DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claims 11-12, the limitations are merely the intended function of the diffuser section, and do not relate to any active steps of the method of the claimed invention. Therefore the limitations in claims 11-12 do not further limit the method.
Regarding claims 13-14, the limitations are merely the intended function of the preform component, and do not relate to any active steps of the method of the claimed invention. Therefore the limitations in claims 13-14 do not further limit the method.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janssen (US 7,992,272) in view of Richerzhagen (US 2007/0193990).
Regarding claim 1, Janssen teaches a manufacturing method, comprising:
providing a preform component (turbine blade 35) for a turbine engine, the preform component (turbine blade 35) including a substrate (metal blade 5) and an outer coating (ceramic coating 10) on the substrate (metal blade 5), the substrate (metal blade 5) comprising electrically conductive material (see col.2, lines 5-7 “the metal blade 5 may be composed of any metal, including steel, titanium, or carbide.” Hence metal blade 5 comprises a electrically conductive material.), and the outer coating (ceramic coating 10) comprising non-electrically conductive material (ceramic coating 10 comprising ceramic); and
forming, subsequent to providing the preform component, a cooling aperture (cooling aperture; see the annotation of fig.2) in the preform component (turbine blade 35), the cooling aperture (cooling aperture) including a diffuser section (counterbore 20) and a meter section (cooling hole 25), the diffuser section (counterbore 20) extending through the outer coating (ceramic coating 10) and into the substrate (metal blade 5), the meter section (cooling hole 25) extending within the substrate (metal blade 5), and the forming of the cooling aperture comprising
forming the diffuser section (counterbore 20) through the outer coating (ceramic coating 10) and into the substrate (metal blade 5) using a first machining process (see col.2, lines 30-31 “The counterbore 20 may be created by selectively removing (i.e., milling) a portion of the ceramic coating 10.”); and
forming, subsequent to the forming the diffuser section, the meter section (cooling hole 25) using a second machining process (EDM; see col.5, lines 8-15) that is different than the first machining process. (See figs.2 and 5);
wherein the second machining process comprises an electrical discharge machining process (EDM; see col.5, lines 8-15).
Janssen does not explicitly teach the first machining process comprises a water-jet guided laser machining process or an abrasive water jet machining process.
However, Richerzhagen teaches in the same field of endeavor of a manufacturing method, comprising machining a workpiece using a water-jet guided laser machining process (See para.[0010] “In a method for machining a workpiece by means of laser radiation injected and guided in a liquid jet”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify first machining process of Janssen with a water-jet guided laser machining process as taught by Richerzhagen, in order to prevent the ejections occurring during machining from being deposited on the workpiece surface (para.[0009] of Richezhagen).
Regarding claim 6, Janssen teaches the providing of the preform component comprises providing the substrate (metal blade 5); and applying the outer coating (ceramic coating 10) over the substrate (metal blade 5).
Regarding claim 7, Janssen teaches the preform component further includes an inner coating (bond coat 15) between the substrate (metal blade 5) and the outer coating (ceramic coating 10), and the diffuser section (counterbore 20) further extends through the inner coating (bond coat 15) (see fig.2).
Regarding claim 8, Janssen teaches the inner coating (bond coat 15) comprises electrically conductive material (MCrAlX) that is different than the electrically conductive material of the substrate (steel) (see col.2, lines 5-7).
Regarding claim 9, Janssen teaches the cooling aperture (cooling aperture) extends through the substrate (metal blade 5) and the outer coating (ceramic coating 10) along a centerline (see fig.2, the centerline is merely the imagine defined by operator), and the diffuser section (counterbore 20) has a cross-sectional geometry that changes as the cooling aperture extends along the centerline (operator can define a line that meet the requirement).
Regarding claim 10, Janssen teaches the cooling aperture (cooling aperture) extends through the substrate (metal blade 5) and the outer coating (ceramic coating 10) along a centerline (see fig.2, the centerline is the imagine defined by operator), and the meter section (counterbore 20) has a cross-sectional geometry that is uniform as the cooling aperture extends along the centerline (operator can define a line that meet the requirement).
Regarding claim 11, Janssen teaches the diffuser section (diffuser 13) is formed in a single lobed diffuser section configuration (diffuser 13 can be a section of a single lobed diffuser section.).
Regarding claim 12, Janssen teaches the diffuser section (diffuser 13) is formed in a multi-lobed diffuser section configuration (diffuser 13 can be a section of a multi-lobed diffuser section.).
Regarding claim 13, Janssen teaches the preform component (turbine blade 35) comprises a preform of an airfoil (turbine blade 35) for the turbine engine (turbine blade 35 can be a component of an airfoil).
Regarding claim 14, Janssen teaches the preform component (turbine blade 35) comprises a preform of a flowpath wall (turbine blade 35) for the turbine engine (turbine blade 35 can be a component of an flowpath wall).
Regarding claim 15, Janssen teaches the electrically conductive material comprises metal (see col.2, lines 5-7 “the metal blade 5 may be composed of any metal, including steel, titanium, or carbide.”)
Regarding claim 16, Janssen teaches the non-electrically conductive material comprises ceramic (ceramic coating 10 comprising ceramic).
Regarding claim 17, Janssen teaches a manufacturing method, comprising:
providing a substrate (metal blade 5);
applying a coating (ceramic coating 10) over the substrate (metal blade 5) to provide a preform component (turbine blade 35) for a turbine engine;
forming a diffuser section (counterbore 20) of a cooling aperture in the preform component using a first machining process see col.2, lines 30-31 “The counterbore 20 may be created by selectively removing (i.e., milling) a portion of the ceramic coating 10.”), the diffuser section (counterbore 20) extending through the coating (ceramic coating 10) and into the substrate (metal blade 5) (see fig.2), and the first machining process includes machining through the coating (ceramic coating 10) and into the substrate (metal blade 5); and
forming, after forming the diffuser section, a meter section (cooling hole 25) of the cooling aperture in the preform component using a second machining process (EDM; see col. 5, lines 8-15) that is different than the first machining process (selectively removing), the meter section (cooling hole 25) extending within the substrate (metal blade 5) to the diffuser section (counterbore 20) (see fig.2);
wherein the second machining process comprises an electrical discharge machining process (EDM; see col.5, lines 8-15).
Janssen does not explicitly teach the first machining process comprises a water-jet guided laser machining process or an abrasive water jet machining process.
However, Richerzhagen teaches in the same field of endeavor of a manufacturing method, comprising machining a workpiece using a water-jet guided laser machining process (See para.[0010] “In a method for machining a workpiece by means of laser radiation injected and guided in a liquid jet”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify first machining process of Janssen with a water-jet guided laser machining process as taught by Richerzhagen, in order to prevent the ejections occurring during machining from being deposited on the workpiece surface (para.[0009] of Richezhagen).
Regarding claim 19, Janssen teaches the substrate (metal blade 5) is configured from metal (see col.2, lines 5-7 “the metal blade 5 may be composed of any metal, including steel, titanium, or carbide.”); and the coating is configured from ceramic (ceramic coating 10 comprising ceramic).
Regarding claim 20, Janssen teaches a manufacturing method, comprising:
providing a substrate (metal blade 5), the substrate comprising metal (see col.2, lines 5-7 “the metal blade 5 may be composed of any metal, including steel, titanium, or carbide.”);
applying a coating (ceramic coating 10) over the substrate (metal blade 5) to provide a preform component (turbine blade 35) for a turbine engine;
forming a first section (counterbore 20) of a cooling aperture in the preform component (laser machining; see col.3, line 40), the first section (counterbore 20) extending through the coating (ceramic coating 10) and into the substrate (metal blade 5) (see fig.2), the first section (counterbore 20) extending to an interface (interface; see the annotation of fig.2), the interface (interface) disposed between the first section (counterbore 20) and a second section (cooling hole 25) of the cooling aperture, and wherein the forming the first section (counterbore 20) of the cooling aperture includes machining through the coating (ceramic coating 10) and into the substrate (metal blade 5) by a vertical distance (see fig.2); and
forming, at the interface (interface), the second section (cooling hole 25) of the cooling aperture in the preform component using an electrical discharge machining process (EDM; see col. 5, lines 8-15), the second section (cooling hole 25) extending within the substrate (metal blade 5);
wherein a transition from the machining process of first section to the electrical discharge machining process occurs at the interface (See fig.2).
Janssen does not explicitly teach forming the first section by using a laser machining process.
However, Richerzhagen teaches in the same field of endeavor of a manufacturing method, comprising machining a workpiece using a water-jet guided laser machining process (See para.[0010] “In a method for machining a workpiece by means of laser radiation injected and guided in a liquid jet”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify first machining process of Janssen with a water-jet guided laser machining process as taught by Richerzhagen, in order to prevent the ejections occurring during machining from being deposited on the workpiece surface (para.[0009] of Richezhagen).
Response to Arguments
With respect to the claim rejection under 35 USC 112 (d), applicant’s argument is not persuasive, because the limitations of claims 11-14 do not further limit the manufacturing method as MPEP 608.01 instructs “When examining a dependent claim, the examiner should determine whether the claim complies with 35 U.S.C. 112(d), which requires that dependent claims contain a reference to a previous claim in the same application, specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed, and include all the limitations of the previous claim. If the dependent claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(d), the examiner should reject the dependent claim under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as unpatentable rather than objecting to the claim.” In this case, claims 11-14 do not relate to any active steps in claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 12/23/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of references Janssen (US 7,992,272) and Richerzhagen (US 2007/0193990).
With respect to the rejection of claim 20, Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “Janssen therefore discloses that after selective removal of the alleged coating (ceramic coating 10), selective removal is discontinued before a new cutting tool is used to machine within the alleged substrate (metal turbine blade 5). There is no teaching or suggest in Janssen, nor Richerzhagen of at least the feature of "wherein the forming the first section of the cooling aperture includes machining through the coating and into the substrate by a vertical distance using the laser machining process" as recited in claim 20”.
Examiner respectfully disagree. Col.5, lines 16-22 of Janssen discloses “Discontinuance of the selective removal in step 130 may occur upon sensing of electrical conductivity or immediately thereafter. Alternatively, selective removal may be discontinued a predetermined period of time after electrical conductivity is sensed. According to another embodiment, selective removal may be continued until the electrical conductivity reaches a predetermined strength”, which indicated Janssen would further remove additional material after removal of ceramic coating 10, such as metal blade 5.Therefore the rejection is respectfully maintained.
Conclusion
/CHRIS Q LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761