DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on May 23, 2026. Claims 13, 22, 25-28, 34 and 37-38 have been amended. New claim 40 has been added. Claims 1-12, 17-21, 31, 33 and 36 have been canceled. Claims 35 and 39 have been withdrawn. Currently, claims 13-16, 22-30, 32, 34, 37-38 and 40 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 23, 2026 with respect to claim 13 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant asserts that West 802’ does not teach forming an electric field abatement structure after forming the second plate of the capacitor.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the assertion. West ‘802 discloses in this sequence in Figure 2A by forming an upper metal plate over the upper dielectric sub-layer (step 212), and subsequently forming an abatement structure covering the lower corner of that plate (step 214). Furthermore, West ‘696 demonstrates forming the high voltage node 132 over the second dielectric layer 140, as shown in Figure 2D, followed by formation of the isolation break 150, as shown in Figure 2E, supporting the sequence in question.
The Applicant further asserts that West ‘806 and Bonifield fail to disclose or suggest a method "wherein forming the first faraday cage includes forming top level interconnects of the first faraday cage concurrently with forming the top capacitor plate" and "wherein the closest top level interconnect to the isolation break is positioned a first distance away from the isolation break and the lower corner of the top capacitor plate is positioned a second distance away from the isolation break, the first distance being less than the second distance," as recited by amended claim 27.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the assertion. Although West ‘892 does not explicitly disclose positioning the top-level interconnect of the inner Faraday cage at the same metallization level as the top capacitor plate 132, Bonifield teaches the formation of an isolation capacitor in a multilevel metal process where the top capacitor plate 128 is formed at the same metallization level as top interconnect Mn. Because the top capacitor plate 128 and the top interconnect Mn are formed at the same metallization level, it would have been obvious that these structures may be formed concurrently using the same deposition and patterning steps.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the inner Faraday cage of West 892’ in view of Bonifield such that the top-level interconnect of the inner Faraday cage is formed at the same top metal level as the top capacitor plate. As modified, the top-level interconnect of the inner Faraday cage would be positioned directly above the element 126 of West 892’.
Following this modification, the top-level interconnect of the inner Faraday cage would be positioned laterally closer to the isolation break than the lower corner of the top capacitor plate 132. Thus, the top interconnect of the inner Faraday cage would be positioned a first distance away from the isolation break while the lower corner of the top capacitor plate would be positioned a second distance away from the isolation break, where the first distance is less than the second distance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15, 22-29, 32, 34, 37-38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over West et al. (US 2018/0286802 A1; hereafter West 802’) in view of in view of Bonifield et al (US 2019/0206812 A1; hereafter Bonifield).
Regarding claim 13, West 802’ teaches a method of forming a microelectronic device (see e.g., electronic device 100A, a high voltage capacitor, Figure 1A), comprising:
forming a first plate of a capacitor (see e.g., high voltage capacitor 104 includes a bottom plate 130, Paras [0020], [0023], Figure 1A) over a semiconductor substrate (see e.g., substrate 102 such as silicon wafer, Para [0020], Figure 1A):
forming one or more first dielectric layers above the first plate, the one or more first dielectric layers having a first dielectric constant (see e.g., intra-metal dielectric (IMD) layers 122 e.g., dielectric materials or compositions comprised of silicon dioxide-based materials and the like formed over the bottom plate 130, Para [0022], Figure 1A);
forming a second dielectric layer (see e.g., lower bandgap dielectric layer 140 including a sub-layer 142 of SiON and a sub-layer 144 of SiN, Para [0024], Figure 1A) on the one or more first dielectric layers (see e.g., lower-bandgap dielectric layer 140 formed on the IMD layers 122), the second dielectric layer having a second dielectric constant greater than the first dielectric constant of the one or more first dielectric layers (see e.g., lower bandgap dielectric layer 140 formed of SiON and SiN, which are known to be of a higher dielectric constant than that of silicon oxide forming the IMD layers 122, Para [0024]);
forming a second plate of the capacitor (see e.g., top plate 132 of the high voltage capacitor 104, Para [0023], Figure 1A) on the second dielectric layer (see e.g., top plate 132 formed on the lower- bandgap dielectric layer 140), the second plate having a lower corner contacting the second dielectric layer (see e.g., lower corner of top plate 132 contacts the sub-layer 144, Figure 1A);
after forming the second capacitor plate, forming an electric field abatement structure encircling the second plate by removing a portion of the second dielectric layer in an isolation break of the electric field abatement structure; (see e.g., in the sequence disclosed in Figure 2A, at step 212 an upper metal plate is formed over the upper dielectric sub-layer and subsequently an abatement structure is formed covering the lower corner of the upper metal plate at step 214.
The abatement structure is formed by forming a lateral isolation break 150 in the lower-bandgap dielectric layer 140 contacting the top plate 132 such that the isolation break 150 may at least partially circumscribe the top plate 132. The lateral isolation break 150 may therefore be located between the top plate 132 and any low voltage element of the microelectronic device 100A, so that the lower-bandgap dielectric layer 140 contacting the top plate 132 does not contact any low voltage element, Para [0024], Figure 1A);
forming a first faraday cage adjacent to the capacitor (see e.g., the inner faraday cage, Para [0020], Figure 1A),
the first faraday cage laterally surrounding the first….plates (see e.g., as shown in Figure 1A the inner faraday cage surrounds the bottom plate 130);
forming a protective overcoat (PO) layer (see e.g., upper IMD layer 156 and protective overcoat 160, Para [0027], Figure 1A) on the second dielectric layer (see e.g., formed on the lower-bandgap dielectric layer 140, Figure 1A),
West 802’ does not explicitly teach
“the first faraday cage laterally surrounding the first and second plates”
A change in size or proportion is held to be an obvious matter of design choice. See In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04.
In a similar field of endeavor Bonifield teaches a high voltage capacitor where the multiple columns of metal levels (e.g., Mn to Mn-4) connected by vias laterally surround the bottom plate 129 and the top plate 128 as shown in for example, the cross-sectional view of Figure 2E.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Bonifield’s teachings of metal interconnects surrounding the first and the second plate in the method of West 802’ so that the metal layers and via stacks provide improved integrated shielding.
Regarding claim 14, West 802’, as modified by Bonifield teaches the limitations of claim 13 as mentioned above. West 802’ further teaches
wherein the second dielectric layer (see e.g., lower-bandgap dielectric layer 140, Para [0024], Figure 1A) includes a first sublayer (see e.g., sub-layer 144 that includes SiN, Para [0024]) having a third dielectric constant (see e.g., dielectric constant of SiN) and a second sublayer (see e.g., sub-layer 142 that includes SiON, Para [0024]) having a fourth dielectric constant (see e.g., dielectric constant of SiON) less than the third dielectric constant (see e.g., SiON has a dielectric constant less than the dielectric constant of SiN, Para [0024]).
Regarding claim 15, West 802’, as modified by Bonifield teaches the limitations of claim 14 as mentioned above. West 802’ further teaches
wherein the first sublayer includes silicon nitride (see e.g., sub-layer 144 is SiN, Para [0024]) and the second sublayer includes silicon oxynitride (see e.g., sub-layer 142 is SiON, Para [0024]).
Regarding claim 22, West 802’, as modified by Bonifield teaches the limitations of claim 13 as mentioned above. West 802’ further teaches
wherein the PO layer is a first PO layer (see e.g., upper IMD layer 156, Para [0027], Figure 1A)…
the method further comprising:
forming a second PO layer (see e.g., layer 160, Para [0027], Figure 1A) on the first PO layer (see e.g., layer 160 formed on the upper IMD layer 156, Para [0027], Figure 1A), the second PO layer having a curved sidewall profile over the second plate (see e.g., layer 160 may overlap edges of top plate 132 and has a curved sidewall profile that is, a slope of approximately 20°, Para [0027], Figure 1A).
West 802’ does not explicitly teach
“the first PO layer overlaps partway onto the second plate,
the second PO layer overlapping partway over the second plate”
A rearrangement or parts is held to be an obvious matter of design choice. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); See also In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
In a similar field of endeavor Bonifield teaches
the first PO layer overlaps partway onto the second plate (see e.g., lower protective overcoat (PO) layer overlaps the top plate 128, Para [0044], Figure 2E),
the second PO layer overlapping partway over the second plate (see e.g., PO layer 161 overlap the top plate 128, Para [0044], Figure 2E).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Bonifield teachings of the first PO layer overlaps partway onto the second plate, the second PO layer overlapping partway onto the second plate in the method of West 802’ as a mere arrangement of parts for protection purposes.
Regarding claim 23, West 802’, as modified by Bonifield teaches the limitations of claim 13 as mentioned above. West 802’ further teaches
wherein the second dielectric layer between the isolation break and the lower corner provides a shelf of the electric field abatement structure (see e.g., extension 151 of the lower-bandgap dielectric layer 140 between the lower corner of the top plate 132 and the isolation break 150 provides a shelf of the electric field abatement structure as shown in Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 24, West 802’, as modified by Bonifield teaches the limitations of claim 14 as mentioned above. West 802’ further teaches
wherein the fourth dielectric constant (see e.g., dielectric constant of SiON layer 142, Para [0024]) is greater than the first dielectric constant (see e.g., SiON known to be of a higher dielectric constant than that of silicon oxide forming the IMD layers 122, Para [0024]).
Regarding claim 25, West 802’, as modified by Bonifield teaches the limitations of claim 13 as mentioned above. West 802’ further teaches
forming a second faraday cage (see e.g., outer faraday cage, Para [0020], Figure 1A) adjacent to the first faraday cage, the second faraday cage laterally surrounding the first faraday cage, wherein the first faraday cage is located between the second faraday cage and the capacitor; and (see e.g., the outer faraday cage laterally surrounds the inner faraday cage and the inner faraday cage is located between the outer faraday cage and the high voltage capacitor 104, Figure 1A)
wherein the …. second faraday cages extend from the semiconductor substrate through the second dielectric layer (see e.g., the outer faraday cage extends from the semiconductor substrate 102 through the lower-bandgap dielectric layer 140 as shown in Figure 1A).
West 802’ does not explicitly teach
“wherein: the first …faraday cages extend from the semiconductor substrate through the second dielectric layer”.
A change in size or proportion is held to be an obvious matter of design choice. See In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to extend the first faraday cage through the second dielectric layer in order to provide improved shielding.
Regarding claim 26, West 802’, as modified by Bonifield teaches the limitations of claim 13 as mentioned above. West 802’ further teaches
forming a second faraday cage adjacent to the first faraday cage (see e.g., outer faraday cage, Para [0020], Figure 1A), the second faraday cage laterally surrounding the first faraday cage, wherein the first faraday cage is located between the second faraday cage and the capacitor; and (see e.g., the outer faraday cage laterally surrounds the inner faraday cage and the inner faraday cage is located between the outer faraday cage and the high voltage capacitor 104, Figure 1A)
West 802’ does not explicitly teach
“wherein the first and second faraday cages have a same height from the semiconductor substrate”.
A change in size or proportion is held to be an obvious matter of design choice. See In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04.
In a similar field of endeavor Bonifield teaches a high voltage capacitor where multiple columns of similar heights from the substrate 210 including metal levels (e.g., Mn to Mn-4) connected by vias laterally surround the bottom plate 129 and the top plate 128 as shown in for example, the cross-sectional view of Figure 2E.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Bonifield’s teachings of metal columns including metal layers and via stacks of similar heights from the substrate in the method of West 802’ so that they may provide integrated shielding.
Regarding claim 27, West 802’ teaches a method of forming a microelectronic device (see e.g., electronic device 100A, a high voltage capacitor, Figure 1A), comprising:
forming a bottom capacitor plate (see e.g., high voltage capacitor 104 includes a bottom plate 130, Paras [0020], [0023], Figure 1A) over a substrate, the substrate including a semiconductor material (see e.g., substrate 102 such as silicon wafer, Para [0020], Figure 1A);
forming one or more first dielectric layers above the bottom capacitor plate (see e.g., intra-metal dielectric (IMD) layers 122 e.g., dielectric materials or compositions comprised of silicon dioxide-based materials and the like formed over the bottom plate 130, Para [0022], Figure 1A);
forming a second dielectric layer on the one or more first dielectric layers (see e.g., lower bandgap dielectric layer 140 including a sub-layer 142 of SiON and a sub-layer 144 of SiN, Para [0024], Figure 1A), the second dielectric layer including at least a first sublayer (see e.g., lower-bandgap dielectric layer 140 includes a sub-layer 144 made of SiN, Para [0024], Figure 1A) having a first dielectric constant (see e.g., dielectric constant of SiN) greater than one or more dielectric constants of the one or more first dielectric layers (see e.g., known that the dielectric constant of SiN is greater than the dielectric constant of SiO2);
forming a top capacitor plate (see e.g., top plate 132 of the high voltage capacitor 104, Para [0023], Figure 1A) on the second dielectric layer (see e.g., top plate 132 formed on the lower bandgap dielectric layer 140), the top capacitor plate having a lower corner contacting the second dielectric layer (see e.g., lower corner of top plate 132 contacts the sub-layer 144, Figure 1A);
forming an electric field abatement structure encircling the second plate by removing the first sublayer in an isolation break of the electric field abatement structure (see e.g., forming an electric field abatement structure by forming a lateral isolation break 150 in the sub-layer 144, such that the isolation break 150 may at least partially circumscribe the top plate 132. The isolation break 150 may therefore be located between the top plate 132 and any low voltage element of the microelectronic device 100A, so that the lower-bandgap dielectric layer 140 contacting the top plate 132 does not contact any low voltage element, Para [0024], Figure 1A); and
forming a first faraday cage adjacent to and laterally surrounding the …. bottom
capacitor plates (see e.g., the inner Faraday cage surrounding the bottom plate 130, Para [0020], Figure 1A), the first faraday cage extending from the substrate .. (see e.g., the inner Faraday cage extends from the substrate 102, Figure 1A)
West 802’ does not explicitly teach
“forming a first faraday cage adjacent to and laterally surrounding the top and bottom
capacitor plates,
the first faraday cage extending from the substrate through the second dielectric layer”,
A change in size or proportion is held to be an obvious matter of design choice. See In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04.
In a similar field of endeavor Bonifield teaches a high voltage capacitor where multiple columns of similar heights from the substrate 210 including metal levels (e.g., Mn to Mn-4) connected by vias laterally surround the bottom plate 129 and the top plate 128 as shown in for example, the cross-sectional view of Figure 2E.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Bonifield’s teachings of metal columns including metal layers and via stacks of similar heights from the substrate and surrounding the top and bottom plates in the method of West 802’ so that they may provide improved integrated shielding.
West 802’ does not explicitly teach
“wherein forming the first faraday cage includes forming top level interconnects of the first faraday cage concurrently with forming the top capacitor plate, wherein the closest top-level interconnect to the isolation break is positioned a first distance away from the isolation break and the lower corner of the top capacitor plate is positioned a second distance away from the isolation break, the first distance being less than the second distance”.
In a similar field of endeavor Bonifield teaches the formation of an isolation capacitor in a multilevel metal process where the top capacitor plate 128 is formed at the same metallization level as top interconnect Mn. Because the top capacitor plate 128 and the top interconnect Mn are formed at the same metallization level, it would have been obvious that these structures may be formed concurrently using the same deposition and patterning steps.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the inner Faraday cage of West 892’ in view of Bonifield such that the top-level interconnect of the inner Faraday cage is formed at the same top metal level as the top capacitor plate. As modified, the top-level interconnect of the inner Faraday cage would be positioned directly above the element 126 of West 892’.
Following this modification, the top-level interconnect of the inner Faraday cage would be positioned laterally closer to the isolation break than the lower corner of the top capacitor plate 132. Thus, the top interconnect of the inner Faraday cage would be positioned a first distance away from the isolation break while the lower corner of the top capacitor plate would be positioned a second distance away from the isolation break, where the first distance is less than the second distance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement forming the first faraday cage includes forming top level interconnects of the first faraday cage concurrently with forming the top capacitor plate, wherein the closest top-level interconnect to the isolation break is positioned a first distance away from the isolation break and the lower corner of the top capacitor plate is positioned a second distance away from the isolation break, the first distance being less than the second distance to provide improved shielding.
Regarding claim 28, West 802’, as modified by Bonifield teaches the limitations of claim 27 as mentioned above. West 802’ further teaches
forming a second faraday cage (see e.g., outer faraday cage, Para [0020], Figure 1A) laterally surrounding the first faraday cage, wherein the first faraday cage is located between the second faraday cage and ….bottom capacitor plates; and (see e.g., the outer faraday cage laterally surrounds the inner faraday cage wherein the inner faraday cage is located between the outer faraday cage and the high voltage capacitor 104, Figure 1A)
wherein the second faraday cage extends from the substrate through the second dielectric layer (see e.g., the outer faraday cage extends from the semiconductor substrate 102 through the lower-bandgap dielectric layer 140 as shown in Figure 1A).
West 892’ does not explicitly teach
“the first and second faraday cages having a same height from the substrate,
wherein the first faraday cage is located between the second faraday cage and the top and bottom capacitor plates;”
A change in size or proportion is held to be an obvious matter of design choice. See In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04.
In a similar field of endeavor Bonifield teaches a high voltage capacitor where the multiple columns of metal levels (e.g., Mn to Mn-4) connected by vias laterally surround the bottom plate 129 and the top plate 128 as shown in for example, the cross-sectional view of Figure 2E.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Bonifield’s teachings of metal columns including metal layers and via stacks of similar heights from the substrate and surrounding the top and bottom plates in the method of West 802’ so that the metal layers and via stacks provide improved integrated shielding.
Regarding claim 29, West 802’, as modified by Bonifield teaches the limitations of claim 27 as mentioned above. West 802’ further teaches
wherein forming the second dielectric layer (see e.g., lower-bandgap dielectric layer 140, Para [0024], Figure 1A) includes, before forming the first sublayer (see e.g., sub-layer 144 that includes SiN, Para [0024]), forming a second sublayer (see e.g., sub-layer 142 that includes SiON, Para [0024]) on the one or more first dielectric layers (see e.g., sub-layer 142 formed on the IMD layer 122), the second sublayer having a second dielectric constant less than the first dielectric constant (see e.g., SiON has a dielectric constant which is known to be less than the dielectric constant of SiN).
Regarding claim 32, West 802’, as modified by Bonifield teaches the limitations of claim 29 as mentioned above. West 802’ further teaches
wherein the second dielectric constant (see e.g., dielectric constant of the SiON sub-layer 142, Para [0024]) is greater than the one or more dielectric constants of the one or more first dielectric layers (see e.g., dielectric constant of SiO2 IMD layers 122. Dielectric constant of SiO2 is less than the dielectric constant of SiON).
Regarding claim 34, West 802’, as modified by Bonifield teaches the limitations of claim 27 as mentioned above. West 802’ further teaches
forming a first protective overcoat (PO) layer (see e.g., upper IMD layer 156, Para [0027], Figure 1A) on the second dielectric layer (see e.g., formed on the lower-bandgap dielectric layer 140, Figure 1A),
forming a second PO layer (see e.g., layer 160, Para [0027], Figure 1A) on the first PO layer (see e.g., layer 160 formed on the upper IMD layer 156, Para [0027], Figure 1A), the second PO layer having a curved sidewall profile over the second plate (see e.g., layer 160 may overlap edges of top plate 132 and has a curved sidewall profile that is, a slope of approximately 20°, Para [0027], Figure 1A).
West 802’ does not explicitly teach
“the first PO layer overlapping partway onto the top capacitor plate;
the second PO layer overlapping partway over the top capacitor plate”
A rearrangement or parts is held to be an obvious matter of design choice. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); See also In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
In a similar field of endeavor Bonifield teaches
the first PO layer overlapping partway onto the top capacitor plate;
the second PO layer overlapping partway over the top capacitor plate (see e.g., dielectric layer 225, dielectric layer 161 and dielectric layer 162 which serve as protective layers overlap the top plate 128, Para [0044], Figure 2E).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Bonifield teachings of the first PO layer overlapping partway onto the top capacitor plate; the second PO layer overlapping partway over the top capacitor plate in the method of West 802’ as a mere arrangement of parts for protection purposes.
Regarding claim 37, West 802’, as modified by Bonifield teaches the limitations of claim 13 as mentioned above. West 802’ further teaches
wherein:
forming the electric field abatement structure encircling the second plate by removing the portion of the second dielectric layer in the isolation break includes forming a recess in the second dielectric layer (see e.g., abatement structure formed by forming a lateral isolation break 150 that includes a recess formed in the lower-bandgap dielectric layer 140 surrounding the top capacitor plate 132, Para [0024], Figure 1A);
the recess includes a first sidewall and an opposing second sidewall, the first sidewall being closer to the lower corner of the second plate than the second sidewall, and the second sidewall being closer to the …..first faraday cage than the first sidewall; and (see e.g., as shown in Figure 1A the recess forming the lateral isolation break 150 has a sidewall closer to the top plate 132 and another opposite sidewall closer to the inner faraday cage)
….the first faraday cage is positioned closer to the second sidewall of the recess than the lower corner of the second plate is positioned to the first sidewall of the recess (see e.g., the inner faraday cage is closer to the recess forming the lateral isolation break 150 than the lower corner of the top plate 132, which is separated from the lateral isolation break 150 by a distance 146 as shown in Figure 1A).
West 892’ does not explicitly teach
“the second sidewall being closer to a top level interconnect of the first faraday cage than the first sidewall;
forming the first faraday cage includes forming the top level interconnect of the first faraday cage concurrently with forming the second plate; and
the top level interconnect of the first faraday cage is positioned closer to the second sidewall of the recess than the lower corner of the second plate is positioned to the first sidewall of the recess”.
In a similar field of endeavor Bonifield teaches the formation of an isolation capacitor in a multilevel metal process where the top capacitor plate 128 is formed at the same metallization level as top interconnect Mn. Because the top capacitor plate 128 and the top interconnect Mn are formed at the same metallization level, it would have been obvious that these structures may be formed concurrently using the same deposition and patterning steps.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the inner Faraday cage of West 892’ in view of Bonifield such that the top-level interconnect of the inner Faraday cage is formed at the same top metal level as the top capacitor plate. As modified, the top-level interconnect of the inner Faraday cage would be positioned directly above the element 126 of West 892’.
Following this modification, the top-level interconnect of the inner Faraday cage would be positioned laterally closer to the isolation break than the lower corner of the top capacitor plate 132. Thus, the top interconnect of the inner Faraday cage would be positioned to the isolation break than the lower corner of the top capacitor plate is positioned to the isolation break.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the second sidewall being closer to a top level interconnect of the first faraday cage than the first sidewall; forming the first faraday cage includes forming the top level interconnect of the first faraday cage concurrently with forming the second plate; and the top level interconnect of the first faraday cage is positioned closer to the second sidewall of the recess than the lower corner of the second plate is positioned to the first sidewall of the recess in order to provide improved shielding.
Regarding claim 38, West 802’, as modified by Bonifield teaches the limitations of claim 13 as mentioned above. West 802’ further teaches
wherein:
forming the electric field abatement structure encircling the second plate by removing the portion of the second dielectric layer in the isolation break includes forming a recess in the second dielectric layer (see e.g., abatement structure formed by forming a lateral isolation break 150 which includes a recess formed in the lower-bandgap dielectric layer 140 surrounding the top capacitor plate 132, Para [0024], Figure 1A);
the recess includes a first sidewall and an opposing second sidewall, the first sidewall being closer to the lower corner of the second plate than the second sidewall, and the second sidewall being closer to the first faraday cage than the first sidewall; and (see e.g., as shown in Figure 1A the recess forming the lateral isolation break 150 has a sidewall closer to the top plate 132 and another opposite sidewall closer to the inner faraday cage)
the first sidewall of the recess is separated from the lower corner of the second plate by at least 14 microns (see e.g., the sidewall of the recess is separated from the lower corner of the top plate by a lateral distance 146 which is at least twice a thickness 148 of the lower-bandgap dielectric layer 140. The thickness 148 is around 1.2 microns (thickness of each first sub-layer 142 and second sub-layer 144 being around 0.6 microns); hence lateral distance 146 is at least 2.4 microns. Accordingly, the distance maybe equal to 2.4 microns or any value greater than 2.4 microns, Para [0024], Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 40, West 802’, as modified by Bonifield teaches the limitations of claim 27 as mentioned above. West 802’ further teaches
wherein forming the top level interconnects of the first faraday cage and the top capacitor plate occurs prior to forming the electric field abatement structure (see e.g., as shown in the sequence in Figure 2A the abatement structure is formed at the end).
Claims 16 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over West et al. (US 2018/0286802 A1; hereafter West 802’) in view of in view of Bonifield et al (US 2019/0206812 A1; hereafter Bonifield) and further in view of West et al. (US 2017/0263696 A1; hereafter West 696’).
Regarding claim 16, West 802’, as modified by Bonifield teaches the limitations of claim 14 as mentioned above. West 802’ does not explicitly teach
“wherein removing the portion of the second dielectric layer in the isolation break leaves at least a portion of the second sublayer extending across the isolation break”.
In a similar field of endeavor West 696’ teaches
wherein removing the portion of the second dielectric layer in the isolation break leaves at least a portion of the second sublayer extending across the isolation break (see e.g., The isolation break 150 may protrude partially into the first sub-layer 142 but without completely separating the first sub-layer 142 into two separate portions. Thus, the first sub-layer 142 extends under the isolation break 140 and contiguously coextends with the first (main) dielectric layer 136 thereunder. As such, the first sub-layer 142 covers a wider area than the first portion 151 of the second sub-layer 144. Landing the isolation break 150 slightly into the first sub-layer 142 provides several advantages over fully extending the isolation break 150 into and through the first sub-layer 142, Paras [0015]- [0016], [0018], [0020], Figures 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement West 696’s teachings of wherein removing the portion of the second dielectric layer in the isolation break leaves at least a portion of the second sublayer extending across the isolation break in the method of West 802’ since the contiguous first sub-layer may advantageously enhance the surge protection provided by the isolated first portion of the second sub-layer without incurring any design penalty. Second, by not substantially extending into the first sub-layer, the isolation break can be fabricated with a lower-cost process as well. Third, by landing within the first sub-layer, the isolation break enhances the overall breakdown strength and surge performance of the high voltage component.
Regarding claim 30, West 802’, as modified by Bonifield teaches the limitations of claim 29 as mentioned above. West 802’ further teaches
“wherein removing the first sublayer in the isolation break leaves at least a portion of the second sublayer extending across the isolation break”.
In a similar field of endeavor West 696’ teaches
wherein removing the first sublayer in the isolation break leaves at least a portion of the second sublayer extending across the isolation break (see e.g., The isolation break 150 may protrude partially into the first sub-layer 142 but without completely separating the first sub-layer 142 into two separate portions. Thus, the first sub-layer 142 extends under the isolation break 140 and contiguously coextends with the first (main) dielectric layer 136 thereunder. As such, the first sub-layer 142 covers a wider area than the first portion 151 of the second sub-layer 144. Landing the isolation break 150 slightly into the first sub-layer 142 provides several advantages over fully extending the isolation break 150 into and through the first sub-layer 142, Paras [0015]- [0016], [0018], [0020], Figures 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement West 696’s teachings of wherein removing the first sublayer in the isolation break leaves at least a portion of the second sublayer extending across the isolation break in the method of West since the contiguous first sub-layer may advantageously enhance the surge protection provided by the isolated first portion of the second sub-layer without incurring any design penalty. Second, by not substantially extending into the first sub-layer, the isolation break can be fabricated with a lower-cost process as well. Third, by landing within the first sub-layer, the isolation break enhances the overall breakdown strength and surge performance of the high voltage component.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to
registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more
information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about
filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at
866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FAKEHA SEHAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893