DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 14-15, 19 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zerfass US20070003811A1.
Regarding claim 1, Zerfass discloses a metal-supported solid oxide fuel cell unit (Zerfass, [0011]) comprising:
a separator plate (Zerfass, [0081], Fig. 11, part 106)
and a metal support plate (Zerfass, [0081], Fig. 11, plate 132, part 112) carrying cell chemistry layers (Zerfass, [0081], Fig. 9 and 11, CEA unit 108, substrate 109) provided over a porous region (Zerfass, [0081], Figs. 9 and 11, material 110)
the separator plate and the metal support plate overlying one another to form a repeat unit (Zerfass, [0080], Fig. 11, stack 100),
wherein: at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate comprises flanged perimeter features, said flanged perimeter features being formed from at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate having a substantially uniform material thickness into a concave configuration (Zerfass, [0107], Fig. 11, flange 148, unlabeled flanged perimeter feature along outer edge),
the separator plate and the metal support plate are directly adjoined at the flanged perimeter features (Zerfass, [0107], Fig. 11, part 106, flange 148, unlabeled flanged perimeter feature along outer edge) to form a fluid volume therebetween (Zerfass, [0102-0103]),
at least one fluid port is provided in each of the separator plate and the metal support plate within the flanged perimeter features, the respective fluid ports being aligned and in communication with the fluid volume (Zerfass, [0101-0103], Fig. 11, openings, 122, 124 and 172)
and provided with features defining fluid pathways to enable passage of fluid from the port to the fluid volume (Zerfass, [0101-0103]), the examiner notes that Zerfass teaches the fluid passes from the features of the fuel cell from the port to the fluid volume satisfying the broad claim limitation as the product as disclosed by Zerfass is a physical object and is therefore comprised of features defining fluid pathways to enable passage of fluid, as no additional metes and bounds are provided to distinguish the features over the prior art.
Regarding claim 2, Zerfass also discloses wherein the cell chemistry layers take the form of an electrochemically active layer comprising an anode, an electrolyte and a cathode formed onto the metal support plate over the porous region that is provided within the metal support plate (Zerfass, [0081], Fig. 9 and 11, CEA unit 108, substrate 109, material 110, plate 132 and part 112).
Regarding claim 3, Zerfass additionally discloses wherein the porous region is provided on a separate plate over which the cell chemistry layers, taking the form of an electrochemically active layer comprising an anode, an electrolyte and a cathode, are formed (Zerfass, [0099], Figs. 9 and 11, CEA unit 108, substrate 109, material 110), and the separate plate is provided over a window on the metal support plate (Zerfass, [0101], Figs. 9 and 11, material 110, field 138).
Regarding claim 5, Zerfass further discloses wherein the flanged perimeter features are only provided on the separator plate (Zerfass, Fig. 11, plate 132, flanges 148).
Regarding claim 14, Zerfass also discloses wherein the fuel cell units being stacked upon one another (Zerfass, [0080], Fig. 11, stack 100) with seals around the fluid ports between adjacent fuel cell units (Zerfass, [0082], [0113], Fig. 9, element 114, sealing arrangement 118). The examiner notes the claim includes optional language.
Regarding claim 15, Zerfass additionally discloses wherein the seals comprise one of in situ seals (Zerfass, [0131], [0134]).
Regarding claim 23, Zerfass further discloses wherein the features defining fluid pathways comprise shaped port features formed around the fluid port on at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate (Zerfass, [0162], Fig. 8, chamber 174), the examiner notes the port shaped feature as disclosed by Zerfass are formed around the fluid port on at least one of the plates, satisfying the limitation,
and elements of the shaped port features are spaced from one another to define the fluid pathways between the elements from the fluid port (Zerfass, [0162], Fig. 8, chamber 174), the examiner notes the elements of the shaped port features as disclosed by Zerfass are spaced apart from one another and define fluid pathways between the elements from the fluid port, satisfying the claim limitation, as there are not additional metes and bounds to distinguish the broadly claimed features and spacing over the prior art.
Regarding claim 6, Zerfass also discloses wherein the shaped port features are only provided on the separator plate (Zerfass, Fig. 8, plate 106, chamber 174), the examiner notes that the shaped port feature as disclosed by Zerfass appears to have an edge protrusion only on the separator plate.
Regarding claim 19, Zerfass additionally discloses wherein the internal components of the fuel cell stack comprises only the stack of cell units and the seals (Zerfass, [0080]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zerfass US20070003811A1, as applied to claims 1 and 23 above, in view of Erikstrup US20110129756A1 (cited in IDS filed 15 June 2021).
Regarding claim 4, Zerfass discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not disclose wherein the fluid pathways from the fluid port to the fluid volume are tortuous and/or cross one another at a plurality of locations.
In a metal-supported solid oxide fuel cell stack Erikstrup teaches the fuel cell stack (Erikstrup, [0072], [0074]) comprising a fuel cell comprising a separator plate (Erikstrup, [0125-0135], Figs. 1-3, interconnect) and a fuel cell chemistry layers provided over a porous region (Erikstrup, [0003], [0125-0127]), wherein: at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate comprises flanged perimeter features formed by pressing the plate to a concave configuration (Erikstrup, [0030], [0125-0127], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface 106, first side indentation 108), the separator plate and the metal support plate are directly adjoined at the flanged perimeter features to form a fluid volume therebetween (Erikstrup, [0004], [0125-0127], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface 106, first side indentation 108), the examiner notes that the separator plate has fuel and oxygen (fluid) flowing over either side and when stacked with the metal support plate will form a fluid volume therebetween, at least one fluid port is provided in each of the separator plate (Erikstrup, [0125-0126], Fig. 1-O, oxidant flow inlet 101) and the metal support plate (Tsukamoto, [0038], Fig. 3, oxygen-containing gas discharge passage 36 b) within the flanged perimeter features, and at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate is provided with shaped port features formed around its port by pressing (Erikstrup, [0129]), which shaped port features extend towards the other plate (Erikstrup, [0126], [0133], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface supports 112, Fig. 2-O, side protruding seal surface supports 212), and elements of the shaped port features are spaced from one another to define fluid pathways between the elements from the port to enable passage of fluid from the port to the fluid volume (Erikstrup, [0126], Fig. 1-O).
Erikstrup also teaches wherein the fluid pathways from the fluid port to the fluid volume are tortuous and/or cross one another at a plurality of locations (Erikstrup, [0133]) in order to distributes the flow of fluid evenly over the active area of the adjacent electrode (Erikstrup, [0133]). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fluid pathways from the fluid port to the fluid volume of Zerfass with the teaching of Erikstrup wherein the fluid pathways from the fluid port to the fluid volume are tortuous and/or cross one another at a plurality of locations thereby distributing the flow of fluid evenly over the active area of the adjacent electrode.
Regarding claim 7, Zerfass discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not disclose wherein the shaped port features are the same height above the surface from which they extend as the distance between opposed inner surfaces of the two plates.
In a metal-supported solid oxide fuel cell stack Erikstrup teaches the fuel cell stack (Erikstrup, [0072], [0074]) comprising a fuel cell comprising a separator plate (Erikstrup, [0125-0135], Figs. 1-3, interconnect) and a fuel cell chemistry layers provided over a porous region (Erikstrup, [0003], [0125-0127]), wherein: at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate comprises flanged perimeter features formed by pressing the plate to a concave configuration (Erikstrup, [0030], [0125-0127], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface 106, first side indentation 108), the separator plate and the metal support plate are directly adjoined at the flanged perimeter features to form a fluid volume therebetween (Erikstrup, [0004], [0125-0127], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface 106, first side indentation 108), the examiner notes that the separator plate has fuel and oxygen (fluid) flowing over either side and when stacked with the metal support plate will form a fluid volume therebetween, at least one fluid port is provided in each of the separator plate (Erikstrup, [0125-0126], Fig. 1-O, oxidant flow inlet 101) and the metal support plate (Tsukamoto, [0038], Fig. 3, oxygen-containing gas discharge passage 36 b) within the flanged perimeter features, and at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate is provided with shaped port features formed around its port by pressing (Erikstrup, [0129]), which shaped port features extend towards the other plate (Erikstrup, [0126], [0133], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface supports 112, Fig. 2-O, side protruding seal surface supports 212), and elements of the shaped port features are spaced from one another to define fluid pathways between the elements from the port to enable passage of fluid from the port to the fluid volume (Erikstrup, [0126], Fig. 1-O).
Erikstrup additionally teaches wherein shaped port features are formed around its port (Erikstrup, [0126], [0133], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface supports 112, Fig. 2-O, side protruding seal surface supports 212) to ensure electrical conducting and mechanical contact between the interconnect and the adjacent electrode, to support the seal surface on the opposite side of the interconnect and further to distribute the fluid flow evenly from the inlet among the flow paths (Erikstrup, [0126]), satisfying the claim limitation wherein the shaped port features are the same height above the surface from which they extend as the distance between opposed inner surfaces of the two plates, as the mechanical contact could otherwise not be achieved with such a shaped port feature. Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shaped port features of Zerfass wherein the shaped port features are the same height above the surface from which they extend as the distance between opposed inner surfaces of the two plates thereby ensuring electrical conducting and mechanical contact between the interconnect and the adjacent electrode, supporting the seal surface on the opposite side of the interconnect and further distributing the fluid flow evenly from the inlet among the flow paths
Regarding claim 8, Zerfass discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above, however Zerfass does not disclose wherein at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate is provided with one or a plurality of raised members that extend away from the other plate and that are arranged around the or each fluid port.
In a metal-supported solid oxide fuel cell stack Erikstrup teaches the fuel cell stack (Erikstrup, [0072], [0074]) comprising a fuel cell comprising a separator plate (Erikstrup, [0125-0135], Figs. 1-3, interconnect) and a fuel cell chemistry layers provided over a porous region (Erikstrup, [0003], [0125-0127]), wherein: at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate comprises flanged perimeter features formed by pressing the plate to a concave configuration (Erikstrup, [0030], [0125-0127], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface 106, first side indentation 108), the separator plate and the metal support plate are directly adjoined at the flanged perimeter features to form a fluid volume therebetween (Erikstrup, [0004], [0125-0127], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface 106, first side indentation 108), the examiner notes that the separator plate has fuel and oxygen (fluid) flowing over either side and when stacked with the metal support plate will form a fluid volume therebetween, at least one fluid port is provided in each of the separator plate (Erikstrup, [0125-0126], Fig. 1-O, oxidant flow inlet 101) and the metal support plate (Tsukamoto, [0038], Fig. 3, oxygen-containing gas discharge passage 36 b) within the flanged perimeter features, and at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate is provided with shaped port features formed around its port by pressing (Erikstrup, [0129]), which shaped port features extend towards the other plate (Erikstrup, [0126], [0133], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface supports 112, Fig. 2-O, side protruding seal surface supports 212), and elements of the shaped port features are spaced from one another to define fluid pathways between the elements from the port to enable passage of fluid from the port to the fluid volume (Erikstrup, [0126], Fig. 1-O).
Erikstrup further teaches wherein at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate is provided with one or a plurality of raised members, that extend away from the other plate and that are arranged around the or each fluid port (Erikstrup, [0133], Figs. 1-O and 2-O, side protruding seal surfaces 106 and 206, protrusions 107 and 207, supporting seal surface supports 112 and 212), wherein there are a plurality of raised members so arranged to define a space for accommodating a gasket within the raised members (Erikstrup, [0127]) and/or a plurality of raised members so arranged to define a perimeter for accommodating a gasket outside of the raised members (Erikstrup, [0133]), wherein the or each raised member of the one or a plurality of raised members has a peak that defines a hard stop surface against which an adjacent fuel cell or electrolyser cell unit, or a part extending therefrom, can bear during assembly of a stack of the fuel cell or electrolyser cell units (Erikstrup, [0126], [0133], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface supports 112, Fig. 2-O, side protruding seal surface supports 212), and wherein there are multiple raised members defining hard stop surfaces and the hard stop surfaces all lie in a common plane (Erikstrup, [0126], [0128-0131], Figs. 1-O to -D, 2-O, side protruding seal surface supports 112 and 212), in order to divert a potential blockage of a flow path and return to the flow path after the blockage (Erikstrup, [0133]), Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separator and metal support plate of Zerfass with the teaching of Erikstrup wherein at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate is provided with one or a plurality of raised members, that extend away from the other plate and that are arranged around the or each fluid port thereby diverting a potential blockage of a flow path and returning to the flow path after the blockage.
Regarding claim 9, modified Zerfass teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above including wherein there are a plurality of raised members so arranged to define a space for accommodating a gasket within the raised members (Erikstrup, [0127]) and/or a plurality of raised members so arranged to define a perimeter for accommodating a gasket outside of the raised members (Erikstrup, [0133]).
Regarding claim 10, Zerfass discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose wherein there are a plurality of raised members interspersed amongst the shaped port features.
In a metal-supported solid oxide fuel cell stack Erikstrup teaches the fuel cell stack (Erikstrup, [0072], [0074]) comprising a fuel cell comprising a separator plate (Erikstrup, [0125-0135], Figs. 1-3, interconnect) and a fuel cell chemistry layers provided over a porous region (Erikstrup, [0003], [0125-0127]), wherein: at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate comprises flanged perimeter features formed by pressing the plate to a concave configuration (Erikstrup, [0030], [0125-0127], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface 106, first side indentation 108), the separator plate and the metal support plate are directly adjoined at the flanged perimeter features to form a fluid volume therebetween (Erikstrup, [0004], [0125-0127], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface 106, first side indentation 108), the examiner notes that the separator plate has fuel and oxygen (fluid) flowing over either side and when stacked with the metal support plate will form a fluid volume therebetween, at least one fluid port is provided in each of the separator plate (Erikstrup, [0125-0126], Fig. 1-O, oxidant flow inlet 101) and the metal support plate (Tsukamoto, [0038], Fig. 3, oxygen-containing gas discharge passage 36 b) within the flanged perimeter features, and at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate is provided with shaped port features formed around its port by pressing (Erikstrup, [0129]), which shaped port features extend towards the other plate (Erikstrup, [0126], [0133], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface supports 112, Fig. 2-O, side protruding seal surface supports 212), and elements of the shaped port features are spaced from one another to define fluid pathways between the elements from the port to enable passage of fluid from the port to the fluid volume (Erikstrup, [0126], Fig. 1-O).
Erikstrup further teaches wherein there are a plurality of raised members interspersed amongst the shaped port features (Erikstrup, [0133], Figs. 1-O and 2-O, supporting seal surface supports 112 and 212) in order to divert a potential blockage of a flow path and return to the flow path after the blockage (Erikstrup, [0133]), Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the port feature of Zerfass with the teaching of Erikstrup wherein there are a plurality of raised members interspersed amongst the shaped port features thereby diverting a potential blockage of a flow path and returning to the flow path after the blockage.
Regarding claim 11, Zerfass discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Zerfass, however, does not disclose wherein the or each raised member is positioned outside of the shaped port features.
In a metal-supported solid oxide fuel cell stack Erikstrup teaches the fuel cell stack (Erikstrup, [0072], [0074]) comprising a fuel cell comprising a separator plate (Erikstrup, [0125-0135], Figs. 1-3, interconnect) and a fuel cell chemistry layers provided over a porous region (Erikstrup, [0003], [0125-0127]), wherein: at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate comprises flanged perimeter features formed by pressing the plate to a concave configuration (Erikstrup, [0030], [0125-0127], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface 106, first side indentation 108), the separator plate and the metal support plate are directly adjoined at the flanged perimeter features to form a fluid volume therebetween (Erikstrup, [0004], [0125-0127], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface 106, first side indentation 108), the examiner notes that the separator plate has fuel and oxygen (fluid) flowing over either side and when stacked with the metal support plate will form a fluid volume therebetween, at least one fluid port is provided in each of the separator plate (Erikstrup, [0125-0126], Fig. 1-O, oxidant flow inlet 101) and the metal support plate (Tsukamoto, [0038], Fig. 3, oxygen-containing gas discharge passage 36 b) within the flanged perimeter features, and at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate is provided with shaped port features formed around its port by pressing (Erikstrup, [0129]), which shaped port features extend towards the other plate (Erikstrup, [0126], [0133], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface supports 112, Fig. 2-O, side protruding seal surface supports 212), and elements of the shaped port features are spaced from one another to define fluid pathways between the elements from the port to enable passage of fluid from the port to the fluid volume (Erikstrup, [0126], Fig. 1-O).
Erikstrup further teaches wherein the or each raised member is positioned outside of the shaped port features (Erikstrup, [0133], Figs. 1-O and 2-O, protrusions 107 and 207, supporting seal surface supports 112 and 212, inlet 201, outlet 202) in order to divert a potential blockage of a flow path and return to the flow path after the blockage (Erikstrup, [0133]), Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shaped port feature of Zerfass with the teaching of Erikstrup wherein the or each raised member is positioned outside of the shaped port features thereby diverting a potential blockage of a flow path and returning to the flow path after the blockage.
Regarding claim 12, modified Zerfass teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above including wherein the or each raised member of the one or a plurality of raised members has a peak that defines a hard stop surface against which an adjacent fuel cell or electrolyser cell unit, or a part extending therefrom, can bear during assembly of a stack of the fuel cell or electrolyser cell units (Erikstrup, [0126], [0133], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface supports 112, Fig. 2-O, side protruding seal surface supports 212).
Regarding claim 13, modified Zerfass teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above including wherein there are multiple raised members defining hard stop surfaces and the hard stop surfaces all lie in a common plane (Erikstrup, [0126], [0128-0131], Figs. 1-O to -D, 2-O, side protruding seal surface supports 112 and 212).
Regarding claim 17, Zerfass discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the at least one seal that sits on a seal receiving surface of a lower one of the fuel cell units has a height above that seal receiving surface before the next fuel cell unit is stacked thereon (Zerfass, [0082], [0113], Figs. 8-9, stack 100, element 114, sealing arrangement 118), the examiner notes that this is merely a statement that the seal occupies space as there are no metes and bounds to distinguish the height over the prior art. Zerfass however does not disclose wherein at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate is provided with one or a plurality of raised members, that extend away from the other plate and that are arranged around the or each fluid port, wherein the or each raised member of the one or a plurality of raised members has a peak that defines a hard stop surface against which an adjacent fuel cell or electrolyser cell unit, or a part extending therefrom, can bear during assembly of a stack of the cell units, and the hard stop surface of the lower one of the fuel cell or electrolyser cell units has a height that is located above that seal receiving surface but below the height of the seal that sits on the seal receiving surface so as to provide a limit to compression between the adjacent fuel cell or electrolyser cell units.
In a metal-supported solid oxide fuel cell stack Erikstrup teaches the fuel cell stack (Erikstrup, [0072], [0074]) comprising a fuel cell comprising a separator plate (Erikstrup, [0125-0135], Figs. 1-3, interconnect) and a fuel cell chemistry layers provided over a porous region (Erikstrup, [0003], [0125-0127]), wherein: at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate comprises flanged perimeter features formed by pressing the plate to a concave configuration (Erikstrup, [0030], [0125-0127], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface 106, first side indentation 108), the separator plate and the metal support plate are directly adjoined at the flanged perimeter features to form a fluid volume therebetween (Erikstrup, [0004], [0125-0127], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface 106, first side indentation 108), the examiner notes that the separator plate has fuel and oxygen (fluid) flowing over either side and when stacked with the metal support plate will form a fluid volume therebetween, at least one fluid port is provided in each of the separator plate (Erikstrup, [0125-0126], Fig. 1-O, oxidant flow inlet 101) and the metal support plate (Tsukamoto, [0038], Fig. 3, oxygen-containing gas discharge passage 36 b) within the flanged perimeter features, and at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate is provided with shaped port features formed around its port by pressing (Erikstrup, [0129]), which shaped port features extend towards the other plate (Erikstrup, [0126], [0133], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface supports 112, Fig. 2-O, side protruding seal surface supports 212), and elements of the shaped port features are spaced from one another to define fluid pathways between the elements from the port to enable passage of fluid from the port to the fluid volume (Erikstrup, [0126], Fig. 1-O).
Erikstrup further teaches wherein at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate is provided with one or a plurality of raised members, that extend away from the other plate and that are arranged around the or each fluid port (Erikstrup, [0133], Figs. 1-O and 2-O, side protruding seal surfaces 106 and 206, supporting seal surface supports 112 and 212), wherein the or each raised member of the one or a plurality of raised members has a peak that defines a hard stop surface against which an adjacent fuel cell or electrolyser cell unit, or a part extending therefrom, can bear during assembly of a stack of the cell units (Erikstrup, [0126], [0133], Fig. 1-D, first side protruding seal surface supports 112, Fig. 2-O, side protruding seal surface supports 212) and that the protruding seal surfaces can be higher than protruding contact points and vice versa, which can influence the flow and the pressure loss on either side (Erikstrup, [0128]), in order to divert a potential blockage of a flow path and return to the flow path after the blockage (Erikstrup, [0133]),
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fuel cell stack of Zerfass with the teaching of Erikstrup wherein at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate is provided with one or a plurality of raised members, that extend away from the other plate and that are arranged around the or each fluid port, wherein the or each raised member of the one or a plurality of raised members has a peak that defines a hard stop surface against which an adjacent fuel cell or electrolyser cell unit, or a part extending therefrom, can bear during assembly of a stack of the cell units, and the hard stop surface of the lower one of the fuel cell or electrolyser cell units has a height that is located above that seal receiving surface but below the height of the seal that sits on the seal receiving surface so as to provide a limit to compression between the adjacent fuel cell or electrolyser cell units and that the protruding seal surfaces can be higher than protruding contact points and vice versa, which can influence the flow and the pressure loss on either side, thereby diverting a potential blockage of a flow path and returning to the flow path after the blockage and optimizing the flow and the pressure loss on either side and thereby relaxing component production tolerances and end-plate stiffness requirements, and so resulting in a lower-cost stack assembly with improved operating performance.
Regarding claim 20, Zerfass discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not disclose wherein the shaped port features define concave pores on the outer surface of the plate in which they are formed, which pores of each set of shaped port features are covered by one of the seals, the pores optionally being located in a raised portion of the plate.
In a metal-supported solid oxide fuel cell stack Erikstrup teaches the fuel cell stack (Erikstrup, [0072], [0074]) comprising a fuel cell comprising a separator plate (Erikstrup, [0125-0135], Figs. 1-3, interconnect) and a fuel cell chemistry layers provided over a porous region (Erikstrup, [0003], [0125-0127]), wherein: at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate comprises flanged perimeter features formed by pressing the plate to a concave configuration (Erikstrup, [0030], [0125-0127], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface 106, first side indentation 108), the separator plate and the metal support plate are directly adjoined at the flanged perimeter features to form a fluid volume therebetween (Erikstrup, [0004], [0125-0127], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface 106, first side indentation 108), the examiner notes that the separator plate has fuel and oxygen (fluid) flowing over either side and when stacked with the metal support plate will form a fluid volume therebetween, at least one fluid port is provided in each of the separator plate (Erikstrup, [0125-0126], Fig. 1-O, oxidant flow inlet 101) and the metal support plate (Tsukamoto, [0038], Fig. 3, oxygen-containing gas discharge passage 36 b) within the flanged perimeter features, and at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate is provided with shaped port features formed around its port by pressing (Erikstrup, [0129]), which shaped port features extend towards the other plate (Erikstrup, [0126], [0133], Fig. 1-O, first side protruding seal surface supports 112, Fig. 2-O, side protruding seal surface supports 212), and elements of the shaped port features are spaced from one another to define fluid pathways between the elements from the port to enable passage of fluid from the port to the fluid volume (Erikstrup, [0126], Fig. 1-O).
Erikstrup further teaches wherein the shaped port features on the outer surface of the plate in which they are formed (Erikstrup, [0129-0133], Figs. 1-O to 1-D and 2-O, side protruding seal surfaces 106 and 206) which define concave pores on the outer surface of the plate in which they are formed (Erikstrup, Figs. 1-O to 1-D and 2-O, side protruding seal surfaces 106 and 206) which pores of each set of shaped port features are covered by one of the seals (Erikstrup, [0129-133]), in order to divert a potential blockage of a flow path and return to the flow path after the blockage (Erikstrup, [0133]), Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plate of Zerfass with the teaching of Erikstrup wherein the shaped port features on the outer surface of the plate in which they are formed define concave pores on the outer surface of the plate in which they are formed, which pores of each set of shaped port features are covered by one of the seals, the pores optionally being located in a raised portion of the plate thereby diverting a potential blockage of a flow path and returning to the flow path after the blockage.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zerfass US20070003811A1, as applied to claim 14 above, in view of Ikeda US20160260993A1.
Regarding claim 18, Zerfass discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Zerfass however does not disclose wherein at least one of the seals is positioned partially in a groove that surrounds a respective fluid port for that seal, the groove being optionally located in a raised portion of the plate.
In a stacked fuel cell Ikeda teaches wherein seals are positioned around respective fluid ports and at least one of the seals is positioned partially in a groove that surrounds a respective fluid port for that seal (Ikeda, [0029], Fig. 3, sealing member 14, depression 15) thereby receiving the seal around the fluid port and holding it in place(Ikeda, [0029]). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the seal positioned to surround the fluid port of modified Selcuk with the teaching of Ikeda wherein at least one of the seals is positioned partially in a groove that surrounds a respective fluid port for that seal thereby receiving the seal around the fluid port and holding it in place.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, 14 and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fan US20040104544A1 (discloses seals comprising gaskets, metals, ceramics, etc. in order to improve sealing in a SOFC),
Rautanen US20150372324A1 (discloses a gasket comprising metal and ceramics for a SOFC in order to improve the durability and sealing of the gasket),
Palumbo US20170110748A1 (discloses a seal in a groove in order to seal the SOFC),
Wenzel US20210202963A1 (priority to October 2018; discloses a metal-supported solid oxide fuel cell or electrolyser cell unit comprising: a separator plate; and a metal support plate carrying cell chemistry layers provided over a porous region; the separator plate and the metal support plate overlying one another to form a repeat unit; wherein: at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate comprises flanged perimeter features, said flanged perimeter features being formed from at least one of the separator plate and the metal support plate having a substantially uniform material thickness into a concave configuration, the separator plate and the metal support plate are directly adjoined at the flanged perimeter features to form a fluid volume therebetween).
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723