Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (i.e., claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11-13, 15, 17-19, 21-22, 25-26, 28, and 30 directed to an aqueous solution) in the reply filed on April 30, 2024, is acknowledged. Additionally, Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (i.e., a single and specific aqueous solution composition as including terlipressin acetate at a concentration of 0.01-5 mg/ml, acetate buffer at a concentration of 0.1-5 mM, proline at a concentration of 1-100 mM, and mannitol as an uncharged tonicity modifier at a concentration of 50-1000 mM where the composition does not contain a charged tonicity modifier and non-ionic surfactant) in the reply filed on April 30, 2024, is acknowledged. It is further noted that since not expressly indicated that the composition contains a preservative, the Examiner is interpreting Applicant’s election such that the composition does not contain a preservative.
Please note that the amino acid component of Species A is expanded to include aspartic acid, glycine, methionine, arginine, glutamic acid, histidine, and lysine; and the tonicity modifier component of Species A is expanded to include glycerol, sorbitol, sucrose, trehalose and lactose in light of the Examiner’s search results.
Also please note that claims 35-37 are hereby rejoined and examined given that Applicants have amended the claims such that the elected concentration of an uncharged tonicity modifier is no longer recited. Thus, examination is extended to the next species, i.e., 200-500 mM and about 300 mM.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-32 were originally filed on June 21, 2021.
The amendment received on June 21, 2021, canceled claims 4, 7, 10, 14, 16, 20, 23-24, 27, 29, and 31; and amended claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11-13, 15, 17-19, 21-22, 25-26, 28, 30, and 32. The amendment received on November 26, 2024, canceled claim 8; amended claims 1-3, 9, 11-12, 15, and 17-18; and added new claims 33-37. The amendment received on April 9, 2025, amended claims 1, 3, 11-13, 17-18, and 35-37.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9, 11-13, 15, 17-19, 21-22, 25-26, 28, 30, and 32-37 are currently pending and claims 1-3, 6, 9, 11-13, 15, 17-18, 28, 30, and 33-37 are under consideration as claim 32 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, and claims 5, 19-22, and 25-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 30, 2024.
Priority
The present application claims status as a 371 (National Stage) of PCT/GB2019/053645 filed December 20, 2019, and claims priority under 119(a)-(d) to British Application Nos. 1909264.2 filed on June 27, 2019, and 1821148.2 filed on December 21, 2018.
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) for British Application Nos. 1909264.2 and 1821148.2, which papers have been placed of record in the file. Please note that the British applications are in English and therefore no further action is necessary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Response, filed 4/9/25, with respect to the claim objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Response, filed 4/9/25, with respect to the 112(d) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 3 as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Response, filed 4/9/25, with respect to the 103(a)(1) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-3, 6, 9, 11-13, 15, 17-18, 28, 30, and 33-34 as being unpatentable over Malm WO 2019/239386 A1 published on December 19, 2019 (effective filing date of June 15, 2018) (cited in the IDS received on 6/21/21), in view of Kamerzell et al., Adv. Drug Delivery Rev. 63:1118-1159 (2011) (cited in the Action mailed on 7/26/24), Hada et al., Intl. J. Biol. Macromol. 82:192-200 (2016), and Gutka, H., “Rational Selection of Sugars for Biotherapeutic Stabilization: A Practitioner’s Perspective,” BioProcess Intl., available online at https://www.bioprocessintl.com/formulation/rational-selection-of-sugars-for-biotherapeutic-stabilization-a-practitioner-s-perspective, 27 pages (October 2018), alone or as evidenced by Product Information, GLYPRESSIN® Solution for Injection, available online at www.tga.gov.au/sites/default/files/auspar-terlipressin-acetate-121126-pi.pdf, 18 pages (2012) (hereinafter “the Glypressin reference”), Hunt, “Chapter 27: Amino Acids, Peptides and Proteins,” available online at www.chem.ucalgary.ca/courses/351/Carey5th/Ch27/ch27-1-4-2.html, 1 page (accessed on 7/17/24) (cited in the Action mailed on 7/26/24), and Important Biological Buffers, available online at http://staff.ustc.edu.cn/~liuyz/methods/buffer.htm, 2 pages (accessed on 12/13/24) (hereinafter “the buffer reference”) has been withdrawn. Please note that the amendment limiting the concentration of the amino acid to a range of 1-5 mM in claim 1, and the concentration of the uncharged tonicity modifier to about 300 mM or 200-500 mM in claims 18 and 35-36 overcome this previous rejection.
Applicant’s arguments, see Response, filed 4/9/25, with respect to the 103(a)(1) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-3, 6, 9, 11-13, 15, 17-18, 28, 30, and 33-34 as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5-9, 11-19, 21-32, 34, and 36 of copending Application No. 16/956,382 (Jezek et al. US Publication No. 2021/0085751 A1) (cited in the Action mailed on 7/26/24) in view of Malm WO 2019/239386 A1 published on December 19, 2019 (effective filing date of June 15, 2018) (cited in the IDS received on 6/21/21), alone or as evidenced by Hunt, “Chapter 27: Amino Acids, Peptides and Proteins,” available online at www.chem.ucalgary.ca/courses/351/Carey5th/Ch27/ch27-1-4-2.html, 1 page (accessed on 7/17/24) (cited in the Action mailed on 7/26/24) has been withdrawn. Please note that the ‘382 application has been abandoned, and thus, the rejection is withdrawn.
New Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
103 - KSR Examples of 'Rationales' Supporting a Conclusion of Obviousness(Consistent with the "Functional Approach" of Graham)
Further regarding 35 USC 103(a) rejections, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (KSR) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit.
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Note that the list of rationales provided is not intended to be an all-inclusive list. Other rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness may be relied upon by Office personnel.
Also, a reference is good not only for what it teaches by direct anticipation but also for what one of ordinary skill in the art might reasonably infer from the teachings. (In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (Fed Cir. 1989); In re Bode 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA) 1976).
Claims 1-3, 6, 9, 11-13, 15, 17-18, 28, 30, and 33-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malm WO 2019/239386 A1 published on December 19, 2019 (effective filing date of June 15, 2018) (cited in the IDS received on 6/21/21), in view of Kocherlakota et al. US 2021/0093553 A1 published on April 1, 2021 (effective filing date of 12/22/17), Warne et al. US 2008/0064856 A1 published on March 13, 2008, alone or as evidenced by DrugBank Online, “Terlipressin”, DrugBank Online, available online at https://go.drugbank.com/drugs/DB02638, 11 pages (first available 2005), Product Information, GLYPRESSIN® Solution for Injection, available online at www.tga.gov.au/sites/default/files/auspar-terlipressin-acetate-121126-pi.pdf, 18 pages (2012) (hereinafter “the Glypressin reference”) (cited in the Action mailed on 12/19/24), Chawathe et al., Anal. Bioanal Chem. 417:4311-4329 (2025), Hunt, “Chapter 27: Amino Acids, Peptides and Proteins,” available online at www.chem.ucalgary.ca/courses/351/Carey5th/Ch27/ch27-1-4-2.html, 1 page (accessed on 7/17/24) (cited in the Action mailed on 7/26/24), and Important Biological Buffers, available online at http://staff.ustc.edu.cn/~liuyz/methods/buffer.htm, 2 pages (accessed on 12/13/24) (hereinafter “the buffer reference”) (cited in the Action mailed on 12/19/24).
For claims 1-3, 6, 12, 15, 28, and 30, with respect to an aqueous solution composition having a pH in the range of 4.0-6.0 comprising 0.01-50 mg/ml terlipressin or a salt thereof, and one or more buffers having at least one ionizable group with a pKa in the range of 3.0 to 7.0 and which pKa is within 1 pH unit of the pH of the composition and wherein the one or more buffers are present in the composition at a total concentration of 0-5 mM as recited in instant claim 1; with respect to where the concentration of terlipressin or salt thereof is 0.01-1 mg/ml as recited in instant claim 2; with respect to where the total concentration of the one or more buffers in the composition is 0.1-5 mM as recited in instant claim 3; with respect to where the one or more buffers is benzoate or acetate as recited in instant claim 6; with respect to where the terlipressin is employed as terlipressin acetate as recited in instant claim 28; with respect to an aqueous solution composition of claim 1 which is a pharmaceutical composition as recited in instant claim 30:
Malm teaches in Table 1 a formulation containing 0.1 mg/ml of terlipressin and acetate as a buffer salt at a concentration of 5 mM where the formulation has a pH of 4.5 (See Malm specification, [0101]; Table 1). Moreover, Malm teaches in Table 4, a terlipressin acetate formulation comprising 0.1 mg/ml of terlipressin acetate, and 1 mM sodium acetate where the formulation has a pH of 4.6 and where the terlipressin acetate contributes about 0.2 mM which is included in the sodium acetate concentration thereby corresponding to a total acetate concentration of 1.2 mM (See Malm specification, [0116]; Table 4 (Formulation 7A)). Alternatively, Malm teaches that the buffer salt can be benzoate that is present in an amount to provide a total buffer concentration ranging from about 0.1 mM to about 5 mM, and the pH of the terlipressin compositions can range from about 4.5 to about 6 (See Malm specification, [0006], [0008], [0040]). Plus, regarding that the formulation/composition is in the form of a solution, Malm teaches that terlipressin is known to be available as a solution for injection (i.e., GLYPRESSIN), but Malm sought to develop a liquid terlipressin formulation with improved shelf-life that is stable at room temperature for at least 1-2 years (See Malm specification, [0005]). As evidenced by the Glypressin reference, the active ingredient is terlipressin, but the drug substance included in this product contains non-stoichiometric amounts of acetic acid and water (See Glypressin reference, pg. 1, 3rd paragraph). Water is also listed as an excipient for GLYPRESSIN (See Glypressin reference, pg. 1, 7th paragraph). As such, the formulations taught by Malm would be in an aqueous solution form. Thus, the teachings of Malm expressly teach a specific embodiment that satisfies the claim limitations with respect to an aqueous pharmaceutical composition in the form of a solution having a pH in the range of 4.0-6.0 comprising 0.01-50 mg/ml terlipressin or terlipressin in the form of terlipressin acetate and acetate or benzoate as a buffer that is present in a total concentration of 0-5 mM as recited in instant claims 1, 6, 12, 15, 28, and 30, with respect to where the concentration of terlipressin is 0.01-1 mg/ml or 0.1-1 mg/ml as recited in instant claim 2, with respect to where the total concentration of the one or more buffers in the composition is 0.1-5 mM or 0.5-5 mM as recited in instant claims 3 and 15.
For claims 1, 9, and 11-13, with respect where the aqueous solution further comprises an amino acid where the amino acid is present at a concentration of 1-5 mM as recited in instant claims 1 and 12; with respect to where the amino acid is glycine, proline, methionine, arginine, lysine, aspartic acid, glutamic acid, and histidine as recited in instant claim 9; and with respect to where the amino acid is present at a concentration of 1-4, 1-3, or 1-2 mM as recited in instant claims 11 and 13:
Malm teaches that terlipressin is also known as triglycyl-lysine vasopressin, and is an analogue of vasopressin (See Malm specification, [0004]). As evidenced by DrugBank, compared to endogenous vasopressin, terlipressin has a longer half-life and increased selectivity for the V1 receptor (See DrugBank, pg. 1, background section). As such, terlipressin exhibits improved properties compared to vasopressin. Moreover, as discussed supra for claim 1, Malm sought to develop a liquid terlipressin formulation with improved shelf-life that is stable at room temperature for at least 1-2 years (See Malm specification, [0005]). Thus, Malm sought terlipressin formulations that exhibited improved stability enabling for an improved shelf-life at room temperature. However, Malm does not expressly teach or suggest that the pharmaceutical composition further comprises an amino acid.
Kocherlakota et al. teaches stable parenteral formulations of vasopressin comprising one or more stabilizers and is free of acetate (See Kocherlakota, [0011]-[0012]). In particular, Kocherlakota et al. teaches stable parenteral formulations of vasopressin comprising stabilizers and other pharmaceutically acceptable excipients where the stabilizer comprises (i) one or more buffers and (ii) optionally one or more excipients selected from amino acids and chelating agents (See Kocherlakota, [0013], [0025]). “Stable” is defined as meaning that the formulations remain stable during the entire shelf-life of the composition such that the formulation shows an assay of 90-110% of the original assay value when stored under specified controlled conditions (See Kocherlakota, [0017]). Kocherlakota et al. teaches that the vasopressin formulations were found to be stable over wide range of pH, the conventional vasopressin formulations had a pH ranging from 2.5-4.5 (See Kocherlakota, [0022], [0024]). Moreover, Kocherlakota et al. teaches that stabilizers play a significant role in maintaining the stability of vasopressin in liquid formulations (See Kocherlakota, [0025]). Amino acids that function as stabilizers include arginine, glycine, alanine, proline, methionine, lysine, leucine, cysteine and isoleucine (See Kocherlakota, [0025]). When present, an amino acid is present in an amount of 0 to 10% w/v (See Kocherlakota, [0043]) thereby equating to a concentration of 0 mM to 670 mM for methionine (i.e., molar mass is 149.21 g/mol), 0 mM to 1332 mM for glycine (i.e., molar mass is 75.07 g/mol), and 0 mM to 868 mM for proline (i.e., molar mass is 115.13 g/mol). Buffers include benzoate, and water is the most common solvent (See Kocherlakota, [0025]-[0026]). Kocherlakota et al. also teaches that the pharmaceutical compositions can contain other pharmaceutically acceptable excipients such as antioxidants, preservatives, tonicity modifiers and pH adjusting excipients (See Kocherlakota, [0027]). Specific vasopressin formulation contained 0.26 mg/ml aspartic acid and 0.9 mg isoleucine (See Kocherlakota, [0051], [0058]) thereby equating to a concentration of 1.95 mM for aspartic acid (i.e., molar mass is 133.1 g/mol) and 6.8 mM for isoleucine (i.e., molar mass is 131.18 g/mol). Thus, Kocherlakota et al. suggests adding amino acids as stabilizers to vasopressin liquid formulations such as arginine, glycine, alanine, proline, methionine, lysine, leucine, cysteine and isoleucine with a specific embodiment of about 1.95 mM aspartic acid where such inclusion of an amino acid stabilizer improved the formulation’s shelf-life stability.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teachings of Malm and add an amino acid such as aspartic acid as a stabilizer at a concentration of about 1.95 mM to an aqueous pharmaceutical composition comprising terlipressin acetate at a concentration of 0.1 mg/ml, acetate or benzoate at a concentration of 1 mM or 5 mM as a buffer in order to stabilize the terlipressin in the composition and improve the composition’s shell-life for storage at room temperature. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because a vasopressin composition was known to exhibit improved shelf-life stability when stabilizers such as aspartic acid at a concentration of about 1.95 mM and benzoate as a buffer are added as taught by Kocherlakota et al. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that the pharmaceutical composition of Malm comprises terlipressin as a known vasopressin analogue exhibiting improved half-life and increased selectivity for the V1 receptor, and acetate or benzoate as a buffer at a concentration of about 0.1 to about 5 mM at a pH of 4.5 to 6. Therefore, adding aspartic acid as a stabilizer in a concentration of about 1.95 mM would support the improved shelf-life stability of the pharmaceutical composition when stored at room temperature by constituting some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention pursuant KSR.
For claims 1 and 12, with respect to where the amino acid which does not comprise an ionizable group with a pKa within 1 pH unit of the pH of the composition:
Malm does not expressly teach an amino acid which does not comprise an ionizable group with a pKa within 1 pH unit of the pH of the composition. Although Malm teaches specific embodiments where the pH of the composition is 4.5 or 4.6 as discussed supra, Malm also broadly teaches that the pH of the terlipressin compositions can range from about 4.5 to about 6 (See Malm, [0006]).
As discussed for claims 1, 9, 12-13, and 33, the teachings of Kocherlakota et al. suggest adding aspartic acid to vasopressin formulations in order to stabilize the protein in the formulation. It is noted that Malm teaches that the pH of the composition ranges from about 4.5 to about 6. As evidenced by Hunt, methionine and proline taught by Kocherlakota et al. as protein stabilizers do not comprise an ionizable group with a pKa within 1 pH unit of the pH of the composition. Although Hunt evidences that one of the pKa’s of aspartic acid has a value that could fall within 1 pH unit of the pH of the composition, an ordinary skilled artisan would routinely optimize the pH such that it is above 4.65 (See Hunt reference, Table). Thus, Kocherlakota et al. suggest adding an amino acid as a stabilizer to a protein formulation where the amino acid does not comprise an ionizable group with a pKa within 1 pH unit of the pH of the composition as recited in instant claims 1 and 12.
For claims 1 and 15, with respect to where the one or more buffers having at least one ionizable group with a pKa in the range 3.0 to 7.0 and which pKa is within 1 pH unit of the pH of the composition:
Malm does not expressly teach one or more buffers having at least one ionizable group with a pKa in the range 3.0 to 7.0 and which pKa is within 1 pH unit of the pH of the composition.
As discussed supra for claims 1, 3, 6, and 15, the teachings of Malm suggest utilizing acetate as a buffer in the terlipressin formulation. It is noted that Malm teaches that the pH of the composition is 4.5 and 4.6. As evidenced by the buffer reference, acetate has a pKa at 25°C of 4.76 (See buffer reference, pg. 1, col. 1). Thus, Malm suggests adding a buffer to the terlipressin formulation where the buffer having at least one ionizable group with a pKa in the range 3.0 to 7.0 and is within 1 pH unit of the pH of the composition, i.e., 4.5 or 4.6 as recited in instant claims 1 and 15.
For claims 9, 11, 13, and 33, with respect to where the amino acid is glycine, proline, methionine, arginine, lysine, aspartic acid, glutamic acid, and histidine as recited in instant claim 9; with respect to where the amino acid is present at a concentration of 1-4, 1-3, or 1-2 mM as recited in instant claims 11 and 13; and with respect to where the amino acid is methionine, glycine or proline as recited in instant claims 13 and 33:
As stated supra for claims 1, 9, and 11-13, Malm does not expressly teach or suggest that the pharmaceutical composition further comprises an amino acid. Kocherlakota et al. suggests adding amino acids as stabilizers to vasopressin liquid formulations such as arginine, glycine, alanine, proline, methionine, lysine, leucine, cysteine and isoleucine with a specific embodiment of about 1.95 mM aspartic acid where such inclusion of an amino acid stabilizer improved the formulation’s shelf-life stability. Kocherlakota also teaches that when present, an amino acid is present in an amount of 0 to 10% w/v (See Kocherlakota, [0043]) thereby equating to a concentration of 0 mM to 670 mM for methionine (i.e., molar mass is 149.21 g/mol), 0 mM to 1332 mM for glycine (i.e., molar mass is 75.07 g/mol), and 0 mM to 868 mM for proline (i.e., molar mass is 115.13 g/mol).
Warne et al. teaches protein formulations exhibiting reduced aggregation properties by adding methionine to the formulation at a concentration of about 0.5 mM to about 145 mM where the protein does not contain a methionine residue and the aggregation is not due to methionine oxidation thereby increasing shelf-life and maintaining the biological activity of the formulation (See Warne, [0006]-[0007], [0015]-[0016], [0039]). Warne et al. also teaches that methionine is added to the formulation to a final concentration of between about 0.5 mM to about 50 mM (See Warne, [0008], [0015], [0019]). The proteins that benefit from the addition of methionine are those known to aggregate or considered likely to aggregate including antibodies, coagulation factors, ligands, enzymes, etc.; for example, a protein within a formulation aggregates during storage, as a result of elevated temperature, or exposure to light (See Warne, [0010], [0019], [0055]). Although Warne does not expressly identify terlipressin as a protein that would benefit from the addition of methionine, the commercially available terlipressin formulation is known to be stored in a refrigerator at 2°C to 8°C in a carton to protect from light as evidenced by the Glypressin reference, (See Glypressin reference, pg. 8, 6th paragraph). Furthermore, as evidenced by Chawathe et al., using high-resolution mass spectrometry, the researchers found that terlipressin degrades into 11 different degradation products resulting from several modifications (See Chawathe, abstract; Figure 16). Thus, terlipressin is susceptible to storage degradation and likely degradation due to light exposure.
Warne et al. defines “aggregate” as a physical interaction between protein molecules that results in the formation of covalent or non-covalent dimers or oligomers, which may remain soluble or form insoluble aggregates that precipitate out of solution (See Warne, [0040]). Warne et al. teaches that one major problem with protein formulations is that they can lose their biological activity as a result of the formation of soluble or insoluble aggregates (See Warne, [0038]). Aggregation is a degraded protein state, and therefore, minimizing it results in increased shelf life, potency or activity of a protein formulation (See Warne, [0038]). There are many factors that affect protein aggregation including storage, exposure to elevated temperatures, exposure to shear stress, and exposure to light (See Warne, [0041]-[0043]). Warne et al. notes that the addition of methionine reduces aggregation regardless of what causes a protein to aggregate (See Warne, [0047]). Additional amino acids that reduce protein aggregation include arginine, lysine, glycine glutamic acid, or aspartic acid and are present in a concentration ranging from 0.5 mM to 50 mM (See Warne, [0050]-[0051]). Therefore, the teachings of Warne et al. suggest adding methionine in a concentration ranging from about 0.5 mM to about 50 mM to protein formulations where the protein does not contain a methionine residue in order to reduce aggregation properties not due to methionine oxidation thereby increasing shelf-life and maintaining the biological activity of the formulation.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teachings of Malm and add an amino acid such as methionine as a stabilizer at a concentration of about 0.5 to about 50 mM or proline at concentration ranging above 0 to 868 mM to an aqueous pharmaceutical composition comprising terlipressin acetate at a concentration of 0.1 mg/ml, acetate or benzoate at a concentration of 1 mM or 5 mM as a buffer in order to stabilize the terlipressin in the composition by reducing aggregation properties, improving the composition’s shell-life for storage at room temperature, and maintaining the biological activity of the formulation. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because a vasopressin composition was known to exhibit improved shelf-life stability when stabilizers such as methionine at a concentration of above 0 mM to 670 mM or proline at a concentration ranging above 0 to 868 mM, and benzoate as a buffer are added as taught by Kocherlakota et al.; and because adding methionine at a concentration of about 0.5 to about 50 mM to a protein formulation where the protein does not contain a methionine residue was known to reduce aggregation properties not due to methionine oxidation thereby increasing shelf-life and maintaining the biological activity of the formulation as taught by Warne et al. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that the pharmaceutical composition of Malm comprises terlipressin, which is known to be stored in a refrigerator at 2°C to 8°C in a carton to protect from light and result in 11 degradation products, and acetate or benzoate as a buffer at a concentration of about 0.1 to about 5 mM at a pH of 4.5 to 6. Therefore, adding methionine as a stabilizer in a concentration of about 0.5 mM to 50 mM or proline as a stabilizer in a concentration of above 0 to 868 mM would support the stabilization of the terlipressin in the composition by reducing aggregation properties, improving the composition’s shell-life for storage at room temperature, and maintaining the biological activity of the formulation by constituting some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention pursuant KSR.
Regarding the methionine or proline concentration being 1 mM to 5 mM, MPEP 2144.05(I) states that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges discloses by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%". The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.) Moreover, the Federal Circuit found that a prima facie case existed where a claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms and the prior art taught that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-82, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Therefore, the claimed concentration of methionine would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since the prior art concentration range (i.e., 0.5 mM to 50 mM) overlaps with the claimed concentration range (i.e., 1-5 mM), and the claimed concentration of methionine would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since the prior art concentration range (i.e., above 0 mM to 868 mM) overlaps with the claimed concentration range (i.e., 1-5 mM).
For claims 17-18 and 35-36, with respect to where the composition further comprises an uncharged tonicity modifier such as lactose in an amount of 200-500 mM or about 300 mM:
Although Malm teaches including mannitol as an isotonic agent (Malm claim 3), Malm’s provisional supporting application does not support mannitol as an isotonic agent. As such, relying on Malm’s effective filing date, Malm does not expressly teach including mannitol as an uncharged tonicity modifier.
Kocherlakota et al. teaches that stabilizers other excipients such as lactose, solvents such as PEG, antioxidants, preservatives, tonicity modifiers, and pH adjusting excipients (See Kocherlakota, [0025]-[0027]). In Example 6, the vasopressin formulation contains 5-15 mg/ml lactose (See Kocherlakota, [0069]) thereby equating to a concentration ranging from 146 mM to 438 mM (i.e., molar mass of lactose is 342.3 g/mol, and thus, 5/342.3 x 1000 = 146 mM and 15/342.3 x 1000 = 438 mM). Thus, Kocherlakota et al. suggests adding lactose as a stabilizer to vasopressin liquid formulations with specific embodiments of 146 mM to 438 mM where such inclusion of lactose as a stabilizer improved the formulation’s shelf-life stability.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teachings of Malm and add aspartic acid at a concentration of about 1.95 mM and lactose at a concentration of 146 mM to 438 mM as stabilizers to an aqueous pharmaceutical composition comprising terlipressin acetate at a concentration of 0.1 mg/ml, and acetate or benzoate at a concentration of 1 mM or 5 mM as a buffer in order to stabilize the terlipressin in the composition and improve the composition’s shell-life for storage at room temperature. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because a vasopressin composition was known to exhibit improved shelf-life stability when stabilizers such as aspartic acid at a concentration of about 1.95 mM, lactose at a concentration of 146 mM to 438 mM, and benzoate as a buffer are added as taught by Kocherlakota et al. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that the pharmaceutical composition of Malm comprises terlipressin as a known vasopressin analogue exhibiting improved half-life and increased selectivity for the V1 receptor, and acetate or benzoate as a buffer at a concentration of about 0.1 to about 5 mM at a pH of 4.5 to 6. Therefore, adding aspartic acid and lactose as stabilizers in a concentration of about 1.95 mM and a range of 146 mM to 438 mM, respectively, would support the improved shelf-life stability of the pharmaceutical composition when stored at room temperature by constituting some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention pursuant KSR.
Regarding the uncharged tonicity modifier concentration being 200 mM to 500 mM, MPEP 2144.05(I) states that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges discloses by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%". The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.) Moreover, the Federal Circuit found that a prima facie case existed where a claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms and the prior art taught that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-82, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Therefore, the claimed concentration of the uncharged tonicity modifier (i.e., lactose) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since the prior art concentration range (i.e., 146 mM to 438 mM) overlaps with the claimed concentration range (i.e., 200-500 mM or about 300 mM).
For claims 34 and 37, with respect to where the tonicity modifier is mannitol or sorbitol:
As discussed supra, Kocherlakota et al. teaches that stabilizers other excipients such as lactose, solvents such as PEG, antioxidants, preservatives, tonicity modifiers, and pH adjusting excipients (See Kocherlakota, [0025]-[0027]).
Warne et al. also teaches that the protein formulations can contain other substances such as cryoprotectants, lyoprotectants, surfactants, bulking agents, antioxidants, and stabilizing agents (See Warne, [0070]). Mannitol and lactose can both be used as bulking agents that provide structure of freeze-dried product without interacting directly with the pharmaceutical product, provide freeze-thaw protection, and enhance the protein stability over long-term storage (See Warne, [0074). Warne et al. also teaches that mannitol can be added to the protein formulation as a free radical scavenger in an amount from about 0.01% to about 25% (See Warne, [0051]). Thus, the teachings of Warne et al. demonstrate that an ordinary skilled artisan can substitute lactose with mannitol.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teachings of Malm and add aspartic acid at a concentration of about 1.95 mM and mannitol instead of lactose at a concentration of 274 mM to 823 mM (i.e., molar mass of mannitol is 182.172 g/mol thereby equating to 5/182.172 x1000 = 274 mM and 15/182.172 x 1000 = 823 mM) as stabilizers to an aqueous pharmaceutical composition comprising terlipressin acetate at a concentration of 0.1 mg/ml, and acetate or benzoate at a concentration of 1 mM or 5 mM as a buffer in order to stabilize the terlipressin in the composition and improve the composition’s shell-life for storage at room temperature. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because a vasopressin composition was known to exhibit improved shelf-life stability when stabilizers such as aspartic acid at a concentration of about 1.95 mM, lactose at a concentration of 146 mM to 438 mM, and benzoate as a buffer are added as taught by Kocherlakota et al.; and because adding mannitol and lactose were known to be added as stabilizers to a protein formulation where the protein does not contain a methionine residue in order to reduce aggregation properties by increasing shelf-life and maintaining the biological activity of the formulation as taught by Warne et al. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that the pharmaceutical composition of Malm comprises terlipressin as a known vasopressin analogue exhibiting improved half-life and increased selectivity for the V1 receptor, and acetate or benzoate as a buffer at a concentration of about 0.1 to about 5 mM at a pH of 4.5 to 6. Therefore, adding aspartic acid and mannitol instead of lactose as stabilizers in a concentration of about 1.95 mM and a range of 274 mM to 823 mM, respectively, would support the improved shelf-life stability of the pharmaceutical composition when stored at room temperature by constituting some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention pursuant KSR.
Regarding the uncharged tonicity modifier concentration being 200 mM to 500 mM or about 300 mM, MPEP 2144.05(I) states that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges discloses by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%". The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.) Moreover, the Federal Circuit found that a prima facie case existed where a claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms and the prior art taught that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-82, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Therefore, the claimed concentration of the uncharged tonicity modifier (i.e., mannitol) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since the prior art concentration range (i.e., 274 mM to 823 mM) overlaps with the claimed concentration range (i.e., 200-500 mM or about 300 mM).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 4/9/25 with respect to claims 1-3, 6, 9, 11-13, 15, 17-18, 28, 30, and 33-37 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. It is noted that the newly added rejection, although it includes the Malm reference, the reasoning for the combination of references is new and was not previously addressed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6, 9, 11-13, 15, 17-18, 28, 30, and 33-37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24, 26-32, and 34 of copending Application No. 19/185,396 (Jezek et al. US Publication No. 2025/0241981 A1) in view of Malm WO 2019/239386 A1 published on December 19, 2019 (effective filing date of June 15, 2018) (cited in the IDS received on 6/21/21). Jezek et al. claims:
(See Jezek claims 1-2, 6-9, 13-21, and 23). As such, the ‘396 claimed aqueous solution composition constitutes the instant aqueous solution composition where the therapeutic agent can be terlipressin, the buffer can be acetate (See Jezek claim 11), the amino acid can be methionine, arginine, glycine, or proline, and further comprises mannitol as an uncharged tonicity modifier. The ‘396 concentrations of each component overlap with the instant concentrations of each component. Therefore, the ’396 claimed invention renders obvious instant claims 1-3, 6, 9, 11-13, 15, 17-18, 30, and 33-37.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/THEA D' AMBROSIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654