DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 10-12, 14, and 20 are amended, and claims 22 are new, submitted on 11/7/2025. Claims 1, 3-5, and 7-22 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
1. Claims 10 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities.
In claim 10, Ln 4, ”the packaging material” should read “a packaging material”;
In claim 20, Ln 1-2, ”the resin composition” should read “the base resin composition”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 10-12 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakawaki (US 20190252717 A1) in view of Ogihara (EP 3255695 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Sakawaki discloses a solid-state battery (solid electrolyte lithium-ion battery, [0015] and FIG. 2) comprising: a battery element including a sulfide-based solid electrolyte (sulfide for solid electrolyte layer 12, [0043] and FIG. 2); a current output terminal (substrate 5, [0037] and FIG. 2) extending from the battery element; and the packaging material (laminated film 31, [0055] and FIG. 2) comprises a substrate layer (heat-resistant resin layer 311, [0061] and FIG. 2), a barrier layer (metal layer 313, [0065] and FIG. 2), and a sealant layer (inside adhesive layer 314 and thermos-adhesive resin layer 315, [0068-0069] and FIG. 2), in this order (FIG. 2); the sealant layer has a mixed resin layer containing an ionomer (ionomer for 315, [0070]) and a base resin composition (inside adhesive layer 314, [0068]) other than the ionomer (adhesive agent for 314 made of adhesive agents not including ionomer, [0068]), and the packaging material sandwiches the current output terminal and accommodates the battery element (FIG. 2).
While Sakawaki discloses the concern of insufficient thermal adhesion for metal layer 313 ([0067]); and the base resin composition (314, [0068]) preferably use an elastomer adhesive agent or an adhesive agent of acid-denaturated polypropylene, polyethylene or the like among other choices ([0068]), Sakawaki does not explicitly disclose the base resin composition is a resin composition containing a base resin and a compatible elastomer that is compatible with the base resin.
Ogihara teaches a packaging material for a power storage device having good insulation properties after forming and good sealing properties, including degassing and heat sealing strength ([0013]) and the packaging material has a structure in which the sealant layer includes a layer formed of a resin composition that contains (A) 60 to 95 mass % of a propylene-ethylene random copolymer as the base resin and (B) 5 to 40 mass% of a polyolefin-based elastomer having a melting point of 150°C or less and comprising butene-1 comonomer (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the base resin composition of Sakawaki to comprises (A) 60 to 95 mass % of a propylene-ethylene random copolymer as the base resin and (B) 5 to 40 mass% of a polyolefin-based elastomer having a melting point of 150°C or less and comprising butene-1 comonomer, as taught by Ogihara, arriving at the claimed “the base resin composition is a resin composition containing a base resin and a compatible elastomer that is compatible with the base resin”, in order to obtain good insulation properties after forming and good sealing properties, including degassing and heat sealing strength.
Regarding claim 11, modified Sakawaki discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Sakawaki further discloses the current output terminal is made of a metal foil (stainless foil, [0099]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Sakawaki discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Sakawaki further discloses the metal foil is copper foil ([0035]).
Regarding claim 22, Sakawaki discloses a packaging material (laminated film 31, [0055] and FIG. 2) for an all-solid-state battery including a sulfide-based solid electrolyte (solid electrolyte lithium-ion battery, [0015] and FIG. 2), the packaging material comprising a substrate layer(heat-resistant resin layer 311, [0061] and FIG. 2), a barrier layer (metal layer 313, [0065] and FIG. 2), and a sealant layer (inside adhesive layer 314 and thermos-adhesive resin layer 315, [0068-0069] and FIG. 2), in this order (FIG. 2), wherein the sealant layer comprises a mixed resin layer containing an ionomer (ionomer for 315, [0070]) and a base resin composition (inside adhesive layer 314, [0068]) other than the ionomer (adhesive agent for 314 made of adhesive agents not including ionomer, [0068]).
While Sakawaki discloses the concern of insufficient thermal adhesion for metal layer 313 ([0067]); and the base resin composition (314, [0068]) preferably use an elastomer adhesive agent or an adhesive agent of acid-denaturated polypropylene, polyethylene or the like among other choices ([0068]), Sakawaki does not explicitly disclose the base resin composition is a resin composition containing a base resin and a compatible elastomer that is compatible with the base resin.
Ogihara teaches a packaging material for a power storage device having good insulation properties after forming and good sealing properties, including degassing and heat sealing strength ([0013]) and the packaging material has a structure in which the sealant layer includes a layer formed of a resin composition that contains (A) 60 to 95 mass % of a propylene-ethylene random copolymer as the base resin and (B) 5 to 40 mass% of a polyolefin-based elastomer having a melting point of 150°C or less and comprising butene-1 comonomer (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the base resin composition of Sakawaki to comprises (A) 60 to 95 mass % of a propylene-ethylene random copolymer as the base resin and (B) 5 to 40 mass% of a polyolefin-based elastomer having a melting point of 150°C or less and comprising butene-1 comonomer, as taught by Ogihara, arriving at the claimed “the base resin composition is a resin composition containing a base resin and a compatible elastomer that is compatible with the base resin”, in order to obtain good insulation properties after forming and good sealing properties, including degassing and heat sealing strength.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Applicant’s argument submitted on 11/7/2025 has been fully considered and are found persuasive. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 13 and 15-21 are indicated as allowable only under a new interpretation of the preamble of claim 1 and claim 18, based on Applicant’s argument that the underlined portion of the preamble of claim 1 “A packaging material for a solid-state battery including a sulfide-based solid electrolyte and a current collector comprising copper and aluminum” is interpreted as a claim limitation with patentable weight that would result in a difference in the structure of the packaging material, not being interpreted as an intended use of the packaging material.
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
7. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The invention of Claim 1 is directed to a packaging material for a solid-state battery including a sulfide-based solid electrolyte and a current collector comprising copper and aluminum, the packaging material comprising at least a substrate layer, a barrier layer, and a sealant layer in this order, wherein the sealant layer includes from 10 mass% to 100 % mass of an ionomer, wherein the ionomer is an ionic polymer material having molecules of a base copolymer crosslinked by metal ions, the base copolymer is a copolymer of α-olefin and α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid, and the sealant layer comprises two or more layers, wherein at least one of the two or more layers is an ionomer-containing layer comprising the ionomer.
With the amendment submitted on March 19, 2025, the closest prior art for claim 1 is considered to be Yamashita (US 7285334 B1) and Visco (US 20140162108 A1).
Yamashita discloses or renders obvious all of the claimed limitations including the newly added limitation “the sealant layer comprises two or more layers, wherein at least one of the two or more layers is an ionomer-containing layer comprising the ionomer” (Yamashita Col79/Ln3-6), except for that the sealant layer includes an ionomer wherein the ionomer is an ionic polymer material having molecules of a base copolymer crosslinked by metal ions, the base co-polymer is a copolymer of α-olefin and α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid, and the packaging material is for a solid-state battery including sulfide-based solid electrolyte.
While Yamashita renders obvious a sealant layer includes ionomer, Yamashita does not explicitly disclose wherein the ionomer is an ionic polymer material having molecules of a base copolymer crosslinked by metal ions, the base co-polymer is a copolymer of α-olefin and α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid. Moreover, while Yamashita discloses a battery packaging laminated structure for general batteries, such as lithium batteries, include those used in a liquid electrolyte, those using a gelled electrolyte and those using a solid electrolyte (Col1/Ln5-12), Yamashita does not explicitly indicate the battery packaging is for use in a solid-state battery that includes a sulfide-based solid electrolyte.
Visco teaches lithium battery with hermetically sealed anode (Title) through a protected anode architecture which provides a hermetic enclosure for an active material metal (e.g., alkali metal, such as lithium) anode inside an anode compartment (Abstract), wherein a laminate composite comprising a top polymer (or thermoplastic) layer; a bottom polymer (or thermoplastic) layer; and an inner metal foil barrier layer, interposed or otherwise sandwiched between the top and bottom layers ([0167]); and a bottom polymer (or thermoplastic) layer is also heat sealable to the protective membrane architecture (e.g., to its solid electrolyte layer) and anode backplane (e.g., PE, PP, PTFE, PVDF, ethylene copolymers (e.g., ethylene acrylic acid) and ionomer resin such as those comprising acid neutralized ethylene acid copolymers such as that which is referred to by the trademark name Surlyn) ([0167]). Examiner notes that Surlyn is an ionomer based on a copolymer of ethylene and methacrylic acid, which is a copolymer of α-olefin and α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid. A skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Surlyn as the ionomer sealant layer of Yamashita and reasonably expect Surlyn would function equivalently for the same purpose [MPEP 2144.06 (II)], and thus arrive at the claimed “the sealant layer includes an ionomer wherein the ionomer is an ionic polymer material having molecules of a base copolymer crosslinked by metal ions, the base co-polymer is a copolymer of α-olefin and α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid”.
However, while Visco teaches using solid electrolyte layer (Visco [0167]) and listed examples of such materials are Na-β alumina, LiHfPO4 and NASICON Nasiglass, Li5La3Ta2O12 and Li5La3Nb2O12∙Na5MSi4O12 (M: rare earth such as Nd, Dy, Gd) (Visco [0447]), Visco does not teach or suggest the heat sealable bottom layer ionomer resin Surlyn to be used for a solid-state battery that includes a sulfide-based solid electrolyte.
Yamashita in view of Visco fails to disclose, teach, suggest, or otherwise render obvious the packaging material comprising a sealant layer comprising an ionic polymer material having molecules of a base copolymer crosslinked by metal ions, the base co-polymer is a copolymer of α-olefin and α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid and it is for a solid-state battery with a sulfide-based solid electrolyte.
The instant application teaches sulfide-based solid electrolytes, among the inorganic solid electrolytes, have relatively high ionic conductivity compared with, for example, oxide-based solid electrolytes and have many advantages in achieving a solid-state battery with high performance. Unfortunately, since solid-state batteries that use sulfide-based solid electrolytes contain sulfur, toxic hydrogen sulfide might be generated by a reaction between the sulfur and moisture that has entered the battery ([0004]) and the concerns that hydrogen sulfide is corrosive may corrode current collectors, which are copper foil or aluminum foil, leading to deterioration of the battery ([0006]). In view of the above circumstances, the present invention provides a packaging material for a solid-state battery including a sulfide-based solid electrolyte (Abstract) that can detoxify hydrogen sulfide and has properties equivalent to those of conventional packaging material by using an ionic polymer material such as a compound including olefin and metal ions, called an ionomer ([0010]); Examples of the base copolymer constituting the ionomer include a copolymer of α-olefin, such as ethylene and propylene, and α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid, such as acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, and maleic acid. From the perspective of heat-sealing properties, a copolymer of ethylene or propylene and acrylic acid or methacrylic acid is preferable ([0099]); and the metal ions constituting the ionomer are not limited to particular ions and examples of the metal ions include zinc ions and sodium ions. From the perspective of more promptly and more efficiently detoxifying hydrogen sulfide, zinc ions are preferable. The metal ions can be used alone or in combination of two or more ([0098]).
Examiner acknowledges the foregoing dual effects of neutralizing hydrogen sulfide generated inside the battery and the function of a sealant layer, resulted from the configuration of the ionomer based on a copolymer of α-olefin and α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid, which is specially designed for a sulfide-based electrolyte solid-state battery. It would not be obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to figure out applying a packaging material comprising at least a substrate layer, a barrier layer and a sealant layer in this order, wherein the sealant layer comprising an ionomer based on a copolymer of α-olefin and α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid to the application of a sulfide-based electrolyte solid-state battery in order to solve the problem of toxic hydrogen sulfide which might be generated in the operation of the sulfide-based electrolyte solid-state battery.
The closest prior art fails to disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious claim 1 when taken as a whole. Therefore, claim 1 is allowable only under the condition that the preamble “A packaging material for a solid-state battery including a sulfide-based solid electrolyte and a current collector comprising copper and aluminum” is interpreted as a claim limitation with patentable weight resulting in a difference in the structure of the packaging material.
Claims 3-5, 7-9, 13, 15-17 and 19-21 are dependent claims from claim 1 and thus have been indicated as containing allowable subject matter for the same reason as set forth above.
The invention of claim 14 is directed to a solid-state battery comprising a battery element including a sulfide-based solid electrolyte and a packaging material comprising a substrate layer, a barrier layer and a sealant layer, in this order and the sealant layer has a mixed resin layer containing an ionomer wherein the ionomer is a resin in which molecules of ethylene- α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid copolymer are cross-linked with zinc ions.
The closest prior art for claim 14 is considered to be Sakawaki (US 20190252717 A1) and Ogihara (EP 3255695 A1).
Sasawaki in view of Ogihara as set forth in this paper, has rendered obvious all claim 10 limitations. However, neither Sasawaki nor Ogihara disclose or suggest the ionomer of the sealant layer is a resin in which molecules of ethylene- α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid copolymer are cross-linked with zinc ions. A skilled artisan would not have found it obvious to use ethylene- α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid copolymer are cross-linked with zinc ions as the ionomer in a sulfide-based solid electrolyte battery’s packaging material, and there is no hint from Sasawaki and Ogihara about the unexpected beneficial results as set forth above. Therefore, claim 14 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
The invention of Claim 18 is directed to a packaging material for a solid-state battery including a sulfide-based solid electrolyte and a current collector comprising copper and aluminum, the packaging material comprising at least a substrate layer, a barrier layer, and a sealant layer in this order, wherein the sealant layer comprises (a) a base resin that is Propylene-ethylene random copolymer (random PP); (b) 5 to 30 parts by mass of an elastomer Propylene-butene-1-random copolymer elastomer (propylene-butene-1) that is miscible with the base resin per 100 parts of the base resin; and (c) 10-60 parts by mass an ionomer resin, in which molecules of ethylene- α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid copolymer are cross-linked with zinc ions, per 100 parts of the base resin.
The closest prior art for claim 18 is considered to be Yamashita (US 7285334 B1), Visco (US 20140162108 A1) and Nakata (US 20130056049 A1).
Similar to the analysis to claim 1, Yamashita in view of Visco would render obvious a packaging material for a solid-state battery wherein the sealant layer comprises an ionomer, such as Surlyn; and Yamashita further discloses possible materials for forming the inner layer 306 are polyolefin resins (Col101/Ln41), and the polyolefin resins include low-density polyethylene resins…ionomers, polypropylene resins… (Col101/Ln44-56), and the following multilayer structures may be used as the multilayer innermost layer 14: (3) Low density polyethylene or linear low density polyethylene/Metal crosslinked polyethylene, (4) Ethylene-propylene copolymer/Metal crosslinked propylene (Col84/Ln41-52), which further renders obvious the sealant layer comprises (a) a base resin that is Propylene-ethylene random copolymer (random PP); (b) an elastomer Propylene-butene-1-random copolymer elastomer (propylene-butene-1) that is miscible with the base resin; and (c) an ionomer resin, in which molecules of ethylene- α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid copolymer are cross-linked with zinc ions.
Yamashita in view of Visco fails to disclose or teach the sealant layer comprises (b) 5 to 30 parts by mass of an elastomer Propylene-butene-1-random copolymer elastomer (propylene-butene-1); and (c) 10-60 parts by mass an ionomer resin, per 100 parts of the base resin; and the packaging material is for a solid-state battery with a sulfide-based solid electrolyte.
Nakata teaches the degree of neutralization of the Zn ionomer, which may be used, is usually 80% or less, and is preferably from 5% to 80%. From the viewpoints of processability and flexibility, a Zn ionomer having a degree of neutralization of from 5% to 60% is preferable, which renders obvious (c) 10-60 parts by mass an ionomer resin, in which molecules of ethylene- α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid copolymer are cross-linked with zinc ions, per 100 parts of the base resin. Therefore, it would have been further obvious to arrive at (b) 5 to 30 parts by mass of an elastomer Propylene-butene-1-random copolymer elastomer (propylene-butene-1) that is miscible with the base resin per 100 parts of the base resin, because the total would be added up to 100 parts by mass of the base resin.
Since Nakata use the multilayer material , encapsulant for a solar cell (Title) without using it for solid-state batteries including sulfide-based solid electrolytes, Nakata does not cure the deficiency of Yamashita in view of Visco.
It would not be obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to figure out applying a packaging material comprising at least a substrate layer, a barrier layer and a sealant layer in this order, wherein the sealant layer comprising (a) a base resin that is Propylene-ethylene random copolymer (random PP); (b) 5 to 30 parts by mass of an elastomer Propylene-butene-1-random copolymer elastomer (propylene-butene-1) that is miscible with the base resin per 100 parts of the base resin; and (c) 10-60 parts by mass an ionomer resin, in which molecules of ethylene- α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid copolymer are cross-linked with zinc ions, per 100 parts of the base resin, to the application of a sulfide-based electrolyte solid-state battery in order to solve the problem of toxic hydrogen sulfide which might be generated in the operation of the sulfide-based electrolyte solid-state battery.
Similarly, Claim 18 is allowable only under the condition that the preamble “A packaging material for a solid-state battery including a sulfide-based solid electrolyte and a current collector comprising copper and aluminum” is interpreted as a claim limitation with patentable weight resulting in a difference in the structure of the packaging material.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments regarding the amended claim 1 filed on 11/7/2025 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K. L./Examiner, Art Unit 1751 2/21/2026
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751