Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Note that the claims are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under such conditions. The material worked upon or the process of using the apparatus are viewed as recitation of intended use and are given little patentable weight (Please see MPEP 2114 R1-2115 R2 for further details).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hardwick et al. (WO 2019/089764 A1, hereinafter Hardwick).
Regarding Claims 1-3, Hardwick teaches in Figure 1A a solid state additive manufacturing system comprising:
a material feed system 101 configured to provide solid material (per [00080-00081]);
tooling 103 configured to receive the solid material from the material feed throat and add the received solid material on a substrate (per [00080-00081], wherein workpiece 105 is the substrate, and [0071] discloses that the goal of the invention of is to bond the deposited solid material to the workpiece);
an accessory device (workpiece platform 109 per [00083]) configured to receive the substrate/workpiece 105; and
a processor electrically coupled to the tooling and the accessory device, wherein the processor is programmed to control the tooling and to control movement of the accessory device to add the received solid material in the tooling onto the received substrate/workpiece 105 to form a solid part (per [00082]-[00083] wherein it Is understood that the recited purpose of 3D printing and the recited ability of the tool and workpiece platform to rotate independently in their own x, y, and z directions by operating on a path per [0076] (further reading on Claims 2 and 3) is understood to imply that the process-controlling software 115 controls both the tool and workpiece platform to form a solid part on the substrate/workpiece during movement of the accessory device, wherein the formed solid part comprises the substrate and the received solid material).
Regarding Claims 4 and 15, since the workpiece platform can move in directions parallel to some reference plane, it is regarded as a parallel manipulator.
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Hardwick teaches in [0080] that devices to heat and/or stimulate with electric/magnetic fields comprise the system.
Regarding Claims 7-14, and 16-20, that three-dimensional movement ability of the tool and workpiece platform/accessory device establishes the capability of printing configurations such as the hollow or non-hollow parts of Claims 7 and 19, the shaped parts of Claims 8 and 20, the tapered parts of Claim 9, hollow metal parts with varying wall thickness as in Claim 10, tilted or non-planar solid parts of Claim 11, large parts with the methodology of Claim 13, and the ability to rotate and add material to formed solid parts as in Claims 12 and 14 as well as rotate for use with a 3-axis stationary machine to provide heating/cooling per Claim 16, additional field exposure per Claim 17, and additional measurements per Claim 18.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 19-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,311,959 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are merely broader recitations of the subject matter claimed in ‘959, noting the control unit that per ‘959’s Claim 1 controls the tool/tooling unit and the workpiece platform/accessory device as required by instant Claim 1, with ‘959’s Claim 7 demonstrating capability to move in x, y, and z directions that allows for the instantly-claimed capabilities of instant Claims 2-3, 7-14, and 16-20, and wherein the workpiece platform can be considered a parallel manipulator thus reading on instant Claims 4 and 15, and wherein workpiece itself (defined to exist by the “workpiece and/or a workpiece platform” in Line 21 of Claim 1) is the substrate received by the accessory device.
Additionally:
Claim 10 of ‘959 teaches heating and/or cooling systems corresponding to instant Claim 5
Claim 16 of ‘959 teaches stimulating devices corresponding to instant Claim 6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 5, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive based on the new claim mapping applied in the rejections above which makes it clear that the solid material is added on the substrate during movement of the accessory device, wherein the formed solid part comprises the substrate and received solid material.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN M OCHYLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743