DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 7/28/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-8, 10-11, 13-17, 27 and 34 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-11, 13-17 and 34 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, an “and” in line 4 appears to be a typographical error because Applicant states that there is a single “or” recited in claim 1 to represent the alternatives. Thus, that “and” should be deleted. The claimed steps are being interpreted as alternatives. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 11, the list of claimed steps are unclear because the conjunction should be before the last element of the list of elements. The conjunction “or” is not located before the last element of the list of steps. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 4, it is unclear whether “the method” of line 3 is referring to the method according to claim 1 or DCI transmission method.
Regarding claim 14, it is unclear whether “the method” of line 3 is referring to the method according to claim 11 or DCI transmission method.
Regarding claims 6-7, 16 and 34, they recite numerous lists of elements with numerous conjunctions and conditional phrases using both “and” and “or” throughout, which make the scope of the claims unclear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-11, 13-17, 27 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated US 2018/0368112 (hereinafter Sebeni).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 27, Sabeni teaches a terminal/device/downlink control information (DCI) transmission method, comprising: receiving, by a terminal, a first DCI sent by a network side device (abstract: details DCI received by mobile device transmitted by a base station), wherein the first DCI includes first indication information (abstract: details blanking DCI, bDCI), responding, by the terminal after the first DCI being decoded successfully, to a monitoring status field included in the first indication information by skipping physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring for subsequent N slots currently configured by the network side device for the terminal and performing the PDCCH monitoring at a next monitoring opportunity (This limitation is claimed in the alternative so has no patentable weight in this rejection); or responding, by the terminal after the first DCI being decoded successfully, to a monitoring status field included in the first indication information by skipping PDCCH monitoring for subsequent N slots currently configured by the network side device for the terminal and continuing to perform the PDCCH monitoring in a next slot (This limitation is claimed in the alternative so has no patentable weight in this rejection), wherein PDCCH carrying control information is configured for scheduling data transmission ([0009]: details This control information is sent in PDCCH and it contains DL resource assignment and UL grant information), N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 ([0014]: details a number of subframes for which the duration of time will last), and a value of N is configured semi-statically or dynamically by the network side device ([0014]: details the field may explicitly indicate a number of subframes for which the duration of time will last).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Sabeni discloses wherein the first indication information includes an indication field (abstract; [0014]: details blanking DCI, bDCI; downlink control message may comprise a field explicitly indicating the duration of time), and the indication field is indicates to stop the PDCCH monitoring at least within a current DRX on duration ([0014][0019]: details current BWP period may be paused during the duration of time, such that slots occurring during the duration of time are not counted in a current BWP period; current BWP period may be paused during the duration of time, such that slots occurring during the duration of time are not counted in a current BWP period).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Sabeni discloses wherein when the first indication information indicates to stop the PDCCH monitoring at least within a current DRX on duration, the method comprises one of the following: the first DCI and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) not being transmitted in a same transmission time interval (TTI) ([0014][0019]: details conditional limitation so does not need to be performed), the first DCI and a non-physical layer signaling indicating to stop the PDCCH monitoring at least within the current DRX on duration being transmitted in the same TTI , or the first DCI and the non-physical layer signaling not being transmitted in the same TTI.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Sabeni discloses wherein, in response to the first DCI being decoded successfully, the responding, by the terminal, to the first indication information comprises: in response to the first DCI being decoded successfully, and an effective time of the first DCI is earlier than an effective time of the non-physical layer signaling, stopping the PDCCH monitoring at least within the current DRX on duration according to the first DCI; or in response to the first DCI being decoded successfully, feeding back, by the terminal, an ACK corresponding to the non-physical layer signaling to the network side device, and stopping the PDCCH monitoring at least within the current DRX on duration according to the first DCI ([0113][0116]: details discontinuing monitoring may be in response to receiving the downlink control message; the UE 106 may transmit one or more UL messages during the duration of time, despite the UE 106 having discontinued monitoring of the downlink channel for the duration of time. For example, the UE 106 may transmit at least one of a scheduling request (SR), a buffer status report (BSR), an UL ACK/NACK report, and/or a CQI report).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Sabeni discloses further comprising: when the first DCI and the non-physical layer signaling are not transmitted in the same TTI, the first DCI is not successfully decoded, and the non-physical layer signaling is not successfully decoded, in response to the terminal returning an NACK corresponding to the non-physical layer signaling to the network side device ([0014][0019]: details conditional limitation so does not need to be performed), receiving, by the terminal, a second DCI sent by the network side device, wherein the second DCI includes second indication information (This limitation is claimed in the alternative so has no patentable weight in this rejection), the second indication information indicates the terminal to skip the PDCCH monitoring for subsequent M monitoring opportunities (This limitation is claimed in the alternative so has no patentable weight in this rejection), indicates to perform the PDCCH monitoring at the next monitoring opportunity or continue to perform the PDCCH monitoring in the next slot ([0014]: details downlink control message may indicate the start of the duration of time, wherein the length of the duration of time is known prior to receiving the downlink control message), or indicates to stop the PDCCH monitoring at least within the current DRX on duration ([0014][0019]: details current BWP period may be paused during the duration of time, such that slots occurring during the duration of time are not counted in a current BWP period), wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 ([0014]: details a number of subframes for which the duration of time will last).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Sabeni discloses further comprising: in response to the first DCI being not successfully decoded, receiving, by the terminal, a third DCI sent by the network side device, wherein the third DCI includes third indication information, and the third indication information indicates the terminal to skip the PDCCH monitoring for subsequent W monitoring opportunities (This limitation is claimed in the alternative so has no patentable weight in this rejection), indicates to perform the PDCCH monitoring at the next monitoring opportunity or continue to perform the PDCCH monitoring in the next slot ([0014]: details downlink control message may indicate the start of the duration of time, wherein the length of the duration of time is known prior to receiving the downlink control message), or indicates to stop the PDCCH monitoring at least within a current DRX on duration ([0014][0019]: details current BWP period may be paused during the duration of time, such that slots occurring during the duration of time are not counted in a current BWP period), wherein W is an integer greater than or equal to 1 ([0014]: details a number of subframes for which the duration of time will last).
Regarding claim 8, Sabeni discloses wherein a receiving time of the third DCI is before an end position of the N slots indicated by the first DCI; or wherein the receiving time of the third DCI is within the current DRX on duration ([0014][0019]: details current BWP period may be paused during the duration of time, such that slots occurring during the duration of time are not counted in a current BWP period).
Regarding claim 10, Sabeni discloses wherein when the N is semi-statically configured by the network side device, the terminal obtains a specific value corresponding to the N in advance ([0014]: details the downlink control message may comprise an index identifying a value in a predetermined set of possible durations of time), and the first indication information also indicates the value of N is the specific value ([0014]: details the field may explicitly indicate a number of subframes for which the duration of time will last); wherein when the N is dynamically configured by the network side device, the terminal obtains a plurality of candidate values corresponding to the N in advance, and the first indication information also indicates the value of N is one of the plurality of candidate values; or wherein when N is dynamically configured by the network side device, the terminal obtain the plurality of candidate values corresponding to N in advance, the terminal receives fourth indication information sent by the network side device, the fourth indication information indicates a target candidate value among the plurality of candidate values, and the first indication information also indicates that the value of N is the target candidate value.
Regarding claim 34, Sabeni discloses when the first DCI indicates the terminal to skip the PDCCH monitoring for the subsequent N slots currently configured by the network side device for the terminal, and the first DCI and the PDSCH are transmitted within the same TTI, or when the first DCI indicates to stop the PDCCH monitoring at least within the current DRX on duration, and the first DCI and the PDSCH are transmitted within the same TTI, in response to the network side device detecting an NACK corresponding to the PDSCH, the network side device stops downlink transmission of the terminal ([0116]: details alternative limitations and conditional limitation so do not need to be performed).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant alleges that the claims are allowable because the DCI of the present application explicitly indicates two different steps performed by the terminal and explicitly indicates the time to continue to perform the PDCCH monitoring. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The elements in the body of the claims are claimed in the alternative. So not all claimed elements have patentable weight because some of the elements are not required in the claims as rejected. Because the argued features are in the elements with no patentable weight, the argument is not persuasive. For example, claim 11 merely require the step of sending because the conjunction “or” is used in the body of the claim. The two “explicitly indicating…” steps do not need to be performed and have no patentable weight.
Examiner notes that the newly cited Lin reference teaches, for example in FIG. 2B, the two different claimed steps performed by the terminal, and the DCI explicitly indicating both the time to skip PDCCH monitoring and the time to continue to perform the PDCCH monitoring.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin (US 11,943,785) details stopping PDCCH monitoring.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASPER KWOH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415