity, and/or any other distance measure, metric, pseudometric, premetric, index, etc).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing data of invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Jung’s event analysis and Kafai et al.’s suppression with Hazard et al.’s synthetic data. This would have determining features.
Jung as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard et al. does not disclose …wherein the statistical value indicates a probability of observing the determined divergence value based on historical fluctuations…; …performing a statistical analysis to determine a result associated with a likelihood of data drift detection in real-time.
However, Walters et al. discloses for each feature of the set of features, using the corresponding determined divergence value and a corresponding distribution of divergences to determine a corresponding statistical value for that class and can select one of the subclasses for generating the synthetic data according to the statistical distribution, wherein the statistical value indicates a probability of observing the determined divergence value based on historical fluctuations characterized by the distribution of divergence values (Paragraph 98 discloses dataset generator 103 can be configured with a statistical distribution of subclasses (e.g., a univariate distribution of subclasses and Paragraph 136 discloses Dataset generator 1307 can then predict the next value using the updated value string that includes the new value. In some embodiments, rather than selecting the most likely new value, dataset generator 1307 can be configured to probabilistically choose a new value);
using the statistical values each corresponding to a different feature of the set of features, performing a statistical analysis to determine a result associated with a likelihood of data drift detection in real-time (Paragraph 176 discloses Process 1800 may be performed to detect drift in data used for models, including predictive models (e.g., forecasting models or classification models). Models of process 1800 may include recurrent neural networks, kernel density estimators, or the like. In some embodiments, process 1800 may be performed to detect data drift used in neural network models used for data classification or data forecasting (e.g., economic models, financial models, water resource models, employee performance models, climate models, traffic models, weather models, or the like)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing data of invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Jung’s event analysis and Kafai et al.’s suppression and Hazard synthetic data with Walter et al.’s data drift detection. This would have facilitated data modeling.
Jung as modified by Kafai et al. and Hazard et al. and Walters et al. does not disclose determining a signal visualization based on the result …; outputting the signal visualization associated with the determined result.
However, Oberbreckling et al. discloses determining a signal visualization based on the result (Paragraph 8 discloses analysis, generation, and visualization of data obtained from multiple data sources); and
outputting the signal visualization associated with the determined result (Paragraph 118 discloses graphical dashboard may indicate a plurality of metrics, each of the plurality of metrics indicating a real time metric of the data relative to a time that the data is profiled. A graphical visualization may be displayed in a user interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing data of invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Jung’s event analysis and Kafai et al.’s suppression and Hazard synthetic data and Walter et al.’s data drift detection with Oberbreckling et al.’s similarity discovery. This would have facilitated visualizing data.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PG-PUB 20190121350 is directed to SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR LEARNING DATA PATTERNS PREDICTIVE OF AN OUTCOME: Paragraph [0228] As billions of IoT devices are deployed, with countless connections, the amount of available data will proliferate. To enable access and utilization of data, the cognitive data marketplace 4102 enables various components, features, services, and processes for enabling users to supply, find, consume, and transact in packages of data, such as batches of data, streams of data (including event streams), data from various data pools 4120, and the like. In embodiments, the cognitive data marketplace 4102 may be included in, connected to, or integrated with, one or more other components of a host processing architecture 4024 of a host processing system 112, such as a cloud-based system, as well as to various sensors, input sources 115, data collection systems 102 and the like. The cognitive data marketplace 4102 may include marketplace interfaces 4108, which may include one or more supplier interfaces by which data suppliers may make data available and one more consumer interfaces by which data may be found and acquired.
Conclusion
/N.E.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2154
/BORIS GORNEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2154