DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 10 and 20 are amended and claims 14 and 22 are cancelled, submitted on July 2, 2026. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-13, and 15-21 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita (US 7285334 B1) in view of Hayes (US 20070100076 A1), and further in view of Visco (US 20140162108 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamashita discloses a packaging material (a battery packaging laminated structure, [Col1/Ln7-8]) for a solid-state battery (using solid electrolyte and polymer batteries, [Col1/Ln12-13]), the packaging material comprising at least a substrate layer (outermost layer, [Col3/Ln6]) , a barrier layer ([Col3/Ln7]), and a sealant layer (innermost layer, [Col3/Ln7]) in this order.
Yamashita further discloses suitable materials for forming the innermost layer 14 are polyethylene resins, polypropylene resins, ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymers, ionomers,…, and a methacrylic acid derivatives (Col59/Ln62-Col60/Ln2) and that innermost layer 14 can be formed as a multilayer film (Col79/Ln3-6).
Yamashita has a concern about the penetration of moisture into the battery packaging (Col59/Ln46-47). However, Yamashita does not explicitly disclose the sealant layer comprises from 10 mass% to 100 mass% of an ionomer, nor the base copolymer is a copolymer of α-olefin and α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid.
Hayes teaches select an ionomer for packaging film for providing excellent heat sealability, adhesive properties ([0002]), puncture resistance ([0070]) and delamination resistant under submersion in water at 70-80° C ([0074]); and a thermoformable packaging film with the inner layer being comprised of ionomer ([0070]) and Example 2 shows the ionomer being 39% magnesium ions neutralized ethylene-co-methacrylic acid copolymer ([0090]), which anticipates the sealant layer (inner layer [0090]) comprises an ionomer and the base copolymer is a copolymer of α-olefin and α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid; and translates to the ionomer concentration is 39% falling within the claimed range of 10 mass% to 100 mass% of an ionomer in the sealant layer.
Visco teaches lithium battery with hermetically sealed anode (Title) through a protected anode architecture which provides a hermetic enclosure for an active material metal (e.g., alkali metal, such as lithium) anode inside an anode compartment (Abstract), which is substantially impervious to moisture ([0049]) wherein a laminate composite comprising a top polymer (or thermoplastic) layer; a bottom polymer (or thermoplastic) layer; and an inner metal foil barrier layer, interposed or otherwise sandwiched between the top and bottom layers ([0167]); and a bottom polymer (or thermoplastic) layer is also heat sealable to the protective membrane architecture (e.g., to its solid electrolyte layer) and anode backplane (e.g., PE, PP, PTFE, PVDF, ethylene copolymers (e.g., ethylene acrylic acid) and ionomer resin such as those comprising acid neutralized ethylene acid copolymers such as that which is referred to by the trademark name Surlyn) ([0167]). Examiner notes that Surlyn is a species ionomer based on a copolymer of ethylene and methacrylic acid, thus reads on a copolymer of α-olefin and α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid. Since Visco uses Surlyn, a well-known commercially standard material, for hermetic cell seals and metal-adherent interfaces in battery environments, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Surlyn in the ionomer of the sealant layer of Yamashita and reasonably expect that the modified sealant layer would provide an improved hermetical enclosure with better heat sealability, adhesive properties, puncture resistance and delamination resistant under moisture (water), as taught by Hayes and Visco, thus arriving at the claimed limitations: the sealant layer comprises from 10 mass% to 100 mass% of an ionomer, and the base copolymer is a copolymer of α-olefin and α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid.
Examiner further notes claim 1 preamble recitation “for a solid-state battery including a sulfide-based solid electrolyte and a current collector comprising copper or aluminum” is a statement of intended use directed to an article of manufacture. It does not positively incorporate the internal battery components as structural elements of the claimed packaging material itself. Because the prior art combination renders obvious the identical physical multi-layer laminate, it possesses the inherent physical capability to serve as a packaging material for the intended battery cell environment.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, modified Yamashita discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. As set forth above in claim 1, modified Yamashita has included Surlyn which includes a series of zinc ionomers, (for example, Surlyn 1652S Ionomer), thus arriving at the claimed “wherein the metal ions are zinc ions” (claim 3); and “wherein the ionomer is a resin in which molecules of ethylene-α,β unsaturated carboxylic acid copolymer are cross-linked with zinc ions” (claim 13).
Regarding claim 7, modified Yamashita discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. As established above, modified Yamashita has rendered obvious the sealant layer comprises two or more layers (Col79/Ln3-6 ), and a first layer consisting of unsaturated carboxylic acid graft random propylene adhesive crosslinked by metal ions (zinc ions) under the thermal lamination process; and the second layer of a 20 µm thick homopropylene film (Col19/Ln52-57). Thus, the claimed limitation is met.
Regarding claim 8, modified Yamashita discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Yamashita further discloses that there is a possibility the surface of the aluminum foil forming the barrier layer 12 is corroded by an acid produced by the interaction of the electrolyte of the lithium battery and moisture (Col38/Ln 51-54), and to prevent the corrosion of the aluminum foil that the aluminum foil can be protected from corrosion by coating the aluminum foil beforehand with a coating of a heat-resistant, cold-resistant material that can be processed by secondary processing or with a protective layer 15 formed by spreading a molten resin over the surface of the aluminum foil. The coating and the protective layer 15 may be used individually, may be modified or may be used in combination. The aluminum foil may be coated with a plurality of coatings when necessary (Col38/Ln55-65), which reads on the claimed “wherein one or both sides of the barrier layer are provided with an anticorrosion treatment layer.”
Regarding claim 15, modified Yamashita discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. As established in claim 1, modified Yamashita has included a degree of neutralization of 39% at taught by Hayes (Hayes: [0090]), which means the ionomer concentration is 39% falling within the claimed range from 5% to 30% ([0066]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Yamashita discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Yamashita further discloses in Example 28 that an inner layer 14 was formed by the coextrusion of a 5 µm thick random propylene film and a 20 µm thick homopropylene film, and the 5 µm thick random propylene film was laminated to the zinc phosphate film by thermal lamination using an unsaturated carboxylic acid graft random propylene adhesive (Col19/Ln52-57). The 20 µm thick homopropylene film (Col19/Ln52-57) reads on the claimed limitation “the sealant layer further comprises a propylene-based resin”. Modified Yamashita’s Example 28 also includes a 5 µm thick random propylene film was laminated to the zinc phosphate film by thermal lamination using an unsaturated carboxylic acid graft random propylene adhesive (Col19/Ln54-57). A skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further prepared the ionomer containing sealant layer further comprising a polypropylene-based resin taught by Example 28 of Yamashita, which is immiscible with the ionized portion of the ionomer, and thus would naturally arrive at the claimed “wherein the ionomer is immiscible with the polypropylene-based resin” with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 5, modified Yamashita discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Yamashita discloses the concern of moisture penetration into the battery package when the thickness of the innermost layer 14 is less than 20 µm (Col38/Ln15-19), and when the thickness of the innermost layer 14 is less than 20 µm (Col67/Ln38-42); and a silane coupling agent, may be mixed properly in the resin for forming the adhesive layer 305 (Col102/Ln43-44) and the inner layer 306 is attached to the adhesive layer 305 to complete the laminated structure of the aluminum foil 303 and the inner layer 306 (Col102/Ln39-42), and possible silane coupling agents are, for example, epoxy organosilane compounds including 3-glycidxypropyle trimethoxylan, amine organosilane compounds including [3-(2-aminoethyl)aminopropyl] trimethoxylan, and isocyan organosilane compounds including 3-isocyanate propyl triethoxysilane. Epoxy organosilane compounds are preferable because epoxy organosilane compounds have an affinity for metals higher than that of isocyan organosilane compounds and the former are more adhesive to metals than the latter. Amine organosilane compounds proper have the function of an accelerator and have short pot life (Col102/Ln44-55), which reads on the claimed “wherein the mixed resin layer further includes a compatibilizer that comprises a first part miscible with the polypropylene-based resin and a second part miscible with the ethylene-based ionomer resin” because the silane coupling agent of Yamashita contains amino groups which are miscible with the ethylene-based ionomer resin.
5. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita (US 7285334 B1) in view of Hayes (US 20070100076 A1) and Visco (US 20140162108 A1), as applied to claim 8, further in view of Suzuta (US 20100015451 A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Yamashita discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Although Yamashita discloses there is a possibility that the surface of the aluminum foil forming the barrier layer is corroded by an acid produced by the interaction of the electrolyte of the lithium battery and moisture (Col38/Ln51-54), and that one or both sides of the barrier layer are provided with an anticorrosion treatment layer due to corrosion by an acid produced by the interaction of the electrolyte of the lithium battery and moisture (Col38/Ln 51-54), Yamashita is silent about the anticorrosion treatment layer includes cerium oxide, 1 to 100 parts by mass of phosphoric acid or phosphate relative to 100 parts by mass of the cerium oxide, and a cationic polymer.
Suzuta teaches a similar desired function of a packing material for a lithium cell is water resistance ([0009]); and means to solve the problem is a packing material includes a first adhesive layer, an aluminum foil layer, a coating layer, and an adhesive resin layer or a second adhesive layer, and a sealant layer laminated sequentially on one surface of a base material layer, wherein the coating layer includes a layer (A) in which 1 to 100 parts by mass of a phosphoric acid or a phosphate has been blended into 100 parts by mass of a rare earth element-based oxide ([0030]) and the rare earth element-based oxide is preferably cerium oxide ([0037]), which reads on the claimed “wherein the anticorrosion treatment layer includes cerium oxide, 1 to 100 parts by mass of phosphoric acid or phosphate relative to 100 parts by mass of the cerium oxide,”. Suzuta further teaches the coating layer is preferably a multilayer structure that includes the above layer (A), and a layer (B) containing a cationic polymer and a cross-linking agent that causes cross-linking of the cationic polymers ([0031]), which reads on the claimed “and a cationic polymer.”
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the anticorrosion treatment layer on one or both sides of the barrier layer of Yamashita to include cerium oxide, 1 to 100 parts by mass of phosphoric acid or phosphate relative to 100 parts by mass of the cerium oxide, and a cationic polymer, as taught by Suzuta, in order to improve water resistance of a packaging material for a lithium cell.
6. Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita (US 7285334 B1) in view of Hayes (US 20070100076 A1) and Visco (US 20140162108 A1), as applied to claim 1, further in view of Sasaki (US 20220069344 A1-Priority to 1/23/2019).
Regarding claim 16, modified Yamashita discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. While modified Yamashita discloses the concern of moisture penetration into the battery package when the thickness of the innermost layer 14 is less than 20 µm ([Col38/Ln15-19]), and the packaging material comprising at least a substrate layer (outermost layer, [Col3/Ln6]) , a barrier layer ([Col3/Ln7]), and a sealant layer (innermost layer, [Col3/Ln7]) in this order ([Col89/Ln1-4] and FIG. 7(a) and 12(a)), Yamashita is silent on “further comprising an anticorrosion layer directly on the barrier layer and an adhesive layer directly on the anticorrosion layer, wherein the sealant layer is directly on the adhesive layer and the adhesive layer has a thickness from 1 µm to 7 µm”.
Sasaki teaches the similar problem of an exterior material for an all-solid-state battery ([0001]) in which a base material, a barrier layer and a heat-sealable resin layer are laminated in this order is used, hydrogen sulfide may be generated inside the all-solid-state battery not only by damage to the all-solid-state battery but also by ingress of a very small amount of water vapor into the all-solid-state battery from a heat-sealed portion between heat sealable resin layers ([0009]); and to achieve effectively suppressing hydrogen sulfide generated inside the all-solid-state battery from leaking to the outside ([0010]), Sasaki further teaches a barrier layer protective film 3a is provided on a surface of the barrier layer 3 ([0027] and FIGs. 5-8), and in FIGs. 7 and 8, an adhesive layer 5 present between the barrier layer 3 and the heat-sealable resin layer 4 ([0028] [0179], and FIGs. 7 and 8); and the thickness of the adhesive layer 5 is more preferably about 1 to 5 µm, which reads on the claimed “an anticorrosion layer directly on the barrier layer and an adhesive layer directly on the anticorrosion layer, wherein the sealant layer is directly on the adhesive layer and the adhesive layer has a thickness from 1 µm to 7 µm”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to further modify the packaging material of Yamashita to have an anticorrosion layer directly on the barrier layer and an adhesive layer directly on the anticorrosion layer, wherein the sealant layer is directly on the adhesive layer and the adhesive layer has a thickness from 1 µm to 7 µm, as taught by Sasaki, in order to suppress water vapor penetrating and preventing hydrogen sulfide from leaking to the outside.
Regarding claim 17, modified Yamashita discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. While modified Yamashita discloses the concern of moisture penetration into the battery package when the thickness of the innermost layer 14 is less than 20 µm ([Col38/Ln15-19]), and the packaging material comprising at least a substrate layer (outermost layer, [Col3/Ln6]) , a barrier layer ([Col3/Ln7]), and a sealant layer (innermost layer, [Col3/Ln7]) in this order ([Col89/Ln1-4] and FIG. 7(a) and 12(a)), Yamashita is silent on “further comprising an anticorrosion layer of the barrier layer, wherein the sealant layer is directly on the anticorrosion layer”.
Sasaki teaches the similar problem of an exterior material for an all-solid-state battery ([0001]) in which a base material, a barrier layer and a heat-sealable resin layer are laminated in this order is used, hydrogen sulfide may be generated inside the all-solid-state battery not only by damage to the all-solid-state battery but also by ingress of a very small amount of water vapor into the all-solid-state battery from a heat-sealed portion between heat sealable resin layers ([0009]); and to achieve effectively suppressing hydrogen sulfide generated inside the all-solid-state battery from leaking to the outside ([0010]), Sasaki further teaches the exterior material 10 includes barrier layer protective film 3a only on a surface of the barrier layer 3 on the heat-sealable resin layer 4 side ([FIG. 5]), which reads on the claimed “further comprising an anticorrosion layer of the barrier layer, wherein the sealant layer is directly on the anticorrosion layer”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to further modify the packaging material of Yamashita to have an anticorrosion layer of the barrier layer, wherein the sealant layer is directly on the anticorrosion layer, as taught by Sasaki, in order to suppress water vapor penetrating and prevent hydrogen sulfide from leaking to the outside.
7. Claim 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita (US 7285334 B1) in view of Hayes (US 20070100076 A1) and Visco (US 20140162108 A1), further in view of Ogihara (EP 3255695 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Yamashita discloses a packaging material (a battery packaging laminated structure, [Col1/Ln7-8]) for a solid-state battery (using solid electrolyte and polymer batteries, [Col1/Ln12-13]), the packaging material comprising at least a substrate layer (outermost layer, [Col3/Ln6]) , a barrier layer ([Col3/Ln7]), and a sealant layer (innermost layer, [Col3/Ln7]) in this order.
Yamashita further discloses suitable materials for forming the innermost layer 14 are Ethylene-propylene copolymer (random propylene) (Col10/Ln22-23), which anticipates the sealant layer comprises (a) a base resin that is Propylene-ethylene random copolymer (random PP).
Yamashita further discloses suitable materials for forming the innermost layer 14 includes polyethylene resins, polypropylene resins, ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymers, ionomers,…, and a methacrylic acid derivatives (Col59/Ln62-Col60/Ln2); the innermost layer 14 may be mixtures of those resins or a multilayer film (Col79/Ln3-6 ).
However, Yamashita does not explicitly disclose the sealant layer comprises 10-60 parts by mass an ionomer resin per 100 parts of the base resin in which the base resin is of molecules of ethylene-α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid copolymer.
Hayes teaches select an ionomer for packaging film for providing excellent heat sealability, adhesive properties ([0002]), puncture resistance ([0070]) and delamination resistant under submersion in water at 70-80° C ([0074]); and a thermoformable packaging film with the inner layer being comprised of ionomer ([0070]) and Example 2 shows the ionomer being 39% magnesium ions neutralized ethylene-co-methacrylic acid copolymer ([0090]), which anticipates the sealant layer (inner layer [0090]) comprises an ionomer and the base copolymer is a copolymer of ethylene- α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid copolymer, and the 39% magnesium ions neutralized falls within the claimed range of 10-60 parts by mass an ionomer resin per 100 parts of the base resin.
Visco teaches lithium battery with hermetically sealed anode (Title) through a protected anode architecture which provides a hermetic enclosure for an active material metal (e.g., alkali metal, such as lithium) anode inside an anode compartment (Abstract), which is substantially impervious to moisture ([0049]) wherein a laminate composite comprising a top polymer (or thermoplastic) layer; a bottom polymer (or thermoplastic) layer; and an inner metal foil barrier layer, interposed or otherwise sandwiched between the top and bottom layers ([0167]); and a bottom polymer (or thermoplastic) layer is also heat sealable to the protective membrane architecture (e.g., to its solid electrolyte layer) and anode backplane (e.g., PE, PP, PTFE, PVDF, ethylene copolymers (e.g., ethylene acrylic acid) and ionomer resin such as those comprising acid neutralized ethylene acid copolymers such as that which is referred to by the trademark name Surlyn) ([0167]). Examiner notes that Surlyn is a species ionomer based on a copolymer of ethylene and methacrylic acid, thus reads on a copolymer of α-olefin and α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid. Since Visco uses Surlyn, a well-known commercially standard material, for hermetic cell seals and metal-adherent interfaces in battery environments, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Surlyn in the ionomer of the sealant layer of Yamashita and reasonably expect that the modified sealant layer would provide an improved hermetical enclosure with better heat sealability, adhesive properties, puncture resistance and delamination resistant under moisture (water), as taught by Hayes and Visco, thus arriving at the claimed limitations c) 10-60 parts by mass an ionomer resin per 100 parts of the base resin, in which molecules of ethylene-α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid copolymer are cross-linked with zinc ions.
Modified Yamashita does not explicitly disclose (b) 5 to 30 parts by mass of an elastomer Propylene-butene-1-random copolymer elastomer (propylene-butene-1) that is miscible with the base resin per 100 parts of the base resin.
Ogihara teaches a packaging material for a power storage device which can stabilize the degassing and heat sealing strength, and hence the influence in relation to the quantity of heat during sealing can be reduced, and cycle time on manufacturing power storage devices can be shortened ([0016]) and the packaging material has a structure in which the sealant layer using 5 to 40 mass% polyolefin elastomer (B) including 1-butene as a comonomer (Abstract), which encompassing the claimed range of “(b) 5 to 30 parts by mass of an elastomer Propylene-butene-1-random copolymer elastomer (propylene-butene-1)”.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the sealant layer of modified Yamashita to include 5 to 30 parts by mass of a polyolefin elastomer (B) including 1-butene moiety as a random copolymer of the comonomer, as taught by Ogihara, in order to stabilize the degassing and heat sealing strength, and hence the influence in relation to the quantity of heat during sealing can be reduced, and cycle time on manufacturing power storage devices can be shortened thus arriving at the claimed “(b) 5 to 30 parts by mass of an elastomer Propylene-butene-1-random copolymer elastomer (propylene-butene-1)”.
Examiner further notes claim 18 preamble recitation “for a solid-state battery including a sulfide-based solid electrolyte and a current collector comprising copper or aluminum” is a statement of intended use directed to an article of manufacture. It does not positively incorporate the internal battery components as structural elements of the claimed packaging material itself. Because the prior art combination renders obvious the identical physical multi-layer laminate, it possesses the inherent physical capability to serve as a packaging material for the intended battery cell environment.
Regarding claim 19, modified Yamashita discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. While modified Yamashita has included the innermost layer 14 may be mixtures of those resins or a multilayer film (Col79/Ln3-6 ), modified Yamashita does not explicitly disclose the sealant layer further comprising a base resin composition comprising a base resin and an elastomer having compatibility with the base resin.
Ogihara teaches a packaging material for a power storage device which can stabilize the degassing and heat sealing strength, and hence the influence in relation to the quantity of heat during sealing can be reduced, and cycle time on manufacturing power storage devices can be shortened ([0016]) and the packaging material has a structure in which the sealant layer using 5 to 40 mass% polyolefin elastomer (B) including 1-butene as a comonomer (Abstract), which teaches the sealant layer further comprising a base resin composition comprising a base resin (1-butene as a comonomer) and an elastomer (polyolefin elastomer (B)). Further, since the base resin and the elastomer both have polyolefin portions, those polyolefin portions are inherently being miscible/compatible with the base resin, thus arriving at the claimed limitation.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the sealant layer of modified Yamashita using the sealant layer having 5 to 40 mass% polyolefin elastomer (B) including 1-butene as a comonomer as taught by Ogihara, thus with a reasonable expectation of success in stabilizing the degassing and heat sealing strength, reducing the influence in relation to the quantity of heat during sealing, and shortening cycle time on manufacturing power storage devices, thus arriving at the claimed “the sealant layer further comprising a base resin composition comprising a base resin and an elastomer having compatibility with the base resin”.
Regarding claim 20, modified Yamashita discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Yamashita does not explicitly disclose the resin composition comprises (A) 60 to 95 mass % of a propylene-ethylene random copolymer as the base resin and (B) 5 to 40 mass% of a polyolefin-based elastomer having a melting point of 150°C or less and comprising butene-1 comonomer.
Ogihara teaches the packaging material has a structure in which the sealant layer includes a layer formed of a resin composition that contains (A) 60 to 95 mass % of a propylene-ethylene random copolymer as the base resin and (B) 5 to 40 mass% of a polyolefin-based elastomer having a melting point of 150°C or less and comprising butene-1 comonomer (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the sealant layer of modified Yamashita using the sealant layer including a layer formed of a resin composition that contains (A) 60 to 95 mass % of a propylene-ethylene random copolymer as the base resin and (B) 5 to 40 mass% of a polyolefin-based elastomer having a melting point of 150°C or less and comprising butene-1 comonomer, as taught by Ogihara, thus with a reasonable expectation of success in stabilizing the degassing and heat sealing strength, reducing the influence in relation to the quantity of heat during sealing, and shortening cycle time on manufacturing power storage devices, thus arriving at the claimed “the resin composition comprises (A) 60 to 95 mass % of a propylene-ethylene random copolymer as the base resin and (B) 5 to 40 mass% of a polyolefin-based elastomer having a melting point of 150°C or less and comprising butene-1 comonomer”.
8. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita (US 7285334 B1) in view of Hayes (US 20070100076 A1), Visco (US 20140162108 A1), and Ogihara (EP 3255695 A1), as applied to claim 20, further in view of Nakata (US 20130056049 A1).
Regarding claim 21, modified Yamashita discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. As established in claim 1, modified Yamashita has a concern about the penetration of moisture into the battery packaging (Col59/Ln46-47).
Modified Yamashita does not explicitly disclose the sealant layer further comprises a compatibilizer having a portion compatible with the base resin contained in the base resin composition and a portion compatible with the ionomer.
Nakata teaches a similar desire for a high moisture proof effect ([0005]) for a solar cell module sealing layer that contains an ionomer composition derived from an acid copolymer and the acid copolymer in the sealing layer is a substance that has been neutralized with an ion of a metal selected from the group consisting of sodium, lithium, magnesium, zinc, aluminum, and the like ([0007]). Nakata further teaches a multilayer material having a layer (A) including a silane coupling agent and an ethylene type zinc ionomer; and a layer (B) comprising at least one of an ethylene type magnesium ionomer or an ethylene type sodium ionomer ([0030]) and since the layer (A) and the layer (B) are each formed by using an ionomer, the encapsulant for a solar cell has excellent moisture resistance ([0135]); and the specific examples of the silane coupling agent having an amino group and an alkoxy group, which may be compounded to an ethylene type Zn ionomer ([0076]-[0077]), and when a silane coupling agent having an amino group and two alkoxy groups (which may be abbreviated to “dialkoxy silane”) is used, the processing stability during sheet molding can be further maintained, which is more preferable ([0078]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan, before the effective filing date of the invention, to further modify base resin of the sealant layer of modified Yamashita with inclusion of a silane coupling agent having an amino group and an alkoxy group, which may be compounded to an ethylene type Zn ionomer, as a compatibilizer, taught by Nakata, with the alkoxy part miscible with the base resin contained in the base resin composition and the amino group part miscible with the ionomer, in order to achieve a high moisture proof effect for the battery package, thus arrive at the claimed “further comprises a compatibilizer having a portion compatible with the base resin contained in the base resin composition and a portion compatible with the ionomer”, without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success in achieving excellent moisture resistance.
9. Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakawaki (US 20190252717 A1) in view of Ogihara (EP 3255695 A1), further in view of Hayes (US 20070100076 A1) and Visco (US 20140162108 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Sakawaki discloses a solid-state battery (solid electrolyte lithium-ion battery, [0015] and FIG. 2) comprising: a battery element including a sulfide-based solid electrolyte (sulfide for solid electrolyte layer 12, [0043] and FIG. 2); a current output terminal (substrate 5, [0037] and FIG. 2) extending from the battery element; and the packaging material (laminated film 31, [0055] and FIG. 2) comprises a substrate layer (heat-resistant resin layer 311, [0061] and FIG. 2), a barrier layer (metal layer 313, [0065] and FIG. 2), and a sealant layer (inside adhesive layer 314 and thermos-adhesive resin layer 315, [0068-0069] and FIG. 2), in this order (FIG. 2); the sealant layer has a mixed resin layer containing an ionomer (ionomer for 315, [0070]) and a base resin composition (inside adhesive layer 314, [0068]) other than the ionomer (adhesive agent for 314 made of adhesive agents not including ionomer, [0068]), and the packaging material sandwiches the current output terminal and accommodates the battery element (FIG. 2).
While Sakawaki discloses the concern of insufficient thermal adhesion for metal layer 313 ([0067]); and the base resin composition (314, [0068]) preferably use an elastomer adhesive agent or an adhesive agent of acid-denaturated polypropylene, polyethylene or the like among other choices ([0068]), Sakawaki does not explicitly disclose the base resin composition is a resin composition containing a base resin and a compatible elastomer that is compatible with the base resin.
Ogihara teaches a packaging material for a power storage device having good insulation properties after forming and good sealing properties, including degassing and heat sealing strength ([0013]) and the packaging material has a structure in which the sealant layer includes a layer formed of a resin composition that contains (A) 60 to 95 mass % of a propylene-ethylene random copolymer as the base resin and (B) 5 to 40 mass% of a polyolefin-based elastomer having a melting point of 150°C or less and comprising butene-1 comonomer (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the base resin composition of Sakawaki to comprises (A) 60 to 95 mass % of a propylene-ethylene random copolymer as the base resin and (B) 5 to 40 mass% of a polyolefin-based elastomer having a melting point of 150°C or less and comprising butene-1 comonomer, as taught by Ogihara, arriving at the claimed “the base resin composition is a resin composition containing a base resin and a compatible elastomer that is compatible with the base resin”, in order to obtain good insulation properties after forming and good sealing properties, including degassing and heat sealing strength.
Modified Sakawaki desires to prevent moisture from entering the battery part ([0065]) and raises the concern that increasing heat insulation properties possibly result in insufficient thermal adhesion of the sealant layer (thermos-adhesive resin layer 315, [0070]).
Modified Sakawaki does not explicitly disclose the ionomer is a resin in which molecules of ethylene-α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid copolymer are cross-linked with zinc ions.
Hayes teaches select an ionomer for packaging film for providing excellent heat sealability, adhesive properties ([0002]), puncture resistance ([0070]) and delamination resistant under submersion in water at 70-80° C ([0074]); a thermoformable packaging film with the inner layer being comprised of ionomer ([0070]); and Example 2 shows the ionomer being 39% magnesium ions neutralized ethylene-co-methacrylic acid copolymer ([0090]), which teaches the sealant layer (inner layer [0090]) containing an ionomer which is a resin of molecules of ethylene-α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid copolymer crosslinked by magnesium ions.
Visco teaches lithium battery with hermetically sealed anode (Title) through a protected anode architecture which provides a hermetic enclosure for an active material metal (e.g., alkali metal, such as lithium) anode inside an anode compartment (Abstract), which is substantially impervious to moisture ([0049]) wherein a laminate composite comprising a top polymer (or thermoplastic) layer; a bottom polymer (or thermoplastic) layer; and an inner metal foil barrier layer, interposed or otherwise sandwiched between the top and bottom layers ([0167]); and a bottom polymer (or thermoplastic) layer is also heat sealable to the protective membrane architecture (e.g., to its solid electrolyte layer) and anode backplane (e.g., PE, PP, PTFE, PVDF, ethylene copolymers (e.g., ethylene acrylic acid) and ionomer resin such as those comprising acid neutralized ethylene acid copolymers such as that which is referred to by the trademark name Surlyn) ([0167]). Examiner notes that Surlyn is a species ionomer based on a copolymer of ethylene and methacrylic acid, thus reads on a resin in which molecules of ethylene-α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid copolymer are cross-linked with zinc ions.
Since Visco uses Surlyn, a well-known commercially standard material, for hermetic cell seals and metal-adherent interfaces in battery environments, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Surlyn as the ionomer of the sealant layer of modified Sakawaki, and reasonably expect that the modified sealant layer would provide an improved hermetical enclosure with better heat sealability, adhesive properties, puncture resistance and delamination resistant under moisture (water), as taught by Hayes and Visco, thus arriving at the claimed limitation that the ionomer of the sealant layer is a resin in which molecules of ethylene- α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid copolymer are cross-linked with zinc ions.
Regarding claim 11, modified Sakawaki discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Sakawaki further discloses the current output terminal is made of a metal foil (stainless foil, [0099]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Sakawaki discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Sakawaki further discloses the metal foil is copper foil ([0035]).
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant’s arguments regarding the amended claim 1 filed on 11/7/2025 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant argued that “ the packaging material of the claimed subject matter has the purpose of detoxifying hydrogen sulfide… by the reaction between the moisture infiltrated into the battery and the sulfur contained in the sulfide-based solid electrolyte…” (P9 of Remarks); “detoxification of hydrogen sulfide” (P10 of Remarks); and “sulfide-based solid electrolyte” in the preamble is a necessary configuration to clarify the difference, and that it has brought about structural difference (P13 of Remarks); and the statement “for solid batteries containing sulfide-based solid electrolytes and current collector containing copper or aluminum” serves to limit the claims (P13 of Remarks).
Examiner respectfully responds that: 1) under MPEP 2111.02(II), the preamble recitation “for a solid-state battery including a sulfide-based solid electrolyte and a current collector comprising copper or aluminum” is a statement of intended use directed to an article of manufacture. It does not positively incorporate the internal battery components as structural elements of the claimed packaging material itself. Because the prior art combination renders obvious the identical physical multi-layer laminate, it possesses the inherent physical capability to serve as a packaging material for the intended battery cell environment; and
2) the specification demonstrates that moisture resistance is a function of the physical laminate stack, and the prior art combination as established in this paper to claim 1 renders obvious the identical physical stack, thereby possessing the inherent capability to serve as a packaging material for the intended battery cell environment, namely, “for a solid-state battery including a sulfide-based solid electrolyte and a current collector comprising copper or aluminum”. Thus, this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant further argued that “Vasco (sic: [Visco]) neither teaches encapsulating an all-solid state battery, nor provides any motivation for the problem of sulfide-based electrolytes in solid-state batteries. (P10 of Remarks).
Examiner respectfully responds that the rejection of this paper is based on primary reference Yamashita. Yamashita explicitly seeks to prevent moisture ingress into the cell, Hayes explicitly uses metal-neutralized ethylene-methacrylic acid ionomers to enhance environmental barrier integrity and seal strength, and Visco explicitly employes Surlyn for moisture-impervious cell sealing. Therefore, the cited references are combinable at least in the same pursuit of preventing moisture penetration through the packaging material into the solid-state battery, echoing the moisture infiltration into the battery as Applicant argued on P9 of remarks. Thus, this argument is moot and not found persuasive.
Conclusion
/K. L./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
8/20/2026
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751