DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to communication of 10/31/25.
The text of those sections of AIA 35 U.S.C. code not present in this action can be found in previous office actions dated 2/4/25 and 6/6/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejection(s) under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kohama et al. US PGPub 2017/0258966 hereinafter KOHAMA in view of Ochiai et al. US PGPub 2012/0024779 hereinafter OCHIAI on claims 1-8 and 15-18 are maintained. The rejection has been amended below to meet the added claim limitations.
As for claim 1, KOHAMA teaches "According to the above configuration, a medical device including a lubrication layer (coating layer) that exhibits excellent lubricity and durability, and a method for producing the medical device are provided" (paragraph 17) and “Among the materials for forming the base layer 1, the metal material is not particularly limited and a metal material that is generally used for a medical device, such as a catheter, a guidewire, and an indwelling needle may be used” (Paragraph 30, lines 1-5), i.e. A method for manufacturing a medical instrument that includes a base layer and that is configured to be positioned in a lumen or cavity in a living body.
KOHAMA teaches “A method for producing the medical device as set forth in claim 1, comprising: dissolving the block copolymer (A) and the polymer (B) in a solvent to prepare a mixture liquid; coating at least a part of the base layer with the mixture liquid; and thereafter, crosslinking or polymerizing the block copolymer (A) in the absence of a catalyst to thereby form a mesh structure on the base layer" (claim 9), i.e. applying a solution onto the base layer of the medical instrument to provide a lubricating coating layer on the medical instrument that facilitates sliding of the medical instrument in the living body when the medical instrument is brought into contact with fluid in the living body, the solution that is applied onto the base layer comprising: a block copolymer having a structural unit (A) ... and a structural unit (B) ... and a solvent to form the lubricating layer.
KOHAMA teaches "The reactive monomer composing the block copolymer (A) has an epoxy group as a reactive group" (paragraph 41, lines 1-2), i.e. structural unit (A) derived from a reactive monomer having an epoxy group.
KOHAMA teaches "The hydrophilic monomer(constituting unit (A-2')) composing the polymer (B)" (paragraph 44, line 1), i.e. a structural unit (B) derived from a hydrophilic monomer.
KOHAMA is silent on a choline derivative.
OCHIAI teaches "It is preferred that the monomer (B) is at least one monomer selected from the monomers of formulae (3), (4), (5) and (6) below, respectively" (paragraph 41).
OCHIAI teaches the following chemical formula after paragraph 41:
OCHIAI teaches "(wherein (R5)s represent a hydrogen or a methyl group, (R6)s independently represent. .. an alkyl group having 1 ... carbon atoms respectively, n represents an integer of 2 to 4, and (X-)s represent an anion derived from halogen" (paragraph 42), i.e. a choline derivative.
OCHIAI further teaches "The monomer (B) has an effect to adsorb leukocyte selectively" (paragraph 40, lines 8-9).
OCHIAI further teaches “The monomer (B) having a basic functional group, which is a monomer component of the copolymer, may be any monomer which can copolymerize with the monomer (A) in a specific molar ratio” (paragraph 40, lines 1-4), i.e. a monomer that promotes cross-linking or polymerization of the block copolymer to enhance sliding durability of the lubricating layer by crosslinking to form the lubricating layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a choline derivative that promotes cross-linking or polymerization of the block copolymer to enhance sliding durability of the lubricating layer in the process of KOHAMA because OCHIAI teaches that including the monomer (B) can effectively adsorb leukocyte selectively and can copolymerize with another monomer at a specific molar ratio.
As for claim 2, KOHAMA is silent on a choline derivative.
OCHIAI teaches "It is preferred that the monomer (B) is at least one monomer selected from the monomers of formulae (3), (4), (5) and (6) below, respectively" (paragraph 41).
OCHIAI teaches the following chemical formula after paragraph 41:
OCHIAI teaches "(wherein (R5)s represent a hydrogen or a methyl group, (R6)s independently represent. .. an alkyl group having 1 ... carbon atoms respectively, n represents an integer of 2, and (X-)s represent an anion derived from halogen" (paragraph 42), i.e. a choline derivative.
OCHIAI further teaches "The monomer (B) has an effect to adsorb leukocyte selectively" (paragraph 40, lines 8-9) and “The monomer (B) having a basic functional group, which is a monomer component of the copolymer, may be any monomer which can copolymerize with the monomer (A) in a specific molar ratio” (paragraph 40, lines 1-4).
Examiner notes that OCHIAl's formula 4 overlaps with the formula 1 of claim 2, particularly X1- is a halide ion, R1 represents ... Ra-C( =0 )-, wherein Ra represents ... CH2=CH-.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a choline derivative in the process of KOHAMA because OCHIAI teaches that including the monomer (B) can effectively adsorb leukocyte selectively and can copolymerize with another monomer at a specific molar ratio.
As for claim 3, KOHAMA is silent on a choline derivative.
OCHIAI teaches "It is preferred that the monomer (B) is at least one monomer selected from the monomers of formulae (3), (4), (5) and (6) below, respectively" (paragraph 41 ).
OCHIAI teaches the following chemical formula after paragraph 41:
OCHIAI teaches "(wherein (R5)s represent a hydrogen or a methyl group, (R6)s independently represent... an alkyl group having 1 ... carbon atoms respectively, n represents an integer of 2, and (X-)s represent an anion derived from halogen" (paragraph 42), i.e. a choline derivative.
OCHIAI further teaches "The monomer (B) has an effect to adsorb leukocyte selectively" (paragraph 40, lines 8-9) and “The monomer (B) having a basic functional group, which is a monomer component of the copolymer, may be any monomer which can copolymerize with the monomer (A) in a specific molar ratio” (paragraph 40, lines 1-4).
Examiner notes that OCHIAl's formula 4 overlaps with the formula 1 of claim 2, particularly X1- is a halide ion, R1 represents ... Ra-C( =O)-, wherein Ra represents ... CH2=CH-.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a choline derivative in the process of KOHAMA because OCHIAI teaches that including the monomer (B) can effectively adsorb leukocyte selectively and can copolymerize with another monomer at a specific molar ratio.
As for claim 4, KOHAMA teaches "Here, the reactive monomer composing the block copolymer (A) is not particularly limited as long as it has an epoxy group. Specific examples include glycidyl acrylate" (paragraph 45, lines 1-3), i.e. wherein the reactive monomer having an epoxy group includes at least one selected from the group consisting of glycidyl acrylate.
As for claim 5, KOHAMA teaches "In addition, the hydrophilic monomers composing the block copolymer (A) and the polymer (B) are selected from the group consisting of acrylamide and an acrylamide derivative. The acrylamide derivative is not particularly limited as long as it can impart lubricity by coming into contact with a body fluid or an aqueous solvent. Specific examples include ... N,N-dimethylacrylamide." (paragraph 46, lines 1-8), i.e. wherein the hydrophilic monomer includes at least one selected from the group consisting of N,N-dimethylacylamide.
As for claim 6, KOHAMA teaches "Further, the solvents may be used alone or in mixture of two or more thereof. In the concentration of the monomers in the polymerization solvent (for the block copolymer (A), the total concentration of the hydrophilic monomer and the reactive monomer, and for the polymer (B), the total concentration of the hydrophilic monomer) is preferably 5 to 90% by weight, more preferably 8 to 80% by weight, and particularly preferably 10 to 50% by weight" (paragraph 50, lines 10-17), i.e. wherein the solution includes a range that overlaps with 1% to 10% by mass of block copolymer. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); ln re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See M PEP 2144.05.
As for claim 7, KOHAMA is silent on the choline derivative. OCHIAI teaches "A surface treating agent is comprising a copolymer including: a monomer (A) having a hydrophilic functional group of formula (1) or (2) below, a monomer (B) having a basic functional group and a monomer (C) having a reactive functional group as monomer components, wherein the copolymer has a molar ratio of the monomer (A)/(B)/(C) between 70/15/15 to 98/1 /1" (abstract, lines 1-7) and further teaches "The monomer (C) having a reactive functional group is a monomer component of the copolymer, whatever monomer having a reactive functional group that is capable to copolymerize with the monomer (A) and (B) in a specific molar ratio may be used for a monomer component of the copolymer. The reactive functional group includes, for example, a hydroxyl group, an epoxy group, a primary amine, secondary amine or hydrogen. The monomer (C) has an effect to fix the copolymer (the surface treating agent) to the base material" (paragraph 47), i.e. wherein the solution includes an epoxy-containing block copolymer to a choline derivative at a ratio that overlaps with at a mass ratio of 1:0.005 to 1:1. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to range that overlaps with wherein the solution includes the block copolymer and the choline derivative at a mass ratio of 1 : 0.005 to 1 : 1 in the process of claim 1 because OCHIAI teaches that including the monomer (B) can effectively adsorb leukocyte selectively and can copolymerize with another monomer at a specific molar ratio.
As for claim 8, KOHAMA teaches "The block copolymer (A) and the polymer (B) after the ( co )polymerization are preferably purified by a common purification method, such as reprecipitation method, a dialysis method, an ultrafiltration method, or an extraction method" (paragraph 53), i.e. wherein the block copolymer is purified.
As for claim 15, KOHAMA teaches "According to the above configuration, a medical device including a lubrication layer (coating layer) that exhibits excellent lubricity and durability, and a method for producing the medical device are provided" (paragraph 17) and “Among the materials for forming the base layer 1, the metal material is not particularly limited and a metal material that is generally used for a medical device, such as a catheter, a guidewire, and an indwelling needle may be used” (Paragraph 30, lines 1-5), i.e. A method for manufacturing a medical instrument that includes a base layer and that is configured to be positioned in a lumen or cavity in a living body.
KOHAMA teaches "A method for producing the medical device as set forth in claim 1, comprising: dissolving the block copolymer (A) and the polymer (B) in a solvent to prepare a mixture liquid; coating at least a part of the base layer with the mixture liquid; and thereafter, crosslinking or polymerizing the block copolymer (A) in the absence of a catalyst to thereby form a mesh structure on the base layer" (claim 9), i.e. applying a solution onto the base layer of the medical instrument to provide a lubricating coating layer on the medical instrument that facilitates sliding of the medical instrument in the living body when the medical instrument is brought into contact with fluid in the living body, the solution that is applied onto the base layer comprising: a block copolymer having a structural unit (A) ... and a structural unit (B) ... and a solvent, the solution that is applied onto the base layer being prepared by dissolving the block copolymer ... in a solvent
KOHAMA further teaches "the base layer comprises a metal material" (claim 14).
KOHAMA teaches "The reactive monomer composing the block copolymer (A) has an epoxy group as a reactive group" (paragraph 41, lines 1-2), i.e. structural unit (A) derived from a reactive monomer having an epoxy group.
KOHAMA teaches "The hydrophilic monomer(constituting unit (A-2')) composing the polymer (B)" (paragraph 44, line 1 ), i.e. a structural unit (B) derived from a hydrophilic monomer.
KOHAMA is silent on a choline derivative that promotes cross-linking or polymerization of the block copolymer to enhance sliding durability of the lubricating layer
OCHIAI teaches "It is preferred that the monomer (B) is at least one monomer selected from the monomers of formulae (3), (4), (5) and (6) below, respectively" (paragraph 41).
OCHIAI teaches the following chemical formula after paragraph 41:
OCHIAI teaches "(wherein (R5)s represent a hydrogen or a methyl group, (R6 )s independently represent. .. an alkyl group having 1 ... carbon atoms respectively, n represents an integer of 2 to 4, and (X-)s represent an anion derived from halogen" (paragraph 42), i.e. a choline derivative.
OCHIAI further teaches "The monomer (B) has an effect to adsorb leukocyte selectively" (paragraph 40, lines 8-9).
OCHIAI further teaches “The monomer (B) having a basic functional group, which is a monomer component of the copolymer, may be any monomer which can copolymerize with the monomer (A) in a specific molar ratio” (paragraph 40, lines 1-4), i.e. a monomer that promotes cross-linking or polymerization of the block copolymer to enhance sliding durability of the lubricating layer by crosslinking to form the lubricating layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a choline derivative in the process of KOHAMA because OCHIAI teaches that including the monomer (B) can effectively adsorb leukocyte selectively and can copolymerize with another monomer at a specific molar ratio.
As for claim 16, KOHAMA teaches "wherein the crosslinking or polymerizing are achieved by drying the coating film of the mixture liquid applied on the base layer" (claim 11), i.e. wherein after the applying of the solution onto the base layer of the medical instrument to form the lubricating coating layer, drying ... treating the lubricating coating layer.
As for claim 17, KOHAMA is silent on a choline derivative.
OCHIAI teaches "It is preferred that the monomer (B) is at least one monomer selected from the monomers of formulae (3), (4), (5) and (6) below, respectively" (paragraph 41 ).
OCHIAI teaches the following chemical formula after paragraph 41:
OCHIAI teaches "(wherein (R5)s represent a hydrogen or a methyl group, (R6)s independently represent... an alkyl group having 1 ... carbon atoms respectively, n represents an integer of 2, and (X-)s represent an anion derived from halogen" (paragraph 42), i.e. a choline derivative.
OCHIAI further teaches "The monomer (B) has an effect to adsorb leukocyte selectively" (paragraph 40, lines 8-9) and “The monomer (B) having a basic functional group, which is a monomer component of the copolymer, may be any monomer which can copolymerize with the monomer (A) in a specific molar ratio” (paragraph 40, lines 1-4).
Examiner notes that OCHIAl's formula 4 overlaps with the formula 1 of claim 2, particularly X1- is a halide ion, R1 represents ... Ra-C( =0 )-, wherein Ra represents ... CH2=CH-.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a choline derivative in the process of KOHAMA because OCHIAI teaches that including the monomer (B) can effectively adsorb leukocyte selectively and can copolymerize with another monomer at a specific molar ratio.
As for claim 18, KOHAMA is silent on a choline derivative.
OCHIAI teaches "It is preferred that the monomer (B) is at least one monomer selected from the monomers of formulae (3), (4), (5) and (6) below, respectively" (paragraph 41).
OCHIAI teaches the following chemical formula after paragraph 41:
OCHIAI teaches "(wherein (R5)s represent a hydrogen or a methyl group, (R6)s independently represent... an alkyl group having 1 ... carbon atoms respectively, n represents an integer of 2, and (X-)s represent an anion derived from halogen" (paragraph 42), i.e. a choline derivative.
OCHIAI further teaches "The monomer (B) has an effect to adsorb leukocyte selectively" (paragraph 40, lines 8-9) and “The monomer (B) having a basic functional group, which is a monomer component of the copolymer, may be any monomer which can copolymerize with the monomer (A) in a specific molar ratio” (paragraph 40, lines 1-4).
Examiner notes that OCHIAl's formula 4 overlaps with the formula 1 of claim 2, particularly X1- is a halide ion, R1 represents ... Ra-C( =0 )-, wherein Ra represents ... CH2=CH-.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a choline derivative in the process of KOHAMA because OCHIAI teaches that including the monomer (B) can effectively adsorb leukocyte selectively and can copolymerize with another monomer at a specific molar ratio.
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohama et al. US PGPub 2017/0258966 hereinafter KOHAMA in view of Ochiai et al. US PGPub 2012/0024779 hereinafter OCHIAI.
As for claim 22, KOHAMA teaches "According to the above configuration, a medical device including a lubrication layer (coating layer) that exhibits excellent lubricity and durability, and a method for producing the medical device are provided" (paragraph 17), and “Among the materials for forming the base layer 1, the metal material is not particularly limited and a metal material that is generally used for a medical device, such as a catheter, a guidewire, and an indwelling needle may be used” (Paragraph 30, lines 1-5), i.e. A method forming a lubricating layer that facilitates sliding of the medical instrument in the lumen or cavity in the living body when the medical instrument is brought into contact with fluid in the body.
KOHAMA teaches “A method for producing the medical device as set forth in claim 1, comprising: dissolving the block copolymer (A) and the polymer (B) in a solvent to prepare a mixture liquid; coating at least a part of the base layer with the mixture liquid; and thereafter, crosslinking or polymerizing the block copolymer (A) in the absence of a catalyst to thereby form a mesh structure on the base layer" (claim 9), i.e. preparing a solution comprising: i) a block copolymer having a structural unit (A)… and a structural unit (B)… iii) a solvent; applying the solution onto a base layer of a medical instrument that is configured to be positioned in a lumen or cavity in a living body; crosslinking or polymerizing the copolymer to form, on the base layer of the medical instrument.
KOHAMA teaches "The reactive monomer composing the block copolymer (A) has an epoxy group as a reactive group" (paragraph 41, lines 1-2), i.e. structural unit (A) derived from a reactive monomer having a reactive group.
KOHAMA teaches "The hydrophilic monomer(constituting unit (A-2')) composing the polymer (B)" (paragraph 44, line 1 ), i.e. a structural unit (B) derived from a hydrophilic monomer.
KOHAMA is silent on ii) a choline derivative; and the crosslinking or polymerization being promoted by the choline derivative to enhance sliding durability of the lubricating layer.
OCHIAI teaches "It is preferred that the monomer (B) is at least one monomer selected from the monomers of formulae (3), (4), (5) and (6) below, respectively" (paragraph 41).
OCHIAI teaches the following chemical formula after paragraph 41:
OCHIAI teaches "(wherein (R5)s represent a hydrogen or a methyl group, (R6)s independently represent. .. an alkyl group having 1 ... carbon atoms respectively, n represents an integer of 2 to 4, and (X-)s represent an anion derived from halogen" (paragraph 42), i.e. a choline derivative.
OCHIAI further teaches "The monomer (B) has an effect to adsorb leukocyte selectively" (paragraph 40, lines 8-9).
OCHIAI further teaches “The monomer (B) having a basic functional group, which is a monomer component of the copolymer, may be any monomer which can copolymerize with the monomer (A) in a specific molar ratio” (paragraph 40, lines 1-4), i.e. a monomer that promotes cross-linking or polymerization of the block copolymer to enhance sliding durability of the lubricating layer by crosslinking to form the lubricating layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a ii) a choline derivative; and the crosslinking or polymerization being promoted by the choline derivative to enhance sliding durability of the lubricating layer in the process of KOHAMA because OCHIAI teaches that including the monomer (B) can effectively adsorb leukocyte selectively and can copolymerize with another monomer at a specific molar ratio.
Claim(s) 19, 20, and 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohama et al. US PGPub 2017/0258966 hereinafter KOHAMA and Ochiai et al. US PGPub 2012/0024779 hereinafter OCHIAI as applied to claim 1, 15 and 21 above, and further in view of SHINODA et al. US PGPub 2013/0095226 hereinafter SHINODA.
As for claim 19, KOHAMA teaches “A method for producing the medical device as set forth in claim 1, comprising: dissolving the block copolymer (A) and the polymer (B) in a solvent to prepare a mixture liquid; coating at least a part of the base layer with the mixture liquid; and thereafter, crosslinking or polymerizing the block copolymer (A) in the absence of a catalyst to thereby form a mesh structure on the base layer" (claim 9), i.e. crosslinking or polymerizing the copolymer to form, on the base layer of the medical instrument, the lubricating layer.
KOHAMA and OCHIAI are silent on washing the medical instrument after the crosslinking or polymerizing of the copolymer to remove at least some of the choline derivative included in the block copolymer solution before positioning the medical instrument in the lumen or cavity of the living body.
SHINODA teaches “A method for firmly fixing a hydrophilic polymer on a polyamide surface” (abstract, lines 1-2) and “Medical devices to be inserted into a living body, such as catheters and guide wires, should exhibit excellent lubricity to reduce damage to living body tissue such as blood vessel and to enhance operability for the operator” (paragraph 3, lines 1-4).
SHINODA teaches “After the surface lubricating layer is formed, it is possible to wash away the excess of the hydrophilic polymer with an appropriate solvent so that only the hydrophilic polymer firmly fixed on the base material is left in situ” (paragraph 63), i.e. washing the medical instrument after forming the coating to remove the unwanted reactants before positioning the medical instrument in the lumen or cavity of the living body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a washing step in the combined process of KOHAMA and OCHIAI such that it includes washing the medical instrument after the crosslinking or polymerizing of the copolymer to remove at least some of the choline derivative included in the block copolymer solution before positioning the medical instrument in the lumen or cavity of the living body because SHINODA teaches that such a step can remove unreacted components while maintaining the lubricating layer.
As for claim 20, KOHAMA teaches “A method for producing the medical device as set forth in claim 1, comprising: dissolving the block copolymer (A) and the polymer (B) in a solvent to prepare a mixture liquid; coating at least a part of the base layer with the mixture liquid; and thereafter, crosslinking or polymerizing the block copolymer (A) in the absence of a catalyst to thereby form a mesh structure on the base layer" (claim 9), i.e. crosslinking or polymerizing the copolymer to form, on the base layer of the medical instrument, the lubricating layer.
KOHAMA and OCHIAI are silent on washing the medical instrument after the crosslinking or polymerizing of the copolymer to remove at least some of the choline derivative included in the block copolymer solution before positioning the medical instrument in the lumen or cavity of the living body.
SHINODA teaches “A method for firmly fixing a hydrophilic polymer on a polyamide surface” (abstract, lines 1-2) and “Medical devices to be inserted into a living body, such as catheters and guide wires, should exhibit excellent lubricity to reduce damage to living body tissue such as blood vessel and to enhance operability for the operator” (paragraph 3, lines 1-4).
SHINODA teaches “After the surface lubricating layer is formed, it is possible to wash away the excess of the hydrophilic polymer with an appropriate solvent so that only the hydrophilic polymer firmly fixed on the base material is left in situ” (paragraph 63), i.e. washing the medical instrument after forming the coating to remove the unwanted reactants before positioning the medical instrument in the lumen or cavity of the living body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a washing step in the combined process of KOHAMA and OCHIAI such that it includes washing the medical instrument after the crosslinking or polymerizing of the copolymer to remove at least some of the choline derivative included in the block copolymer solution before positioning the medical instrument in the lumen or cavity of the living body because SHINODA teaches that such a step can remove unreacted components while maintaining the lubricating layer.
As for claim 21, KOHAMA teaches “A method for producing the medical device as set forth in claim 1, comprising: dissolving the block copolymer (A) and the polymer (B) in a solvent to prepare a mixture liquid; coating at least a part of the base layer with the mixture liquid; and thereafter, crosslinking or polymerizing the block copolymer (A) in the absence of a catalyst to thereby form a mesh structure on the base layer" (claim 9), i.e. crosslinking or polymerizing the copolymer to form, on the base layer of the medical instrument, the lubricating layer.
KOHAMA and OCHIAI are silent on washing the medical instrument after the crosslinking or polymerizing of the copolymer to remove at least some of the choline derivative included in the block copolymer solution before positioning the medical instrument in the lumen or cavity of the living body.
SHINODA teaches “A method for firmly fixing a hydrophilic polymer on a polyamide surface” (abstract, lines 1-2) and “Medical devices to be inserted into a living body, such as catheters and guide wires, should exhibit excellent lubricity to reduce damage to living body tissue such as blood vessel and to enhance operability for the operator” (paragraph 3, lines 1-4).
SHINODA teaches “After the surface lubricating layer is formed, it is possible to wash away the excess of the hydrophilic polymer with an appropriate solvent so that only the hydrophilic polymer firmly fixed on the base material is left in situ” (paragraph 63), i.e. washing the medical instrument after forming the coating to remove the unwanted reactants before positioning the medical instrument in the lumen or cavity of the living body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a washing step in the combined process of KOHAMA and OCHIAI such that it includes washing the medical instrument after the crosslinking or polymerizing of the copolymer to remove at least some of the choline derivative included in the block copolymer solution before positioning the medical instrument in the lumen or cavity of the living body because SHINODA teaches that such a step can remove unreacted components while maintaining the lubricating layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/31/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principal arguments are summarized and addressed below:
(a) Applicant argues that Ochiai's mention of the Formula 4 monomer (B) is not applicable to the medical device fabricating method described in Ochiai and similarly has no application to the claimed medical instrument manufacturing method at issue here.
Examiner is curious as to how the Applicant came to the conclusion that Ochiai's formulas for coating medical devices are not relevant to coating medical devices.
It is possible that Applicant meant to write that Ochiai's mention of the Formula 4 monomer (B) is not applicable to the medical device fabricating method described in KOHAMA. While more sensical, it is also wrong. Both OCHIAI and KOHAMA are related to the coating of catheters (see paragraph 53 in OCHIAI and see paragraph 30 in KOHAMA).
Further, the statement that OCHIAI's mention of the Formula 4 monomer (B) has 'no application to the claimed medical instrument here', when the specification lists catheters as a medical device that it is treating, is not persuasive. OCHIAI is not limited to coating blood filters and explicitly lists that its coatings can be applied to catheters and guidewires (paragraph 53). Applicant assertion ignores this broader teaching. Examiner reminds Applicant that disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teachings away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). The example on page 3 of OCHIAI does not teach away from the broader teaching of paragraph 30.
Further the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006).
(b) Applicant argues that a surface treating agent that absorbs/removes leukocytes might actually lead to increased friction of the surface to which the surface treating agent is applied.
Examiner respectfully points out that Applicant has provided no art of expert testimony on which to base this assumption. Examiner welcomes art to back this statement up, but until such action is taken this argument cannot be considered persuasive. The arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965).
(c) Applicant asserts that the amendments to claim 1 and 15 make clear that medical instrument is configured to be positioned in a lumen or cavity in a living body and that this lubricating layer facilitates sliding of the medical instrument in the lumen or vacity in the living body... and that the choline derivative promotes crosslinking or polymerization of the block copolymer to enchance the sliding durability of the lubricating layer.
Firstly, Examiner points out the art on record does teach a 'medical instrument is configured to be positioned in a lumen or cavity in a living body' as both OCHIAI and KOHAMA teach forming coatings on catheters. KOHAMA specifically teaches forming a layer to 'facilitates sliding of the medical instrument in the lumen... in the living body'. Further KOHAMA discusses how to control crosslinking to ensure excellent durability (paragraph 44) and this is done by precisely controlling the reaction to form a mesh through crosslinking of the materials used to monomer (A). OCHIAI teaches that its monomer B actually reacts in a specific ratio with monomer A when forming a coating. Based on those teachings, the incorporation of monomer B of OCHIAI into the coating of KOHAMA would incorporate the monomer into the mesh structure such that 'the choline derivation promotes crosslinking or polymerization of the block copolymer to enhance the sliding durability of the lubricating layer' as the crosslinking and polymerization are what imparts the durability.
Applicant's arguments are not persuasive as they do not consider the art's teachings as a whole, and do not provide and evidence to back up assertions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISTEN A DAGENAIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717