DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-22, 24, 26, 37-38, 40 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hori (Patent No. US 6,368,895 B1).
Regarding claim 21, Hori teaches a semiconductor package (figs. 3-5), comprising:
a semiconductor die (col. 4 line 2: chip 14);
a plurality of leads (col. 4 line 1 & fig. 3: plurality of electrodes 11), the semiconductor die electrically connected to the plurality of leads (fig. 3 & col. 4 lines 1-11: 14 electrically connected to 11 through metallic bumps 15);
a mold material (col. 4 lines 37-38: sealing resin 16) encapsulating the semiconductor die (fig. 3: 16 encapsulates at least bottom and corners of 14); and
a solder resist material (col. 3 line 62: 12) on a top surface of each of the plurality of leads outside of the mold material (fig. 3: 12 disposed on top surface of each 11 outside 16), the mold material abutting a vertical and not a horizontal surface of the solder resist material (fig. 3: 16 abuts a side surface of 12 and not top/bottom horizontal surfaces of 12).
Regarding claim 22, Hori teaches the semiconductor package of claim 21, wherein the semiconductor package comprises a flipchip package (fig. 3: chip 14 arranged with active side facing downward, meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “flipchip” package).
Regarding claim 24, Hori teaches the semiconductor package of claim 21, wherein the solder resist material extends away from the mold compound (fig. 3: 12 extends away from 18).
Regarding claim 26, Hori teaches the semiconductor package of claim 25, wherein a length of the solder resist material is less than a total length of a lead extending away from the mold compound (fig. 3: length of 12 less than length of 11 extending away from 16).
Regarding claim 37, Hori teaches a semiconductor package (figs. 3-5), comprising:
a semiconductor die (col. 4 line 2: chip 14);
a plurality of leads (col. 4 line 1 & fig. 3: plurality of electrodes 11), the semiconductor die attached to a portion of the plurality of leads (fig. 3 & col. 4 lines 1-11: 14 physically and/or electrically attached to portions of 11);
a mold material (col. 4 lines 37-38: sealing resin 16) encapsulating the semiconductor die and the portion of plurality of leads (fig. 3: 16 encapsulates at least bottom and corners of 14 and portions of 11 attached to 14); and
a solder resist material (col. 3 line 62: 12) on a top surface of each of the plurality of leads outside of the mold material (fig. 3: 12 disposed on top surface of each 11 outside 16), the mold material abutting a side and not a top surface of the solder resist material (fig. 3: 16 abuts a side surface of 12 and not top surface of 12).
Regarding claim 38, Hori teaches the semiconductor package of claim 37, wherein the semiconductor package comprises a flipchip package (fig. 3: package includes die 14 configured with active surface facing downward, meeting the broadest reasobale interpretation of a “flipchip” package).
Regarding claim 40, Hori teaches the semiconductor package of claim 37, wherein the solder resist material extends away from the mold compound (fig. 3: 12 extends away from 18).
Regarding claim 42, Hori teaches the semiconductor package of claim 37, wherein a length of the solder resist material is less than a total length of a lead extending away from the mold compound (fig. 3: length of 12 less than total length of 11 extending away from 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 20 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2015/0294929 A1) in view of Su et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2001/0042915 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bai teaches a semiconductor package (¶ 0044: 1200, including assembly 300 of fig. 3), comprising:
a semiconductor die (¶ 0030: 202) including circuitry coupled to bond pads (¶ 0029: electrodes 204), the semiconductor die mounted onto a leadframe (¶ 0030 & fig. 3: 202 mounted onto lead frame 102) including a plurality of leads (¶ 0045: 108, including external portions 1204);
a dam bar (¶ inner dam bars 116) having a transverse portion that extends between adjoining ones of the plurality of leads (fig. 3: 116 has transverse portion extending between leads 108);
the semiconductor die electrically connected to the plurality of leads (figs. 3-4: 202 electrically coupled to 108);
a raised dam pattern (¶¶ 0045-0046: 1206,1208) on the dam bar (¶ 0044 & figs. 11-13: 1206/1208 formed on severed portions of inner dam bars 116) or on an edge of an exposed portion of a top side clip of the semiconductor package that is positioned above and connects to the semiconductor die, the raised dam pattern comprising a first material that is different relative to a material of the dam bar (¶¶ 0027, 0045: 1206/108 comprises different material than 116); and
a mold material (¶ 0045: 1202) encapsulating the semiconductor die (figs. 11-12: 1202 encapsulated 202).
Bai further teaches an alternative embodiment wherein the raised dam pattern is separated from the mold material (fig. 9: 908 separated from 902 to expose surface of leads 904).
Bai fails to teach the mold material is different than the first material.
Su teaches semiconductor package (fig. 11) including
a raised dam pattern (¶ 0019: 7, similar to 1206/1208 and/or 908 of Bai) on a package terminal (fig. 1: 7 disposed on lead 21); and
a mold material (¶ 0018: 5, similar to 1202 of Bai) encapsulating a semiconductor die (fig. 1: 5 encapsulates semiconductor chip 3),
wherein the mold material is different than the first material (¶¶ 0019, 0024: material of 5 formed in a different process step and with different properties from material of 7, meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘different than the first material’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the mold material of Bai to include material different than the first material, as a means to control the flow of the encapsulating resin, preventing resin flash formed on a lead frame and/or dam bar, providing higher reliability of the semiconductor packaging device (Su, ¶ 0006).
Regarding claim 3, Bai in view of Su teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the leadframe includes a die pad (¶ 0027: 106), and wherein there are bondwires (Bai, ¶ 0030: 302) between the bond pads and the plurality of leads (Bai, figs. 3-4: 302 arranged between 204 and 108) so that the semiconductor package is a wirebond package (Bai, ¶ 0030).
Regarding claim 6, Bai in view of Su teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the raised dam pattern defines a rectangular shape (Bai, fig. 13: 1208 comprises a substantially rectangular shape).
Regarding claim 20, Bai teaches a semiconductor package (¶ 0044: 1200, including assembly 300 of fig. 3), comprising:
a semiconductor die (¶ 0030: 202) mounted onto a leadframe (¶ 0030 & fig. 3: 202 mounted onto lead frame 102);
the leadframe including a plurality of leads (¶ 0045: 108, including external portions 1204) and a dam bar (¶ inner dam bars 116) having a transverse portion that extends between adjoining ones of the plurality of leads (fig. 3: 116 has transverse portion extending between leads 108);
the semiconductor die electrically connected to the plurality of leads (figs. 3-4: 202 electrically coupled to 108);
a raised dam pattern (¶¶ 0045-0046: 1206,1208) on the dam bar (¶ 0044 & figs. 11-13: 1206/1208 formed on severed portions of inner dam bars 116) comprising a first material that is different relative to a material of the dam bar (¶¶ 0027, 0045: 1206/108 comprises different material than 116); and
a mold material (¶ 0045: 1202) encapsulating the semiconductor die (figs. 11-12: 1202 encapsulated 202).
Bai further teaches an alternative embodiment wherein the raised dam pattern is separated from the mold material (fig. 9: 908 separated from 902 to expose surface of leads 904).
Bai fails to teach the mold material is different than the first material.
Su teaches semiconductor package (fig. 11) including
a raised dam pattern (¶ 0019: 7, similar to 1206/1208 and/or 908 of Bai) on a package terminal (fig. 1: 7 disposed on lead 21); and
a mold material (¶ 0018: 5, similar to 1202 of Bai) encapsulating a semiconductor die (fig. 1: 5 encapsulates semiconductor chip 3),
wherein the mold material is different than the first material (¶¶ 0019, 0024: material of 5 formed in a different process step and with different properties from material of 7, meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘different than the first material’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the mold material of Bai to include material different than the first material, as a means to control the flow of the encapsulating resin, preventing resin flash formed on a lead frame and/or dam bar, providing higher reliability of the semiconductor packaging device (Su, ¶ 0006).
Regarding claim 27, Bai teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the leadframe comprises a leaded leadframe (¶¶ 0030, 0045 & fig. 3: leadframe 102 comprises leads 108).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai in view of Su as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Karnezos (PG Pub. No. US 2008/0220563 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Bai in view of Su teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, comprising a semiconductor package (Bai, 1200).
Bai in view of Su does not teach wherein the semiconductor package comprises a flipchip package.
Karnezos teaches semiconductor packages (figs. 20-21: 2000, 2100) in wire bond (¶ 0106: 1610, similar to that of Bai) or flip chip (¶ 0106: 1710) configurations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the semiconductor package of Bai in view of Su in a flipchip arrangement, as a means to provide a package with higher speed applications, such as in mobile communications applications (Karnezos, ¶ 0085).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai in view of Su as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hori.
Regarding claim 4, Bai in view of Su teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, comprising a raised dam pattern (Bai, 1206, 1208).
Bai in view of Su is silent to wherein a height of the raised dam pattern is 10 to 30 um.
Hori teaches a semiconductor package (fig. 3) including a raised dam pattern (col. 4 lines 12-14: 12, configured to prevent resin flow) on a plurality of leads (col. 3 line 60: 11), wherein a height of the raised dam pattern is 10 to 50 um (col. 4 lines 25-27: 12 formed with a height of 10 to 50 um).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the dam pattern of Bai in view of Su with the height of Hori, as a means to allow for introduction of resin while retaining resin in a desired enclosure region (Hori, col. 4 lines 12-53).
Furthermore, it has been held that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the claimed range of “10 to 30 um” lies inside the range disclosed by Hori.
Regarding claim 5, Bai in view of Su teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, comprising a first material (Bai, 1206, 1208).
Bai in view of Su does not teach wherein the first material comprises solder resist (SR).
Hori teaches a semiconductor package (fig. 3) including a raised dam pattern (col. 4 lines 12-14: 12, configured to prevent resin flow) on a plurality of leads (col. 3 line 60: 11), wherein a material of the raised dam pattern comprises solder resist (col. 3 line 62: 12 comprises solder resist). Hori further teaches the solder resist comprises a gate (18a) for casting a resin (col. 4 lines 30-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the raised dam pattern of Bai in view of Su with the material of Hori, as a means to retain resin in a desired enclosure region (Hori, col. 4 lines 12-53).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai in view of Su as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Letterman et al (PG Pub. No. US 2010/0019367 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Bai in view of Su teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, comprising a semiconductor package.
Bai in view of Su does not teach where the semiconductor package includes the top side clip.
Letterman teaches a semiconductor package (fig. 4) including a top side clip (¶ 0034: 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the semiconductor package of Bai in view of Su with a top side clip, as a means to electrically connect electronic chips 59 to the conductive leads (Letterman, ¶ 0034).
Regarding claim 8, Bai in view of Su and Letterman teaches the semiconductor package of claim 7, wherein the leadframe comprises a leadless leadframe (Letterman, ¶ 0046).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai in view of Su as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bai et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2019/0074254 A1, hereinafter referenced as ‘Bai-254).
Regarding claim 9, Bai in view of Su teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, comprising a semiconductor die (Bai, 202).
Bai in view of Su is silent to wherein the semiconductor die comprises an integrated circuit (IC).
Bai-254 teaches semiconductor package (fig. 6) including a semiconductor die (¶ 0026: 52) comprising an integrated circuit (IC) (¶ 0016).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the semiconductor die of Bai in view of Su to comprise an integrated circuit, as a means to utilize mature infrastructure of manufacturing tools and materials, as well as lower cost, and/or increase package functionality.
Claims 23, 28, 39 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hori as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Karnezos.
Regarding claims 23, 28, 39 and 44, Hori teaches the semiconductor packages of claims 21 and 37, including a semiconductor die (14) and a plurality of leads (11).
Hori does not teach wherein there are bondwires between bond pads on the semiconductor die and the plurality of leads so that the semiconductor package is a wirebond package (as recited in claim 23),
wherein wirebonds electrically connect bond pads coupled to circuitry in the semiconductor die to the leads (as recited in claim 28),
wherein there are bondwires between bond pads on the semiconductor die and the plurality of leads so that the semiconductor package is a wirebond package (as recited in claim 39), or
wherein the wirebonds electrically connect circuitry in the semiconductor die to the leads (as recited in claim 44).
Karnezos teaches a semiconductor package (¶ 0062: 1) including bond pads on a semiconductor die (fig. 1: unlabeled bond pads on top surface of die 114) including circuitry (¶ 0085: processor chip), wherein there are bondwires between the bond pads and a plurality of package leads (¶ 0062-0063 & fig. 1: wire bond 116 arranged between bond pads of 114 and conductive pattern 121) so that the semiconductor package is a wirebond package (¶ 0008), wherein the wirebonds electrically connect circuitry in the semiconductor die to the leads (¶ 0063: 116 electrically connected to circuitry of 114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the semiconductor package of Hori with bondwires, as a means to package one or more die in a respective package using the most efficient first level interconnect technology, maximizing performance and minimizing cost (Karnezos, ¶ 0008).
Claims 25, 41 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hori as applied to claims 21 and 37 above, and further in view of Kawahara et al. (Patent No. US 6,379,997 B1).
Regarding claims 25, 41 and 43, Hori teaches the semiconductor packages of claims 21 and 37, comprising solder resist material (12) covering the top surface of each of the plurality of leads outside of the mold material (fig. 3: 12 covers top surface of each 11 outside 16).
Hori does not teach wherein the solder resist material covers some, but not all, of the top surface of each of the plurality of leads outside of the mold material (as recited in claims 25 and 41), or
wherein the solder resist material covers less than a majority of the top surface of each of the plurality of leads outside of the mold material (as recited in claim 43).
Kawahara teaches a semiconductor package (fig. 125L: 500) including dam member (col. 63 line 67 – col. 64 line 1: 515) covering less than a majority of top surfaces of each of a plurality of leads outside a mold material (col. 63 lines 53-60 & fig. 125L: 515 covers less than a majority of top surfaces of each of a plurality of leads 511 outside mold material 503). In at least one embodiment, Kawahara teaches dam members comprising solder resist (col. 53 lines 5-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the solder resist material of Hori with the lead coverage of Kawahara, as a means to provide an amount of solder resist material sufficient to prevent the flow of encapsulating resin (Kawahara, col. 64 lines 2-3) while minimizing manufacturing costs (col. 70 lines 3-4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/29/2026 with respect to the 35 USC § 102 and 103 rejection s of claim(s) 1-9, 20 and 27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 USC § 102 and 103 rejection s of claim(s) 21-26, 28 and 37-43 and 27 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument stating:
“…sealing resin 16 in Hori merely covers the bottom surface and lower side surfaces of chip 14. The top and most of the side surfaces of chip 14 remain uncovered by resin 16. Even Examiner admits that this is what Hori teaches (OA dated 01/27/2026 p. 5, lines 20-21). Examiner, however, seems to rely on his own definition of "encapsulating" which is not consistent with its dictionary meaning or well-known meaning in the art. As such, Hori fails to teach or suggest, "a mold material encapsulating the semiconductor die", as required by Claim 21. Examiner's determination is supposition not supported by fact which is little more than improper hindsight reconsideration which must be withdrawn”,
the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner notes that claim 21 merely requires a mold material encapsulating the semiconductor die, and Hori discloses resin 16 encapsulates at least the bottom surface and lower side surfaces of chip 14. The Applicant’s argument appears to rely a particular interpretation of the term ‘encapsulates’ to mean the mold completely or entirely encapsulating the semiconductor die. However, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
For example, Yeh et al. (US 2022/0310474 A1) teaches a resin underfill material (104) partially encapsulating semiconductor die 100 (¶ 0035, fig. 2A) in a manner similar to that of Hori. Accordingly, Hori meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of claims 21, including a mold which at least partially encapsulates a semiconductor die.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In the instant case, the Examiner’s determination is not merely supposition, and is supported by fact using broadest reasonable interpretation of the cited prior art, rather than improper hindsight reasoning as asserted by the Applicant.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 37 are analogous to those of claim 21, and are not persuasive for the reasons above.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 7-8 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner notes that claim 1 requires, in part, a raised dam pattern, a dam bar, and an optional top side clip (“…or on an edge of an exposed portion of a top side clip of the semiconductor package that is positioned above and connects to the semiconductor die…”, “…a material of the dam bar or of the clip…”). Claim 7 further requires the package to include the top bar clip, but does not positively recite that the raised dam pattern is disposed on an exposed portion of the top bar clip. Therefore, claim 7 as currently presented merely requires a package with a dam bar, raised dam pattern disposed on either a dam bar or an exposed surface of a top clip, and also including a top bar clip. These features are taught by the combination of Hori, Su and Letterman as noted in the rejection of claim 7 above.
It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the raised dam pattern disposed on a top bar clip) are recited in the alternative, and therefore not required by the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s remaining arguments relate to dependency on claims 1, 21 and 37, and are not persuasive for the reasons noted above.
Accordingly, the Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejections of claims 21-26, 28 and 37-43 are maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kawahara et al. (Patent No. US 6,379,997 B1) teaches a semiconductor package (fig. 91) including
a raised dam pattern (col. 49 lines 33-34: 414) on a package terminal (fig. 91: 414 disposed on electrodes 408), the raised dam pattern comprising a first material that is different relative to a material of the terminal (cols. 49-53: 414 comprises different material than 408); and
a mold material (col. 48 lines 16-17: 403) encapsulating a semiconductor die (fig. 91: 403 encapsulates 401),
wherein the mold material is different than the first material (col. 49 line 30, col. 53 lines 6-7: material of 403 different from material of 414).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN TURNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818