DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-12, and 18-21 are pending. Claims 4, 10, and 13-17 were previously canceled. Claims 1, 5, 7, and 18-21 are amended. The amendment overcomes the 112(a) rejection in the PTAB Decision of 6/30/2026, however, it changes the scope of claims 1, 7 and 18-21 and requires further search and consideration. As a result, a new grounds of rejection is provided, necessitated by the amendment. Claims 2-3, 6, 8-9, and 11-12 are previously presented. The new grounds of rejection in the Patent Board Decision of 6/30/2026 acts as a non-final rejection. The amendments filed on 8/28/2026 are entered, and accordingly, this action is made Final, with the new grounds of rejection being necessitated by amendment. See MPEP 1214.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DEDONA (Pub. No.: US 2015/0097526 A1; cited on form PTO-892 with date 3/27/2024).
Regarding claim 1, DEDONA discloses a vehicle (12, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0012: FIG. 1 depicts a typical plug-in hybrid-electric vehicle (HEV). A typical plug-in hybrid-electric vehicle 12) comprising:
a charge port (34, Figs. 1 & 2) configured to receive a plug (40) of electric vehicle supply equipment (38; ¶ 0015: EVSE 38 may have a charge connector 40 for plugging into a charge port 34 of the vehicle 12. The charge port 34 may be any type of port configured to transfer power from the EVSE 38 to the vehicle 12);
control pilot circuitry (as shown in Figure 2, the vehicle 12 contains “control pilot circuitry”, comprising at least the “Buffer” and the unlabeled diode connected between pilot 120 and the “Buffer”, in order to receive and monitor pilot 120 via controller 114; ¶ 0026: vehicle pilot signal circuitry) connected with the charge port and configured to carry a control pilot signal (120, Fig. 2; 320, Fig. 4; ¶ 0064: pilot signal 320 may also be a processed version of the input pilot signal (120 FIG. 1) that is asserted when there is valid activity on the input pilot signal (120 FIG. 1)) from the electric vehicle supply equipment (¶ 0025: EVSE controller 112 may connect the pilot signal 120 to output values of +12V, -12V, or a PWM output depending on the charging status; ¶ 0026: Once the EVSE connector 40 is engaged in the vehicle charge port 34, the +12V originating from the EVSE controller 112 may be provided to the vehicle pilot signal circuitry); and
a controller (114, Fig. 2; 312, Fig. 4; ¶ 0064: microprocessor 312 may be part of the vehicle controller (114 FIG. 2)) programmed to exit a sleep mode and increase power consumption responsive to changes in the control pilot signal while the plug is mated with the charge port (¶ 0063-0064: During normal usage, the pilot signal 320 wakes up the controller microprocessor 312 when present and in a valid state. The microprocessor 312 may be part of the vehicle controller (114 FIG. 2). When the EVSE connector is engaged and connected, the pilot signal 320 voltage may be at a high level (e.g., EVSE supplies 12V to pilot circuit). The transition to a high signal may trigger the vehicle charging system to wake up and begin charging) and an accumulated time associated with the changes remains less than a value (¶ 0069: An extended wait in pause mode may cause the charger to waste energy from the 12V system as modules may be powered up waiting for a pilot signal 320 to indicate that charging may be initiated. A charge wait interval may be defined as the duration of time since the pause mode was initiated. The charger may be designed to take action after the charge wait interval exceeds a predetermined amount of time (e.g., 24 hours) to mitigate further power consumption. After a predetermined charge wait interval, the charger may interrupt the pilot signal 320 by issuing the open signal 306 to shut down the controller 312. This prevents the vehicle from waiting indefinitely for charging to begin and reduces power consumed from the external supply; the wake up process of paragraph 0064 occurs if a time in pause mode does not exceed the “predetermined charge wait interval” as disclosed in paragraph 0069), and to remain in the sleep mode regardless of the changes while the plug is mated with the charge port after the accumulated time exceeds the value (¶ 0063-0064: PSR signal 300 may be activated during a key-on procedure to wake up all modules in the vehicle; ¶ 0067: To reset the pilot latch-out mechanism 302, a valid PSR 300 signal may be required to restore power to the controller 312 so that a close signal 304 may be issued to restore normal function of the pilot signal 320. Removal and reinsertion of the charge connector may not restore the normal response to the control pilot signal 320; ¶ 0069: see above; ¶ 0070: circuit works by interrupting the pilot signal 320 from enabling power to be provided to the controller 312. The processor 312 may open the pilot latch-out 302 when conditions are determined that the charging operation should be stopped. Upon opening the pilot latch-out mechanism 302, the controller 312 may open switch S2 140, causing the EVSE to open the high-voltage power relays 110 and adjust the pilot signal 320 accordingly. The vehicle may then enter a shutdown mode to minimize power consumption. In order to restore operation, the power sustain relay (PSR) signal 300 may be activated by another module; ¶ 0072: PSR signal 300 wakes the controller 312 so that the pilot latch out mechanism 302 may be closed to allow normal operation…controller 312 may, in response to a wake-up request other than the control pilot 320, discontinue interruption of the pilot signal 320 by closing the connection; after the time in pause mode exceeds the “predetermined charge wait interval”, the controller 312/114 will not wake up based on changes to the control pilot 120/320, but rather would stay in sleep mode until a separate signal such as the “PSR signal 300” is transmitted).
Regarding claim 6, DEDONA discloses the controller is further programmed to increment the accumulated time while the controller is in a wake mode but not while the controller is in the sleep mode (¶ 0062, 0068-0071).
Regarding claim 7, DEDONA discloses a method comprising:
by a controller (114, Fig. 2; 312, Fig. 4; ¶ 0064: microprocessor 312 may be part of the vehicle controller (114 FIG. 2)), exiting a sleep mode and increasing power consumption responsive to changes in a control pilot signal (120, Fig. 2; 320, Fig. 4; ¶ 0064: pilot signal 320 may also be a processed version of the input pilot signal (120 FIG. 1) that is asserted when there is valid activity on the input pilot signal (120 FIG. 1)) from electric vehicle supply equipment (38; ¶ 0015: EVSE 38 may have a charge connector 40 for plugging into a charge port 34 of the vehicle 12. The charge port 34 may be any type of port configured to transfer power from the EVSE 38 to the vehicle 12) while a plug (40) of the electric vehicle supply equipment is mated with a charge port (34, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0015: EVSE 38 may have a charge connector 40 for plugging into a charge port 34 of the vehicle 12. The charge port 34 may be any type of port configured to transfer power from the EVSE 38 to the vehicle 12; ¶ 0064: During normal usage, the pilot signal 320 wakes up the controller microprocessor 312 when present and in a valid state. The microprocessor 312 may be part of the vehicle controller (114 FIG. 2). When the EVSE connector is engaged and connected, the pilot signal 320 voltage may be at a high level (e.g., EVSE supplies 12V to pilot circuit). The transition to a high signal may trigger the vehicle charging system to wake up and begin charging) and an accumulated time associated with the changes remains less than a value (¶ 0069: An extended wait in pause mode may cause the charger to waste energy from the 12V system as modules may be powered up waiting for a pilot signal 320 to indicate that charging may be initiated. A charge wait interval may be defined as the duration of time since the pause mode was initiated. The charger may be designed to take action after the charge wait interval exceeds a predetermined amount of time (e.g., 24 hours) to mitigate further power consumption. After a predetermined charge wait interval, the charger may interrupt the pilot signal 320 by issuing the open signal 306 to shut down the controller 312. This prevents the vehicle from waiting indefinitely for charging to begin and reduces power consumed from the external supply; the wake up process of paragraph 0064 occurs if a time in pause mode does not exceed the “predetermined charge wait interval” as disclosed in paragraph 0069), and remaining in the sleep mode regardless of the changes while the plug is mated with the charge port after the accumulated time exceeds the value (¶ 0064: PSR signal 300 may be activated during a key-on procedure to wake up all modules in the vehicle; ¶ 0067: To reset the pilot latch-out mechanism 302, a valid PSR 300 signal may be required to restore power to the controller 312 so that a close signal 304 may be issued to restore normal function of the pilot signal 320. Removal and reinsertion of the charge connector may not restore the normal response to the control pilot signal 320; ¶ 0069: see above; ¶ 0070: circuit works by interrupting the pilot signal 320 from enabling power to be provided to the controller 312. The processor 312 may open the pilot latch-out 302 when conditions are determined that the charging operation should be stopped. Upon opening the pilot latch-out mechanism 302, the controller 312 may open switch S2 140, causing the EVSE to open the high-voltage power relays 110 and adjust the pilot signal 320 accordingly. The vehicle may then enter a shutdown mode to minimize power consumption. In order to restore operation, the power sustain relay (PSR) signal 300 may be activated by another module; ¶ 0072: PSR signal 300 wakes the controller 312 so that the pilot latch out mechanism 302 may be closed to allow normal operation…controller 312 may, in response to a wake-up request other than the control pilot 320, discontinue interruption of the pilot signal 320 by closing the connection; after the time in pause mode exceeds the “predetermined charge wait interval”, the controller 312/114 will not wake up based on changes to the control pilot 120/320, but rather would stay in sleep mode until a separate signal such as the “PSR signal 300” is transmitted).
Regarding claim 18, DEDONA discloses the accumulated time is incremented while the controller is in a wake mode and is maintained when the controller enters the sleep mode (¶ 0062, 0068-0071).
Regarding claim 19, DEDONA discloses after the accumulated time exceeds the value and the controller remains in the sleep mode regardless of the changes, the controller is further programmed to exit the sleep mode and increase power consumption responsive to presence of a vehicle activation signal (¶ 0062-0064, 0067, 0071-0072).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEDONA as applied to claims 1, 6-7, and 18-19 above, and further in view of WU (Pub. No.: US 2006/0006843 A1).
Regarding claim 2, DEDONA discloses the vehicle as applied to claim 18, but fails to disclose the controller is further programmed to reset the accumulated time to zero responsive to occurrence of a predefined duration of continuous charging.
WU discloses the controller is further programmed to reset the accumulated time to zero responsive to occurrence of a predefined duration of continuous charging (¶ 0011-0012, 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include resetting the accumulated time to zero responsive to occurrence of a predefined duration of continuous charging in order to implement a charger time out feature for increased protection (WU, ¶ 0003).
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEDONA as applied to claims 1, 6-7, and 18-19 above, and further in view of KIM (KR 20190042315; cited on IDS with date 1/30/2024; cited in previous office action; English Machine translation is included with office action).
Regarding claim 3, DEDONA discloses the vehicle as applied to claim 18, but fails to disclose the controller is further programmed to reset the accumulated time to zero responsive to the plug being removed from the charge port.
KIM discloses the controller is further programmed to reset the accumulated time to zero responsive to the plug being removed from the charge port (¶ 0018, 0100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include resetting the accumulated time responsive to the plug being removed in order to ensure that charging is performed normally when a first charging connector fails and a second charging connector is connected to the inlet, in cases where multiple charging connectors are provided (KIM, ¶ 0100).
Regarding claim 5, DEDONA discloses the vehicle as applied to claim 18, but fails to disclose the controller is further programmed to generate an alert after the accumulated time exceeds the value.
KIM discloses the controller is further programmed to generate an alert after the accumulated time exceeds the value (¶ 0020, 0083).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include generating an alert after the accumulated time exceeds the value in order to facilitate correction of a fault and/or in order to provide increased user convenience.
Claim(s) 12 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEDONA as applied to claims 1, 6-7, and 18-19 above, and further in view of OSUGA (Pub. No.: US 2013/0179707 A1).
Regarding claim 20, DEDONA discloses the method as applied to claim 7, but fails to disclose storing the accumulated time when the controller enters the sleep mode and restarting the accumulated time from the stored accumulated time after the controller exits the sleep mode while the plug remains mated with the charge port.
OSUGA discloses storing the accumulated time when the controller enters the sleep mode and restarting the accumulated time from the stored accumulated time after the controller exits the sleep mode (¶ 0079-0088). It would be obvious to apply the feature of storing the accumulated time as disclosed in OSUGA, to the method of DEDONA, which accumulates time while the plug remains mated with the charge port.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include storing the accumulated time and restarting the accumulated time from the stored accumulated time in order to reduce power consumption based on multiple instances of exiting the sleep mode.
Regarding claim 12, DEDONA discloses incrementing the accumulated time while the controller is in a wake mode but not while the controller is in the sleep mode (¶ 0062, 0068-0071).
Regarding claim 21, DEDONA discloses after the accumulated time exceeds the value and the controller remains in the sleep mode regardless of the changes, exiting the sleep mode and increasing power consumption responsive to presence of a vehicle activation signal (¶ 0062-0064, 0067, 0071-0072).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEDONA in view of OSUGA as applied to claims 12 and 20-21 above, and further in view of WU (Pub. No.: US 2006/0006843 A1).
Regarding claim 8, DEDONA as modified by OSUGA teaches the method as applied to claim 20, but DEDONA fails to disclose resetting the accumulated time to zero responsive to occurrence of a predefined duration of continuous charging.
WU discloses resetting the accumulated time to zero responsive to occurrence of a predefined duration of continuous charging (¶ 0011-0012, 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include resetting the accumulated time to zero responsive to occurrence of a predefined duration of continuous charging in order to implement a charger time out feature for increased protection (WU, ¶ 0003).
Claim(s) 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEDONA in view of OSUGA as applied to claims 12 and 20-21 above, and further in view of KIM (KR 20190042315; cited on IDS with date 1/30/2024; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 9, DEDONA as modified by OSUGA teaches the method as applied to claim 20, but DEDONA fails to disclose resetting the accumulated time to zero responsive to the plug being removed from the charge port.
KIM discloses resetting the accumulated time to zero responsive to the plug being removed from the charge port (¶ 0018, 0100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include resetting the accumulated time responsive to the plug being removed in order to ensure that charging is performed normally when a first charging connector fails and a second charging connector is connected to the inlet, in cases where multiple charging connectors are provided (KIM, ¶ 0100).
Regarding claim 11, DEDONA as modified by OSUGA teaches the method as applied to claim 20, but DEDONA fails to disclose generating an alert after the accumulated time exceeds the predefined value.
KIM discloses generating an alert after the accumulated time exceeds the predefined value (¶ 0020, 0083).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include generating an alert after the accumulated time exceeds the value in order to facilitate correction of a fault and/or in order to provide increased user convenience.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 9/29/2026
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859