DETAILED ACTION
inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9, 11, 13, and 19 are currently amended.
Claims 2, 4, 10, 26, and 29-32 are cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 11/25/2025 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-13, filed 10/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of
claim(s) 1, 3, 5-9, 11-25, and 27-28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Travis in view of Crawford.
35 U.S.C. 103:
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Soto, alone or in combination with the prior art, does
not teach “a coupler body, including: a first side presenting a first coupling interface being directly connectable to the first mounting interface of the distal link, the first coupling interface including a plurality of first coupling elements arranged to align with and engage the plurality of first mounting elements to facilitate direct connection between the first side of the coupler body and the distal link; a second side opposite to the first side, the second side presenting a second coupling interface being directly connectable to the second mounting interface of the cutting tool, the second coupling interface including a plurality of second coupling elements arranged to align with and engage the plurality of second mounting elements to facilitate direct connection between the second side of the coupler body and the cutting tool; and a tracker attached to the coupler body at a location between the first side and the second side, the tracker configured to be detected by the localizer to determine a pose of the cutting tool.” After further search and consideration, the examiner will now rely on Travis in view of Crawford to teach the entirety of these limitation. Explanation is disclosed below in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11-25, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
SCHUH TRAVIS et al. WIPO Pub.: WO 2017044884 A1, hereinafter Travis in view of Crawford et al. US Pub.: US 20210330273 A1, hereinafter Crawford.
Regarding claim 1, Travis teaches a robotic surgical system (100) for use with a localizer, the
robotic surgical system comprising (fig. 1; paragraph 34):
a robotic manipulator (102) including a plurality of links (110) and a plurality of joints (111), wherein one of the plurality of links is a distal link (110) that includes a first mounting interface (see annotated figure 5) having a plurality of first mounting elements (314) (fig. 1 and 5-6; paragraph 34-37 and 63-67); The links are disclosed as arm segments by the applicant (fig. 1, 18; paragraph 47). Therefore arm segments 110 equates the plurality of links.
a drape shaped to be disposed over the robotic manipulator (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67); A surgical drape is disclosed.
a cutting tool (500) including a second mounting interface (see annotated figure 6) having a plurality of second mounting elements (600) (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67); The second mounting elements 600 are disposed on the second mounting interface of the cutting tool 500.
and a coupler (at least 506) configured to cooperate with the drape to create a sterile field barrier between the cutting tool (500) and the robotic manipulator (300), the coupler including: a coupler body (506), including (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67); The sterile adapter 506 is configured to create a sterile interface between the IDM 300 and the surgical tool 500 when secured to the IDM 300. In the embodiments of FIGS. 5-6, the surgical drape comprises a sterile adapter 506, a first protrusion 508, and a second protrusion 510):
a first side presenting a first coupling interface (see annotated figure 6) being directly connectable to the first mounting interface (see annotated figure 5) of the distal link (110), the first coupling interface (see annotated figure 6) including a plurality of first coupling elements (512) arranged to align with and engage the plurality of first mounting elements (314) to facilitate direct connection between the first side of the coupler body (506) and the distal link (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67); The first plurality of coupling elements 512 are disposed on the first coupling interface and engages with the plurality of first mounting elements 314 to connect with the distal link. The first and second coupling elements 512 are shown to be different on their respective sides of the coupler body. This creates a first coupling interface between the distal link and the coupler body. This is best shown in figure 5.
a second side opposite to the first side, the second side presenting a second coupling interface (see annotated figure 5) being directly connectable to the second mounting interface (see annotated figure 6) of the cutting tool (500), the second coupling interface (see annotated figure 5) including a plurality of second coupling elements (512) arranged to align with and engage the plurality of second mounting elements (600) to facilitate direct connection between the second side of the coupler body (506) and the cutting tool (500) (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67); The second coupling elements 512 are disposed on the second coupling interface and engages the second mounting elements 600 to connect with the cutting tool 500. The first and second coupling elements 512 are shown to be different on their respective sides of the coupler body. This creates a second coupling interface between the cutting tool and the coupler body. This is best shown in figure 6.
However, Travis does not teach a tracker attached to the coupler body at a location between the first side and the second side, the tracker configured to be detected by the localizer to determine a pose of the cutting tool.
Crawford, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a tracker (918A-D) attached to the coupler body (914) at a location between the first side and the second side, the tracker (918A-D) configured to be detected by the localizer (908) to determine a pose of the cutting tool (912) (fig. 14A-B; paragraph 119-121). The tracker is disclosed to be on a tube 914, which is coupled to the end effector and robotic base. The markers are not in a fixed position and instead, one or more of the markers can be adjusted, swiveled, pivoted, or moved to provide updated information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupler body of Travis to attach a tracker from Crawford for the benefit of providing updated information about the object being tracked without disrupting the detection and tracking process.
Regarding claims 3 and 20, Travis in view of Crawford teaches the claimed invention and Travis
further teaches wherein the second mounting interface (see annotated figure 6) is connectable to the second coupling interface (see annotated figure 5) in at least two different orientations (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67). The second coupling elements 512 are disposed on the second coupling interface and engages the second mounting elements 600 to connect with the cutting tool 500. The plurality of coupling elements allows for at least two different orientations. This is best shown in figure 6.
Regarding claims 5 and 21, Travis in view of Crawford teaches the claimed invention and
Crawford further teaches wherein the tracker (918A-D) is connectable to the coupler body (at least 506) in at least two different orientations (fig. 14A-B; paragraph 119-121). The tracker is disclosed to be on a tube 914, which is coupled to the end effector and robotic base. The markers are not in a fixed position and instead, one or more of the markers can be adjusted, swiveled, pivoted, or moved to provide updated information. Therefore, at least two orientations are disclosed.
Regarding claims 6 and 22, Travis in view of Crawford teaches the claimed invention and
Crawford further teaches wherein the tracker (918A-D) has a tracker body (at least 918A-D) for supporting tracking elements (fig. 14A-B; paragraph 119-121). The tracker has a body with markers elements (918A-D), these equate to supporting tracking elements.
Regarding claims 7 and 23, Travis in view of Crawford teaches the claimed invention and
Crawford further teaches wherein the tracker body (918A-D) is integrally formed with the coupler body (914) (fig. 14A-B; paragraph 119-121). The tracker markers 918A-918D tightly form with the tube/coupler and can be pivoted to provide updated information about the object being tracked without disrupting the detection and tracking process
Regarding claims 8 and 24, Travis in view of Crawford teaches the claimed invention and
Crawford further teaches wherein the tracker body (918A-D) is connectable to the coupler body (914) (fig. 14A-B; paragraph 119-121). The markers are not in a fixed position and instead, one or more of the markers can be adjusted, swiveled, pivoted, or moved to provide updated information. Therefore, the tracker is connectable to the coupler body.
Regarding claims 9 and 25, Travis in view of Crawford teaches the claimed invention and Travis
further teaches wherein the coupler body (506) has a generally cylindrical shape (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67). The sterile adapter 506 is the coupler body, and it is shown that the coupler body has a cylindrical shape.
Regarding claim 11, Travis in view of Crawford teaches the claimed invention and Travis further
teaches wherein the second mounting interface (see annotated figure 6) is connectable to the first mounting interface (see annotated figure 5) (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67); The figures show the first and second mounting interfaces defined by their plurality of mounting elements, 314 and 600, respectively. The mounting interfaces are connectable to one another with the addition of the coupler body 506.
Regarding claim 12, Travis in view of Crawford teaches the claimed invention and Travis further
teaches wherein the plurality of second mounting elements (600) are shaped and arranged to engage the plurality of first mounting elements (314) when connecting the second mounting interface (see annotated figure 6) to the first mounting interface (see annotated figure 5) (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67). The figures show the first and second mounting interfaces defined by their plurality of mounting elements, 314 and 600, respectively. The mounting elements are shaped to engage the respective interfaces. The interfaces are connected together by the coupler body 506, which engages both the first and second mounting elements together.
Regarding claim 13, Travis in view of Crawford teaches the claimed invention and Travis further
teaches wherein the plurality of first coupling elements (512) are shaped to engage, by surface contact, the plurality of first mounting elements (314) of the first mounting interface (see annotated figure 5) when connecting the first coupling interface (see annotated figure 6) to the first mounting interface (see annotated figure 5) and the plurality of second coupling elements (512) are shaped to engage, by surface contact, the plurality of second mounting elements (600) when connecting the second coupling interface (see annotated figure 5) to the second mounting interface (see annotated figure 6) (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67). The first plurality of coupling elements 512 are disposed on the first coupling interface and engages with the plurality of first mounting elements 314 to connect with the distal link. This creates a first coupling interface between the distal link and the coupler body. This is best shown in figure 5. The second coupling elements 512 are disposed on the second coupling interface and engages the second mounting elements 600 to connect with the cutting tool 500. The first and second coupling elements 512 are shown to be different on their respective sides of the coupler body. This creates a second coupling interface between the cutting tool and the coupler body. This is best shown in figure 6.
Regarding claims 14 and 28, Travis in view of Crawford does not teach wherein the plurality of
first coupling elements (512) includes a flat block and a V-shaped block and the plurality of second coupling elements (512) includes a pair of semi-cylindrically shaped surfaces.
Travis in view of Crawford discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose expressly the plurality of first coupling elements includes a flat block and a V-shaped block and the plurality of second coupling elements includes a pair of semi-cylindrically shaped surfaces.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Travis in view of Crawford with the flat, V-shaped, and semi cylindrical shaped surfaces, because Applicant has not disclosed that these individually shaped structures provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with plurality of first coupling elements as taught by Travis in view of Crawford, because it provides stable connection with the manipulator and the tool, and since it appears to be an arbitrary design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over Travis.
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Travis in view of Crawford to obtain the invention as specified in the claim(s).
Regarding claim 15 and 27, Travis in view of Crawford teaches the claimed invention and Travis
further teaches wherein the plurality of first coupling elements (512) include first kinematic coupling elements and the plurality of second coupling elements (512) include second kinematic coupling elements (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67). The first and second plurality of coupling elements comprises precise and separable joints with minimal contact points. Therefore, they are considered kinematic coupling elements.
Regarding claim 16, Travis in view of Crawford teaches the claimed invention and Travis further
teaches wherein the coupler (506) and the drape are further defined as a sterile coupler and a sterile drape (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67). The sterile adapter 506 is configured to create a sterile interface between the IDM 300 and the surgical tool 500 when secured to the IDM 300). A surgical drape may be used to maintain a sterile boundary between the IDM 300 and an outside environment.
Regarding claim 17, Travis in view of Crawford teaches the claimed invention and Travis further
teaches wherein the drape is connectable to the coupler (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67). The sterile adapter 506 is configured to create a sterile interface between the IDM 300 and the surgical tool 500 when secured to the IDM 300). A surgical drape may be used to maintain a sterile boundary between the IDM 300 and an outside environment. Therefore the drape is connectable to the coupler.
Regarding claim 18, Travis in view of Crawford teaches the claimed invention and Travis further
teaches wherein the distal link (110) includes a first mounting flange that includes the first mounting interface (see annotated figure 5) and the drape is shaped to be disposed between the first mounting flange and the coupler (506) (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67); The first plurality of coupling elements 512 are disposed on the first coupling interface and engages with the plurality of first mounting elements 314 to connect with the distal link 110. The first and second coupling elements 512 are shown to be different on their respective sides of the coupler body. This creates a first coupling interface between the distal link and the coupler body. This is best shown in figure 5.
Regarding claim 19, Travis teaches coupler for use with a drape to create a sterile field barrier
between a cutting tool and a robotic manipulator (102) (fig. 1 and 5-6; paragraph 34-37 and 63-67):
wherein the robotic manipulator 102) includes a first mounting interface (see annotated figure 5) having a plurality of first mounting elements (314) (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67); The first plurality of coupling elements 512 are disposed on the first coupling interface and engages with the plurality of first mounting elements 314 to connect with the first mounting interface
and the cutting tool (500) includes a second mounting interface (see annotated figure 6) having a plurality of second mounting elements (600), the second mounting interface (see annotated figure 6) being connectable to the first mounting interface (see annotated figure 5) (fig. 1 and 5-6; paragraph 34-37 and 63-67);
the coupler comprising: a coupler body (506) (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67; The sterile adapter 506 is configured to create a sterile interface between the IDM 300 and the surgical tool 500 when secured to the IDM 300):
a first coupling interface (see annotated figure 6) integrated with on a first side of the coupler body (506), the first coupling interface being directly connectable to the first mounting interface (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67); The first plurality of coupling elements 512 are disposed on the first coupling interface and engages with the plurality of first mounting elements 314 to connect with the first mounting interface. The first and second coupling elements 512 are shown to be different on their respective sides of the coupler body.
a second coupling interface (see annotated figure 5) integrated with on an opposing second side of the coupler body (506), the second coupling interface being directly connectable to the second mounting interface (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67); The second coupling elements 512 are disposed on the second coupling interface and engages the second mounting elements 600 to connect with the second mounting interface. The first and second coupling elements 512 are shown to be different on their respective sides of the coupler body.
wherein the first coupling interface (see annotated figure 6) has a plurality of first coupling elements (512) arranged to align with and engage the first mounting elements (314) when connecting the coupler (506) to the robotic manipulator (102) (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67); The first plurality of coupling elements 512 are disposed on the first coupling interface and engages with the plurality of first mounting elements 314 to connect with the distal link. The first and second coupling elements 512 are shown to be different on their respective sides of the coupler body. This creates a first coupling interface between the distal link and the coupler body. This is best shown in figure 5.
and a second coupling interface (see annotated figure 5) has a plurality of second coupling elements (512) arranged to align with and engage the second mounting elements (600) when connecting the coupler to the cutting tool (500) (fig. 5-6; paragraph 63-67); The second coupling elements 512 are disposed on the second coupling interface and engages the second mounting elements 600 to connect with the cutting tool 500. The first and second coupling elements 512 are shown to be different on their respective sides of the coupler body. This creates a second coupling interface between the cutting tool and the coupler body. This is best shown in figure 6.
However, Travis does not teach a tracker coupled to the coupler body at a location between the first side and the opposing second side, wherein the tracker is configured to be detected by a localizer.
Crawford, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a tracker (918A-D) coupled to the coupler body (914) at a location between the first side and the opposing second side, wherein the tracker is configured to be detected by a localizer (908) (fig. 14A-B; paragraph 119-121). The tracker is disclosed to be on a tube 914, which is coupled to the end effector and robotic base. The markers are not in a fixed position and instead, one or more of the markers can be adjusted, swiveled, pivoted, or moved to provide updated information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupler body of Travis to attach a tracker from Crawford for the benefit of providing updated information about the object being tracked without disrupting the detection and tracking process.
Conclusion
/T.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/Benjamin J Klein/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792