Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination and Argument filed on 03/16/2026.
Claims 1-17, 19-20, 25-26, 28, 30, 32, 37-38, 42 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 3-6, 9-10, 13-17, 28, 30, 38, 42 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Note, rejections and objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 11-12, 19-20, 25-26, 32, 37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over copending Application No. 18/572,423 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-application recites a method of treatment of a subject having been diagnosed with cancer (e.g. prostate cancer, ovarian cancer, a malignant brain tumor (e.g., brain or spinal), melanoma), the method comprising administering (e.g., via IV administration) to the subject a composition comprising ultrasmall nanoparticles in concert with administering one or more of (i) to (iv) as follows: (i) cellular therapy; (ii) one or more immune checkpoint blockade antibodies (ICB); (iii) one or more pharmacologic inhibitors; and (iv) external beam radiation or molecular radiotherapy (e.g., peptide radioligands (e.g., radiolabeled PSMA-targeting ligands)) (see claim 1), comprising administering external beam radiation or radiotherapy, wherein the nanoparticles in combination with radiation enhance efficacy of checkpoint blockade (see claim 2), wherein each of the nanoparticles has a hydrodynamic diameter no greater than 20 nm (see claim 36), wherein each of the nanoparticles comprises a silica core (see claim 38), wherein each of the nanoparticles comprises a polyethylene glycol (PEG) shell (see claim 40),wherein the silica composition controlled for ferroptosis comprises nanoparticles made using a ratio of phosphonate-silane to tetramethyl orthosilicate (TMOS) in a reaction feed from 0% to 20% (see claim 49).
The difference between instant application and the patented claims is that the patent claims include additional limitations. Thus, the invention of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”, and, therefore, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the claims of the patent and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 11-12, 19-20, 25-26, 32, 37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 9,999,694 in view of MENON et al (Cytotoxic Effects of Phosphonate-Functionalized Mesoporous Silica Nanoparticles. ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces 2016, 8, 2416−2422).
The patent recites a method for detecting tumor cells in a human subject, comprising steps of: (a) administering to the human subject a plurality of multimodal silica-based nanoparticles in a dose ranging from about 0.01 nanomole/kg body weight to about 1 nanomole/kg body weight, each of the nanoparticles comprising: a silica-based core; a fluorescent compound within the core; and a silica shell surrounding at least a portion of the core, wherein each nanoparticle is coated with an organic polymer, wherein a plurality of discrete ligands no greater than 25 in number are attached to each polymer-coated nanoparticle for binding to a tumor marker, and wherein each of the polymer-coated nanoparticles with the ligands attached thereto has a hydrodynamic diameter within a range from 1 nm to 15 nm; (b) directing excitation light into the human subject to excite the fluorescent compound; and (c) imaging the nanoparticles, the nanoparticles being excreted by renal clearance, by the human subject, within a range from 90% of initial dose (ID) to 100% ID in 24 hours after administration.
The patent teaches using silica nanoparticles, but does NOT teach using phosphonate.
MENON teaches the prior art had known of treating cancer, such as breast adenocarcinoma (see abstract and reference #49 on pg. 2422), using phosphonate functionalized silica nanoparticles (see title), wherein the phosphonate is incorporated within the mesopores of the silica nanoparticles (see pg. 2418, 2nd col; and the figure in the abstract, wherein the figure is provided below):
Thereby suggesting the role of nondrug loaded MSN and MSN-Phos as effective anticancer drugs (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate phosphonate onto the silica core/nanoparticle. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it would allow additive affect in treating cancer, and reasonably would have expected success because the references dealt in the same filed of endeavor, such as cancer treatment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, 1st paragraph
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 11-12, 19-20, 25-26, 32, 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification does not reasonably provide enablement for treating a broad range of different types of cancer, such as carcinoma, which accounts for 80-90% of all cancer cases and would read on adenocarcinoma (e.g. breast, colon, pancreas), squamous cell carcinoma (e.g. skin, lungs), etc., melanoma, glioblastoma (brain), and glioma (nervous system). The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Attention is directed to In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (CAFC 1988) at 1404 where the court set forth the eight factors to consider when assessing if a disclosure would have required undue experimentation. Citing Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546 (BdApls 1986) at 547 the court recited eight factors:
1) the quantity of experimentation necessary,
2) the amount of direction or guidance provided,
3) the presence or absence of working examples,
4) the nature of the invention,
5) the state of the prior art,
6) the relative skill of those in the art,
7) the predictability of the art, and
8) the breadth of the claims.
The instant specification fails to provide guidance that would allow the skilled artisan to practice the instant invention without resorting to undue experimentation, as discussed in the subsections set forth hereinbelow.
1. The nature of the invention, state of the prior art, relative skill of those in the art, and the predictability of the art
The claimed invention relates to for treating a broad range of different types of cancer, such as carcinoma, which accounts for 80-90% of all cancer cases and would read on adenocarcinoma (e.g. breast, colon, pancreas), squamous cell carcinoma (e.g. skin, lungs), etc. melanoma, glioblastoma (brain), and glioma (nervous system). Various cancers having various different causes are not treatable by a single composition. Given the great diversity between various cancers (breast cancer, brain cancer, colorectal cancer, etc.), the unpredictability of treating all cancers have a number of facets, as discussed hereinafter.
A. Treatment of Disease Type
While the state of the art is relatively high with regard to the treatment of specific diseases with a specific agent, it is long underdeveloped with regard to the treatment of a subject broadly, that is, general treatment, with no specific cancer combined with a specific drug therefore. In particular, there is no known “treatment” drug, that can treat, “all that ails you”. This is why the National Cancer Institute (NCI) has the extensive in vitro drug-screening program it does. As discussed by the court in In re Brana, 51 F.3d 1560 (Fed. Cir. 1995), in vitro assays are used by NCI (such as the P388 and L1210 lymphocytic leukemia tests at issue therein) to measure the potential antitumor properties of a candidate compound. Brana at 1562-63. If success is shown in this initial screening step, this demonstrates that at least one cancer type (e.g., lymphocytic leukemia) is sensitive thereto, and provides the incentive to select it for further studies to determine its usefulness as a chemotherapeutic agent against other cancer types (lung, breast, colon, etc.) Id. at 1567-68. These in vitro tests are considered reasonably correlative of success in vivo. Thus, a considerable amount of in vitro empirical testing is required, with no a priori expectation of success being present, before a candidate for even treating a specific disease, such as, cancer.
2. The breadth of the claims
The claims are very broad and encompass multiple different types of cancer and, as recited.
3. The amount of direction or guidance provided and the presence or absence of working examples
The specification does not provide direction for treating a broad range of different types of cancer, such as carcinoma, which accounts for 80-90% of all cancer cases and would read on adenocarcinoma (e.g. breast, colon, pancreas), squamous cell carcinoma (e.g. skin, lungs), etc. melanoma, glioblastoma (brain), and glioma (nervous system), with the use of nanoparticles with a hydrodynamic diameter no greater than 20nm and phosphonate. Additionally, Applicant’s experiments do not appear to be using phosphonate. Thus, one skilled in the art would have to test a broad range of different types of cancer in order to see if the nanoparticles with phosphonate are effective.
4. The quantity of experimentation necessary
The lack of adequate guidance from the specification or prior art with regard to the actual treatment fails to rebut the presumption of unpredictability present in this art. Applicants fail to provide the guidance and information required to ascertain which particular cancer the claimed agent of nanoparticles with phosphonate will be effective against without resorting to undue experimentation. Additionally, Applicant’s experiments do not appear to be using phosphonate. Applicant’s limited disclosure of the treatment is not sufficient to justify claiming all treatment broadly.
Thus, as discussed above, Applicant failed to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 11-12, 19-20, 25-26, 32, 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (Ultrasmall nanoparticles induce ferroptosis in nutrient-deprived cancer cells and suppress tumour growth. Nature Nanotechnology volume 11, pages977–985 (2016) as evidenced by MA et al (Control of Ultrasmall Sub-10 nm Ligand-Functionalized Fluorescent Core−Shell Silica Nanoparticle Growth in Water. Chem. Mater. 2015, 27, 4119−4133) in view of MENON et al (Cytotoxic Effects of Phosphonate-Functionalized Mesoporous Silica Nanoparticles. ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces 2016, 8, 2416−2422).
KIM teaches a method of treating cancer (see title and abstract), such as pancreatic carcinoma, lung carcinoma and renal carcinoma (see pg. 980, 1st col), comprised of: administering (see pg. 981, 1st col) ultrasmall nanoparticle (see title and abstract) composition comprised of: polyethylene glycol-coated silica nanoparticle (see abstract), which reads on a core and a shell, functionalized with targeting peptides (see abstract), wherein the size in less than 10 nm in diameter of core-shell SNP (see abstract), such a 6nm (see pg. 977, 1st), and appears to be the same method of making the nanoparticle as disclosed by Applicant. Additional disclosures include: radiolabels (see pg. 977, 1st col), which reads on radiotherapy; fluorescent dye (see pg. 977, 1st col+); hydrodynamic radius was determined by fluorescence correlation spectroscopy (“FCS”; see additional page 986, 1st col), which disclosed reference #10 and is the MA et al reference (see pg. 984, under reference #10) discussed below; multidosing delivery scheme (see pg. 980, 2nd col), which reads on multiple doses; ferroptosis (see abstract).
MA is the reference disclosed in KIM discussing about particle size, wherein MA teaches control of ultrasmall sub-10 nm PEGylated nanoparticle (see title and abstract), wherein hydrodynamic sizes range from 4.3-7.8 nm (see pg. 4123, Figure 2) and the thickness of the PEG layer is about 1.5nm (see pg. 4131, 1st col), which reads on a hydrodynamic diameter no greater than 20nm. Thus, it would have been inherent or obvious that KIM has these hydrodynamic diameter ranges. Additional disclosures include: hydrodynamic particle sizes and size distributions are measured by dynamic light scattering (“DLS”; see pg. 4122, 2nd col) and hydrodynamic diameter is also measured by fluorescence correlation spectroscopy (“FCS” see pg. 4123; 4131, 1st col).
KIM as evidence by MA teaches using silica nanoparticles, but does NOT teach using phosphonate.
MENON teaches the prior art had known of treating cancer, such as breast adenocarcinoma (see abstract and reference #49 on pg. 2422), using phosphonate functionalized silica nanoparticles (see title), wherein the phosphonate is incorporated within the mesopores of the silica nanoparticles (see pg. 2418, 2nd col; and the figure in the abstract, wherein the figure is disclosed below):
Thereby suggesting the role of nondrug loaded MSN and MSN-Phos as effective anticancer drugs (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate phosphonate onto the silica core/nanoparticle. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it would have an additive affect in treating cancer, and reasonably would have expected success because the references dealt in the same filed of endeavor, such as cancer treatment.
Note, the prior art’s nanoparticle composition would have the same chemical/physical properties, such as non-toxic to normal tissue, internalized within one or more cell types of the microenvironment, activation of the microenvironment of the tumor comprises a change in at least one M1 macrophage polarization marker, and the activation of the microenvironment comprises changing a population and/or level of activation of one or more cell types within the microenvironment, as claimed by Applicant, because the prior art’s nanoparticle composition has the same hydrodynamic diameter and ingredients as claimed by Applicant, unless proven otherwise.
The references do not specifically teach the concentration amount of nanoparticle within the microenvironment of the tumor as claimed by Applicant. The concentration amount of a nanoparticle composition used in treating cancer is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal concentration amount in order to best achieve the desired results, such as treating the cancer. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of concentration amount within the microenvironment of the tumor would have been obvious at the time of Applicant's invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the phosphonate-functionalized mesoporous silica nanoparticles of Menon are mesoporous silica nanoparticles (MSNs) which have particle sizes "within the range of 55-70 nm." See, Menon at page 2418, left hand column, 3rd ,i. Menon then functionalizes their MSN by adding phosphonate groups to the exposed walls of the internal pores (MSN-Phos). See, Menon at page 2418, left hand column, 3rd ,i. Menon also demonstrates that the MSN-Phos have an even larger size than the non-functionalized MSN, as demonstrated by the hydrodynamic radius shown in Figure 2A, in which the non-functionalized MSN have an average hydrodynamic radius of about 75 nm and the MSN-Phos have an average hydrodynamic radius of about 100 nm. Thus, the combination of Menon' phosphonate-functionalized nanoparticles with the '694 Patent's ultrasmall nanoparticles would increase the size of the nanoparticles, rendering the '694 Patent's nanoparticles unsatisfactory for its intended purpose, which is being small enough for renal clearance. Further, a person skilled in the art would not have been motivated to combine the phosphonate of Menon with the ultrasmall nanoparticles of the '694 Patent, as they would have recognized that the phosphate groups were functionalized onto the exposed walls of the internal pores of the MSN (See, Menon at page 2418, left hand column, 3rd) and the ultrasmall nanoparticles of the '694 Patent do not have porous cores.
The Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive, because the patent’s smaller nanoparticle would be used, not the MENON secondary reference. The MENON secondary reference only teaches that the phosphonate incorporated inside the mesopores. Additionally, this would also applies to KIM’s ultrasmall nanoparticles.
Telephonic Inquiries
/JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618